

1 2

SYNOPSIS:

Under existing law, a person commits the crime of burglary in the third degree if he or she knowingly enters or remains unlawfully in a dwelling with the intent to commit a crime therein, knowingly enters or remains unlawfully in an occupied building with the intent to commit a crime therein, or knowingly enters or remains unlawfully in an unoccupied building with the intent to commit a crime therein.

This bill would further provide that a person commits the crime of burglary in the third degree if he or she knowingly enters or remains unlawfully in a dwelling and intentionally causes \$1,000 or more in damage to the dwelling.

Under existing law, a person commits the crime of perjury in the second degree if he or she swears with intent to mislead a public servant in the performance of the public servant's duty and his or her false statement is material to the action, proceeding, or matter involved.

This bill would further provide that a person commits the crime of perjury in the second degree if he or she knowingly presents a false document purporting to be a lease agreement, deed, or other instrument conveying or providing a right to or in real property



to another person with the intent to civilly detain or to remain upon the real property.

This bill would establish the crime of fraudulent sale or lease of residential real property and provide penalties for violations.

This bill would provide a method for the owner of a dwelling, or his or her agent, to request the removal of an unauthorized individual from the dwelling by providing a sworn affidavit to a law enforcement officer.

This bill would provide a procedure for a law enforcement officer to remove an unauthorized individual from a dwelling within 24 hours of receipt of a sworn affidavit.

This bill would also exclude squatters from landlord-tenant actions.

Section 111.05 of the Constitution of Alabama of 2022, prohibits a general law whose purpose or effect would be to require a new or increased expenditure of local funds from becoming effective with regard to a local governmental entity without enactment by a 2/3 vote unless: it comes within one of a number of specified exceptions; it is approved by the affected entity; or the Legislature appropriates funds, or provides a local source of revenue, to the entity for the purpose.

The purpose or effect of this bill would be to require a new or increased expenditure of local funds



within the meaning of the section. However, the bill does not require approval of a local governmental entity or enactment by a 2/3 vote to become effective because it comes within one of the specified exceptions contained in the section.

62

61

57

58

59

60

63

64 A BILL

65 TO BE ENTITLED

66 AN ACT

67

68

69

70

71

72

73

74

75

76

77

78

79

80

81

83

84

Relating to crimes and offenses; to amend Sections 13A-7-7 and 13A-10-102, Code of Alabama 1975; to further provide for the crimes of burglary in the third degree and perjury in the second degree; to provide for the crime of fraudulent sale or lease of residential real property; to provide penalties for violations; to provide a method for the owner of a dwelling to request the removal of an unauthorized individual; to provide a procedure for law enforcement to remove an unauthorized individual from a dwelling in certain circumstances; to exclude certain individuals from landlord-tenant actions; and in connection therewith would have as its purpose or effect the requirement of a new or increased expenditure of local funds within the meaning of Section 111.05 of the Constitution of Alabama of 2022. BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF ALABAMA:

82

Section 1. The Legislature finds that the fundamental rights of owning property include the right of the owner to



- 85 exclude others from entering or remaining unlawfully on the 86 property. The Legislature further finds that squatting, or the 87 unauthorized entry into or remaining in a dwelling, is a 88 violation of the rights of property owners and is against the 89 public interest. The intent of this act is to ensure that 90 squatting is considered a crime, to adequately protect the 91 rights of property owners, and to provide a timely and 92 effective mechanism for removing squatters while protecting
- 94 Section 2. Sections 13A-7-7 and 13A-10-102, Code of 95 Alabama 1975, are amended to read as follows:

the rights of legitimate occupants.

96 "\$13A-7-7

93

- 97 (a) A person commits the crime of burglary in the third 98 degree if any of the following occur:
- 99 (1) He or she knowingly enters or remains unlawfully in a dwelling with the intent to commit a crime therein.
- 101 (2) He or she knowingly enters or remains unlawfully in
 102 an occupied building with the intent to commit a crime
 103 therein; or.
- 104 (3) He or she knowingly enters or remains unlawfully in
 105 an unoccupied building with the intent to commit a crime
 106 therein.
- 107 (4) He or she knowingly enters or remains unlawfully in

 108 a dwelling and intentionally causes one thousand dollars

 109 (\$1,000) or more in damage to the dwelling.
- 110 (b) Burglary in the third degree is a Class C felony."
- 111 "\$13A-10-102
- 112 (a) A person commits the crime of perjury in the second



- 113 degree when if he or she does either of the following:
- 114 (1) he swears Swears with intent to mislead a public
- 115 servant in the performance of his the public servant's duty
- and his or her false statement is material to the action,
- 117 proceeding, or matter involved.
- 118 (2) Knowingly presents a false document purporting to
- 119 be a lease agreement, deed, or other instrument conveying or
- 120 providing a right to or in real property to another person
- 121 with the intent to civilly detain or to remain upon the real
- 122 property.
- 123 (b) Perjury in the second degree is a Class A
- 124 misdemeanor."
- 125 Section 3. (a) A person commits the crime of fraudulent sale
- or lease of residential real property if he or she does either
- 127 of the following:
- 128 (1) Lists or advertises residential real property for sale
- 129 knowing that he or she or the purported seller has no legal
- 130 title or authority to sell the property.
- 131 (2) Rents or leases residential real property to another
- person knowing that he or she or the purported lessor has no
- 133 legal ownership or other authority to lease the property.
- 134 (b) Fraudulent sale or lease of residential real property is a
- 135 Class A misdemeanor.
- 136 Section 4. (a) For the purposes of this section, the
- 137 term "dwelling" has the same meaning as provided in Section
- 138 13A-7-1, Code of Alabama 1975.
- 139 (b) The owner of a dwelling or the agent of the owner
- of a dwelling may request the removal of an unauthorized



141 individual from the dwelling by submitting a sworn affidavit 142 to a law enforcement agency in the county where the dwelling 143 is located containing all of the following elements: 144 (1) The affiant is the owner of the dwelling or the agent of the owner of the dwelling. 145 146 (2) An individual has entered and is remaining 147 unlawfully in the dwelling. (3) The individual was not authorized to enter the 148 149 dwelling or remain in the dwelling. (4) The individual is not a tenant, as defined in 150 151 Section 35-9A-141, Code of Alabama 1975, or a holdover tenant, as defined in Section 34-9A-441, Code of Alabama 1975. 152 153 (5) The affiant has requested that the unauthorized 154 individual vacate the dwelling as provided under this section 155 and the individual has not done so. (6) The unauthorized individual is not an immediate 156 157 family member of the property owner. 158 (7) There is no pending litigation related to the 159 dwelling between the property owner and the unauthorized 160 individual. 161 (c) The sworn affidavit requesting the removal of an 162 unauthorized individual from a dwelling must be substantially 163 in the following form: 164 Affidavit to Remove An Individual Unauthorized to

165 <u>Occupy Dwelling</u>

I, the owner, or authorized agent of the owner, of the dwelling located at ______ declare under the penalty of perjury that:



- 1. I am the owner of the dwelling or the authorized agent of the owner of the dwelling.
- 171 2. The real property is a dwelling.
- 3. An unauthorized individual has unlawfully entered or remained in the dwelling.
- 4. The unauthorized individual is not a tenant, a
 holdover tenant, or an immediate family member of the owner,
 and any lease that may be produced by the unauthorized
 individual is fraudulent.
- 5. The unauthorized individual does not have an ownership interest in the property and is not listed on the title to the property unless the individual has engaged in title fraud.
- 182 6. There is no litigation related to the dwelling
 183 pending between the owner, or his or her agent, and any
 184 unauthorized individual.
- 7. Notice was provided by hand delivery to the unauthorized individual occupying the dwelling or by posting notice on the front door or entrance of the dwelling, and evidence of the notice, including the date and time of delivery, is attached.
- 190 8. I understand that an individual removed from the
 191 property pursuant to this affidavit may bring a cause of
 192 action against me for any false statements made in this
 193 affidavit, or for wrongfully using this procedure, and that,
 194 as a result of such action, I may be held liable for actual
 195 damages, penalties, costs, and reasonable attorney fees.
 - 9. I am requesting law enforcement to remove, as soon

196



- 197 as possible, the unauthorized individual from the dwelling.
- 198 10. A copy of my valid government-issued identification
- 199 is attached, or I am an agent of the property owner, and
- 200 documents evidencing my authority to act on the property
- 201 owner's behalf are attached.
- I have read and assert the truth of every statement
- 203 made in this affidavit. I understand that my statements in
- 204 this affidavit are being made under penalty of perjury as
- provided in Section 13A-10-9, Code of Alabama 1975.
- 206 [Signature of Property Owner or Agent of Property
- 207 Owner]
- 208 [Contact Information of Property Owner or Agent of
- 209 Property Ownerl
- 210 (d) Upon receipt of the affidavit, the law enforceemnt
- 211 agency shall verify that the affiant is the record owner of
- 212 the dwelling or the authorized agent of the owner of the
- 213 dwelling and appears otherwise entitled to relief. Upon
- 214 verification and after at least 24 hours from receipt of the
- 215 affidavit, the law enforcement agency shall serve a notice to
- 216 immediately vacate on the unauthorized individual. Service may
- 217 be accomplished by hand delivery of the notice to any
- 218 unauthorized individual occupying the dwelling or by posting
- 219 notice on the front door or entrance of the dwelling. Law
- 220 enforcement shall also attempt to verify the identities of all
- individuals occupying the dwelling and note the identities on
- the return of service. If appropriate, a law enforcement
- 223 officer may arrest any individual found in the dwelling for
- trespass, burglary, theft, or any other criminal act, or for



225 an outstanding warrant.

244

245

246

247

248

249

250

- (e) The affiant must provide notice at the dwelling
 notifying the unauthorized individual that he or she has no
 right to the dwelling and must vacate immediately. The notice
 must include the street address of the law enforcement agency
 where the affidavit will be delivered. A copy of the notice
 with the date and time of delivery must be attached to the
 affidavit.
- 233 (f) An affiant who knowingly provides a false affidavit 234 to law enforcement pursuant to this section may be prosecuted 235 for false reporting to law enforcement authorities pursuant to 236 Section 13A-10-9, Code of Alabama 1975.
- 237 (g) No law enforcement officer, governmental entity, or
 238 political subdivision of the state may be held liable for any
 239 action or omission made in good faith pursuant to this
 240 section, to the extent that state immunity provides. A law
 241 enforcement officer is not liable to an unauthorized
 242 individual or any other party for loss, destruction, or damage
 243 of property.
 - (h) An individual may bring a civil cause of action for wrongful removal under this section against the affiant. An individual harmed by a wrongful removal under this section may have the possession of the dwelling restored and may recover actual costs and damages incurred, as well as punitive damages of triple the fair market rent of the dwelling, plus court costs and reasonable attorney fees.
- 251 (i) This section does not limit the rights of a 252 property owner or limit the authority of a law enforcement



- officer to arrest an unlawful occupant for trespassing, theft, burglary, or other crimes.
- 255 (j) A law enforcement agency may charge a fee of not 256 more than fifty dollars (\$50) to process an affidavit filed 257 pursuant to this section.
- Section 5. (a) For the purposes of this section, the
 term "squatter" means a person occupying a dwelling who is not
 entitled to occupy the dwelling under a lease or rental
 agreement nor authorized by a tenant to occupy the dwelling
 The term does not include a tenant who holds over in periodic
 tenancy as described in Section 35-9A-441, Code of Alabama
 1975.
- 265 (b) Occupancy by a squatter is excluded from the
 266 application of Chapters 9 and 9A of Title 35 of the Code of
 267 Alabama 1975, and the removal of a squatter shall not require
 268 the use of an eviction action under those chapters.
- Section 6. Although this bill would have as its purpose or effect the requirement of a new or increased expenditure of local funds, the bill is excluded from further requirements and application under Section 111.05 of the Constitution of Alabama of 2022, because the bill defines a new crime or amends the definition of an existing crime.
- 275 Section 7. This act shall become effective on June 1, 276 2024.