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To the Legislature of Alabama: 
 
This is the 31st edition of a publication first completed in January of 1979. It is intended as a reference source for the 
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Education Trust Fund Receipts: Fiscal Years 2020-2023 
 

 Actual FY 20  Actual FY 21  Actual FY 22  Actual FY 23  
Beer Tax 22,313,702  23,444,102  22,347,818  22,597,381  
Court Costs -  8,526  59,439  52,485  
Hydroelectric Tax 508,205  1,152,768  575,509  557,070  
Income Tax 4,657,167,330  5,643,876,383  7,182,568,354  7,032,093,931  
Insurance Premium Tax1 30,993,296  -  -  0  
Miscellaneous 36,521  12,423  7,313  8,089,746  
Mobile Telecomm Tax 9,804,426  7,854,607  7,876,760  280,047  
Sales Tax 2,084,997,958  2,320,781,188  2,479,655,623  2,592,614,517  
Store Licenses 108,039  114,194  113,521  92,232,439  
Unclassified 14,705  4,630  -  113,769  
Use Tax 171,835,152  189,176,846  224,561,280  43,234  
Use Tax Remote 11,862,146  13,021,155  15,838,365  240,194,523  
Use Tax Simplified Sellers 46,259,499  64,247,692  77,625,559  18,567,403  
Utility Tax 388,005,780  379,592,951  406,487,071  421,950,643  
Subtotal 7,423,906,759 2 8,643,287,465  10,417,716,613  10,429,387,186  
Transfers And Reversions 664,981  525,598  1,814,985  1,572,999  
Total3 7,424,571,740 4 8,643,813,063  10,419,531,598  10,430,960,185  
 
 
  

 
1 Capped at $30,993,296, until distribution of that amount was changed to General Fund by Act 2019-392 beginning in FY2021. 
2 Excludes one-time transfer of $15,000,000 from Education Trust Fund Advancement and Technology Fund and temporary transfer 
of $301,665,743 from the Budget Stabilization Fund for cash flow purposes. 
3 Totals may not sum due to rounding. 
4 Represents real revenues. 
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Education Trust Fund Receipts by Tax: Fiscal Year 2023 
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State General Fund Receipts: Fiscal Years 2020 – 2023 
 Actual FY 20  Actual FY 21  Actual FY 22  Actual FY 23  

Abandoned Property Tax 55,000,000  45,000,000  45,000,315  45,000,075  
A.B.C. Board 139,932,450  156,732,629  170,158,894  173,591,676  
Ad Valorem Tax 173,618,373  182,200,778  192,180,118  214,269,126  
Alabama Trust Fund 114,945,748  123,577,185  122,499,814  118,659,764  
Auto Title Tax 21,635,240  23,704,396  22,506,253  21,734,848  
Cigarette Tax 148,507,163  143,374,979  132,170,597  121,179,471  
Corporation Taxes 96,428,940  98,708,994  98,997,911  103,450,258  
Court Costs-Judicial Article 54,294,712  59,644,764  60,190,411  64,233,346  
Deed Record Tax 11,597,437  16,858,744  20,142,854  17,110,174  
Driver License Fees 17,023,255  17,044,392  16,976,517  17,741,321  
Financial Instit. Excise Tax 35,261,905  90,417,436  73,617,451  78,540,392  
Freight Line & Equip. Co. Tax 4,809,329  5,336,768  5,374,349  5,613,463  
Hazardous Waste 143,056  59,371  36,862  40,930  
Estate Tax 10,493  (9,341)  (1,152)  -  
Insurance Premium Tax 412,104,979  489,046,539  553,986,900  584,440,292  
Interest On State Deposits 51,525,314  19,643,087  40,373,733  404,602,014  
Judicial Admin Fees 75,857  71,890  73,317  75,122  
Lease Tang. Pers. Prop. 83,804,669  91,707,455  98,834,020  101,923,183  
Lodgings Tax 49,980,777  63,099,773  77,371,409  82,430,243  
Manufactured Home Fees 502,962  499,415  507,011  498,388  
Misc. Dept Fees & Receipts 4,607,356  4,413,369  5,360,286  5,878,558  
Mobile Telecom Tax 15,108,791  11,209,213  11,253,521  11,679,445  
Mortgage Record Tax 43,508,120  58,472,446  56,741,223  35,639,392  
Motor Veh License 46,800,765  50,461,399  50,853,625  51,825,246  
Oil Co Licenses 7,936,157  8,211,500  8,837,903  8,868,942  
Oil And Gas Production 18,843,884  21,846,688  39,266,075  33,066,619  
Pari-Mutuel Tax 2,203,928  4,111,998  5,221,293  8,258,155  
Privilege License Tax 5,368,407  5,839,548  6,336,932  6,960,691  
Public Safety Misc. 17,099,445  15,962,622  17,409,680  19,012,074  
Public Utility Rec Tax 24,350,133  23,422,421  18,774,314  16,787,140  
Sales Tax On Autos 116,094,535  143,006,190  145,511,169  152,038,233  
Sales Tax Discount 5 20,882,822  31,154,065  28,670,093  28,178,023  
State Securities Comm. 11,915,101  12,806,825  14,590,551  15,350,940  
Tobacco - Medicaid Waiver 2,241,575  2,582,821  2,650,945  2,379,437  
Tobacco Tax 10,935,832  12,405,621  11,437,902  11,129,174  
Use Tax 210,745,590  237,521,604  272,360,512  289,075,535  
Use Tax Remote 35,586,528  39,063,533  47,515,206  55,702,280  
Use Tax Simplified Sellers 138,778,497  192,743,077  232,876,678  276,697,316  
Use Tax Discount 4,707,057  5,812,825  6,589,896  5,584,644  
Unclassified 336  11,922  1,401  41  
Vapor Products 2,191,805  2,806,680  3,382,085  3,426,262  
Sub-Total 2,211,109,324  2,510,585,621  2,777,752,621  3,192,672,231  
Transfers And Reversions 88,067,476 6 50,947,048 7 61,113,747  46,917,411  
Total 8 2,299,176,800  2,561,532,668  2,777,752,621  3,239,589,643  

State General Fund Receipts by Tax: Fiscal Year 2023 
 

 
5 Includes amount pledged for debt service on state parks and historical sites bonds and the SGF per Act 2000-731. 
6 Includes one-time transfer of $11,788,340 from tobacco balances and $22,437,457 from excess motor vehicle registrations. 
7 Includes one-time transfer of $13,327,539 from tobacco balances. 
8 Totals may not sum due to rounding. 
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A.B.C. Licensing and Penalty Review 
Statutory Authority: 
Sections 28-3-1, 28-3A-1 through 28-3A-26, 28-4A-1 through 28-4A-6, 28-7-5 through 28-7-15, and 28-10-1 through 28-
10-8, Code of Alabama 1975. 
 
Tax Base: 
Licenses and associated filing fees are required of distillers, manufacturers, importers, wholesalers, and retailers for 
the privilege of distributing alcoholic beverages within the State of Alabama. 
 
Tax Rate: 
 

Description State Fee 
Application filing fees, original application only $50 
Filing fee for transfer of a license $50 
Responsible vendor fee $35 
Annual License Fees:  

Lounge Retail Liquor - Class I $300 
Lounge Retail Liquor - Class II (Package) $300 
Restaurant Retail Liquor $300 
Club Liquor - Class I $300 
Club Liquor - Class II $750 
Retail Beer (On or Off Premises) $150 
Retail Beer (Off Premises Only) $150 
Retail Table Wine (On or Off Premises) $150 
Retail Table Wine (Off Premises Only) $150 
Liquor Wholesale $500 
Wholesale Beer Only $550 
Wholesale Table Wine Only - 16.5% or Less $550 
Wholesale Table Wine & Beer Combined  $750 
Warehouse License $200 
Additional Warehouse Wine, Beer, or Both $200 
Special Events Retail $150 
Special Retail License - 30 Days or Less $100 
Special Retail - More than 30 Days $250 
Retail Common Carrier $150 
Manufacturer $500 
Importer $500 
Brewpub $1,000 
International Motor Speedway $300 
Wine Festival License $50 
Wine Festival Participant License $15 
Hospitality Management Program License $1,000 
Food or Beverage Truck License $300 
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Direct Wine Shipper  $200 
Wine Fulfillment Center $500 
Additional Wine Fulfillment Center $100 
Delivery Service License $250 

 
Counties and municipalities may levy additional license fees on any of the licenses listed in Annual License Fees 
above. 
 
Collections: 
By the Alcoholic Beverage Control (ABC) Board. Licenses are due and payable on or before October 1 of each year; 
county license fees are deposited to the State Treasury and paid semiannually to the respective county; state license 
fees are deposited to the credit of the Beer Tax and License Fund and paid to the State General Fund and the ABC 
Board Fund no later than the end of the following month. 
 

Fiscal Year Collections ($)9 Percent Change 
2023 3,592,086 33.23 
2022 2,696,207 (14.17) 
2021 3,141,197 (38.82) 
2020 5,134,186 47.70 
2019 3,476,153 (1.47) 

Source: “Comparative Summary of Revenue Source” Report. 
 
Distribution: 
1. County license fees to the levying county 
2. License, filing, and permit fees to the State General Fund 
3. Responsible vendor fees to the ABC Board Fund 
 
  

 
9 State only. 
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Abandoned Property Act 
Constitutional Provision: 
Section 258 of the Constitution of Alabama of 2022. Provides that the estates of deceased persons who die without 
leaving a will or heir shall be used or applied to the furtherance of education. 
 
Statutory Authority: 
Sections 35-12-70 through 35-12-96, Code of Alabama 1975. 
 
Description: 
This revenue source is not a tax but a provision for the orderly disposition of unclaimed or abandoned property. Every 
person or entity holding funds or other property, tangible or intangible, presumed abandoned must file a report with 
and deliver the property to the Treasurer. This property includes, but is not limited to, monies kept on deposit in 
financial institutions, traveler's checks, money orders, debit cards or other payment instruments, safe deposit box 
contents, monies owed to policyholders by insurance companies, utility deposits, corporate stocks, securities and 
dividends held by brokers and fiduciaries. The Treasurer is required to attempt to notify the apparent owners of 
abandoned property in a cost-effective manner. All abandoned property (other than money and securities) delivered to 
the State Treasurer is sold to the highest bidder at public sale within three years after its delivery (unless the treasurer 
determines that the probable cost of sale exceeds the proceeds of the sale). 
 
Collections: 
All funds received, including the proceeds from the sale of abandoned property, are collected by the Treasurer. 
 

Fiscal Year Gross Collections ($) Claims Paid Net Collections Percent Change 
2023 135,486,986 47,416,021 88,070,965 38.87 
2022 106,704,205 43,282,409 63,421,796 (20.27) 
2021 112,711,809 33,169,470 79,542,339 18.53 
2020 103,715,459 36,610,684 67,104,774 30.15 
2019 86,873,763 35,315,446 51,558,317 (2.11) 

Source: State Treasurer’s Office Unclaimed Property Division. 
 

Fiscal Year 
State General Fund Receipt 

Collections ($) Percent Change 

2023 45,000,075 0.00 
2022 45,000,315 0.00 
2021 45,000,000 (18.18) 
2020 55,000,000 (9.84) 
2019 61,000,000 0.00 

Source: “General Fund – Summary Comparison of Net Receipts” Report. 
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Distribution: 
All funds and proceeds received from the sale of abandoned property are deposited as follows: 
1. Funds from the estates of persons who died without leaving a will or heir are deposited into the Public School 

Fund. 
2. All other funds are deposited into the Unclaimed Property Reserve Fund from which the Treasurer pays claims 

duly allowed and transfers funds to the State Treasury Operations Fund as necessary to pay all costs and 
expenses of administering the program and all costs and expenses of administering the Office of the Treasurer. 
Surpluses in the Unclaimed Property Reserve Fund are deposited into the State General Fund on a quarterly 
schedule. 

 
Major Exemptions: 
• Municipalities, incorporated municipal boards, counties, county boards, and electric cooperatives are exempted 

from reporting property as abandoned. 
• Gift certificates, gift cards, or in-store credits issued by persons primarily engaged in a retail business.  
• Property held, due, and owing in a foreign country and arising out of a foreign transaction. 
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Ad Valorem Tax 
Constitutional Authority: 
Levying Provisions: 
Section 214 of the Constitution of Alabama of 2022. Limited total state property tax levied for state purposes to 6.5 
mills. 
 
Section 260 of the Constitution of Alabama of 2022 (proposed by Act 1956-82, 1st Ex. Sess., proclaimed ratified 
September 7, 1956). Provides a tax of 3 mills for the educational fund to be applied to support and furtherance of 
education and restated the authority of the Legislature to levy a total state ad valorem tax up to 6.5 mills, including the 
3 mills provided by this section, for the educational fund.  
 
Exemption Provisions: 
Section 91 of the Constitution of Alabama of 2022. Prohibited the Legislature from taxing the real or personal property 
of the state, counties or municipal corporations or cemeteries and certain property used exclusively for religious 
worship, schools or for purely charitable purposes. (See also Section 217). 
 
Other Provisions: 
Section 217 of the Constitution of Alabama of 2022, “Lid Bill” (proposed by Act 1978-6, 2nd Ex. Sess., proclaimed 
ratified November 20, 1978, effective October 1, 1978): 
• Established the current classes of property, assessment ratios and the maximum total amount of ad valorem tax 

payable on any item in any one year (as a percentage of fair market value). 
• Provided the option of current use value for Class III property. 
• Provided that taxable property be assessed uniformly by local governments at the state ratio effective October 1, 

1978 and further provided for the adjustment of the ratios (within a prescribed range of assessment ratios of 5% 
to 35%) as applied to property taxes levied by local authorities. 

• Established procedures for increasing local millage rates above limits otherwise provided in the Constitution as 
follows: 
o proposal by the local governing body after a public hearing; 
o approval by the Legislature; 
o approval by a majority of affected voters in a special election. 

• Provided that, on or after October 1, 1978, taxing authorities may levy and collect up to 2 mills property tax for 
reimbursement for certain reappraisal costs, with any collections above the reassessment costs in the year the 
tax terminates to be used for general purposes. 

• Restated exemption of property devoted exclusively to religious, educational, or charitable purposes (see also 
Section 91) and provided additional exemptions. 

 
Statutory Authority: 
Sections 38-4-12, 38-4-12.1, 38-4-13, and 40-1-1 through 40-11-6, Code of Alabama 1975. 
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Tax Base: 
A property tax is levied on the owners of real and personal property within Alabama. All property is assessed in one of 
four classes at the ratios and maximums payable below: 

Class Description 
Assessment 

Ratio 

Annual Max. Payable  
(as % of Market 

Value)10 
Total Millage 

Equivalent 
I All property of utilities 30% 2.00% 66.7 
II All property not otherwise classified 20% 1.50% 75 

III 

All agricultural, forest and single-family, 
owner-occupied residential property, 
including owner-occupied residential 
manufactured homes, located on land owned 
by the manufactured homeowner, and 
historical buildings and sites 

 
10% 

 
1.00% 

 
100 

IV 
All private passenger automobiles and motor 
trucks of the type commonly known as 
“pickup trucks” used for personal use 

 
15% 

 
1.25% 

 
83.3 

 
Tax Rate: 
State levy of 6.5 mills per dollar of assessed value. (A mill is 1/1000 of a dollar or 1/10 of a cent, so that 6.5 mills 
equal $.0065 or .65% of $1. One mill equals $1 of taxes per $1,000 of assessed value of property.)   
 
Example of application of state millage rate to determine state ad valorem taxes due: Assuming a home has an 
appraised value of $100,000 and the homeowner (taxpayer) is eligible for the $4,000 state homestead exemption. 
 

$100,000 (appraised value) 
x   10% (assessment ratio of Class III property) 
$  10,000 (assessed value) 
-4,000 (homestead exemption)  
$    6,000  
x  .0065 (6.5 mills) 
$         39 (State ad valorem tax due)  

 
  

 
10 Total (including state and all applicable local levies) payable per taxpayer per property. The cities of Mountain Brook, Vestavia Hills 
and Huntsville are exempted from the ceiling by Section 217 “Lid Bill.” Other cities may be exempted by constitutional amendment. 
The fair and reasonable market value of the property (to which the appropriate assessment ratio is applied) is determined by the local 
tax assessor and local Board of Equalization, except in the case of public utility property where the Department of Revenue makes 
the determinations. 
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Collections: 
By County Tax Collector or Revenue Commissioner; remitted to State Treasury on the 5th and 20th of each month. 
 

Fiscal Year Collections ($) (State Only)11 Percent Change 
2023 489,126,292 11.76 
2022 437,672,004 6.05 
2021 412,709,280 5.04 
2020 392,907,368 5.57 
2019 372,182,990 3.82 

Source: “Comparative Summary of Revenues by Revenue Source” Report. 
 
Property Tax Relief Fund Collections: 
 

Fiscal Year Collections ($) Percent Change 
2023 70,196,452 10.47 
2022 63,541,834 4.57 
2021 60,764,835 4.52 
2020 58,137,693 4.57 
2019 55,599,404 4.40 

Source: “Comparative Summary of Revenues by Revenue Source” Report. 
 
Distribution: 
1. 3 mills to the Public School Fund 
2. 2.5 mills to the State General Fund 
3. 1 mill distributed as follows:  

a. $20,773,500 to the Department of Human Resources for “old age pension purposes” 
b. One percent of the entire 1 mill levy to the Alabama Historical Commission for capital improvements and 

maintenance of the Confederate Memorial Park in Chilton County 
c. Administrative costs to the Department of Revenue as appropriated by the Legislature  
d. The amount required by the Department of Human Resources for pension payments to Confederate soldier and 

sailor widows 
e. The remaining balance to the Alabama Veterans’ Assistance Fund.  
f. County, municipal, and other special tax district levies are generally earmarked. 

 
Major Exemptions: 
• Sections 91 and 217 of the Constitution of Alabama of 2022 exempts the real and personal property of the state, 

counties, or other municipal corporations, or cemeteries and property devoted exclusively to religious, educational, 
or charitable purposes.  

• Section 217 also exempts household and kitchen furniture, all farm tractors, all farming implements when used 
exclusively in connection with agricultural property and all stocks of goods, wares, and merchandise (inventory).  

• Several sections, between 40-9-1 through 40-9-38, Code of Alabama 1975, provide a listing of additional property tax 
exemptions for various organizations and for various types of property.  

 
11 Does not include property tax relief replacement revenues from income tax receipts. Section 40-18-58, Code of Alabama 1975, 
provides an appropriation from income tax receipts to the Property Tax Relief Fund (Section 40-9-24) to replace revenue losses which 
result from homestead exemptions. The transferred amount is distributed as are other state property tax receipts. 
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o Among these are a $4,000 (in assessed value) homestead exemption from state taxes for those 65 or under 
(up to 160 acres) and a total exemption from state ad valorem taxes on homesteads for those over 65 years of 
age or those who are retired due to total and permanent disability, regardless of age, or who are blind, 
regardless of age.  

• Municipal industrial development projects, county industrial development projects and property and projects of 
Municipal Industrial Development Boards, Downtown Redevelopment Authorities, County Industrial Development 
Boards, County Industrial Development Authorities, and Municipal Medical Clinic Boards may be exempt from 
certain ad valorem taxes as provided by the Code of Alabama 1975, Sections 11-54-31, 11-20-12, 11-54-96, 11-54A-
14, 11-20-47, 11-92A-18 and 11-58-14, respectively.  

• Numerous other statutes exempt other authorities, facilities, commissions, corporations, districts, and foundations 
from property taxes. 

 
Local Rates: 
 
County School Mills 

Mills Constitutional Authorization Implementation Status 
1 – Countywide Section 269  Section 16-13-160. Upon petition of at least 200 

qualified electors to the county commission, an election 
is held and a 3/5 approval required. 

3 – Countywide Section 269.01 Section 16-13-180. Upon petition of at least 200 
qualified electors to the county commission an election 
is held. 

3 – District Section 269.02 Section 16-13-180. Upon the request of county or city 
board of education to the county commission, an 
election is held. 

5 – Countywide Section 269.04 Because of conflicting language in the Section, it is 
recommended that both a petition of 200 electors and a 
request by the local board of education be made to the 
county commission for an election. 

3 – District Section 269.05 Lacking implementation language in the Section, the 
procedures for Section 269.02 (above) should be 
followed. 

 
County Government Mills 

Mills Constitutional Authorization Implementation Status 
5 – For general 
purposes* 

Section 215 Section 22-3-10; up to 5 mills may be levied for 
maintenance of a full-time county health officer and 
full-time health department; Section 11-9-1; for sanitary 
waste disposal systems. No election required. 

2.5 – For public 
buildings, bridges, or 
roads – excess may be 
used for general 
purposes  

Section 215 Section 11-14-11; for public buildings, bridges or roads; 
Section 11-14-10; for courthouses, jails and hospitals; 
Section 11-14-16; for courthouses or jails. No election 
required. 

.1 – For county 
hospitals 

Section 215.01 (Mobile and 
Montgomery Counties 
exempted) 

Section 11-14-10; for courthouses, jails, and hospitals. 
Election required. 
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4 – For county hospitals 
and health facilities 

Section 215.02 (Mobile, 
Montgomery, and Jefferson 
Counties exempted) 

Section 11-14-10; for courthouses, jails, and hospitals. 
Election required. 

.5 – For public library 
 

Section 215.05 None. Election required. 

Per acre tax (for forest 
fire protection). Local 
levy limited to the 
amount that, when 
combined with the state 
levy (currently $.10), 
would result in a total 
tax of no more than 
$.20. 

Section 214.01 Section 9-13-197; 
Local legislative act required. 

 
* May be higher if county has levied and is collecting the special 2 mill property tax authorized by Section 217 (e) of the 
Constitution of Alabama of 2022. 
 
Municipal Government Mills (may be levied by ordinance) 

Mills Constitutional Authorization Implementation Status 
5 – For general purposes Section 216 (authorizes certain cities 

to levy more than 5 mills) 
None.  No election required. 

7.5 – For general purposes Section 216.04 None.  Election required. 
.5 – For public library Section 215.05 None.  Election required. 

 
Additional Notes Regarding Local Levies: 
• Local governments may levy additional mills for schools or other purposes  

o under the provisions of Section 217 (“Lid Bill”) outlined under Constitutional Authority,  
o by local constitutional amendment, or  
o by general constitutional amendment.  
o A general constitutional amendment requires passage of a legislative act by 3/5 votes of both houses and 

statewide approval of voters.  
o A local constitutional amendment requires passage of a legislative act by 3/5 votes of both houses with no 

dissenting votes cast and approval of the Local Constitutional Amendment Commission with subsequent 
approval only by voters in the affected area. If there is a dissenting vote, then statewide approval is required. 

• Section 16-13-23, Code of Alabama 1975, requires that each school system receive an amount of local tax 
proceeds equivalent to 10 mills of school district tax in order to participate in the Foundation Program. 

• Numerous constitutional amendments and local implementation acts authorize certain local governments to levy 
additional property taxes for specified purposes. 

• Countywide school mill revenues are distributed to local school districts on the basis of the total calculated costs 
of the Foundation Program for those local school districts. 

• District school mill revenues are distributed directly to the district school system. 
• Local governments may also levy and collect the special 2 mills property tax authorized by Section 217 (l) of the 

Constitution of Alabama of 2022, related to reimbursement for certain reappraisal costs, if they have not already 
done so. 
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Alabama Trust Fund 
Constitutional Authority: 
Section 219.02 of the Constitution of Alabama of 2022, (proposed by Act 1985-79, 1st Ex. Sess., proclaimed ratified 
June 4, 1985). Establishes the Alabama Trust Fund and provides for distribution of Trust Fund earned income. 
 
Section 219.03 of the Constitution of Alabama of 2022, (proposed by Act 1988-550, proclaimed ratified November 23, 
1988). Redefines the investment authority of the Alabama Trust Fund to equate to that of the Teachers' and State 
Employees' Retirement Systems. 
 
Section 219.04 of the Constitution of Alabama of 2022 (proposed by Act 2000-491, proclaimed ratified December 13, 
2000). Provides for the distribution of trust income and capital gains earned by the Alabama Trust Fund; provided for 
the distribution of offshore oil and gas lease payments beginning October 1, 2001 (see Revenue Source and 
Distribution; see also Lease of Oil and Gas Rights, pg. 106) and authorized the board to transfer up to 75% of capital 
gains each fiscal year. 
 
Section 219.05 of the Constitution of Alabama of 2022, (proposed by Act 1999-393, proclaimed ratified December 13, 
2000). Places the distributions to the County Government Capital Improvement Fund and the Municipal Government 
Capital Improvement Fund that were previously provided by general law into the constitution. Similar provisions are 
also provided in Section 219.04. 
 
Section 219.07 of the Constitution of Alabama of 2022, (proposed by Act 1991-219, proclaimed ratified February 2, 
1993). Provides for the acquisition, maintenance and protection of unique lands and water areas in the state (The 
Forever Wild Land Trust Act).  
 

Funding for this purpose was provided from a percentage of the trust income earned from the Alabama Trust 
Fund that would have been reinvested in the fund. This funding would have expired beginning with fiscal year 
2013 but the program was extended by Section 219.08 (see Distribution).  

 
Section 219.08 of the Constitution of Alabama of 2022, (proposed by Act 2011-315, proclaimed ratified December 13, 
2012). Reauthorized the Forever Wild Land Trust for a 20-year period ending in fiscal year 2032.   
 
Section 219.09 of the Constitution of Alabama of 2022, (proposed by Act 2012-490, proclaimed ratified October 9, 
2012). Provides for the transfer of $145,796,943 from the Alabama Trust Fund (ATF) to the State General Fund for 
each of the fiscal years 2013, 2014, and 2015 and revised the method of distributions from the Alabama Trust Fund 
beginning with the 2013 fiscal year. Repeals the previous process of distributing annual interest earnings and capital 
gains in the ATF and replaced it with a process which bases annual distributions on the amount of royalties received in 
the previous fiscal year and the average market value of invested assets in the ATF as of the end of the three fiscal 
years prior to the beginning of the fiscal year for which distributions are being made.  
 
Section 219.043 of the Constitution of Alabama of 2022, (proposed by Act 2013-266, proclaimed ratified December 1, 
2014). Increased the total amount of bonding authority authorized by Section 219.04 by $50 million. Proceeds from the 
bond issuance are to be used for plans, construction, and maintenance of Alabama National Guard armories. Oil and 
gas capital payments received by the Alabama Trust Fund are to be used for repayment of any bond issuances 
pursuant to this Section. 
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Section 260.01 of the Constitution of Alabama of 2022, (proposed by Act 2001-1066, proclaimed ratified June 19, 
2002). Provides for the creation of the Education Trust Fund Rainy Day Account within the Alabama Trust Fund.  
 

Up to 6% of Education Trust Fund appropriations for fiscal year 2002 (approximately $248 million) were 
credited to the Account to be drawn upon in the event of proration in the Education Trust Fund. In fiscal year 
2003, $179,993,229 was transferred from the Rainy Day Account in the Alabama Trust Fund to the Education 
Trust Fund.  

 
Section 260.02 of the Constitution of Alabama of 2022, (proposed by Act 2008-508, proclaimed ratified December 1, 
2008). Reestablished the Education Trust Fund Rainy Day Account (ETFRDA) within the Alabama Trust Fund, and 
created a General Fund Rainy Day Account (GFRDA) within the Alabama Trust Fund. The ETFRDA is limited to an 
amount equal to 6.5% of the immediately preceding fiscal year’s appropriations from the Education Trust Fund. The 
Legislature must replenish withdrawals from the ETFRDA within six years. The GFRDA is limited to an amount equal to 
10% of the immediately preceding fiscal year’s appropriations from the General Fund. The Legislature must replenish 
withdrawals from the GFRDA within ten years.  
 

The initial balance in the ETFRDA was $437,390,828. The entire amount was withdrawn in fiscal year 2009 in 
order to reduce proration in the Education Trust Fund and was repaid in full in fiscal year 2015.  
The initial balance of the GFRDA was $188,329,374. In fiscal year 2010, $161,565,874 was withdrawn in order 
to reduce proration in the State General Fund and was repaid in full in fiscal year 2017 with bond proceeds 
payable from revenues received from state claims against BP Petroleum and Exploration, Inc. pursuant to Act 
2016-469. 

 
Revenue Source: 
The Alabama Trust Fund is a perpetual trust established in June 1985 with an initial trust capital of $333,583,680 from 
cash bonus payments and royalties paid to the state from offshore oil and gas leases. The trust capital was 
augmented from time to time by the deposit of proceeds of offshore oil and gas payments (including royalty 
payments) received after August 14, 1984. The Lands Division of the Department of Conservation and Natural 
Resources received 4% of the original lease payment of $347,483,000 and receives 1% of any payments made 
subsequent to August 14, 1984. The Alabama Trust Fund receives 32% of the balance of oil and gas capital payments 
received by the state; however, this amount is reduced by an amount necessary to make an additional transfer to the 
Capital Improvement Trust Fund to pay debt service (see Section 219.043 of the Constitution of Alabama of 2022) and 
33% is distributed pursuant to the annual spending plan (see Section 219.09). The remaining 35% is transferred to:  

(1) the County and Municipal Government Capital Improvement Trust Fund (7%); and  
(2) the Alabama Capital Improvement Trust Fund (28%).  

As of September 30, 2023, the trust capital of the Alabama Trust Fund totaled $3.46 billion. 
 
Collections: 
Pursuant to the revised spending plan adopted by Section 219.09: Distributions are made quarterly as adopted by the 
Alabama Trust Fund Board. 
 

Fiscal Year Trust Distributions ($) Percent Change 
2023 118,659,764 (3.13) 
2022 122,499,815 (0.87) 
2021 123,577,185 7.51 
2020 114,945,747 10.28 
2019 104,228,915 7.69 

Source: State Treasurer’s Office. 
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Distribution: 
Pursuant to Section 219.09, 33% of the royalties received in the previous fiscal year plus 5% of the average market 
value of invested assets in the ATF as of the end of the three fiscal years prior to the beginning of the fiscal year for 
which distributions are being made: 
1. 1% (up to a maximum of $5 million) - Senior Services Trust Fund 
2. 10% - County Government Capital Improvement Fund. 
3. 10% - Municipal Government Capital Improvement Fund. 
4. 10% (up to a maximum of $15 million) – Forever Wild Land Trust. 
5. Remainder – State General Fund. 
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Aviation Gasoline Tax 
Statutory Authority: 
Sections 40-17-325 through 4-17-326, 40-17-340, and 40-17-360, Code of Alabama 1975.  
 
Tax Base: 
Tax on the sale of aviation gasoline and jet fuel to licensed and non-licensed aviation fuel purchasers. 
 
Tax Rate: 
 
Aviation gasoline $.095 per gallon 
Jet fuel  $.035 per gallon 
Aviation gasoline sold to a non-licensed aviation fuel purchaser is taxed as gasoline, and aviation jet fuel sold to a non-
licensed aviation fuel purchaser is taxed as diesel fuel. 
 
Collections: 
By the Department of Revenue due on or before the 22nd of each month. 
 

Fiscal Year Collections ($)12 Percent Change 
2023 2,270,811 (0.29) 
2022 2,277,339 23.62 
2021 1,842,161 (2.01) 
2020 1,879,951 (25.56) 
2019 2,491,879 (0.66) 

Source: Department of Revenue’s “Revenue Abstract.” 
 
Distribution: 
Paid to the Alabama Department of Transportation (ALDOT) State Airport Development Fund, less the cost of 
collection. 
 
Used for: 
1. Paying the cost of acquiring, engineering, construction, improvement, and maintenance of existing or proposed 

airports and other air navigation facilities within the state 
2. Payment of the salaries of all employees who have been transferred from the Alabama Department of Aeronautics 

to the Department of Transportation under Article 12 of Chapter 1 of Title 23 
3. Payment of administrative expenses incurred by ALDOT in performing aeronautical activities 
4. Creating a sinking fund for the payment of the interest and retirement of the principal of all bonds which may be 

hereafter lawfully issued, sold, and delivered for funds to be used exclusively for the enumerated purposes. 
 
  

 
12 Gross collections. 
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Refunds/Exemptions: 
• A licensed air carrier with a hub operation in the state may apply for a refund on a quarterly basis for any 

purchases of jet fuel used to propel aircraft. 
• A licensed aviation fuel purchaser can apply for a monthly refund of the excise taxes paid to Alabama on the 

gallons of jet fuel sold to a licensed air carrier that purchases jet fuel to propel aircraft powered by jet or turbine 
engines operated in scheduled all-cargo operations being conducted on international flights or in international 
commerce. 

• K-1 kerosene or aviation jet fuel produced at a refinery in Alabama and is either exported directly by the operator 
of the refinery or sold for immediate export by the operator to a license exporter with proper documentation. 

• Motor fuel exported from the state for which proof of export is available in the form of a terminal issued 
destination state shipping document that is: 
o Exported by a supplier who is licensed in the destination state or 
o Sold by a supplier to a licensed exporter for immediate export to a state for which the applicable destination 

state motor fuel excise tax has been collected by the supplier who is licensed to remit the tax to the 
destination state. 

• Sales of dyed diesel fuel. 
• Gasoline blendstocks when sold to: 

o Licensed supplier or 
o Person who will not be using blendstocks in the manufacture of gasoline or as a motor fuel (with exemption 

certificate). 
• Fuel sold by licensed supplier or licensed permissive supplier to an exempt agency under Section 40-17-332 

(United States government or agency thereof, any county governing body of state, any incorporated municipal 
governing body of state, city and county boards of education of state, Alabama Institute for the Deaf and Blind and 
Alabama Department of Youth Services school district, and private and church schools as defined in Section 16-
28-1). 

• Motor fuel delivered by licensed supplier from one terminal to another terminal when ownership in the motor fuel 
has not changed or by a licensed supplier from a terminal to a refinery operated by the licensed supplier. 
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Beer Tax 
Statutory Authority: 
Sections 28-3-1 and 28-3-183 through 28-3-199, Code of Alabama 1975. 
 
Tax Base: 
Excise tax on the sale, storage, or receipt for the purpose of distribution of malt or brewed beverages. 
 
Tax Rate: 
State levy of $.05 per 12 fluid ounces or fraction thereof. Local beer taxes are uniform at the rate of $.01625 per 4 fluid 
ounces or fraction thereof. 
 
Collections: 
By the Alcoholic Beverage Control (ABC) Board on a monthly basis. Deposits are made into the State Treasury. 
 

Fiscal Year Collections ($) Percent Change 
2023 56,493,451 1.12 
2022 55,869,545 (4.68) 
2021 58,610,254 5.07 
2020 55,784,253 (1.24) 
2019 56,486,772 3.31 

Source: “Comparative Summary of Revenues by Revenue Source” Report. 
 
Distributions: 
1. $.015 to the State General Fund. 
2. $.005 divided equally among the wet counties. 
3. $.01 to the Public Welfare Trust Fund (Department of Human Resources) for general welfare purposes. 
4. $.02 to the Education Trust Fund, of which as much as may be necessary to pay the principal and interest on bonds 

not exceeding $30,000,000 in aggregate principal that have been issued and sold by the Alabama Trade School and 
Junior College Authority. 

Major Exemptions: 
• Sales between wholesalers or distributors. 
• Sales to certain agencies of the U.S. armed forces.  
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Boat Registration Fees 
Statutory Authority: 
Sections 33-5-1 through 33-5-20, Code of Alabama 1975. 
 
Base: 
An annual certificate of registration fee on every vessel on the waters of the State of Alabama. 
 
A change of ownership fee. 
 
An inspection fee on all homemade vessels that require a hull identification number. 
 
Fees: 
Class 1.  Less than 16ft $18, plus $2 issuance fee 
Class 2.  16ft or over and less than 26ft $23, plus $2 issuance fee 
Class 3.  26ft or over and less than 40ft $73, plus $2 issuance fee 
Class 4.  40ft or over $98, plus $2 issuance fee 

There is an additional $5 fee for every Class 1 through 4 vessel. 
The above stated fees also apply to livery boats. 

Change of Ownership Fee $3, plus $2 issuance fee 
Duplicate Fee $3, plus $2 issuance fee 
Class 5.  Dealer or Manufacturer; temporary license $23, plus $2 issuance fee 
Inspection Fee $25 for each homemade vessel that requires a 

hull identification number. 
Issuance fees are retained by the probate judge or issuing officer (if on a fee basis) or deposited to the county 
treasury. 
Optional Fees - five-year distinctive vessel identification sticker $50 plus $2 issuance fee 
 
Collections: 
By probate judges or any other official authorized to issue automobile plates; due to the Alabama State Law 
Enforcement Agency no later than 10 days after the 1st of each month. Registrations are issued on a staggered basis 
like motor vehicle registrations. 
 

 Boat Registration Fees Boat Ownership Transfer Fees 
Fiscal Year Collections ($) Percent Change Collections ($) Percent Change 

2023 7,729,120 7.59 74,140 (7.30) 
2022 7,184,114 14.59 79,980 (12.02) 
2021 6,269,638 3.73 90,902 17.63 
2020 6,044,169 (0.72) 77,276 (0.43) 
2019 6,088,267 0.38 77,613 1.96 

Source: “Comparative Summary of Revenues by Revenue Source” Report. 
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Distribution: 
1. All proceeds (except issuance fees and optional fees) are deposited to the credit of the Public Safety Fund to be 

used solely for the administration of the registration program.  
2. The additional $5 registration fee is deposited into the State Reservoir Management Grant Fund to provide 

matching grants to qualified local entities for projects related to reservoir management.  
3. The proceeds from the optional $50 distinctive identification sticker fee are distributed as follows:  

a. Actual cost of production and delivery, not to exceed 14% (maximum of $7), to the Alabama Correctional 
Industries Division of the Department of Corrections 

b. Actual cost of processing applications, not to exceed 6% (maximum of $3), to the Alabama State Law 
Enforcement Agency  

c. One-half of the remainder (a minimum of $20) to the sponsoring organization  
d. One-half of the remainder (a minimum of $20) to the Department of Conservation and Natural Resources, 

designated for the operation of state parks.  
 
Major Exemptions: 
• A vessel operating under valid temporary certificate or number. 
• A vessel already covered by a number in full force and effect which has been awarded to it pursuant to federal law 

or a federally approved numbering system of another state; provided that the vessel shall not have been within 
this state for a period in excess of 90 consecutive days. 

• A vessel under registry from a country other than the U.S. temporarily using the waters of this state. 
• A vessel owned by the United States, or a state, county, or municipality. 
• A ship's lifeboat. 
• A vessel not propelled by machinery, except sail boats and boats for hire. 
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Bureau of Loans Fees 
Statutory Authority: 
Sections 5-2A-80 through 5-2A-83 (Bureau of Loans), 5-18-1 through 5-18-23 (Alabama Small Loan Act), 5-18A-1 
through 5-18A-22 (Alabama Deferred Presentment Services Act), 5-19-1 through 5-19-33 (Alabama Consumer Credit 
Act), 5-19A-1 through 5-19A-20 (Alabama Pawnshop Act), 5-25-1 through 5-25-18 (Alabama Mortgage Brokers 
Licensing Act), and 5-26-1 through 5-26-20 (Alabama Secure and Fair Enforcement for Mortgage Licensing Act, also 
known as the Alabama SAFE Act), Code of Alabama 1975. 
 
Base: 
Initial application investigation, annual license, and examination fees for the privilege of:  
1. Operating a small loan company making loans of less than $1,500 (Alabama Small Loan Act) 
2. Offering cash advances by accepting and holding a check for a specified period of time (Alabama Deferred 

Presentment Services Act) 
3. Extending consumer credit or taking assignments of consumer credit contracts (Alabama Consumer Credit Act) 
4. Business of lending money on the security of pledged goods left in pawn (Alabama Pawnshop Act) 
5. Soliciting, processing, placing, and negotiating mortgage loans (Alabama Mortgage Brokers Licensing Act) 
6. Engaging in the business of mortgage loan origination (Alabama SAFE Act) 
 
Fees: 

Annual license fee for each office, branch, or place of business covered under the following: 
• Alabama Small Loan Act 
• Deferred Presentment Services Act 
• Mortgage Brokers Licensing Act 
• Alabama Consumer Credit Act 

Companies licensed under both the Alabama Small Loan Act and the Alabama Consumer Credit 
Act pay only the consumer credit $500 annual license fee. 

$500 

Investigation fee accompanying the initial application $100 
Examination fees which set by the Superintendent of Banks, must be conducted at least annually, 
with examination fees due at the time of the examination. 

$100 per 
person per day 

Pawnbroker licenses  
Annual license 
Initial application fee 

$100 
$50 

Mortgage Loan Originator initial license fee 
License fee is in addition to the fees required to apply through the Nationwide Mortgage 
Licensing System and Registry (Alabama SAFE Act). 

$75 

The above fees are in addition to any applicable business license fee found in Title 40, Code of Alabama 1975. 
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Collections: 
By the State Banking Department; annual license fees are due each October 1 for the one-year period ending the 
following September 30. Pawnbroker license fees and Mortgage Brokers license fees are due by December 1 of each 
year for the next calendar year. Deferred Presentment Services license fees and Consumer Loan license fees are due 
each January 1 for the one-year period ending the following December 31. 
 

Alabama Small Loan Act Consumer Credit Act 

Fiscal Year Collections ($)13 
Percent 
Change Collections ($)14 Percent Change 

2023 191,500 53.94 1,720,750 (5.78) 
2022 124,400 (17.15) 1,826,250 15.20 
2021 150,150 8.26 1,585,350 9.36 
2020 138,700 (23.71) 1,449,625 6.55 
2019 181,800 (7.00) 1,360,550 (2.28) 

 
 

Alabama Mortgage Brokers Licensing Act Alabama Deferred Presentment Services Act 

Fiscal Year Collections ($)14 
Percent 
Change Collections ($)14 Percent Change 

2023 265,900 5.22 211,400 (9.68) 
2022 252,700 32.79 234,050 (9.19) 
2021 190,300 34.56 257,750 17.63 
2020 141,425 36.38 287,500 (0.43) 
2019 103,700 (4.78) 301,600 1.96 

 
 

Alabama Pawn Shop Act 
Fiscal Year Collections ($)14 Percent Change 

2023 85,450 9.83 
2022 77,800 (8.58) 
2021 85,100 (5.81) 
2020 90,350 (3.88) 
2019 94,000 (9.53) 

Source: “Comparative Summary of Revenues by Fund” Report. 
 
Distribution: 
License fees, investigation fees, and examination fees are deposited into the Banking Assessment Fees Fund for use 
by the State Banking Department.  
  

 
13 Collections shown include annual license fees only. One-time investigation fees and examination fees are not included in these 
amounts. 
14 Gross collections. 
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Major Exemptions: 
The Alabama Small Loan Act does not apply to: 
• Any person doing business under the authority of the state or U.S. Government relating to banks, trust companies, 

savings or building and loan associations, credit unions, or pawnbroking businesses. 
• Any person making loans to their tenants engaged in agriculture. 
• Agricultural suppliers who make loans to persons whose principal business is farming. 
• Agricultural credit corporations or associations organized under an Act of Congress. 
• The financing of the purchase of motor vehicles, refrigerators, or other personal property. 
• Loans insured or guaranteed by the U.S. Government. 
 
The Deferred Presentment Services Act does not apply to: 
• Banks, credit unions, savings associations, savings banks, and thrift institutions organized pursuant to laws of 

any state or of the United States and any parent of the foregoing entities. 
• Trust companies, life insurance companies, and federally constituted agencies. 
• The Alabama Consumer Credit Act (Mini-Code) does not apply to: 
• Any person doing business under the authority of the state or U.S. Government relating to consumer credit 

transactions involving an interest in real property, banks, trust companies, savings or building and loan 
associations, credit unions, life insurance companies, or pawnbroking businesses. 

• Federally constituted agencies. 
 
The Alabama Mortgage Brokers Licensing Act does not apply to: 
• Any depository institution, as defined in Section 3 of the Federal Deposit Insurance Act, any subsidiary institution 

that is owned and controlled by a depository institution, and employees of any of the foregoing. Bank holding 
companies and subsidiaries of bank holding companies, thrift holding associations, savings banks and other thrift 
institutions, credit unions, and all other affiliates of each of the above persons if more than 50 percent of the 
affiliate’s shares or other ownership interests are owned or controlled by a person, and federally or state 
constituted agencies and employees of any of the foregoing. 

• Any person licensed to make consumer loans or take assignments of consumer credit contracts. 
• An attorney licensed to practice law in Alabama who is not principally engaged in negotiating mortgage loans 

when the attorney renders services in the course of his or her practice as an attorney. 
• Any person performing any act relating to mortgage loans under order of any court. 
• A natural person who is employed by a licensed mortgage broker or person exempted from the licensing 

requirements of this chapter when acting within the scope of employment with the licensee or exempted person; 
or who solicits mortgage loans exclusively on behalf of a licensed mortgage broker or person exempted from the 
licensing requirements of this chapter when the natural person is acting within the scope of the agency of the 
licensee or exempted person. 

• Any licensed real estate salesperson or broker who provides mortgage loan assistance in the course of doing 
business unless the real estate salesperson or broker is compensated for providing mortgage loan assistance. 
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The Alabama Pawnshop Act does not apply to: 
• Any bank which is regulated by the State Banking Department of Alabama. 
• The Comptroller of the Currency of the United States. 
• The Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation. 
• The Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System, or any other federal or state authority, and all affiliates 

thereof and any bank or savings and loan association whose deposits or accounts are eligible for insurance by the 
Bank Insurance Fund or the Savings Association Insurance Fund or other fund administered by the Federal Deposit 
Insurance Corporation all affiliates thereof. 

• Any state or federally chartered credit union. 
• Any finance company subject to licensing and regulation by the State Banking Department pursuant to the 

Alabama Consumer Credit Act. 
 
The Alabama SAFE Act does not apply to: 
• Registered mortgage loan originators, loan processors, loss mitigation specialists, and other employees when 

acting for an entity that is a depository institution, a subsidiary that is owned and controlled by a depository 
institution and is regulated by a Federal banking agency, or an institution regulated by the Farm Credit 
Administration. 

• Any individual who offers or negotiates terms of a residential mortgage loan with or on behalf of an immediate 
family member of the individual. 

• Any individual who offers or negotiates terms of a residential mortgage loan secured by a dwelling that served as 
the individual's residence. 

• A licensed attorney who negotiates the terms of a residential mortgage loan on behalf of a client as an ancillary 
matter to the attorney's representation of the client, unless the attorney is compensated by a lender, a mortgage 
broker, or other mortgage loan originator or by any agent of a lender, mortgage broker, or other mortgage loan 
originator. 
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Business Privilege Tax 
Constitutional Authority: 
Section 229 of the Constitution of Alabama of 2022, (proposed by Act 2012-275, proclaimed ratified December 13, 
2012). States that the Legislature shall pass general law for the payment by businesses of a tax on the privilege of 
doing business in Alabama, or otherwise under the laws of Alabama. Exempts strictly benevolent, educational or 
religious corporations from payment of the tax on their withdrawable or re-purchasable shares. 
 

Opinion of the Justices, 756 So. 2d 21 (Ala. 1999). The Legislature is required to impose a franchise tax but 
may levy a franchise tax on domestic corporations based upon the amount of their net worth in this state. 

 
Statutory Authority: 
Sections 40-14A-1 and 40-14A-2, 40-14A-21 through 40-14A-29, and 40-14A-41 through 40-14A-43, Code of Alabama 
1975.  
 
Tax Base: 
Privilege tax on every corporation, limited liability entity, and disregarded entity doing business in Alabama or 
registered under the laws of Alabama. The tax is based on the taxpayer’s net worth in Alabama provided for in 
Sections 40-14A-23 and 40-14A-24 Code of Alabama 1975. 
 
Tax Rate: 
The rate is determined by the taxpayer’s taxable income apportioned and allocated to Alabama. The following 
schedule details the tax rates: 
 

Taxable Income Tax Rate 
At least But less than (Per $1,000 of net worth) 

- $1 $ .25 
$1 $200,000 $1.00 

$200,000 $500,000 $1.25 
$500,000 $2,500,000 $1.50 

$2,500,000 - $1.75 
 
The minimum tax for all taxpayers, except financial institutions, is $100. Beginning after tax year ending December 31, 
2022, taxpayers who would owe the minimum tax of $100 will pay $50. Beginning after tax year ending December 31, 
2023, taxpayers who would owe the minimum tax of $100 will pay no tax and have no filing requirement. 
 
For financial institutions, the minimum tax is based on the financial institution’s total deposits in Alabama as 
determined by the following table: 
 

Financial Institution’s Total Deposits in Alabama Tax Rate (per $1,000 of deposits) 
Less than $1 billion $.125 

$1 billion – $6 billion $.17 
$6 billion or more $.225 

 
For purposes of determining total deposits in Alabama, all members of an affiliated group, as defined by Section 40-
14A-22(f)(1)a, must aggregate their deposits. The maximum tax for all taxpayers except financial institution groups, 
insurance companies, nonprofit corporations organized solely to hold title to property and pay related expenses, and 
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electing family limited liability entities is $15,000. The maximum tax for financial institution groups and insurance 
companies is $3 million. The maximum tax for nonprofit corporations organized solely to hold title to property and pay 
related expenses is $100. The maximum tax for electing family limited liability entities, as defined in Section 40-14A-
1(h), is $500. 
 
Collections: 
By the Department of Revenue. The tax return is due two and one-half months following the beginning of a tax year for 
a corporation or limited liability entity. The tax return is due three and a half months after the beginning of a financial 
institution group’s tax year. 
 

Fiscal Year Collections ($)15 Percent Change 
2023 217,528,398 5.16 
2022 206,849,001 10.71 
2021 186,835,001 8.55 
2020 172,126,748 7.28 
2019 160,441,186 5.76 

Source: Department of Revenue’s “Revenue Abstract.” 
 
Distribution: 
After deduction of the amount appropriated to the Department of Revenue as its costs of collection, the balance of the 
tax is distributed as follows: 
1. Each county receives the amount that it received from franchise tax collections during the fiscal year ending 

September 30, 1999. This amount is increased by .75% each year beginning in the fiscal year ending September 
30, 2000. 

2. Each county and each local ad valorem tax recipient agency within each county receives the amount that it 
received from the domestic corporation assessment of shares tax during the fiscal year ending September 30, 
1999. This amount is increased by .75% each year beginning in the fiscal year ending September 30, 2000. 

3. The remaining balance is distributed to the State General Fund. 
 
Major Exemptions: 
• Organizations described in 26 U.S.C. Section 501(a). 
• Counties, municipalities, municipal corporations, the State of Alabama, and any corporation or association owned 

solely by counties, municipalities, or the State of Alabama. 
• Community chests, funds, and foundations. 
• Entities organized and operated exclusively for religious purposes. 
• Homeowners’ associations. 
• Political parties, political action committees, and political campaign committees. 
• Agricultural cooperatives. 
 
  

 
15 Gross collections. 
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Cigarette Tax 
Statutory Authority: 
Sections 40-25-1 through 40-25-29 and 40-25-40 through 40-25-47, and 40-25-70, Code of Alabama 1975. 
 
Tax Base: 
Privilege and use tax on the sale, storage, or distribution of cigarettes by wholesalers and retailers, and use by 
consumers. Tax is paid at wholesale level by affixing stamps to each individual package. (See also Tobacco Tax, pg. 
131). 
 
Tax Rate: 
33.75 mills per cigarette ($.675 per pack of 20 cigarettes). 
 
Collections: 
By the Department of Revenue on a monthly basis. Privilege (stamp) tax is collected on the 20th of each month. 
Wholesalers and jobbers are allowed a 4.75% discount. Prior to October 1, 2015, the discount was 7.5%. 
 

Fiscal Year Collections ($) Percent Change 
2023 133,173,900 (7.45) 
2022 143,891,819 (8.69) 
2021 158,112,000 (2.54) 
2020 162,248,926 (0.83) 
2019 163,604,869 (3.46) 

Source: Department of Revenue’s “Revenue Abstract.” Collection amount represents net cigarette tax collections after discounts 
and refunds. 
 
Distribution: 
38.82% as follows: 
1. 6.06% to the State Public Welfare Trust Fund for general welfare purposes. 
2. 9.09% for: 

a. Maturing bonds issued by the State Industrial Development Authority. 
b. Balance credited to the "General and Mental Health Fund" and distributed as follows: 

i. 36% to the State Health Officer for expenses incident to general health work. 
ii. 58% to the Department of Mental Health for mental health services. 

iii. 6% to the Alabama Mental Health Board to provide services for people with an intellectual disability. 
3. 12.12% for: 

a. Acquiring and constructing mental health facilities and paying the principal and interest on the bonded debt 
issued by the Alabama Mental Health Finance Authority. 

b. Balance to the "General and Mental Health Fund" and distributed as follows: 
i. 30% to the State Health Officer for expenses incident to general health work. 

ii. 70% to the Department of Mental Health to provide mental health services. 
4. 6.06% for: 

a. Maturing bonds of the State Parks Development Authority. 
b. Balance to the "State Parks Fund." 

5. 66.67% to the State General Fund. 
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The remaining 61.18% as follows: 
1. Up to $2 million annually to the various counties levying a cigarette tax to offset administrative expenses of 

obtaining local stamps and to provide a discount to wholesalers and jobbers. 
2. Remaining revenues to the State General Fund for Medicaid Services. 
 
Major Exemptions: 
• A qualified wholesaler or jobber in Alabama may sell non-stamped tobacco products to: 

o A person outside the state, provided certain criteria defined in Section 40-25-15, Code of Alabama 1975, is 
met. 

o The United States or to any instrumentality thereof for resale to or for use or consumption by members of the 
Armed Services of the United States. 

o Ships regularly engaged in foreign commerce or coastwise shipping between points in this state and points 
outside this state for resale to or for use or consumption upon the ship or in foreign commerce. 

 
Note Regarding Local Rates: 
The state tax is in lieu of any other or additional local taxes and/or license fees other than those imposed by an act of 
the Legislature or an ordinance or resolution by a taxing authority passed or established prior to May 2004. The 
Department of Revenue maintains a current list of local tax rates on its website. 
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Coal Severance Tax 
Statutory Authority: 
Sections 40-13-1 through 40-13-10 and 40-13-30 through 40-13-36, Code of Alabama 1975. 
 
Tax Base: 
Privilege tax levied on every person severing coal within Alabama. 
 
Tax Rate: 
The state collects two levies of $.135 per ton and $.20 per ton, which total $.335 per ton of coal or lignite severed. The 
$.135 per ton levy expires October 1, 2031.  
 
Collections: 
The severance tax levies are collected by the Department of Revenue and are due on or before the 20th of each month. 
 

Fiscal Year Collections ($.135/ton) Collections ($.20/ton) Collections Total16 Percent Change 
2023 1,469,080 2,168,696 3,637,776 17.78 
2022 1,252,757 1,835,810 3,088,567 (0.08) 
2021 1,361,788 2,009,597 3,371,385 (9.79) 
2020 1,511,567 2,225,535 3,737,102 (21.41) 
2019 1,930,399 2,824,864 4,755,263 12.14 

Source: Department of Revenue’s “Revenue Abstract.” Collection Amounts represent net collections after refunds. 
 
Distribution: 
1. Proceeds from the $.135 per ton levy are credited to the Alabama State Docks Bulk Handling Facility Trust Fund 

and are available to pay the principal and interest on revenue bonds, if revenues earned by the State Docks from 
its coal handling operation are insufficient to pay the principal and interest on the bonds.  
a. The balance of the proceeds remaining in the Bulk Handling Facility Trust Fund is transferred as follows:  

i. First $300,000 to the Alabama Mining Academy  
ii. $500,000 to the Jefferson County General Fund 

iii. 60% to the general fund of the county of severance based on the ratio of the per ton coal severance tax 
collections from within the county to the total coal severance tax collections, except; 
1. $100,000 sent to the Walker County Economic and Industrial Development Authority 
2. $50,000 to the Marion County Community Development Association, Inc. 
3. $50,000 to the West Alabama Development Association of Fayette County 
4. $100,000 to the West Alabama Economic Development Association 
5. $100,000 to the Winston County General Fund. Any remaining monies will be distributed to the 

Surface Mining Commission. 
  

 
16 Does not include collections from the temporary tax levied by Act 2017-369 (repealed August 1, 2019). 
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2. Beginning in FY 2022 
a. The portion of the coal severance tax distribution that is attributed to the amount of coal severed in a 

county that is at least 10 percent greater than the average of coal severed in the county for the fiscal 
years 2018-2020 will be distributed to the initial county from which the coal was severed  

b. Except if any coal attributed to this distribution was loaded for shipping in another county, then 75% of 
this new distribution shall go to the county of severance and 25% shall go to the county where the coal 
was loaded. 

3. Any remaining distribution currently transferred annually to the State General Fund goes to a fund in the State 
Treasury that is continuously appropriated for the Surface Mining Commission. 

4. Proceeds from the $.20 per ton levy are distributed to the cities and counties in which the coal was severed. 
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Contractors’ Gross Receipts Tax 
Statutory Authority: 
Section 40-23-50, Code of Alabama 1975. 
 
Tax Base: 
Privilege tax on any person or corporation contracting to construct, reconstruct, or build any public highway, road, 
bridge, or street. 
 
Tax Rate: 
5% of the gross receipts derived from the performance of these contracts. "Gross Receipts" is defined to include only 
those amounts derived and received by the contractor from the performance of contracts. 
 
Collections: 
By the Department of Revenue; due on the 20th of each month for the previous month’s gross receipts. 
 

Fiscal Year Collections ($)17 Percent Change 
2023 36,985,694 6.39 
2022 34,764,691 4.88 
2021 33,146,461 (22.65) 
2020 42,854,149 (12.24) 
2019 48,832,408 (5.49) 

 
Source: Department of Revenue’s “Revenue Abstract.” 
 
Distribution: 
After the cost of administration and collection is deducted, 15% is deposited into the Pensions and Security Trust Fund 
and 85% is deposited into the Alabama Special Mental Health Trust Fund. 
 
Major Exemptions: 
• Gross receipts received from contracts made exclusively with any county or incorporated city or town. 
• That portion of the gross receipts received by the contractor under contractual escalation provisions allowing for 

an increase in the contract price for escalations in construction costs. 
  

 
17 Gross collections. 
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Corporation and Business Entity Filing Fees 
Statutory Authority: 
Sections 10A-1-4.31, and 10A-10-1.13, Code of Alabama 1975. 
 
Base: 
Fees paid by corporations and other types of business entities for filing documents and issuing certificates and for 
miscellaneous charges and penalties. 
 
Fees: 
Fees for filing documents and issuing certificates for business entities: State of Alabama Probate Judge 

Certificate of formation for all entities $200 - 
Amendment to a certificate of formation and a restated certificate of 
formation $100 - 
Name reservations and notice of transfer of name reservation $25 - 
Certificates, articles, or statements of dissolution or cancellation $100 - 
Foreign entity registration including a statement of foreign limited liability 
partnership $150 - 
Certificate of existence $25 - 
Certificates, articles, or statements of merger, conversion, and share 
exchange $100 - 
Any other filing instrument required or permitted to be delivered to the 
Secretary of State for filing pursuant to Title 10A $100 $100 
Certified copy of statements of authority, denial, and cancellation thereof, 
permitted to be filed with the judge of probate - $100 
Certified copy of certificates, articles, or statements of merger and 
conversion filed pursuant to Chapters 1, 2A, 5A, 8A, 9A, or 10 - $5 
Copies/Certifying - $2 per page for copying and $10 for certifying a copy 
of any filed document $12 $12 

 
Collections: 
By Probate Judges and/or the Secretary of State. 
 

Fiscal Year 
Secretary of State 

Gross Collections ($)18 Percent Change 
2023 12,359,914 (6.59) 
2022 13,232,002 3.40 
2021 12,796,764 33.03 
2020 9,619,583 3.54 
2019 9,290,304 6.37 

 
Source: “Comparative Summary of Revenues by Revenue Source” Report. 
  

 
18 Includes collections deposited to the credit of the Secretary of State’s Entity Fund and to the State General Fund. 



Corporation and Business Entity Filing Fees  Page 38 

Distribution: 
1. From the $200 fee collected by the Secretary of State for the filing of a certificate of formation in final irrevocable 

full payment of immediately available funds, the Secretary of State pays $100 to the county treasurer for the 
county in which the office of the initial registered agent for that entity is located, which sum shall constitute the 
entire fee due to that county for the formation of that entity.  

2. Funds collected by Probate Judges are deposited into county treasuries.  
3. Funds collected by the Secretary of State from corporations, partnerships, real estate investment trusts, and 

mergers of business entities are deposited 70% to the State General Fund and 30% to the Secretary of State Entity 
Fund. 
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Credit Union Fees 
Statutory Authority: 
Section 5-17-7, Code of Alabama 1975. 
 
Base: 
Annual operating fee for the privilege of operating a credit union, an annual operating assessment, and a one-time 
application fee for a certificate of organization. 
 
Fees: 
All state chartered and corporate credit unions pay an annual operating fee, the exact amount to be fixed by the 
Administrator of the Alabama Credit Union Administration. The fee cannot exceed the fee calculated according to the 
following scale or the administrator may authorize payment of the schedule used by federal credit unions, if deemed 
appropriate by the administration: 
 

Assets Base Fee Fee per $100 of Assets 
$0 to $500,000 None $0.12 ($200 maximum) 

$500,000 to $1,000,000 $600 $0.05 
$1,000,000 to $5,000,000 $850 $0.035 

$5,000,000 to $10,000,000 $2,250 $0.02 
$10,000,000 to $20,000,000 $3,250 $0.018 
$20,000,000 to $50,000,000 $5,050 $0.016 

$50,000,000 to $100,000,000 $9,850 $0.013 
$100,000,000 or more $16,350 $0.011 

 
The Administrator may fix an annual operating assessment that is approved by the Credit Union Board to ensure the 
Alabama Credit Union Administration is not operated in a deficit. 
 
An application fee, not to exceed $1,000, is required whenever application is made for permission to organize a credit 
union. 
 
Collections: 
 

Fiscal Year Collections ($) Percent Change 
2023 2,533,424 (2.56) 
2022 2,600,110 6.63 
2021 2,438,549 24.22 
2020 1,963,147 6.85 
2019 1,837,299 1.83 

Source: “Comparative Summary of Revenues by Fund” Report. 
 
Distribution: 
All proceeds are deposited into the Alabama Credit Union Administration Special Fund to cover the expenses of 
operating the Alabama Credit Union Administration. 
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Deed Record Tax 
Statutory Authority: 
Sections 11-62-18(c), 11-97-18(c), and 40-22-1 through 40-22-12, Code of Alabama 1975. 
 
Tax Base: 
License or privilege tax on deeds, bills of sale, and other instruments that convey real or personal property or convey 
any interest in that property within the state. The tax applies only to the value in excess of any lien on which the 
mortgage record tax has been paid. When several deeds are executed for the same consideration, only one of the 
deeds is taxable. 
 
Tax Rate: 
$.50 for each $500 or fraction thereof in value of property conveyed. 
 
Collections: 
By the probate judge of each county at the time of recording the instrument. The tax on deeds conveying property 
situated in more than one county is also collected by the judge of probate, but only after a petition is made to the 
Department of Revenue and the Department determines the amount of tax due and the distribution of proceeds. 
 

Fiscal Year Collections ($)19 Percent Change 
2023 17,110,174 (15.06) 
2022 20,142,854 19.48 
2021 16,858,744 45.37 
2020 11,597,437 4.88 
2019 11,058,210 9.70 

Source: “General Fund Net Receipts of Revenues” Report. 
 
Distribution: 
After 2.5% of the total amount collected is deducted for the administrative costs of the Probate Judge the proceeds 
are distributed as follows: 2/3 to the State General Fund and 1/3 to the county treasury. 
 
Major Exemptions: 
• Recordings by churches and other religious organizations are exempt if they result from division into two or more 

similar organizations or from the consolidation of two or more religious organizations into a single organization. 
• Transfer of mortgages on real or personal property upon which the mortgage tax has been paid. 
• The re-recordation of corrected mortgages or deeds for the purpose of perfecting the title to real estate. 
• Deeds executed for a nominal consideration for the purpose of perfecting title. 
• Deeds executed before October 1, 1923. 
• Deeds filed to convey to or from or create any property interest in or by a Municipal Special Health Care Facility 

Authority created pursuant to Chapter 62 of Title 11. 
• Deeds filed to convey to or from or create any property interest in or by a public corporation organized pursuant to 

Chapter 97 of Title 11.  
  

 
19 General Fund collections only. 
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Driver Record Report Fee 
Statutory Authority: 
Sections 32-2-8, 32-6-49.15, and 32-7-4, Code of Alabama 1975. 
 
Base: 
A fee paid by persons who request a motor vehicle operator’s driver record abstract. 
 
Fees: 
$5.75 for a three-year driver record history and $15 for a lifetime driver record history. 
 
Collections: 
By the Department of Public Safety (within the Alabama Law Enforcement Agency). 
 

Fiscal Year Collections ($) Percent Change 
2023 12,585,911 9.93 
2022 11,448,564 12.07 
2021 10,215,530 (7.95) 
2020 11,097,811 (2.61) 
2019 11,394,917 1.51 

Source: “Comparative Summary of Revenues by Revenue Source” Report. 
 
Distribution: 
All proceeds for a three-year driver record history are deposited into the State General Fund. For a lifetime driver record 
history, $10 is deposited into the State General Fund and $5 is deposited into the Public Safety Fund.  
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Driver’s License Fees 
Statutory Authority: 
Sections 13A-12-294, 32-6-1 through 32-6-21, and 32-6-49.1 through 32-6-49.24, Code of Alabama 1975. 
 
Base: 
Privilege tax upon the operator of a motor vehicle using the highways of Alabama. 
 
Fees: 
License Class License Fee Test Fee 
Commercial   

Class A Commercial License (CDL)  
Any combination of vehicles with a gross vehicle weight of 26,001 lbs. or more, 
provided the weight of the vehicle(s) being towed is more than 10,000 lbs. 

$66.25 $25.00 

Class B Commercial License (CDL)  
Any single vehicle with a gross vehicle weight of 26,001 lbs. or more and any 
vehicle towing a vehicle with a gross weight not in excess of 10,000 lbs. 

$56.25 $25.00 

Class C Commercial License (CDL)  
Any single vehicle with a gross vehicle weight of less than 26,001 lbs. or any 
vehicle towing a vehicle with a gross vehicle weight not in excess of 10,000 lbs. if 
those vehicles are (a) designed to transport 16 or more passengers, including the 
driver, or (b) used in the transportation of hazardous materials which require the 
vehicle to be placarded. 

$36.25 $25.00 

CDL Permit $36.25 $25.00 
CDL Duplicate $31.25 n/a 
• There is also a $15 retest fee for the written portion of the CDL test, a $20 fee for the skills portion of the 

license test, and a hazardous materials endorsement fee, which shall not exceed the cost of conducting a 
background check.  

• The holder of a valid commercial license may drive all vehicles for which that license is issued and all lesser 
classes of vehicles including Class D (vehicles for which only a regular operator's license is required), except 
motorcycles (Class M). 

Regular Non-Commercial 
Class D Operator License $36.25 $5.00 
Motor Driven Cycle License <150cc $36.25 $5.00 
Motorcycle License $36.25 $5.00 
Vessel License $36.25 $5.00 
Learner's License $36.25 $5.00 
Duplicate License $31.25 n/a 
Non-Driver ID $36.25 n/a 
Non-Driver ID - Duplicate $31.25 n/a 
Non-Driver ID, more than 62 years old (lifetime) $5.50 n/a 
Non-Driver ID, handicapped (lifetime) $2.50 n/a 
Duplicate, non-driver ID (lifetime) $31.25 n/a 
Out of State Transfers (Class D License or Non-Driver ID) $41.25 n/a 
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Reinstatement   
First application for reinstatement for a canceled, suspended, or revoked license due to a drug or 
alcohol related offense $275 
First application for reinstatement of a revoked license due to a non-drug or alcohol related offense $175 
First application for reinstatement of a canceled or suspended license due to a non-drug or alcohol 
related offense $100 

• $5 for second and subsequent applications for reinstatement.  
• An additional reinstatement fee of $25 is charged if the license was suspended pursuant to Section 13A-12-294, 

which requires suspension of a driver’s license for an additional 6 months upon conviction of certain drug 
related crimes. 

 
Collections: 
License fees are collected by the probate judges or license commissioners of each county who remit the state share 
each month to the State Treasury. License duplicate fees, reinstatement fees, and examination fees are collected by 
the Alabama Law Enforcement Agency. 
 

Fiscal Year Licenses ($)20 Reinstatements ($) Examinations ($) Total ($) Percent Change 
2023 16,846,503 5,299,964 894,818 23,014,285 4.61 
2022 16,182,311 5,003,469 794,156 21,979,936 0.35 
2021 16,238,378 4,859,350 806,014 21,903,742 (0.49) 
2020 16,362,498 4,987,220 661,007 22,010,725 (1.52) 
2019 16,209,522 5,317,043 824,467 22,351,032 6.31 

Source: “Comparative Summary of Revenues by Revenue Source” Report. 
 
Distribution: 
1. Each probate judge and/or county retains a total of $1.50 for each license or identification card issued, and the 

balance is deposited into the State General Fund to be appropriated for public safety use.  
2. $20.75 of the $36.25 license fee for (1) a regular (Class D) license, (2) a nondriver’s identification card, or (3) a 

learner’s license is deposited to the Public Safety Fund for the Alabama Law Enforcement Agency and $.50 is 
allocated and appropriated to the Alabama Veterans Living Legacy Trust Fund.  

3. The additional $25 reinstatement fee levied pursuant to Section 13A-12-294 for conviction of certain drug related 
crimes is deposited to the Public Safety Fund for the Alabama Law Enforcement Agency.  

4. Examination fees are deposited to the State General Fund, and fees for reinstatement of canceled, revoked, or 
suspended licenses are deposited to the State General Fund and the Public Safety Fund.  

5. Fees for a duplicate of a lost or destroyed license are credited to the Public Safety Fund for the Alabama Law 
Enforcement Agency rather than to the State General Fund,  
a. except for $1.50 retained by the county and  
b. $.50 collected and appropriated to the Alabama Veterans Living Legacy Trust Fund.  

6. Also, $.75 of each commercial driver license application fee is distributed to the Peace Officers’ Annuity and 
Benefit Fund, and the hazardous materials endorsement fee is distributed to the Automated Fingerprint 
Identification System Fund. 

  

 
20 State General Fund amounts only (excludes portion of fees retained by county or deposited to the Public Safety Fund). Includes 
Class D drivers’ and learners’ licenses, commercial driver licenses, nondrivers’ identification cards, and duplicate cards. 
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Major Exemptions: 
• Any employee of the federal government while driving an official motor vehicle in the service of their employer. 
• Any person while driving any road machine or farm tractor that is temporarily moved on a highway. 
• Any 16-year-old or older nonresident who has a valid driver’s license from his home state or country. 
• Any 16-year-old or older nonresident whose home state or country does not require a driver’s license is exempt for 

a 90-day period if the motor vehicle driven is registered in their home state or country. 
• Any active-duty military or National Guard personnel operating government vehicles, farmers operating certain 

commercial motor vehicles, firefighters and operators of emergency equipment exempt from licensing provisions 
of the federal Commercial Motor Vehicle Safety Act of 1986 (Title XII of Pub. Law 99-570), and drivers of vehicles 
used for personal use, such as recreational vehicles, are exempt from the commercial driver’s license 
requirement. 

• Students who meet the definition of a homeless child or youth under federal law are exempt from the payment of 
certain fees associated with obtaining a driver's license, non-driver identification card, renewal fee, and 
examination fee. 
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Financial Institution Excise Tax 
Statutory Authority: 
Sections 40-16-1 through 40-16-11, Code of Alabama 1975. 
 
Tax Base: 
Excise tax on net income of any credit union, bank, banking association, trust company, loan company or association, 
or person or institution coming into competition with the business of national banks. 
 
Tax Rate: 
6.5% of taxable net income. 
 
Collections: 
Returns are due by institutions no later than the due date, including applicable extensions, for its corresponding federal 
income tax or federal information return, with checks payable to the Department of Revenue. 
 

Fiscal Year Collections ($)21 Percent Change 
2023 160,926,687 (2.03) 
2022 164,262,623 2.50 
2021 160,262,349 6.68 
2020 150,228,046 48.18 
2019 101,382,707 39.53 

Source: Department of Revenue’s “Revenue Abstract.” 
 
Distribution: 
1. The Department of Revenue shall distribute the balance of financial institutions excise tax revenue, net of refunds, 

quarterly as follows:  
a. 50% to the State General Fund 
b. 33.3% to municipalities 
c. 16.7% to counties. 

2. Beginning with the 2019 municipal financial institution excise tax distribution, each municipality shall receive a 
percentage share of the total municipal financial institution excise tax revenue equal to its average percentage 
share of the total municipal financial institution revenue distribution over the five years ending in 2018. 

3. County financial institution excise tax revenue 
a. The first twenty percent (20%) of total county financial institution excise tax revenue shall be distributed 

equally among all counties.  
b. The remaining eighty percent (80%) of county financial institution excise tax revenue shall be distributed 

among the counties based on each county’s share of total Alabama population as determined in the most 
recent federal census prior to the distribution. 

 
  

 
21 Gross collections. 
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Exemptions and Credits: 
• Moneyed capital employed in the business and the shares of all financial institutions are exempted from ad 

valorem taxation.  
• Financial institutions are allowed dollar-for-dollar credits against their excise tax liabilities for amounts paid in 

other taxes levied, including but not limited to sales and use taxes, utility taxes, and portions of certain local 
license taxes.  

• The following tax credits may be claimed against this tax:   
o Capital Tax Credit 
o Alabama New Markets Development Act Tax Credit 
o Full Employment Act of 2011 Credit 
o “Heroes for Hire” Tax Credit Act of 2012 
o Employee Credit 
o Rehabilitation, Preservation, and Development Credit 
o Alabama Veterans and Rural Jobs Act 
o Alabama Jobs Act 
o Apprentice Tax Credit Act of 2016 
o Innovating Alabama Tax Credit 
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Fireworks and Explosives Permit Fees 
Statutory Authority: 
Sections 8-17-210 through 8-17-226, 8-17-240 through 8-17-256, 13A-10-190, 13A-10-193.1 through 13A-10-193.2, and 
13A-10-205, Code of Alabama 1975. 
 
Base: 
Permit required prior to engaging in the manufacture or sale within the state, or shipment into the state, of any 
fireworks. A permit is required for each location at which fireworks are to be offered for sale. Permits expire each 
December 31. 
Certification required prior to detonating explosive materials or supervising the conduct of a blasting operation.  

Blasting contractor license required prior to engaging in blasting or other use of explosives for commercial purposes.  

Certification and licenses expire one year following the date of issuance. 

Permit required for the manufacture of destructive devices. Permits expire one year following the date of issuance. 
 
Fees: 
Fireworks:  

Manufacturer $3,000 
Distributor $3,000 
Wholesaler $1,000 
Annual Retailer, per location:  

Aerial Devices, Sparkling Devices, Audible Ground Devices, and Novelties $300 
Sparkling Devices and Novelties only $150 
Novelties only $50 

Seasonal Retailer, per location:  
Aerial Devices, Sparkling Devices, Audible Ground Devices, and Novelties $300 
Sparkling Devices and Novelties only $150 

Seasonal Retailer, application filed after July 10, per location:  
Aerial Devices, Sparkling Devices, Audible Ground Devices, and Novelties $150 
Sparkling Devices and Novelties only $75 

Display:  
Application filed at least 10 business days before display date $75 
Application filed less than 10 business days before display date $300 

Close Proximate Audience Display:  
Application filed at least 10 business days before display date $150 
Application filed less than 10 business days before display date $300 

Municipal explosives use permit $25 per applicant 
Destructive Devices:  

Initial application for permit $360 
Annual review of permit $240 
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Collections: 
By the State Fire Marshall 
 

 Fireworks Explosives 
Fiscal Year Collections ($) Percent Change Collections ($) Percent Change 

2023 352,605 3.68 112,332 (5.86) 
2022 340,080 30.03 119,328 (1.92) 
2021 261,544 0.60 121,662 18.03 
2020 259,990 (12.64) 103,080 (7.63) 
2019 297,600 8.25 111,600 16.54 

Source: “Comparative Summary of Revenues by Revenue Source” Report. 
 
Distribution: 
Fire Marshal Revolving Fund, except municipal explosives use permit which is retained by the municipality. 
 
Major Exemptions: 
• A distributor permit is not required for resale of special fireworks (those classified as Class B explosives by the 

U.S. Department of Transportation) for public display at The Alabama June Jam. 
• Public displays of fireworks in accordance with regulations governed by the Bureau of Alcohol Tobacco and 

Firearms. 
• U.S. and state military or naval forces or peace officers. 
• Section 8-17-220 lists items that are not to be considered "fireworks" for permitting purposes including model 

rockets, certain toy pistol caps, emergency flares, and blank cartridges. 
• Sections 8-17-254 and 8-17-242(b) list exceptions to explosives certification and licensing requirements, including 

surface coal mining operations and public utilities. 
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Fishing Licenses - Freshwater 
Constitutional Authority: 
Section 219.01 of the Constitution of Alabama of 2022, (ratified December 13, 1967). Created the Game and Fish Fund 
and provided that all monies derived from the sale of hunting and fishing licenses or permits are to be deposited into 
the fund. 
 
Statutory Authority: 
Sections 9-11-32 through 9-11-43, 9-11-53, 9-11-53.3, 9-11-53.6, 9-11-54 through 9-11-55.1, 9-11-55.3 through 9-11-56, 
9-11-56.4, 9-11-65, 9-11-65.2, 9-11-68, 9-11-71, and 9-11-73 Code of Alabama 1975. 
 
Base: 
Fee paid by persons desiring to fish in Alabama waters. Annual licenses are valid from September 1 or the date of 
issuance to the next August 31. 
 
Fees:  
For fees, visit https://www.outdooralabama.com/freshwater-fishing-licenses/fw-rec-fishing-licenses-resident. 
 
License fees and accompanying issuance fees for all licenses, except for migratory waterfowl stamp and commercial 
fowl preserve license, are subject to annual increases based on the percentage increase in the Consumer Price Index 
(CPI) if recommended by the Commissioner and approved by the Department’s Advisory Board. 
 
Collections: 
By the probate judges, license commissioners, or other person authorized and designated to issue fishing licenses due 
to the Department of Conservation and Natural Resources on the 1st of each month. 
 

Fiscal Year 
Annual License 

Collections ($)22 
Lifetime License 
Collections ($)23 

Wildlife Heritage License 
Collections ($) Totals ($) 

Percent 
Change 

2023 7,211,456 617,136 66,943 7,895,535 3.07 
2022 6,967,859 627,172 65,589 7,660,620 (1.35) 
2021 7,091,603 612,388 61,650 7,765,641 (1.09) 
2020 7,252,424 543,010 55,462 7,850,896 10.02 
2019 6,658,558 443,496 34,070 7,136,124 3.37 

Source: “Comparative Summary of Revenues by Revenue Source” Report. 
 
  

 
22 Includes collections from annual freshwater and trip licenses. 
23 Includes receipts from lifetime freshwater licenses only. 

https://www.outdooralabama.com/freshwater-fishing-licenses/fw-rec-fishing-licenses-resident
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Distribution: 
1. Resident freshwater fishing license fees - 100% to Game and Fish Fund.  
2. Resident lifetime freshwater fishing license fees and lifetime combination hunting/freshwater fishing license fees 

- 100% to Alabama Game and Fish Endowment Fund within the Game and Fish Fund. 
3. Resident lifetime combination freshwater/saltwater and hunting/freshwater and saltwater - the portion of the 

license fee representing the amount of lifetime freshwater or hunting license to the Alabama Game and Fish 
Endowment Fund and the balance of the fees charged for each license to the Alabama Marine Resources 
Endowment Fund. 

4. Resident 64 LIFETIME freshwater license - 100% to the Alabama Game and Fish Endowment Fund. 
5. Nonresident freshwater fishing license (annual and trip) fees - 100% to Game and Fish Fund. 
6. Wildlife heritage license fees – 100% to the Game and Fish Fund, with the first $500,000 of license revenue 

utilized by the Division of Wildlife and Freshwater Fisheries for the purpose of research on wildlife and wildlife 
habitat. 

 
Major Exemptions: 
• All persons under the age of 16. 
• Any resident of this state over 65 years of age, provided that said resident has on his person while fishing, a 

driver's license (or, in the case of nondrivers, proof of permanent Alabama residence and age). 
• Any person who fishes in a private pond. 
• Persons fishing from the bank with an ordinary hook and line in his county of residence; provided that any person 

who fishes with hook and line in his own county of residence shall be required to have on his person, while so 
fishing, a reasonable proof of residency in the county. 

• Persons fishing at "commercial fee fishing ponds". 
• Members of the U.S. armed forces when the U.S. is engaged in a war. 
• Residents who have purchased a lifetime fishing license or combination fishing/hunting license are exempt from 

purchase of saltwater fishing license if the lifetime license was purchased prior to April 1, 1992.  
• Residents on leave from active military duty who have proof of his or her status in his or her possession. 
• A member of the U.S. military stationed in Alabama on active duty and his or her spouse and their dependents 

who reside with them are deemed residents for hunting and fishing license purposes. 
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Fishing Licenses - Saltwater 
Statutory Authority: 
Sections 9-11-32 through 9-11-43, 9-11-53.1, 9-11-53.3, 9-11-53.5, 9-11-54, 9-11-55.2 through 9-11-55.3, 9-11-56.3, 9-
11-56.5, 9-11-65.2, and 9-11-69, Code of Alabama 1975. 
 
Base: 
Fee paid by persons desiring to fish in Alabama salt waters. Annual licenses are valid from September 1 or the date of 
issuance to the next August 31. 
 
Fees:  
For fees, visit https://www.outdooralabama.com/licenses/saltwater-recreational-licenses. 
 
License fees and accompanying issuance fees for all licenses, except for migratory waterfowl stamp and commercial 
fowl preserve license, are subject to annual increases based on the percentage increase in the Consumer Price Index 
(CPI) if recommended by the Commissioner and approved by the Department’s Advisory Board. 
 
Collections: 
By the probate judges, license commissioners, or other person authorized and designated to issue fishing licenses; 
due to the Department of Conservation and Natural Resources on the 1st of each month. 
 

Fiscal Year 
Annual License 

Collections ($)24 
Lifetime License 
Collections ($)25 Totals ($) 

Percent 
Change 

2023 3,679,662 211,663 3,891,325 2.07 
2022 3,570,476 240,533 3,810,936 12.01 
2021 3,186,760 215,446 3,402,206 1.22 
2020 3,153,271 207,993 3,361,264 7.78 
2019 2,908,520 210,014 3,118,534 8.52 

Source: “Comparative Summary of Revenues by Revenue Source” Report. 
 
Distribution: 
1. Resident saltwater fishing license (annual and trip) fees - 100% to Marine Resources (Seafoods) Fund. 
2. Resident lifetime saltwater license fees – 100% to the Alabama Marine Resources Endowment Fund. 
3. Resident lifetime combination freshwater/saltwater, hunting/saltwater, and hunting/freshwater and saltwater – 

the portion of the license fee representing the amount of lifetime resident freshwater or hunting license to the 
Alabama Game and Fish Endowment Fund and the balance of the fees charged for each license to the Alabama 
Marine Resources Endowment Fund. 

4. Resident 64 LIFETIME saltwater license - 100% to the Alabama Marine Resources Endowment Fund. 
5. Annual resident and nonresident saltwater pier fishing license fees - 100% Marine Resources (Seafoods) Fund. 
6. Nonresident saltwater fishing license (annual and trip) fees - 100% to Marine Resources (Seafoods) Fund. 
  

 
24 Includes collections from annual saltwater and trip licenses. 
25 Includes receipts from lifetime saltwater and combination licenses only. 

https://www.outdooralabama.com/licenses/saltwater-recreational-licenses
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Major Exemptions: 
• All persons under the age of 16. 
• Any resident of this state over 65 years of age, provided that said resident has on his person while fishing, a 

driver's license (or, in the case of nondrivers, proof of permanent Alabama residence and age). 
• Florida residents over 65 years of age. 
• Members of the U.S. armed forces when the U.S. is engaged in a war. 
• Residents who have purchased a lifetime fishing license or combination fishing/hunting license are exempt from 

purchase of saltwater fishing license if the lifetime license was purchased prior to April 1, 1992 on any valid 
lifetime saltwater fishing license.  

• Residents on leave from active military duty who have proof of his or her status in his or her possession. 
• A member of the U.S. military and his or her spouse and their dependents who reside with them stationed in 

Alabama on active duty are deemed residents for hunting and fishing license purposes. 
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Forest Products Severance Tax 
Statutory Authority: 
Sections 9-13-80 through 9-13-108, Code of Alabama 1975. 
 
Tax Base: 
Tax on the severing of timber or any other forest product from the soil for sale, profit, or commercial use and on every 
processor or manufacturer (in-state or out-of-state) using these forest products. 
 
Tax Rate: 
 
Pine logs $0.10 per ton 
Hardwood logs $0.065 per ton 
Pulpwood $0.10 per ton 
Piling and poles $0.205 per ton 
Stumpwood (tarwood) $0.125 per ton 
Pulpwood chips $0.10 per ton 
 
There is also a privilege tax of 50% of the severance tax above against in-state manufacturers using forest products. 
 
Collections: 
By the Department of Revenue; due quarterly. 
 

Fiscal Year Collections ($)26 Percent Change 
2023 5,742,224 (3.04) 
2022 5,921,963 0.75 
2021 5,877,737 3.63 
2020 5,671,872 (0.59) 
2019 5,705,325 (3.92) 

Source: Department of Revenue’s “Revenue Abstract.” 
 
Distribution: 
After cost of collection is deducted, proceeds are deposited into the Special State Forestry Fund. Not less than 85% 
must be expended for forest protection and no portion of the Fund reverts to the State General Fund at the end of any 
fiscal year. 
 
Major Exemptions: 
• Individual owners who occasionally sever timber from their own premises for the construction or repair of their 

own buildings, home consumption, or use in processing their farm products.  
• Pulpwood and residual pulpwood chips used as fuel. 
  

 
26 Gross collections. 
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Freight Line Equipment Companies Tax 
Statutory Authority: 
Section 40-21-52, Code of Alabama 1975, as limited by the federal Railroad Revitalization and Regulatory Reform Act. 
 
Tax Base: 
Privilege tax on any person or firm operating, renting, leasing, or furnishing private railroad cars for transportation of 
freight. 
 
Tax Rate: 
3.5% of 20% of the market value of the number of cars within the state for the preceding fiscal year. 
 
Collections: 
By the Department of Revenue, company reports are filed each March 1, and payments are due within 30 days of 
prescribed date. 
 

Fiscal Year Collections ($)27 Percent Change 
2023 5,624,379 0.96 
2022 5,571,088 4.39 
2021 5,336,768 4.22 
2020 5,120,695 8.33 
2019 4,726,755 (11.52) 

Source: Department of Revenue’s “Revenue Abstract.” 
 
Distribution: 
All proceeds are deposited into the State General Fund. 
  

 
27  Gross collections 
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Gas Pipeline Safety Inspection Fee 
Statutory Authority: 
Section 37-4-88, Code of Alabama 1975. 
 
Base: 
An inspection fee for the purpose of enforcing gas pipeline safety requirements on any gas system operated by any 
investor-owned company, city, county, municipality, or public gas district which comes under supervision of the Public 
Service Commission. 
 
Fees: 
Inspection fee of $.50 per active service line for the previous calendar year. 
 
Collections: 
By the Public Service Commission annually on October 1. 
 

Fiscal Year Collections ($) Percent Change 
2023 539,438 (0.23) 
2022 540,691 (1.84) 
2021 550,845 (0.14) 
2020 551,636 1.46 
2019 543,694 0.78 

Source: “Comparative Summary of Revenues by Revenue Source” Report. 
 
Distribution: 
All inspection fees collected are paid into the Gas Pipeline Safety Fund. If by September 30 in any fiscal year, the Fund 
accumulates an amount equal to 110% of the amount budgeted in that fiscal year for the purpose of enforcing gas 
pipeline safety, the Commission shall suspend the collection of the inspection fees for one year. 
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Gasoline Tax (and Gasoline Portion of the Motor Carrier Fuel Tax) 
Constitutional Authority: 
Section 111.06 of the Constitution of Alabama of 2022. Provides that no monies derived from any fee, excise or license 
tax, levied by the state, relating to (1) registration, operation, or use of vehicles or (2) fuels used for propelling vehicles 
except pump taxes shall be expended for any purpose other than costs of construction, reconstruction, maintenance 
and repair of public highways and bridges, costs of highway rights of way, payment of highway obligations, the cost of 
traffic regulation, and the expense of enforcing state traffic and motor vehicle laws. Additionally, allows for the 
distribution of proceeds from charges for personalized license plates or tags in any manner prescribed by the 
Legislature. 
 
Note: The above restriction does not apply to fees and taxes levied by counties and municipalities pursuant to 
authority granted by the state. 
 
Statutory Authority: 
Sections 40-17-140 through 40-17-155 (Motor Carrier Fuel Tax) and Sections 40-17-320 through 40-17-363 (Gasoline 
Tax), Code of Alabama 1975. 
 
Tax Base: 
Excise tax on the removal, import, sale/transfer in the bulk transfer/terminal system and blending of motor fuel 
(Gasoline Tax). Excise tax upon motor carriers who operate or cause to be operated any motor vehicle on any highway 
in Alabama (Motor Carrier Fuel Tax). 
 
Tax Rate: 
1. Effective October 1, 2021, the State of Alabama now collects four levies of $.07, $.05, $.06, and $.10, for a total of 

$.28 per gallon.  
2. Pursuant to Act 2015-54, effective October 1, 2016, the $.02 gasoline inspection fee was added to the $.04 excise 

tax, for a total of $.06 (See also Petroleum Commodities Inspection, pg. 113).   
3. Excise tax on motor carrier fuel is the same rate in effect for gasoline.  
4. The “Rebuild Alabama Act” (Act 2019-2) levied an additional excise tax on each net gallon of gasoline and diesel 

fuel equal to $.10 effective October 1, 2021. The act also provides for an indexing process to adjust the excise tax 
rate by up to one cent ($.01) beginning October 1, 2023, and on July 1 of every other year thereafter every other 
year based on the yearly average of the National Highway Construction Cost Index. 

 
Note Regarding Local Rates: 
 
Counties may levy a county gasoline tax if the Legislature has passed a local act authorizing the county commission to 
do so. The local act usually sets the parameters of the tax and specifies use of the funds. The local act may provide 
for a credit of municipal gas taxes paid within that county against the county tax owed or may exempt payment of a 
portion of the county tax in municipalities which levy a gasoline tax. 
 
Municipalities may levy a municipal gasoline tax by city ordinance. One-half of the amount levied in the municipality 
may be levied in the police jurisdiction. The ability of municipalities to levy a city gasoline tax may be limited by a 
legislative act which levies a county gasoline tax - i.e., cities within the county may be prohibited from levying a 
municipal gasoline tax but be given a share of the county tax. 
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Collections: 
By the Department of Revenue each month (gasoline tax), and before the last day of April, July, October, and January 
(motor carrier fuel tax). 
 

Fiscal Year $.07 $.0628 $.05 RAA29 Total30 Percent Change 
2023 185,555,893 106,031,939 132,539,923 265,089,577 689,217,332 1.35 
2022 184,235,061 105,277,178 131,596,472 258,937,209 680,045,920 7.62 
2021 185,566,232 106,037,847 132,547,309 207,768,200 631,919,589 12.37 
2020 178,854,582 102,202,618 127,753,273 153,538,569 562,349,043 28.39 
2019 191,625,985 109,500,563 136,875,704  438,002,252 (6.67) 

Source: State of Alabama, Department of Revenue, Motor Fuels Section. 
 
Distribution: 
A total of 1.23% of the $.07 and $.05 per gallon ($.12 total) levied is distributed and allocated as follows: 
1. 35% of 1% is credited to the Water Safety Fund31 and the Seafood Fund. 
2. 70% of 1% is credited to the Game and Fish Fund.  
3. 18% of 1% is credited to the Water Safety Fund and the Seafood Fund. 
 
60% of the $.05 supplemental tax goes to the State Road and Bridge Fund. Of that amount, $500,000 each fiscal year 
is used for the construction, maintenance and repair of public roads in the state parks system. The remaining 40% and 
the balance of the $.07 and $.05 levy after the 1.23% distribution, and 2/3 of the $.06 gasoline levy are distributed as 
follows: 
1. 45% to the State Road and Bridge Fund. The distributions to the Game and Fish Fund (70%) and the distributions 

to the Water Safety Fund and the Seafood Fund (18%) are deducted from the State Road and Bridge Fund. 
2. 55% to be shared by the counties and their municipalities as follows: 

a. 25% of the net tax proceeds are distributed equally to the 67 counties; 
b. 30% of the net tax proceeds are allocated to the 67 counties based on population. 

i. 10% of the counties’ share received shall be allocated to each municipality therein, based on a 
population ratio. 

ii. The remaining portion is distributed to the county. 
The remaining 1/3 of the $.06 gasoline levy is distributed as described in “Petroleum Commodities Fees” (see pg. 113 
for details). 
  

 
28 See the “Petroleum Commodities Fees” section on pg. 113 for collection and distribution amounts for the $.02 inspection fee. 
29 Rebuild Alabama Act (RAA) receipts are based on $.06 in FY 2020, $.08 in FY 2021, and $.10 in FY 2022. 
30 Figures shown are prior to deduction of Department of Revenue administrative expenses and after deduction of refunds. Includes 
gasoline excise taxes and gasoline portion of the motor carrier fuel taxes. 
31 Pursuant to Act 2013-67, beginning January 1, 2015, all funds allocated to the State Water Safety Fund of the Marine Police 
Division of the Department of Conservation and Natural Resources are now allocated to the Public Safety Fund of the Marine Police 
Division of the Alabama Law Enforcement Agency. 
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The additional excise tax levied under the Rebuild Alabama Act is distributed as follows: 
1. 8.33% to the municipalities, of which 25% is distributed equally to the municipalities of the state, and 75% is 

distributed to each municipality based on the population ratio of the municipality to the total population of the 
state. 

2. 25% to the counties, of which 45% is distributed equally to the counties of the state, and 55% is distributed to each 
county based on the population ratio of the county to the total population of the state. 

3. 66.67% is allocated to the Alabama Department of Transportation and deposited into the Rebuild Alabama Fund to 
be used for transportation infrastructure improvement, preservation and maintenance projects within the state. 

 
Major Exemptions: 
From the Gasoline Tax: 
• Motor fuel exported from the state for which proof of export is available in the form of a terminal issued 

destination state shipping document that is:  
o Exported by a supplier who is licensed in the destination state or 
o Sold by a supplier to a licensed exporter for immediate export to a state for which the applicable destination 

state motor fuel excise tax has been collected by the supplier who is licensed to remit the tax to the 
destination state. 

• K-1 kerosene or aviation jet fuel that is produced at a refinery in Alabama and is either exported directly by the 
operator of the refinery or sold for immediate export by the operator to a licensed exporter with proper 
documentation. 

• Sales of dyed diesel fuel 
• Gasoline blendstocks when sold to a: 

o Licensed supplier or 
o Person who will not be using blendstocks in the manufacture of gasoline or as a motor fuel (with exemption 

certificate). 
• Motor fuel sold by a licensed supplier or licensed permissive supplier to an exempt agency under Section 40-17-

332 (United States government or agency thereof, any county governing body of state, any incorporated municipal 
governing body of state, city and county boards of education, Alabama Institute for the Deaf and Blind and 
Alabama Department of Youth Services school district, and private and church schools as defined in Section 16-
28-1, Code of Alabama 1975. 

• Motor fuel delivered by a licensed supplier from one terminal to another terminal when ownership in the motor 
fuel has not changed or by a licensed supplier from a terminal to a refinery operated by the licensed supplier.  

 
From the Motor Carrier Fuel Tax: 
• Any department, board, bureau, commission or taxing area or other agency of the federal government, State of 

Alabama, or any political subdivision thereof. 
• Any school bus operated by the State of Alabama, any political subdivision thereof, or any private or privately-

operated school or schools. 
 
  



Gasoline Tax (and Gasoline Portion of the Motor Carrier Fuel Tax)
  Page 59 

Refund Eligibility: 
• Licensed distributor – on monthly basis on taxes paid on gallons sold by that distributor to licensed exempt 

agencies (as defined above). 
• Exporter – on monthly basis on taxes paid to the state on gallons exported by exporter (with proof). 
• Exempt entities (as defined above) – on quarterly basis for any purchases of motor fuel (or issuer of card if 

charged to credit card issued to the exempt entity). 
• End users who first pay tax on gallons of gasoline blendstocks not used in manufacture of gasoline or as motor 

fuel – on quarterly basis. 
• Tax paid on motor fuel that is lost or destroyed as direct result of sudden and unexpected casualty or becomes 

unsalable or unusable as highway fuel due contamination by dye or mixture of gasoline and diesel. 
• Tax paid on transmix not used as motor fuel or that is delivered to refinery for further processing on a quarterly 

basis. 
• Tax paid on motor fuel within the bulk transfer system with sufficient proof that a second tax had been paid 

pursuant to Section 40-17-325 or the fuel was exported to another state or country, on monthly basis. 
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Hazardous Waste Disposal and Monitoring Fees 
Statutory Authority: 
Sections 22-30-1 through 22-30B-20, Code of Alabama 1975. 
 
Base: 
A fee levied on operators of commercial hazardous waste disposal facilities for the disposal of waste at those 
facilities. 
 
Fees: 
A base fee on all hazardous waste that is disposed of at a commercial site for the disposal of 
hazardous waste and hazardous substances. $5.50 per ton 
A monitoring fee on all waste received for disposal at a site for the disposal of hazardous waste 
and hazardous substances. $1.00 per ton 
A fee on all wastes or substances disposed of at a commercial site, to be deposited and 
allocated specifically to the Alabama Hazardous Substances Cleanup Fund. $1.00 per ton 
 
Collections: 
By the Department of Revenue by the 30th day of the month following receipt by commercial hazardous waste disposal 
facilities of hazardous waste. 
 

Fiscal Year 
Hazardous Waste Fee 

Collections ($)32 (State Only)33 
Percent 
Change 

Hazardous Waste Monitoring Fee 
to ADEM Collections ($) 

Percent 
Change 

2023 1,311,706 24.12 1,018,928 7.00 
2022 1,056,802 3.97 952,271 10.16 
2021 1,016,411 10.20 864,407 (8.69) 
2020 922,348 (17.82) 946,709 7.12 
2019 1,122,358 28.49 883,823 18.62 

Source: Department of Revenue’s “Revenue Abstract”, “Comparative Summary of Revenues by Fund” Report.  
  

 
32 Gross collections. 
33 Excludes county fees and the $1/ton ADEM monitoring fee. 
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Distribution: 
1. The amount necessary to pay to all counties which have commercial hazardous waste disposal facilities, and 

which have a population of less than 25,000, 2.5% of the difference in the fees generated and those in effect on 
October 1, 1989. 

2. The amount necessary to ensure that counties identified in (1) above receive from hazardous waste disposal fees 
annually the lesser of $4.2 million or 100% of total hazardous waste disposal fees paid to the state. In 
determining whether the county is entitled to receive all or a portion of the guaranteed minimum, there is charged 
against this amount all receipts received from the state fees and any other applicable local act.  

3. After the above distribution is made, any remaining amounts are distributed as follows:  
a. 50% to each county having a commercial site for the disposal of hazardous waste or hazardous substances.  
b. 50% to the State General Fund. 

4. Up to $4.5 million annually pledged to pay the principal, premiums, and interest of any bonds which may be issued 
by the Alabama Public Health Finance Authority under the provisions of Act 1990-598. (Note: The fees are not 
currently used for this purpose). 

5. Cost of collection as provided by Section 22-30B-3, Code of Alabama 1975. 
 
Major Exemptions: 

• The cap of 600,000 tons imposed by Act 1992-658 does not apply to nonhazardous waste that cannot be 
disposed of at subtitle D landfills (industrial waste).  

• In addition, the cap can be lifted if it is determined that this action is in the best interest of public health or 
the environment of the state, or if the Governor determines the cap is an impediment to compliance with 
other applicable state or federal laws. 
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Hunting Licenses 
Constitutional Authority: 
Section 219.01 of the Constitution of Alabama of 2022, (ratified December 13, 1967). Created the Game and Fish Fund 
and provided that all monies derived from the sale of hunting and fishing licenses or permits are deposited into the 
fund. 
 
Statutory Authority: 
Sections 9-11-32 through 9-11-51, 9-11-53.3, 9-11-65, 9-11-65.2, 9-11-68, 9-11-71, 9-11-73, 9-11-244, 9-11-417, and 9-11-
430 through 9-11-435, Code of Alabama 1975. 
 
Base: 
Fee paid by persons desiring to hunt in Alabama. Annual licenses are valid from September 1 or the date of issuance 
to the next August 31. 
 
Fees: 
For fees, visit https://www.outdooralabama.com/licenses/hunting-licenses 
 
License fees and accompanying issuance fees for all licenses, except for migratory waterfowl stamp and commercial 
fowl preserve license, are subject to annual increases based on the percentage increase in the Consumer Price Index 
(CPI) if recommended by the Commissioner and approved by the Department’s Advisory Board. 
 
Collections: 
By the probate judges, license commissioners, or other license agents due to the Department of Conservation and 
Natural Resources on the 1st of each month. 
 

Fiscal Year 
Annual License 

Collections ($)34,35 
Lifetime License 
Collections ($)36 

Migratory Waterfowl 
Stamp Collections ($) Totals ($) 

Percent 
Change 

2023 14,551,032 837,684 452,620 15,841,336 4.26 
2022 13,861,534 886,255 446,063 15,193,852 4.21 
2021 13,325,589 817,845 436,463 14,579,897 12.99 
2020 11,896,627 641,624 364,980 12,903,231 8.88 
2019 10,889,501 613,341 348,336 11,851,178 (1.09) 

Source: “Comparative Summary of Revenues by Revenue Source” Report. 
 
  

 
34 Includes receipts from annual hunting licenses, trip licenses, and wildlife management area licenses. 
35 Collections from Wildlife Heritage License are included in Freshwater Fishing Licenses. 
36 Includes Alabama Game and Fish Endowment Fund portion of lifetime combination hunting/saltwater fishing licenses (see 
Distribution). 

https://www.outdooralabama.com/licenses/hunting-licenses


Hunting Licenses  Page 63 

Distribution: 
1. Lifetime hunting and combination lifetime hunting/freshwater fishing – 100% to the Alabama Game and Fish 

Endowment Fund. 
2. Lifetime combination hunting/saltwater fishing and hunting/freshwater and saltwater fishing - the portion of the 

fee representing the amount of the lifetime hunting license or the lifetime hunting and freshwater fishing license 
to the Alabama Game and Fish Endowment Fund and the balance of the fees charged for each license to the 
Alabama Marine Resources Endowment Fund. 

3. Resident 64 LIFETIME Hunting license – 100% to the Alabama Game and Fish Endowment Fund. 
4. All remaining licenses – 100% to the Game and Fish Fund. All, or a portion, of the revenues from several licenses 

are earmarked for specific purposes, including the procurement, development and maintenance of wetlands and 
waterfowl management (migratory waterfowl stamp), and research on wildlife and wildlife habitat (wildlife 
heritage). 

 
Major Exemptions: 
• No person serving as a member of the armed forces of the U.S. shall be required to procure a hunting license to 

hunt within the state during any period of time in which the U.S. is engaged in a war. 
• All persons under the age of 16 years. 
• Any resident of the state over 65 years of age is exempt, provided that said resident has proof of age on his 

person while hunting (or, in the case of nondrivers, proof of permanent Alabama residence and age). 
• Any person or member of his immediate family who hunts on lands owned by him, or any tenant or member of his 

immediate family who hunts on lands leased or rented by the tenant and who resides on these lands. 
• Residents on leave from active military duty who have proof of his or her status in his or her possession. 
• A member of the U.S. military stationed in Alabama on active duty and his or her spouse and their dependents 

who reside with them are deemed residents for hunting and fishing license purposes. 
• Patrons of a commercial bird hunting preserve are exempt from individual license requirements, if the operator of 

the preserve purchases a commercial bird hunting preserve license for $500, plus a $2 issuance fee. 
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Hydroelectric Kilowatt Hour Tax 
Statutory Authority: 
Sections 40-1-31 and 40-21-56, Code of Alabama 1975. 
 
Tax Base: 
Privilege tax levied on each person, firm, corporation, agent, or officer engaged in the manufacture and sale of 
hydroelectric power within Alabama. 
 
Tax Rate: 
2/5 mill (.04%) per kilowatt-hour of hydroelectric power manufactured and sold during the preceding calendar year. 
 
Collections: 
By the Department of Revenue, payable in advance, due on or before September 25 of each year, based on power 
manufactured and sold during the preceding calendar year. 
 

Fiscal Year Collections ($)37 Percent Change 
2023 1,326,612 (3.20) 
2022 1,370,514 (50.07) 
2021 2,744,939 126.80 
2020 1,210,267 26.62 
2019 955,861 (2.48) 

Source: Department of Revenue’s “Revenue Abstract.” 
 
Distribution: 
After deducting the cost of collection, 42% is deposited into the Education Trust Fund and 58% is deposited into the 
Special Mental Health Fund. 
  

 
37 Gross collections (prior to deduction of cost of allocation). 
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Income Tax 
Constitutional Authority: 
Section 211.01 of the Constitution of Alabama of 2022, (proclaimed ratified August 2, 1933). Authorizes the Legislature 
to levy and collect taxes on net income at a rate not to exceed 5% (3% on corporations). Provides minimum 
exemptions from net income of $1,500 for single taxpayers, $3,000 for married couples and $300 per dependent under 
age 18. 
 
Section 211.02 of the Constitution of Alabama of 2022, (proclaimed ratified September 11, 1947). Provides for 
distribution of income tax receipts to (1) replace revenue lost to the funds affected by the state homestead exemption; 
and (2) the Education Trust Fund to be used only for the payment of public-school teachers' salaries. 
 
Section 211.03 of the Constitution of Alabama of 2022, (proclaimed ratified December 18, 1963). Increases allowable 
maximum corporate income tax rate to 5%, with deduction allowed for all federal income taxes paid. Taxes due by 
foreign corporations are to be based on income derived from sources within Alabama. Increases the corporate income 
tax rate to 6.5% beginning in calendar year 2001. 
 
Section 211.04 of the Constitution of Alabama of 2022, (proclaimed ratified December 13, 1965). Provides deduction 
for federal income taxes paid by individual taxpayers. 
 
Statutory Authority: 
Sections 40-18-1 through 40-18-527, 40-27-1, 40-27-1.1, 40-30-1 through 40-30-7, and 40-31-1 through 40-31-4, Code of 
Alabama 1975. 
 
Tax Base: 
A tax on the entire net income of every individual residing in Alabama, of every nonresident deriving income from 
within Alabama, and of every corporation domiciled in Alabama or deriving income from sources within Alabama. 
 
Tax Rate: 
 
Individual Income Tax 

Single Persons with AGI of $4,000 
Head of Family with AGI of $7,700 
Married Persons Filing Separate Returns with AGI of $5,250 Rate 

First $500 of taxable income 2% 
Next $2,500 of taxable income 4% 
All taxable income over $3,000 5% 

Married Persons Filing Joint Return with AGI of $10,500 or more Rate 
First $1,000 of taxable income 2% 
Next $5,000 of taxable income 4% 
All taxable income over $6,000 5% 
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Corporate Income Tax 
Rate: 6.5% of taxable income 
 
Corporations that do business in more than one state must determine the income apportioned to Alabama by a four-
part formula set forth in Section 40-27-1, Code of Alabama 1975. 
 
Collections: 
By the Department of Revenue. 
 
Individuals: Returns shall be filed by the same date as the corresponding federal income tax return as required under 
federal law. If balance is due after credits for payments on an estimate and withheld tax, it must be remitted at the 
same time as the date of the original return. 
 
Income Tax – Individual 

Year Gross Collections ($) Refunds ($) Net Collections($) Percent Change 
2023 6,823,359,448 912,488,110 5,910,871,338 (2.93) 
2022 6,808,515,123 719,453,781 6,089,061,342 24.04 
2021 5,579,656,903 670,819,589 4,908,837,314 14.85 
2020 4,936,593,352 662,541,121 4,274,052,231 1.89 
2019 4,842,589,361 647,745,702 4,194,843,659 7.21 

 

Corporations: Returns shall be filed by the same date as the corresponding federal income tax return as required under 
federal law. The balance of the tax owed after credits for taxes paid through estimates is due and payable at the same 
time as the due date of the original return. Any corporation filing as a federal S Corporation must file as an Alabama S 
Corporation and remit any tax due on or before the 15th day of the third month following the close of the accounting 
period. 
 
Income Tax – Corporations 

Year Gross Collections ($) Refunds ($) Net Collections ($) Percent Change 
2023 1,398,806,709 188,011,649 1,210,795,060 1.09 
2022 1,299,354,755 101,583,394 1,197,771,361 41.87 
2021 973,993,950 129,709,854 844,284,096 72.61 
2020 604,044,219 114,908,361 489,135,859 7.50 
2019 582,912,505 127,917,354 454,995,152 17.78 

Source: Department of Revenue’s “Revenue Abstract.” 
 
Distribution: 
After deducting cost of collection and current year refunds: 
1. That portion of revenues necessary to reimburse the Property Tax Relief Fund for state homestead ad valorem tax 

exemptions is deposited into the State General Fund, the State Soldiers' Relief Fund, and the Public-School Fund. 
2. The balance is deposited into the Education Trust Fund solely for the payment of public-school teachers' salaries. 
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Major Exemptions/Credits/Deductions: 
For a list of exemptions, credits and deductions, see the following: Sections 16-6D-8, 16-6D-9, 16-60-351, 40-18-2.1,  
40-18-3, 40-18-14, 40-18-14.1, 40-18-15, 40-18-15.2, 40-18-15.3, 40-18,15.4, 40-18-15.5, 40-18-16, 40-18-19, 40-18-19.1, 
40-18-19.2, 40-18-19.63 40-18-20, 40-18-21, 40-18-32, 40-18-35, 40-18-35.1, 40-18-132, 40-18-136, 40-18-190 through 
40-18-203, 40-18-205 through 40-18-215, 40-18-220, 40-18-240 through 40-18-250, 40-18-270 through 40-18-272,  
40-18-290 through 40-18-293, 40-18-310 through 40-18-313, 40-18-320 through 40-18-324, 40-18-340 through  
40-18-344, 40-18-360 through 40-18-363, 40-18-370 through 40-18-383, 40-18-390 through 40-18-394, 40-18-400 
through 40-18-403, 40-18-410 through 40-18-416, 40-18-420 through 40-18-424, 40-18-510 through 40-18-512, and  
40-18-520 through 40-18-527, Code of Alabama 1975. 
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Insurance Company Licenses and Premium Tax 
Statutory Authority: 
Sections 10A-20-6.16 (effective October 1, 2017), 27-2-39, 27-3-29, 27-4-2, 27-4-8, 27-4-11, 27-4A-1 through 27-4A-7, 
27-8A-9, 27-10-31, 27-10-34, 27-10-35, 27-12A-41, 27-21-4, 27-21A-28, 27-22A-7, 27-25-4.7, 27-31A-10, 27-31B-4, 27-
31B-16, 27-34-42, 27-52-3, 27-52-6, and 40-14B-1 through 40-14B-22, Code of Alabama 1975. 
 
Tax Base: 
A premium tax imposed on the amount of premiums written by an insurer and fees imposed for the privilege of 
providing insurance within the state. 
 
Tax Rate: 
For fees, visit https://www.aldoi.gov/companies/StateTaxes.aspx. 
 
Collections: 
1. The Insurance Premium Tax is collected quarterly by the Department of Insurance on May 15, August 15, 

November 15, and March 1.  
a. The May payment may be based, at the option of the insurer, on 25% of actual business done in the state 

during the preceding calendar year or on actual business done in the state by the insurer during the preceding 
complete quarter.  

b. The August payment may be based, at the option of the insurer, on 45% of actual business done in the state 
during the preceding calendar year or on 180% of actual business done in the state by the insurer during the 
preceding complete quarter.  

c. The November payment may be based, at the option of the insurer, on 25% of actual business done in the 
state during the preceding calendar year or on actual business done in the state by the insurer during the 
preceding complete quarter.  

d. The March 1 payment reflects any reconciliation between taxes paid and taxes due, the taxes due to be based 
on actual premiums written during the calendar year preceding the March 1 payment.  

2. Surplus line and captive insurance taxes are due on or before March 1. Taxes on independently procured 
unauthorized insurance are due 90 days after the date the insurance was procured. 

 
Fiscal Year Collections ($) Percent Change 

2023 565,444,975 6.00 
2022 533,435,604 13.49 
2021 470,041,450 9.37 
2020 429,784,157 6.18 
2019 404,774,653 9.39 

Source: “Comparative Summary of Revenues by Revenue Source” Report. 
  

https://www.aldoi.gov/companies/StateTaxes.aspx
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The chart below shows premium tax receipts, by insurance line, prior to refunds. 
 

 FY 2021 ($) FY 2022 ($) FY 2023 ($) 
Taxes 

Domestic Life 3,474,333 3,253,855 3,558,140 
Domestic P & C 13,976,523 15,218,033 17,285,623 

Blue Cross 58,175,963 66,773,370 65,151,916 
Foreign Life 75,110,897 77,225,839 77,070,800 

Foreign Property 75,322,710 82,954,333 94,227,513 
Foreign Casualty 186,732,544 211,598,665 226,599,539 

Retaliatory 1,752,999 3,081,804 2,181,667 
Surplus Lines 54,894,324 72,595,994 78,652,405 
Captive Tax 464,226 618,019 683,228 

 
Company Fees 

Applications 3,015 21,250 50 
Amendments and Bylaws 6,250 3,865 3,475 

Licenses 1,221,090 1,251,920 1,305,410 
Statements 36,485 36,880 37,660 
Motor Clubs 7,650 7,140 7,140 
Captive Fees 30,200 5,880 33,060 

Other 6,650 6,650 0 
GRAND TOTAL 471,215,859 534,653,497 566,797,626 

Source: Alabama Department of Insurance. 
 
Producer fees and fees for miscellaneous services are collected by the Alabama Department of Insurance. 
 

Fiscal Year Collections ($) Percent Change 
2023 55,923,554 (1.58) 
2022 56,819,701 9.10 
2021 52,080,842 30.77 
2020 39,826,550 10.75 
2019 35,960,738 7.32 

Source: “Comparative Summary of Revenues by Revenue Source” Report. 
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Distribution: 
1. Insurance Premium Tax: 

a. Special Mental Health Fund (SMHF) – $4,525,338 
b. State General Fund – all other premium tax collected. Prior to October 1, 2020, $30,993,296 was deposited 

into the Education Trust Fund. 
2. Company fees, producer fees, retaliatory taxes and fees for miscellaneous services collections is 50% to the 

Insurance Department Fund and 50% to the State General Fund, except for the following which are wholly 
deposited into the Insurance Department Fund: 

3. License renewal fees for producer licenses 
a. Renewal fees for service representatives’ licenses 
b. Continuing education fees 
c. Title insurance fees 
d. Insurance Fraud Unit assessments 

4. Distribution of Retaliatory Taxes is 50% to the State General Fund and 50% to the Insurance Department Fund. 
 
Major Exemptions: 
• Premium or annuity considerations for health care benefits supplementary to Medicare and Medicaid or provided 

to an employer-sponsored plan for governmental employees. 
• Non-profit life insurers are exempt from paying a premium tax on premiums or annuity considerations from non-

profit educational and scientific institutions. In lieu of the tax, the company pays an annual license fee of $5,000. 
• Premiums collected under the provisions of the Alabama Health Care Plan (in the event a plan is implemented). 
• Annuity considerations. 
• Fraternal benefit societies. 
• Self-insurance programs utilizing a trust fund or similar entity providing workers’ compensation, health, and other 

insurance-like coverage. 
• The Alabama Health Insurance Plan. 
• Surplus line wet marine and transportation insurance. 
• Counties, municipalities, municipal corporations, political subdivisions of the state; instrumentalities of counties, 

municipalities, municipal corporations, or the State of Alabama; or corporations or associations owned solely by 
counties, municipalities, or the State of Alabama. Including the Alabama Municipal Insurance Corporation (AMIC), 
as it is a mutual insurer owned by member municipalities. 
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Interest on State Deposits 
Statutory Authority: 
Sections 41-14-1 through 41-14-56 and 41-14A-1 through 41-14A-14, Code of Alabama 1975. 
 
Revenue Source: 
The income earned by the State Treasurer through the investment of available cash.  
 
The treasurer must keep cash or demand deposits available as necessary to meet the daily operational needs of the 
state. State funds were held by designated state depository banks and collateralized in accordance with the Security 
for Alabama Funds Enhancement Act, or SAFE.  
 
Cash in excess of this amount may be invested in certain instruments authorized by law, including bank time deposits, 
money market mutual funds, certain government securities and commercial paper. At the end of FY 2023, the state 
maintained an invested balance of $11.5 billion. Interest bearing bank demand deposits accounted for approximately 
$11.6 million in interest recorded during the fiscal year. For that year, an average of approximately $328 million was 
held in these accounts.  
 
Investment of state funds in U.S. Treasury and agency securities accounted for approximately $138 million in 
investment income. For that year, an average of approximately $5.2 billion was invested in these instruments. 
Investment in short-term instruments accounted for $5.9 billion, earning approximately $266 million during the fiscal 
year. Overall, the average percentage of available state funds invested and those producing earnings credit, together, 
was over 99%. 
 
Collections: 
Earned interest is received monthly by the treasurer from the respective banks. 
 

Fiscal Year Collections ($)38 Percent Change 
2023 404,602,014 902.14 
2022 40,373,733 105.54 
2021 19,643,087 (61.88) 
2020 51,525,315 (18.26) 
2019 63,036,403 99.13 

Source: “State General Fund Receipts – Summary Comparison of Net Receipts” Report. 
 
Distribution: 
Interest earned on certain bond proceeds is credited to those proceeds’ accounts. Generally, however, interest on state 
deposits is deposited into the State General Fund. 
  

 
38 General Fund Collections only. 
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Judicial Fees and Fines 
Constitutional Authority: 
Section 96 to the Constitution of Alabama of 2022. Prohibits the Legislature from enacting any law that does not apply 
to all counties, which regulates costs and charges of courts. However, there are numerous constitutional amendments 
authorizing local court costs by methods other than a constitutional amendment. 
 
Statutory Authority: 
Sections 11-25-9, 11-47-7.1, 12-14-14, 12-14-18, 12-19-20 through 12-19-182, 12-19-250 through 12-19-254, 12-19-310 
through 12-19-315, 15-23-17, 30-3-61, 32-5-313, 32-5A-8, 36-18-7, 36-18-32, 36-18-32.1, and 36-21-67, Code of Alabama 
1975. 
 
Collections: 
The Administrative Director of Courts prescribes procedures for collection and distribution of court fees and fines. 
 

Fiscal Year Collections ($)39 Percent Change 
2023 64,233,346 6.72 
2022 60,190,411 0.91 
2021 59,644,764 9.85 
2020 54,294,712 (9.07) 
2019 59,708,762 (0.45) 

Source: “State General Fund – Summary Comparison of Net Receipts” Report. 
 
Distribution: 
Fines 
1. Section 12-19-152, fines collected in misdemeanor and felony cases in district and circuit courts are remitted to 

the State General Fund unless otherwise provided (see Sections 33-5-32, 33-5-51, 33-5-61, 33-5-62 and 33-5-66 for 
disposition of fines for violation of provisions regarding the registration and operation of vessels  

2. Section 9-11-6 for disposition of fines for violation of game and fish laws 
3. Section 9-13-65 for disposition of fines for violation of certain laws regarding forest and forest products 
4. Section 32-5A-191 for disposition of fines for DUI 
5. Section 32-5A-191.3 for disposition of fines for operation of a vessel while under the influence 
6. Section 32-6-233.1 for disposition of fines for unauthorized use of a handicapped parking place 
7. Section 12-19-154, fines and forfeitures collected in municipal ordinance cases in district and circuit courts are 

remitted 90% to the municipality and 10% to the State General Fund, except fines collected for violation of Section 
32-5A-191 (DUI) pursuant to a municipal ordinance, which are remitted as provided in Section 32-5A-191(m)  

8. Section 11-45-9 limits fines in municipal courts to $500, except as otherwise provided. 
 
Fees  
Title 12, Chapter 19, Article 2, Code of Alabama 1975, governs the amount and manner of distribution of docket fees 
which shall be assessed and collected in district and circuit courts throughout the state. The docket fees are uniform 
throughout the state, except in those counties where additional court costs are authorized by local act. Information 
regarding court costs may be obtained by accessing the various county websites or at www.alacourt.gov.  
  

 
39 State General Fund collections only. Includes receipts from fines and commissions from judicial sales as well as docket (court cost 
or filing) fees. 
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Leasing or Renting of Tangible Personal Property 
Statutory Authority: 
Sections 40-9-30 and 40-12-220 through 40-12-227, Code of Alabama 1975. 
 
Tax Base: 
Privilege tax on persons engaging in leasing or renting tangible personal property. 
 
Tax Rate: 
 
Leasing or renting tangible personal property 4% of gross proceeds 
Renting or leasing automotive vehicles, truck trailers, semitrailers, or house trailers 1.5% of gross proceeds 
Renting or leasing linens and garments 2% of gross proceeds 
 
Gross proceeds on which the tax is calculated includes any of the tax passed on to a lessee by a lessor. 
 
Collections: 
By the Department of Revenue on the 20th of each month. 
 

Fiscal Year Collections ($)40 Percent Change 
2023 102,009,264 3.07 
2022 98,975,130 7.74 
2021 91,865,975 9.39 
2020 83,977,284 1.30 
2019 82,902,213 5.45 

Source: Department of Revenue’s “Revenue Abstract.” 
 
Distribution: 
Proceeds remaining after payment of the expenses of administration and enforcement are distributed to the State 
General Fund. 
 
Major Exemptions: 
• Any leasing or rental, as lessor, by the state or any municipality or county in the state or any public corporation 

organized under state law. 
• The renting or leasing of oxygen or durable medical equipment to a recipient of benefits under the Medicare or 

Medicaid program. The renting or leasing of any items used to treat an illness or injury or to replace all or part of a 
limb or internal body part under Medicare, Medicaid, or a health benefit plan. (See Section 40-9-30, Code of 
Alabama 1975.) 

• A listing of additional exemptions is found in Section 40-12-223, Code of Alabama 1975. 
  

 
40 Gross collections. 



Liquefied Petroleum Gas Board Permit Fees  Page 74 

Liquefied Petroleum Gas Board Permit Fees 
Statutory Authority: 
Sections 9-17-100 through 9-17-110, Code of Alabama 1975. 
 
Base: 
Any person engaging or continuing in the following in the State of Alabama must obtain at least one of ten types of 
permits listed below:  
1. Selling, distributing, storing, or transporting liquefied petroleum gases 
2. Installing, servicing, repairing, removing, or adjusting liquefied petroleum gas containers, tanks, or systems  
3. Performing magnetic, hydrostatic, visual, or X-ray inspections of liquefied petroleum gas storage containers, 

cargo tanks, motor fuel containers, and cylinders 
4. Repairing and calibrating liquefied petroleum gas meter equipment 

 
Permits: Initial Fee: Renewal Fee: 

Permit A-Retail business $300 $200 
Permit B-Wholesale business or retail sales of 5,000 gallons or more $300 $200 
Permit B1-Individual branch or division or agent of Class A permit holder $100 $100 
Permit C-Installation, service, and repair business $50 $50 
Permit C1-Repair of LP carburetion equipment $50 $50 
Permit C2-Inspections $100 $100 
Permit D-Service and repair business for bulk storage systems of 5,000 
gallons or more $250 $250 
Permit E-Calibration and repair of meters $50 $50 
Permit F-Retail Filling LP gas cylinders and/or motor fuel containers of 
less than 351 pounds water capacity $100 $100 
Permit F1-Selling, filling, or transporting welding or cutting gases, LP gas 
cylinder, or LP gas motor fuel containers $100 $100 

 
 
Other Charges: 

Class A and B1 permit holders pay an LP Gas fee established by the Board not to exceed $.005 per gallon, which is 
paid only once per gallon. Effective October 2018, the fee is $.005 per gallon. 
Storage plant approval fee of $200 plus an additional $50 for each inspection trip to the site of storage. 
Penalty fee for late renewal of permits. 
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Collections: 
 

Fiscal Year Collections ($)41 Percent Change 
2023 1,323,822 (5.06) 
2022 1,394,381 (7.92) 
2021 1,514,386 18.67 
2020 1,276,095 (3.48) 
2019 1,322,039 4.06 

Source: “Comparative Summary of Revenues by Revenue Source” Report. 
 
Distribution: 
Liquefied Petroleum Gas Board Fund. All balances in the LP Gas Board Fund in excess of $200,000 at the end of each 
fiscal year are transferred to the Liquefied Petroleum Gas Research and Education Fund. 
 
  

 
41 Includes permit fees, LP gas fees, rules and regulations fees, construction plan review fees, reproduction fees, and witness fees. 
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Liquor Taxes, Wine Taxes, and Stores’ Profit 
Statutory Authority: 
Sections 28-3-1, 28-3-53.2, 28-3-74, 28-3-200 through 28-3-207, 28-3-280 through 28-3-286, and 28-7-16, Code of 
Alabama 1975. 
 
Tax Base: 
Liquor taxes are collected, and profits are earned on sales of liquor and table wine from Alabama Alcoholic Beverage 
Control (ABC) Board stores and private enterprises. 
 
Tax Rate: 
1. Liquor is taxed at 56% of the marked-up price (mark-up is set by the Board and is currently 35% of the cost, plus 

freight, for bottle sales to ABC Board stores and private stores; and cost plus 16.99% for case-lot sales to private 
enterprise). The 4% general sales tax is also applied to the retail price as well as an additional 2% sales tax on 
ABC store sales.  

2. Table wine (any wine containing not more than 16.5% alcohol by volume) is taxed at $.45 per liter. The 4% general 
sales tax is also applied to such sales as well as an additional 2% sales tax on ABC store sales.  

3. Wine containing more than 16.5% alcohol by volume is taxed at $2.42 per liter. The 4% general sales tax is also 
applied to sales as well as an additional 2% sales tax on ABC store sales.  

 
Collections: 
By the ABC Board; deposits are made to the State Treasury. Distributions of net profits are made from time to time 
during the fiscal year; payments to counties and municipalities are made semiannually on or before February 1 and 
August 1 of each year. General sales tax collections by the ABC Board are reported monthly to the Department of 
Revenue and are accounted for as ordinary sales tax revenues. (See Sales Tax, pg. 119). 
 

Fiscal Year Collections ($)42 Percent Change 
2023 276,120,935 3.73 
2022 266,197,131 6.93 
2021 248,946,078 14.71 
2020 217,013,165 13.32 
2019 191,507,387 5.81 

Source: “Comparative Summary of Revenues by Revenue Source” Report. 
 
Distribution: 
Proceeds from taxes on spirituous and vinous liquors: 
1. 10% of the total marked-up price to the Public Welfare Trust Fund (1955 tax). 
2. 5% of the total marked-up price to the Public Welfare Trust Fund (1959 tax). 
3. 5% of the total marked-up price to the Alabama Special Mental Health Fund (1959 tax). 
4. 13% of the total marked-up price to the State General Fund (5%, 1969 tax and 8%, 1988 tax). Up to 61.5% of this 

13% is to be used by the Mental Health Finance Authority if cigarette tax revenues appropriated under Section 40-
25-23, Code of Alabama 1975, are not sufficient to pay for bonds authorized by Title 41, Chapter 10, Article 11. 

5. 10% of the total marked-up price distributed as profit (1943 tax). 
6. 1.5% of the total marked-up price to the Public Welfare Trust Fund (1979 tax). 

 
42 Figures shown include all liquor and wine taxes, ABC Board profits and 5% markup on ABC Board store sales. General sales tax 
(4%) and special sales tax (2%) collections are not included. 
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7. 1.5% of the total marked-up price to the Alabama Special Mental Health Fund (1979 tax). 
8. 10% of the total marked-up price to the State General Fund (1980 tax). 
9. 1.5% of the additional 2% sales tax to the municipality in which it is collected and distribution of the remaining .5% 

to the county in which it is collected. 
 
Proceeds from taxes on table wine: 
1. $0.38 per liter distributed as profit (1983 tax). 
2. $0.07 per liter distributed to county or municipality where sold (1983 tax). 
3. 1.5% of the additional 2% sales tax to the municipality in which it is collected and distribution of the remaining .5% 

to the county in which it is collected. 
 
Proceeds from taxes on wine containing more than 16.5% alcohol by volume: 
1. 37%, the Alcoholic Beverage Control Board. 
2. 34%, the State General Fund. 
3. 20.8%, the Department of Human Resources. 
4. 8.2%, the Department of Mental Health. 
5. 1.5% of the additional 2% sales tax to the municipality in which it is collected and distribution of the remaining 

.5% to the county in which it is collected. 
 
Other distributions: 
1. 10% of ABC Board mark-up to State General Fund. 
 
Profits: 
1. First $2 million as follows: 

a. 50%, State General Fund. 
b. 19%, Department of Human Resources. 
c. 10%, divided equally among the wet counties. 
d. 1%, divided equally among the wet counties for public health. 
e. 20%, cities where stores are located on a basis of ratio of profits earned by state store(s) in that municipality 

to total net profits of all Alabama liquor stores. 
2. First $200,000 above $2 million: 

a. To all incorporated municipalities within the wet counties on basis of population. 
3. Remainder: 

a. 3.75%, wet counties on basis of population. 
b. 1.25%, municipalities where stores are located (on population). 
c. 6.25%, incorporated municipalities in the wet counties (on population). 
d. 3.75%, Department of Human Resources. 
e. 85%, State General Fund. 

 
Major Exemptions: 
• Certain agencies of the U.S. armed forces. 
• Trade between wholesalers. 
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Lodgings (Transient Occupancy) Tax 
Statutory Authority: 
Sections 11-100-4(g), 23-1-7, 34-27-65, and 40-26-1 through 40-26-21, Code of Alabama 1975. 
 
Tax Base: 
Privilege tax upon every person or firm that rents or furnishes lodgings or accommodations to transients for a period 
of less than 180 days for a fee. 
 
Tax Rate: 

Rate on charges for accommodations in the counties comprising the Alabama mountain lakes 
geographic area:  Blount, Cherokee, Colbert, Cullman, DeKalb, Etowah, Franklin, Jackson, Lauderdale, 
Lawrence, Limestone, Madison, Marion, Marshall, Morgan and Winston. 

5% 

Rate on charges for accommodations in all other Alabama counties. 4% 
 
Collections: 
By the Department of Revenue on the 20th of the month succeeding the month the tax accrues. Vendors who file tax 
returns on time are entitled to a discount of 5% on the first $100 of tax and 2% on all tax over $100. Penalty charges, 
plus interest, may also be imposed on vendors who file deficient or delinquent tax returns. 
 

Fiscal Year Collections ($)43 Percent Change 
2023 114,467,353 6.66 
2022 107,324,112 22.72 
2021 87,457,354 26.20 
2020 69,299,088 (14.98) 
2019 81,511,676 9.76 

Source: Department of Revenue’s “Revenue Abstract.” 
 
Distribution: 
1. 20% of the 5% levy collected in Alabama mountain lakes area counties, after deduction of cost for collection, is 

distributed as follows: 
a. 50% to the Alabama Mountain Lakes Association for the promotion of tourism and travel. 
b. 50% to the respective counties for the promotion of tourism, recreation, and conventions. 

2. The balance of the tax collected in mountain lakes area counties, as well as the entire proceeds from the 4% levy, 
except as provided below, collected in all other Alabama counties, is distributed as follows: 
a. 75% to the State General Fund. 
b. 25% to the Bureau of Tourism and Travel for state travel advertising and travel promotion. Of this amount, not 

more than $10,000 per fiscal biennium may be expended for the Department of Transportation to construct 
and erect directional markers designating major tourist attractions. 

3. An amount not to exceed $3 million annually, as the Legislature deems necessary and desirable to the Alabama 
Convention Facilities Fund, for state assistance payments under the Alabama Convention Facilities Act. 

 
  

 
43 Gross collections. 
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Major Exemptions: 
• Any rentals or services taxed under the sales tax provisions (Sections 40-23-1 through 40-23-38, Code of Alabama 

1975). 
• Rooms, lodgings, or accommodations supplied for 180 or more continuous days. 
• Municipal privilege license taxes levied and collected on gross sales or gross receipts from sales and passed on 

directly by the seller to the purchaser shall be excluded from gross sales or gross receipts in the computation of 
this tax. 

• Proceeds from the sale or resale of any vacation time-sharing lease plan. 
• Nonprofit or privately-operated camps, conference centers, or similar facilities that provide lodging and 

recreational or educational programs exclusively for the benefit of children, students, or members or guests of 
nonprofit organizations. 

• Rooms, lodgings, or accommodations supplied in connection with the production of an approved motion picture 
project.  

• Marine ships, places or spaces for tent camping, spaces for motor homes, travel trailers, self-propelled campers, 
house cars, truck campers, or recreational vehicles supplied for 90 or more continuous days. 
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Lubricating Oil Tax 
Statutory Authority: 
Sections 40-17-170 through 40-17-186, 40-17-220 through 40-17-223, and 40-17-225, Code of Alabama 1975. 
 
Tax Base: 
Excise tax on every distributor, manufacturer, dealer, or storer of lubricating oil upon selling, distributing, or 
withdrawing from storage (does not include products commercially known as "fuel oils" or "crude oils"). 
 
Tax Rate: 
The State of Alabama collects two levies of $.02 and $.04, for a total of $.06 per gallon. Also subject to petroleum 
inspection fee of $.15 per gallon. (See Petroleum Commodities Fees. pg. 113). 
 
Collections: 
By the Department of Revenue on or before the 20th of each month. 
 

Fiscal Year $.02 $.04 Total Percent Change 
2023 450,865 902,214 1,353,079 (21.96) 
2022 578,070 1,155,690 1,733,760 5.78 
2021 546,344 1,092,652 1,638,996 2.73 
2020 531,806 1,063,612 1,595,418 (19.94) 
2019 664,101 1,328,557 1,992,658 (8.88) 

Source: “Comparative Summary of Revenues by Revenue Source” Report. 
 
Distribution: 
After deducting the cost of collection, the net tax proceeds are distributed as follows: 
1. Proceeds from the $.02 per gallon levy are deposited into the State General Fund. 
2. Proceeds from the $.04 per gallon levy are distributed 45% to the Public Road and Bridge Fund; and 55% to the 

counties and the municipal governing bodies located therein for highway purposes as follows:  
a. 25% is distributed equally to the 67 counties; and 
b. 30% is allocated among the 67 counties based on population. 

i. 10% of each county's portion of the tax proceeds are shared with the municipal governing bodies 
located therein on the ratio of the population of each municipality to the total population of all 
municipalities in the county; and 

ii. The balance is allocated to each county to be distributed with respect to which the allocation is made. 
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Major Exemptions: 
From the $.02 tax and the $.04 tax: 
• Sales to agencies of the U.S. Government. 
• Local school boards. 
• Alabama Institute for the Deaf and Blind (AIDB), Department of Youth Services (DYS) School District and private 

and parochial schools. 
• Sales to city and county governing bodies.  
 
From the $.02 tax: 
• Sales of lubricating oil in interstate commerce. 
• Sales of lubricating oil to an out-of-state purchaser who takes delivery of the oil within the state with intent to 

transport it out-of-state. 
 
From the $.04 tax: 
• Lubricating oil used in aircraft powered by reciprocating, jet or turbine engines, ships, vessels, barges, railroad 

locomotives, and other railroad equipment. 
• Lubricating oil sold to be used for agricultural purposes. 
• Lubricating oil sold to be used in off-road vehicles which do not require state licensing. 
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Manufactured Home Registration Fee 
Statutory Authority: 
Sections 40-7-1, 40-8-1(h), 40-11-1(b)(15) and (c)(2), and 40-12-255, Code of Alabama 1975. 
 
Tax Base: 
Registration fee in lieu of ad valorem taxes on manufactured homes which are rented or leased or located on land owned 
by someone other than the owner of the manufactured home. An owner-occupied manufactured home located on land 
owned by the occupant is subject to ad valorem taxes. 
 
Tax Rate: 
 
Owner-occupied registration fee $24 single wide 

$48 double wide or larger 
Other registration fees $48 commercial single wide 

$96 commercial double wide or larger 
Manufactured homes 10-19 years of age  75% of those registration above 
Manufactured homes 20 years old or older  50% of those registration above 
Issuance (decal) fee $5 
 
Collections: 
By the county official responsible for collection of ad valorem taxes in the county in which the manufactured home is 
customarily kept, due on October 1 of each year. 
 

Fiscal Year Collections ($)44 Percent Change 
2023 498,388 (1.70) 
2022 507,011 1.52 
2021 499,415 (0.71) 
2020 502,962 (4.36) 
2019 525,918 (1.43) 

Source: “Comparative Summary of Revenues by Revenue Source” Report. 
 
Distribution: 
Registration Fee: 
1. 25%-State General Fund. 
2. 25%-County General Fund. 
3. 25%-County School Board-unless home is located in city school district, in which case this percentage goes to the 

city school board. 
4. 25%-Municipality in which the home is located-unless the home is not located in a municipality, in which case this 

percentage goes to the County General Fund. 
 
Issuance (decal) Fee: 
1. $4 to County General Fund if the issuing official is on salary or to the issuing official if compensated by a fee system. 
2. $1 to County treasury for use by the issuing official only for the performance of his or her official duties. 
 
  

 
44 General Fund collections only. 
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Major Exemptions: 
• Manufactured homes considered part of the inventory of a dealer or manufacturer. 
• Owner occupied manufactured home owned by any person over age 65 or who is totally disabled (issuance (decal) 

fee must be paid). 
• Manufactured homes owned by the U.S. Government, the State of Alabama, and the county or municipal 

corporations are exempt from the registration fee. 
• Manufactured homes designated as a 1999-year model or older are exempt from the vehicle certificate of title 

requirements.  
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Marriage License Fee 
Statutory Authority: 
Sections 12-19-90(b)(32) and 30-6-6 through 30-6-11, Code of Alabama 1975. 
 
Base: 
A fee for a marriage license or other documentation of marriage. 
 
Fees: 
$60 plus an additional issuance and recording fee of $10. 
 
Collections: 
By probate judges. 
 

Fiscal Year Collections ($)45 Percent Change 
2023 2,109,622 (5.72) 
2022 2,237,566 (2.50) 
2021 2,294,930 13.86 
2020 2,015,505 4.32 
2019 1,931,963 (6.53) 

Source: “Comparative Summary of Revenues by Revenue Source” Report. 
 
Distribution: 
The issuance and recording fee are paid into the county treasury (or to the probate judge if authorized or required by 
law). The license fee is distributed to the Alabama Department of Economic and Community Affairs (ADECA) for 
deposit in the Domestic Violence Trust Fund. ADECA will distribute funds for use at domestic violence centers and 
may not expend more than 8% of the total available funds or the actual cost, whichever is less, for administration. 10% 
of unspent and unencumbered funds shall be retained in the Domestic Violence Trust Fund, with the remainder 
reverting to the State General Fund at the end of the fiscal year. 
  

 
45 Includes only the $60 that funds domestic violence facilities. Collections shown are prior to administration costs. 
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Medicaid Provider Taxes 
Statutory Authority: 
Sections 40-26B-1 through 40-26B-27 and Section 40-26B-70 through 40-26B-88, Code of Alabama 1975.  
 
Tax Base: 
A privilege tax levied on all providers of pharmaceutical services, nursing home care, and hospitals. 
 
Tax Rate: 
Pharmaceutical Services $0.10 per prescription on all prescriptions when filled or 

refilled for an Alabama citizen. 
Nursing Home Facilities (all of the following)  

Privilege assessment $2,227.44 per year per bed (per Act 2020-147), effective 
September 1, 2020 (Note: Prior to September 1, 2020, 
the rate was $1,899.96 per year per bed), 

Supplemental privilege assessment $1,603.08 per bed per year (through 8/31/2025) 
Monthly surcharge $43.75 per month ($525 annually per bed) (through 

8/31/2025) 
Annual secondary supplemental assessment  of $401.28 per bed, payable monthly (through 

8/31/2025). 
Hospital Facilities  

Privately operated hospitals  6.0% of their net patient revenue in fiscal year 2023, 
2024, and 2025 per Act 2022-127.   

The assessment is reviewed and updated annually, subject to the limitations on the use of funds in the Hospital 
Assessment Account.  The assessment rate may be reduced. 

 
Collections: 
Due to the Department of Revenue by pharmaceutical providers by the 20th of each month for the preceding month 
(except a quarterly return may be authorized for those providers whose total tax liability does not exceed $10 for any 
month); by nursing home facilities by the 20th of each month for the preceding month; and due and payable by 
hospitals by the first 15 days of each fiscal quarter. 
 

Fiscal Year Pharmaceutical Nursing Homes Hospitals Total Collections Percent Change 
2023 9,285,206 117,166,165 243,655,890 370,107,261 (0.34) 
2022 8,971,896 118,456,832 243,934,335 371,363,063 (0.14) 
2021 8,791,902 119,216,142 304,786,423 432,794,467 2.67 
2020 8,645,357 112,695,321 300,189,946 421,530,624 6.36 
2019 8,551,314 112,175,328 275,588,476 396,315,118 5.90 

Source: “Comparative Summary of Revenues by Revenue Source” Report. 
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Distribution: 
After deducting the costs of collection, taxes on prescriptions, nursing facilities, and hospitals are credited to the 
Alabama Health Care Trust Fund and used only by the Alabama Medicaid Agency for matching federal funds available 
under Title XIX of the Social Security Act (Medicaid) for the Medicaid Program in Alabama. Act 2000-772 created the 
Medicaid Trust Fund, effective October 1, 2000, into which any funds appropriated to the Alabama Medicaid Agency 
from any source which, at the end of any fiscal year, have not been expended or encumbered may be transferred upon 
approval of the Director of Finance and the Governor. 
 
Major Exemptions: 
• (All provider taxes) Nursing facilities/institutions/pharmacies/hospitals owned or operated by the state or agency 

of the state or pharmacies serving hospital inpatients. 
• (Nursing Home Tax only) Nursing facilities providing care to physically or mentally disabled persons who are 18 

years of age or less. 
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Mortgage Record Tax 
Statutory Authority: 
Sections 40-22-1 through 40-22-12, Code of Alabama 1975. 
 
Tax Base: 
License or privilege tax for filing a mortgage, deed of trust, contract of conditional sale, or similar instrument given to 
secure payment of any debt which conveys any real or personal property in Alabama, or any interest therein or security 
agreement or financing statement provided for by the Uniform Commercial Code. (See the Uniform Commercial Code 
for tax on amount of future indebtedness incurred under the terms of the presently taxed instrument, page 137). 
 
Tax Rate: 
$.15 for each $100 of indebtedness, or fraction thereof. 
 
Collections: 
By the probate judge of the county when and where the instrument is offered for recording. The tax on mortgages 
conveying property both within and outside Alabama and open-ended mortgages is also collected by the probate judge, 
but only after a petition is made to the Alabama Department of Revenue and the Department determines the amount of 
tax due and the distribution of proceeds. 
 

Fiscal Year Collections ($)46 Percent Change 
2023 35,639,392 (37.19) 
2022 56,741,223 (2.96) 
2021 58,472,446 34.39 
2020 43,508,120 38.09 
2019 31,506,248 3.89 

Source: “General Fund Summary Comparison of Net Receipts” Report. 
 
Distribution: 
After 5% is deducted for cost of collection by the Probate Judge, proceeds are distributed 2/3 to the State General 
Fund and 1/3 to the county treasury. 
 
Major Exemptions: 
• The tax is not collected from any bank in the state unless it is collected uniformly on all banks throughout the 

state. 
• Production credit corporations or associations engaged exclusively in making farm or crop loans are exempt. 
• Organizations whose sole purpose is to conduct religious activities are exempt. 
• Security agreements or financing statements relating solely to security interests in accounts, contract rights or 

general intangibles as defined by the Uniform Commercial Code are exempt. 
• The re-recording of mortgages or other such instruments to correct errors for the purpose of perfecting the title to 

real or personal property are exempt. 
• Mortgages relating to issuing or securing obligations and conveying title into or out of a public authority or a 

county or municipality with respect to private use industrial property may be abated. (See Section 40-9B-4, Code of 
Alabama 1975. 

 
46 General Fund collections only. 
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Motor Carrier Mileage Tax 
Constitutional Authority: 
Section 111.06 of the Constitution of Alabama of 2022. Provides that no monies derived from any fee, excise or license 
tax, levied by the state, relating to (1) registration, operation, or use of vehicles or (2) fuels used for propelling vehicles 
except pump taxes shall be expended for any purpose other than costs of construction, reconstruction, maintenance 
and repair of public highways and bridges, costs of highway rights of way, payment of highway obligations, the cost of 
traffic regulation, and the expense of enforcing state traffic and motor vehicle laws. Additionally, allows for the 
distribution of proceeds from charges for personalized license plates or tags in any manner prescribed by the 
Legislature. 
 
Note: The above restriction does not apply to fees and taxes levied by counties and municipalities pursuant to 
authority granted by the state. 
 
Statutory Authority: 
Sections 40-19-1 through 40-19-17, Code of Alabama 1975. 
 
Tax Base: 
Mileage tax levied on every motor carrier for hire that is used in the transportation of persons along the highways of 
Alabama. 

Seating Capacity Tax Rate: 
Not less than 9 nor more than 16 $.0025 per mile 
17 to 21 $.005 per mile 
22 to 25 $.0075 per mile 
Greater than 25 $.01 per mile 

 
Collections: 
 

Fiscal Year Collections ($) Percent Change 
2023 26,351 (2.07) 
2022 26,907 5.46 
2021 25,513 (19.87) 
2020 31,838 (19.32) 
2019 39,463 7.41 

Source: “Comparative Summary of Revenues by Revenue Source” Report. 
 
Distribution: 
Proceeds are deposited into the Motor Carrier Fund. After costs of collection of the Department of Revenue and the 
Public Service Commission are deducted, the remaining proceeds are then transferred into the State Public Road and 
Bridge Fund. 
 
Major Exemptions: 
• Tour buses. 
• “Chartered party” vehicles used in support of a “charter party” contract in compliance with International 

Registration Plan requirements. 
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Motor Fuels (Diesel) Tax (and Motor Carrier Fuel Tax) 
Constitutional Authority: 
Section 111.06 of the Constitution of Alabama of 2022. Provides that no monies derived from any fee, excise or license 
tax, levied by the state, relating to (1) registration, operation, or use of vehicles or (2) fuels used for propelling vehicles 
except pump taxes shall be expended for any purpose other than costs of construction, reconstruction, maintenance 
and repair of public highways and bridges, costs of highway rights of way, payment of highway obligations, the cost of 
traffic regulation, and the expense of enforcing state traffic and motor vehicle laws. Additionally, allows for the 
distribution of proceeds from charges for personalized license plates or tags in any manner prescribed by the 
Legislature. 
 
Note: The above restriction does not apply to fees and taxes levied by counties and municipalities pursuant to 
authority granted by the state. 
 
Statutory Authority: 
Sections 40-17-140 through 40-17-155 (Motor Carrier Fuel); and Sections 40-17-320 through 40-17-363 (Motor Fuel 
(diesel)), Code of Alabama 1975. 
 
Tax Base: 
Excise tax on the removal, import, sale/transfer in the bulk transfer/terminal system and blending of motor fuel (Motor 
Fuel (diesel) Tax). "Diesel Fuels” include fuel oils, kerosene, special fuels, and blended fuels which contain diesel fuel. 
Excise tax upon motor carriers who operate or cause to be operated motor vehicles on any highway in Alabama (Motor 
Carrier Fuel Tax). 
 
Tax Rate: 
1. Effective October 1 ,2021, the State of Alabama now collects three separate levies of $.13 and $.06, and an 

additional $.10 levied pursuant to the “Rebuild Alabama Act” (Act 2019-2), for a total of $.29 per gallon.  
a. The “Rebuild Alabama Act” also provides for an indexing process to adjust the excise tax rate by up 

to one cent ($.01) beginning October 1, 2023, and on July 1 of every other year thereafter every other 
year based on the yearly average of the National Highway Construction Cost Index. 

2. Excise tax on motor carriers is the same rate per gallon as currently in effect for motor fuel ($.29 per gallon).  
3. Motor carriers liable for payment of the motor carrier fuel tax also pay an annual fee per vehicle for a motor 

vehicle identification marker (decal) paid January 1 or a fee for a 7-day trip permit.  
a. The annual decal fee and the 7-day trip permit fee are set by the Commissioner of Revenue based on 

the costs of administering the International Fuel Tax Agreement (IFTA).  
b. The 7-day trip permit fee is $20, and the IFTA decal is $17 annually.  
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Collections: 
By the Department of Revenue each month (motor fuel tax), before the last day of April, July, October, and January 
(motor carrier fuel tax). 
 

Fiscal Year $.13 $.06 $.10(RAA)47 Truck Decals Total48 
Percent 
Change 

2023 119,156,952 55,532,160 89,270,575 745,144 264,704,831 (1.54) 
2022 122,204,525 56,952,426 88,901,494 773,296 268,831,741 9.70 
2021 118,788,931 55,383,944 70,160,238 733,431 245,066,544 17.00 
2020 108,119,771 50,411,405 50,216,722 709,971 209,457,869 30.36 
2019 109,037,554 50,871,768 - 768,213 160,677,535 (4.19) 

Source: State of Alabama, Department of Revenue, Motor Fuels and Motor Vehicles Sections. 
 
Distribution: 
After deduction of the cost of collection, proceeds are distributed as follows: 
 
$.13 tax: 
1. For the repayment of Highway Authority Bonds and other bonds. 
2. For the construction and maintenance of public roads and bridges. 
 
$.06 tax: 
1. 4.69% distributed equally among each of the 67 counties for public road and bridge purposes. 
2. .93% allocated among incorporated municipalities for public road and bridge purposes as follows: 

a. 45.45% of the municipalities’ share is allocated equally among the counties. 
b. 54.55% of the municipalities’ share is allocated among the 67 counties on the basis of population. 
c. The amount allocated to each county is distributed among the municipalities within the county on the basis of 

population. 
3. The balance is credited to the Department of Transportation for highway purposes. 
 
Rebuild Alabama Act Gasoline and Diesel Fuel Excise Tax: 
1. 8.33% to the municipalities, of which 25% is distributed equally to the municipalities of the state, and 75% is 

distributed to each municipality based on the population ratio of the municipality to the total population of the 
state. 

2. 25% to the counties, of which 45% is distributed equally to the counties of the state, and 55% is distributed to 
each county based on the population ratio of the county to the total population of the state. 

3. 66.67% is allocated to the Alabama Department of Transportation and deposited into the Rebuild Alabama Fund 
to be used for transportation infrastructure improvement, preservation and maintenance projects within the state. 

 
  

 
47 Rebuild Alabama Act (RAA) receipts are based on $.06 in FY 2020, $.08 in FY 2021 and $.10 in FY 2022. 
48 Figures shown are prior to deduction of Department of Revenue administrative expenses and after deduction of motor fuels and 
IFTA tax refunds. Includes motor fuel excise taxes, IFTA taxes, and truck decals. 
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Major Exemptions: 
• Motor fuel exported from this state for which proof of export is available in the form of a terminal issued 

destination state shipping document that is:  
o Exported by a supplier who is licensed in the destination state or 
o Sold by a supplier to a licensed exporter for immediate export to a state for which the applicable destination 

state motor fuel excise tax has been collected by the supplier who is licensed to remit the tax to the 
destination state. 

• K-1 kerosene or aviation jet fuel that is produced at a refinery in Alabama and is either exported directly by the 
operator of the refinery or sold for immediate export by the operator to a licensed exporter with proper 
documentation. 

• Sales of dyed diesel fuel. 
• Gasoline blendstocks or cellulosic biofuel when sold to a: 

o Licensed supplier or 
o Person who will not be using blendstocks in the manufacture of gasoline or as a motor fuel (with exemption 

certificate). 
• Motor fuel sold by licensed supplier or licensed permissive supplier to an exempt agency under Section 40-17-332 

(United States government or agency thereof, any county governing body of state, any incorporated municipal 
governing body of state, city and county boards of education of state, Alabama Institute for the Deaf and Blind and 
Alabama Department of Youth Services school district, and private church school systems as defined in Section 
16-28-1). 

• Motor fuel delivered by a licensed supplier from one terminal to another terminal when ownership in the motor 
fuel has not changed or by a licensed supplier from a terminal to a refinery operated by the licensed supplier.  

• From the Motor Carrier Fuel Tax: 
o Any department, board, bureau, commission or taxing area or other agency of the federal government, of the 

State of Alabama or any political subdivision thereof. 
o Any school bus operated by the State of Alabama, any political subdivision thereof, or any private or privately-

operated school or schools. 
 
Refund Eligibility: 
• Licensed distributor – on monthly basis on taxes paid on gallons sold by that distributor to licensed exempt 

agencies (as defined above.) 
• Exporter – on monthly basis on taxes paid to the state on gallons exported by exporter (with proof). 
• Exempt entities (as defined above) – on quarterly basis for any purchases of motor fuel (or issuer of card if 

charged to credit card issued to the exempt entity). 
• End users who first pay tax on gallons of diesel fuel used in designated off-road vehicles, other off-road 

equipment, or for other off-road use on quarterly basis. 
• Tax paid on motor fuel that is lost or destroyed as direct result of sudden and unexpected casualty or becomes 

unsalable or unusable as highway fuel due to such things as contamination by dye or mixture of gasoline and 
diesel. 

• Tax paid on transmix not used as motor fuel or that is delivered to refinery for further processing - on quarterly 
basis. 

• Tax paid on motor fuel within the bulk transfer system with sufficient proof that a second tax had been paid 
pursuant to Section 40-17-325 or the fuel was exported to another state or country - on monthly basis. 
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Motor Vehicle Accident Report Fee 
Statutory Authority: 
Section 32-2-8, Code of Alabama 1975. 
 
Base: 
Fee for copy of motor vehicle accident report. 
 
Fee: 
$15 for each copy. 
 
Collections: 
By the Alabama Law Enforcement Agency. 
 

Fiscal Year SGF Collections ($) Percent Change Public Safety Fund ($) Percent Change 
2023 1,143,683 20.47 572,742 18.85 
2022 949,340 5.09 481,903 6.28 
2021 903,320 (3.85) 453,420 (4.09) 
2020 939,462 (10.76) 472,770 (11.09) 
2019 1,052,739 (8.23) 531,732 (7.59) 

Source: “Comparative Summary of Revenues by Revenue Source” Report. 
 
Distribution: 
$10 to the State General Fund (SGF) and the remaining $5 to the Alabama Law Enforcement Agency Public Safety 
Fund.  
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Motor Vehicle Carrier Permit Fees 
Statutory Authority: 
Sections 37-3-1 through 37-3-34, Code of Alabama 1975. 
 
Base: 
Registration and application fee for any individual transporting passengers or property by motor vehicle in Alabama 
according to a lease, contract, or other arrangement for compensation. 
 
Fees: 
Application fee for a certificate of public convenience or permit. $100 
Application fee for an amendment of a certificate or permit. $100 
Application fee for transfer of a certificate or permit. $25 
Application fee for approval of a lease of a certificate for a period of more than six months. $10 
Registration fee for every motor vehicle to be used by a motor carrier on a state highway.  $6 
 
Collections: 
By the Alabama Public Service Commission upon application by the motor carrier. Tour bus operators may make 
payment to the Department of Tourism and Travel. 
 

Fiscal Year PSC Fund Motor Carrier Fund Total Percent Change 
2023 2,501,830 451,406 2,953,236 0.06 
2022 2,500,800 450,670 2,951,470 (0.03) 
2021 2,501,808 450,558 2,952,366 (0.07) 
2020 2,501,080 449,311 2,950,391 (0.14) 
2019 2,501,990 452,533 2,954,523 (10.61) 

Source: Public Service Commission and “Comparative Summary of Revenues by Revenue Source” Report. 
 
Distribution: 
1. $1 of each registration fee and all application fees are deposited into the Motor Carrier Fund (a component of the 

Public Road and Bridge Fund).  
2. The remaining $5 of the registration fee is deposited to the Public Service Commission's Operating Fund.  
3. The above revenues are federal funds per the ICC Termination Act of 1995 and must be used exclusively for 

enforcement of safety and insurance programs. 
 
Major Exemptions: 
A complete listing of exemptions is found in Section 37-3-4 Code of Alabama 1975. 
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Motor Vehicle Certificate of Title Fee 
Statutory Authority: 
Sections 32-8-1 through 32-8-49, 32-8-64.2, 32-8-87, and 32-20-1 through 32-20-48 (Manufactured Homes), Code of 
Alabama 1975. 
 
Base: 
Registration fee required of owner(s) of a motor vehicle which is not more than 35 model years old; a trailer (to include 
semi-trailer, travel trailer, or moving collapsible and folding camper) not more than 20 model years old; and 
manufactured homes designated a 1990 model or later (and not more than 20 years old if manufactured home). If a 
manufactured home is affixed to a parcel of real property and the ownership of the manufactured home and real 
property are identical, the owner(s) may obtain a cancellation of title from the Department of Revenue. 
 
Fees: 
Each application for certificate of title $15 
Each application for replacement or corrected certificate $15 
Each application for certificate of title after transfer. $15 
Each notice of security interest. $15 
Each assignment by lienholder. $15 
Each application for ordinary certificate of title upon surrender of a distinctive certificate. The fee is 
not applicable under the manufactured home chapter.  $15 
Each application for the title history on a vehicle. $15 
Each application for a salvage certificate of title. $15 
Each application for cancellation of a certificate of title or certificate of origin (applies to 
manufactured homes only). $15 
Each application for information on the status of a title for manufactured homes only $15 
Each application for any motor vehicle record provided electronically or a print out of an electronic 
record other than the title history. $5 
The Department is authorized to charge an additional fee for up to $5 for motor vehicle records 
obtained from the national motor vehicle title information system.  
Each electronically filed submittal verifying the status of a motor vehicle to be scrapped (or annual 
fee of $500 per unlimited status verifications) paid by automotive dismantlers and parts and metals 
recyclers. $5 
 
In addition to the above applicable fee(s), the probate judge, license commissioner or other authorized license agent 
collects and retains a processing fee of $1.50 plus an additional commission fee of $1.50, and for manufactured 
homes, for each transaction a fee of $5 is added for the non-profit Alabama Housing Foundation. 
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Collections: 
By the Department of Revenue, by probate judges and county license commissioners, and by motor vehicle dealers and 
financial institutions that are designated agents of the Department of Revenue. 
 

Fiscal Year Collections ($)49 Percent Change 
2023 21,734,803 (3.43) 
2022 22,506,223 (5.05) 
2021 23,704,396 9.56 
2020 21,635,240 (4.22) 
2019 22,587,317 (5.66) 

Source: “Comparative Summary of Revenues by Revenue Source” Report. 
 
Distribution: 
All proceeds are deposited into the State General Fund, except title fees collected by the Department on salvage 
vehicles affected by Act 2010-748 which remain with the Department. One-half of the $5 fee levied for any motor 
vehicle record other than title history will remain with the Department. The verification fees collected under Act 2011-
633 are retained by the Department for training and technological and processing improvements. 
 
Major Exemptions: 
• Vehicles owned by a U.S. agency, a dealer, or a nonresident who is not required by law to register a vehicle in this 

state. 
• Vehicles for which the Alabama license plate official has verified that both the current owner and operator is 

recorded as the owner and operator on a current certificate of title issued by another state and the title is being 
held by a recorded lienholder. 

• Vehicles moved solely by animal power. 
• Implements of husbandry. 
• Special mobile equipment. 
• Pole trailers. 
• Manufactured homes as defined in Section 32-20-2, Code of Alabama 1975, and trailers, semi-trailers, travel 

trailers, or moving collapsible and folding campers that are more than 20 model years old.  
• A new manufactured home placed on the owner’s land when classified as real property. 
• Utility trailers other than moving collapsible and folding campers. 
• A motor vehicle more than 35 model years old. 
• Motor vehicles to be scrapped by the owner or the authorized agent of owner that do not have titles for vehicles to 

be scrapped may avoid obtaining a title by verifying the vehicle is worth $1,000 or less and is at least 12 model 
years old. The verification may only be used to transfer the vehicle to an automotive dismantler and parts recycler. 

• A mini-truck as deferred by Section 40-12-240, Code of Alabama 1975. 
• Any other vehicles prescribed by the Department. 
  

 
49 State General Fund receipts only. 
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Motor Vehicle, LP, and Natural Gas Fueled Fees 
Constitutional Authority: 
Section 111.06 of the Constitution of Alabama of 2022. Provides that no monies derived from any fee, excise or license 
tax, levied by the state, relating to (1) registration, operation, or use of vehicles or (2) fuels used for propelling vehicles 
except pump taxes shall be expended for any purpose other than costs of construction, reconstruction, maintenance 
and repair of public highways and bridges, costs of highway rights of way, payment of highway obligations, the cost of 
traffic regulation, and the expense of enforcing state traffic and motor vehicle laws. Additionally, allows for the 
distribution of proceeds from charges for personalized license plates or tags in any manner prescribed by the 
Legislature. 
 
Note: The above restriction does not apply to fees and taxes levied by counties and municipalities pursuant to 
authority granted by the state. 
 
Statutory Authority: 
Sections 40-17-168 through 40-17-168.19, Code of Alabama 1975.  
 
Base: 
Excise tax on the sale or withdrawal for use in an amount equal to the excise tax in effect as prescribed for a Gasoline 
Gallon Equivalent (GGE) on compressed natural gas or per Diesel Gallon Equivalent (DGE) on liquefied natural gas 
upon the sale of the compressed natural gas or liquefied natural gas for use in a vehicle designed to be operated on 
the public roads and highways. 
 
Fees: 
A reduced rate excise tax on compressed natural gas (CNG) and liquefied natural gas (LNG) in an amount of $.08 per 
GGE or DGE effective October 1, 2018. Additionally, there is an annual application fee of one hundred dollars ($100) 
per vehicle for all personal producers or compressed natural gas in lieu of the excise tax, and a fifty-dollar ($50) 
application fee for public sellers or fleet producers of CNG/LNG. 
 
Collections: 
By the Liquefied Petroleum Gas Board upon application by the owner/operator of the vehicle. 
 

Fiscal Year Collections ($)50 Percent Change 
2023 39,945 (1.60) 
2022 40,593 (5.22) 
2021 42,829 (7.60) 
2020 46,354 (8.85) 
2019 50,854 (3.12) 

Source: “Comparative Summary of Revenues by Revenue Source” Report. 
 
Distribution: 
Proceeds of the flat fee are deposited to the Public Road and Bridge Fund. Proceeds of the decal issuance fee are 
deposited to the Liquefied Petroleum Gas Board Fund. 
  

 
50 Public Road and Bridge Fund receipts only. 
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Major Exemptions: 
• Any vehicles owned by the state, county, or any incorporated municipality or agency, or instrumentality thereof. 
• Any vehicle not requiring a license plate or motor vehicle license (including but not limited to forklift trucks and 

agricultural vehicles). 
• Owners of out-of-state vehicles who purchase fuel from a propane or natural gas dealer or supplier in Alabama 

may pay to the dealer, in lieu of this fee, an amount equal to the Alabama motor fuel (diesel) tax then in effect. 
Said payments are remitted to the Alabama Liquefied Petroleum Gas Board prior to the 20th day of the following 
month. 
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Motor Vehicle Registrations 
Constitutional Authority: 
Section 111.06 of the Constitution of Alabama of 2022. Provides that no monies derived from any fee, excise or license 
tax, levied by the state, relating to (1) registration, operation, or use of vehicles or (2) fuels used for propelling vehicles 
except pump taxes shall be expended for any purpose other than costs of construction, reconstruction, maintenance 
and repair of public highways and bridges, costs of highway rights of way, payment of highway obligations, the cost of 
traffic regulation, and the expense of enforcing state traffic and motor vehicle laws. Additionally, allows for the 
distribution of proceeds from charges for personalized license plates or tags in any manner prescribed by the 
Legislature. 
 
Note: The above restriction does not apply to fees and taxes levied by counties and municipalities pursuant to 
authority granted by the state. 
 
Statutory Authority: 
Sections 32-6-51 through 32-6-700 and Sections 40-12-240 through 40-12-302, Code of Alabama 1975. 
 
Base: 
License tax or registration fee on each motor vehicle operated on the public highways of Alabama. Ad valorem taxes 
are assessed and collected forward on a current basis. Motor carriers operating in interstate commerce pay 
proportional registration fees derived from mileage traveled in member jurisdictions (registrants receive an 
apportioned license plate and a cab card), although motor carriers based outside Alabama may, in lieu of a full or 
apportioned registration, purchase a temporary trip permit for $20 (valid for 7 days).  
 
Fees: 

Private passenger car and pick-up truck  
$13 annually plus $10 additional annual fee. (See NOTE 
below regarding distinctive plates) 

Motorcycle  $7 annually plus $8 additional annual fee 
Motor bus on basis of seating capacity $47.50 to $210 annually 
Commercial car, truck, or truck-tractor, dependent on 
weight.  

$13 to $890 annually 

The registration of trucks includes the payment of a base amount ranging from $10.70 to $445, and additional 
amounts ranging from $2.30 to $445.  
For trucks and truck-tractors used for the purpose of agriculture there is a maximum fee of $250. A farmer is entitled 
to purchase up to four farm plates for truck tractors at the reduced annual registration fee.  

Motor homes  
Base amount ranges from $10.70 to $250 
Additional amounts ranges from $2.30 to $250 
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Dealer plates for motor vehicle and motorcycle dealers 
and manufacturers  

Same fee as private passenger plates, plus an additional 
issuance fee of $1.75 to be retained by the county for 
operations of the issuing officials’ offices 

Trucks and motor homes with a gross weight of 8,000 
lbs. or less  

Additional fee of $10 

Taxicabs  $21 to $40 annually 
Hearses and ambulances  $15 to $55 annually (based on city population) 
Commercial trailers  $20 annually 
Private utility trailers  $12 annually 
Rental utility trailers  $15 annually 
Permanent trailers  $60 per plate 
 
The Rebuild Alabama Act (Act 2019-2) added an additional annual $200 for electric vehicles and an additional $100 for 
each plug-in hybrid electric vehicle, effective January 1, 2020. Beginning on July 1, 2023 and every fourth year 
thereafter, the additional license tax and registration fee for electric and plug-in hybrid vehicles shall increase by three 
dollars ($3). 
 
Note Regarding Distinctive Plates Rates: 
Section 32-6-68, Code of Alabama 1975, provides for distinctive plates to be issued for various organizations upon the 
payment of the standard fee plus any required additional fees. The Department of Revenue’s Motor Vehicle Division 
website (https://revenue.alabama.gov/motor-vehicle/license-plate-information/distinctive-license-plates-all-vehicles/) 
contains a list of currently available distinctive plates. 
 
Collections: 
 

Fiscal Year IRP ($) M.V. Registration ($) Total ($)51 Percent Change 
2023 63,369,111 251,804,245 315,173,355 8.88 
2022 42,234,291 247,233,034 289,467,325 2.94 
2021 38,974,958 242,234,519 281,209,477 10.08 
2020 35,877,633 219,581,448 255,459,081 1.85 
2019 38,572,029 212,245,118 250,817,147 0.55 

Source: Department of Revenue – Motor Vehicle Division, and State Comptroller’s Office. 
 
  

 
51 Gross collections. Includes probate judges, license commissioner or other authorized license agent fees; revenue department 
administrative share; local governments’ share; State General Fund and Public Road and Bridge Fund shares; colleges share; and 
Environmental Fund shares (from personalized tags). 
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Distribution: 
The $10 additional fee paid on private passenger automobiles and trucks with a gross weight of 8,000 pounds or less 
($8 additional for motorcycles) is deposited in the State General Fund to be used by the Alabama Law Enforcement 
Agency. 
 
Additional amounts paid on the regular registration of heavy trucks are distributed as follows: 
1. 64.75% to the Public Road and Bridge Fund 
2. 35.25% to the counties (42.16% allocated equally, 57.84% allocated on the basis of population.) 
 
Remaining proceeds ("base" fees) are distributed as follows:  
1. After deduction of: 

a. 2-1/2% for administrative costs of probate judge, license commissioner, or other authorized license agent 
deposited to county general fund if probate judge, license commissioner, or other authorized license agent 
not on fee system and  

b. 5% deposited to the Public Road and Bridge Fund with as much as required to be appropriated by the 
Legislature to the Department of Revenue for administrative expenses related to this tax and plate costs, and 
the remainder to be used for any purpose for which monies in the Fund may be lawfully used: 

2. 72% is deposited into the Public Road and Bridge Fund. 
3. 21% is remitted by each probate judge to the municipality wherein the owner of the vehicle resides or where the 

vehicle was registered. If not in an incorporated municipality, the proceeds go to the county wherein the license 
tax was paid. 

4. 7% is apportioned by the State Treasurer to the 67 counties on basis of vehicle registrations. 10% of each county's 
apportionment is subsequently distributed to the municipalities therein on a population basis. 

 
All proceeds of the annual license taxes and registration fees for electric vehicles and plug-in hybrid electric vehicles, 
after deduction of 2-1/2% for administrative costs of probate judge, license commissioner, or other authorized license 
agent (deposited to county general fund if probate judge, license commissioner, or other authorized license agent not 
on fee system) shall be distributed as follows: 
1. The first $150 collected from the annual license tax and registration fee on each electric vehicle and the first $75 

collected from the annual license tax and registration fee on each plug-in hybrid electric vehicle shall be 
distributed 66.67% to the state, 25% to counties, and 8.33% the municipalities. 

2. The remainder shall be deposited in the Rebuild Alabama Fund and shall be used by ALDOT to fund electric 
vehicle transportation charging infrastructure through the Electric Transportation Infrastructure Grant Program, 
until such time as the total annual registrations of electric vehicles plus plug-in hybrid electric vehicles exceed 
four percent (4%) of the total annual registrations of all motor vehicles within the state. Thereafter, the annual 
license taxes and registration fees imposed shall be reduced to $150 and $75, respectively, and after the 
reduction the receipts shall be deposited into the Rebuild Alabama Fund and distributed 66.67% to the state, 25% 
to the counties, and 8.33% to the cities, to be used for any purpose for which monies in the Rebuild Alabama Fund 
may be lawfully used. 
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Major Exemptions: 
• Active members of Alabama National Guard or retired member of Air National Guard with 20 years or more service 

- 1 free plate (ad valorem tax is paid), with additional plates available upon payment of the regular fee (Sections 
40-12-244(1) and 31-2-12, Code of Alabama 1975. National Guard members may select a license plate other than 
the “National Guard” distinctive plate. 

• Active Military Reservists - 1 plate (Section 40-12-244(2), Code of Alabama 1975. 
• Service-connected disabled veterans. A disabled veteran may qualify for multiple exemptions resulting from three 

separate exemption laws - Section 40-12-244(1), Code of Alabama 1975, which allows veterans with a service-
connected disability to get 1 plate which is exempt from payment of the $23 fee, Section 32-6-130, Code of 
Alabama 1975, which allows a veteran who is 50% or more disabled to receive an unlimited number of plates for 
payment of $5 rather than $23, and Section 40-12-254, Code of Alabama 1975, which allows a disabled veteran a 
plate exempt from all fees and taxes for a vehicle purchased or specially equipped (all or partly)  for the veteran 
by the U.S. Veterans' Administration (this is done only for veterans who are essentially 100% disabled). Disabled 
veterans may select a license plate other than the “Disabled Veterans” distinctive plate. 

• Members of volunteer rescue squads - 1 plate (Section 40-12-244(3), Code of Alabama 1975). 
• Members of the Civil Air Patrol - 1 plate and all vehicles owned by the Civil Air Patrol national headquarters and 

Alabama Wing of the Civil Air Patrol (Section 40-12-244(4), Code of Alabama 1975). 
• Medal of Honor or Purple Heart recipients, POWs, Legion of Valor members, and Bronze Star recipients (includes 

surviving spouses) - 1 permanent, tax and fee exempt distinctive plate (except that Purple Heart recipients or their 
surviving spouses must pay ad valorem taxes on vehicles for which such plates are issued and Bronze Star 
recipients must pay $25) (Sections 32-6-250 through 32-6-255, Code of Alabama 1975). 

• Consuls and Honorary consuls of foreign countries - 1 distinctive plate (must pay an issuance fee of $.50) 
(Section 40-12-243, Code of Alabama 1975). 

• Motor vehicles owned and used by the state, counties, municipalities or municipal corporations or boards, and 
volunteer fire departments (must pay an amount as determined by the Department of Revenue that does not 
exceed the fees for standard passenger plates) (Section 40-12-250, Code of Alabama 1975). 

• Motor vehicles owned by volunteer rescue squads (Section 32-11-2, Code of Alabama 1975). 
• Vintage vehicles – one-time registration fee of $10 for permanent distinctive plate (Section 40-12-290 through 40-

12-297, Code of Alabama 1975). 
• Vehicles owned by Industrial Development Boards (see Ad Valorem Tax - Major Exemptions for Code of Alabama 

1975). 
• Vehicles owned by nonresident military servicemen in Alabama by virtue of military orders if the vehicle is 

registered in the home state (Soldiers and Sailors Relief Act). 
• Vehicles owned by various organizations as identified in Sections 40-9-1 through 40-9-39, Code of Alabama 1975. 
• Volunteer fire fighters – 1 distinctive plate (Section 40-12-244 (5), Code of Alabama 1975). 
• Alabama Gold Star Family distinctive plate recipients – 1 distinctive plate (also exempt from ad valorem tax) 

(Section 40-12-244(6), Code of Alabama 1975). 
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Oil and Gas Privilege Tax 
Statutory Authority: 
Sections 40-20-1 through 40-20-13 and 40-20-20 through 40-20-23; and Sections 33-2-210 through 33-2-213, Code of 
Alabama 1975.  
 
Tax Base: 
An annual privilege tax on all persons engaged in the business of producing or severing oil or gas from the soil or 
water, or from beneath the soil or water. (See also Oil and Gas Production Tax, pg. 105).  
 
Tax Rate: 
Well units are taxed at a percentage of the gross value of the oil or gas at the point of production. However, offshore 
well units producing at a depth greater than 8,000 feet below mean sea level are taxed at a percentage of gross 
proceeds attributable to the offshore production. The privilege tax rate varies.  
 

Well Type Annual Tax Rate 
Oil wells producing 25 barrels or less/day and gas wells producing 200 Mcf or less/day. 4% 
Incremental production from enhanced recovery projects and supplemental enhanced recovery 
projects approved by the Oil and Gas Board. 4% 
Offshore wells permitted on or after July 1, 1988 and producing at a depth less than 8,000 feet 
below mean sea level. 6% 
Onshore wells permitted on or after July 1, 1988, except those qualifying for lower tax rates. 6% 
Offshore wells producing at a depth greater than 8,000 feet below mean sea level.  3.65% 

All other taxable production. 8% 
 
Collections: 
By the Department of Revenue by the 15th day of the second calendar month following the month of production. 
 

Fiscal Year Collections ($)52 Percent Change 
2023 32,353,274 (12.75) 
2022 37,097,532 73.53 
2021 21,377,692 23.78 
2020 17,270,391 (43.92) 
2019 30,793,793 (10.41) 

Source: Department of Revenue’s “Revenue Abstract.” 
 
  

 
52 Gross collections. 
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Distribution: 
After deducting the cost of collection, the proceeds from the annual tax are distributed as follows: 
 
Onshore Production: 
1. 25% to the State-General Fund 
2. 75% distributed as follows: 

a. 16-2/3% State General Fund 
b. 16-2/3% to the counties where severed 
c. 66-2/3% distributed as follows: 

i. 25% to the counties where severed 
ii. 10% to the municipalities where severed 

iii. First $150,000 of remainder: 
1. 50% State General Fund. 
2. 42.5% to the counties where severed 
3. 7.5% to the municipalities where severed 

iv. Remainder: 
1. 84% – State General Fund. 
2. 14% to the counties where severed. 
3. 2% to the municipalities where severed 

 
Offshore Production: 
1. 90% to the State General Fund. 
2. 10% to the county in which the oil or gas was severed. 
 
The first $9.5 million of collections from this tax are required to be deposited to the State General Fund and may be 
used by the State Port Authority for operations and/or bond expenses, upon verification by the Director of Finance that 
such use of these funds is necessary. On the 30th day of each month of each fiscal year, any funds remaining in the 
Contingency Trust Fund which have not been designated as required by the Port Authority are deposited to the State 
General Fund. As of the end of Fiscal Year 2019, the Port Authority had not required the use of any of the Contingency 
Trust Fund monies, so the $9.5 million has been deposited to the State General Fund each year. 
 
Major Exemptions: 
• Natural gas lawfully vented or flared in connection with the production, treatment, or processing of oil or gas. 
• Natural gas lawfully injected into oil or gas pools or reservoirs. 
• Natural gas lawfully injected into the earth for the purpose of lifting oil or gas. However, if any gas injected is sold 

or injected into underground storage facilities as defined in Section 9-17-150 et seq., Code of Alabama 1975, then 
the gas is not exempt. 

 
Note Regarding Local Taxes: 
A county or municipality may not establish, levy, impose, or collect, as a condition of doing business, any tax, fee, or 
license, on or with respect to the production, processing, or transportation on any oil or gas produced in Alabama and 
on which severance taxes have been paid to Alabama. The limitation imposed on counties and municipalities does not 
apply to any county or municipality which does not receive a share of the severance tax levied on onshore production. 
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Oil and Gas Production Tax 
Statutory Authority: 
Sections 9-17-25 through 9-17-31, and 9-17-34 through 9-17-35, Code of Alabama 1975. 
 
Tax Base: 
Tax on the production of oil or natural gas severed from any well or wells in Alabama. (See also Oil and Gas Privilege 
Tax, pg. 103). 
 
Tax Rate: 
2% of the gross value of the oil or gas at the point of production. The tax on offshore production, produced from 
depths greater than 8,000 feet below mean sea level, is computed at the rate of 1.66% of the gross proceeds 
attributable to the offshore production.  
 
Collections: 
By the Department of Revenue by the 15th day of the second calendar month following the month of production. 
 

Fiscal Year Collections ($)53 Percent Change 
2023 12,587,483 (13.73) 
2022 14,590,807 78.59 
2021 8,169,864 22.38 
2020 6,675,573 (34.70) 
2019 10,223,603 (9.46) 

Source: Department of Revenue’s “Revenue Abstract.” 
 
Distribution: 
All proceeds are deposited into the State General Fund. 
 
Major Exemptions: 
• Natural gas lawfully injected into oil or gas pools or reservoirs. 
• Natural gas lawfully injected into the earth for the purpose of lifting oil or gas. However, if any gas injected is sold 

or injected into underground storage facilities as defined in Section 9-17-150 et seq., Code of Alabama 1975, then 
the gas is not exempt. Natural gas lawfully vented or flared in connection with the production, treatment or 
processing of oil or gas. 

  

 
53 Gross collections. 



Oil and Gas Rights, Lease of  Page 105 

Oil and Gas Rights, Lease of 
Constitutional Authority: 
Section 219.02 of the Constitution of Alabama of 2022, (proposed by Act 1985-79, 1st Ex. Sess., proclaimed ratified 
June 4, 1985). Established the Alabama Trust Fund and provided that 99% of any proceeds received after August 14, 
1984, from the lease of offshore lands become a part of the trust capital. The remaining 1% of proceeds are allocated 
to the State Lands Fund. 
 
Section 219.04 of the Constitution of Alabama of 2022, (proposed by Act 2000-491, proclaimed ratified December 13, 
2000). Established the County and Municipal Government Capital Improvement Trust Fund and the Alabama Capital 
Improvement Trust Fund; redistributed 35% of the oil and gas capital payments in the previous fiscal year to the 
County and Municipal Government Capital Improvement Trust Fund (7%) and the Alabama Capital Improvement Trust 
Fund (28%); and approved the issuance of general obligation bonds in an aggregate principal amount not exceeding 
$350 million for the purposes of: (1) making capital improvements to the state dock facilities at the Port of Mobile; (2) 
promoting economic development and industrial recruitment in the state; (3) providing the local government match 
monies required to issue federal grant revenue bonds for road and bridge improvements; and (4) providing funds to 
municipal governments for infrastructure improvements. (See also “Alabama Trust Fund”, pg. 19). 
 
Section 219.041 of the Constitution of Alabama of 2022, (proposed by Act 2007-05, proclaimed ratified June 28, 2007). 
Increased the bonding authority under Section 219.04 to an amount not exceeding $750 million. (See also “Alabama 
Trust Fund”, pg. 19). 
 
Section 219.042 of the Constitution of Alabama of 2022, (proposed by Act 2012-567, proclaimed ratified December 13, 
2012). Authorized the Bond Commission established by Section 219.04 to issue refunding bonds and provided that the 
principal amount of general obligation bonds for which provision for payment has been made would not be considered 
outstanding. 
 
Section 219.043 of the Constitution of Alabama of 2022, (proposed by Act 2013-266, proclaimed ratified December 1, 
2014). Increased the bonding authority granted to the Bond Commission under Section 219.04, by $50 million to issue 
bonds for construction and maintenance of National Guard armories and provided for an additional payment of oil and 
gas capital payments received by the Alabama Trust Fund to the Alabama Capital Improvement Trust Fund to pay the 
principal and interest on the bonds. 
 
Section 219.09 of the Constitution of Alabama of 2022, (proposed by Act 2012-490, proclaimed ratified October 10, 
2012). Established a new annual spending policy for the Alabama Trust Fund, beginning with the state’s 2013 fiscal 
year, to distribute 33% of the previous fiscal year’s oil and gas capital payments and 5% of the average value of the 
Alabama Trust Fund investment portfolio over the previous three fiscal years. (See also “Alabama Trust Fund”, pg. 19). 
 
Statutory Authority: 
Sections 9-17-60 through 9-17-69, Code of Alabama 1975. 
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Base: 
Revenue collected from the lease of any lands or interest therein under the Department of Conservation and Natural 
Resources jurisdiction for exploration, development, and production of oil, gas, and other minerals; any lands or 
interest therein owned by a state department, institution, or agency upon written request of the head of the state 
department, institution, or agency; and any land or interest therein under navigable streams or waterways for the same 
purposes. 
 
Tax Rate: 
Varies according to the provisions enumerated in the lease contract. 
 
Collections: 
By the Department of Conservation and Natural Resources. 
 

Fiscal Year Collections ($) Percent Change 
2023 47,620,332 (31.63) 
2022 69,648,268 103.72 
2021 34,187,547 27.81 
2020 26,749,483 (39.69) 
2019 44,353,196 (9.82) 

Source: “Comparative Summary of Revenues by Revenue Source” Report. 
 
Distribution: 
1. 10% of all revenue, except revenue from the lease of submerged lands in the Gulf of Mexico, is deposited to the 

credit of the State Lands Fund to cover the cost of administration for the Department of Conservation and Natural 
Resources.  

2. All remaining revenue from properties of a department is deposited to the credit of that department. 
3. All remaining revenue from the lease of streams or waterways is deposited into the State General Fund. 
4. 1% of revenue from the lease of submerged lands in the Gulf of Mexico is deposited to the credit of the State 

Lands Fund. 
5. The balance of the remaining revenue is distributed as follows: 

a. 33% of the remaining revenue from the lease of submerged lands in the Gulf of Mexico is distributed as 
follows: 
i. To cities and counties (10% each) 

ii. Forever Wild Land Trust (10% - not to exceed $15 million annually) 
iii. Senior Services Trust Fund (1% - not to exceed $5 million annually) 
iv. State General Fund (remaining balance) 

b. 32% becomes part of the trust capital of the Alabama Trust Fund; however, this amount will be reduced by the 
amount necessary to make an additional transfer to the Capital Improvement Trust Fund to pay debt service 
on the $50 million bond issue to construct and renovate National Guard armories pursuant to Section 219.043 
of the Constitution of Alabama of 2022 (See also “Alabama Trust Fund” pg. 19); and  

c. the remaining 35% is distributed as follows: 
i. 28% to the Capital Improvement Trust Fund 
ii. 7% to the County and Municipal Government Capital Improvement Fund. 
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Oil Companies Wholesale License Fees 
Statutory Authority: 
Section 40-17-174, Code of Alabama 1975.  
 
Base: 
A license fee on every person, firm, corporation, or agency selling diesel fuel, other than transmix, across the rack at a 
terminal in this state or importing diesel fuel, other than transmix, into this state, other than by a bulk transfer, for 
delivery to a destination in this state. The permissive supplier is required to collect this fee from the person who 
purchases the diesel fuel for import into Alabama. 
 
Fees: 
 $.0075 per gallon for each gallon of diesel fuel, other than transmix, sold across the rack at a terminal in this state or 
imported into this state during the preceding fiscal year. No county license fee may be charged under this section. 
 
Collections: 
By Department of Revenue on or before October 14. 
 

Fiscal Year Collections ($) Percent Change 
2023 8,898,061 0.42 
2022 8,861,226 7.84 
2021 8,216,827 (1.02) 
2020 8,301,713 (7.71) 
2019 8,995,085 5.65 

Source: Department of Revenue’s “Revenue Abstract.” 
 
Distribution: 
All proceeds are deposited into the State General Fund. 
 
Major Exemptions: 
• Sale of biodiesel fuel to a licensed supplier when delivered to a terminal. 
• Transmix. 
• Diesel fuel exported from the state for which proof of export is available in the form of a terminal issued shipping 

document. 
• Gallons for which a permissive supplier collected the fee from the importer. 
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Outdoor Advertising Permits 
Statutory Authority: 
Sections 23-1-270 through 23-1-288, Code of Alabama 1975. 
 
Base: 
Fees for outdoor advertising signs which are visible from interstate or primary highways. 
 
Fees: 
Initial fee for each outdoor advertising sign location covered in the permit. $25 
Annual renewal fee (permits are for a calendar year and are not prorated for a partial year). $10 
Annual operating fee set by the Department of Transportation depending upon the type and size 
of the service signs. $100 to $450 
 
Collections: 
By the State Department of Transportation upon receipt of a permit application and each year thereafter between 
January 1 and February 15.  A 25% penalty is charged and collected for any delinquent permit issued after February 15. 
 

Fiscal Year 
Outdoor Advertising 

Permit Fee 
Interstate Logo 

Program Total Collections Percent Change 
2023 55,220 1,689,030 1,744,250 (3.30) 
2022 65,865 1,737,835 1,803,700 0.16 
2021 58,493 1,742,250 1,800,742 (0.43) 
2020 62,923 1,745,625 1,808,548 0.96 
2019 62,343 1,729,075 1,791,418 0.40 

Source: “Comparative Summary of Revenues by Revenue Source” Report. 
 
Distribution: 
Permit fees for outdoor advertising signs are deposited to the Public Road and Bridge Fund, and fees from “interstate 
logos” are deposited to the Airports Development Fund and used by ALDOT for the State Aeronautics program to be 
used for airport development. 
 
Major Exemptions: 
Signs of less than one square foot in area, excluding the support, that are erected by a public utility to mark the 
location of underground public utility facilities. 
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Oversize/Overweight Permit Fees 
Constitutional Provision: 
Section 111.06 of the Constitution of Alabama of 2022. Provides that no monies derived from any fee, excise or license 
tax, levied by the state, relating to (1) registration, operation, or use of vehicles or (2) fuels used for propelling vehicles 
except pump taxes shall be expended for any purpose other than costs of construction, reconstruction, maintenance 
and repair of public highways and bridges, costs of highway rights of way, payment of highway obligations, the cost of 
traffic regulation, and the expense of enforcing state traffic and motor vehicle laws. Additionally, allows for the 
distribution of proceeds from charges for personalized license plates or tags in any manner prescribed by the 
Legislature. 
 
Note: The above restriction does not apply to fees and taxes levied by counties and municipalities pursuant to 
authority granted by the state. 
 
Statutory Authority: 
Section 32-9-29, Code of Alabama 1975. 
 
Base: 
Fee for the operation and/or movement of vehicles upon the public roads of this state whose weight, width, length or 
height, or combination thereof, exceeds the maximum limit(s) specified by law. 
 
Fees: 

Annual permits $100 
Single trip permits:  

Mobile homes, modular homes, sectional homes, portable buildings, and boats - up to and 
including 12 ft. wide and 75 ft. long. $10 
Boats more than 12 ft. wide; and mobile homes, modular homes, sectional houses, and portable 
buildings more than 12 ft. wide and/or 75 ft. long. $20 

Heavy commodities or equipment  
Over on any limitations as to length, height, or width. $30 
Over on weight from 80,001 lbs. up to 100,000 lbs. $10 
Over on weight from 100,001 lbs. up to 125,000 lbs. $10 
Over on weight from 125,001 lbs. up to 150,000 lbs. $60 
Over on weight from 150,001 lbs. and over. $100 

Miscellaneous  
Houses $20 
Off-road equipment $10 
Other oversized vehicles, loads, and equipment not otherwise specified $20 
Other over height loads not otherwise specified $10 
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Collections: 
By the State Department of Transportation upon receipt of a permit application. 
 

Fiscal Year Collections ($) Percent Change 
2023 4,707,090 1.88 
2022 4,620,200 5.52 
2021 4,378,710 2.58 
2020 4,268,727 (13.39) 
2019 4,928,757 15.51 

Source: “Comparative Summary of Revenues by Revenue Source” Report. 
 
Distribution: 
All permit fees are deposited to the Public Road and Bridge Fund. 
 
Major Exemptions: 
Farm and/or agricultural commodities and equipment. 
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Pari-Mutuel Pool Taxes 
Statutory Authority: 
Sections 40-26A-1 through 40-26A-17 (Dog Track Tax), Code of Alabama 1975. 
Sections 11-65-28 through 11-65-30.1 (Horse Wagering Fee), Code of Alabama 1975. 
 
Tax Base: 
A tax levied on persons engaged in the business of operating a dog or horse track, based upon the total amount 
wagered (pool) on all pari-mutuel races (both live and simulcast). A pari-mutuel race is a race wherein individuals who 
wager on winners divide the total amount wagered in proportion to their individual wagers, after deduction of 
authorized taxes, fees, and management expenses. 
 
Tax Rate: 
Dog Track - state tax of 1% of the pari-mutuel pool on all pari-mutuel races, plus 1% of the pari-mutuel pool on all pari-
mutuel races requiring the selection of three or more racers. Local tax rates for facilities located in counties 
designated are as provided by the following acts: 

1. Greene Co. (4%) - Act 1975-376, p. 926; Act 1985-936, 2nd Ex. Sess., p. 238. 
2. Jefferson Co. (2%/4%/6%) - Act 1991-187, p. 246. 
3. Macon Co. (4%) - Act 1983-575, p. 882; Act 1987-207, p. 295. 
4. Mobile Co. (7%) - Act 1971-2431, p. 3880; Act 1975-1095, p. 2164; Act 1981-745, p. 1272; Act 1989-696, p. 

1376; Act 1992-105, p. 169. 
 
Horse Wagering - State tax of 1% of the pari-mutuel pool on all horse races. A local tax rate is also provided for 
facilities located in Jefferson County (2%/4%) by Act 1984-131, p. 159. 
 
Collections: 
By the Department of Revenue by the 20th day of the month following the month in which the wagers were made. 
 

Fiscal Year State Only Collections ($) Percent Change 
2023 8,258,155 58.16 
2022 5,221,293 26.98 
2021 4,111,998 86.58 
2020 2,203,928 69.80 
2019 1,297,972 13.23 

Source: Department of Revenue’s “Revenue Abstract.” 
 
Distribution: 
After the cost of collection is deducted, all proceeds are deposited into the State General Fund. 
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Petroleum Commodities Fees 
Statutory Authority: 
Sections 8-17-80 through 8-17-102, Code of Alabama 1975. 
 
Base: 
An inspection fee on the person first selling, storing or using any petroleum product in the state and a permit fee paid 
by everyone selling, offering for sale, storing or using petroleum products in Alabama. 
 
Fees: 
Inspection Fee: 
Gasoline (included in $.06 excise tax) $.02 per gallon 
Undyed diesel fuel $.02 per gallon 
Dyed diesel fuel $.02 per gallon 
Dyed kerosene $.01 per gallon 
Lubricating oil $.15 per gallon 
Dyed kerosene, dyed diesel fuel, or undyed diesel fuel used:  
• to operate boats, yachts, ships or other maritime vehicles 
• to operate tractors used exclusively for agricultural purposes 
• used to propel railroad locomotives 
• used in the treatment of wood products 

$.00025 per gallon 

 
Permit Fee:  Each person desiring to sell, offer for sale, store or use petroleum products in Alabama must pay an 
annual permit fee of $10 for each different brand specified in the permit application. 
 
Collections: 
Annual permit fees are due to the Department of Revenue by October 1 of each year. Inspection fees are collected by 
the Department and are due by the 20th of each month for the preceding month. 
 

Fiscal Year Collections ($) Percent Change 
2023 59,136,923 (0.96) 
2022 59,707,263 (0.47) 
2021 59,991,396 3.29 
2020 58,078,371 (6.25) 
2019 61,952,205 (6.12) 

Source: “Comparative Summary of Revenues by Revenue Source” Report. 
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Distribution: 
5% or no less than $175,000, whichever is greater, of the proceeds received each month accrues to the Department of 
Agriculture and Industries' Agricultural Fund. 
 
The balance of the proceeds are distributed as follows: 
1. 13.87% distributed monthly and allocated equally among each of the 67 counties. 
2. $408,981 allocated monthly to the Alabama Department of Transportation’s Public Road and Bridge Fund to be 

used to match federal funds. 
3. 2.76% of the balance allocated as follows: 

a. 45.45% of the municipalities' share is allocated equally among the 67 counties. 
b. 54.55% of the municipalities' share is allocated among the 67 counties on the basis of population. 
c. The amount allocated to each county is distributed among the municipalities within the county on the 

basis of population. 
4. Pursuant to Act 2012-400, an additional 5% distributed monthly to the Agricultural Fund after proceeds from (1) 

and (3) have been distributed. 
5. Pursuant to Act 2015-54, 2.5% of remaining proceeds or $87,500 monthly, whichever is greater, will be distributed 

to DOR for administration costs. 
6. The balance of the proceeds after all other proceeds have been distributed monthly is distributed to the Public 

Road and Bridge Fund. 
 
Major Exemptions: 
• A permit is not required from any person selling, offering for sale, storing, or using petroleum products obtained 

from a person that has already paid the fee. The inspection fee is paid only once on the same product. 
• Any petroleum product used in a steam boiler. 
• Any petroleum product used in combustion generating turbines by compression (generating own power). 
• Aviation gasoline and aviation jet fuel. 
• Petroleum products unloaded in any port of the state for shipment into any other state or to any shipment of 

petroleum products through the state from any other state to a destination outside the state. 
• Diesel fuel subject to the excise taxes on motor fuel.  
• Petroleum products sold to U.S. Government agencies. Petroleum products sold to city, county and state agencies 

are not exempt. 
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Privilege License Tax 
Statutory Authority: 
Sections 40-12-1 through 40-12-180, Code of Alabama 1975. 
 
Tax Base: 
Privilege tax on persons, firms, corporations, companies, associations, receivers, or trustees engaged in certain 
businesses, vocations, or professions. 
 
Tax Rate: 
Rates vary according to the nature of the enterprise; and may also vary according to the population of the municipality 
in which the business is located, volume of business, capital invested, or certain other conditions as specified in the 
Code of Alabama 1975. A $1 license issuance fee is also required. For each state business, vocation, or occupational 
license levied by Title 40, Article 2 of Chapter 12, an additional amount equal to one-half the state levy (except as 
otherwise specifically provided) is levied and collected as a county tax. Businesses, vocations, and occupations may 
also be subject to municipal licensing requirements which vary from city to city. Municipal licenses are issued and 
administered by the municipalities. 
 
Collections: 
By probate judges, license commissioners, or the Department of Revenue on October 1, unless otherwise specified. 
 

Fiscal Year Collections ($)54 Percent Change 
2023 6,960,691 9.84 
2022 6,336,932 8.52 
2021 5,839,548 8.78 
2020 5,368,407 12.32 
2019 4,779,709 (19.21) 

Source: “General Fund – Summary Comparison of Net Receipts” Report. 
 
Distribution: 
After deducting the cost of collection (5%), the remaining proceeds are distributed to the State General Fund unless 
otherwise specified or unless there is a corresponding county license tax. When both a state and county license tax 
are levied, the total collections for that tax are distributed 50% to the State General Fund and 50% to the County 
General Fund of the county where the tax is collected (even though the state tax may be greater than the county tax). 
  

 
54 General Fund collections only. 
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Public Utilities License Tax 
Statutory Authority: 
Sections 40-21-50, 40-21-51, 40-21-53 through 40-21-55, and 40-21-62 through 40-21-64, Code of Alabama 1975. 
 
Tax Base: 
License tax imposed for operating a public utility (hydroelectric, electric, gas, other public utility, or privately owned 
and operated wastewater facility) except railroads or sleeping car companies, express companies, telephone, and 
telegraph companies. 
 
Tax Rate: 
2.2% on each dollar of gross receipts for the preceding year. 
 
Collections: 
By the Department of Revenue quarterly on October 1, January 1, April 1 and July 1. 
 

Fiscal Year Collections ($)55 Percent Change 
2023 171,656,942 11.09 
2022 154,519,581 0.03 
2021 154,471,001 (3.63) 
2020 160,287,463 (1.11) 
2019 162,094,704 5.54 

Source: Department of Revenue’s “Revenue Abstract.” 
 
Distribution: 
After deducting the cost of collection, 15% is deposited to the State General Fund and 85% is deposited to the Special 
Mental Health Fund. 
 
Note: 
This tax is paid by utility companies in four equal increments. The companies, in turn, add 2.2% to their customers' 
bills for as long as necessary during the year to collect from their customers the amount paid by the utility companies. 
The tax is paid on total gross receipts, including the minimum monthly (base) charge. The overall base of this tax is 
larger than that of the 4% Utility Gross Receipts tax for utilities subject to both taxes because the base of this tax 
includes receipts to utility companies from federal entities. Utility companies vary as to how (and whether) they show 
this tax on customers' bills: it may be identified separately and totally (a separate 2.2% charge); it may be partially 
separately identified (typically when this is the case, the 1.8% will be separately identified and the 0.4% will not, 
although the full 2.2% is charged); it may be separately identified in two parts (1.8% and 0.4%); or it may be combined 
with the 4% Utility Gross Receipts Tax (appearing as a 6.2% total charge). Although this is a tax on the utility company, 
the company treats it as a cost of doing business which it passes directly on to the customer. The October 1 payment 
is the first payment of each year, based on the twelve months preceding the closing of the company’s books, which is 
usually in September for most utility companies. 
  

 
55 Gross collections. 
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Major Exemptions: 
• Gross receipts from the sale of electricity for resale and from the sale of electricity to disabled persons and 

persons who are 62 years of age or older and who meet certain criteria are exempt. 
• Municipal utility companies (electric, gas, and water) are exempt by virtue of the "natural immunity" of 

municipalities from state taxes unless specifically included. Rural Electric Associations are subject to the tax. 
• The Alabama Municipal Electric Authority (AMEA) makes a "payment in-lieu-of-taxes" of 2.2% of the gross receipts 

from all power sold by AMEA to member cities, deposited to the State General Fund (Section 11-50A-7, Code of 
Alabama 1975).  

• County water, sewer, and fire protection authorities organized pursuant to Title 11, Chapter 88 are exempt per 
Section 11-88-16, Code of Alabama 1975. 

• Water authorities organized pursuant to Title 10A, Chapter 20, Article 9 are exempt pursuant to Section 10A-20-
9.04, Code of Alabama 1975. 

• Cellular telecommunication services and providers are exempt pursuant to Section 40-21-120, Code of Alabama 
1975. 
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Restored (Salvaged) Vehicle Inspection Fee 
Statutory Authority: 
Section 32-8-87, Code of Alabama 1975. 
 
Base: 
Application fee charged to an owner of a salvage motor vehicle designated a 1975 model or later which has been 
restored to the operating condition that existed prior to the event which caused the salvage certificate of title to be 
issued. The fee is charged for the inspection of the vehicle by the Department of Revenue to ensure compliance with 
the Uniform Certificate of Title and Anti-Theft Act. 
 
Fees: 
$75 application fee for each inspection. 
 
Collections: 
By Department of Revenue upon receipt of application for inspection. 
 

Fiscal Year Collections ($) Percent Change 
2023 1,483,620 0.88 
2022 1,470,689 2.63 
2021 1,433,025 (2.98) 
2020 1,476,985 5.17 
2019 1,404,436 80.65 

Source: Department of Revenue’s “Revenue Abstract.” 
 
Distribution: 
Proceeds are retained by the Department of Revenue and applied toward personnel and maintenance costs of the 
vehicle inspection program. 
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Sales Tax 
Statutory Authority: 
Sections 40-23-1 through 40-23-39; 40-23-100 through 40-23-190; and 40-23-200 through 40-23-263, Code of Alabama 
1975. 
 
Tax Base: 
Tax imposed on the gross proceeds from the sale of all taxable items to individuals and/or corporations within the 
state and on the gross proceeds from conducting or operating public places of amusement or entertainment. 
 
Tax Rates: 

Item Percent Rate 
General rate – covers sales of all tangible personal property (excluding items below) and 
gross receipts from amusement or entertainment businesses 4% 
Food/Grocery (Effective September 1, 2023) - Food as defined in 7 U.S.C. § 2011, et seq., for 
the purposes of the federal Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program 

3% 

Machinery used in mining, quarrying, compounding, processing, and manufacturing tangible 
personal property 1.5% 
Farm machinery and equipment when used for agricultural purposes (when a trade is involved, 
the tax is on the net difference) 1.5% 
Commercial fishing vessel used in the capture or processing of fish when operated by a holder 
of a commercial license 1.5% 
Mobile home set-up materials and related supplies 2% 
Automotive vehicles, motorboats, truck trailers, semitrailers, or house trailers (when a trade is 
involved, the tax is on the net difference) 2% 
Casual sales (purchase, other than at wholesale, from someone who is not a licensed dealer) 
of automotive vehicles, truck trailers, trailers, semitrailers, travel trailers, motorboats, or 
mobile homes (travel trailers, campers, and horsecars titles/registered in reciprocal states are 
excluded) 2% 
Food products sold through vending machines 3% 

 
Collections: 
By the Department of Revenue on the 20th of each month for previous month's sales. Vendors who file tax returns on 
time are entitled to a discount of 5% on the first $100 of tax and 2% on all tax over $100, but the discount is limited to 
a total maximum discount of $400 per month to any license holder regardless of the number of retail locations. 
Vendors whose average monthly tax liability exceeds $5,000 (prior to 2023 monthly tax liability that exceeded $2,500) 
must make estimated payments on or before the 20th day of the month in which the liability occurs. Vendors whose 
average monthly liability is less than $200 may make an election to file quarterly rather than monthly. 
 

Fiscal Year Gross Collections ($) Percent Change 
2023 3,250,812,841 3.85 
2022 3,130,240,695 7.64 
2021 2,908,063,265 14.91 
2020 2,530,783,840 2.13 
2019 2,478,017,125 4.19 

Source: Department of Revenue’s “Revenue Abstract.” 
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Distribution (after the deduction of collection costs): 
Education Trust Fund, except as follows:  
1. 42% of the 2% tax on mobile home set-up materials and related supplies, automotive vehicles, truck trailers, 

semitrailers, or house trailers is deposited into the State General Fund. 
2. 50% of the 2% tax on motorboats is deposited into the State General Fund. 
3. $378,000 is distributed to the 67 counties (half on the basis of population and half equally) to be used exclusively 

for full-time health service in cooperation with the State Board of Health or the federal government and for 
extension services in cooperation with the Alabama Agriculture Extension Service or the federal government at the 
discretion of the county commissions. 

4. $1,322,000 is distributed to the Department of Human Resources for general welfare purposes. 
5. 5% of the value of food stamp benefits issued statewide in excess of the amount paid by recipients for 

administration of the Food Stamp Program is distributed to the Department of Human Resources. 
6. Sales tax collected on consumable vapor products is deposited into the State General Fund. 
7. Amounts for debt service is distributed to the Alabama Public School and College Authority. 
8. Additional revenue generated as a result of the Governor setting a cap on the sales tax discount allowed to 

retailers (Executive Order 53, dated May 22, 2001) is deposited into the State General Fund.  
a. A portion of such deposit is to pay debt service for the then current fiscal year on bonds issued by the 

Alabama State Parks System Improvement Corporation and/or the Alabama Public Historical Sites and Parks 
Improvement Corporation 

b. The greater of $5 million or $5 million adjusted by a percentage growth in receipts from the cap is allocated 
to the Department of Conservation and Natural Resources (DCNR) for capital outlay, repairs and maintenance 
of the state parks system. Any additional funds remain in the State General Fund. 

 
Major Exemptions: 
A listing of exemptions is found in Chapter 9, Article 1 of Title 40 and Sections 40-23-4 through 40-23-5 Code of 
Alabama 1975. Examples of additional exemptions are found in Sections 11-92A-18 (county industrial development 
authorities), 11-54-96 (industrial development boards), and 11-58-14 (medical clinic boards) Code of Alabama 1975. 
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Scrap Tire Environmental Fees 
Statutory Authority: 
Sections 22-40A-1 through 22-40A-24, Code of Alabama 1975. 
 
Base: 
A fee on replacement tires, whether or not the tires are mounted on a rim or wheel. 
 
Fees: 
$1 per replacement and retreaded casing replacement tire when sold to a consumer. 
 
Collections: 
By the tire dealer from the consumer and paid monthly to the Department of Revenue by the 20th day of the following 
month. Tire dealers may retain 7% of the fees collected for each timely report filed. 
 

Fiscal Year Collections ($)56 Percent Change 
2023 5,049,379 11.86 
2022 4,514,014 (1.01) 
2021 4,560,166 4.93 
2020 4,345,825 (0.35) 
2019 4,361,233 3.10 

Source: Department of Revenue’s “Revenue Abstract.” 
 
Distribution: 
Proceeds are deposited into the Scrap Tire Fund and distributed as follows: 
1. Between 45% to 75% of monies deposited to the Scrap Tire Fund during the previous budget year to pay the costs 

of remediation, abatement, removal, or other remedial action related to tire stockpiles throughout the state. 
2. Up to 20% of monies deposited to the Scrap Tire Fund during the previous budget year to pay the Department of 

Environmental Management for the costs associated with the development and enforcement of regulation. 
3. Up to 20% of monies deposited to the Scrap Tire Fund during the previous budget year to administer a program, 

managed by the Department of Environmental Management, directed at promoting and developing markets as an 
alternative to the landfill disposal of scrap tires or processed tire material as an end use. 

4. Up to 10% of monies deposited to the Scrap Tire Fund during the previous budget year to fund programs delegated 
to counties for enforcement of regulations. 

5. Up to 7% to pay the tire dealer for collection and accounting costs associated with collection of the fee. 
6. Up to 2% to pay the costs of administration of the Department of Revenue. 
Actual distribution percentages are established by the Scrap Tire Commission. 
 
Major Exemptions: 
All government organizations, whether federal, state or other local governing bodies are exempt from the payment of 
fees. 

  

 
56 Gross collections. 
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Simplified Sellers Use Tax 
Statutory Authority: 
Sections 40-23-190 through 40-23-199.3, Code of Alabama 1975. 
 
Tax Base: 
Tax authorized in lieu of sales and use taxes otherwise due by or on behalf of Alabama customers who have 
purchased items from an eligible seller who participates in the Simplified Sellers Use Tax Remittance Program that 
were shipped or otherwise delivered into Alabama by the eligible seller. 
 
Tax Rates:  
8% of the sales price on tangible personal property sold or delivered into Alabama by an eligible seller participating in 
the program. 
 
Collections: 
By the Department of Revenue by the 20th of each month for the previous month’s sales. Eligible sellers who file tax 
returns on time are entitled to a 2% discount (as of January 1, 2019, discount applies to first $400,000 of taxes 
collected and cannot exceed $8,000 per month).  
 

Fiscal Year Collections ($) Percent Change 
2023 745,966,030 17.74 
2022 633,557,284 21.58 
2021 521,083,279 34.89 
2020 386,301,351 90.01 
2019 203,303,335 141.18 

Source: Department of Revenue’s “Revenue Abstract.” 
 
Distribution: 
After deducting the cost of collection: 
1. 50% to State Treasury and allocated: 

a. 75% to the State General Fund 
b. 25% to the Education Trust Fund 

2. 50% to local governments and allocated:57, 58 
a. 40% to each county on a population basis 
b. 60% to each municipality on a population basis 

  

 
57 Distributions of the proceeds to counties and municipalities occur quarterly but may initiate monthly. 
58 Prior to January 1, 2019, collections were distributed to local governments as follows: (1) 25% to counties, and (2) 25% to 
municipalities. 
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Solid Waste Disposal Fees 
Statutory Authority: 
Sections 22-27-1 through 22-27-18 and Section 22-40A-6, Code of Alabama 1975. 
 
Base: 
A solid waste disposal fee levied on generators of solid waste who dispose of solid waste at solid waste management 
facilities permitted by the Department of Environmental Management. 
 
Fees: 
$1 per ton for all waste disposed of in a municipal solid waste landfill; regulated solid wastes that may be approved by 
the Department of Environmental Management as alternate cover materials in landfills; and regulated solid waste 
received from out-of-state for disposal at permitted public solid waste facilities. 
 
$1 per ton or $.25 per cubic yard for waste disposed of in public industrial landfills, construction and demolition 
landfills, non-municipal solid waste incinerators, or composting facilities which receive waste not generated by the 
permittee; and regulated solid wastes that may be approved by the Department of Environmental Management as 
alternate cover materials in landfills. 
 
$.25 per cubic yard for all waste disposed of in a private solid waste management facility, not to exceed $1,000 per 
calendar year. 
 
Collections: 
The disposal fee is collected by the operator of the permitted solid waste disposal facility and remitted to the 
Department of Revenue on a quarterly basis not later than the 20th day of January, April, July, and October. Owners and 
operators collecting the solid waste fees may retain 4% of the total solid waste fees collected at their facility as an 
administrative collection allowance. The Department of Revenue may retain 1% of the solid waste fees collected as an 
administrative collection allowance. 
 

Fiscal Year Collections ($)59 Percent Change 
2023 8,874,314 (2.10) 
2022 9,064,655 5.39 
2021 8,600,977 7.10 
2020 8,030,572 5.55 
2019 7,608,438 10.33 

Source: Department of Revenue’s “Revenue Abstract.” 
  

 
59 Gross collections. Excludes the administrative allowance retained by the owners and operators of solid waste facilities. 
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Distribution: 
1. 1% as an administrative collection allowance to the Department of Revenue. 
2. 4% as an administrative collection allowance to owners and operators of solid waste disposal facilities collecting 

the solid waste disposal fees. 
3. 25% to the Alabama Recycling Fund and used by the Department of Environmental Management exclusively to 

provide grants to local governments, authorities, and nonprofit organizations for use in developing, implementing, 
and enhancing local recycling, reuse and waste minimization projects and programs. 

4. 25% to the Solid Waste Fund and used by the Department of Environmental Management to pay the cost of 
remediation, abatement, removal, or other actions related to the closure of unauthorized dumps and landfills, 
including, but not limited to, equipment, labor, supplies, materials, and professional services. 

5. 45% to the Department of Environmental Management and used exclusively to pay the costs of performing its 
duties under the Solid Wastes and Recyclable Materials Management Act and to fund educational programs 
administered by the Department on solid waste management, waste minimization, and recycling. 

 
Major Exemptions: 
• Operators of industrial boilers, furnaces, and other processing equipment that burn solid waste generated on-site 

for the purpose of fuel replacement or energy recovery and which are permitted by the Department of 
Environmental Management or by a local air pollution control agency. 

• Operators of composting facilities which are owned by the Department of Corrections and which receive only 
waste generated by Department of Corrections facilities and institutions or those composting facilities otherwise 
exempt from permitting as provided in rules promulgated by the Department of Environmental Management. 

• Operators of industrial boilers, furnaces, and other processing equipment that burn scrap tires for the purpose of 
fuel replacement or energy recovery and are registered with the Department of Environmental Management as 
provided in rules promulgated by the Department. 

• Scrap tire processors who receive and process scrap tires and who are permitted by or registered with the 
Department of Environmental Management as provided in rules promulgated by the Department, except that a 
solid waste disposal facility permitted as a scrap tire processor shall collect the fee on all waste disposed of in its 
landfill. 

• Retail tire dealers, retreaders, and used tire dealers registered with the Department of Environmental Management 
and collecting and remitting scrap tire environmental fees are not subject to the solid waste disposal fees for only 
scrap tires delivered to permitted landfills for disposal (Per Section 22-40A-6, Code of Alabama 1975. 
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State Securities Commission Fees 
Statutory Authority: 
Sections 8-6-1 through 8-6-60, Code of Alabama 1975. 
 
Base: 
Registration fee required of all dealers and agents of securities, all investment advisers and investment adviser 
representatives, and for all security issues offered for sale in the state. A fee is also required for certain applications 
for exemption from registration of security issues and interpretative opinions or no-action letters from the Securities 
Commission. 
 
Fees: 

Initial or annual renewal registration fee 
$250 for a broker/dealer or an investment adviser 
$70 for an agent or investment adviser representative 

Filing fee for the registration of a security $100 (minimum) to $1,500 (maximum) 
Filing fee for an issue for open-ended management 
companies, face amount certificate companies and unit 
investment trust companies that register an indefinite 
amount of securities $100 

File a notice of intent to sell with the Commission, 
accompanied by a filing fee for open-end management 
investment companies who qualify for security 
registration exemption 

$350 (net assets of $25 million or less) 
$700 (net assets of more than $25 million but less than 
$100 million) 
$1,200 (net assets of $100 million but less than $250 
million) 
$2,000 (net assets of $250 million or more) 
The fee must be paid each year prior to any offer or sale 
of a security is made. 

Filing fee and notice of intent to sell for unit investment 
trusts that qualify for the security registration exemption  $200 
Application fee for entities that apply for an exemption 
from registration based upon certain specified criteria  $300 
Application fee for an application for an interpretative 
opinion or no-action letter or for a notice of exemption for 
certain intrastate transactions  $150 
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Collections: 
Collections by the Alabama Securities Commission upon application or registration. 
 

 State General Fund Securities Commission Fund 
Fiscal Year Collections ($)60 Percent Change Collections ($)61 Percent Change 

2023 15,350,940 5.21 11,652,338 (2.58) 
2022 14,590,551 13.93 11,960,822 3.36 
2021 12,806,825 7.48 11,572,527 (0.99) 
2020 11,915,101 1.03 11,688,377 (2.40) 
2019 11,793,513 14.83 11,975,245 22.60 

Source: “General Fund - Detail Comparison of Net Receipts” Report and “Comparative Summary of Revenues by Fund” Report. 
 
Distribution: 
The fee for initial or renewal registration of an investment adviser or investment adviser representative, the $300 filing 
fee for application for an exemption from registration, the filing fees for the exemption of open-end management 
investment companies, and the $150 application fee for an interpretative opinion or no-action letter or for a notice of 
exemption for certain interstate transactions from the Commission are deposited into the Alabama Securities 
Commission Fund for the use of the Commission. All other proceeds are deposited into the State General Fund. 
 
Major Exemptions: 
Any security, including a revenue obligation, issued or guaranteed by the U.S. or any state government (or political 
subdivision thereof). A listing of exemptions is found in Sections 8-6-10 and 8-6-11, Code of Alabama 1975. 
  

 
60 State General Fund deposits (Securities Commission recording and assessment fees). 
61 Securities Commission Fund deposits (includes fees from the securities exemption permits, registration of investment advisers 
and investment adviser representatives, filing and recording documents, and investigation charges). 
 



Store Licenses Tax  Page 126 

Store Licenses Tax 
Statutory Authority: 
Sections 40-1-31 and 40-12-310 through 40-12-319, Code of Alabama 1975. 
 
Tax Base: 
Annual license fee levied on every person, firm, corporation, association, or co-partnership (foreign or domestic) for 
the privilege of opening, establishing, operating, or maintaining stores or mercantile establishments. 
 
Tax Rate: 

Number of Stores Annual Fees 
1 $1.00 
2 to 5 $15.00 for each additional store 
6 to 10 $22.50 for each additional store 
11 to 20 $37.50 for each additional store 
21 or more $112.50 for each additional store 

 
New businesses beginning on or after April 1 may pay one-half the full rate for the current year. In addition to the 
above fees, each application for a store license must be accompanied by an issuance fee of $.50 for each store, to be 
retained by the probate judge or license commissioner for the issuance of the license, if compensated on a salary 
basis and deposited into the county treasury. 
 
Collections: 
By the probate judge or license commissioner at the courthouse in the county where the principal store is located, on 
or before October 31 of each year or before opening any store. 
  

Fiscal Year Collections ($)62 Percent Change 
2023 575,946 0.22 
2022 574,658 0.29 
2021 572,988 2.65 
2020 558,212 (3.74) 
2019 579,891 (3.28) 

Source: Department of Revenue’s “Revenue Abstract.” 
 
Distribution: 
After the Department of Revenue deducts the cost of collections, net proceeds are deposited into the Education Trust 
Fund. 
  

 
62 Gross collections. 
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Telecommunications Services Tax, Mobile 
Constitutional Authority:  
Section 213.37 of the Constitution of Alabama of 2022 (proposed by Act 1997-356, proclaimed ratified January 6, 
1999). Authorized the Legislature to appropriate funds collected pursuant to any cellular radio telecommunication 
service tax to pay the principal and interest on bonds issued by the Alabama Revolving Loan Fund Authority (ARLFA). 
 
Statutory Authority: 
Sections 40-21-120 through 40-21-126 and 11-85-100 through 11-85-111, Code of Alabama 1975. 
 
Tax Base: 
A gross receipts tax levied on the furnishing of mobile telecommunications services to customers with a place of 
primary use in Alabama. The home service provider furnishing the mobile telecommunications services may deduct 
and retain .25% of the tax billed. 
 
Tax Rate: 
6% on the monthly recurring access charges and all airtime charges. 
 
Collections: 
By the home service provider of mobile telecommunications services, to the Department of Revenue on or before the 
20th of each month, for the preceding month’s receipts. However, taxpayers with an average monthly tax liability of 
$10,000 or greater during the preceding calendar year are to pay, on or before the 20th of the month in which the tax 
liability occurs, an estimated amount not less than the actual tax liability for the same calendar month of the preceding 
year.  
 

Fiscal Year GF ARLFA ETF Total Percent Change 
2023 11,679,445 1,359,752 8,089,746 21,128,943 2.86 
2022 11,253,521 1,410,256 7,876,761 20,540,537 (0.59) 
2021 11,209,213 1,599,118 7,854,607 20,662,937 (22.75) 
2020 15,108,791 1,828,277 9,804,426 26,741,495 (19.22) 
2019 19,348,781 1,830,290 11,924,391 33,103,462 15.97 

Source: “Comparative Summary of Revenues by Revenue Source” Report. 
 
Distribution: 
Proceeds are deposited into the State Treasury. The amount necessary to pay the principal and interest on any 
outstanding bonds issued by the Alabama Revolving Loan Fund Authority (ARLFA) is distributed to the Authority. One-
third of the remaining proceeds plus $1.5 million are deposited into the Education Trust Fund and the remainder is 
deposited into the State General Fund.  
 
Major Exemptions: 
• Cellular services which the state is prohibited from taxing under the U.S. Constitution, Alabama Constitution, or 

U.S. law. 
• Cellular services which are otherwise taxed under Alabama's sales tax provisions. 
• Wholesale sales. 
• Cellular services provided through the use of a prepaid telephone calling card, a prepaid authorization number, or 

both. 



Tennessee Valley Authority In-Lieu-of-Taxes Payments  Page 128 

Tennessee Valley Authority In-Lieu-of-Taxes Payments 
Statutory Authority: 
16 USC, Section 831 and Sections 40-28-1 through 40-28-5 and 41-10-570, Code of Alabama 1975. 
 
Base: 
The Tennessee Valley Authority (TVA) is a federal agency which makes in-lieu-of-taxes payments to the states in which 
its power properties and operations are located. 
 
Rate: 
The TVA pays 5% of its gross revenues from the sale of power in the preceding fiscal year to the states in which TVA 
carries on power operations and in which TVA has acquired properties previously subject to state and local taxation. 
The formula used to determine each state's share is: one-half of the annual payment divided proportionately among 
the states according to the value of the TVA's power property within each state, and the remaining half is divided 
proportionately on the basis of the TVA's power revenues from each state to the TVA's total power revenues. 
 
Collections: 
The Department of Revenue annually receives equal monthly installment payments from the TVA and a year-end 
adjustment payment added to the last installment.  
 

Fiscal Year Collections ($)63 Percent Change 
2023 96,363,779 17.39 
2022 82,091,520 2.45 
2021 80,127,217 (8.25) 
2020 87,336,581 1.63 
2019 85,937,891 (1.72) 

Source: Department of Revenue’s “Revenue Abstract.” 
 
Distribution: 
The total TVA payment is shared by the State of Alabama and the counties served by the TVA. The amount of the TVA 
payment retained by the State of Alabama is credited to the State General Fund and/or to the Incentives Financing 
Authority Debt Service Fund. The payment is distributed as follows: to the counties served by TVA, 83%; to the 
Incentives Financing Authority, the amount necessary to pay the debt service on its bonds; and the remainder to the 
State General Fund. The county share is allocated based on each served county’s respective share of total TVA 
residential and industrial power sales for all counties and total book value of TVA property for all served counties. 
Distributions for fiscal years 2022 and 2023 were as follows: 
  

 
63 Gross collections. 
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Counties Served by TVA FY 2022 FY 2023 

Calhoun 104,201 123,333 

Cherokee 855,663 1,013,599 

Colbert 4,903,628 5,971,197 

Cullman 3,784,179 4,484,058 

DeKalb 2,548,639 3,021,897 

Etowah 147,771 174,994 

Franklin 1,695,895 2,011,934 

Jackson 5,063,563 6,153,518 

Jefferson 1,888,454 2,236,592 

Lauderdale 4,503,858 5,342,480 

Lawrence 1,351,994 1,610,634 

Limestone 7,671,840 8,887,760 

Madison 15,465,849 18,667,059 

Marshall 5,172,869 6,127,996 

Morgan 13,184,841 15,106,361 

Winston 183,288 217,484 

Totals 68,526,532 81,150,895 

TVA Exhibit Commission Debt 0  

Incentives Financing Authority Debt 14,035,555 16,621,268 

Total Distributed 82,562,087 97,772,163 
 Source: Department of Revenue. 

 
Major Exemptions: 
Revenue from power sold to federal agencies is excluded from taxation.  
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Tobacco Tax (Excluding Cigarettes) 
Statutory Authority: 
Sections 40-25-1 through 40-25-29, 40-25-40 through 40-25-47, and 40-25-70 Code of Alabama 1975. 
 
Tax Base: 
Tax on the sale, storage or distribution of tobacco or tobacco products by wholesalers and retailers and use by 
consumers. The tax is a levy on the ultimate consumer or user. Section 40-25-2, Code of Alabama 1975, authorizes the 
taxes to be paid at the wholesale level by affixing stamps and adding to the price of the tobacco product or, if the 
Commissioner of Revenue determines that it is not economical to have stamps prepared, with the use of a monthly 
report. Department of Revenue-Tobacco Tax Section Rule 810-7-1-.08 currently provides for the tax to be paid through 
a monthly report. (See also Cigarette Tax, pg. 33). 
 
Tax Rates: 

Little cigars and filtered cigars, not weighing more than 3 lbs. per 1,000 $.04 per 10 

Filtered cigars, weighing more than 3 lbs. per 1,000 $.015 for each cigar 

All cigars (other than those shown above) or $0.0405 for each cigar 

Smoking tobacco, weighing:  

1-1/8 oz. or less $.04/package 

Over 1-1/8 but not exceeding 2 oz. $.10/package 

Over 2 but not exceeding 3 oz. $.16/package 

Over 3 but not exceeding 4 oz. $.21/package 

Over 4 oz. (each additional ounce over 4 oz. or fractional part thereof) $.06 

Chewing tobacco $.015 per ounce 

Snuff weighing:  

5/8 oz. or less $.01/package 

Over 5/8 but not exceeding 1-5/8 oz. $.02/package 

Over 1-5/8 but not exceeding 2-1/2 oz. $.04/package 

Over 2-1/2 but not exceeding 5 oz. (cans, packages, gullets) $.06/package 

Over 3 but not exceeding 5 oz. (glasses, tumblers, bottles) $.07/package 

Over 5 but not exceeding 6 oz. $.08/package 

Over 6 oz. (each additional ounce over 6 ounces or fractional part thereof) $.12 

Cigar wrapper made from tobacco, weighing:  

1-1/8 oz. or less $.04/package 

Over 1-1/8 oz. but not exceeding 2 oz. $.10/package 

Over 2 oz. but not exceeding 3 oz. $.16/package 

Over 3 oz. but not exceeding 4 oz. $.21/package 

Over 4 oz. (each additional ounce over 4 ounces or fractional part thereof) $.06 
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Collections: 
By the Department of Revenue monthly. Privilege tax due by the 20th of each month. Wholesalers and jobbers are 
allowed a 4.75% discount if the tax is collected by affixing stamps (Prior to October 1, 2015, the discount was 7.5%). 
 

Fiscal Year Collections ($)64 Percent Change 
2023 11,570,095 (2.60) 
2022 11,878,823 (7.53) 
2021 12,846,542 12.92 
2020 11,376,753 7.26 
2019 10,607,083 1.36 

Source: Department of Revenue’s “Revenue Abstract.” 
 
Distribution: 
After deduction of the cost of collection, the remaining proceeds are deposited into the State General Fund.  
 
Major Exemptions: 
A qualified wholesaler or jobber in Alabama may sell tobacco products to: 
• A person who is outside of the state without affixing Alabama revenue stamps, provided the criteria defined in 

Section 40-25-15, Code of Alabama 1975, is met. 
• The United States or to any instrumentality thereof for resale to or for use or consumption by members of the 

Armed Services of the United States. 
• Ships regularly engaged in foreign commerce or coastwise shipping between points in this state and points 

outside this state for resale to or for use or consumption upon such ship or in foreign commerce. 
 
Note Regarding Local Levies: 
The state tax is in lieu of any other or additional local taxes and/or license fees other than those imposed by an act of 
the Legislature or an ordinance or resolution by a taxing authority passed or established prior to May 2004. The 
Department of Revenue maintains a current list of local tax rates on its website. 
  

 
64 Collection amount represents total tobacco collections after refunds. 
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Transportation Company Inspection and Supervision Fee 
Statutory Authority: 
Section 37-2-41, Code of Alabama 1975. 
 
Base: 
An inspection and supervision fee on transportation companies (including telephone companies) doing business in the 
state as a common carrier and subject to the control and jurisdiction of the Public Service Commission with respect to 
its rates and service regulations. 
 
Fees: 
Fees are based on gross intrastate receipts for the preceding fiscal year: 
 

Gross Receipts Rate per $1,000 

First $100,000 or less $2.85 

$100,001 to $1,000,000 $2.35 

In excess of $1,000,000 $1.85 
 
Minimum rate - $25; Maximum rate for railroad companies - $5,000/yr.  
 
Providers of pay telephone service over instruments owned and/or operated by local exchange companies, 
interexchange companies, and customer-owned, coin-operated telephone service providers may elect to pay a fee, in 
lieu of the fees above, in the amount of $10 per instrument. 
 
Collections: 
By the Public Service Commission on a quarterly basis (November 1, February 1, May 1 and August 1), or annually (on 
November 1) if the company elects to pay annually. 
 

Fiscal Year Collections ($) Percent Change 
2023 954,987 (4.83) 
2022 1,003,406 (7.28) 
2021 1,082,239 (26.73) 
2020 1,477,049 (32.95) 
2019 2,203,011 (15.48) 

Source: “Comparative Summary of Revenues by Revenue Source” Report. 
 
Distribution: 
All proceeds are held in the Commission's operating fund to be used for expenses of the Commission. 
  



Underground and Aboveground Storage Tank Regulatory Fees
  Page 133 

Underground and Aboveground Storage Tank Regulatory Fees 
Statutory Authority: 
Sections 22-35-1 through 22-35-13 and 22-36-1 through 22-36-10, Code of Alabama 1975. 
 
Base: 
An Underground and Aboveground Storage Tank Trust Fund fee levied on certain defined owners of underground or 
aboveground storage tanks (including pipes connected thereto) used for the storage, use or dispensing of motor fuels. 
 
An Underground and Aboveground Storage Tank Trust Fund fuel fee on those ordering the first withdrawal from bulk. 
 
A tank registration fee levied on certain defined owners or operators of underground storage tanks. 
 
Fees: 
Tank fee of up to $150 per year per regulated tank. (Note: This fee has not been collected since 1993 due to sufficient 
funds to operate the program being provided by the other fees.) 
 
The Underground and Aboveground Storage Tank Trust Fund fuel fee is imposed on the first withdrawal from bulk in 
this state and is an amount based on invoiced gallons of no less than $.003 per gallon and no more than $.02 per 
gallon as annually recommended by the Underground and Aboveground Storage Tank Trust Fund Management Board 
beginning October 1, 2009. Currently, the fee is $.01 per gallon. 
 
The underground tank registration fee is $30 per tank. 
 
Collections: 
The $150 tank fee (if charged) and the $30 tank registration fee are collected by the Alabama Department of 
Environmental Management. The fuel fee is collected by the operator of the bulk facility and remitted by the 20th of the 
month, following the month for which fees are due, to the Department of Revenue. 
 

Fiscal Year Collections ($)65 Percent Change 
2023 45,975,296 1.77 
2022 45,176,262 10.00 
2021 41,070,430 12.04 
2020 36,656,953 (6.36) 
2019 39,147,746 1.25 

Source: “Comparative Summary of Revenues by Fund” Report. 
 
  

 
65 Includes collections from both the tank fuel fee and registration fee. 
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Distribution: 
As a first charge against revenues collected from the per gallon tank fuel fee, there is appropriated to the Department 
of Revenue the amount of money necessary to pay its cost of administration, not to exceed $150,000 annually. The 
remaining receipts are deposited into the Alabama Underground and Aboveground Storage Tank Trust Fund and the 
unobligated balance of the Fund is invested by the Retirement Systems of Alabama for the benefit of the Fund. Monies 
in the Fund are used for the following purposes: 
1. To pay the administration costs of all the provisions of the program, including the expenses certified by the Board 

as proper and necessary incurred in the discharge of its duties. The Department of Environmental Management’s 
actual cost of administering the program may not exceed 8% of the total fees and charges collected annually or a 
maximum of $705,000 per year, whichever is less. In no event will the Department’s allocation for this purpose be 
less than $400,000 in any given year. Provided, however, the Legislature may make additional appropriations to 
the Department from the Fund upon showing of need for additional amounts in the administration of the Fund. Any 
additional appropriations may not exceed in any year 5% of the total fees and charges collected annually. 

2. To pay third parties who bring suit and obtain final judgment against the Fund and the owner or operator of an 
underground or aboveground motor fuel storage tank who is in substantial compliance with the Fund. 

3. To pay response action contractors as approved by the Department for remedial action or clean-up work. 
The tank regulation fee is used by the Alabama Department of Environmental Management for the administrative costs 
of the Underground Tank Regulatory Program and to provide the 10% state match required by the federal Leaking 
Underground Storage Tank Program.  
 
Major Exemptions: 
• Farm or residential tank of 1,100 gallons or less capacity used for storing motor fuel for noncommercial purposes. 
• Tank used for storing heating oil for consumptive use on the premises where stored. 
• Septic tank. 
• Pipeline facility (including gathering lines) regulated under: 

o The Natural Gas Pipeline Safety Act of 1968 
o The Hazardous Liquid Pipeline Safety Act of 1979 
o An intrastate pipeline facility regulated under state laws comparable to the provisions above. 

• Surface impoundment, pit, pond, or lagoon. 
• Stormwater or wastewater collection system. 
• Flow-through process tank. 
• Liquid trap or associated gathering lines directly related to oil or gas production and gathering operations. 
• Storage tank situated in an underground area (such as a basement, cellar, mineworking, drift, shaft, or tunnel) if 

the storage tank is situated upon or above the surface of the floor. 
• Other underground tanks exempted by the administrator of the federal Environmental Protection Agency. 
• Piping connected to any of the above exemptions. 
• Pipeline terminals, refinery terminals, rail and barge terminals and tanks associated with each.  
• The Underground and Aboveground Storage Tank Trust Fund charge does not apply to any withdrawal from bulk of 

fuel oil to be used in the generation of electricity. 
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Unemployment Compensation Tax 
Statutory Authority: 
Sections 25-4-40.1, 25-4-52, 25-4-54, and 25-4-72, Code of Alabama 1975. 
 
Tax Base: 
The first $8,000 paid to an individual employee during a calendar year. 
 
Tax Rate: 
The contribution rates (expressed as a percentage of taxable wages) are determined under an experience rating plan, 
with rates ranging from .20% to 6.8% prior to reductions, depending upon: (1) the balance of the Unemployment 
Compensation Trust Fund at the end of any fiscal year; and (2) the desired level of the Fund. An employer must pay 
unemployment compensation tax at the rate of 2.70% until such time as it becomes eligible for experience rating (tax 
rate year beginning January 1 following the first fiscal year ending September 30 throughout which its account has 
been chargeable for benefits based on its wages). The length of time required for experience rating varies from seven 
to ten calendar quarters, depending upon the quarter in which wages were first paid. A special assessment of 0.06% of 
taxable wages was permanently extended in the 2013 Regular Session (see Act 2013-208) and is deposited into the 
Employment Security Administration Enhancement Fund. 
 
Collections: 
By the Department of Labor quarterly. 
 

Fiscal Year Collections ($)66 Percent Change 
2023 216,995,305 (20.51) 
2022 272,995,942 3.15 
2021 264,661,611 30.12 
2020 203,398,680 (11.09) 
2019 228,778,549 6.90 

Source: Department of Labor. 
 
Distribution: 
All receipts are deposited into the Unemployment Compensation Trust Fund. The 0.06% special assessment is then 
transferred to the Employment Security Administration Enhancement Fund. 
 
Major Exemptions: 
See Section 25-4-10(b), Code of Alabama 1975. 
  

 
66 Includes penalties and interest and special assessments for the Employment Security Administration Enhancement Fund. 
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Uniform Commercial Code Filing Fees 
Statutory Authority: 
Sections 7-9A-320, 7-9A-523 and 7-9A-525, Code of Alabama 1975. 
 
Base: 
In order to perfect a security interest in collateral, a secured party must file either with the Secretary of State, the 
probate judge (in the case of certain farming, timber interests, or consumer goods) or the office where mortgage on 
the real estate would be filed (in the case of collateral goods which are or are to become fixtures), a statement giving 
specific information concerning the secured party, the debtor and the items subject to the security interest. 
 
Fees: 
Initial Financing Statement – $20 if the record consists of one or two pages; $2 for each page thereafter; $15 if the 
record is communicated by another medium authorized by filing office rule; $10 if filed in connection with a 
manufactured home transaction; and an additional $5 if filed in a nonstandard form 
 
Amendment Fee – same as Financing Statement. 
 
Record of Mortgage – No fee regarding a mortgage which is effective as a financing statement filed as a fixture filing 
or covering as extracted collateral or timber to be cut if: the record is recorded, indicates the goods or accounts it 
covers and satisfies the requirements for a financing statement; and if the goods become fixtures related to the real 
property described in the record. 
 
Termination Statement – No charge. $5 if statement is not in prescribed form. 
 
Information Request/Confirmation of Oral Search – $20; $15 if the request is communicated by another medium 
authorized by filing office rule; additional $5 if request is in nonstandard form; $2 for each financing statement or 
statement of assignment reported. 
 
Copies of Statements – $1 per page for financing or assignment statement, plus $5 for each request not made on 
standard form. 
 
Information Requests Expedited Service (Optional) – $100 in addition to required fees.  
 
Copies of the master list organized by farm products – Up to $0.25 per page for a printed copy, not to exceed $2,000 per 
year to any buyer, commission merchant, or selling agent; up to $100 to receive the list in electronic form. 
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Collections: 
By the Secretary of State at the time of filing; deposits are made to the State Treasurer approximately once a week. 
 

Fiscal Year SGF Collections UCC Collections Total Collections Percent Change 
2023 1,800,142 422,255 2,222,397 (15.72) 
2022 2,135,802 500,991 2,636,793 (1.87) 
2021 2,176,302 510,802 2,687,104 (7.29) 
2020 2,347,583 550,668 2,898,251 10.52 
2019 2,124,064 498,237 2,622,301 (3.67) 

Source: “Comparative Summary of Revenues by Revenue Source” Report. 
 
Distribution: 
81% of collections from Uniform Commercial Code fees which are not related to farm products are deposited to the 
credit of the State General Fund and 19% are deposited to the credit of the Uniform Commercial Code Fund. Fees 
related to farm products are deposited into the Alabama Farmers Credit Protection Fund. 
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Use Tax 
Statutory Authority: 
Sections 40-23-60 through 40-23-88, 40-23-100 through 40-23-111, 40-23-170 through 40-23-174, and 40-23-200 
through 40-23-205, Code of Alabama 1975. 
 
Tax Base: 
Excise tax on storage, use, or other consumption in this state of tangible personal property; machines used in mining, 
quarrying, compounding, processing, and manufacturing of tangible personal property; automotive vehicles, 
motorboats, truck trailers, semitrailers or house trailers, and mobile home set-up materials and supplies; farm 
machinery or equipment; and the above property when used in the performance of a contract. This tax is paid on items 
purchased outside Alabama for consumption or use inside the state, unless the property is imported from a state 
having a reciprocal agreement with Alabama and a tax equal to or greater than the Alabama tax paid in the other state. 
If the amount of the tax paid to the other state is less than the Alabama tax, then the difference must be paid to 
Alabama. 
 

Item Percent Rate 
General rate – covers sales of all tangible personal property (excluding items below) 4% 
Food/Grocery (Effective September 1, 2023) - Food as defined in 7 U.S.C. § 2011, et seq., for 
the purposes of the federal Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program 

3% 

Farm machinery and equipment (when a trade is involved, the tax is on the net difference), and 
vessels used in planting, cultivating, and harvesting farm products. 1.5% 
Machinery used in mining, quarrying, processing, and manufacturing. 1.5% 
Commercial fishing vessel used in the capture or processing of fish when operated by a holder 
of a commercial license 1.5% 
Mobile home set-up materials and related supplies 2% 
Automotive vehicles, motorboats, truck trailers, semitrailers, or house trailers (when a trade is 
involved, the tax is on the net difference) 2% 

 
Collections: 
By the Department of Revenue on the 20th of each month for the previous month's sales. Penalty charges, plus interest, 
may also be imposed on vendors who file deficient or delinquent returns. 
 

Fiscal Year Gross Collections ($) Percent Change 
2023 624,192,629 7.64 
2022 579,869,421 15.46 
2021 502,227,443 11.76 
2020 449,367,870 3.35 
2019 434,821,599 6.43 

Source: Department of Revenue’s “Revenue Abstract.” 
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Distribution: 
1. After deducting the cost of collection 
2. State General Fund 

a. 42% of the 2% tax on automotive vehicles, truck trailers, semitrailers, or house trailers and mobile home 
set-up materials and supplies 

b. 50% of the 2% tax on motorboats 
c. Remaining amounts distributed to the Education Trust Fund.  

3. After the above distributions of the use tax to the State General Fund, the balance of the proceeds is distributed 
as follows:  

a. Remote use tax amounts, 75% to the State General Fund and 25% to the Education Trust Fund;  
b. Beginning October 1, 2015, any remaining amounts, 53% to the State General Fund and 47% to the 

Education Trust Fund.  
4. Any additional revenue generated as a result of the Governor eliminating the use tax discount allowed to vendors 

is distributed as follows to:  
a. to the Department of Human Resources for the foster children program in an amount not to exceed 

$500,000 annually 
b. to the Department of Conservation and Natural Resources to provide federally required funding for the 

Coastal Program (in an amount not to exceed $1,000,000 annually), and  
c. The remainder to the State General Fund.  
d. The discount was eliminated by Executive Order 54, issued in May 2001. 

 
Major Exemptions: 
A listing of exemptions is found in Sections 40-9-9 through 40-9-39, 40-23-61, 40-23-62, 11-54-96 (industrial 
development boards), 11-58-14 (medical clinic boards), and 11-92A-18 (county industrial development authorities), 
Code of Alabama 1975. 
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Utility Company Inspection and Supervision Fee 
Statutory Authority: 
Section 37-4-23, Code of Alabama 1975. 
 
Base: 
An inspection and supervision fee on utility companies (including electric, gas, and water companies) doing business 
in the state and subject to the control and jurisdiction of the Commission with respect to its rates and service 
regulations. 
 
Fees: 
Fees are based on gross intrastate receipts as follows: 
 

Gross Receipts Rate per $1,000 

First $100,000 or less $2.85 

$100,001 to $1,000,000 $2.35 

In excess of $1,000,000 $1.85 

Minimum fee $25 
 
Collections: 
By the Public Service Commission on a quarterly basis (November 1, February 1, May 1 and August 1), or annually (on 
November 1) if the company elects to pay annually. 
 

Fiscal Year Collections ($) Percent Change 
2023 13,826,375 17.02 
2022 11,815,311 6.76 
2021 11,067,454 (5.15) 
2020 11,668,196 1.17 
2019 11,533,556 (0.06) 

Source: “Comparative Summary of Revenues by Revenue Source” Report. 
 
Distribution: 
All proceeds are held in the Commission's operating fund to be used for expenses of the Commission. 
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Utility Gross Receipts Tax and Utility Service Use Tax 
Statutory Authority: 
Sections 40-21-80 through 40-21-88 and 40-21-100 through 40-21-107, Code of Alabama 1975. 
 
Tax Base: 
A privilege tax on every utility (electric, domestic water, natural gas, telegraph, and telephone services) furnishing 
utility services in Alabama. Although this is a direct tax on the utility service purchaser, it is collected by the utility 
service provider, with liability for payment of the tax to the state remaining with the provider. The Utility Service Use 
Tax is a use tax which applies to the storage, use, or other consumption in Alabama of utility services. The privilege 
tax is based on the gross sales or receipts from the furnishing of the utility services. The use tax is based on the sales 
price of the service. 
 
Tax Rate: 
The tax is computed with respect to each person to whom services are furnished, stored, used or consumed at the 
following rates: 
 

Electricity, Domestic Water, or Natural Gas  

Monthly gross sales or receipts (privilege tax) or sales price (use tax) respecting a person 

Not over $40,000 4% 

Over $40,000 but not over $60,000 $1,600 plus 3% of excess over $40,000 

Over $60,000 $2,200 plus 2% of excess over $60,000 

Telegraph or Telephone Services  

On all gross sales or gross receipts 6% 

Telegraph and telephone utilities Retain 0.25% of the gross amount of the tax billed 
 
Collections: 
For the privilege tax, by the Department of Revenue on or before the 20th of each month, for the preceding month's 
receipts. For the use tax, by the Department on or before the 20th of each month. However, taxpayers with an average 
monthly tax liability of $10,000 or greater during the preceding calendar year pay, on or before the 20th of the month in 
which the liability occurs, an estimated amount not less than that paid for the corresponding month of the preceding 
year. The basis of the estimate is the actual tax liability due for the same calendar month of the preceding year. 
 

Fiscal Year Collections ($)67 Percent Change 
2023 466,696,814 5.15 
2022 443,827,754 9.35 
2021 405,885,402 (1.00) 
2020 409,992,780 (1.82) 
2019 417,571,970 1.44 

Source: Department of Revenue’s “Revenue Abstract.” 
  

 
67 Includes Utility Gross Receipts Tax and Utility Service Use Tax. Collections are prior to refunds. 
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Distribution: 
1. After deducting the cost of collection, $14.6 million of the Utility Gross Receipts Tax is deposited into the Special 

Mental Health Fund.  
2. The remainder of the Utility Gross Receipts Tax and all of the Utility Service Use Tax is deposited into the 

Education Trust Fund. 
 

Major Exemptions: 
A listing of exemptions and exclusions to the Utility Gross Receipts Tax is found in Sections 40-21-82.1 and 40-21-83, 
Code of Alabama 1975. A listing of exemptions and exclusions to the Utility Service Use Tax is found in Section 40-21-
103, Code of Alabama 1975. 
• Entities organized under Title 10A, Chapter 20, Article 9, Code of Alabama 1975, for the purpose of operating 

waterworks for unincorporated areas are exempt pursuant to Section 10A-20-9.04. County water authorities 
organized under Section 11-88-1 are not exempt because of language in Act 1969-21, Section 40-21-81, Code of 
Alabama 1975, except as listed in Section 40-21-82.1. 

• Pursuant to court case Methodist Homes for the Aging v. Alabama Power Co., nonprofit entities identified in 
Section 40-9-12 are exempt. 

• U.S. Government entities are exempt.  
• Section 40-21-80(a)(11)(i-vi) enumerates Utility Gross Receipts Tax exempt telephone services.  
• Section 37-1-80.2 exempts the telephone surcharge for service to deaf and hearing-impaired customers from the 

Utility Gross Receipts Tax and the Utility Use Tax.  
• Section 40-21-100(a)(17)(i-vi) enumerates Utility Service Use Tax exempt telephone services.  
• Prepaid telephone calling cards and Internet access charges are exempt from the Utility Gross Receipts Tax and 

the Utility Service Use Tax.  
• Section 41-23-30 authorizes the Alabama Department of Economic and Community Affairs to enter into contracts 

until June 30, 1996 with eligible enterprise zone businesses to provide exemptions from the Utility Gross Receipts 
Tax and the Utility Service Use Tax for up to 20 years. 

• Section 40-9D-4(d) exempts qualifying entities (defined so as to target ThyssenKrupp) from the Utility Gross 
Receipts Tax for up to 10 years. 
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Vital Statistics Fees 
Statutory Authority: 
Section 22-9A-23, Code of Alabama 1975. 
 
Base: 
A fee charged for the searching, amending, and copying of various records kept by the Office of Vital Statistics, State 
Department of Public Health. Records include certificates of birth, death, marriage, divorce, or annulment and reports 
of fetal death and induced termination of pregnancy. 
 
Fees: 

Search, reporting, and copying of one record68 $15 

Each additional copy of the same record68 $6 

Issuance of an apostille or exemplified copy69 $25 

Preparation and copy of an amended record and issue a certified copy $20 

Preparation of a new birth certificate after legitimization or adoption and issue a certified copy $25 

Preparation of a delayed certificate and issue a certified copy $20 

Certificate of foreign birth $25 
Forwarding of legal documents for an adoption granted in this state for person born in another 
state $10 

Additional fee for non-routine, same day expedited service, and all special delivery mail $15 

Keepsake birth certificate70 $45 

Non-routine special or research project71 TBD 

Orders by phone with a credit card72 Varies 
 
Collections: 
By the State Registrar. 
 

Fiscal Year Collections ($)73 Percent Change 
2023 6,414,115 6.21 
2022 5,784,389 (13.56) 
2021 6,691,890 27.00 
2020 5,269,063 16.70 
2019 4,515,159 (14.77) 

Source: “Comparative Summary of Revenues by Revenue Source” Report. 
  

 
68 If copies are made at the local registration district, the local office retains a portion of the fees as prescribed by the State Board of 
Health. 
69 Includes the $5 certification fee of the Secretary of State. 
70 $17 of this amount forwarded to the Children’s Trust Fund. 
71 To be determined by the State Registrar. 
72 Fees are dependent upon services requested as determined by the State Registrar. 
73 Excludes local registration office fees and Children’s Trust Fund receipts. 
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Distribution: 
Fees collected, except as provided for local registration offices and the Children's Trust Fund, are deposited into the 
Vital Statistics Fund to the credit of the State Board of Health to fund operations related to vital statistics. 
 
Major Exemptions: 
Hospitals are exempt from the payment of any fee associated with vital statistics. 
Section 26-9-12, Code of Alabama 1975, exempts incompetent veterans and their dependents requesting certificates or 
records when needed to obtain any veterans' benefits. 
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Appendix – Legislative History 
 
 
 
 

A.B.C. Licensing and Penalty Revenue 
Acts 1936-37, No. 66, p. 40 

Established the ABC Board and provided for its authority to regulate sales of alcoholic beverages. 

Acts 1947, No. 298, p. 149 

Established the licensing procedures for manufacturers and agents with license fees of $250 and $50, respectively. 

Acts 1963, No. 589, p. 1285 

Established the distributor's license tax at 3% of the gross receipts from the previous year. 

Acts 1965, No. 766, p. 1398 

Required that license tax proceeds be divided equally between the Public Welfare Trust Fund and the Special Mental 
Health Fund. 

Acts 1979, No. 761, p. 1360 

Repealed the 3% distributor's license tax; increased the associated filing fee from $250 to $500; and levied an additional 
excise tax of 3%. 

Acts 1980, No. 529, p. 806 

Revised the entire license code, added new categories, and increased fees to the current rates except for the club license 
which was a single rate of $750. 

Acts 1981, No. 701, p. 1178 

Amended license code to provide for two classes of club licenses and set rates for each license as follows:  Class I, 
$300; Class II, $750. 

Acts 1990, No. 525, p. 767 

Established the Responsible Vendor program and provided for a $35 filing fee payable upon the issuance or renewal of 
a license to any licensee of the ABC Board certified as a responsible vendor. 

Acts 1992, No. 535, p. 1078 

Provided for the licensing of brewpubs to brew and sell beer on the same premises for on-premises consumption and 
established the annual brewpub license fee at $1,000. 

Acts 1997, No. 937, p. 506 

Established the International Motor Speedway license and the annual license fee of $300. 

Acts 2000, No. 146, p. 211 

Clarified that the license fee for a beer wholesaler is $550. 
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Acts 2016, No. 97, p. 133 

Allows licensed beer manufacturers that produce less than 60,000 barrels of beer per year to sell its product for off-
premise consumption not to exceed 288 ounces per day per customer. Removes location requirements of such licensed 
beer manufacturers. Also allows such license manufacturers to donate and deliver two kegs, still subject to taxation, to 
a licensed charitable special event for a nonprofit organization and defines ‘keg’. 

Acts 2016, No. 111, p. 173 

Allows a licensed manufacturer to conduct liquor or wine tastings inside the premises of licensed retailers that sell for 
off-premises consumption only and inside a state liquor store. Provides for restrictions regarding such liquor or wine 
tastings. 

Acts 2016, No. 130, p. 305 

Allows liquor manufacturers to sell at retail up to 750 milliliters of its products per customer per day. Provides for 
regulations regarding such sales. 

Acts 2016, No. 131, p. 308 

Allows a licensed wine manufacturer in Alabama producing less than 50,000 gallons of table wine per year and only the 
association that represents the majority of wineries and grape growers in Alabama to obtain a permit allowing the 
establishment and operation of one off-site tasting room, subject to the $50 filing fee. Also allows such licensed wine 
manufacturers to donate and deliver two cases of its table wine, still subject to taxation, to a licensed charitable special 
event for a nonprofit organization. Provides regulations for such off-site tasting rooms and donations. 

Acts 2018, No. 513 

Allows manufacturers of alcoholic beverages for tastings or samplings on the manufacturers’ licensed premises to sell 
alcoholic beverages between 9:00 p.m. on Saturday through 2:00 a.m. the following Monday.    

Acts 2021, No. 188 

Authorizes the filing and payment of a non-refundable $100 filing fee and $1,000 license and annual renewal fee by a 
licensee of the Alcoholic Beverage Control (ABC) Board, to obtain a delivery service license to transport and deliver, for 
personal use, up to 48 twelve ounce containers of beer, up to 288 ounces of draft beer, up to six 750 milliliter bottles of 
wine, and up to 1,750 milliliters of spirits, (sold by off-premises licensees) and up to 375 milliliters of spirits (sold by 
restaurant licensees) within a 24 hour period, to individuals in the state that are at least 21 years of age. 

Acts 2021, No. 454 

Removes the 288 ounce per customer per day cap of beer that may be sold for off-premises consumption by 
manufacturers that produce less than 60,000 barrels per year. Provides that beer produced by a contract brewery 
exclusively for the manufacturer shall be included in the 60,000-barrel limit calculation. Removes the 2.25 liters per 
customer per day cap of liquor that may be purchased for off-premises consumption for liquor manufacturers. 

Acts 2021, No. 517 

Allows a wine manufacturer licensed by the Alcohol Beverage Control (ABC) Board to manufacture wine in a dry county 
for distribution outside of the dry county. 
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Abandoned Property Act 
Acts 1971, No. 63, p. 101 

Established the procedure for the uniform disposition of unclaimed or abandoned property; and established distribution 
as follows: 20% into the trust fund for enforcement and claims; 80% to the State General Fund. 

Acts 1991, 1st Ex. Sess., No. 788, p. 176 

Accelerated state custody of unclaimed or abandoned tangible and intangible property by changing the dormancy period 
from seven to five years (provided one-time $6 million windfall to State General Fund); and provided that all receipts be 
deposited to the State General Fund, unless the trust fund needed to be maintained at an amount not to exceed $1 
million. 

Acts 1996, No. 724, p. 1197 

Transferred the administration of the Uniform Disposition of Unclaimed Property Act from the Department of Revenue 
to the State Treasurer’s Office beginning October 1, 1996; amended reporting and delivery of property requirements; and 
also established new funds within Treasurer’s Office with reserves accruing to the State General Fund on a quarterly 
basis. 

Acts 1999, No. 381, p. 607 

Provided that any warrant drawn by the state comptroller which is outstanding and unpaid one year from the date of 
issue is void and shall be reported and maintained through the unclaimed property program (formerly void after one year 
with payment to the State General Fund). 

Acts 2004, No. 440, p. 755 

Repealed the prior unclaimed property law and provided for the Uniform Disposition of Unclaimed Property Act of 2004; 
shortened the time period within which holders of property must report and pay to the state property that is presumed 
to be abandoned; and clarified that property resulting from demutualization of an insurance company is subject to the 
unclaimed property law. 

Acts 2013, No. 91, p. 192 

Allowed banks to treat debit cards and other payment instruments equally to other deposit products regarding 
abandonment; required the holder of property presumed abandon to electronically file a report to the Treasurer 
concerning the property and remit any monies electronically; and allowed the surviving child or children or, if none, the 
surviving parent or parents of an abandoned property owner who has died intestate to claim the abandoned property if 
certain conditions are met. 

Acts 2013, No. 92, p. 203 

Established funding for the Office of the State Treasurer through the newly created State Treasury Operations Fund 
merging the operations of Treasury Administrative, Unclaimed Property, and the SAFE Program; dissolved the Unclaimed 
Property Administrative Fund and the SAFE Program Administration Fund and transferred any unobligated funds to the 
State Treasury Operations Fund; and required that all unobligated funds shall remain in the fund and be used for office 
operations. 
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Ad Valorem Tax 
Acts 1935, No. 194, p. 256 

Levied the 3 mill tax specified by Section 260 of the Constitution of Alabama of 1901, plus 1 mill for needy Confederate 
soldiers and sailors and their widows, and 2.5 mills for general state purposes; set the assessment ratio of taxable 
property at 60% of fair market value and specified certain exemptions. 

Acts 1951, No. 703, p. 1211 

Established the State Department of Public Welfare (now the State Department of Human Resources) and provided that 
the surplus or residue of the proceeds from the levy of the 1 mill tax for the relief of needy Confederate soldiers and 
sailors and their widows be used for old age assistance purposes exclusively before any part may be expended for any 
other purposes of the department of public welfare. 

Acts 1967, No. 502, p. 1215 

Changed assessment ratio to 30% of market value. 

Acts 1971, 3rd Ex. Sess., No. 116, p. 4339, (Constitutional Amendment No. 325, now appearing as Section 217 of the 
Official Recompilation of the Constitution of Alabama of 1901.) 

(1) Created three classes of taxable property with the following state assessment ratios: 

Class I - all property of utilities - 30% 

Class II - all property not otherwise classified - 25% 

Class III - all agricultural, forest and residential property - 15% 

(2) Provided that taxable property be assessed by local governments according to the classes and assessment 
ratios above; further provided that the Legislature could vary the local governments' assessment ratio for 
each class of property or fix a uniform ratio for all property and that such ratios could vary among counties 
(within a prescribed range of 15% to 35%); also provided for local adjustment of tax rates. 

(3) Established maximum amount of total ad valorem tax payable on one property in any one year at 1.5% of fair 
market value. 

(4) Restated certain exemptions. 

Acts 1971, 3rd Ex. Sess., No. 166, p. 4413 

Restated and further defined property classes and assessment ratios, provided additional exemptions; and established 
differing assessment ratios for counties, as authorized by Act 1971-116, 3rd Ex. Sess. 

Acts 1973, No. 1216, p. 2062 

Changed assessment ratios of several individual counties. 

Civil Action No. 2877-N. (U.S. District Court for the Middle District of Alabama, Northern Division, March 8, 1974) 

Required a statewide re-valuation of all real property in Alabama, fairly appraising each parcel of real estate at its current 
market value. 
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Civil Action 77-242-H. (U.S. District Court for the Southern District of Alabama, Northern Division, April 21, 1978) 

Declared Section 40-8-1(e) Code of Alabama 1975, unconstitutional because the varying county assessment ratios 
provided therein created a disparity in rates among counties that was determined to be arbitrary and grossly unequal. 
However, the provision in Amendment No. 325 allowing the Legislature to vary assessment ratios among counties was 
upheld. 

Acts 1975, No. 1187, p. 2319 

Provided that 1% of the 1 mill ad valorem tax allocated for the relief of needy Confederate soldiers and sailors and their 
widows be remitted to the Alabama Historical Commission to provide for capital improvements and maintenance at the 
Confederate Memorial Park at Mountain Creek, Chilton County, Alabama. 

Acts 1978, 2nd Ex. Sess., No. 46, p. 1724 

Restated and further defined classes and assessment ratios as prescribed by Constitutional Amendment No. 373-Lid 
Bill. 

Acts 1982, No. 302, p. 384 

Provided a formula method for determining the current use value of agricultural and forest land. 

Acts 1991, No. 694, p. 1340 

Provided that a registration fee be paid in lieu of ad valorem taxes on manufactured homes which are rented or leased 
or located on land owned by someone other than the owner of the manufactured home. An owner-occupied 
manufactured home located on land owned by the occupant remained subject to ad valorem taxes.Acts 1993, No. 309, 
p. 464 

Allocated a portion of the proceeds from the 1 mill tax for veterans’ homes in Bay Minette and Huntsville. 

Acts 1997, No. 279, p. 499 

Capped the amount that the Department of Human Resources receives from the 1 mill tax at $20,773,500 annually; 
established the Alabama Veterans’ Assistance Fund; and allocated the residue from the 1 mill tax to the Alabama 
Veterans’ Assistance Fund. 

Acts 1999, No. 399, p. 663 

Provided that property owned by customer-owned coin operated telephone companies and broadband personal 
communication services companies would be taxed as Class II property rather than as Class I property. 

Acts 1999, 2nd Ex. Sess., No. 665 p. 131 

Exempted shares of stock from ad valorem tax. 

Acts 2000, No. 242, p. 386 (Constitutional Amendment No. 669, now appearing as Section 269.07 of the Official 
Recompilation of the Constitution of Alabama of 1901.) 

Removed the requirement that at least a 3 mill county school tax must be levied before a 3 mill district school tax may 
be levied under Amendment No. 3.  

Acts 2005, 1st Ex. Sess., No. 215, p. 423 (Constitutional Amendment No. 778, now appearing as Section 269.08 of the 
Official Recompilation of the Constitution of Alabama of 1901.)  

Proposed a constitutional amendment to require 10 mills of ad valorem tax in each public school district (no longer “or 
equivalent”) beginning October 1, 2006. 
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Acts 2009, No. 551, p. 1593 

Proposed an amendment to Section 269 of the Constitution of Alabama of 1901, to remove the supermajority vote 
requirement for the 1 mill countywide school tax to become effective. 

(The proposed amendment was defeated at the 2010 General Election.)  

Acts 2011, No. 544, p. 996 

Established the Homeowners and Storm Victims Protection Act of 2011. Allowed single-family dwellings and a fully-
developed lot owned by a home builder to be classified as residential property for ad valorem taxes. The reclassification 
terminates when one of the following occurs: (1) the classification has been in place for 24 months; (2) the owner no 
longer holds a valid license; or (3) the sale, transfer, or other action resulting in the single-family dwelling or fully-
developed lot no longer being held by the person seeking reclassification.  

Acts 2011, No. 710, p. 2192 

Provided that residential property does not lose its classification as residential property for a period of 24 months if the 
property is not used as the owner’s single-family dwelling because the property is not inhabitable or is otherwise under 
repair after being damaged by a natural disaster. Also, any homestead exemption is not affected during any period the 
homestead is being repaired after being damaged by a natural disaster. 

Acts 2012, No. 313, p. 708 

Increased the income limit for persons over 65 years of age to qualify for a full homestead exemption (state and local) 
from $7,500 to $12,000 in net taxable income as shown on the person’s and spouse’s United States income tax return 
or other appropriate evidence.  Reinstated an income limit for persons retired due to total and permanent disability to 
qualify for a full homestead exemption at $12,000 in net taxable income as shown on the person’s and spouse’s United 
States income tax return or other appropriate evidence. 

Acts 2013, No. 295, p. 1003 

Restored the following homestead exemption provisions that were changed by Act 2012-313, retroactive to August 1, 
2012:  

- Language interpreted by Attorney General Opinion to allow persons totally disabled to receive a full 
homestead exemption regardless of income.  

- Language allowing persons over 65 with adjusted gross income less than $12,000 on their State income tax 
return to receive a homestead exemption of $5,000 of assessed value of the county portion of their ad 
valorem taxes.  

The provision in Act 2012-313 that increased the income limitations for persons over 65 to receive a full (state and local) 
homestead exemption from $7,500 on their Federal income tax return to $12,000 was not changed.  

Assessed a penalty for any person who knowingly and willfully gives false information for claiming a homestead 
exemption or assisting another person in claiming a homestead exemption. Authorized the Department of Revenue, by 
regulation, to issue certificates of disability to persons determined to be “permanently and totally disabled” and requires 
the Department to automatically grant a certificate to any person drawing any pension or annuity from the armed 
services, a private company or any governmental agency because they are permanently and totally disabled. 

Acts 2015, 2nd Ex. Sess., No. 556, p. 2085 

Established the Motor Vehicle Ad Valorem Tax Fairness Act. Removed the tax deferral on new motor vehicles being 
registered for the first time beginning January 1, 2016. 
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Alabama Trust Fund 
Acts 1986, No. 206, p. 269 

Created the County Government Capital Improvement Fund and provided that 10% of the Alabama Trust Fund income 
shall be appropriated to this fund when such income exceeds $60 million. (The income exceeded $60 million for the first 
time in FY 1997). 

Acts 1986, No. 234, p. 345 

Created the Municipal Government Capital Improvement Fund and provided that 10% of the Alabama Trust Fund income 
shall be appropriated to this fund when such income exceeds $60 million. (The income exceeded $60 million for the first 
time in FY 1997). 

Acts 1998, No. 499, p. 1075 

Effective October 1998, changed the distribution date for the appropriation of trust income to the County Government 
Capital Improvement Fund and the Municipal Government Capital Improvement Fund from January 2 to April 15. 

Acts 2003, No. 438, p. 1516 

The Education Trust Fund appropriations act for FY 2004 provided for a conditional appropriation of $36 million to make 
the first installment on the repayment to the Rainy Day Account. The conditional appropriation was released. 

Acts 2004, No. 456, p. 810 

The Education Trust Fund appropriations act for FY 2005 provided for a conditional appropriation of $36 million to make 
the second installment on the repayment to the Rainy Day Account. The conditional appropriation was released. 

Acts 2005, No. 173, p. 295 

The Education Trust Fund appropriations act for FY 2006 provided for an appropriation of $36 million to make the third 
installment on the repayment to the Rainy Day Account. 

Acts 2006, No. 282, p. 519 

The Education Trust Fund appropriations act for FY 2007 provided for an appropriation of $71,993,229 to make 
repayment in full to the Rainy Day Account. 

Acts 2010, No. 555, p. 1124 

Proposed an amendment to the Constitution of Alabama of 1901 to appropriate $100 million from the Alabama Trust 
Fund for each of the fiscal years 2011 through 2020 for state and local transportation purposes. (The proposed 
amendment was defeated at the 2010 General Election). 

Acts 2011, No. 3, p. 90 

Established the Education Trust Fund Rolling Reserve Act. Provided that on or before November 15 of each fiscal year, 
any excess of revenues in the preceding fiscal year above the preceding fiscal year’s appropriation cap shall be 
transferred to the Education Trust Fund Rainy Day Account until repaid in full. Based on the revenues and appropriation 
cap in FY 2013, a repayment of $260,388,971 was made in the beginning of FY 2014. 

Acts 2011, No. 655, p. 1675 

The Education Trust Fund appropriations act for FY 2012 provided for a repayment to the Education Trust Fund Rainy 
Day Account of 50% of any ending balance of the Education Trust Fund. The Education Trust Fund ending balance in FY 
2012 was $28,825,968 which equated to an Education Trust Fund Rainy Day Account repayment of $14,412,984. 
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Acts 2013, No. 6, p. 17 

Established the People’s Trust Act. Required the Legislature to provide for the repayment of the $437,390,829 in 
additional transfers from the Alabama Trust Fund to the State General Fund authorized by Amendment No. 856 to the 
Constitution of Alabama of 1901 no later than September 30, 2026. 

Acts 2013, No. 264, p. 827 

The Education Trust Fund appropriations act for FY 2014 provided an absolute appropriation of $35 million and a first 
priority conditional appropriation of $65 million to the Education Trust Fund Rainy Day Account. Only $35 million of the 
first-priority conditional appropriation was released in FY 2014 resulting in a total repayment of $70 million to the 
Education Trust Fund Rainy Day Account in FY 2014. 

Acts 2014, No. 456, p. 1690 

The Education Trust Fund appropriations act for FY 2015 provided an absolute appropriation of $35,088,873 and a 
conditional appropriation from the Gross Sales Tax Account to repay the remaining outstanding balance owed to the 
Education Trust Fund Rainy Day Account which equated to $57.5 million. 

Acts 2016, 1st Ex. Sess., No. 456, p. 1237 

Required bond proceeds payable from revenues received from certain settlement claims of the state against BP 
Petroleum and Exploration, Inc. to be deposited and paid from the BP Settlement Fund to be used (1) to repay in full the 
General Fund Rainy Day Account for the $161,565,874 transferred to the State General Fund pursuant to Amendment 
803 of the Constitution of Alabama 1901; (2) to repay a total of $238,434,126 of the $422,390,829 unpaid amount owed 
to the Alabama Trust Fund from the transfer to the State General Fund over fiscal years 2013, 2014, and 2015 pursuant 
to Amendment 856 of the Constitution of Alabama 1901; (3) to provide a total of $120 million to the Alabama Medicaid 
Agency, to be distributed $15 million in fiscal year 2017 and $105 million in fiscal year 2018; (4) to pay an amount not 
to exceed $120 million to supplement allocated or planned revenues for transportation projects to be distributed $65 
million to the Alabama Department of Transportation District 91 of the Southwest Region for Highway 98/Highway 158 
from the Mississippi state line to Interstate 65 and $55 million to the Alabama Department of Transportation District 92 
of the Southwest Region; and (5) any remaining proceeds to make an additional payment to the Alabama Trust Fund for 
amounts transferred over fiscal years 2013, 2014, and 2015 pursuant to Amendment 856 to the Constitution of Alabama 
1901. 

Aviation Gasoline Tax 
Acts 1945, No. 367, p. 590 

Established tax on all gasoline or other fuels used to propel aircraft at the same rate in effect for gasoline ($.06 per 
gallon). 

Acts 1967, Ex. Sess., No. 221, p. 278 

Authorized the Commissioner of Revenue to adjust the aviation fuel rate to ensure that the net revenue would be 
maintained at $450,000 annually; and reduced tax rate on aviation fuel to $.015 per gallon for gasoline and $.005 per 
gallon for jet fuel. 

Acts 1977, No. 674, p. 1163 

Authorized the Commissioner of Revenue to adjust rates to ensure that the net revenue from the aviation gasoline tax 
would be maintained at $500,000 annually. 
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Acts 1979, No. 714, p. 1267 

Authorized the Commissioner of Revenue to adjust the aviation gasoline tax rate to ensure net revenue of $600,000 per 
12-month period. 

Acts 1986, No. 214, p. 282 

Exempted fuel used in aircraft of an air carrier with a hub operation in Alabama. 

Acts 2000, No. 220, p. 328 

Via Sunset legislation, transferred Aeronautics Department and funds to the Department of Transportation. 

Acts 2002, No. 153, p. 401 

Effective October 1, 2002, exempted fuel used in jet or turbine aircraft destined for a foreign port or engaged in 
international flights or commerce.  

Acts 2011, No. 565, p. 1084 

Effective October 1, 2012, repealed and reestablished the state gasoline and motor fuel taxes at the same rates as the 
taxes previously levied except the rate on aviation gasoline was increased from $.03 per gallon to $.095 per gallon and 
the rate on aviation jet fuel was increased from $.01 to $.035 per gallon.  Changed the point of collection of the taxes 
from the distributor to the supplier, which could reduce the ability to avoid the taxes and generate additional fuel tax 
revenues. 

Acts 2013, No. 200, p. 391 

Provided a refund of the excise tax paid on jet fuel sold to a certificated or licensed air carrier conducting all-cargo 
operations engaged in international flights. Also, exempted the gross receipts from the sale of any aviation jet fuel to a 
certificated or licensed air carrier conducting all-cargo operations engaged in international flights from sales tax; and 
exempted the storage, use, or other consumption of any aviation jet fuel used by an aircraft operated by a certificated 
or licensed air carrier that purchases jet fuel for all-cargo operations engaged in international flights from use tax. 

Beer Tax 
Acts 1936-37, No. 66, p. 40 

Levied a $.005 excise tax on each 12 ounces of beer and distributed the proceeds to the State General Fund. 

Acts 1945, No. 358, p. 575 

Levied an additional $.005 excise tax on each 12 ounces of beer and distributed the proceeds of the additional tax 
equally to all counties in the state. 

Acts 1955, 2nd Ex. Sess., No. 66, p. 177 

Levied an additional $.01 excise tax on each 12 ounces of beer and distributed the proceeds of the additional tax to the 
Public Welfare Trust Fund. 

Acts 1963, 2nd Ex. Sess., No. 92, p. 257 

Repealed the 1945 and 1955 acts and levied an additional $.035 tax per 12 ounces of beer, making the total tax $.04 per 
12 ounces of beer; and provided that the additional $.035 tax would be distributed $.005 equally to all counties in the 
state; $.01 to the Public Welfare Trust Fund; and $.02 to the Education Trust Fund. 
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Acts 1969, No. 746, p. 1324 

Levied an additional $.01 tax per 12 ounces of beer and distributed the proceeds of the additional tax to the State General 
Fund. 

Acts 1979, No. 802, p. 1475 

Replaced the three separate state levies with one levy of $.05 per 12 ounces of beer and established the present 
distribution of the proceeds. 

Acts 1982, No. 344, p. 473 

Abolished all local beer taxes and established a levelized local beer tax of $.04875 per 12 ounces.  

Acts 2004, No. 541, p. 1143 

Amended Chapter 8B of Title 35, relating to community development districts, to require that if a dry county or 
municipality has a community development district, then that county or municipality will share in the distribution of 
alcoholic beverage tax and license revenues to local governments. 

Acts 2007, No. 417, p. 869 

Amended Chapter 8B of Title 35, relating to community development districts, to require that counties that contain a 
community development district will participate in the distribution of alcoholic beverage tax revenues to local 
governments, even if the community development district is located in a municipality. Also, provided that any alcoholic 
beverage revenues received by a county as a result of this act will offset any T.V.A. in-lieu-of tax payments received by 
that county. 

Acts 2011, No. 630, p. 1488 

Allowed manufacturer licensees of the Alcoholic Beverage Control Board actively and continuously engaged in the 
manufacture of alcoholic beverages to provide tastings and samplings that would be subject to the state and local excise 
taxes on alcoholic beverages. Also allowed brew pubs to sell beer in original, unopened barrel or keg containers to any 
licensed wholesaler for resale and to purchase other draft or keg beer for resale. 

Acts 2016, No. 97, p. 133 

Allows licensed beer manufacturers that produce less than 60,000 barrels of beer per year to sell products for off-
premise consumption not to exceed 288 ounces per day per customer. Removes location requirements of such licensed 
beer manufacturers. Also allows such license manufacturers to donate and deliver two kegs, still subject to taxation, to 
a licensed charitable special event for a nonprofit organization and defines ‘keg’. 

Boat Registration Fees 
Acts 1959, No. 576, p. 1442 

Established the registration of vessels; established a numbering and identifying system in compliance with the Federal 
Boating Act of 1958; established exemptions from numbering provisions; and established license fees on vessels as 
follows:  Class 1-$2; Class 2-$3; Class 3-$6; Class 4-$12; Class 5-$10 plus a $.25 issuance fee.  

Acts 1961, No. 878, p. 1377 

Amended Act 1959-576 relating to the distribution of proceeds and changed the Class 5 registration fee to $10 for first 
license and $1 for each additional license. 
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Acts 1965, No. 787, p. 1473 

Provided the fee of $1 for the registration of an ownership change, with an issuance fee of $.25; also provided for a 
duplicate of a lost or misplaced registration certificate for $.50. 

Acts 1971, No. 2081, p. 3352 

Increased the annual license fees for vessel registrations as follows: Class 1-$4; Class 2-$6; Class 3-$12; Class 4-$24; 
Class 5 first license-$20 and each additional license-$2.  Livery: Class 1-$2; Class 2-$3; Class 3-$6. Also, increased the 
issuance fees on registrations to $.50. 

Acts 1981, No. 296, p. 377 

Increased the annual license fees for vessel registrations as follows: Class 1-$6; Class 2-$10; Class 3-$20; Class 4-$40; 
Class 5 first license-$25 and each additional license-$3. Livery: Class 1-$4; Class 2-$6; Class 3-$8. 

Acts 1984, No. 446, p. 1040 

Provided for a statewide fee schedule for the collection of various license fees by probate judges and increased said 
fee from $.50 to $1. 

Acts 1988, No. 552, p. 868 

Established a staggered system for annual vessel registrations (same schedule as for motor vehicle registration). 

Acts 1993, No. 754, p. 1508 

Increased the annual license fees for vessel registration as follows: Class 1-$11; Class 2-$15; Class 3-$30; Class 4-$50. 
Provided that the above fees also apply to livery boats. 

Acts 1994, No. 622, p. 1162 

Removed the provision allowing vessel owners to file an application for vessel registration with the Department of 
Conservation and Natural Resources. Such application must be filed only to the probate judge or license commissioner 
offices. 

Acts 2007, No. 420, p. 896 

Increased annual license fees for vessel registration, issuance fees, and change of ownership fees to current rates. 
Established the inspection fee for all homemade boats requiring hull identification numbers at current rate. 

Acts 2013, No. 67, p. 130 

Created the Marine Police Division within the Department of Public Safety and succeeded to the Department of 
Conservation and Natural Resources. Transferred funds of the division to the succeeding entity. Beginning January 1, 
2015, boat registration fees began being deposited into the Public Safety Fund. 

Acts 2016, No. 421, p. 1191 

Provides an optional five-year vessel identification sticker, to be issued by the Alabama Law Enforcement Agency, in 
addition to current annual registration fees. The fee for each sticker is $20, plus $2 issuance fee retained by issuance 
official, and the $20, less costs of production and processing, is distributed to the Department of Conservation and 
Natural Resources (DCNR) for state parks. Also provides for a five-year distinctive vessel identification sticker at a fee 
of $50, of which $25 is distributed to the sponsoring organization and $25, less any additional production and processing 
costs, is distributed to DCNR for the operation of state parks. 
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Acts 2017, No. 379, p. 1210 

Amended Act 2016-421 relating to distinctive vessel identification stickers; specifically, to: (1) remove the five (5) year 
vessel identification sticker and (2) change the renewal period for the distinctive vessel identification sticker from five 
(5) years to one (1) year.  The proceeds from the $50 distinctive identification sticker fee are distributed as follows: (1) 
actual cost of production delivery not to exceed 14% to the Alabama Correctional Industries Division of the Department 
of Corrections; (2) actual cost of processing applications, not to exceed 6%, to the Alabama State Law Enforcement 
Agency; (3) one-half of the remainder to the sponsoring organization; and (4) one-half of the remainder to the Department 
of Conservation and Natural Resources, designated for the operation of state parks. In addition, this bill would allow the 
issuance of one-year distinctive vessel identification stickers at an additional cost of $50, plus an additional issuance 
fee of $2 and any other surcharge or convenience fee, not to exceed the credit transaction fee, charged by the credit 
card processor. 

Bureau of Loans Fees 
Acts 1945, No. 159, p. 200 

Created Bureau of Loans and established a $200 annual license fee to be paid by loan companies making loans of $300 
or less. Exemptions same as present. 

Acts 1951, No. 787, p. 1385 

Provided for a $25 investigation fee to accompany initial application for license by loan companies making loans of 
$300 or less. 

Acts 1957, No. 603, p. 862 

Established an examination fee of $100 annually on all licensees of the Bureau of Loans with fees collected to be paid 
into the State General Fund and earmarked for the use of the State Banking Department. 

Acts 1959, No. 374, p. 966 

For loan companies making loans of $300 or less, increased investigation fee to current rate of $100; changed 
examination fee to $50 per day per examiner plus $10 per diem per examiner, to be limited to $400 total per year for 
licensees free from willful violations of this act; and provided that examination fees collected by the Bureau of Loans 
are deposited into a special fund to be used by the Bureau. 

Acts 1971, No. 2052, p. 3290 

Established $200 annual license fee and present rate of $100 investigation fee for all persons extending consumer credit 
not covered by the Alabama Small Loan Act; and increased examination fee to $60 and examiner per diem to $15. 

Acts 1979, No. 327, p. 490 

Increased the maximum amount to be considered as a "small" loan from $300 to $749; and changed the annual 
examination fee for small loan companies from $60 per day to "the actual cost of each examination." 

Acts 1980, No. 444, p. 689 

Provided that the examination of small loan companies, finance companies and any other holder of a license from the 
State Banking Department may be conducted at any "reasonable" time (previously annually); based examination fees for 
all holders of licenses from the State Banking Department on the actual cost of conducting the examinations, as 
determined by the Superintendent of Banks. 
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Acts 1983, No. 747, p. 1244 

Increased the annual license fee to $400 for entities covered under the Small Loan Act and the Consumer Credit Act; 
and altered the distribution of collections schedule to the present schedule. 

Acts 1992, No. 597, p. 1227 

Provided for licensing and regulation of pawnshops. 

Acts 1996, No. 576, p. 887 

Increased the annual license fee from $400 to $500 for entities covered under the Alabama Consumer Credit Act. 

Acts 2001, No. 692, p. 1439 

Provided for licensing and regulation of mortgage brokers. 

Acts 2002, No. 305, p. 863 

Increased the maximum amount to be considered a “small” loan from $749 to less than $1,000; and increased the annual 
license fee for businesses regulated under the Small Loan Act from $400 to $500. 

Acts 2003, No. 359, p. 992 

Provided for licensing and regulation of businesses offering deferred presentment check-cashing services. 

Acts 2004, No. 290, p. 407 

Allowed for an acquisition charge (not in excess of 10% of the amount of the loan) and an account handling charge (rate 
structure based on the amount of the loan) on loans less than $1,000 as an alternative to interest rates and other charges 
currently permitted by a license. 

Acts 2006, No. 238, p. 435 

Allowed for the charge of an account maintenance fee of $3.00 for each month of repayment if such charge is provided 
for in the contract. 

Acts 2007, No. 281, p. 383 

Increased the late charge allowed by licensees under the Alabama Small Loan Act from no more than $10 or 5% of 
scheduled payment in default to no more than $18 or 5% of the scheduled payment default. 

Acts 2009, No. 624, p. 1891 

Amended the Mortgage Brokers Licensing Act. Limited those excluded from the licensure requirement, required certain 
applicants to have experience in the mortgage industry, combined the initial license and investigative fees, allowed for 
surety bonds and background checks, excluded exemptions from licensing fees, and allowed the licensee’s principal 
place of business to be outside the State of Alabama. 

Acts 2009, No. 625, p. 1900 

Changed the months relating to when fees are due under the Alabama Small Business Loan Act. The Alabama Consumer 
Credit Act: (1) required a license to be held at each location where activity is conducted; (2) removed exemption of 
licensure for life insurance companies; (3) increased the amount a person licensed under the Small Loan Act can loan 
without being licensed under the Alabama Consumer Credit Act; (4) changed the months relating to when fees are due; 
(5) made all fees nonrefundable; and (6) allowed the State Banking Department to require applicants to obtain a surety 
bond, apply to the Nationwide Mortgage Licensing System and Registry, and submit to background checks. Deleted 
certain exemptions. 
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Acts 2009, No. 627, p. 1907 

Provided for the licensing and regulation of mortgage loan originators, licensure exemptions, and a civil penalty for 
violations. 

Acts 2011, No. 529, p. 866 

Set the maximum late charge allowed by licensees under the Alabama Consumer Credit Act to match the late fees 
allowed under the Alabama Small Loan Act. 

Acts 2017, No. 373, p. 1175 

Increased the maximum loan amount under the Alabama Small Loan Act to $1,500. 

Business Privilege Tax 
Acts 1999, 2nd Ex. Sess., No. 665, p. 131 

Established the privilege tax at current rates, except for the minimum tax rate for financial institutions. 

Acts 2000, No. 705, p. 1442 

Established the current minimum tax for financial institution groups and made numerous other technical corrections to 
the privilege tax. 

Act 2017, No. 363, p. 1136 

The act amends Sections 40-14A-22 and 40-14A-25, Code of Alabama 1975, to ensure that business privilege tax returns 
are due at the same time as the corresponding federal income tax return and to delete the maximum business privilege 
tax amount for a Real Estate Investment Trust. The act also directs the Code Commissioner to change the name of the 
Taxpayer Advocate to the Taxpayer Assistance Officer and provides for multiple Taxpayer Assistance Officers. 

Cigarette Tax 
Acts 1935, No. 194, p. 256 

Established cigarette tax rate as follows:  1.5 mills on those 3 inches or less; 3 mills over 3 inches and less than 6 inches; 
6 mills on those in excess of 6 inches in length; and provided for the distribution of revenues to the Special Educational 
Trust Fund. 

Acts 1945, No. 326, p. 528 

Changed the tax rate on cigarettes as follows: 1.5 mills on each cigarette three and two-fifths inches or less; 3 mills on 
each cigarette three and two-fifths inches but less than five and one-half inches; and $.01 on each cigarette five and 
one-half inches or longer. 

Acts 1955, 2nd Ex. Sess., No. 73, p. 188 

Increased cigarette tax rate to 2 mills on each cigarette three and two-fifths inches or less; 4 mills on each cigarette 
three and two-fifths inches and less than five and one-half inches; and $.0133 on cigarettes five and one-half inches or 
longer. Also, changed distribution of revenues as follows: one-fourth to the Public Welfare Trust Fund for old age 
assistance purposes; and the balance to the Special Educational Trust Fund. 

Acts 1959, 2nd Ex. Sess., No. 101, p. 318 

Levied an additional cigarette tax of $.02 per pack of 20 or less; $.04 per pack of 21-40; and $.06 per pack of more than 
40; and provided for the distribution of revenues from this additional tax to the Special Educational Trust Fund. 
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Acts 1965, No. 654, p. 1177 

Levied an additional cigarette tax of $.01 per pack of 20 or less; $.02 per pack of 21-40; and $.03 per pack of more than 
40. All revenues from this additional tax were distributed as follows: (a) to pay principal and interest on bonds issued by 
the State Industrial Development Authority; and (b) the balance to the General Mental Health Fund to be distributed: 60% 
to the State Health Officer for general health work; 30% to Alabama state hospitals; and 10% to Partlow State School. 

Acts 1967, No. 275, p. 784 

Levied an additional cigarette tax of $.02 per pack of 20 or less; $.04 per pack of 21-40; and $.06 per pack of more than 
40. All revenues from this additional tax were distributed as follows: (a) for acquiring and constructing mental health 
facilities and to pay principal and interest on bonds issued by the Mental Health Building Authority or the state for mental 
health facilities; and (b) the balance to the General Mental Health Fund to be distributed: 30% to the State Health Officer 
for general health work; and 70% to the Mental Health Board for mental health purposes. 

Acts 1967, No. 309, p. 850 

Levied an additional cigarette tax of $.01 per pack of 20 or less; $.02 per pack of 21-40; and $.03 per pack of more than 
40. All revenues from this additional tax were distributed as follows: (a) to pay principal and interest on bonds issued by 
the State Parks Development Authority; and (b) the balance to the State Parks Fund. 

Acts 1969, No. 168, p. 453 

Changed the distribution of the additional tax levied by Acts 1965, No. 654 to appropriate as much as necessary for the 
retirement of additional bonds issued by the State Industrial Development Authority. Similar distribution change made 
by Acts 1971, No. 1402; Acts 1973, No. 1021; and Acts 1975, No. 1175. 

Acts 1969, No. 551, p. 1034 

Levied an additional cigarette tax of $.02 per pack of 20 or less; $.03 per pack of 21-40; and $.04 per pack of more than 
40. All revenues from this additional tax were distributed to the State General Fund. 

Acts 1973, No. 819, p. 1285 

Changed the distribution of revenue for the cigarette tax that was established by Acts 1955, 2nd Ex. Sess., No. 73 by 
changing references to the use of funds distributed to the Public Welfare Trust Fund for “old age assistance purposes” 
to “general welfare purposes.” 

Acts 1978, 2nd Ex. Sess., No. 100, p. 1813 

Amended the distribution of revenue to reallocate and appropriate as much as necessary for the retirement of additional 
bonds issued by the State Industrial Development Authority. Similar distribution change made by Acts 1981, 3rd Ex. Sess., 
No. 1141 and Acts 1983, 4th Ex. Sess., No. 922. 

Acts 1980, No. 701, p. 1411 

Levied an additional cigarette tax of $.04 per pack of 20 or less; $.08 per pack of 21-40; and $.10 per pack of more than 
40. All revenues from this additional tax were distributed to the State General Fund. 

Acts 1984, No. 309, p. 684 

Increased tax on cigarettes by $.005 per pack of 20; abolished varying tax rates on cigarettes and established rate of 
8.25 mills/cigarette or $.165 per pack of 20 cigarettes; and changed distribution formula to allocate the additional $.005 
per pack of 20 to retire Industrial Development Bonds with residue allocated to Department of Mental Health and Mental 
Retardation. 
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Acts 1987, No. 550, p. 842, and No. 554, p. 857 

Increased the debt service paid from cigarette tax receipts on maturing bonds issued by the State Industrial Development 
Authority; and decreased the distribution of such tax receipts annually to the State Health Officer and the Department of 
Mental Health and Mental Retardation. 

Acts 1988, No. 475, p. 739 

Established the Alabama Mental Health Finance Authority; pledged a portion of the cigarette tax proceeds, which was 
distributed to the Alabama Mental Health Building Authority, to the repayment of bonds issued by the Alabama Mental 
Health Finance Authority.  

Acts 1988, No. 476, p. 749 

Deleted the distribution of revenue derived from the cigarette tax to the Alabama Mental Health Building Authority and 
provided for the distribution of 12.12% of the said proceeds to the Alabama Mental Health Finance Authority. Also, 
changed references to the Mental Health Board to the Department of Mental Health and Mental Retardation. 

Acts 1999, 2nd Ex. Sess., No. 650, p. 96 

Effective January 1, 2001, deleted distribution of privilege/use taxes on cigarettes to the Education Trust Fund (formerly 
30.30%) and increased distribution share to the State General Fund from 36.37% to 66.67%. 

Acts 2004, No. 545, p. 1157 

Increased the state cigarette tax rate to $.425 per pack of 20 cigarettes and doubled the various taxes on other tobacco 
products; provided that no additional local taxes may be levied after the date of passage; provided that local taxes would 
be collected through the use of local stamps; and provided the distribution of proceeds.  

Acts 2006, No. 619, p. 1694 

Required each person who makes delivery sales of cigarettes to a consumer located in the state to comply with state 
tax laws, license and revenue-stamping requirements, and escrow payment obligations and to file with the Department 
of Revenue a statement for each sale with the name and location of the purchaser, the brand and quantity of cigarettes 
sold, and an indication of whether or not the cigarettes bore a tax stamp evidencing payment of cigarette taxes. 

Acts 2014, No. 262, p. 827 

Separated little cigars from certain filtered cigars and eliminated the retail selling price requirement to determine the tax 
rate on cigars. Also, required all wholesalers, jobbers, semi-jobbers or any other person selling, receiving or distributing 
tobacco products in Alabama for resale to file a report of its activity with the Department. 

Acts 2015, 2nd Ex. Sess., No. 535, p. 1901 

Effective October 1, 2015, increased the state cigarette tax by $.25 per pack of 20 cigarettes to the current rate of $.675 
per pack of 20 and provided for the distribution of revenues from the increase in tax rate to the State General Fund for 
the Medicaid Program. Levied a floor-stock tax on tobacco products owned by any permitted wholesaler as of October 
1, 2015. Reduced the discount allowed to wholesalers and jobbers to the current amount. Changed the distribution of 
sales taxes collected on consumable vapor products to the General Fund beginning January 1, 2016. Also, required 
wholesalers to stamp cigarettes and collect tobacco tax when the tobacco products are sold to a reservation tobacco 
vendor and provided for a refund of tobacco taxes paid by tribal members for products purchased within the boundaries 
of a federally recognized Indian reservation. 
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Coal Severance Tax 
Acts 1971, No. 2305, p. 3719 

Established the coal severance tax of $.135 per ton of coal; provided for its collection and disposition; and provided that 
the tax would terminate upon the repayment of Docks facility bonds. 

Acts 1971, No. 2306, p. 3724 

Amended the act that authorized the issuance of $15 million in bonds for the State Docks and then levied a special 
handling charge of $.25 per ton on coal to be used to pay debt service on the bonds issued by that act. Upon repayment 
of the bonds, the special handling charge was discontinued. 

Acts 1977, No. 598, p. 799 

Imposed an additional levy of $.20 per ton of coal severed; required that the proceeds be distributed to the counties and 
cities where the coal was severed; and prohibited local taxation of coal or lignite. 

Acts 1980, No. 645, p. 1217 

Repealed provisions of the $.135 per ton levy which allowed proceeds in excess of the amount required to pay annual 
principal and interest on port facility bonds to be refunded to coal producers to provide that residual proceeds be credited 
to the State General Fund. 

Acts 1985, No. 648, p. 1005 

Provided that the Alabama State Docks may receive proceeds from the $.135 per ton coal severance tax in order to pay 
for expenses and operating costs of its coal handling facilities and provided that the $.135 per ton tax would terminate 
on the later of the redemption and repayment of Docks facility bonds or their final maturity date. 

Acts 1990, No. 562, p. 956 

Provided that the $.135 per ton tax would terminate on October 1, 2006, unless extended by the Legislature. 

Acts 1993, No. 680, p. 1301 

Provided further for the distribution of the $.135 per ton levy by transferring the following before any proceeds are 
credited to the State General Fund: first $300,000 to the Alabama Mining Academy; $500,000 to the Tuscaloosa County 
General Fund; $500,000 to the Jefferson County General Fund; and $200,000 to the Walker County Economic and 
Industrial Development Authority. 

Acts 1997, No. 615, p. 1078 

Provided further for the distribution of the $.135 per ton levy distributed to the Tuscaloosa County General Fund. 

Acts 2006, No. 386, p. 984 

Provided further for the distribution of the $.135 per ton levy by transferring additional amounts beginning with the 2006-
07 fiscal year: $100,000 to the Community Development Foundation, Inc.; $100,000 to the Marion County Community 
Development Association, Inc.; $100,000 to the West Alabama Development Association of Fayette County; $100,000 to 
the Jackson County Economic Development Association; and $100,000 to the West Alabama Economic Development 
Association. Also extended the termination date of the $.135 per ton tax to October 1, 2011. 

Act 2012, No. 386, p. 1030 

Re-established the $.135 per ton coal severance tax and provided for the current distribution of proceeds. Also, extended 
the termination date of the tax to October 1, 2021. 
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Act 2017, No. 369, 

Levied an additional coal severance tax of $0.025 per ton on coal produced from underground mining and $0.05 per ton 
on coal produced from surface mining, on an amount not to exceed two million tons of coal mined per company each 
year, to be deposited into a special fund in the State Treasury and used exclusively for the operation of the Surface 
Mining Commission, and would expire on August 1,2019. 

Acts 2021, No. 120 

This act amends Sections 40-13-6 and 40-13-8, Code of Alabama 1975, to: (1) extend the coal    severance tax (1971 
tax) set to expire on October 1, 2021, to October 1, 2031; (2) continue the distribution of the revenue for the payment of 
bonds for the Alabama State Docks and for distribution to the counties where the coal is severed; and (3) provide that 
after this distribution, any remaining revenue shall be distributed for the operation of the Surface Mining Commission in 
lieu of the State General Fund. 

Contractors’ Gross Receipts Tax 
Acts 1963, No. 308, p. 787 

Established 1% contractor's gross receipts tax on all contractors who construct, reconstruct, or build any public highway 
road, bridge, or street in the state and provided for proceeds to be credited to the Pensions and Security Trust Fund. 

Acts 1971, No. 1517, p. 2635 

Increased the rate from 1% to 5% of the gross receipts to current rate, except for contracts entered into before October 
1, 1971, and provided for the distribution of the proceeds, after deduction of administrative cost, as 15% to the Pensions 
and Security Trust Fund and 85% to the Special Mental Health Trust Fund. 

Acts 1981, No. 682, p. 1151 

Provided an exemption for gross receipts received for escalations in construction costs. 

Acts 1983, No. 723, p. 1177 

Deleted the exemption for contracts in which the State is a joint party with a city, town, or county and defined "Gross 
Receipts." 

Corporation and Business Entity Filing Fees 
Acts 1971, No. 1513, p. 2609 

Established the Alabama Partnership Act. 

Acts 1980, No. 633, p. 1094 

Established the Alabama Business Corporation Act. 

Acts 1981, 2nd Ex. Sess., No. 1073, p. 320 

Eliminated $5 fee for filing annual reports. 

Acts 1983, No. 513, p. 737 

Established the Alabama Limited Partnership Act of 1983. 

Acts 1984, No. 290, p. 502 

Established the Alabama Nonprofit Corporation Act. 
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Acts 1988, 1st Ex. Sess., No. 899, p. 459 

Established Secretary of State Corporations Fund and schedule for deposits of collections into the Fund; also increased 
filing fees for business corporations. 

Acts 1993, No. 724, p. 1425 

Established the Alabama Limited Liability Company Act. 

Acts 1994, No. 245, p. 343 

Repealed and reestablished the Alabama Business Corporation Act. 

Acts 1996, No. 528, p. 685 

Established the Uniform Partnership Act of 1996; and provided for limited liability partnerships. 

Acts 1997, 1st Ex. Sess., No. 920, p. 312 

Revised substantially the Alabama Limited Liability Company Act. 

Acts 1997, 1st Ex. Sess., No. 921, p. 335 

Established the Alabama Limited Partnership Act of 1997. 

Acts 2000, No. 211, p. 279 

Established the Business Entities Conversion and Merger Act. 

Acts 2000, No. 724, p. 1550 

Increased the surcharge for expedited handling of filings by business corporations from $10 to $100. 

Acts 2009, No. 513, p. 967 

Established the Alabama Business and Nonprofit Entities Code to rearrange and provide uniformity among various 
statutes. Brought into a single section the various filing fee provisions scattered throughout the former law and 
increased filing and copying fees to current amounts. Changed the name of the Secretary of State’s Corporations Fund 
to the Entity Fund. The provisions of the act were effective January 1, 2011. 

Acts 2009, No. 621, p. 1805 

Repealed the Alabama Limited Partnership Act of 1997 and established the Uniform Limited Partnership Act of 2010. 
The act became effective January 1, 2010; however, several provisions did not apply to certain limited partnerships until 
January 1, 2012. 

Acts 2010, No. 211, p. 337 

Changed the effective date for provisions of Act 2009-621 related to certain limited partnerships from January 1, 2012 
to January 1, 2011 to coincide with the effective date of the Business and Nonprofit Entities Code established by Act 
2009-513. 

Acts 2018, No. 125 

Amends the fee schedule for filing documents and issuing certificates for business entities collected by the Secretary 
of State or judge of probate. Increases fees collected by the Secretary of State and judge of probate for copying and 
certifying copies. 
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Acts 2020, No. 73 

This act substantially revises the Alabama Business and Nonprofit Entities Code to: (1) allow business corporations to 
elect to become benefit corporations; (2) allow electronic filing of all entity filings; (3) provide a mechanism for the 
Secretary of State to reject certain filing instruments not accompanied by full payment; (4) clarify requirements of 
certificates of existence for entities; and (5) clarify that volunteer partners, managers, members, governing persons, and 
other members of a governing authority are considered officers of a qualifying nonprofit entity, thereby recognizing that 
there are nonprofit partnerships, nonprofit limited partnerships, and nonprofit limited liability companies. 

Acts 2021, No. 222 

Allows the Secretary of State to waive the Certificate of Existence fee for business entities if a state of emergency that 
has been declared in any state or by the federal government renders substantial compliance with the filing requirements 
impossible or unreasonable. 

Credit Union Fees 
Acts 1957, No. 603, p. 862 

Established examination fees for credit unions of $25 per examiner per day for each credit union examined plus actual 
expenses of the persons making the examination with graduated maximum examination fees set according to total 
assets. 

Acts 1967, No. 221, p. 589 

Increased examination fees; and levied a $50 application fee for a certificate of organization. 

Acts 1975, No. 561, p. 1267 

Increased operating fees. 

Acts 1981, No. 852, p. 1529 

Increased operating fees. 

Acts 1985, No. 457, p. 425 

Revised the fee schedule and application fee amount; and removed Bureau of Credit Unions from State Banking 
Department, creating the Alabama Credit Union Administration. 

Acts 1995, No. 315, p. 667 

Provided for membership fees of credit unions. 

Acts 2014, No. 317, p. 1122 

Established the current fee schedule. Allowed the Administrator to set the annual operating fees using the federal credit 
union fee schedule and to set an annual operating fee for corporate credit unions, not to exceed the maximum annual 
operating fee schedule for state-chartered credit unions. Increased the maximum application fee to $1,000. 

Acts 2016, No. 133, p. 315 

Clarifies the application fee charged for the organization of a credit union cannot exceed $1,000. 

Acts 2017, No. 319, p. 569 

Amended the examination cycle for credit unions to at least once every 18 months. 
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Deed Record Tax 
Acts 1935, No. 194, p. 256 

Established Deed Record Tax at present rates. 

Acts 1951, No. 816, p. 1449 

Provided for exemption from the Deed Record Tax of recordings of instruments previously exempt from the Mortgage 
Record Tax upon transfer to a person or entity not exempt from the Mortgage Record Tax. 

Acts 1953, No. 769, p. 1029 

Provided procedure for filing instruments which have been exempted by law from payment. 

Acts 1976, No. 274, p. 304 

Further exempted certain conveyances of religious organizations. 

Acts 1979, No. 332, p. 506 

Provided that deeds filed to convey to or from or create any property interest in or by a Municipal Special Health Care 
Facility Authority created pursuant to Chapter 62 of Title 11 are exempt. 

Acts 1984, No. 314, p. 695 

Provided that deeds filed to convey to or from or create any property interest in or by a public corporation organized 
pursuant to Chapter 97 of Title 11 are exempt. 

Acts 1987, No. 816, p. 1630 

Exempted re-recordation instruments which are made to correct errors. 

Acts 2012, No. 494, p. 1444 

Required any instrument presented for record to be accompanied by proof of the actual purchase price paid for the 
property or if the property has not been sold proof of the actual value of the property which is the subject of the 
instrument being recorded. 

Driver Record Report Fee 
Acts 1951, No. 704, p. 1224 

Established a fee of $.50 for a motor vehicle operator’s record certified abstract. 

Acts 1961, No. 707, p. 999 

Provided that the fee for a motor vehicle operator’s record certified abstract may be no less than $.50 but no more than 
$1, to be determined by the Director of the Department of Public Safety. 

Acts 1971, No. 1598, p. 2743 

Increased the fee for a motor vehicle operator’s record abstract to $2. 

Acts 1983, No. 722, p. 1177 

Increased the fee for a motor vehicle operator’s record abstract to $4. 
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Acts 1988, 1st Ex. Sp. Sess., No. 721, p. 112 

Increased the fee charged for a copy of any record in the files of the Department of Public Safety to $5. 

Acts 1988, 1st Ex. Sess., No. 909, p. 486 

Increased the fee for a motor vehicle operator’s record abstract to the current rate. 

Acts 1989, No. 878, p. 1759 

Provided for the Alabama Uniform Commercial Driver’s License Act, which provides that driving record information will 
be provided to employers or prospective employers and businesses upon request and payment of a fee of $5.75. 

Acts 2001, No. 471, p. 627 

To comply with the federal commercial driver’s license provisions, the Department of Public Safety began providing a 
lifetime driver record history to employers and prospective employers of the CDL holder and charging $15 per record. 
The fee was based on this act which increased the maximum fee for a copy of a record or report to $15. Ten dollars of 
the fee is paid into the State General Fund (an increase of $5 to the General Fund) and the remaining $5 is deposited 
into the Department of Public Safety Highway Traffic Safety Fund (now the Public Safety Fund). 

Driver’s License Fees 
Acts 1939, No. 181, p. 300 

Established the regulation of motor vehicles on public highways and established the license fee at $1.10 ($.10 of which 
was retained by the probate judges) for a 2-year license and $.25 for a duplicate license or temporary instruction permit; 
provided that driver’s license receipts be deposited to a separate fund in the State Treasury – the Highway Patrol Fund. 

Acts 1951, No. 485, p. 868 

Increased driver’s license fee to $2.25 ($.25 of which was retained by the probate judges and the counties). 

Acts 1951, No. 880, p. 1519 

Increased temporary instruction permit fee to $.35. 

Acts 1959, No. 346, p. 935 

Provided for issuance of learners’ permits to 15-year old's and established $.50 fee for such permits. 

Acts 1963, No. 193, p. 582 

Increased license fee to $4.25 for a 2-year license ($.25 of which was retained by the probate judges and the counties 
and changed distribution of driver license receipts to provide that they be deposited to the State General Fund and be 
appropriated to the Department of Public Safety for salaries and other expenses of traffic and motor vehicle enforcement 
personnel. 

Acts 1971, No. 1597, p. 2743 

Provided for $25 application fee for reinstatement of canceled, suspended, or revoked license to be deposited to the 
State General Fund. 

Acts 1971, No. 1933, p. 3121 

Increased fee for duplicate license to $1 and $4 for subsequent duplicates. 
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Acts 1973, No. 1289, p. 2201 

Increased temporary instruction permit fee for persons 16 years of age or older to $.50. 

Acts 1973, No. 1290, p. 2203 

Increased fee for first duplicate license to $1.50. 

Acts 1975, No. 539, p. 1192 

Required photograph on license and changed fee to $9 for a 4-year license ($.50 of which was retained by the probate 
judges and the counties) and provided for $9, 4-year nondriver identification cards and changed the use of driver license 
receipts appropriated from the State General Fund to “Public Safety Use.” 

Acts 1979, No. 203, p. 311 

Increased the fee from $9 to $10 for a 4-year license or nondriver identification card with the additional $1 for a total of 
$1.50 to be retained by the probate judges and/or the counties. 

Acts 1980, No. 510, p. 789 

Increased the fee for a 4-year driver’s license or nondriver identification card to $15. 

Acts 1980, No. 530, p. 829 

Provided for an examination fee of $5 prior to testing for driver’s licenses, temporary instruction and learners’ permits, 
and motor driven cycle operator’s licenses. 

Acts 1983, 3rd Ex. Sess., No. 825, p. 41 

Provided that nondriver identification cards do not require renewal. 

Acts 1984, No. 305, p. 678 

Authorized the Department of Public Safety to levy an additional fee (not to exceed $.10 over actual costs of materials) 
to recover the cost of obtaining photo driver’s licenses and nondriver’s identification cards. The Department 
implemented this act effective January 7, 2002, at which time fees were increased by $3, with the additional $3 deposited 
to the Highway Traffic Safety Fund. 

Acts 1984, 1st Ex. Sess., No. 815, p. 248 

Provided for special 8-year nondriver identification cards for intellectually disabled persons for a fee of $2 and allowed 
the counties to retain $.25 for each card issued. 

Acts 1988, 1st Ex. Sess., No. 728, p. 125 

Increased the cost of a duplicate license from $1.50 to $5 and the cost of subsequent duplicates from $4 to $15. 

Acts 1988, 1st Ex. Sess., No. 729, p. 125 

Increased the cost of temporary instruction and 15-year-old learner’s permit to $15 and extended validity of such permit 
to four years (converts to operator’s license for duration if driver’s examination passed during that time). 

Acts 1988, 1st Ex. Sess., No. 731, p. 134 

Increased the cost of an application for reinstatement of a canceled, suspended, or revoked license to $50; established 
additional fee of $50 if canceled, suspended, or revoked license not surrendered within 30 days. 
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Acts 1989, No. 878, p. 1759 

Established the Uniform Commercial Driver License Act. Effective October 1, 1990, persons driving a commercial motor 
vehicle must hold a commercial driver’s license valid for the vehicle being driven (or must hold a valid automobile license 
and be accompanied by the holder of a commercial driver’s license valid for said vehicle). Provided for an application 
fee of $5 (not assessed against existing bus drivers); $45 for a Class A CDL; $35 for a Class B CDL; and $15 for a Class 
C CDL. 

Acts 1990, No. 577, p. 982 

Provided for $15 fee for school bus driver’s commercial driver’s license. 

Acts 1993, No. 352, p. 546 

Levied an additional $25 fee for reinstatement of drivers’ licenses suspended pursuant to this act for conviction of 
certain drug related crimes. The additional fee is deposited to the Public Safety Drug Offender Reinstatement Fund for 
use of the Department of Public Safety. 

Acts 1993, No. 769, p. 1538 

Increased the fee for a 4-year regular driver’s license, nondriver identification card, or learner’s license from $15 to $20; 
created the Public Safety Law Enforcement Fund into which the additional $5 is deposited, to be appropriated and 
expended for law enforcement purposes. 

Acts 1995, No. 522, p. 1057 

Changed nondriver identification card for mentally handicapped persons from $2 fee and 8-year renewal requirement to 
$1.50 fee for permanent card; changed nondriver identification card for physically disabled or legally blind persons from 
$20 fee for permanent card to $1.50 fee for permanent card; changed nondriver identification card for persons age 62 
and over from $20 fee for permanent card to the cost to the Department of Public Safety and the county issuance fee 
(total of $5 - $3.50 Department cost and $1.50 issuance fee). Fee for nondriver identification card for persons less than 
age 62 who are not mentally or physically disabled or legally blind remained $20, with 8-year renewal required (former 
card was permanent).  

Acts 2000, No. 800, p. 1901 

Created the Highway Traffic Safety Fund for the Department of Public Safety to replace the Drug Offender Reinstatement 
Fund and the Public Safety Law Enforcement Fund; increased the fee from $5 to $15 for issuance of the first duplicate; 
and provided that all receipts from fees for duplicate of a lost or destroyed license shall be deposited in the Highway 
Traffic Safety Fund, rather than to the State General Fund, effective October 1, 2000. 

Acts 2001, No. 471, p. 627 

Increased certain fees (also see Motor Vehicle Accident Report Fee), effective August 1, 2001, imposed by the 
Department of Public Safety. The fee for reinstatement of a driver’s license increased as follows: 

• from $50 to $275 for a license canceled, suspended, or revoked as a result of a drug or alcohol related 
offense, of which $200 shall be deposited to the Highway Traffic Safety Fund and $75 to the State General 
Fund (a $25 increase to the General Fund); 

• from $50 to $175 for a license revoked as a result of an offense not related to drugs or alcohol, of which $100 
shall be deposited to the Highway Traffic Safety Fund and $75 to the State General Fund (a $25 increase to 
the General Fund); and 
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• from $50 to $100 for a license canceled or suspended as a result of an offense not related to drugs or 
alcohol, of which $25 shall be deposited to the Highway Traffic Safety Fund and $75 to the State General 
Fund (a $25 increase to the General Fund). 

Also exempted from reinstatement fees, anyone whose driver’s license has been suspended for medical reasons. 

Acts 2004, No. 521, p. 1060 

Amended certain sections of the Alabama Uniform Commercial Driver License Act, including provisions to increase or 
add certain commercial driver license fees as follows: 

• Increased the application fee for a Commercial Driver License (CDL) from $5 to $25, with $19.25 of the 
additional $20 to be deposited to the State General Fund and $.75 to the Peace Officers’ Annuity and 
Benefit Fund. 

• Increased the application for an endorsement fee from $5 to $25, with the additional $20 to be distributed to 
the Highway Traffic Safety Fund. 

• Increased the retest fee from $5 to $15, with the additional $10 to be deposited to the Highway Traffic Safety 
Fund. 

• Established an application fee of $25 for the CDL learner’s permit, with $24.25 to be deposited to the State 
General Fund and $.75 to the Peace Officers’ Annuity and Benefit Fund; a skills portion of the license test 
fee of $20, to be deposited to the Highway Traffic Safety Fund; and a hazardous materials endorsement 
fee, which shall not exceed the actual cost of conducting a background check, to be deposited to the 
Automated Fingerprint Identification System Fund. 

• Increased by $5 the fee for the issuance of a CDL, with the additional $5 to be deposited to the Highway 
Traffic Safety Fund. 

• Provided for the issuance of a CDL learner’s permit, valid for one year, for a fee of $20, to be deposited to the 
Highway Traffic Safety Fund.  

Acts 2006, No. 554, p. 1274 

Provided that all driver’s license and nondriver identification card fees remain the same including the $1.50 fee that goes 
to the county. However, prior to enactment of this act in counties in which the judge of probate was compensated by 
fees (Marion and Winston), 40% of each $1.50 was retained by the judge and the remaining 60% was paid into the public 
highway and traffic fund of the county, and in counties in which the judge was not compensated by fees, the entire 
amount ($1.50) was paid into the public highway and traffic fund of the county. This act provides that the $1.50 be 
remitted to the county general fund, rather than the public highway and traffic fund of the county and, in Marion and 
Winston Counties, the judge of probate (fund). 

Acts 2009, No. 762, p. 2308 

Changed the list of items to be considered in determining the actual cost of obtaining a photo driver’s license and 
nondriver identification card and imposed an additional $.50 for each driver’s license and photo nondriver identification 
card issued, with the additional receipts allocated and appropriated to the Alabama Veterans Living Legacy Trust Fund. 

Acts 2015, No. 185, p. 476 

Effective January 30, 2016, required the Alabama Law Enforcement Agency, in collaboration with the Board of Pardons 
and Paroles, to implement a hardship driver license program with specified driving privileges for inmates in work release 
or community corrections programs and for persons released from incarceration. 



Appendix – Legislative History  Page 170 

Acts 2015, No. 223, p. 656 

Provided for a motorcycle knowledge test, at a fee of $5, prior to operating a motorcycle on a highway as well as a Class 
M motorcycle endorsement or a Class M motorcycle license. 

Act 2016, No. 336 

Provided that an applicant may renew a driver’s license within 180 days, rather than 30 days, prior to the expiration of 
the license. Active duty members of the United States Armed Forces are exempted from the 180-day limit upon proof of 
deployment. 

Acts 2019, No. 249 

Authorizes the issuance of Class A commercial driver licenses to individuals who have reached the age of 18 years but 
who have not reached the age of 21 years for use only in intrastate commerce. 

Financial Institution Excise Tax 
Acts 1935, No. 194, p. 256 

Established financial institution excise tax at 6%. 

Acts 1965, No. 276, p. 390 

Provided that production credit associations were to be subject to the excise tax. 

Acts 1978, No. 840, p. 1247 

Provided that bank holding companies were to be recognized as financial institutions for excise tax purposes and were 
therefore exempted from state income taxation. 

Acts 1991, No. 478, p. 866 

Permitted incorporated municipalities to levy license taxes, but not in excess of those authorized by Section 11-51-
130, Code of Alabama 1975. This tax may be credited against the tax levied by Section 40-16-4. 

Acts 1993, 1st Ex. Sess., No. 852, p. 95 

Expanded deductions from gross income to include the amount of aid or assistance provided to the State Industrial 
Development Authority. 

Acts 1999, 2nd Ex. Sess., No. 664, p. 124 

Increased the tax rate to 6.5% for all tax years beginning after December 31, 2000; and provided that all revenue 
generated from the increased tax rate be deposited to the State General Fund. The rate increase was contingent upon 
the ratification of the constitutional amendment proposed by Act 1999-600. The amendment was ratified as 
Amendment No. 662 on June 19, 2000. 

Acts 1999, 2nd Ex. Sess., No. 665, p. 131 

Directed the Department of Revenue to adopt regulations to prescribe the method of allocating and apportioning net 
income of financial institutions that do business in more than one state; provided that businesses issuing credit cards 
to Alabama residents are subject to the tax; and provided that all revenue generated from taxpayers with no physical 
presence of the state is to be distributed to the State General Fund. 
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Acts 2006, No. 114, p. 173 

Conformed Alabama tax law to federal law regarding the taxation of trusts and estates. Known as “Subchapter J and 
Business Trust Conformity Act.” 

Acts 2016, No. 280, p. 712 

Prohibited taxpayers from applying new or amended credits allowed to a financial institution on or after January 1, 
2016, to the portion of the financial institution excise tax liability distributable to a municipality or county. 

Acts 2016, No. 283, p. 718 

Removes the requirement that the Department of Revenue use the allocation and apportionment formula for financial 
institutions recommended by the Multistate Tax Commission. 

Acts 2017, No. 165, p. 216 

Provided that loan and credit card receivables be included as property for the apportionment formula for financial 
institutions with income from activity taxable both inside of and outside of Alabama for tax years beginning on or after 
January 1, 2017. Required the Alabama Department of Revenue (ADOR), on or before December 31, 2030, to certify to 
the Legislature that: (1) the applicable law in a majority of the states, including two states contiguous with Alabama, 
requires a financial institution to allocate and apportion its net income based at least in part on the institution’s 
property in that state, and (2) the related definition of property in each of those states excludes a financial 
instruction’s loans and credit card receivables; then ADOR must adopt a rule consistent with the applicable law in 
those states. 

Acts 2019, No. 284 

Transitioned the current Financial Institutions Excise Tax (FIET) post-payment system to a pre-payment system. 
Provided that the Department of Revenue shall distribute the balance of financial institutions excise tax revenue, net of 
refunds, quarterly as follows: (1) 50% to the State General Fund (SGF), (2) 33.3% to municipalities, and 16.7% to 
counties. Provided for the distribution of total municipal and total county financial institutions excise tax revenue. 
Provided that to account for the transition, the Department of Revenue shall waive penalties and interest attributable to 
underpayments of estimated tax payments occurring within the first two applicable tax years not attributable to an 
intentional disregard of the law. 

Fireworks and Explosives Permit Fees 
Acts 1981, No. 409, p. 638 

Established fireworks permit fees at following rates: 

Manufacturer $750 

Distributor $750 

Wholesaler $250 

Retailer $25 

Display $1 

Provided for deposit of permit fees to Fire Marshal Fund. 
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Acts 1987, No. 563, p. 876 

Increased fireworks permit fees to the following rates: 

Manufacturer $1,000 

Distributor $1,000 

Wholesaler $350 

Retailer $100 

Seasonal Retailer $100 

Seasonal Retailer after July 10 $50 

Display $25 

Acts 1993, No. 713, p. 1390 

Established the Alabama Explosives Safety Act of 1993. Established explosives certification and blasting contractor 
license fees at following rates and provided for deposit of those fees to Fire Marshal Fund. 

Certification $50 

Blasting Contractor License $1,000 

Acts 2003, No. 378, p. 1068 

Increased fireworks permit fees and explosives certification and blasting contractor license fees to current rates; and 
established fee at current rates for use of pyrotechnics before a proximate audience. 

Act 2016, No. 414 

Provides for crimes for unlawful manufacture of a destructive device or biological or bacterial weapon and provides 
for the State Fire Marshal to establish qualifications and procedures for issuing a permit to lawfully manufacture a 
destructive device.  

Act 2018, No. 464 

Requires the State Fire Marshal to regulate and license pyrotechnic display operators and pyrotechnic special effects 
operators, on a two-year basis. Established the fee of $120 for each initial application, renewal and reciprocal license 
issued. 

Act 2021, No. 399 

Further defines fireworks and the sale of fireworks and increase the fees for various permits, including automatic 
adjustments of the fees based on the Consumer Price Index, and provides further for the operation of the State Fire 
Marshal Fund and provide for a transfer of a portion of fees to the Firefighter's Annuity and Benefit Fund. 

Forest Products Severance Tax 
Acts 1945, No. 169, p. 285 

Established forest products severance tax (see act for various rates). 
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Acts 1967, No. 763, p. 1619 

Increased the tax rates as follows: $.30 per 1000’ for pine lumber sold as logs; $.12 per 1000’ for hardwood and 
others; $.10 per cord for pulpwood. 

Acts 1973, No. 500, p. 738 

Levied a privilege tax against the processor or manufacturer of forest products in the amount of 50% of the tax on the 
severer. 

Acts 1985, No. 700, p. 1141 

Increased the tax rates (see act for various rates). 

Acts 1988, 1st Ex. Sess., No. 842, p. 315 

Increased forest products severance tax rates to present rates; and prohibited the levy of any local tax on severing, 
processing, or manufacturing of forest products. 

Acts 1993, 1st Ex. Sess., No. 888, p. 158 

Provided the option to pay forest products severance tax based on either volume (existing law) or weight (new law). 

Acts 2017, No. 301, p. 514 

Removed the alternate means for calculating the severance tax (Doyle rule) and revised the definition of forest 
products subject to the severance tax. Removed the severance tax on the following products: 1) pine lumber; 2) 
hardwood lumber; 3) chemical wood; 4) bolts; 5) crossties; 6) switch ties; 7) mine ties and coal mine props; 8) pine ore 
mine props; 9) hardwood ore mine props; and 10) turpentine. Exempts pulpwood chips and residual pulpwood chips 
used as residual fuel. 

Freight Line Equipment Companies Tax 
Acts 1935, No. 194, p. 256 

Established tax at 2% of 60% of the value of the average number of cars. 

Acts 1971, No. 1413, p. 2408 

Changed the tax rate to 3.5% of 30% of the value of the average number of railroad cars. 

Public Law 94-210, 90 Stat. 54, February 5, 1976 

Limited the assessment rate of railroad transportation equipment, for purposes of state and local taxation, to the rate 
that applied to all other commercial and industrial property, and thereby reduced the assessment rate of the freight 
line equipment tax to 20% (current rate). 

Fishing Licenses - Freshwater 
Acts 1923, No. 588, p. 762 

Established freshwater fishing license fees for nonresidents for annual fee of $5; created the Fish Hatchery Fund into 
which all revenues arising from the sale of fishing licenses and from fines, penalties, and forfeitures were to be 
deposited; and authorized probate judges to retain $.15 of license fee. 

Acts 1935, No. 240, p. 632 

Provided for nonresident 7-day trip freshwater fishing license fee of $2; and provided that receipts from all hunting and 
fishing license fees, penalties, forfeitures, etc. be deposited to Game and Fish Fund. 
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Acts 1936-37, Ex. Sess., No. 147, p. 165 

Provided a $1 resident fishing license fee for those over the age of 16 while fishing with rod and reel and artificial bait. 

Acts 1966, No. 423, p. 567 

Established an annual special fishing license for totally disabled persons with a license fee of $0.25. 

Acts 1971, No. 1980, p. 3222 

Amended the method of obtaining a resident fishing license by requiring that residents between the ages of 16 and 65 
purchase such licenses; provided issuance fees of $.25 for the resident license and $.15 for persons over the age of 
65; and provided exemptions for fishing in a private pond and for fishing with a hook and line in a resident’s county of 
residence  

Acts 1975, No. 1209, p. 2523 

Provided the issuance fee for all licenses sold by the Game and Fish Division of the Department of Conservation and 
Natural Resources to be $.25. 

Acts 1977, No. 351, p. 468 

Increased the nonresident fishing license fee to $10 and expanded it to include salt and brackish water (as well as 
freshwater); provided for issuance fee of $.25; provided that of the new $10 fee, $7 be deposited to Game and Fish 
Fund and $3 to Marine Resources (Seafoods) Fund; increased nonresident trip fishing license to $4 and expanded it to 
include salt and brackish water; and provided that of the new $4 fee, $3 be deposited to Game and Fish Fund and $1 to 
Marine Resources (Seafoods) Fund. 

Acts 1979, No. 803, p. 1481 

Increased the cost of resident fishing licenses to $6; and restricted the hook and line license to the county in which the 
licensee resides. 

Acts 1981, 3rd Ex. Sess., No. 1122, p. 386 

Established a lifetime resident hunting license fee of $200, lifetime resident freshwater fishing license fee of $100, and 
a combination lifetime hunting/freshwater fishing license fee of $300; and provided that such license fees be 
deposited into a special account known as the Alabama Game and Fish Endowment Fund within the Game and Fish 
Fund. 

Acts 1984, No. 446, p. 1040 

Increased license issuance fee for probate judges to $1 per license. 

Acts 1986, 1st Ex. Sess., No. 649. p. 31 

Exempted nonresidents under the age of 16 from fishing license requirements; increased nonresident fishing license 
fee to $15, except that license fee for residents of Florida, Georgia, Louisiana, Mississippi, and Tennessee to be that 
charged to Alabama residents by those states; increased nonresident 7-day trip license fee to $7 and provided for 
same reciprocal arrangement with certain other states as the annual license; provided for current distribution of 
nonresident fishing license fees; and provided 90% of the above license fees be deposited into the Game and Fish 
Fund and 10% be deposited into Marine Resources (Seafoods) Fund. 

  



Appendix – Legislative History  Page 175 

Acts 1988, Ex. Sess., No. 805, p. 242 

Increased the annual resident freshwater fishing license fee to $8.50; provided for a reciprocal agreement with Florida 
to exempt residents of Alabama over 65 years of age from the requirement of procuring a fishing license; and provided 
for the issuance of a combination hunting/fishing license. 

Acts 1989, No. 300, p. 487 

Increased the fees for lifetime resident freshwater fishing license to $150, lifetime resident hunting license to $300, 
and combination lifetime resident hunting/freshwater fishing license to $450; and prohibited nonresident Alabama 
property owners from obtaining lifetime hunting, lifetime fishing, or combination lifetime hunting/fishing licenses. 

Acts 1993, No. 322, p. 486 

Established the resident 7-day freshwater trip license at $5 and nonresident annual combination saltwater/freshwater 
license at $60; decreased the resident annual combination saltwater/freshwater license to $23.50 and changed its 
distribution; and increased nonresident annual freshwater license to $30 and nonresident 7-day freshwater license 
fees to $10. 

Acts 1996, No. 667, p. 1129 

Increased issuance fee for disabled persons from $.25 to $1; and provided for the issuance of the licenses to be on a 
continuous basis during the period of disability. 

Acts 2000, No. 735, p. 1604 

Established the 64 lifetime licenses at the current rates and distribution. Changed the effective date of Act 1999-660, 
2nd Ex. Sess., from November 29, 2000 to June 1, 2000.  

Acts 2000, No. 742, p. 1647  

Established the annual resident sportsman’s license at $58.50 and provided distribution of $15 to the Marine 
Resources Fund and the balance to the Game and Fish Fund. (See also Hunting Licenses, Legislative History, Acts 
2000, No. 742 for hunting provisions). 

Acts 2004, No. 449, p. 794 

Authorized U.S. military personnel stationed in Alabama on active duty to be deemed residents for hunting and fishing 
license purposes; exempted Alabama residents that are active members of the National Guard and certified law 
enforcement personnel from hunter safety education requirements; clarified that hunting and fishing licenses are not 
transferable; and authorized residents of the state on leave from active military duty to hunt or fish without obtaining a 
license.  

Acts 2007, No. 418, p. 874 

Established the Wildlife Heritage Act of 2007. Increased the license fees for the following freshwater fishing licenses 
to base amounts before Consumer Price Index (CPI) adjustments: annual resident; annual nonresident (including 
issuance fee); nonresident 7-day trip (including issuance fee); lifetime resident freshwater fishing; lifetime resident 
hunting/freshwater fishing license; and lifetime resident hunting/saltwater and freshwater fishing license. Provided 
that these license fees and accompanying issuance fees are subject to possible annual adjustment beginning in FY 
2011 based on the percentage increase in the CPI if such adjustment is recommended by the Commissioner and 
approved by the Department’s Advisory Board. Repealed laws providing for the issuance of annual resident hunting 
and fishing licenses on a combination basis, resident 7-day trip freshwater fishing license, resident combination 
freshwater/saltwater license, and the sportsman’s license. Established the disabled military veteran license, annual 
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resident wildlife heritage license, and lifetime resident wildlife heritage license. (See also Hunting Licenses, Legislative 
History, Acts 2007, No. 418 for hunting provisions). 

Acts 2014, No. 340, p. 1262 

Established the resident daily state lake fishing license at $5 and the nonresident state lake fishing license at $5 per 
day or $10 per year. Both licenses are subject to the cost adjustment provided in Section 9-11-68, Code of Alabama 
1975, in addition to the applicable issuance fee. Established the nonresident 3-day family fishing license at the same 
rate as the nonresident 7-day trip fishing license for up to 4 additional family members. Established a disabled 3-day 
fishing event license at $100 to include up to 20 disabled residents or nonresidents and 20 assistants; and an 
additional $5 is charged per additional disabled person over the 20-person limit. 

Acts 2015, No. 455, p.1491 

Established an annual special disabled hunting license, in addition to the special disabled fishing license already 
established. Provided the following license fees in addition to the $1 issuance fee: hunting license, $5; freshwater 
fishing license, $2, fishing license, $2. Provided that the annual license and issuance fee are subject to adjustment 
based on the Consumer Price Index upon approval of the Commissioner of the Department of Conservation and 
Natural Resources, Advisory Board of Conservation and Natural Resources, and Legislative Council. 

Acts 2017, No. 92, p. 131 

Authorizes a non-resident student at an institution of higher education in this state to purchase a resident hunting or 
fishing license. 

Acts 2021, No. 83 

This act adds Section 9-11-65.3 to the Code of Alabama 1975, to require the Department of Conservation and Natural 
Resources to issue lifetime resident disabled military veterans appreciation hunting licenses, fishing licenses, 
saltwater fishing licenses, and combination licenses at a reduced cost for the licenses based on the age and 
percentage of disability of a disabled veteran. 

Fishing Licenses - Saltwater 
Acts 1977, No. 351, p. 468 

Increased the nonresident fishing license fee to $10 and expanded it to include salt and brackish water (as well as 
freshwater) and provided for issuance fee of $.25; provided that of the new $10 fee, $7 be deposited to Game and Fish 
Fund and $3 to Marine Resources (Seafoods) Fund; increased nonresident trip fishing license to $4 and expanded it to 
include salt and brackish water; and provided that of the new $4 fee, $3 be deposited to Game and Fish Fund and $1 to 
Marine Resources (Seafoods) Fund. 

Acts 1986, 1st Ex. Sess., No. 649. p. 31 

Exempted nonresidents under the age of 16 from fishing license requirements; increased nonresident fishing license 
fee to $15, except that license fee for residents of Florida, Georgia, Louisiana, Mississippi, and Tennessee, to be that 
charged to Alabama residents by those states; increased nonresident 7-day trip license fee to $7 and provided for 
same reciprocal arrangement with certain other states as the annual license; provided for the distribution of 
nonresident fishing license fees; and provided 90% of the above license fees be deposited into Game and Fish Fund 
and 10% be deposited into Marine Resources (Seafoods) Fund. 
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Acts 1992, No. 344, p. 736 

Provided for annual resident saltwater fishing license at $15 and a combination annual resident saltwater/freshwater 
license for a fee of $25; provided for the distribution of annual resident saltwater fishing license fees to the Marine 
Resources (Seafoods) Fund; provided for the distribution of the combination license fees with $15 going to the Marine 
Resources (Seafoods) Fund and $10 going to the Game and Fish Fund; repealed the requirement that 10% of resident 
freshwater fishing licenses be deposited to the credit of the Marine Resources (Seafoods) Fund; and expressed 
legislative intent that the Department of Conservation and Natural Resources enter into a reciprocal agreement with 
the State of Florida exempting persons 65 years of age or older from state fishing and hunting license requirements.  

Acts 1993, No. 322, p. 486 

Provided for the following new license fees: resident 7-day saltwater trip license at $15, annual public fishing pier 
operator license at $1,000, resident annual saltwater pier fishing license at $5, nonresident annual saltwater fishing 
license at $30, nonresident 7-day trip saltwater fishing license at $10, and nonresident annual combination 
saltwater/freshwater license at $60; and decreased the resident annual combination saltwater/freshwater license to 
$23.50; and changed distribution to $15 to the Marine Resources Fund and $8.50 to the Game and Fish Fund. 

Acts 1999, 2nd Ex. Sess., No. 660, p. 117 

Established the resident lifetime saltwater license at $250, saltwater combination freshwater/saltwater license at 
$400, lifetime combination saltwater/hunting license at $550, and lifetime combination freshwater/saltwater and 
hunting license at $700. Established the Alabama Marine Resources Endowment Fund. 

Acts 2000, No. 735, p. 1604 

Established the 64 lifetime licenses at the current rates and distribution. Changed the effective date of Act 1999-660, 
2nd Ex. Sess. from November 29, 2000 to June 1, 2000.  

Acts 2000, No. 742, p. 1647  

Established the annual resident sportsman’s license at $58.50 and provided distribution. (See also Hunting Licenses, 
Legislative History, Acts 2000, No. 742 for hunting provisions). 

Acts 2004, No. 449, p. 794 

Authorized U.S. military personnel stationed in Alabama on active duty to be deemed residents for hunting and fishing 
license purposes; clarified that hunting and fishing licenses are not transferable; and authorized residents of the state 
on leave from active military duty to hunt or fish without obtaining a license.  

Acts 2007, No. 418, p.874 

Established the Wildlife Heritage Act of 2007. In addition to hunting and freshwater fishing provisions, increased the 
fees for lifetime saltwater and combination saltwater/freshwater and hunting license fees; and made fees subject to 
possible annual adjustment beginning in FY 2011 based on the percentage increase in the Consumer Price Index (CPI). 
Repealed laws providing resident annual combination saltwater/freshwater license, resident annual combination 
hunting/fishing license, public pier license, and sportsman license. 

Acts 2007, No. 419, p. 897 

Increased the fees for saltwater fishing licenses to the following base amounts before CPI adjustments: annual 
resident to $20; resident 7-day trip to $8; annual nonresident to $44; and nonresident 7-day trip to $24. Also, made the 
above fees subject to possible annual increase beginning in FY 2011 based on the percentage increase in the 
Consumer Price Index (CPI). Repealed law providing for public pier license. 
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Acts 2008, No. 384, p. 714 

Increased fines for various violations of game and fish laws. Reestablished the public pier fishing license at current 
rate. 

Acts 2008, No. 467, p. 1022 

Required the Department to promulgate rules and establish and administer a voluntary program to acquire and retire 
commercial gill net permits of saltwater commercial fishermen and to provide economic relief to qualified resident and 
nonresident saltwater commercial fishermen who surrendered their license on or before March 1, 2009. Levied a 
temporary $8 surcharge on each resident and nonresident saltwater fishing license issued for a period of five years. 
Deposited receipts from the surcharge into the Marine Resources Restoration Fund established by this act and used to 
offset the cost of providing the economic relief to the commercial saltwater fishermen and for research and 
development. (NOTE: The surcharge is no longer collected by the Department.) 

Acts 2010, No. 513, p.846 

Established a nonresident saltwater pier fishing license for $10, plus a $1 issuance fee. Changed the expiration date of 
public pier fishing licenses and resident saltwater pier fishing licenses from July 31 to August 31. 

Acts 2014, No. 340, p. 1262 

Subjected the public fishing pier license, resident and nonresident annual saltwater pier fishing license, and applicable 
issuance fees to possible annual adjustment based on the percentage increase in the Consumer Price Index if 
recommended by the Commissioner and approved by the Department’s Advisory Board. 

Acts 2015, No. 455, p. 1491 

Established an annual special disabled hunting and saltwater fishing license, in addition to the special disabled fishing 
license already established. Provided the following license fees, in addition to the $1 issuance fee: hunting license: $5; 
freshwater fishing license: $2, fishing license: $2. Provided that the annual license and issuance fee are subject to 
adjustment based on the Consumer Price Index upon approval of the Commissioner of the Department of Conservation 
and Natural Resources, Advisory Board of Conservation and Natural Resources, and Legislative Council. 

Acts 2019, No. 134 

Authorized the Department of Conservation and Natural Resources to issue military veterans’ appreciation saltwater 
fishing licenses to veterans who are 20 percent or more disabled for $2 plus a $1 issuance fee. This act also 
authorized a check-off option for persons obtaining any saltwater fishing license to donate an additional $1 to the 
Division of Marine Resources and established a disabled three-day saltwater fishing event license for events 
sanctioned by the Commissioner. The three-day saltwater fishing event license will cost $100 for up to 20 residents or 
nonresidents and any licenses issued over the 20-person limit will require an additional $5 fee.  

Gas Pipeline Safety Inspection Fee 
Acts 1983, No. 588, p. 920 

Established the fee at the current rate. 

Gasoline Tax (and Gasoline Portion of the Motor Carrier Fuel Tax) 
Acts 1923, No. 62, p. 36 

Established the excise tax on gasoline at $.02 per gallon. 
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Acts 1927, No. 340, p. 326 

Increased tax to $.04 per gallon. 

Acts 1931, No. 743, p. 859 

Increased tax to $.05 per gallon. 

Acts 1932, No. 324, p. 314 

Increased tax to $.06 per gallon. 

Acts 1955, 1st Ex. Sess., No. 44, p. 73 

Increased tax to $.07 per gallon. 

Acts 1961, No. 674, p. 925 

Provided further for the taxation of gasoline and/or motor fuel sold to or withdrawn from storage or used in the state 
by motor carriers by establishing a separate excise tax on motor carrier fuel. 

Acts 1980, No. 427, p. 590 

Levied an additional excise tax of $.04 per gallon on gasoline, motor fuel, and lubricating oil. 

Acts 1987, No. 675, p. 1205 

Authorized municipalities to use proceeds from the $.04 tax on gasoline, motor fuel, and lubricating oil for new road 
construction. 

Acts 1992, No. 203, p. 486 

Levied an additional excise tax of $.05 per gallon on gasoline and provided for its distribution. Proportionately 
increased refund on gasoline for agricultural use and static testing of engines. 

Acts 2000, No. 736, p. 1608 

Provided additional allocations from the gross $.07 and $.05 receipts of 70% of 1% to the Game and Fish Fund and 
18% of 1% (60% to State Water Safety Fund and 40% to Seafood Fund). These allocations are deducted from the 
portion of gasoline tax revenues otherwise credited to the Public Road and Bridge Fund. 

Acts 2011, No. 565, p. 1084 

Effective October 1, 2012, amended, repealed, and reestablished the state gasoline and motor fuel taxes at the same 
rates as the taxes were previously levied. Changed the point of collection of the taxes from the distributor to the 
supplier. Expanded the administrative discounts allowed to distributors and suppliers for the collection of fuel taxes. 
Appropriated $150,000 from the revenues collected to the Department of Revenue for the fiscal year ending September 
30, 2012. Each fiscal year thereafter, an amount of revenue will be appropriated to the Department to offset its cost of 
administering the act.  

Acts 2013, No. 402, p. 1541 

Allowed the proceeds of the $.04 excise tax on gasoline and oil distributed to the counties to be used for vegetation 
management. 
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Acts 2014, No. 105, p. 169 

Amended current law relating to bonds and notes of the Alabama Federal Aid Highway Finance Authority to provide 
that so much of the state’s share of net gasoline tax proceeds as shall be necessary shall be pledged and appropriated 
for the purpose of providing funds to enable the Authority to pay principal and interest of obligations. 

Acts 2015, No. 54, p. 198 

Transfers the collection of gasoline inspection fees from the Alabama Department of Agriculture and Industries to the 
Alabama Department of Revenue (ADOR); and included a change in the distribution of collected fees to allow an 
appropriation to ADOR for costs of administration and collection of fees. 

Acts 2019, No. 2 

Enacted the Rebuild Alabama Act which levied an additional six cent ($.06) excise tax on each net gallon of gasoline 
and diesel fuel effective August 31, 2019; and will further increase the excise tax by two cents to eight cents ($.08) 
effective October 1, 2020, and by two cents to ten cents ($.10) effective October 1, 2021. Additionally, the act provides 
for an indexing process to adjust the excise tax rate by up to one cent ($.01) every other year based on the yearly 
average of the National Highway Construction Cost Index. Further, the act provided for the administration, distribution, 
and collection of the Rebuild Alabama Act tax. 

Hazardous Waste Disposal and Monitoring Fees 
Acts 1981, No. 229, p. 307 

Local act which levied $5 per ton (or $2 per barrel) fee on all waste disposed of at the Chemical Waste disposal site in 
Sumter County. Said fee deposited to Sumter County General Fund, for use as specified in the act, less 15% ($0.75 per 
ton) to the State Treasurer – 5% for deposit in the State Hazardous Waste Management Fund and 10% for deposit in a 
special account to be used for the state’s perpetual care responsibilities under the Hazardous Waste Act of 1978 (Act 
1978-129). 

Acts 1981, 1st Ex. Sess., No. 916, p. 51 

Amended Act 1981-229 regarding the distribution of the Sumter County share of the $5 per ton (or $2 per barrel) fee on 
all waste disposed of at the Chemical Waste disposal facility in Sumter County; and also reduced the percentage 
remitted to the State Treasurer from 15% to 10% (5% for deposit in the State Hazardous Waste Management Fund and 
5% for deposit in the special account for the state’s perpetual care responsibilities under the Hazardous Waste Act of 
1978 (Act 1978-129)). 

Acts 1983, No. 480, p. 672 

Amended Act 1981-229 to alter the distribution of the Sumter County share of the $5 per ton fee (or $2 per barrel) on 
all waste disposed of at the Chemical Waste disposal facility in Sumter County to include $100,000 annually to ADEM; 
and eliminated the 10% formerly remitted to the State Treasurer. 

Acts 1984, No. 447, p. 1056 

Levied a fee of $1 per ton on all hazardous waste received at commercial hazardous waste disposal sites receiving 
off-site waste for disposal to be used by ADEM to finance a three-member monitoring team to monitor the operations 
of such sites.  

Acts 1985, No. 751, p. 1244 

Clarified that the $1 per ton disposal fee authorized by Act 1984-447 is to be paid by the operators of hazardous waste 
disposal facilities. 
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Acts 1988, 1st Ex. Sess., No. 872, p. 392 

Established the state hazardous waste disposal fee at $7.60 per ton (to the State General Fund, less collection costs 
of the Department of Revenue not to exceed 10% of collections). County fee increased by $.40 (to $5.40) said increase 
designated to the county general fund to be expended for health purposes.  

Acts 1989, No. 786, p. 1570 

Provided that the tax levied on the disposal of hazardous waste generated outside the State of Alabama to impose a 
fee on such waste at the higher of: (1) fee imposed on the disposal of such waste in the state where the waste was 
generated; or (2) fee imposed on the disposal of hazardous waste generated and disposed of in Alabama. 

Acts 1989, No. 787, p. 1571 

Increased hazardous waste disposal fees by a total of $16 per ton to be implemented as follows: 

  Distribution 

Effective Date Fee Increase ($) (per ton) SGF ($) Co. GF ($) 

10–1–89 8 7.00 1.00 

10–1–90 4 3.50 .50 

10–1–91 

 

4 3.50 .50 

Further specified that State General Fund revenues from this act were not to be appropriated until  

FY 1991. 

Acts 1990, No. 326, p. 448 

Increased the state fees for disposal of hazardous waste to: 

  Distribution 

Date Total Fee ($) (per ton) ADEM ($) SGF ($) Co. GF ($) 

Through 

7-14-90 

 

 

22.00 

 

1 

 

14.60 

 

6.40 

7-15-90: 

In-state 

 

40.00 

 

1 

 

32.60 

 

6.40 

Out-of-state 112.00 1 104.60 6.40 

    

10-1-90: 

In-state 

 

40.50 

 

1 

 

32.60 

 

6.90 

Out-of-state 112.50 1 104.60 6.90 
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  Distribution 

Date Total Fee ($) (per ton) ADEM ($) SGF ($) Co. GF ($) 

     

10-1-91 

In-state 

 

41.00 

 

1 

 

32.60 

 

7.40 

Out-of-state 113.00 1 104.60 7.40 

 

Provided for county receipts and pledging of receipts for Public Health facility bonds, as described in DISTRIBUTION.  
(County increases provided by Act 1989-787). 

Note: On June 1, 1992 the U.S. Supreme Court ruled that the differential fee established by this act was 
unconstitutional, so that beginning May 1, 1992, all waste was assessed at the in-state rate.  

Acts 1992, 2nd Ex. Sess., No. 658, p. 32 

Provided a base fee for hazardous/PCB waste and an additional fee for “P” waste and “U” waste; and established a fee 
for nonhazardous waste. These fees are the same for in-state and out-of-state generated waste. Established a fee of 
$1 per ton for the Hazardous Substance Clean-up Fund. Provided for a cap of 600,000 tons on waste disposed of at 
commercial sites. Exceptions to this cap are given in the act (see Exemptions). Established a trust fund, ALERT, to be 
used to make matching grants to higher education institutions in Alabama with programs of “service and research.” 

Acts 1999, No. 195, p. 231 

Amended the distribution of the fees levied by Act 1983-480 by reducing the distribution to ADEM to $50,000 effective 
October 1999, and redirecting the funds elsewhere. 

Acts 2006, No. 306, p. 644 

Exempted, from the base fee of $41.60/ton, the disposal of dust/sludge from the primary production of steel in electric 
arc furnaces (K061) and hazardous waste that will be de-characterized and rendered nonhazardous and subjected 
such disposal to a fee of $11.60/ton. Provided for the distribution of half of the revenues generated from such waste 
to counties having a commercial site for the disposal of hazardous waste and half to the State General Fund with the 
first $400,000 each year earmarked for appropriation to the Department of Environmental Management.  

Acts 2007, No. 594, p. 1204 

Reduced the base fee for disposal of hazardous waste at the commercial disposal facility located in Emelle, Alabama 
from $41.60 to $21.60 per ton. This facility is currently the only commercial disposal facility for hazardous waste in 
the state. 

Acts 2013, No. 174, p. 325 

Provided for a $5.50 base fee on the disposal of all hazardous wastes at commercial sites for the disposal of 
hazardous waste and hazardous substances; prohibited a county from levying additional local fees; removed 
dust/sludge disposal fee receipts distribution; and removed the distinctive fee schedule for Emelle Facility in Sumter 
County. 
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Acts 2014, No. 418, p. 1529 

Changed the distribution of revenues generated from the base fee on the disposal of hazardous wastes as follows: (1) 
25% to each county having a commercial site for the disposal of hazardous waste or hazardous substances and (2) 
75% to the State General Fund, with the first $450,000 being earmarked for appropriation to the Alabama Department 
of Environmental Management. 

Acts 2015, No. 315, p. 952 

Effective retroactively to April 1, 2015, provided for the distribution of certain state fees by local law and authorization 
of certain local laws. Beginning October 1, 2015, changed the allocation of hazardous waste revenues to: (1) such 
amounts necessary to meet the annual guaranteed amount of $4.2 million to counties with a hazardous waste facility 
(currently only Sumter County) and (2) any remaining amounts to be distributed 50% to the State General Fund and 50% 
to the county. 

Acts 2018, No. 412 

Repealed Section 22-30B-19, which established the Alabama Legacy for Environmental Research Trust (ALERT) Fund. 
Required any monies in the fund to revert to the Department of Public Health for the operation of the Bureau of 
Environmental Services. 

Hunting Licenses 
Acts 1935, No. 240, p. 632 

Established hunting license fees for residents and nonresidents in Alabama as follows: annual resident, $3; annual 
resident county, $1; annual nonresident, $25; and nonresident 7-day trip, $5. 

Acts 1965, No. 751, p. 1365 

Provided for new types of and new fees for nonresident hunting licenses as follows: annual small game, $10.15; 
annual all game, $25.15; 7-day trip small game, $7.15; and 7-day trip all game, $10.15. 

Acts 1965, 2nd Ex. Sess., No. 121, p. 169 

Levied a special license for hunting deer and wild turkeys on state operated Wildlife Management Areas of $3 and 
exempted persons 65 or older. 

Acts 1971, No. 1515, p. 2629 

Provided for the cost of and established the procedures for residents between the ages of 16 and 65 to obtain an 
annual resident state hunting license for a fee of $5 and a county license for a fee of $2.50, both with an issuance fee 
of $.25. 

Acts 1975, No. 1171, p. 2301 

Provided for the issuance of a permanent lifetime hunting licenses for residents over 65 years of age at no cost, upon 
the payment of a $.25 issuance fee. 

Acts 1979, No. 545, p. 985 

Created the migratory waterfowl hunting license stamp; required that each individual purchasing a hunting license 
would need a stamp affixed to the license in order to hunt migratory waterfowl; and provided that fees collected from 
said stamp be deposited into the Game and Fish Fund, to be used for the procurement, development, restoration, 
maintenance or preservation of wetlands for waterfowl habitat, and for public waterfowl hunting areas. 
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Acts 1979, No. 804, p. 1482 

Increased the fees for the annual resident hunting licenses to $10 and the county licenses to $5. 

Acts 1981, No. 720, p. 1226 

Increased the fees for nonresident trip licenses as follows: 7-day trip small game, $14.25; and 7-day trip all game, 
$35.25. 

Acts 1981, 3rd Ex. Sess., No. 1122, p. 386 

Established a lifetime resident hunting license fee of $200, a lifetime resident freshwater fishing license fee of $100, 
and provided for a combination lifetime hunting/freshwater fishing license fee of $300; and provided that the proceeds 
of such license be deposited into a special account in the Game and Fish Fund called the Alabama Game and Fish 
Endowment Fund. 

Acts 1982, No. 407, p. 619 

Increased the annual all game hunting license fees for nonresidents to $175 and reduced the 7-day nonresident trip all 
game license to 5 days at a fee of $75. 

Acts 1982, 2nd Ex. Sess., No. 777, p. 279 

Extended the period for a nonresident trip all game license to seven days at a fee of $50. 

Acts 1984, No. 446, p. 1040 

Increased the license issuance fee for probate judges to $1 per license. 

Acts 1988, 1st Ex. Sess., No. 805, p. 242 

Increased the fees for annual statewide license to $15 and county license to $7.50. Authorized the issuance of annual 
hunting and freshwater fishing license on a combination basis. 

Acts 1989, No. 300, p. 487 

Increased the lifetime resident hunting license fee to $300 and the combination lifetime resident hunting/freshwater 
fishing license fee to $450. 

Acts 1992, 2nd Ex. Sess., No. 702, p. 172 

Provided that in lieu of a regular hunting license, residents and nonresidents may elect to purchase a 7-day 
commercial fowl hunting preserve license. Allowed the license holder to hunt only artificially propagated or pen-raised 
fowl, as designated by the Commissioner of Conservation and Natural Resources as legal to hunt, on a licensed 
commercial fowl hunting preserve. 

Acts 1994, No. 577, p. 1051 

Increased license fees for the following: annual nonresident “small game only,” $40; annual nonresident “all game,” 
$200; nonresident “trip small game,” $25; and nonresident “trip all game,” $75; and established issuance fees for these 
licenses. 

Acts 1998, No. 615, p. 1355 

Increased the issuance fee from $.25 to $1 for migratory waterfowl stamp; and allowed other license agents 
authorized by the Department of Conservation and Natural Resources to issue migratory waterfowl stamps, provided 
such agents prepurchase sheets of stamps for resale at face value plus the issuance fee. 
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Acts 1999, 2nd Ex. Sess., No. 660, p. 117  

Established the resident lifetime saltwater license at $250, the lifetime saltwater/hunting combination license at $550, 
and the lifetime saltwater/freshwater fishing and hunting combination license at $700; provided the distribution of 
revenues from such licenses; and established the Alabama Marine Resources Endowment Fund. 

Acts 2000, No. 735, p. 1604  

Established the lifetime Senior 64 licenses at the current rates and distribution. Changed the effective date of Act 
1999-660, 2nd Ex. Sess., from November 29, 2000, to June 1, 2000.  

Acts 2000, No. 742, p. 1647  

Established the annual resident sportsman’s license at $58.50, plus a $1 issuance fee and provided distribution; 
increased fees for hunting on wildlife management areas to current rate, nonresident small game to $75, and all game 
licenses to $250; deleted the provisions for nonresident 7-day trip licenses; and established the nonresident 3-day 
license at $30 (small game) and $75 (all game) and the 10-day license at $45 (small game) and $125 (all game). 

Acts 2004, No. 449, p. 794 

Authorized U.S. military personnel stationed in Alabama on active duty to be deemed residents for hunting and fishing 
license purposes; exempted Alabama residents that are active members of the National Guard and certified law 
enforcement personnel from hunter safety education requirements; clarified that hunting and fishing licenses are not 
transferable and authorized residents of the state on leave from active military duty to hunt or fish without obtaining a 
license.  

Acts 2007, No. 418, p. 874 

Established the Wildlife Heritage Act of 2007. Increased the license fees for the following licenses to current base 
rates before CPI adjustments: annual resident all game; annual nonresident all game; annual nonresident small game; 
nonresident 10-day trip small game; nonresident 10-day trip all game; nonresident 3-day trip small game; nonresident 
3-day trip all game; lifetime resident hunting license; lifetime resident hunting/freshwater fishing license; lifetime 
resident hunting/saltwater fishing license; and lifetime resident hunting/saltwater and freshwater fishing license. 
Provided that these license fees and accompanying issuance fees are subject to annual cost adjustment beginning in 
FY 2011 based on the percentage increase in the Consumer Price Index (CPI) if such adjustment is recommended by 
the Commissioner and approved by the Department’s Advisory Board. Repealed laws providing county hunting 
licenses, for the issuance of annual hunting and fishing licenses on a combination basis and the sportsman’s license. 
Established the annual resident small game license, annual resident wildlife heritage license, and lifetime resident 
wildlife heritage license at their current rates. 

Acts 2010, No. 398, p. 653 (Also, Acts 2010, No. 697, p. 1688) 

Authorized the operator of a commercial bird hunting preserve to purchase a license for $500, plus a $2 issuance fee, 
which entitles the licensee to operate a commercial bird hunting preserve and exempts the patrons of the preserve 
from individual hunting license requirements. 

Acts 2013, No. 248, p. 607 

Established the Physically Disabled Military Veteran’s Appreciation hunting license and three-day trip event license 
available to veterans who are certified by the U.S. Veterans’ Administration as at least 50% physically disabled at a fee 
equal to half the cost of the annual resident all-game hunting license plus the applicable fee for the hunting license 
and a fee for the trip event license equal to the nonresident all-game three-day hunting license, plus the applicable 
issuance fee. Provided the event licensed was valid for up to 10 veterans (resident or nonresident). 
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Acts 2014, No. 417, p. 1527 

Established the 100 Percent Disabled Military Veteran’s Appreciation Hunting License for a fee of $2 plus applicable 
issuance fees as an alternative resident hunting license for veterans certified by the U.S. Veterans’ Administration as 
100 percent, service-connected, permanently and totally disabled. Provided both the license and issuance fee are 
subject to annual cost adjustment based on the percentage increase in the Consumer Price Index, if such adjustment 
is made by the Commissioner and approved by the Department’s Advisory Board. 

Acts 2015, No. 455, p. 1491 

Established an annual special disabled hunting license in addition to the special disabled fishing license already 
established. Provided the following license fees in addition to the $1 issuance fee: hunting license: $5; freshwater 
fishing license: $2; fishing license: $2. Provided that the annual license and issuance fee are subject to adjustment 
based on the Consumer Price Index upon approval of the Commissioner of the Department of Conservation and 
Natural Resources, Advisory Board of Conservation and Natural Resources, and Legislative Council. 

Acts 2016, No. 384, p. 1025 

Increases the fee for the annual waterfowl stamp by $5 to $10. Provides that the annual stamp fee and issuance fee 
are subject to adjustment based on the Consumer Price Index upon approval of the Commissioner of the Department 
of Conservation and Natural Resources, the Advisory Board of Conservation and Natural Resources, and the Legislative 
Council.  

Acts 2017, No. 92, p. 131 

Authorizes a non-resident student at an institution of higher education in this state to purchase a resident hunting or 
fishing license. 

Acts 2019, No. 103 

Establishes the annual resident and non-resident bait privilege license fees and provides that the fees are subject to 
adjustment based on the Consumer Price Index upon approval of the Commissioner of the Department of Conservation 
and Natural Resources, the Advisory Board of Conservation and Natural Resources, and the Legislative Council. 
Provides that the bait privilege license allows a person to hunt whitetail deer or feral swine with the aid of bait on 
privately owned or leased lands.  

Acts 2021, No. 277 

Establishes the annual   resident and non-resident Nighttime Feral Swine and Coyote Hunting license and fees. 

Hydroelectric Kilowatt Hour Tax 
Acts 1935, No. 194, p. 256 

Established present tax rate of 2/5 mill per kilowatt-hour and provided that it be distributed to the Special Educational 
Trust Fund. 

Acts 1957, No. 551, p. 772 

Changed due date from October 1 to September 25 of each year. 

Acts 1971, No. 1414, p. 2410 

Changed distribution of tax from Special Educational Trust Fund to present distribution. 
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Income Tax 
Acts 1935, No. 194, p. 256 

Established income tax rates at 5% for individuals and at 3% for corporations. 

Acts 1951, No. 208, p. 470 

Allowed for an optional standard deduction of 7% or $500, whichever is less. 

Acts 1951, No. 842, p. 1473 

Provided for appropriation from income tax receipts to the Property Tax Relief Fund to replace revenue losses which 
result from the homestead exemption. 

Acts 1963, 2nd Ex. Sess., No. 104, p. 284 

Increased the corporation tax rate to 5% of net income. 

Acts 1965, No. 748, p. 1354 

Raised the standard deduction to 10% of adjusted gross income or $1,000, whichever is less. 

Acts 1979, No. 618, p. 1088 

Increased the religious, charitable, scientific or educational deduction allowed to individuals for state income tax 
purposes from 15% to 20% of the taxpayer's net income. 

Acts 1983, No. 741, p. 1214 

Required filing and declarations of estimated income tax by corporations. (One-time windfall for Education Trust 
Fund.) 

Acts 1985, No. 515, p. 517 

Adopted federal rules on computing gain or loss on gift or trust property; adopted federal rules on itemized deductions 
in computing an individual net operating loss; removed sales requirement on S corporations; removed the sunset 
provision for corporate net operating loss; plus, other federal law conformity changes. 

Acts 1988, No. 952, p. 575 

Provided for the withholding of wager winnings at pari-mutuel tracks. 

Acts 1988, No. 954, p. 669 

Conformed Alabama law to federal income tax law regarding interest deductions from income. Changed phased out 
deductions for consumer (personal) interest which increased income tax receipts. The resulting net gain to the 
Education Trust Fund from this act was offset by a percentage diversion of lodgings tax receipts and leasing or rental 
of tangible property tax receipts from the Education Trust Fund to the State General Fund. (See Lodgings Tax and 
Leasing or Renting of Tangible Personal Property.) 

Acts 1990, No. 554, p. 912 

Provided a deduction for individuals for certain adoption expenses. 
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Acts 1990, No. 583, p. 988 

Conformed Alabama law to federal income tax law regarding determination of basis, recognition of gain (or loss), 
inventory methods, accounting methods, items included in gross income and allowable deductions of individuals, 
certain deductions for corporations and the reporting of gains on the installment basis. 

Acts 1990, No. 596, p. 1041 

Extended existing income tax exemptions on firefighters' and peace officers' retirement income to their beneficiaries; 
exempted all retirement income of firefighters and peace officers and their beneficiaries effective for the taxable year 
beginning January 1, 1991; exempted retirement income of U.S. Government retirees, private defined benefit plan 
beneficiaries (effective January 1, 1991) and military retirees and their beneficiaries (effective January 1, 1989); and 
clarified the elimination of state and local tax payments as a deduction from state taxable income.  

Acts 1991, No. 480, p. 869 

Extended the retirement income exemption to all "defined benefit" plans. Prior to this change only "private defined 
benefit" plans were exempt. 

Acts 1993, No. 313, p. 470 

Provided an income tax credit of $5,000 for a period not to exceed five consecutive years to qualifying rural 
physicians. 

Acts 1993, 1st Ex. Sess., No. 852, p. 95 

Allowed deductions from taxable income for the amount of any aid or assistance provided to the State Industrial 
Development Authority in order to induce an approved company to undertake a major project in the state. 

Acts 1993, 1st Ex. Sess., No. 907, p. 204 

Provided for a tax credit for employers of 20% of the costs of an approved basic skills education program. 

Acts 1995, No. 187, p. 250 

Repealed tax incentives available to companies through the State Industrial Development Authority (Acts 1993-851 and 
1994-370); and provided for a corporate income tax credit to qualified companies that expand or locate in the state. 
Available for a maximum of 20 years. 

Acts 1995, No. 239, p. 403 

Allowed a credit against corporate income tax for coal produced in the state. ($1 per ton for increased production over 
previous year’s production.) 

Acts 1995, No. 591, p. 1251 

Amended corporate income tax law to allow foreign corporations the option of classifying dividends from subsidiaries 
not doing business in the state as either: (1) apportionable business income or (2) nonbusiness income allocable to 
the state of the corporation’s commercial domicile. Applicable only to dividends paid or deemed paid prior to July 31, 
1995. 

Acts 1995, No. 738, p. 1578 

Allowed an income tax deduction for the amount of premiums paid pursuant to a qualifying insurance contract for 
qualified long-term care coverage. 
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Acts 1996, No. 526, p. 683 

Provided that private and public deferred compensation plans shall receive the same tax deferred treatment for state 
tax purposes as is allowed for federal tax purposes. (Effective January 1, 1997.) 

Acts 1997, No. 446, p. 765 

Amended the Capital Credit Program (Act 1995-187) to allow costs paid by public development authorities to be 
included in the calculation of capital costs and made other changes to the program. 

Acts 1997, No. 547, p. 957 

Exempted tuition benefits paid from the Prepaid Affordable College Tuition (PACT) Program from state income 
taxation. 

Acts 1997, No. 625, p. 1098 

Established numerous changes to the state income tax statutes which conformed Alabama’s treatment of 
partnerships, limited liability companies, sub-chapter S corporations and certain trusts to the treatment allowed for 
federal income tax purposes; and removed the requirement that individual business owners who do business in more 
than one state allocate and apportion income in accordance with the multistate compact. 

Acts 1997, No. 705, p. 1456 

Exempted from state income tax amounts up to $25,000 received as severance, unemployment compensation or 
termination pay as a result of administrative downsizing. 

Acts 1998, No. 468, p. 903 

Increased the threshold for filing individual income tax returns (from $1,500 to $1,875 for single filers and from $3,000 
to $3,750 for joint filers); and eliminated withholding tax from certain workers who incurred no tax liability in the 
previous year or expect no liability in the current year. 

Acts 1998, No. 502, p. 1083 

Established numerous changes to state income tax law, many of which conform to federal law including adoption of 
federal tax treatment of “Roth IRA’s” and “Education IRA’s.” Allowed corporations to elect to file consolidated returns; 
and increased the threshold for filing individual income tax returns (same as Act 1998-468). 

Acts 1999, No. 314, p. 423 

Clarified pre-existing law relative to the definition of S Corporation; and conformed definition to federal law. 

Acts 1999, No. 664, p. 124 

Increased the corporate income tax rate to 6.5% beginning January 1, 2001; and established several technical changes 
to conform to federal law and changed depletion allowances for oil and gas wells. Contingent upon ratification of 
Constitutional Amendment No. 662 (see Constitutional Provisions).  

Acts 2000, No. 702, p. 1425 

Established several technical changes to the state corporate income tax, none of which materially affected corporate 
income tax receipts. (Further clarified changes made in Act 1999-664). 

Acts 2001, No. 503, p. 886 

Created a credit for certain investments in the Alabama State Port Authority infrastructure in new qualifying projects 
until December 31, 2005. 
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Acts 2001, 3rd Ex. Sess., No. 965, p. 854 

Amended the Capital Credit Program (Acts 1995-187 and 1997-446) to lower the number of new employees that must 
be hired and the minimum investment that must be made to qualify for the credit in a favored geographical area as 
defined by the act. 

Acts 2001, 4th Ex. Sess., No. 1088, p. 1095 

Disallowed certain intangible and interest expense deductions between related entities; clarified the calculation of the 
federal income tax deduction and the nonbusiness interest expense deduction for corporations; disallowed net 
operating loss deductions for corporations for tax years beginning in 2001; conformed estimated payment rules to 
federal law; clarified that interest accrues on the entire amount of the final assessment; and allowed the 
Commissioner of Revenue to reallocate tax return items of related entities in certain circumstances. 

Acts 2001, 4th Ex. Sess., No. 1089, p. 1113 

Limited the use of consolidated returns by corporations; and required corporations that elected to file consolidated 
returns to accelerate their December 15, 2002 estimated tax payment to September 15, 2002. 

Acts 2001, 4th Ex. Sess., No. 1105, p. 1169 

Allowed subchapter K entities to make composite payments and returns on behalf of nonresident owners; required 
composite payments in the event that nonresident owners fail to consent to file returns and pay tax due; and required 
composite payments for tax years beginning during 2001. 

Acts 2001, 4th Ex. Sess., No. 1113, p. 1178 

Defined business income for purposes of the Multistate Tax Compact. 

Acts 2005, 1st Ex. Sess., No. 269, p. 485 

Continued the tax credit authorized by Acts 2001, No. 503 from December 31, 2005 until  

December 31, 2010. 

Acts 2005, 1st Ex. Sess., No. 270, p. 486 

Continued the tax credit authorized by Acts 2001, No. 503 from December 31, 2005 until  

December 31, 2010. 

Acts 2006, No. 62, p. 75 

Exempted from Alabama income tax all income, interest, dividends, gains, or benefits of any kind received from 
Alabama Higher Education 529 Fund accounts. 

Acts 2006, No. 114, p. 173 

Created The Subchapter J and Business Trust Conformity Act. Generally, this act conformed Alabama law to federal 
income tax rules for the taxation of trusts, estates and their beneficiaries. This act applies to entities taxed under the 
income tax law as well as entities taxed as financial institutions under the financial institution excise tax law. 

Acts 2006, No. 352, p. 927 

Increased the individual income tax threshold by increasing the standard deduction for taxpayers with adjusted gross 
income of $30,000 or less and by increasing the dependent exemption for taxpayers with adjusted gross income of 
$100,000 or less. 
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Acts 2006, No. 424, p. 1050 

Exempted from Alabama income tax certain death benefit payments made to the designated beneficiary of any peace 
officer or fireman killed in the line of duty. 

Acts 2006, No. 503, p. 1145 

Consolidated Income Tax check-off provisions under Section 40-18-140, Code of Alabama 1975, and added for new 
check-offs for the Alabama Organ Center Donor Awareness Fund and the Alabama National Guard Foundation. 

Acts 2008, No. 275, p. 402 

Expanded the Income Tax Capital Credit Program to include credits for companies that produce electricity from 
alternative energy sources. 

Acts 2008, No. 377, p. 691 

Allowed a deduction of up to $5,000 of contributions made to the Prepaid Affordable College Tuition Program or the 
Alabama College Education Savings Program. 

Acts 2008, No. 504, p. 1114 

Required income tax withholding on certain sales of real property by nonresidents of Alabama. 

Acts 2008, 1st Ex. Sess., No. 543, p. 1175 

Disallowed the use of “Captive REITS” to reduce Alabama income tax liability; modified the “add-back” law (Section 40-
18-35); provided that these changes are effective January 1, 2007; and required the Department of Revenue to waive 
any penalties otherwise resulting from this act. 

Acts 2008, 1st Ex. Sess., No. 549, p. 1192 

Exempted rebates provided by the federal Economic Stimulus Act of 2008 from income tax and decoupled Alabama 
income tax law from all other provisions of the federal act, including bonus depreciation and additional Section 179 
expensing. 

Acts 2008, 1st Ex. Sess., No. 559, p. 1282 

Allowed a deduction for an additional 50% of the health insurance premiums paid by qualified employers and 
employees. 

Acts 2009, No. 722, p. 2143 

Expanded the Income Tax Capital Credit Program to include credits for certain types of service industries; increased 
the base wage requirement for qualifying projects; and imposed penalties on new qualifying projects that subsequently 
fail to meet employment or wage requirements. 

Acts 2010, No. 568, p. 1150 

For tax years beginning after December 31, 2009, tied Alabama estimated income tax payment requirements to 
requirements under federal law. As a result, corporations and individuals will be required to make estimated tax 
payments if their income tax liability (on income not subject to withholding) is $500 or more. 

Acts 2011, No. 616, p. 1394 

Amended Section 40-27-1, Code of Alabama 1975, regarding the Multistate Tax Compact and multistate taxpayers 
(corporations, partnerships, or other persons acting as a business entity in more than one state) for all tax years 
beginning on or after December 31, 2010 to: (1) change the sourcing rules for sales, other than sales of tangible 
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personal property, to provide that sales are sourced to Alabama if the market for the sale is in Alabama; and (2) 
double-weight the sales factor in the apportionment of business income. 

Acts 2011, No. 644, p. 1640 

Allowed homeowners to receive a personal income tax deduction of up to $3,000 for costs incurred to retrofit their 
homes so that the home is more resistant to hurricanes, flooding and catastrophic windstorm events. 

Acts 2012, No. 54, p. 76 

Added companies primarily engaged in the coal mining industry to the list of businesses qualifying for sales, use, 
mortgage, deed, and non-educational property tax abatements under the state’s 1992 abatement law as well as 
provisions of the state’s income tax capital credit; however, the abatement of state taxes and capital credits for these 
companies was limited to 50% of the state taxes that would otherwise be due and 50% of the capital costs, excluding 
the costs of acquiring land, surveying, engineering or other incidental costs. The abatements and capital credits 
allowed by this act will not be available for projects two years following the effective date of the act, unless the 
Legislature, by joint resolution, votes to continue or reinstate the abatements and capital credits.  

Acts 2012, No. 385, p. 1025 

Allowed businesses qualifying for capital credits that create at least 100 new jobs and have capital costs of at least 
$100 million to carry forward the capital credit for a maximum of four years. This act also allowed those businesses to 
delay the initial utilization of the capital credit for up to three years after the project is placed into service. These 
provisions will be effective for all qualifying projects for which a project agreement has been entered into prior to 
December 31, 2011, but which have not been placed into service as of December 31, 2011, and for all projects for 
which a project agreement is entered into after December 31, 2011.  

Acts 2012, No. 413, p. 1123 

Provided an income tax deduction for amounts contributed to a catastrophe savings account as follows: (1) provided 
limits for amounts that may be contributed based on the taxpayer’s deductible. If the taxpayer contributes more than 
the limit, the excess amount must be withdrawn from the account and included in income in the year of withdrawal; (2) 
distribution from the account must be included in the taxpayer’s income unless it is used to cover qualified 
catastrophe expenses; (3) provided that no amount is included in income if the qualified catastrophe expenses during 
the taxable year are greater than the aggregate distributions during the taxable year; (4) provided that if aggregate 
distributions exceed qualified catastrophe expenses, the amount otherwise included in income must be reduced by the 
amount of the distributions for qualified expenses; and (5) tax paid pursuant to a taxable distribution must be 
increased by 2.5% of the amount included in income. However, the additional tax does not apply if the taxpayer no 
longer owns a residence which qualifies, or the distribution is from a self-insured’s account and is made on or after the 
date on which the taxpayer reaches 70 years of age. 

Acts 2012, No. 427, p. 1163 

Amended Sections 40-18-14 and 40-18-21, Code of Alabama 1975, regarding individual income taxes to: (1) provide 
that a resident’s gross income for income tax purposes includes the resident’s proportionate share of any income 
arising from a pass-through entity regardless of whether the income is earned within or outside Alabama; (2) allow an 
individual owner a credit for their proportionate share of any tax based in whole or in part on the entity’s net income, 
net profits, or gross profits; (3) provided that in no event will the credit for taxes paid to another state exceed the 
amount of tax that would be due on the same taxable income using the applicable Alabama income tax rates; and (4) 
expand the income tax credit for foreign taxes paid by pass-through entities beyond the mineral extraction and 
transportation industries currently listed in the statute such that the credits would apply to 50% of the proportionate 
share of the income taxes paid to a foreign country on any type of business or investment income. 
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Acts 2012, No. 486, p. 1399 

Exempted spouses of United States Armed Forces members killed in action from Alabama income tax for the year in 
which the Armed Forces member was killed.  If income tax has already been paid on any exempt income under the 
provisions of this act, the Department of Revenue must refund such money. 

Acts 2014, No. 406, p. 1498 

Allowed married taxpayers living apart for the entire year and filing separate tax returns to claim either the optional 
standard deduction or itemized deductions. 

Acts 2015, No. 442, p. 1419 

Established the Achieving a Better Life Experience (ABLE) Program pursuant to Section 529A of the Internal Revenue 
Code of 1986, to encourage and assist Alabama individuals and families in saving private funds for the purpose of 
supporting Alabama citizens with disabilities. Exempts all income, interest, dividends, gains or benefits received from 
ABLE savings account from income taxation by the state and its political subdivisions. 

Acts 2015, 1st Ex. Sess., No. 504, p. 1821 

Established the Alabama Taxpayer Fraud Prevention Act. Repealed the allowance of a withholding exemption 
certificate to be used to claim a total exemption from Alabama income taxes. 

Acts 2015, 1st Ex. Sess., No. 505, p. 1823 

Established a factor presence nexus standard for business activity for purpose of income tax by creating the following 
thresholds of nonresident individuals and business entities to determine if the entities would be subject to business 
privilege, financial institution excise, and income taxes: $50,000 of property; $50,000 of payroll; $500,000 of payroll; 
and 25% of total property, total payroll, or total sales. Requires the Commissioner to adjust thresholds to reflect the 
cumulative percentage change, if the Consumer Price Index for All Urban Consumers (CPI-U) changes by 5% or more 
since January 1, 2015, or the date of the last adjustment, to apply to tax periods beginning after the adjustment. 
Provided that the state does not have jurisdiction to impose a tax on or measured by net income, even if thresholds are 
met, for entities that are located outside of the state whose only business activity in the state is the solicitation of 
orders for tangible personal property that are approved and shipped from outside the state. 

Acts 2016, No. 345, p. 848 

Creates a new income tax deduction beginning in FY 2019 for contributions made to health savings accounts with a 
maximum allowable deduction equal to the maximum amount allowed under federal law or regulation. 

Acts 2016, No. 412, p. 1147 

Conforms Alabama income tax return and payment due dates to federal income tax return and payment due dates 
effective for the taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2016. 

Acts 2017, No. 405, p. 1320 

Creates the individual Income Tax Simplified Short Form Filing Act to allow an optional increased standard tax 
deduction to qualifying individual income tax taxpayers who file as single or married filing joint filing status and meet 
certain income criteria. Effective for tax years beginning after December 31, 2017. 

Acts 2018, No. 232 

Increased the optional standard deduction adjusted gross income floor for taxpayers that are married filing joint, head 
of family, and single from $20,000 to $23,000 and for taxpayers that are married filing separate from $10,000 to 



Appendix – Legislative History  Page 194 

$10,500 beginning in tax year 2019. Exempted from income tax any housing allowance and earned income received 
from sources within a foreign country beginning in tax year 2018. 

Acts 2021, No. 332 

Provides that payments of income tax or financial institution excise tax which were originally due between April 15, 
2021 and June 30, 2021 shall be due on the revised due dates for the corresponding federal payments. 

Acts 2021, No. 540 

Provides (1) an income tax credit equal to $3,000 or 50 percent of the total cost, whichever is less, for the 
construction, acquisition, or installation of a qualified storm shelter or safe room capable of withstanding an EF5 
tornado; (2) limits the tax credit to an aggregate amount for all taxpayers of $2,000,000 annually, to be issued on a 
first come, first served basis; (3) sunsets the tax credit at the end of the 2025 tax year, unless extended by act of the 
Legislature; and (4) federal restaurant revitalization grants excludes from Alabama income taxation to the same extent 
as under federal income tax law. 

Acts 2021, No. 423 

Provides that for tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2021, an owner, member, partner, or shareholder of an 
electing pass-through entity shall report its pro rata or distributive share of the income of the entity as required for the 
payment of state income taxes and entitles those owners, members, partners, or shareholders to a credit in an amount 
equal to its pro rata or distributive share of the Alabama income tax paid by the electing pass-through entity in the 
corresponding tax year. Amends Section 40-18-376, Code of Alabama 1975, of the Alabama Jobs Act, to delete 
prohibitions restricting the investment credit from being used to reduce the distribution for the Education Trust Fund or 
the State General Fund; and amends Sections 3 and 6 of Act 2021-2 of the 2021 Regular Session to clarify the intent of 
the Legislature regarding the entities that are eligible to claim the Growing Alabama Tax Credit. 

Acts 2023, No. 377 

Provides a one-time income tax credit to partially off-set the sales tax on groceries.  Based on the taxpayer’s filing 
status on January 1, 2021, as follows: $150 for single, head of family, and married filing separate and a $300 for 
married filing joint. 

The refundable income tax credits shall be issued no sooner than November 30, 2023, by the Alabama Department of 
Revenue. 

Acts 2023, No. 421 

Provides a tax exemption to hourly wage paid individuals on the first $2,000 earned in excess of 40 hours worked in a 
week from the calculation of gross income for tax years 2024 through 2026. 

Acts 2023, No. 510 

Provides a tax credit to volunteer first responders, for actual mileage driven in response to fire, emergency, and rescue 
calls.  The amount of the tax credit is allowed up to the tax liability of the taxpayer.  Effective on January 1, 2024. 
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Acts 2023, No. 511 

The refundable income tax credit provided by this Act shall supersede the income tax credit provided in Act 2023-377. 

Provides a one-time income tax credit to partially off-set the sales tax on groceries.  Based on the taxpayer’s filing 
status on January 1, 2021, as follows: 

1. $150 for single, head of family, and married filing separate. 

2. $300 for married filing joint. 

The Alabama Department of Revenue shall commence issuing refundable income tax credits no sooner than November 
30, 2023. 

Acts 2023, No. 519 

Establishes the Preceptor Tax Incentive Program, beginning in tax year 2024.  Provides that certain preceptors may 
claim a tax credit of either $425 or $500 per rotation, capped at $5,100 or $6,000 annually, per preceptor, dependent 
upon the type of preceptor.   

Insurance Company Licenses and Premium Tax 
Acts 1935, No. 194, p. 256 

Established an insurance premium tax of $1.50 on each $100 of premiums of foreign fire or marine insurance 
companies, $2.50 on each $100 of premiums for other foreign insurance companies, and $1 on each $100 of 
premiums for domestic insurance companies; and established a $200 annual filing fee. 

Acts 1945, No. 156, p. 196 

Equalized rate of premium tax paid by foreign and domestic insurance companies by increasing the domestic rates. 

Acts 1955, 2nd Ex. Sess., No. 77, p. 193 

Amended rates as follows: $2.50 on each $100 for foreign life or marine insurance, 1% on annuities and 3% on 
premiums for other foreign insurance companies, .5% on annuities and premiums of domestic insurance companies; 
provided for reduction of tax rates for foreign insurers based on percentage of company's admitted assets invested in 
Alabama investments; and provided that all premium tax receipts be deposited to the State General Fund. 

Acts 1957, No. 598, p. 848 

Established agents examination fee of $5. ($3 for re-examination.) 

Acts 1963, No. 521, p. 1112 

Established the Unauthorized Insurers Act. Provided for licensing of surplus line brokers and tax on surplus line 
brokers at rate of 4% on the direct premiums, less return premiums and exclusive of sums collected to cover state or 
federal taxes, on surplus line insurance transacted by the broker during the preceding calendar year; provided that the 
tax be paid on March 1 each year and deposited to the State General Fund; and exempted surplus line wet marine and 
transportation insurance and certain other surplus line insurance. 

Acts 1969, Ex. Sess., No. 28, p. 74 

Increased rates as follows: 4% of premiums for foreign insurance other than life; 1% of annuities and 3% of premiums 
for foreign life insurance; 1% of annuities and premiums for domestic life; and 2% of premiums on other domestic 
insurance companies, including certain non-profit health care organizations.  

Changed distribution to: 
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(1) Education Trust Fund 

(a) 37.5% of premium tax on foreign fire, marine, and fire and marine insurers. 

(b) 25% of premium tax on foreign casualty insurers. 

(c) 50% of premium tax on domestic life insurers. 

(d) 75% of premium tax on domestic property and casualty insurers. 

(e) 100% of premium tax on certain non-profit health care organizations. 

(2) State General Fund 

(a) 100% of premium tax on foreign life insurers. 

(b) 62.5% of premium tax on foreign fire, marine, and fire and marine insurers. 

(c) 75% of premium tax on foreign casualty insurers. 

(d) 50% of premium tax on domestic life insurers. 

(e) 25% of premium tax on domestic property and casualty insurers. 

Exempted domestic insurers from premium tax on Medicare or Medicaid supplement policies. 

Acts 1971, No. 407, p. 707 

Provided for retaliatory tax; established company and agents' and brokers' filing, license and miscellaneous fees (and 
provided they be deposited to the State General Fund); and established wet marine and transportation insurance tax at 
rate of 0.75% of gross underwriting profit. 

Acts 1971, No. 2106, p. 3375 

Decreased rate on domestic insurance companies (property and casualty, but not life) and certain non-profit health 
care organizations to 1% of premiums. 

Acts 1971, 2nd Ex. Sess., No. 3, p. 4113 

Changed the distribution of premium tax proceeds from certain non-profit corporations (Blue Cross/Blue Shield) from 
the Education Trust Fund to the Special Mental Health Fund. 

Metropolitan Life Insurance Co. v Ward, 105 S.Ct. 1676 (1985) 

The U. S. Supreme Court ruled in a 5-4 vote that two of the seventeen purposes the state presented to justify the 
disparate premium tax rates charged foreign and domestic insurers violated the equal protection clause of the U.S. 
Constitution. This reversed an Alabama Supreme Court opinion and remanded the case to Montgomery Circuit Court 
for retrial. The case was dismissed by order of the court dated September 29, 1993. 

Acts 1980, No. 774, p. 1608 

Authorized the Commissioner of Insurance to examine surplus line brokers in the same manner as an insurer and 
allowed surplus line brokers to offset from their insurance premium taxes the cost of such examinations in the same 
manner allowed for domestic insurers. 

Acts 1987, No. 333, p. 466 

Changed the due dates for payment of premium taxes from annual to quarterly basis, resulting in receipt of six 
quarters worth of taxes in FY 1988. 



Appendix – Legislative History  Page 197 

Acts 1988, 1st Ex. Sess., No. 875, p. 410 

Increased fees for licenses and certificates issued by Insurance Department. (See Insurance Premium Tax (pages 182-
184) in January 2003 “A Legislator’s Guide to Alabama’s Taxes.”) 

Acts 1993, No. 679, p. 1291 

Established the Insurance Premium Tax Reform Act of 1993. Provided for phase-in of equalization of domestic and 
foreign insurance premium tax rates (See Insurance Premium Tax in January 2003 “A Legislator’s Guide to Alabama’s 
Taxes” or Section 27-4A-3 Code of Alabama 1975,  beginning in FY 1995; provided for economic development credits to 
reduce tax rate of property and casualty insurers, increased tax rate of surplus line brokers from 4% to 6%; altered tax 
payment schedule from 25% quarterly to 25% in May, 45% in August, 5% in November, with the remainder to be paid in 
March; limited deposits to Education Trust Fund and Special Mental Health Fund from insurance premium tax receipts 
beginning FY 1995 to no more than was deposited in FY 1992; provided that, beginning with first tax payment made on 
premiums received on or after January 1, 1995 (May 15, 1995 payment) 100% of premium taxes paid by health 
maintenance organizations (HMO) will be deposited to the State General Fund (previously 50% of domestic HMO 
premium taxes deposited to ETF); and provided that wet marine and transportation insurance written by Alabama 
admitted insurers be taxed as is other insurance (surplus lines wet marine and transportation insurance is exempt). 

Acts 1993, 1st Ex. Sess., No. 847, p. 67 

Provided for special rate of 1.6%, effective January 1, 1995, for premium tax on medical liability insurance (rather than 
the rate of 3.6% established by Act 1993-679). 

Acts 1995, No. 738, p. 1578 

Provided that all premium taxes paid on long-term care coverage shall be deposited to the Education Trust Fund. 

Acts 1996, No. 343, p. 423 

Established continuing education requirements for insurance agents, service representatives and brokers; provided for 
new fees related to continuing education and provided that these fees, as well as certain existing fees for agent 
licenses and appointments and certain existing fees for service representatives’ licenses, be deposited to the 
Insurance Agents and Brokers Continuing Education Fund which was created in this act. (See Acts 2001, No. 702.) 

Acts 1996, No. 692, p. 1161 

Created the Insurance Department Fund, to be used for the operation of the Department of Insurance; provided that at 
the end of any fiscal year any unencumbered and unexpended balance in the Fund, up to 25% of the amount 
appropriated for that fiscal year, shall remain in the Fund and not revert to the State General Fund; provided that 50% of 
retaliatory taxes, license fees (except those deposited to the Insurance Agents and Brokers Continuing Education Fund 
pursuant to Act 1996-343) and certain other charges shall be deposited to the Insurance Department Fund. (See Acts 
2001, No. 702.) 

Acts 1998, No. 498, p. 1069 

Altered tax payment schedule from schedule shown in Acts 1993, No. 679.  

Alabama Municipal Insurance Corporation, et. al. v. State of Alabama 730 So. 2d 107 (1998) 

In March 1995 eight domestic property and casualty companies filed suit in Montgomery County Circuit Court 
challenging the constitutionality of the Insurance Premium Tax Reform Act of 1993 (see Acts 1993, No. 679 above). 
This suit alleged that the economic development credits which allow property and casualty insurers to reduce their tax 
rate by an amount dependent upon (1) the number of offices in the state and the persons employed within each of 
those offices and (2) the value of real property investments made in the state discriminates in favor of large 



Appendix – Legislative History  Page 198 

companies and is, therefore, unconstitutional. In June 1997, the Circuit Court ruled for the plaintiffs on the basis that 
the challenged tax credits violate the equal protection provisions of the Alabama Constitution and declared the 
premium tax as it applied to all property and casualty companies void. However, on May 22, 1998, the Alabama 
Supreme Court reversed the Circuit Court judgment and remanded the case to the trial court for further proceedings for 
an order consistent with the Supreme Court opinion. The Alabama Supreme Court denied a rehearing on February 19, 
1999. On October 4, 1999, the U.S. Supreme Court denied the taxpayers’ petition for a writ of certiorari and let stand 
the ruling of the Alabama Supreme Court. 

Acts 1999, 2nd Ex. Sess., No. 665, p. 131 

Reduced the credit for franchise or privilege taxes paid to the state from 100% of the amount paid to 60% of the 
amount paid, effective for all taxable years beginning after December 31, 1999. 

Acts 2001, No. 702, p. 1509 

Established the current company and producer (formerly agent/broker) licensing fee structure (Section 27-4-2) and the 
current continuing education fee structure (Section 27-8A-9); and provided that producer and service representative 
annual license renewal fees, continuing education compliance form late filing fees, continuing education course 
provider initial and annual renewal fees, and continuing education course approval filing fees be deposited to the 
Insurance Department Fund, rather than to the Insurance Agents and Brokers Continuing Education Fund (which was 
eliminated by this act). 

Acts 2002, No. 429, p. 1108 

Provided a credit against the insurance premium tax for investments by insurance companies in certified capital 
companies, as defined in Section 40-14B-1(4), Code of Alabama 1975. The credits against the premium tax cannot 
begin until calendar year 2004 and cannot exceed $12.5 million per year or $100 million in total for the life of the 
program. 

Acts 2006, No. 299, p. 614 

Provided for the biennial (instead of annual) renewal of licenses for insurance producers, service representatives and 
adjusters; doubled the license renewal fees for such licenses; required individuals to complete 20 hours of pre-
licensing education for each major line of authority before qualifying to take the insurance producer examination for 
those lines of authority; required insurance producers and service representatives to complete 24 hours of continuing 
education on a biennial basis with a certain number of the hours to be on producer ethics or business practices 
(formerly 12 hours annually with no ethics class requirement); authorized the commissioner to promulgate annual to 
biennial license transition rules; and provided for an adjustment of licensing fees as necessary to accommodate 
biennial licensing. 

Acts 2006, No. 509, p. 1153 

Provided for the regulation, licensure, taxation, and operation of captive insurance companies. 

Acts 2007, No. 472, p. 993 

Extended the insurance premium tax credits for investments by insurance companies in certified capital companies to 
provide additional credits to insurers that provide venture capital to a certified capital company. The credits issued 
cannot exceed $100 million for all years in which the premium tax credits are allowed. Additionally, the amount of 
credits issued may not exceed 5% of the certified investor’s vested premium tax credit for any tax year until 2014, at 
which time 17.5% of the vested credit may be taken. 
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Acts 2008, No. 391, p. 742 

Established the Alabama Coastal Captive Insurance Company Act; removed the prohibition of captive insurers from 
providing homeowners insurances; and provided for licensure and regulation of coastal captive insurance companies. 

Acts 2009, No. 500, p. 924 

Established an insurance premium discount or insurance rate reduction for homeowners who build, rebuild, or retrofit 
insurable property to resist hurricane or other catastrophic windstorm events. 

Acts 2011, No. 537, p. 949 

Established the Surplus Lines Insurance Multi-State Compliance Act; and levied a 6% tax on the direct premiums of 
surplus line insurance less return premiums and taxes collected. 

Acts 2011, No. 556, p. 1039 

Provided for title insurers to issue closing or settlement protection, includes Insurance Commissioner’s approval of 
forms, fees, and notice to real estate purchasers (Section 27-3-6.1). 

Acts 2011, No. 637, p. 1544 

Provided for the licensing of independent insurance adjusters, apprentice independent adjusters, and emergency 
independent adjusters; granted the Insurance Commissioner authority to regulate independent adjusters; and amended 
fee schedule for adjusters.  

Acts 2011, No. 643, p. 1638 

Established the Strengthen Alabama Homes Program; and provided for the application for and distribution of grant 
funds to homeowners and nonprofits for retrofitting property against loss due to hurricane, tornado, or other 
catastrophic windstorm events. 

Acts 2012, No. 312, p. 685 

Eliminated the insurance producer lines of authority for automobile and industrial fire and provided a transition for 
existing producer licenses; added travel, crop, and portable electronics insurance as limited lines insurance; required 
fingerprinting and background checks for applicants; and provided for portable electronics insurance policy licensure 
and fees as a limited lines insurance producer.  

Acts 2012, No. 374, p. 934 

Established an insurance premium tax credit for insurers providing wind and hail coverage to coastal areas of 
Alabama.  Insurers may claim 20-35% of insurance premium tax due for coastal property owners with the credit varying 
by zone.  

Acts 2012, No. 397, p. 1078 

Provided for the licensure of title insurance agents and repealed previous certification requirements. 

Acts 2012, No. 429, p. 1170 

Established the Insurance Fraud Investigation Unit and Crime Prevention Act; authorized the Department of Insurance 
to investigate insurance fraud; created the Insurance Fraud Unit within the department, as well as the Insurance Fraud 
Unit Fund; levied an annual $200 assessment on each insurer in the state to be used for purposes of the act; and 
subjected health maintenance organizations to regulations adopted by the Commissioner of Insurance. 
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Acts 2013, No. 213, p. 489 

Further provided for the regulation and licensure of travel insurance (Section 27-7-5.2), added travel insurance to the 
definition of limited line insurance (Section 27-7-1), and changed the definition of travel to reference Section 27-7-5.2 
(Section 27-7-14.1). 

Acts 2014, No. 219, p. 690 

Provided for the dissolution of the Alabama Health Insurance Plan. 

Acts 2014, No. 420, p. 1535 

Amended the Alabama Wind Pool Plan to revise zones referenced in the Plan, to limit the amount of insurance 
premium tax credits claimable annually to $50,000 total, provided for reservation of tax credits, and eliminated the 
requirement that premiums must be at least 12% less than the premium in the Wind Pool Plan to receive tax credit. 

Acts 2015, No. 195, p. 566 

Increased various fees collected by the Department of Insurance and paid by insurance producers, service 
representatives, brokers, and adjusters; and creates a new producer annual appointment late fee of $250. 

Acts 2016, No. 191, p. 446 

Further provides for the regulation and licensure of captive insurance companies. Allows the issuance of provisional 
licenses; lowered the required capital and surplus levels; capped the maximum annual aggregate premium tax payment 
at $100,000; created examination expense tax credits; and allowed proration of minimum tax due by companies 
licensed for less than a year or companies that surrendered their license. 

Acts 2019, No. 392 

Removed limited deposits of Insurance Premium Tax to Education Trust Fund beginning on October 1, 2020, changing 
distribution to: 

(a) Special Mental Health Trust Fund - $4,525,338 

(b) State General Fund – all other premium tax collected. 

Note Regarding Local Rates: 

Counties may not impose premium, license, or privilege taxes on insurance companies (Section 27-4A-5). 
Municipalities may impose a tax on fire and marine insurance companies not to exceed 4% per $100 of the gross 
premiums, less return premiums, on policies on property located in the municipality (Section 11-51-120). 

Interest on State Deposits 
Acts 1967, No. 3, p. 336 

Granted the general authority of State Treasurer to deposit funds in state depositories and to earn interest on time 
deposits. 

Acts 1975, No. 1, p. 57 

Provided that an increased amount of state funds could be deposited in interest-bearing accounts. 

Acts 1977, No. 45, p. 1460 

Further amended provisions for determining interest to be paid on state funds and specifically allowed for investment 
in repurchase agreements. 
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Acts 1983, No. 80, p. 86 

Provided that interest earned on state deposits would be paid monthly to the State Treasurer. 

Acts 1988, No. 162, p. 256 

Allowed the treasurer to enter into agreements with state lending institutions at rates of interest lower than the 
prevailing market rate to enable the respective state lending institutions to offer certain agriculture and business loans 
at less than the prevailing market rate; and provided that this provision (plan of linked deposits) would terminate at the 
end of FY 1991. (This termination date was extended by Acts 1991, No. 720; Acts 1993, No. 351; Acts 1995, No. 257; 
Acts 1999, 2nd Ex. Sess., No. 659; Acts 2003, No. 304; and Acts 2006, No. 416). See also Acts 2007, No. 397. 

Acts 1989, No. 868, p. 1743 

Authorized the treasurer to invest in six months and one-year U.S. Treasury obligations. 

Acts 1990, No. 638, p. 1172 

Eliminated certain requirements related to determination of income from time deposits, funds needed for projected 
monthly expenditures and investment of funds in the treasury 30 days or less; and provided that mortgage-backed 
securities may be used as security for state money deposited in state depositories. 

Acts 1991, No. 570, p. 1052 

Authorized state agencies the administrative option to require the timely electronic remittance of immediately 
available funds by any person, corporation or partnership for obligations due to the state agency of $100,000 or more 
($50,000 or more effective January 1, 1993; and $25,000 or more effective January 1, 1994). 

Acts 1992, No. 169, p. 279 

Changed the types of financial instruments available to the treasurer for investment of state funds. A limit of 20% of 
total state monies is available for investment in bonds, notes, Treasury bills or in obligations of any agency or 
instrumentality of the U.S. The limit is also applied to money market mutual funds solely in securities otherwise 
authorized by provisions of this section of the Code of Alabama 1975. The result was a broadening of investment 
opportunities for the treasurer. 

Acts 1996, No. 764, p. 1349 

Authorized the state to pay state depositories for: (1) the transfer or removal of funds; (2) item handling charges; or (3) 
other services performed by the depository. 

Acts 2000, No. 748, p. 1669 

Established the Security of Alabama Funds Enhancement Act (SAFE). 

Acts 2003, No. 305, p. 723 

Modified the list of securities and instruments that are eligible to be used as collateral for state monies held in state 
depositories to include other U.S. states’ direct obligations; clarified the authority given to the State Treasurer to 
approve or disapprove any collateral for public deposits, and further clarified the interrelationship between the 
provisions of the SAFE Act of 2000, public deposits, and the requirement of pledged collateral. 

Acts 2004, No. 486, p. 904 

Amended the statute relating to interest paid on linked deposits so that the rate of interest on a one-year linked 
deposit and on a two-year linked deposit is two percent below the most recent weekly average one-year constant 
maturity yield and two-year constant maturity yield respectively as published by the Federal Reserve but in no event 



Appendix – Legislative History  Page 202 

shall the interest rate on either deposit be less than one percent. On one-year time deposits the rate is based on the 
weekly average one-year constant maturity yield as published by the Federal Reserve for the calendar week 
immediately preceding the contract. 

Acts 2007, No. 397, p. 771 

Repealed the 1988 Linked Deposit Program and established the Linked Deposit Program of 2007. 

Acts 2012, No. 208, p. 348 

Amended the statute relating to the types of investments the State Treasurer may invest in with qualified public 
depositories. 

Judicial Fees and Fines 
Acts 1935, No. 240, p. 632 

Provided that fines and forfeitures collected by the district courts upon conviction of violation of game and fish laws 
or rules and regulations promulgated there under shall be deposited to the Game and Fish Fund; and provided for a 
solicitor’s fee of $5 upon conviction of violation of game and fish laws and imposition of a fine or penalty (see Act 
1945-449 and Act 1995-544). 

Acts 1945, No. 449, p. 687 

Eliminated $5 solicitor’s fee provided by Act 1935-240 (see Act 1995-544). 

Acts 1964, 1st Ex. Sess., No. 244, p. 335 

Provided for additional penalty of $1 upon conviction in any state or city court of a moving traffic violation to be 
credited to Driver Education and Training Fund and to be used as follows: (1) 90% to be used by the Department of 
Education for driver education and (2) 10% for administrative expenses of State Safety Coordinating Committee. 

Acts 1965, 2nd Ex. Sess., No. 60, p. 85 

Provided for “fair trial tax” of $1 on all criminal cases docketed in any court except the Supreme Court, Court of 
Appeals, or cases in the mayor’s, recorders, or municipal courts if the offense charged was a violation of a municipal 
ordinance; provided that the tax be remitted to the Fair Trial Tax Fund and be expended for indigent defense; and 
provided that any unexpended balance in the Fair Trial Tax Fund at the end of a fiscal year shall revert to the State 
General Fund. 

Acts 1969, No. 999, p. 1855 

Provided for additional court cost of $1 for each moving traffic violation, $5 for each misdemeanor, and $10 for each 
felony conviction to be deposited to the Alabama Peace Officers' Annuity and Benefit Fund and excluded Conservation 
law violations. 

Acts 1971, No. 1210, p. 2104 

Deleted language in Act 1969-999 which excluded Conservation law violations from the provisions of the act. 

Acts 1971, No. 2101, p. 3371 

Specifically included Conservation law violations in additional court costs designated for Peace Officers' Annuity and 
Benefit Fund (see Acts 1969-999 and 1971-1210). 
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Acts 1971, No. 2421, p. 3853 

Amended Act 1965-60 to provide that the fair trial tax (1) also be levied in suits at law or in equity; (2) be increased 
from $1 to $2; (3) be levied in all courts except cases in the mayor’s, recorders, or municipal courts when the offense 
charged is a violation of a municipal ordinance - except, however, if cases in such courts involve an offense which is 
also a violation of state law; (4) in counties with a public defender, a portion be collected in that county and expended 
for support of that office; and (5) any unexpended balance remaining in the Fair Trial Tax Fund at the end of a fiscal 
year shall not revert to the State General Fund. 

Acts 1975, No. 1205, p. 2384 

Implemented new Judicial Article of the Constitution of Alabama of 1901 (Amendment No. 328) by establishing Unified 
Judicial System for the state, including uniform court costs (see act for fee schedule). Prior to 1975, the various court 
fees and fines were collected and distributed within the counties. 

Acts 1976, No. 564, p. 763 

Provided for $35 fee for report of sales of abandoned automobiles, to be paid to the circuit court. 

Acts 1978, No. 617, p. 877 

Provided that municipal court clerks, instead of remitting receipts from the fair trial tax to the State General Fund, shall 
pay those receipts into the general fund of the municipality, to be expended by that municipality for defense of 
indigents in that municipality’s courts, with any fines not expended for that purpose to revert to the state treasury. 

Acts 1979, No. 751, p. 1336 

Established organizational options for existing and future county law libraries. For those existing libraries opting to 
come under the provisions of this act and for new libraries organized under the provisions of this act, a library fee of 
$2 shall be paid in all cases and causes wherein a docket or filing fee is paid in the district and circuit courts of the 
various counties wherein this act is in effect. 

Acts 1980, No. 634, p. 1198 

Provided for a distinct, uniform $25 docket fee for juvenile cases and provided for distribution thereof and eliminated 
the distinction between moving and non-moving traffic violations for docket fee purposes. 

Acts 1980, No. 635, p. 1201 

Provided for a sliding scale fee to be collected from the proceeds of all judicial sales and remitted to State General 
Fund. 

Acts 1981, No. 675, p. 1099 

Clarified that the fee on judicial sales provided by Act 1980-635 does not apply to judicial sales in probate courts. 

Acts 1981, No. 716, p. 1203 

Provided for a $5 increase in docket fees in every criminal and civil action docketed in the municipal, district, and 
circuit courts to be distributed to the Fair Trial Tax Fund (resulted in increase of from $2 to $7 of total docket fee 
designated for the Fair Trial Tax Fund). 

Acts 1981, No. 864, p. 1654 

Provided for an increase of $5 for misdemeanors and violations, $10 for felonies, and $5 for juvenile cases in district 
and circuit court costs to be distributed to the Peace Officers’ Standards and Training Fund for law enforcement 
training. 
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Acts 1983, No. 724, p. 1179 

Provided for an increase from $1 to $1.50 in court costs provided by Act 1964-244 for traffic violations to fund courses 
of instruction in the driving of trucks. 

Acts 1983, No. 744, p. 1225 

Provided for the following increases in court costs for civil cases: $5 for small claims cases, $8 for other district court 
cases, and $15 for circuit court cases; increased by $10 juvenile, traffic, ordinance violation, and criminal cases in 
district and circuit courts and increased associated service fees (generally by $2); and provided that the increased 
docket fees be deposited to the State General Fund.  

Acts 1984, No. 658, p. 1308 

Provided for increases in court costs of $2 for traffic violations, $10 for misdemeanor violations, and $15 for felony 
violations to fund the Alabama Crime Victims Compensation Commission. 

Acts 1984, 1st Ex. Sess., No. 732, p. 68 

Provided that the fee collected from proceeds of judicial sales (see Act 1980-635) be levelized at 1%; and provided that 
$1 of each periodic payment made through the courts for alimony, child support, or court-related restitution be 
remitted to the State General Fund. 

Acts 1987, No. 405, p. 575 

Increased court fees and costs as follows: civil cases in district court from $38 to $59, civil cases in circuit court from 
$55 to $95, jury demand from $15 to $50, traffic infractions in district court from $37.50 to $38, misdemeanors and 
ordinance violations from $55 to $60, and  felonies from $102 to $130; increased associated service fees; provided for 
distribution of the increased fees to the State General Fund and county general funds; and provided for the 
appropriation of the fee increases from the State General Fund to the judiciary and district attorneys for FY 1988. 

Acts 1987, No. 638, p. 1142 

Provided for an increase in court costs for traffic violations from $1.50 to $2. Of this increase, $.10 was designated for 
driver education by the Department of Education (for a total of $1), $.10 was designated for the payment of 
administrative expenses of the State Safety Coordinating Committee (for a total of $.20), and the remaining $.30 
increase plus $.15 formerly designated for truck driver education was designated to the Alabama Traffic Safety Center 
Fund to be used by institutions under the control of the State Board of Education to conduct programs in traffic, 
motorcycle, and boating safety (the new distribution resulted in $.35 for truck driver education). 

Acts 1988, No. 658, p. 1055 

Provided that the portion of the $2 court costs for traffic violations, designated by Act 1987-638 for the use of the 
Alabama Traffic Safety Center, would not be controlled by the State Department of Education or by any institution 
under its control. 

Acts 1991, No. 433, p. 769 

Increased court costs for traffic violations from $2 to $7 and provided for distribution of that $7. Due to a change in 
the Administrative Office of Courts' interpretation of statutes affected by this act following its passage, Act 1991-824 
was established to achieve the effect intended by this act. 

  



Appendix – Legislative History  Page 205 

Acts 1991, No. 438, p. 778 

Increased docket fees as follows: traffic infraction in district courts from $38 to $40 and misdemeanors and municipal 
ordinance violations in district and circuit courts from $60 to $62. Provided that the $2 increase be deposited to the 
Police Officers' Annuity and Benefit Fund. 

Acts 1991, 1st Ex. Sess., No. 824, p. 224 

Increased docket fees for traffic infractions in district court from $40 to $47 and levied a docket fee of $8.50 for traffic 
offenses in municipal courts, with the increase to be distributed to the Drivers' Fund. Repealed the $2 levied in Section 
32-5-313 and added an overall $7 increase to the existing $1.50 designated for the Drivers' Fund for a total of $8.50 
($6.50 net increase) to the Fund. Provided that of the $8.50 deposited to the Drivers' Fund, $1.50 will go to the 
Department of Public Safety for implementation of the Commercial Driver's License program, with the remaining $7 
distributed as follows: 21% to the State Department of Education for driver education; 36% to the State Department of 
Postsecondary Education (to be distributed to certain technical colleges for truck driver training); 3% to the State 
Safety Coordinating Committee; 30% to the Catastrophic Trust Fund for Special Education; and 10% to the Alabama 
Traffic Safety Center Fund. 

Acts 1992, No. 227, p. 562 

Increased docket fees as follows: small claims cases filed in district court from $20 to $25; civil cases filed in district 
court from $59 to $74; civil cases filed in circuit court from $95 to $110; civil case jury demand fees from $50 to $51; 
traffic infractions in district court from $47 to $62; misdemeanors and municipal ordinance violations in district and 
circuit courts from $62 to $87; felonies in district and circuit courts from $130 to $155; and juvenile cases from $40 to 
$55. Provided that all increased fees be deposited to the State General Fund except the additional $1 jury demand fee 
(which was directed to the Department of Youth Services for the payment of juvenile probation officers' salaries). 
Provided for the amendatory fees provided by this act to terminate during FY 1992 and FY 1993 when the amounts 
appropriated from the State General Fund to the judiciary by this act for those fiscal years was collected from said 
amendatory fees. Further provided that the amendatory fees terminate on September 30, 1994 (see Act 1993-133). 

Acts 1992, 2nd Ex. Sess., No. 677, p. 58 

Levied a criminal history processing fee (additional court cost) of $10 on any person convicted of a crime in municipal, 
district, or circuit court, excluding traffic cases that do not involve driving under the influence of alcohol or controlled 
substances, and conservation and juvenile cases. $7 of each $10 fee is to be deposited to the Public Safety 
Automated Fingerprint Identification System Fund, and the remaining $3 is to be deposited to the Court Automation 
Fund (see Act 1993-255 and Act 1993-641 for further provisions regarding expenditure of monies deposited to the 
Court Automation Fund). 

Acts 1993, No. 133, p. 189 

Amended Act 1992-227 to provide that fees generated by that act would be deposited in the State General Fund and 
the increase in court fees provided by that act would not terminate as provided in that act but would, instead, be 
effective until October 1, 1995. 

Acts 1994, No. 694, p. 1334 

Provided that, in addition to any other court costs and fees authorized, any municipal governing body may, by majority 
vote, levy additional court costs and fees up to an amount not to exceed the county court costs and fees on each case 
filed in municipal court. Any such additional court cost or fee is to be paid into a special municipal fund, the 
Corrections Fund, to be expended exclusively for the operation and maintenance of the municipal jail, other 
correctional facilities, juvenile detention center, or court complex (see Act 1995-401). 
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Acts 1994, 1st Ex. Sess., No. 804, p. 109 

Levied an additional fee (court cost) of $2 in municipal cases and in district and circuit court criminal and civil cases 
(excluding parking violations and small claims cases); in bond forfeiture proceedings, upon initiation of attachment, 
garnishment or execution proceedings; and upon the issuance of any alias or capias warrant of arrest. The fee is to be 
deposited to the Alabama DNA Database Fund and be used by the Director of the Alabama Department of Forensic 
Sciences for the exclusive purposes of Act 1994-804. 

Acts 1995, No. 401, p. 835 

Amended Act 1994-694 to clarify that “county court costs and fees” referenced in that act means court costs and fees 
in the district court of the county. 

Acts 1995, No. 509, p. 1018 

Amended Act 1993-133 to remove the October 1, 1995 termination date. 

Acts 1995, No. 544, p. 1142 

Provided for a district attorney’s fee upon conviction of violation of game and fish laws, in the same manner as taxed 
in other cases involving criminal violations in the district court (see Act 1935-240 and Act 1945-449). 

Acts 1995, No. 733, p. 1567 

Levied an additional fee of $100 upon conviction in any state or municipal court of certain drug offenses with the 
additional fee to be deposited, after deduction of a 1% administrative fee, in the Alabama Forensic Services Trust 
Fund, a revolving fund created by this act, and expended by the Alabama Department of Forensic Sciences. 

Acts 1996, No. 752, p. 1323 

Increased the jurisdictional limits of small claims courts from $1,500 to $3,000, effective July 1, 1996, but provided 
that docket fees for cases in small claims court in which the matter in controversy exceeds $1,500 would be the same 
as the docket fees for cases in the district court that are not small claims cases. 

Acts 1997, No. 945, p. 515 

Increased from $10 to $30 the criminal history processing fee levied by Act 1992-677 (see above) and provided that 
the additional $20 fee be distributed as follows: (1) $3 to the Public Safety Automated Fingerprint Identification (AFIS) 
Fund; (2) $2 to the Court Automation Fund of the Unified Judicial System; (3) $10 to the Criminal Justice Information 
System (CJIS) Automation Fund (which was created in this act); and (4) $5 to the Forensic Services Fund. 

Acts 1998, No. 671, p. 1475 

Provided that court clerks remit fines collected for driving while license is suspended, cancelled or revoked, or without 
a license directly to the State Comptroller (rather than to the Director of Public Safety); that the $50 penalty levied in 
such cases be automatic (need not be specifically assessed by the judge); and that the fee be collected in municipal 
court cases. 

Acts 1999, No. 427, p. 759 

Increased docket fees as follows: small claims cases filed in district court from $25 to $35; civil cases filed in district 
court from $74 to $109; civil cases filed in circuit court from $110 to $145; traffic infractions in district court from $62 
to $97; misdemeanors and municipal ordinance violations in district and circuit courts from $87 to $122; felonies in 
district and circuit courts from $155 to $190; juvenile cases from $55 to $90; and bond forfeiture in district and circuit 
courts from $35 to $70. The amounts above included the additional $5 increase which became effective October 1, 
2000. The initial increase (the current fee amount minus $5 for each case type) was effective June 10, 1999. Except 
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for small claims cases filed in district court and civil cases filed in circuit court, the act provided that the immediate 
increases be deposited as follows: $9 to the Fair Trial Tax Fund; $16 to the State General Fund; $5 to the Advanced 
Technology and Data Exchange Fund (which was created by this act), and effective October 1, 2000, that the additional 
$5 be deposited into the Fair Trail Tax Fund. In small claims cases, the $5 increase, effective June 10, 1999, and the 
additional $5 increase which became effective October 1, 2000, are deposited into the Fair Trial Tax Fund. The 
increased fees in civil cases in circuit court are distributed as follows: $13 to the Fair Trial Tax Fund; $12 to the State 
General Fund; $5 to the Advanced Technology and Data Exchange Fund; and, effective October 1, 2000, an additional 
$5 to the Fair Trial Tax Fund. The act also increased by $30 costs assessed in municipal courts upon conviction of a 
municipal violation. Costs for a traffic violation increased from $42.50 to $72.50 and costs for a non-traffic violation 
from $76 to $106. The cost increase is distributed as follows: $9 to the Fair Trial Tax Fund; $2 to the municipal general 
fund; $3 to the Advanced Technology and Data Exchange Fund; and $16 to the State General Fund.  

Acts 2000, No. 746, p. 1667 

Provided that court costs assessed against persons convicted of game and fish violations would not exceed the fine 
for the violation except for convictions for night hunting or hunting on the lands of another. Does not apply where court 
costs are by constitutional amendment or where such costs are pledged for the repayment of bonds. 

Acts 2000, No. 800, p. 1901 

Provided that the $1.50 to the Department of Public Safety for implementation of the Commercial Driver’s License 
program of the total of $8.50 deposited to the Drivers’ Fund (pursuant to Act 1991-824) would be transferred to the 
Highway Traffic Safety Fund for law enforcement purposes beginning October 1, 2000. 

Acts 2003, No. 402, p. 1170 

Provided that the $35 fee for report of sales of abandoned automobiles (see Act 1976-564) does not apply if the funds 
paid for such sales are equal to or less than $35. 

Acts 2004, No. 636, p. 1452 

Increased docket fees as follows: 

• Civil cases filed in district court in which the amount of controversy exceeds $3,000 but does not exceed 
$10,000 from $109 to $198 

• Civil cases, other than domestic relations and cases in which the matter of controversy does not exceed 
$50,000, filed in circuit court from $145 to $297 

• Civil cases in circuit court in which the matter of controversy exceeds $50,000 from $145 to $197 

• Modification or enforcement of an existing domestic relations court order from $145 to $248 

• Jury demand fee from $51 to $100 

• Witness subpoena from $8 to $12 

• Attachment from $15 to $28 

• Garnishment from $15 to $28 

• Execution from $7 to $28 
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Added fees as follows: 

• $50 for each additional plaintiff (not more than $500 regardless of the number of additional plaintiffs) 
for civil cases in district court 

• $297 for a counterclaim, cross claim, third party complaint, third party motion, or an action for a 
declaratory judgment filed in a civil action in circuit court 

• $297 for a motion or complaint to appear as an intervener or a third-party plaintiff in a civil action in 
circuit court other than cases filed on a domestic relations docket 

• $100 for each additional plaintiff (not more than $1,000 regardless of the number of additional plaintiffs) 
for civil cases (other than domestic relations) in circuit court 

• $50 for a dispositive motion 

The fee increases or additions were distributed to the following funds: 

• State General Fund 

• Fair Trial Tax Fund 

• Advanced Technology and Data Exchange Fund 

• County General Fund 

• DNA Database Fund 

Acts 2006, No. 414, p. 1027 

Repealed Section 12-19-76, which provided for a circuit court fee for the filing of a report of the sale of an abandoned 
motor vehicle, if applicable. (See Act 1976-564 and Act 2003-402). 

Acts 2009, No. 768, p. 2355 

Increased the DNA database fee from $2 to $12 for: (1) all criminal municipal, district and circuit court cases; (2) bond 
forfeiture proceedings; and (3) certain other court proceedings. Based on the Administrative Office of Courts’ 
interpretation of the act, effective August 1, 2009, the $2 DNA database fee is no longer imposed in juvenile cases. The 
fee is distributed to the Alabama DNA Database Fund and the Citizenship Trust according to the schedule specified in 
the act with one-half of the receipts distributed to the Trust being allocated to the David Mathews Center for Civic Life. 

Acts 2010, No. 438, p. 704 

Established a solicitor’s fee to be imposed in juvenile, traffic, criminal, and quasi-criminal cases in juvenile, district, 
and municipal courts statewide. The solicitor’s fee, which is in addition to other court costs, will be equal to the Fair 
Trial Tax Fund fee (currently $21 in state courts and $16 in municipal courts) imposed in each case and will be 
distributed as follows: (1) $3 of the fee imposed will be retained by the clerk of the circuit court and used for operation 
of the clerk’s office, and (2) the remainder will be deposited into the Solicitor’s Fund or the District Attorney’s Fund in 
the county where the case is heard or to the fund that may be hereafter prescribed by law for the solicitor’s fee. The 
solicitor’s fee may be expended by the district attorney for payment of any legitimate law enforcement purpose. The 
act does not supersede local laws established on or after the effective date of this bill. Upon repeal of a local act 
establishing a solicitor’s fee, the county shall collect the fee pursuant to this act. 
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Acts 2011, No. 621, p. 1429 

Doubled the penalty for a person convicted of driving under the influence (DUI) if that person has a blood alcohol 
content of at least 0.15 percent within four hours of operating a motor vehicle. The penalty for a person convicted of 
DUI if a child under the age of 14 was present in the vehicle must be at least double the penalty otherwise applicable. 

Acts 2012, No. 266, p. 514 

Authorized the appointment of former or retired judges to serve as private judges in certain district and circuit court 
cases (domestic relations, contract, or tort cases) and required a $100 filing fee for a petition to appoint a private 
judge, with $50 going to the Administrative Office of Courts and $50 going to the office of the clerk in the county in 
which the case is pending. 

Acts 2012, No. 535, p. 1582 

Provided for an increase in docket fees in certain civil and criminal cases in circuit, district, and municipal courts, a 
bail bond filing fee, and a bail bond fee. $45 increase in civil cases; $15 increase in small claims cases; $40 increase in 
criminal cases; and $26 increase in traffic cases. $35 filing fee on each bond executed. Bail bond fee varies. 

Acts 2013, No. 193, p. 360 

Eliminated an existing conflict of law by raising the contempt fine for failure to pay the bail bond filing fee in municipal 
court to a maximum of $500 as provided in Act 2012-535 and extended the provisions of Act 2012-353 beyond 
September 30, 2015. 

Acts 2013, No. 353, p. 1265 

Allowed municipalities to establish pretrial diversion programs. 

Acts 2013, No. 361, p. 1290 

Established a statewide pretrial diversion program. 

Acts 2014, No. 166, p. 472 

Amended law relating to the Advanced Technology and Data Exchange Fund and court payments to provide that court 
clerks may accept charge cards, in addition to credit and debit cards, for court payments. Provided that court clerks 
shall impose a fee on payments made with such cards in an amount not exceeding the sum of: (1) the transaction fee 
or discount charged by the card issuer or processor and (2) any cost or fee charged pursuant to agreement between 
the Administrative Office of Courts and a contracting entity providing services in connection with the acceptance of 
payments with such cards. 

Acts 2014, No. 350, p. 1299 

Provided that the juvenile court shall have exclusive original jurisdiction over termination of parental rights 
proceedings. Included legislative intent that specifies that the original intent in the adoption of the Alabama Juvenile 
Justice Act was for the juvenile court to exercise exclusive original jurisdiction in all termination of parental rights 
proceedings. Amendatory language in this act applies retroactively to cases filed in juvenile court on or after January 
1, 2009 and before this act for the purpose of ratifying and confirming the exercise of original jurisdiction of the 
juvenile court in such cases. 

Acts 2014, No. 455, p. 1688 

Provided that in civil actions, a justice or judge shall recuse himself or herself from hearing a case based on a 
substantial campaign contribution or electioneering communication made to or on behalf of the justice or judge by a 
party to the case if: (1) a reasonable person would perceive that the judge’s ability to carry out his or her 
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responsibilities with impartiality is impaired or (2) there is a serious, objective probability of actual bias due to 
acceptance of the campaign contribution. 

Acts 2015, No. 224, p. 658 

Changed circuit court jurisdiction to provide that the court shall have concurrent jurisdiction with the district court in 
civil actions in which the matter in controversy exceeds $6,000, rather than $3,000. Changed district court jurisdiction 
to provide that the court shall have exclusive jurisdiction in civil actions in which the matter in controversy does not 
exceed $6,000, rather than $3,000, and that such cases shall be placed on the small claims docket. Provided that for 
cases in district court in which the amount in controversy exceeds $3,000 but does not exceed $10,000, including 
small claims cases, the docket fee shall be $198 and that the $50 fee for dispositive motions for certain judgements 
does not apply to small claims cases in which the amount in controversy does not exceed $3,000 (fee distributions 
remained unchanged). 

Acts 2016, No. 398, p. 1060 

Provides that certain pension, annuity, or retirement benefits under the Teachers’ Retirement System and the 
Employees’ Retirement System are subject to recovery actions involving restitution, fines, court costs, fees, or other 
financial obligations in felony criminal cases. 

Acts 2017, No. 270, p. 441 

Allows the Circuit Clerk in each judicial circuit to use money in the Circuit Clerk’s Judicial Administration Fund to 
award merit and promotional raises to court personnel.  

Acts 2018, No. 517 

Reduces the fee for ignition interlock installation and changes the distribution of the fee for persons charged with 
driving under the influence. 

Leasing or Renting of Tangible Personal Property 
Acts 1971, 1st Ex. Sess., No. 96, p. 166 

Established tax at current rates; and provided that all proceeds of the tax be deposited to the Education Trust Fund. 

Acts 1988, 2nd Ex. Sess., No. 955, p. 680 

Changed distribution of tax to 60% to the State General Fund and 40% to the Education Trust Fund. 

Note: This act was contingent upon enactment of HB 45, which amended Alabama state income tax law to conform to 
federal income tax regarding interest deductions and deductions for entertainment, meals, and travel, resulting in 
increased receipts to the Education Trust Fund. This conformity bill became Act 1988-954. 

Acts 1999, 2nd Ex. Sess., No. 650, p. 96 

Changed the distribution of tax to current distribution effective January 1, 2001. 

Note: This act was contingent upon enactment of a bill to substantially conform state income tax law to federal law 
relating to the determination of taxable income for corporations and the ratification of a Constitutional Amendment to 
increase the income tax on corporations to 6.5%. This conformity bill became Act 1999-664 and the amendment was 
ratified and designated Amendment No. 662, now appearing as Section 211.03 of the Official Recompilation of the 
Constitution of Alabama of 1901. 
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Acts 2001, No. 636, p. 1242 

Clarified that the tax may be passed on to the lessee by adding the tax to the leasing price, but if the tax is added, it 
must be included in the gross proceeds subject to the tax. Retroactive to January 1, 1988.  

Acts 2014, No. 453, p. 1685 

Amended Section 40-9-30, Code of Alabama 1975, relating to exemption from taxation and licenses, to exempt any 
items used for the treatment of illness or injury or to replace all or part of a limb or internal body part purchased by or 
on behalf of an individual pursuant to a valid prescription and covered by and billed to Medicare, Medicaid, or a health 
benefit place from state, county, and municipal sales, use, and rental and leasing taxes.  Repealed Section 40-9-39.1, 
Code of Alabama 1975, which provided a sales and use tax exemption for certain durable medical equipment, 
prosthetics, orthotics devices, and medical supplies. 

Acts 2019, No. 89 

Amended Section 40-12-222, Code of Alabama 1975, to: (1) provide that, except for lease or rental transactions of 
registered motor vehicles, when tangible personal property is the subject of a lease or rental transaction and the 
property is delivered, the applicable local privilege or license tax is based on where the property is delivered; (2) 
provide that when such tangible person property is picked up at the lessor’s rental location, the applicable local 
privilege or license tax is based on the rental location; (3) provide various rules relating to the lease of motor vehicles; 
and (4) provide retroactive effect. 

Acts 2021, No. 221 

Deleted a restriction which limited the authority of a lessor to pass on the amounts of privilege or license tax to a 
lessee in the leasing or renting of tangible personal property; and provided a privilege or license tax exemption from 
the gross proceeds accruing from a motor vehicle lease transaction that last 180 or more days and involves the 
federal, any state, county, or municipal government or entity or any entity eligible for a sales tax exemption under 
federal law or state law. 

Liquefied Petroleum Gas Board Permit Fees 
Acts 1965, No. 220, p. 305 

Established the Alabama Liquefied Petroleum Gas Board; provided that applicants in the business of selling liquefied 
petroleum gases pay a permit fee of $.35 per thousand gallons on the first million gallons sold in the state and $.25 
per thousand gallons on all amounts over one million gallons sold; provided for a minimum permit and renewal fee of 
$200 and a maximum fee of $3,000; and provided all fees collected be deposited to the Liquefied Petroleum Gas Board 
Fund. 

Acts 1979, No. 435, p. 690 

Provided for Permits A, B, C, D, and E. (See Tax Rate). 

Acts 1984, No. 293, p. 555 

Added Permit F. (See Tax Rate). 

Acts 1986, No. 531, p. 1029 

Increased fees for permit holders not otherwise covered under this act from .2% of the cost of the sale to .4% of the 
cost of the sale. 

Acts 1989, No. 535, p. 1097 

Added Permit B1. (See Tax Rate). 
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Acts 1992, No. 123, p. 213 

Increased the limit on balances which may be retained in the LP Gas Board Fund to $200,000. 

Acts 1993, No. 632, p. 1079 

Created the Liquefied Petroleum Gas Research and Education Fund; and provided that all balances in excess of 
$200,000 in the LP Gas Board Fund at the end of each fiscal year shall be transferred to the LP Gas Research and 
Education Fund. 

Acts 1994, No. 211, p. 283 

Established Permits C1 and C2 and created the Liquefied Petroleum Gas Recovery Fund. (See Tax Rate). 

Acts 1997, No 685, p. 1361 

Established Permit F1 and provided further for the use of funds in the LP Gas Research and Education Fund. Money in 
this fund could now be used for grants and contracts to fund research and education programs and to provide rebates 
for promoting use of LP gas. (See Tax Rate). 

Acts 2004, No. 87, p. 111 

Continued the existence and functioning of the Alabama Liquefied Petroleum Gas Board pursuant to the Alabama 
Sunset Law. Increased the membership of the board by adding a consumer member, permit ex officio members of the 
board to appoint designees to represent the members at board meetings, and to eliminate the credit or refund provided 
to Class A or B-1 permit holders who sell liquefied petroleum gas to end users located outside of this state.  

Acts 2004, No. 489, p. 914 

Provided for the LP Gas fee to be established by the Board and not to exceed $.005 per gallon, assessed only once per 
gallon.  

Acts 2014, No 145, p. 353 

Required existing retail, off-premise cylinder filling stations of a Class A or B-1 permit holder to obtain a Permit F to 
continue operations; abolished the Liquefied Petroleum (LP) Gas Recovery Fund and transferred its balance to the LP 
Gas Board in fiscal year 2015; and eliminated obsolete LP Gas Board Personal Bond Fund. 

Liquor Taxes, Wine Taxes, and Stores’ Profit 
Acts 1936-37, No. 66, p. 40 

Established the ABC Board and its authority to regulate the sale of alcoholic beverages. 

Acts 1943, No. 99, p. 104 

Levied the first 10% tax on the sales price of liquors and wines and credited collections to the Alcoholic Beverage 
Control Stores Fund as liquor profits. 

Acts 1955, 2nd Ex. Sess., No. 78, p. 199 

Established the second 10% levy on liquors and wines with the entire proceeds credited to the Department of Human 
Resources. 

Acts 1959, No. 312, p. 889 

Established the third 10% tax on liquors and wines and distributed 50% of the revenue to the Department of Human 
Resources and 50% to the Department of Mental Health. 
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Acts 1969, No. 550, p. 1033 

Authorized an additional 5% tax on the sales price of liquors and wines to be credited to the State General Fund. 

Acts 1978, 2nd Ex. Sess., No. 92, p. 1786 

Provided that dry counties and municipalities therein would cease to receive any share of the Alcoholic Beverage 
Control revenue and that the profits allocated to the wet counties were to be divided proportionately among those 
counties and the municipalities therein. 

Acts 1979, No. 182, p. 291 

Imposed an annual privilege or license tax of $25 on the manufacturer and a $.05 per gallon excise tax on the sale of 
native Alabama farm wines. 

Acts 1979, No. 761, p. 1360 

Repealed the 3% distributor's license tax and increased the associated filing fee from $250 to $500 and levied an 
additional excise tax of 3%. 

Acts 1980, No. 382, p. 505 

Allowed private enterprise sales of table wine in wet counties and set up a separate taxing system for table wine at a 
rate of 35% of the cost of merchandise. 

Acts 1980, No. 478, p. 749 

Established an additional 10% tax on the marked-up price of spirituous and vinous liquors to be credited to the State 
General Fund. 

Acts 1982, No. 427, p. 675 

Established an additional 2% sales tax on the marked-up price of spirituous and vinous liquors; 75% to be distributed to 
the municipality and 25% to the county from which it was collected. 

Acts 1983, No. 427, p. 607 

Provided that after June 30, 1983, any additional markup will be credited to the State General Fund. 

Acts 1983, No. 594, p. 927 

Changed tax rate on table wine. 

Acts 1988, 1st Ex. Sess., No. 869, p. 380 

Levied an additional 8% tax on the sales price of spirituous and vinous liquors to be credited to the State General Fund; 
up to 61.5% of the revenues from this tax are pledged as a secondary source of revenue for the payment of certain 
mental health bond obligations should the primary source of revenue (cigarette tax) be insufficient to pay such 
obligations. 

Acts 2001, 3rd Ex. Sess., No. 891, p. 713 

Changed the distribution of ABC store profits and prohibited transfers to the State General Fund or state agencies in 
the annual General Fund budget act. 

Acts 2001, 4th Ex. Sess., No. 1114, p. 1179 

Repealed the native farm wine tax; and repealed and reestablished the table wine tax at present rates. 
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Acts 2004, No. 266, p. 368 

Prohibited the ABC Board from increasing the markup on case lot sales of liquor and fortified wine after December 1, 
2004. 

Acts 2010, No. 135, p. 190 

Limited the amount of revenue distributed from the state liquor taxes to the State General Fund, the Public Welfare 
Trust Fund, and the Special Mental Health Fund at the amount received for fiscal year 2009 until the annual growth in 
liquor tax receipts above the fiscal year 2009 amount equals the amount of Tennessee Valley Authority (TVA) in-lieu-
of-taxes payments distributed in FY 2009 to the dry counties not served by the TVA.  Beginning with the fiscal year 
ending September 30, 2010, distributed to the dry counties not served by the TVA from the growth in state liquor taxes 
an amount up to the amount of TVA payments distributed to dry counties for fiscal year 2009 plus an amount equal to 
the percentage growth in TVA payments received by the state.  

Acts 2010, No. 607, p. 1478 

Removed the distinction provided for fortified wine and amended the definition of table wine to include wines 
previously defined as fortified wine. As a result, fortified wine will no longer be taxed as liquor. Levied a new $2.42 per 
liter tax on fortified wine and provided for the distribution of revenues.  

Lodgings (Transient Occupancy) Tax 
Acts 1955, No. 248, p. 586  

Established lodgings tax at 3% and provided that all receipts be deposited in the Education Trust Fund for teachers' 
salaries. 

Acts 1956, 1st Ex. Sess., No. 96, p. 142 

Provided that the Governor by Executive Order could authorize the Department of Revenue to allow persons subject to 
the tax, a discount not to exceed 5% of first $100 of tax levied and 2% of the tax levied over $100. 

Acts 1963, No. 269, p. 715  

Increased lodgings tax to 4% and established the distribution of proceeds: 75% to the Education Trust Fund for 
payment of teachers' salaries and 25% to the Bureau of Tourism and Travel for state travel advertising and travel 
promotion. 

Acts 1979, No. 604, p. 1068 

Increased the lodgings tax rate from 4% to 5% in 16 North Alabama counties which comprise the Alabama mountain 
lakes area and provided for the distribution of the additional tax proceeds. 

Acts 1988, 2nd Ex. Sess., No. 956, p. 681  

Changed distribution of the tax proceeds from the Education Trust Fund, for payment of teachers' salaries, to the State 
General Fund. 

Acts 1996, No. 498, p. 629 

To the exemptions from the tax, added non-profit camps and conference centers and film projects approved by the 
Alabama Film Commission that met specified requirements. 

Acts 2001, 3rd Ex. Sess., No. 968, p. 865 

Extended the number of continuous days, in order to qualify for the lodging exemption, to more than 180 days. 
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Acts 2001, 3rd Ex. Sess., No. 975, p. 908 

Excluded those working in connection with the production of an approved motion picture project certified by the 
Alabama Film Office until September 30, 2005. 

Acts 2005, 1st Ex. Sess., No. 305, p. 610 

Amended Act 2001-975 to extend the lodgings tax exemption for motion picture projects approved by the Alabama 
Film Commission to September 30, 2006. 

Acts 2009, No. 144, p. 268 

Established the Entertainment Industry Incentive Act of 2009. Exempted qualified production companies from the 
state’s portion of sales and use taxes and from all state and local lodgings taxes if a production company spends in 
the aggregate at least $150,000 in the state within a 12-consecutive month period.  

Acts 2011, No. 695, p. 2123 

Amended the Entertainment Industry Act of 2009; both expanded and redefined criteria used to determine rebates and 
exemptions; clarified that sales, use, and lodgings tax exemptions applied to the state portion only of the taxes; 
capped sales, use, and lodgings exemptions when production expenditures reach $10 million. 

Acts 2012, No. 212, p. 378 

Amended the Entertainment Industry Act of 2009 to increase aggregate annual cap on incentives from $10 million to: 
(1) $15 million for fiscal years 2013 and 2014; and (2) $20 million in subsequent fiscal years. 

Acts 2015, 1st Ex. Sess., No. 534, p. 1898 

Required entities that were statutorily exempt from the payment of lodgings taxes, both state and local, to obtain a 
certificate of exemption and annually report to the Department of Revenue exempt purchases or potentially lose their 
exemption. 

Acts 2019, No. 387 

Imposed the lodgings tax on the renting or furnishing of marine ships, tent camping, or places or spaces for motor 
homes, travel trailers, self-propelled campers or house cars, truck campers or recreational vehicles unless space or 
place is rented or furnished for a period of less than 90 continuous days.  

Note Regarding Local Levies: 

Several counties and municipalities levy local lodgings taxes. Counties may levy a lodging tax by local legislative act. 
Municipalities may levy a lodgings tax by local ordinance (per Section 11-51-90 of the Code of Alabama 1975). 

Lubricating Oil Tax 
Acts 1935, No. 194, p. 516 

Established the $.02 per gallon levy to provide for general revenue with tax receipts credited to the State Highway 
Patrol. 

Acts 1943, No. 477, p. 441 

Authorized the Department of Revenue to exempt U.S. agencies from the $.02 tax. 
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Acts 1955, No. 42, p. 259 

Changed the distribution of the $.02 per gallon tax receipts so that all receipts would be deposited after the cost of 
collection is deducted to the General Fund. 

Acts 1980, No. 427, p. 590 

Levied the additional excise tax of $.04 per gallon on gasoline, motor fuel, and lubricating oil; and provided for its 
distribution. 

Acts 1980, No. 694, p. 1397 

Exempted the sale of lubricating oil destined for out-of-state use from the $.02 tax. 

Acts 1981, No. 787, p. 1379 

Exempted local boards of education from the $.04 tax on gasoline, motor fuel, and lubricating oil. 

Acts 1987, No. 553, p. 854 

Exempted from the $.02 tax on lubricating oil private and parochial schools, city and county boards of education, 
Alabama Institute for the Deaf and Blind (AIDB), and the Department of Youth Services (DYS) School District; and 
exempted private and church school systems from the $.04 tax on lubricating oil. 

Acts 1987, No. 675, p. 1205 

Further provided for use of lubricating oil tax proceeds in municipalities to include construction of new roads and 
streets. 

Acts 1988, No. 641, p. 1027 

Exempted Class 1 municipalities (Birmingham) from the payment of all oil, gasoline, and diesel fuel taxes of any kind. 

Acts 1991, No. 665, p. 1273 

Exempted Class 2 municipalities (Mobile) from the payment of all oil, gasoline, and diesel fuel taxes of any kind. 

Acts 1991, No. 672, p. 1310 

Exempted DYS, AIDB, city and county boards of education, and private and parochial schools from all gasoline, motor 
vehicle fuel, and oil taxes. The effect of this act relative to the Lubricating Oil Tax was to exempt the DYS School 
District, AIDB and private and parochial schools from the $.04 tax. 

Acts 1995, No. 410, p. 881 

Inserted into the Code of Alabama 1975, the general exemption for DYS and AIDB granted in the Act 1991-672 above. 

Acts 2011, No. 565, p. 1084 

Beginning October 1, 2012, exempted all city and county governing bodies from the $.02 tax; class 1 (Birmingham) and 
class 2 (Mobile) were previously exempted from the $.02 tax; and all city and counties are exempted from the $.04 tax. 

Manufactured Home Registration Fee 
Acts 1961, No. 44, p. 1897 

Provided for a license tax of $3 and that house trailers would be assessed in the same manner as motor vehicles for 
ad valorem tax purposes. 
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Acts 1988, 1st Ex. Sess., No. 824, p. 265 

Removed mobile homes from motor vehicle registration requirements and classified them as residences for ad 
valorem tax purposes. 

Acts 1991, No. 694, p. 1340 

Provided for registration fee at current rates in lieu of ad valorem taxes on certain manufactured homes. 

Acts 2001, 4th Ex. Sess., No. 1098, p. 1152 

Provided that the portion of the issuance fee dedicated for use by the issuing official may be used by the issuing 
official for performance of his or her official duties. 

Acts 2019, No. 239 

Clarified that any existing transaction fees required to be paid to the Department of 

Revenue for the titling of a manufactured home are based on each unit of a manufactured home subject to titling and 
provided that manufactured homes designated as a 1999-year model or older are exempt from the vehicle certificate 
of title requirements under Chapter 20 of Title 32. 

Marriage License Fee 
Acts 1911, No. 196, p. 154 

Fee for issuance and recording of marriage license set at $1.50. 

Acts 1975, No. 556, p. 1259 

Increased fee for issuance and recording of marriage license from $1.50 to $5. 

Acts 1981, No. 813, p. 1452 

Established an additional marriage license fee of $5 for support of domestic violence facilities and provided for the 
distribution. 

Acts 1984, No. 446, p. 1040 

Increased the fee for issuance and recording of marriage license from $5 to $10. 

Acts 1987, No. 596, p. 1035 

Increased the additional marriage license fee for support of domestic violence facilities from $5 to $15. 

Acts 1999, No. 589, p. 1344 

Increased the additional marriage license fee for support of domestic violence facilities from $15 to $30. 

Acts 2015, No. 493, p. 1679 

Transferred the administration of domestic violence funds from the Office of Prosecution Services to the Alabama 
Department of Economic and Community Affairs (ADECA). Created the Domestic Violence Trust Fund (Fund) to fund 
domestic violence centers and increased the marriage license fee from $30 to $60 to be deposited to the Fund. Fines 
for violating a protection order are also deposited into the Fund. ADECA may pay administrative costs from the Fund 
but may not expend more than 8% of total available funds or the actual costs of administration, whichever is less. 10% 
of unspent and unencumbered monies at the end of the fiscal year shall be retained in the Fund with the remainder 
reverting to the State General Fund. 
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Acts 2019, No. 340 

Amends Sections 22-9A-17, 30-1-5, 30-1-12, and 30-1-16, Code of Alabama 1975, to: (1) abolish the requirement of a 
marriage license for marriages performed in this state; (2) establish requirements for a marriage document to be 
completed and signed by the parties to the marriage; (3) require the payment of a recording fee to the judge of probate 
for each marriage recorded; (4) establish that there is no requirement for a marriage ceremony in order to legitimize a 
marriage; and (5) repeal Sections 30-1-9, 30-1-10, 30-1-11, 30-1-13, and 30-1-14, Code of Alabama 1975, relating to 
marriage. 

Medicaid Provider Taxes 
Acts 1987, No. 707, p. 1245 

Created the Alabama Mothers and Babies Indigent Care Trust Fund and the Alabama Mothers and Babies Indigent Care 
Trust Board to administer the fund; and provided that funds from the trust are to be transferred to the Alabama 
Medicaid Agency to implement the Medicaid program in Alabama. The source of funds to the trust includes 
appropriations, grants, contributions, and donations and transfers from the two state teaching hospitals. 

Acts 1991, No. 124, p. 148 

Provided for a privilege tax of $.10 per prescription with a retail price of $3 or more on all providers of pharmaceutical 
services and provided for the distribution of such funds to the Alabama Health Care Trust Fund to be used for indigent 
health care and operation and maintenance expenses of the Alabama Medicaid Agency. (See note following Act 1991-
127). 

Acts 1991, No. 125, p. 152 

Created the Alabama Health Care Trust Fund as a revolving fund into which Medicaid Provider Taxes are to be 
deposited. (See note following Act 1991-127). 

Acts 1991, No. 126, p. 153 

Imposed an annual privilege tax of $999.96 per bed on nursing facilities which have an agreement to participate in the 
Alabama Medicaid Program. (See note following Act 1991-127). 

Acts 1991, No. 127, p. 158 

Defined a disproportionate share hospital and levied a privilege tax on them at the rate of 65% of their Medicaid 
occupancy, with the annual tax due to be determined by the Alabama Medicaid Agency; and provided for the Medicaid 
Agency to develop methodology for reimbursement to disproportionate share hospitals. The act had a "hold harmless 
provision" (subsequently disallowed by the federal government and eliminated in Act 1992-440) providing a reserve 
from which hospitals were to be assured a disproportionate share reimbursement not less than the taxes paid each 
fiscal year. 

Note:  Pursuant to PL 102-234, the provider specific taxes levied in 1991 and described above were disallowed by the 
federal Health Care Financing Administration as an approved method of financing the state share of financial 
participation in the Medicaid program. Broad-based taxes (a uniform tax on those in the same provider class) were 
given federal approval and were subsequently established in the 1992 Regular Session. 

Acts 1992, No. 418, p. 849 

Defined a public hospital and provided for a monthly transfer of funds, in lieu of a tax, to be made by all public 
hospitals to the Alabama Medicaid Agency, in an amount to be determined by the Medicaid Agency, to be credited to 
the Alabama Mothers and Babies Indigent Care Trust Fund. Effective January 10, 1993 through September 30, 1995. 
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Acts 1992, No. 440, p. 871 

Amended the provider tax on nursing homes to provide that the tax shall be on all such facilities; levied a tax on all 
nonpublic hospitals; excluded public hospitals, state-owned teaching hospitals, and certain rehabilitation facilities; and 
provided for the Alabama Medicaid Agency to make an annual determination regarding the methodology of 
disproportionate share reimbursement to hospitals and guaranteed that such amount would never be less than the 
1992 level. Effective January 10, 1993 through September 30, 1995. 

Acts 1993, No. 314, p. 471 

Repealed the hospital tax and provided for a refund to those nonpublic hospitals which were paying the tax under Act 
1992-440, for the month of April 1993 and thereafter; repealed the criteria for a disproportionate share hospital (DSH); 
established that the Medicaid Agency will, at the beginning of each fiscal year, promulgate regulations regarding 
disproportionate share reimbursements to disproportionate share hospitals (criteria for defining these DSH hospitals 
will also be developed by the Medicaid Agency, in accordance with federal guidelines); and provided that DSH 
payments to hospitals would not be less than the DSH cap established by the federal Health Care Financing 
Administration ($147 million), which was the 1992 level. 

Note:  Effective October 1, 1995, federal rules limited DSH payments to the cost of uncompensated care, with the 
exception of “high” DSH hospitals which can be paid a greater amount. 

Acts 1997, 1st Ex. Sess., No. 901, p. 277 

Levied a supplemental privilege tax of an additional $200.04 per bed annually, effective until December 31, 1999, on 
every nursing facility in the state. (Act 1999-409 deleted the expiration date). Authorized the Department of Revenue, 
upon the advice of the Alabama Medicaid Agency, to reduce this supplemental privilege tax if such reduction is 
required to ensure that the total revenues from the aggregate of this supplemental privilege tax and the privilege tax 
during the fiscal year are less than or equal to 6% of the total revenues received by the nursing facilities subject to the 
tax. 

Acts 1999, No. 409, p. 729 

Deleted the provision in Act 1997-901 which provided that the privilege tax on nursing facilities would expire on 
December 31, 1999. 

Acts 2002, No. 414, p. 1058 

Effective July 1, 2002, provided that Alabama citizens would pay a privilege tax of $.10 on all prescriptions filled in the 
state; and removed the exemption of prescriptions that cost less than $3.00. 

Acts 2004, No. 532, p. 1120 

Increased the supplemental privilege tax for each bed in a nursing home facility from $200.04 per bed to $900 per bed 
making the total annual privilege tax $1,899.96 per bed in a nursing facility; and increased the nursing facility 
provider’s cap on reportable cost per patient from cost plus 10% to cost plus 11%. 

Acts 2009, No. 549, p. 1454 

Levied a hospital assessment on privately owned hospitals of 5.38% of net patient revenue for fiscal years 2010 and 
2011. 

Acts 2010, No. 520, p. 879 

Increased the supplemental tax on nursing home facilities to $1,063.08 per bed effective September 1, 2010 through 
August 31, 2011.  
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Acts 2011, No. 614, p. 1376 

Increased the supplemental tax on nursing home facilities to $1,603.08 per bed effective October 1, 2011 through 
September 30, 2013. Provided the inflation factor applied is zero. 

Acts 2011, No. 615, p. 1383 

Extended the hospital assessment on privately owned hospitals and decreased it to 5.14% of net patient revenue for 
fiscal years 2012 and 2013.  

Acts 2012, No. 536, p. 1589 

Added a surcharge of $131.25 to each licensed bed in a nursing facility for the period May 20, 2012 through September 
20, 2012 at which time the surcharge was reduced to $43.75 per licensed nursing facility bed per month and remain in 
effect until August 31, 2013. 

Acts 2013, No. 240, p. 577 

Extended the current supplemental privilege assessment and monthly surcharge on nursing home beds by two years 
through August 31, 2015. 

Acts 2013, No. 246, p. 595 

Extended for three years the hospital assessment on all private hospitals and increased the rate to 5.5 percent of net 
patient revenue through August 2016. If approved by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services, this act would 
also extend the use of Certified Public Expenditures (CPE) for outpatient services provided by Disproportionate Share 
Hospitals and discontinue use of CPEs for all other inpatient and outpatient hospital services; and provided that 
beginning in FY 2014, inpatient and outpatient services provided to Medicaid recipients by public and state-owned 
hospitals shall be funded using intergovernmental transfers. 

Acts 2015, No. 458, p. 1498 

Extended the $1,603.08 supplemental privilege assessment and $43.75 monthly surcharge on nursing home beds 
through August 31, 2017. 

Acts 2015, 2nd Ex. Sess., No. 536, p. 1919 

Added a secondary supplemental assessment on each bed in a nursing facility in fiscal years 2016 and 2017 at an 
annual rate of $401.28. 

Acts 2015, 2nd Ex. Sess., No. 537, p. 1922  

Imposed a 15 cents supplemental privilege tax on each prescription filled or refilled for a citizen of Alabama during 
fiscal years 2016 and 2017. 

Acts 2016, No. 299, p. 749 

Extended the 5.5% hospital assessment imposed on privately operated hospitals in the state, currently scheduled to 
expire in fiscal year 2016, through fiscal year 2017. Required the Medicaid Agency to use intergovernmental transfers 
(IGTs) to obtain federal matching funds for all hospital payments. Required payments for inpatient services be based 
upon all patient refined diagnosis-related groups (APR-DRG) and outpatient services be based upon a set fee for an 
outpatient encounter or encounter rate. Changed the way IGTs were calculated and limited the amount the Medicaid 
Agency could receive from IGTs to the amount received in IGTs and CPEs in FY 2016 and provided that those IGTs 
would not exceed $324,858,765, except if a private hospital has a change of status and becomes subject to 
intergovernmental transfers, only if RCOs were implemented on or before September 30, 2017. Repealed Section 40-
26B-77 (Hospital Certified Public Expenditures). Provided base payments for outpatient services in addition to any 
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access payments or other payments made by Medicaid to hospitals. Provided that if Medicaid hospital reimbursement 
rates are less than rates approved by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services, the hospital assessment will 
cease to be imposed. 

Acts 2016, 1st Ex. Sess., No. 452, p. 1233 

Repealed the 15 cents supplemental privilege tax that was imposed by Act 537 during the 2nd Extraordinary Session of 
2015. This act required the Alabama Medicaid Agency to refund the privilege tax collected under this supplement tax 
back to pharmacies through monthly credits beginning October 1, 2016.   

Acts 2017, No. 381, p. 1222 

Extended the supplemental privilege assessment ($1,603.08 annually) and the monthly surcharge ($43.75 per 
month/$525 annually) on nursing home beds to August 31, 2018. 

Acts 2017, No. 382, p. 1224 

Extended the 5.5% percent assessment on net patient revenue levied on all private hospitals as a cost of doing 
business in the state for the fiscal year ending September 30, 2018 and requires that the funds for the hospital 
assessment are deposited into the Alabama Health Care Trust Fund to be used by the Medicaid Agency to pay for 
inpatient and outpatient hospital services throughout the state. Also limited the intergovernmental transfers (IGTs) 
provided to the Medicaid Agency, if Regional Care Organizations (RCOs) were implemented, to $333,434,048, and 
provided that if RCOs are not implemented the IGTs would not exceed the amount of state funds necessary for the 
Medicaid Agency to obtain those federal matching funds to pay publicly owned and state-owned hospitals. Further, 
required that, if the Medicaid Agency moved to making capitated payments through RCOs prior October 1, 2017, there 
would not be retroactive payments and required that the Agency obtain approval from the Hospital Services and 
Reimbursement Panel prior to making any change to the payment methodologies if Medicaid does not implement 
RCOs.   

Acts 2018, No. 542 

Extended the supplemental privilege assessment ($1,603.08 annually), the secondary privilege assessment of $401.28 
annually, and the monthly surcharge ($43.75 per month/$525 annually) on nursing home beds to August 31, 2019; and 
extended the requirement that the nursing facility program be administered by the Alabama Medicaid Agency until at 
least October 1, 2019.  

Acts 2018, No. 543 

Extended the assessment imposed on privately operated hospitals in the state through fiscal year 2019; and increased 
the assessment on private hospitals in the state from 5.5% to 5.75% of net patient revenue in fiscal year 2016. 

Acts 2019, No. 278 

Extended the assessment imposed on privately operated hospitals in the state through fiscal year 2022; increased the 
assessment on private hospitals in the state from 5.75% to 6.0% of net patient revenue in fiscal year 2017; and 
required that the assessment be reviewed and updated annually, subject to the limitations on the use of funds in the 
Hospital Assessment Account.  

Acts 2019, No. 279 

Extended the supplemental privilege assessment ($1,603.08 annually), the secondary privilege assessment of $401.28 
per bed annually, and the monthly surcharge per bed ($43.75 per month/$525 annually) on nursing home beds to 
August 31, 2022; and extended the requirement that the nursing facility program be administered by the Alabama 
Medicaid Agency until at least October 1, 2022. 
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Acts 2020, No. 147 

Amends Sections 40-26B-21, 40-26B-26 and 40-26B-27, to increase the privilege assessment of $1,899.96 imposed on 
each bed in a nursing facility by $327.48 per bed per year beginning September 1, 2020, and (2) provides for 
recalculation of the current asset value of each nursing facility into calculation of each facility’s per diem rate to be 
paid beginning October 1, 2020; recalculate the current asset value as it relates to the calculation of nursing facility 
rates; and 3) authorize the Alabama Medicaid Agency to fund a minimum $5,000,000 pool to be used for a quality 
incentive program for nursing facilities that meet certain quality measures. 

Acts 2023, No. 338 

Amends Section 40-26B-26, Code of Alabama 1975, to prohibit the Alabama Board of Medicaid from adjusting the 
fiscal year’s ceiling for Medicaid reimbursement for nursing facilities, unless: (1) a grave material error is discovered; 
(2) a nursing facility is unable to be reimbursed for required increases in allowable costs related to new federal or 
state law; or (3) a statewide uncontrollable catastrophic event affects a majority of nursing facilities. 

Mortgage Record Tax 
Acts 1935, No. 194, p. 256 

Established Mortgage Record Tax at present rates. 

Acts 1947, No. 181, p. 66 

Provided that the tax would not be collected on any bank unless applicable to all banks. 

Acts 1951, No. 540, p. 953 

Exempted production credit corporations and associations. 

Acts 1951, No. 816, p. 1449 

Provided for tax due on previously exempted instruments which upon transfer would no longer be exempt. 

Acts 1953, No. 770, p. 1031 

Provided for recordation process for exempt instruments; changed reference from State Tax Commission to the 
Department of Revenue. 

Acts 1953, No. 841, p. 1131 

Exempted corporations or associations engaged in making farm or crop loans. 

Acts 1965, No. 549, p. 811 

Created the Uniform Commercial Code and related existing mortgage record tax to new law. 

Acts 1969, No. 503, p. 960 

Provided that the exemption relating to farm or crop loan instruments also be applied to instruments of like character 
executed to corporations under the Federal Farm Loan Act by the Farm Credit Act of 1933. 

Acts 1977, No. 671, p. 1152 

Provided an alternative procedure for recording future indebtedness by banks, savings and loans and insurance 
companies. 

Acts 1981, No. 662, p. 1078 



Appendix – Legislative History  Page 223 

Extended base of tax to include open-ended or revolving indebtedness at an amount not to exceed $.15 for each $100 
of maximum principal indebtedness to be secured by such instrument. 

Acts 1987, No. 816, p. 1630 

Exempted re-recordation instruments which are made to correct errors. 

Motor Carrier Mileage Tax 
Acts 1931, No. 273, p. 303 

Established motor carrier mileage tax at the following rates: 16 passengers or less, $.0025 per mile; 17 to 20, $.005 
per mile; 21 to 25, $.0075 per mile; 26 or more, $.01 per mile. 

Acts 1939, No. 664, p. 1050 

Changed tax on passenger capacity to the following rates: 16 or less, $.0025 per mile; 17 to 21, $.005 per mile; 22 to 
25, $.0075 per mile; 26 or more, $.01 per mile. 

Acts 1961, No. 673, p. 923 

Eliminated the mileage tax on motor vehicles transporting property for hire and changed the $.0025 per mile rate from 
the previous capacity of 16 passengers or less, to a capacity of 9 to 16 passengers. 

Acts 1992, 2nd Ex. Sess., No. 710, p. 205 

Exempted tour buses and “chartered party” vehicles. 

Motor Fuels (Diesel) Tax (and Motor Carrier Fuel Tax) 
Acts 1939, No. 590, p. 958 

Established motor fuels tax at $.06 per gallon. 

Acts 1955, 1st Ex. Sess., No. 42, p. 64 

Increased motor fuels tax rate to $.07 per gallon. 

Acts 1961, No. 674, p. 925 

Provided further for the taxation of gasoline and/or motor fuel, sold to or withdrawn from storage or used in the state 
by motor carriers by establishing a separate excise tax on motor carrier fuel; and provided for a one-time $1 
registration fee for motor carriers liable for the tax. 

Acts 1971, No. 1408, p. 2403 

Increased registration fee for motor carriers liable for the motor carrier fuel tax to current rate. 

Acts 1971, No. 1727, p. 2889 

Increased motor fuels tax rate to $.08 per gallon. 

Acts 1980, No. 427, p. 590 

Levied an additional excise tax of $.04 per gallon on gasoline, motor fuel and lubricating oil. 

Acts 1992, No. 205, p. 503 

Levied an additional excise tax of $.05 per gallon on motor fuel (diesel). 
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Acts 1994, No. 586, p. 1078 

Changed the fee for annual and 7-day trip permits from $12 to an amount to be set by the Commissioner of Revenue. 
(See Tax Rate). 
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Acts 2004, No. 546, p. 1164 

Exempted diesel fuel subject to state excise taxes from the $.02 per gallon inspection fee; levied an additional $.02 per 
gallon excise tax on motor fuel; and further provided for the distribution of revenues from the inspection fees and 
excise taxes on motor fuels. 

Acts 2011, No. 565, p. 1084 

Effective October 1, 2012, amended, repealed, and reenacted the state gasoline and motor fuel taxes at the same rates 
as the taxes were previously levied. Changed the point of collection of the taxes from the distributor to the supplier. 
Expanded the administrative discounts allowed to the distributors and suppliers for the collection of fuels taxed. 
Established new license fees for persons in the gasoline and motor fuel business to be deposited in the Public Road 
and Bridge Fund. Appropriated $150,000 from the revenues collected pursuant to this act to the Department of 
Revenue for the fiscal year ending September 30, 2012. Each fiscal year thereafter, an amount of revenue will be 
appropriated to the Department to offset its cost of administering the act. Authorized the Department of 
Transportation to employ law enforcement officers to enforce and investigate the commission or suspected 
commission of transportation, public safety, and revenue offenses, including offenses regarding gasoline tax and tax 
on motor fuels. 

Acts 2019, No. 2 

Created the Rebuild Alabama Act which levied an additional six cent ($.06) excise tax on each net gallon of gasoline 
and diesel fuel effective August 31, 2019: and will further increase the excise tax by two cents to eight cents ($.08) 
effective October 1, 2020, and by two cents to 10 cents ($.10) effective October 1, 2021. Effective October 1, 2023 and 
on July 1 every other year thereafter the act provides for an indexing process to adjust the excise tax rate by up to one 
cent ($.01) based on the yearly average of the National Highway Construction Cost Index. Further, the act provided for 
the administration, distribution, and collection of the Rebuild Alabama Act tax.  

Motor Vehicle Accident Report Fee 
Acts 1971, No. 959, p. 1717 

Established fee, not to exceed $3, for copy of any record or report in the Department of Public Safety's files unless a 
different fee is otherwise prescribed by law. The fee is to be paid into the State Treasury to be credited to the State 
General Fund. 

Acts 1988, 1st Ex. Sess., No. 721, p. 112 

Increased the maximum fee for a copy of a record or report to $5. 

Acts 2001, No. 471, p. 627 

Increased the maximum fee for a copy of a record or report to $15. Ten dollars of the fee shall be paid to the State 
General Fund (an increase of $5 to the General Fund) and the remaining $5 shall be deposited to the Department of 
Public Safety Highway Traffic Safety Fund. 

Acts 2013, No. 67, p. 130 

Created the Alabama Law Enforcement Agency, consisting of the Department of Public Safety and the State Bureau of 
Investigations. Created the Public Safety Fund, consisting of all monies appropriated for support of the functions of 
the Agency, the Department of Public Safety, and the State Bureau of Investigations. Provided that all books, records, 
supplies, funds, equipment, and personnel of the units, departments, divisions, and other entities merged or abolished, 
and the functions of such entities were transferred to the succeeding entity. 
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Motor Vehicle Carrier Permit Fees 
Acts 1939, No. 669, p. 1064 

Established the following motor vehicle carrier fees: $10 application for certificate of public convenience and 
necessity or permit; $10 amendment to application; $25 transfer of certificate of convenience and necessity or permit; 
$10 application fee for approval of lease in excess of six months; and $1 registration fee for every motor vehicle to be 
used by a motor carrier on a state highway. 

Acts 1969, No. 477, p. 933 

Changed fees as follows: $100 application for certificate of necessity and convenience and $100 application fee for 
amendment to certificate. The application fee for transfer of a certificate or permit remained at $25; the application 
fee for approval of a lease of a certificate for more than six months at $10; and the registration fee remained at $1. 

Acts 1985, No. 653, p. 1022 

Increased the motor carrier registration fee to $4 and further provided for the distribution of this fee. 

Acts 1985, No. 688, p. 1103 

Exempted wrecker services from PSC regulation. 

Acts 1991, No. 730, p. 1422 

Increased the motor carrier registration fee from $4 to $6 and further provided for the distribution of this fee. 

Acts 1992, 2nd Ex. Sess., No. 710, p. 205 

Provided that operators of tour buses may pay the fee to the Department of Tourism and Travel. 

Acts 2001, No. 370, p. 474 

Provided for the issuance of a certificate of authority to a household goods carrier, without the necessity of a hearing. 

Public Law 109-59, 119 stat. 1144, August 10, 2005 

Replaced the existing, outdated Single State Registration System for interstate motor carrier entities with the Uniform 
Carrier Registration (UCR) Act of 2005. Under the UCR Act, registration fees are capped at the amount received by the 
state in the 2004 registration year. 

Acts 2006, No. 517, p. 1191 

Designated the Public Service Commission as the agency responsible for the implementation and administration of the 
federal Unified Carrier Registration Act of 2005 which became effective January 1, 2007; repealed the federal Single 
State Registration system. 

Motor Vehicle Certificate of Title Fee 
Acts 1973, No. 765, p. 1147 

Established original auto title law and fees. 

Acts 1988, 1st Ex. Sess., No. 730, p. 127 

Increased and standardized motor vehicle title transaction fee schedule and commissions and fees for services 
rendered by designated agents to current rates; and clarified inspection procedures for obtaining titles for rebuilt 
vehicles. 



Appendix – Legislative History  Page 227 

Acts 1989, No. 918, p. 1817 

Provided for the titling of mobile homes and travel trailers designated a 1990 model or later, except for those mobile 
homes affixed to a parcel of property for whom a cancellation of title is obtained; and provided that $5 from each 
mobile home title fee be credited to the Alabama Manufactured Housing Commission Fund for FY 1990. 

Acts 2003, No. 345, p. 870 

Exempted new manufactured homes that are placed on the owner’s land and classified as real property from the 
requirement to be titled; and exempted utility trailers not exceeding 16 ft. in length from the requirement to be titled. 

Acts 2005, No. 322, p. 784 

Allowed for title-related fees to be collected “in a manner prescribed” by the Department of Revenue (DOR) (allowing 
for the possibility of title fees to be submitted to DOR electronically).  

Acts 2006, No. 213, p. 312 

Created the designation “flood vehicle” and required such designation to be placed on the title of flood vehicle-
designated motor vehicles. 

Acts 2009, No. 281, p. 472 

Revised the exemption for vehicles transporting interstate persons or property; amended the exemption for certain 
travel trailers; and allowed the Department of Revenue to process titles electronically. 

Acts 2009, No. 746, p. 2236 

Moved the certificate of title statutes of manufactured homes to Chapter 20 under Title 32; established a new fee for 
cancellation of title of a manufactured home; added a new fee on each title transaction for manufactured homes 
earmarked for a non-profit housing foundation; allowed electronic filing of titles; and changed the exemption for 
interstate vehicles and utility trailers. Became effective January 1, 2010. 

Acts 2010, No. 579, p. 1283 

Allowed the Department to charge a fee of $5 for any motor vehicle record requested, except a title history, which is 
either provided electronically or a printed version of an electronic record; the charge for a title history remained at $15; 
one-half of the new $5 fee is distributed to the State General Fund and one-half remains with the Department; allowed 
the Department to charge an additional fee up to $5 retained by the Department for motor vehicle records obtained 
through the national motor vehicle title information system; and allowed the Department to prescribe other exempt 
vehicles from titling. 

Acts 2010, No. 748, p. 1892 

Exempted, under certain circumstances, owners of legally rebuilt motor vehicles from having to obtain a rebuilder’s 
license before the Department’s inspection prior to issuing a certificate of title; and allowed the Department to keep 
the titling fees in these circumstances rather than depositing the fees into the State General Fund. 

Acts 2011, No. 633, p. 1507 

Effective January 1, 2012, required automotive dismantlers, and parts and metals recyclers to file electronically the 
title cancellation notice required before crushing, dismantling or recycling a motor vehicle into scrap; allowed for the 
transfer of motor vehicles without a title to automotive dismantlers and parts and metals recyclers only, and only if the 
vehicle is worth $1,000 or less and is at least 12 model years old; required the department to maintain an electronic 
lien verification system and to further verify whether the vehicle to be scrapped has been stolen; allowed the 
department to charge a fee for use of the verification system; allowed sharing of system information to local law 
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enforcement authorities; provided that any lien or security interest shall be satisfied and release shall not be required 
after five years from date of security agreement for vehicles which are 12 or more model years old except by 
application for a new certificate of title. 

Acts 2011, No. 645, p. 1643 

Provided for a title to be issued by the Department of Revenue in the name of an insurance company on a vehicle 
reported as stolen when a settlement has been reached between the insurer and the insured. 

Acts 2016, No. 358, p. 890 

Changes the certificate of title requirements for motor vehicles not otherwise defined to any other motor vehicle not 
more than 35 model years old. Also changes the title requirements for trailers to include any trailer, semi-trailer, travel 
trailer, or moving collapsible and folding camper not more than 20 model years old. 

Acts 2017, No. 242, p. 357 

Revised the code concerning license plate validation decals to include the year of expiration, allows the county 
licensing officials to offer registration receipts in an electronic format, and allows dealerships that are designated 
agents to issue a temporary registration certificate. 

Acts 2021, No.171 

Authorizes the Commissioner of Revenue to waive certain notification requirements associated with certain electronic 
filings; (2) provide that when the Department of Revenue processes a motor vehicle or manufactured home title 
application, and the application is not processed by a designated agent, the department may collect the commission 
that is otherwise authorized to be collected by the designated agent; and (3) authorize the Department of Revenue to 
issue a replacement certificate of title without the otherwise required 15-day hold if the title information can be 
verified through the National Motor Vehicle Title Information System. 

Motor Vehicle, LP, and Natural Gas Fueled Fees 
Acts 1980, No. 739, p. 1503 

Established a flat fee at present rate on certain vehicles using liquefied petroleum gas a fuel, in lieu of an excise tax on 
such fuel; provided for issuance of annual decal and established fee therefore at present rate; and provided exemption 
from annual permit and decal fees established by this act for liquefied petroleum gas fueled vehicles owned and 
operated by the state or any incorporated municipality and vehicles not requiring a license plate or motor vehicle 
license. 

Acts 1981, 3rd Ex. Sess., No. 1136, p. 409 

Provided that owners of vehicles fueled by natural gas are liable for payment of the annual permit and decal fees and 
defined classes of vehicles subject to the fees; provided for purchase of decal and payment of permit fee by owners of 
newly converted vehicles; provided for decals to be placed on such vehicles to identify them as being “Powered by 
Liquefied Petroleum Gas”; and extended exemption from the permit and decal fees to counties and to agencies and 
instrumentalities of municipalities. 

Acts 2014, No. 408, p. 1506 

Suspended the requirement to obtain a decal from the Liquefied Petroleum Gas Board, as well as the requirement to 
collect the motor fuel tax prescribed in Article 3A of Chapter 14 of Title 40, Code of Alabama 1975, from April 9, 2014 
until October 1, 2016. If no comprehensive approach for regulating and taxing natural gas used as fuel for motor 
vehicles has been established by October 1, 2016, beginning on that date, each 5.66 pounds of compressed natural 
gas that is taxable as motor fuel shall be taxed as one gallon of gasoline, and each 6.06 pounds of liquefied natural 
gas that is taxable as motor fuel shall be taxed as one gallon of diesel fuel (if standards are established for converting 
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compressed natural gas to a gallon of gasoline and for converting liquefied natural gas to a gallon of diesel fuel, such 
standard conversions shall be used). Compressed natural gas and liquefied natural gas may be sold in gallon 
equivalents as established above until October 1, 2016. In the event that no comprehensive approach for regulating 
and taxing natural gas used as fuel for motor vehicles has been established at that time, compressed natural gas and 
liquefied natural gas shall be sold in gallon equivalents as established above. 

Acts 2016, 1st Ex. Sess., No. 468, p. 1248 

Extends the suspension of the requirement to obtain a decal from the liquefied petroleum gas board and the 
requirement to collect the motor fuel tax originally imposed by Act 2014-408 from October 1, 2016 to May 1, 2017. 

Acts 2017, No. 229, p. 325 

Further suspended the requirement to obtain a decal from the Liquefied Petroleum Gas Board until October 1, 2018. 
Additionally, it will levy on excise tax on compressed natural gas and liquefied natural gas at the rate of $0.08 per 
gasoline gallon equivalent (GGE) or diesel gallon equivalent (DGE) respectively beginning October 1, 2018. 

Motor Vehicle Registrations 
Acts 1911, No. 452, p. 634 

Provided for the registration, licensing, and identification of motor vehicles operated on the public highways of the 
state; established the license tax or registration fee based on horsepower; and required that 40% of said proceeds be 
distributed to the city (or county) where the owner or licensee resided. 

Acts 1926-27, No. 347, p. 353 

Required that the net revenue derived from the registration of motor vehicles, trailers, and tractors be used to finance 
the operations of the State Highway Department. 

Acts 1935, No. 194, p. 256 

Amended the provisions for the licensing and registration of private cars, buses, and motor trucks by basing such fees 
on vehicle weight. 

Acts 1971, No. 1206, p. 2092 

Provided for an increase in the license or registration fee above the established base amount for trucks and truck-
tractors. 

Acts 1979, No. 797, p. 1455 

Established a staggered system for registering motor vehicles and provided for the annual issuance of motor vehicle 
plates. Also, provided that the amount charged by the Board of Corrections for the manufacture of revalidation devices 
would not be less than that charged for the manufacture of license plates. Effective October 1, 1980. 

Acts 1984, No. 186, p. 286 

Modified the registration weight ranges for trucks and truck-tractors; provided one schedule for heavy trucks; and 
provided various increases to truck plate fees. 

Acts 1984, No. 240, p. 363 

Provided for the payment of an additional $10 on the registration of each passenger automobile, or truck with a gross 
weight of 8,000 pounds or less and $8 additional fee for motorcycle. Said funds would be used by the Department of 
Public Safety for traffic regulation and expense of enforcing state traffic and motor vehicle laws. 
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Acts 1986, 1st Ex. Sess., No. 687, p. 83 

Provided further for the weight classification and license cost of certain farm and forest product trucks and truck-
tractors. 

Acts 1987, No. 763, p. 1484 

Amended Section 40-12-262, Code of Alabama 1975, relating to trip permits, by requiring cab cards of international 
registration plan vehicles to be present in the vehicle and provided for temporary trip permits. 

Acts 1987, No. 764, p. 1486 

Provided a limitation on the total cost of license plates, taxes and license fees for motorized recreational vehicles (to 
return the taxation of such vehicles to the rates, weights and amounts that existed prior to 1984); and exempted 
motorized recreational vehicles from the provisions of Section 40-12-248, Code of Alabama 1975. 

Acts 1988, 1st Ex. Sess., No. 824, p. 265 

Removed mobile homes from motor vehicle registration requirements and classified them as residences for ad 
valorem tax purposes. 

Acts 1988, No. 946, p. 1859 

Established a base and additional amount fee structure for motor homes distinct from that of trucks or truck tractors. 

Acts 1988, 2nd Ex. Sess., No. 980, p. 701 

Authorized a five-year registration option for truck trailers, tractor-trailers, and semitrailers. 

Acts 1991, No. 694, p. 1340 

Increased annual registration fee for privately owned utility trailers from $3 to $12 and included travel trailers; and 
increased annual registration fee for leased or rented utility trailers from $8 to $15. 

Acts 1994, No. 584, p. 1071 

Increased the fee for Dealer Plates to $10 and provided for the number available; and created the Manufacturer’s Plate 
for a fee of $25. 

Acts 1996, No. 746, p. 1307  

Provided that license plates, except vintage, will follow the owner; required proof of ownership be retained in vehicle 
effective January 1, 1998; increased the penalty to $10 for failure to register vehicle within 10 days; provided for two-
year dealer plates; and increased the maximum dealer plates to three per full-time salesperson. 

Acts 1996, No. 818, p. 1520 

Replaced Alabama’s antique plate with “vintage” plate category and clearly defined qualifications for obtaining the 
“vintage” plate. Owners were required to meet new requirements and exchange their antique plates for “vintage” plates 
between October 1, 1996, and September 30, 1997. On October 1, 1997, the antique plate expired and was no longer a 
valid plate. 

Acts 1997, No. 633, p. 1148 

Revised the process for the issuance of distinctive license plates to approval by the Legislative Oversight Committee 
instead of approval by the passage of legislation for each type of distinctive plate and placed specific restrictions on 
said approval. 
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Acts 1997, 1st Ex. Sess., No. 916, p. 305 

Amended current annual license taxes and registration fees for trucks or truck-tractors used for agricultural purposes 
by establishing an additional class of trucks or truck-tractors with a maximum fee of $250 where the gross weight of 
the vehicle is 80,001 pounds and over. A farmer is entitled to pay this reduced annual license tax and registration fee 
for only one truck-tractor. 

Acts 1997, No. 919, p. 310 

Provided a temporary plate for a maximum of 90 days for vehicles manufactured in Alabama but intended to be 
permanently licensed in some other jurisdiction than Alabama. 

Acts 2000, No. 565, p. 1041 

Established the process of converting from assessing and collecting ad valorem taxes in arrears to assessing and 
collecting ad valorem taxes forward on a current basis. 

Acts 2000, No. 699, p. 1421 

Provided for the issuance of permanent license plates for vehicles owned by volunteer fire departments and state and 
local governments upon the payment of an amount determined by the Department of Revenue and approved by the 
Legislative Council as sufficient to cover the cost of producing and issuing the plates. 

Acts 2002, No. 256, p. 537 

Deleted the fees for dealer and manufacturer plates and provided that the fee for a dealer plate would be the same as 
the fee for private passenger plates; allowed motorcycle dealers to obtain motorcycle dealer plates; and levied an 
additional issuance fee of $1.75 on each dealer plate. 

Acts 2004, No. 292, p. 414 

Provided that anyone reregistering a vehicle (not including farm trucks, farm truck-tractors, motor homes, or vintage 
vehicles) would not be allowed to pay prorated registration fees, even if the owner or operator can document that the 
vehicle has not been used. 

Acts 2004, No. 520, p. 1051 

Established a new weight classification bracket and registration cost for trucks with a gross vehicle weight between 
8,001 and 10,000 pounds; and increased from 8,000 to 10,000 pounds the maximum gross vehicle weight eligible for a 
distinctive and personalized license plate, with the exception of military and disability access plates. 

Acts 2004, No. 529, p. 1106 

Increased the number of days a person acquiring a new vehicle has to register that vehicle from 10 to 20; and 
increased the penalty for failing to register a vehicle within the timeframe granted by law from $10 to $15. 

Acts 2004, No. 554, p. 1192 

Provided that motor vehicle registrations become expired on the last day of the designated renewal month instead of 
the last day of the month preceding the designated renewal month. 

Acts 2006, No. 276, p. 482 

Provided for multi-year apportioned (IRP) plates to be issued every five years instead of annually, effective January 1, 
2007; increased from $780 and $845 to $815 and $890 the annual registration fee for X8 (73,281 to 80,000 pounds) 
and X9 (80,000+ pounds) license plates; and also provided that truck trailers, tractor-trailers, and/or semitrailers may 
purchase a permanent trailer plate for a one-time registration fee of $60 in lieu of an annual payment of $20. 
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Acts 2006, No. 356, p. 946 

Provided that the gross vehicle weight for pickup trucks used only for personal or agricultural purposes will be defined 
as the empty weight of the truck rather than the heaviest load carried and/or the weight of the truck when used in 
combination with another vehicle or portable equipment, which would still be the weight-defining standard for 
commercially used pickup trucks. 

Acts 2009, No. 618, p. 1790 

Allowed firefighters who qualify for distinctive plates under Section 32-6-272, Code of Alabama, to receive one free 
distinctive plate. 

Acts 2010, No. 689, p. 1674 

Provided that registration fees for governmental and volunteer fire department plates shall be determined by the 
Department of Revenue and may not exceed the fees for standard passenger plates, and also provided that the 
Department of Revenue shall retain the fees to cover costs of administration. 

Acts 2011, No. 205, p. 384 

Required qualified “mini-trucks” to have a plate and be registered. 

Acts 2011, No. 540, p. 984 

Provided that the registration fee for tow trucks will be determined only on the weight of the truck and will not include 
the weight of any vehicle being towed. 

Acts 2011, No. 554, p. 1032 

Placed limits on the amount of the dealer license plates that can be purchased by new and used motor vehicle dealers; 
and created a new dealer transit plate. 

Acts 2013, No. 251, p. 625 

Provided that the $5 portion of the distinctive plate fee that was being distributed to the Penny Trust Fund will be 
distributed to the Senior Services Trust Fund. 

Acts 2013, No. 398, p. 1516 

Provided that plates may be issued for out-of-state colleges and universities; and provided with the extra fee be 
distributed to the State General Fund. 

Acts 2014, No. 158, p. 445 

Provided that a licensed new motor vehicle dealer may purchase a maximum combined total of 25 dealer and 
motorcycle dealer license plates, with exception. A licensed used motor vehicle dealer may purchase a maximum 
combined total of 10 dealer and motorcycle dealer license plates, with exception. A motor vehicle manufacturer who 
purchases license plates must pay the $1.75 issuance fee, which is deposited into the county general fund for 
operation of the issuing official’s office. 

Acts 2015, No. 362, p. 1109 

Provided for the creation of three additional categories of distinctive plates and fee schedules: (1) the “Bronze Star” 
license plate (annual fee $25); (2) the “In Memory” license plate (annual fee $50); and (3) the “Alabama Bicentennial” 
license plate (annual fee $50). Also, adds a $5 issuance fee for distinctive vehicle plates in the year of issuance, and 
raises the additional annual fee for all personalized or distinctive plates except those specifically exempted as 
provided for within this act to $50. 
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Acts 2015, No. 499, p. 1801 

Provides that a farmer may purchase up to four farm plates for truck tractors at the reduced annual registration fee of 
$250. 

Acts 2015, 1st Ex. Sess., No. 506, p. 1827 

Provides that a member of the National Guard may select a license plate other than the “National Guard” for their one 
exempt license plate. 

Acts 2016, No. 255, p. 620 

Creates the “Stop Domestic Violence” license plate with an annual fee $50.  After the distribution of administrative and 
production costs, the remainder of the annual fee is to be distributed to the county district attorney in which the plate 
was issued and designated for domestic violence prevention programs. 

Acts 2016, No. 339, p. 839 

Provides the same reductions and exemptions to disabled veterans while allowing them to transfer that reduction or 
exemption to other license plates they may be qualified to obtain. 

Act 2016, No. 408, p. 1096 

Creates the following two new distinctive license plates: 1) a state parks license plate with an annual fee of $50 
distributed to Department of Conservation and Natural Resources for the State Parks system; and 2) a “Silver Star” 
distinctive license plate with an annual fee of $25 and distributed to the Alabama Veteran’s Assistance Fund; removes 
$5.00 additional fee for all veteran/military license plates and the “Alabama Gold State Family” plate; excludes the 
“Alabama Bicentennial”, “God Bless America”, and “Alabama Gold Star Family” license plates from the $50 annual fee 
for distinctive license plates; and clarifies the distribution of proceeds from the purchase of distinctive license plates. 

Act 2017, No. 400, p. 1308 

Creates the Distinguished Flying Cross distinctive license plate, deletes the requirement that a veteran must present a 
Department of Defense form DD-214 to prove eligibility for a veteran related distinctive license plate, and authorizes 
the Alabama Department of Veterans’ Affairs to issue a certificate of eligibility.  

Act 2019, No. 2 

Created the Rebuild Alabama Act which levied an additional annual license tax and registration fee of $200.00 on each 
battery electric vehicle and of $100.00 on each plug-in hybrid electric vehicle operated on the public highways of this 
state; and provided for the distribution of the proceeds of the additional taxes and fees.  

Act 2019, No. 305 

Provided that the proceeds from annual license taxes and registration fees on battery electric and plug-in hybrid 
vehicles shall be allocated pursuant to a prescribed formula to counties and municipalities for transportation 
infrastructure improvements. 

Oil and Gas Privilege Tax 
Acts 1945, No. 2, p. 20 

Established the oil and privilege tax at 4% of the gross value; and provided exemptions from ad valorem taxation for all 
oil or gas produced, for leases in production, and for oil or gas beneath producing properties to a maximum of 40 
acres. 
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Acts 1971, No. 2057, p. 3317 

Increased the rate to 5% of the gross value until October 1, 1973; after which, the rate was reduced to 4%. 

Acts 1979, No. 434, p. 687 

Increased the rate to 6% for wells producing 26 barrels or more per day and allowed wells beginning production after 
September 1, 1979, to be taxed at 4% for the first 10 years of production; and provided that additional collections be 
distributed 50% to the State General Fund and 50% to the county. 

Acts 1980, No. 708, p. 1189 

Increased the rate to 6% for well units producing 40 or more barrels per day and allowed well units producing less than 
40 barrels per day to be taxed at 4% of the gross value at the point of production. 

Acts 1983, 1st Ex. Sess., No. 39, p. 39 

Increased the rate to 8% for wells producing 10 or more barrels of oil per day; and allowed well units producing less 
than 10 barrels per day to be taxed at 4% of gross value at the point of production; changed distribution formula to 
allow additional 2% to be deposited into the State General Fund; and removed the 10-year exemption. 

Acts 1983, 4th Ex. Sess., No. 889, p. 116 

Provided that all oil or gas produced by offshore production would be taxed at a rate of 6% of gross value at point of 
production to be distributed 90% the State General Fund and 10% to the county; raised 10 barrel per day exemption 
(taxed at 4% rather than 8%) to 25 barrels per day; taxed all wells producing 25 barrels of oil per day or more would be 
at 8%; and provided that any gas well producing 200 cubic feet of gas per day or less would be taxed at 4% rather than 
8%. 

Acts 1984, No. 328, p. 749 

Provided that all production from onshore discovery wells and onshore development wells on which drilling 
commenced within four years of the completion date of the discovery well and producing from a depth of 6,000 ft. or 
greater, as well as all production from onshore development wells on which drilling commenced within two years of 
the completion date of the discovery well and producing from a depth less than 6,000 ft., would be taxed at 6% rather 
than 8% for a period of five years. 

Acts 1984, No. 660, p. 1323 

Exempted natural gas lawfully injected into the earth for cycling, pressure maintenance, or lifting of oil, or lawfully 
vented or flared in connection with production from the tax. 

Acts 1984, No. 662, p. 1326 

Provided that cities would receive 10% of any 4% tax levied on wells within the corporate limits of the municipalities. 

Acts 1984, 1st Ex. Sess., No. 672, p. 5 

Provided that any well which began commercial production of occluded natural gas from coal seams after June 7, 
1984, would be taxed at the rate of 2% for a period of five years. This act expired on  

June 7, 1994. 

Acts 1985, 2nd Ex. Sess., No. 911, p. 182 

Provided that incremental oil and gas production resulting from an “enhanced recovery project” would be taxed at 4% 
rather than 8%. 
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Acts 1987, No. 551, p. 849 

Created the Alabama State Docks Facilities Contingency Trust Fund and provided that, beginning with FY 1987, the 
first $9.5 million of collections from the Oil and Gas Privilege Tax required to be deposited to the State General Fund 
during each year would be credited to this Contingency Trust Fund, to be used by the Alabama State Docks Department 
for operations and/or bond expenses of the State Docks, upon verification by the Director of Finance that such use of 
these funds is necessary; also provided that, within 45 days after the close of the third quarter of each fiscal year, any 
funds remaining in the Contingency Trust Fund which have not been designated as required by the State Docks would 
be deposited to the State General Fund. 

Acts 1988, No. 601, p. 935 

Provided that the oil and gas produced from any well for which the initial permit issued by the Oil and Gas Board is 
dated on or after July 1, 1988, (except a replacement well for which the initial permit issued by the Oil and Gas Board is 
dated before July 1, 1988) would be taxed at a rate of 6% for onshore wells and 4% for offshore wells (a 2% reduction 
for both types). 

Acts 1990, No. 652, p. 1249 

Redefined offshore production as submerged lands, which means that if submerged lands are located within the police 
jurisdiction or corporate limits of any municipality, those submerged lands would be defined as onshore lands for the 
purpose of distributing the tax, therefore shifting the distribution of oil and gas privilege tax receipts from 90%-state, 
10%-local to approximately 70%-state, 30%-local. 

Acts 1994, No. 367, p. 615 

Clarified that if any gas injected into the earth is sold for such purposes or injected into underground storage facilities, 
then the gas is not exempt from the tax. Also, exempted natural gas lawfully vented or flared in connection with 
production, treatment, or processing of oil or gas from the tax. 

Acts 1996, 2nd Ex. Sess., No. 877, p. 1688 

Reduced the privilege tax rate by one-half for a five-year period beginning with the date production began on oil or gas 
produced from wells permitted on or after July 1, 1996, but before July 1, 1999. 

Acts 1998, No. 503, p. 1120 

Required that monies in the State Docks Facilities Contingency Trust Fund be transferred monthly to the State General 
Fund if they are not needed to pay debt service on docks bonds. 

Acts 1999, No. 584, p. 1332 

Extended the reduced tax rate granted under Act 1996-877 that was scheduled to expire July 1, 1999. The extension 
was made through July 1, 2002. 

Acts 2000, No. 598, p. 1199 

In reference to the first $9.5 million in receipts from this tax for State General Fund that is first used by the Port 
Authority, if needed by said Authority, changed the name from State Docks to Port Authority and restricted the 
Authority’s use of these funds. 

Acts 2004, No. 635, p. 1451 

Levied a temporary oil and gas privilege tax at the rates of 1% on offshore production and 0.5% on onshore production 
for the period from July 1, 2004 through June 30, 2005 and distributed the proceeds to the State General Fund. 
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Acts 2009, No. 147, p. 284 

Excluded deep water production of oil and natural gas from the privilege tax based on the gross value at the point of 
production and levied a new tax on deep water production computed at the rate of 3.65% of the gross proceeds 
attributable to the offshore production. 

Oil and Gas Production Tax 
Acts 1945, No. 1, p. 1 

Established production tax at current rate to defray the expenses of enforcing Title 9, Chapter 17, Article 1 of the Code 
of Alabama 1975, and provided that tax returns and payments are due on the 15th day of the month following the month 
of production. 

Acts 1961, 1st Ex. Sess., No. 95, p. 2008 

Provided that the receipts from the tax be deposited into the State General Fund and expended as appropriated by the 
Legislature. 

Acts 1984, No. 661, p. 1325 

Exempted natural gas lawfully injected into oil or gas pools or reservoirs in the soil or beneath the soil or waters of the 
State of Alabama from the tax. 

Acts 1994, No. 367, p. 615 

Exempted natural gas lawfully vented or flared in connection with the production, treatment, or processing of oil or gas 
from the tax. 

Acts 1996, 2nd Ex. Sess., No. 877, p. 1688 

Reduced the tax rate to 1% for a 5-year period beginning with the date production began on oil or gas produced from 
wells permitted on or after July 1, 1996, but before July 1, 1999. 

Acts 1999, No. 584. p. 1332 

Extended the reduced tax rate granted under Act 1996-877 that was scheduled to expire July 1, 1999. The extension 
was made through July 1, 2002. 

Acts 2009, No. 147, p. 284 

Excluded deep water production of oil and natural gas from the production tax based on the gross value at the point of 
production and levied a new tax on deep water production computed at the rate of 1.66% of the gross proceeds 
received from the sale of the oil or natural gas. 

Oil and Gas Rights, Lease of 
Acts 1953, No. 825, p. 1111 

Authorized and provided for the manner in which the Director of Conservation may execute oil, gas, and mineral leases 
on all lands owned by a state department. 

Acts 1956, 1st Ex. Sess., No. 158, p. 224 

Repealed and rewrote Act 1953-825 and authorized leases to be made on the basis of competitive bids. 
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Acts 1957, No. 611, p. 877 

Required invitations for bids to be published at least 25 days before the final date for submitting bids; and required the 
Commissioner of the Department of Conservation and Natural Resources to either accept the most advantageous offer 
or reject all bids within five days of the date bids are opened. 

Acts 1963, No. 529, p. 1141 

Authorized the Department of Conservation and Natural Resources to charge a fee for copies of oil and gas lease tract 
charts; and required that advertising costs be borne by the agency requesting the lease of state lands. 

Acts 1969, No. 479, p. 935 

Provided further for the execution of oil and gas leases; and provided for the current distribution of revenue, except 
revenue from the lease of submerged lands in the Gulf of Mexico. 

Oil Companies Wholesale License Fees 
Acts 1935, No. 194, p. 256 

Established tax at .5% preceding years gross sales less federal, state and local excise taxes. 

Acts 1996, No. 521, p. 669 

Allowed an exclusion from the tax base for sales between wholesalers and for federal, state, and local excise taxes 
included in the prices paid for taxable products. 

Acts 2011, No. 565, p. 1084 

Changed the rate from a percentage of gross sales to $.0075 per gallon for each gallon of diesel fuel sold during the 
preceding fiscal years effective October 1, 2012. Also removed exclusion for quantities less than 25 gallons or less 
annually. For previous provisions, see the 2012 Tax Guide on our website (www.lfo.alabama.gov). 

Acts 2013, No. 372, p. 1350 

Provided for exemption for transmix and for diesel fuel exported from the state for which proof of export is available in 
the form of a terminal issued shipping document. 

Outdoor Advertising Permit 
Acts 1971, 3rd Ex. Sess., No. 276, p. 4544 

Provided for the issuance of permits and the collection of permit fees at rates of $5 for initial permit and $3.50 for 
renewal. 

Acts 1978, No. 383, p. 347 

Increased outdoor advertising permit fees to current rates. 

Acts 2016, No. 301, p. 760 

Adopts the Federal Highway Administration’s definition of “primary highways” that extends the boundaries of highway 
rights-of-way which increases the number of outdoor advertising signs regulated by the Alabama Department of 
Transportation. 
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Oversize/Overweight Permit Fees 
Acts 1932, Ex. Sess., No. 58, p. 68 

Provided that the State Highway Commission prescribe rules and regulations for issuance (at no cost to applicant) of 
special permits for the transportation of oversize, overweight, or overlength commodities and for the operation of 
super heavy or oversize motor trucks, semitrailer trucks, and trailers. 

Acts 1977, No. 775, p. 1332 

Provided further for the issuance of special permits for movement of certain oversized and overweight vehicles and 
loads on the state highway system; and authorized the Highway Director to collect fees for the issuance of such 
permits at current rate. 

Acts 1977, 1st Ex. Sess., No. 78, p. 1506 

A Senate Joint Resolution expressing that the intent of the Legislature, relative to Act 1977-775, was to exempt farm 
equipment and agricultural commodities and equipment from the provisions of said act related to oversize, overweight 
permits. 

Acts 1978, No. 837, p. 1241 

Specifically, exempted farm and agricultural commodities and equipment from the requirement of obtaining permits 
for movement on the state highway system of heavy commodities or equipment. 

Acts 1998, No. 321, p. 562 

Provided for an annual $100 permit fee for the operation of oversized rubber-tired equipment used solely for mining 
refractory grade bauxite. 

Acts 2019, No. 473 

Authorized the Department of Transportation to issue an annual commercial wrecker emergency tow permit for 
commercial wreckers that exceed the maximum height, weight, or length limitations established by law. 

Pari-Mutuel Pool Taxes 
Acts 1984, No. 131, p. 159 

Established state horse wagering fee of 1% to be effective after the fifth anniversary of the date on which horse racing 
was first conducted. 

Acts 1988, 2nd Ex. Sess., No. 952, p. 575 

Established the state dog racetrack pari-mutuel pool tax. 

Acts 1989, No. 696, p. 1376 

Clarified the non-payment of the additional 1% tax by the Mobile County dog track on races requiring the selection of 
three or more racers. 

Acts 1991, No. 187, p. 246 

Authorized greyhound racing in Jefferson County (in addition to horse racing) and provided for tax rates listed above. 

Acts 1998, No. 128, p. 188 

Provided further for the take-out from pari-mutuel pools for the Jefferson County racetrack. 
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Acts 1998, No. 130, p. 190 

Provided further for the take-out from pari-mutuel pools for the Macon County racetrack. 

Petroleum Commodities Fees 
Acts 1971, No. 1403, p. 2363 

Provided for the inspection of petroleum products by the Department of Agriculture and Industries and inspection fees 
paid to the Department as follows:  (1) gasoline, 1/40 of $.01 per gallon; (2) diesel fuel, $.01 per gallon; (3) kerosene, 
$.01 per gallon; (4) lubricating oil, $.15 per gallon; (5) kerosene or diesel fuel for jet aircraft, 1/40 of $.01 per gallon; (6) 
kerosene or diesel fuel for maritime vehicles, 1/40 of $.01 per gallon; (7) kerosene or diesel fuel for tractors, 1/40 of 
$.01 per gallon; and (8) diesel fuel for railroad locomotives, 1/40 of $.01 per gallon. Provided that the first $55,000 of 
all proceeds received each month would be deposited in the Agricultural Fund and the balance remaining thereafter in 
the Public Road and Bridge Fund. 

Acts 1971, 3rd Ex. Sess., No. 339, p. 4643 

Further restricted application of the fees to the first person selling petroleum products in Alabama; and exempted 
diesel fuel and kerosene used in firing steam boilers or combustion generating turbines by compression. 

Acts 1973, No. 641, p. 949 

Provided an inspection fee of 1/40 of $.01 per gallon for kerosene or diesel fuel used in the treatment of wood 
products. 

Acts 1979, No. 307, p. 460 

Provided that 10% of the proceeds collected each month or no less than $55,000 monthly would be deposited in the 
Agricultural Fund and the balance remaining thereafter in the Public Road and Bridge Fund. 

Acts 1981, No. 793, p. 1395 

Increased annual permit fee to current rate. 

Acts 1984, No. 185, p. 279 

Increased inspection fees; increased the monthly amount deposited in the Agricultural Fund to $175,000; and provided 
current distribution for the remaining monthly balance. 

Acts 1986, 1st Ex. Sess., No. 716, p. 132 

Provided that the State Treasurer distribute the proceeds from petroleum permit and inspection fees and penalties. 

Acts 2004, No. 546, p. 1164 

Exempted diesel fuel subject to excise taxes from the $.02 per gallon inspection fee; levied an additional $.02 per 
gallon excise tax on motor fuel; and further provided for the distribution of revenues from the inspection fees and 
excise taxes on motor fuel. 

Acts 2012, No. 400, p. 1092 

Provided for additional 5% monthly distribution to Agricultural Fund. 

Acts 2015, No. 54, p. 198 

Transferred the collection of petroleum permit fees and inspection fees from the Alabama Department of Agriculture 
and Industries to the Alabama Department of Revenue (ADOR); required importers of motor fuel from a bulk plant or 
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other non-terminal storage location to pay the previously levied tax by the 22nd day of each month for the preceding 
month; changed the disposition of petroleum permit fees, inspection fees, and penalties to include an appropriation to 
ADOR for costs of administration and collection of fees; required that a new and separate Terminal Excise Tax return 
to report the inspection fee on dyed diesel fuel, dyed kerosene, and lubricated oil sold by a supplier or permissive 
supplier. Effective October 1, 2016, transfers the administration of petroleum product permits and inspection fees to 
ADOR from the department. 

Privilege License Tax 
Acts 1935, No. 194, p. 256 

Established privilege license tax and distribution. 

Acts 1943, No. 546, p. 535 

Established issuance fee at $.50 and provided for the levy of county tax equal to one-half of state tax. 

Acts 1955, No. 572, p. 1248 

Provided for the current distribution of tax proceeds when both state and county license taxes are levied. 

Acts 1984, No. 446, p. 1040 

Increased issuance fee to current amount. 

Acts 2015, No. 70, p. 258 

Repealed privilege license tax for various types of businesses. 

Public Utilities License Tax 
Acts 1935, No. 194, p. 256 

Established the tax at .2% of gross receipts for public utilities except electric, hydroelectric, telephone or telegraph 
companies, railroads (or sleeping car), and express companies; and established the tax at .4% of gross receipts for 
electric and hydroelectric companies. 

Acts 1971, No. 1412, p. 2406 

Increased the tax rate to present rate for electric and hydroelectric companies. 

Acts 1971, No. 1417, p. 2420 

Increased the tax rate to present rate for public utilities except electric, hydroelectric, telephone or telegraph 
companies, railroad (or sleeping car), and express companies. 

Acts 1981, No. 867, p. 1659 

Provided an exemption from this tax (credit equal to the amount of the tax) levied on electricity sold to disabled 
persons and persons who are 62 years of age or older and meet certain other specific criteria. 

Acts 2009, No. 773, p. 2388 

Repealed law regulating onsite wastewater entities using decentralized cluster wastewater systems and replaced it 
with a new law regulating privately owned wastewater systems. As a result of this act, the gross receipts of 
wastewater management entities operating as public utilities became subject to the utilities license tax. 
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Restored (Salvaged) Vehicle Inspection Fee 
Acts 1985, No. 650, p. 1010 

Established inspection fee at current rate. 

Sales Tax 
Acts 1939, No. 18, p. 16 

Established the general sales tax rate at 2% on retail sales of tangible personal property and an amusement or 
entertainment enterprise and at .5 of 1% for automotive vehicles; provided for the distribution of portions of the 
proceeds depending on amount of collections to the 67 counties, the several funds to replace the homestead 
exemption, and the remaining balance to the Special Educational Trust Fund. 

Acts 1959, 2nd Ex. Sess., No. 100, p. 298 

Re-established sales tax rate at 3% on retail sale of tangible personal property and on amusement or entertainment 
enterprises; and established a rate at 1.5% for retail sales of machines used in mining quarrying, compounding, 
processing, and manufacturing of tangible personal property and sales of automotive vehicles or truck trailers and 
semitrailers. 

Acts 1963, 2nd Ex. Sess., No. 106, p. 286 

Increased sales tax to 4% on tangible personal property and entertainment enterprises. 

Acts 1973, No. 1135, p. 1916 

Allowed for distribution of funds to counties for the administration of the Food Stamp Act of 1964, PL 88-525. 

Acts 1978, No. 359, p. 300 

Allowed for distribution of funds to the Department of Human Resources for administration of the Food Stamp 
Program. 

Acts 1981, No. 663, p. 1084 

Exempted the sale of prescription drugs from sales tax. 

Acts 1981, No. 665, p. 1086 

Provided a 1.5% sales tax on the purchase of motor vehicles not bought at wholesale or from a licensed dealer 
(“casual sales”). 

PL. 99-198 (Food Security Act of 1985) 

Provided that state and local sales taxes could no longer be collected on food stamp purchases beginning October 1, 
1987. 

Acts 1987, No. 580, p. 927 

Provided that all food stamp purchases be exempt from taxation beginning October 1, 1987. This exemption is 
contingent upon the continued requirement of federal law that conditions the state’s participation in the food stamp 
program upon exempting from state and local taxes purchases made with food stamps. Provided that the provisions 
of this act shall become inoperative, null and void if the food stamp sales tax amendment is either ruled 
unconstitutional or unenforceable by a federal court or is repealed by Congress. 
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Acts 1987, No. 662, p. 1170 

Provided that any over-collection of sales tax by a retailer from the customer is to be paid to the state and not retained 
by the retailer to increase the net profits of the business. 

Acts 1988, 1st Ex. Sess., No. 867, p. 372 

Increased the retail and “casual” sales tax rate on automotive vehicles, truck trailers, semitrailers, and house trailers 
from 1.5% to 2% effective October 1, 1988; and provided that the additional $.005 was to be deposited to the credit of 
the State General Fund. 

Acts 1989, No. 691, p. 1358 

Provided for collection of local gross receipts or sales taxes which may exist in the local taxing jurisdiction in which 
the purchaser resides on sales of automotive vehicles, truck trailers, trailers, semitrailers, or house trailers when such 
sales are made by a person or firm other than a licensed dealer, out-of-state dealers, or licensed Alabama dealers 
(where such local taxes were not collected at the time of purchase). 

Acts 1989, No. 752, p. 1526 

Amended the state “casual” sales and use taxes to include any mobile home purchased, other than at wholesale, from 
any person, firm, or corporation which is not a licensed dealer engaged in selling mobile homes, effective October 1, 
1989. 

Acts 1989, No. 920, p. 1823 

Provided for a sales tax rate of 2% on materials and supplies to be used for mobile home set-up. 

Acts 1992, No. 343, p. 720 

Clarified that the state sales tax base is to include consumer excise taxes included in the purchase price of products 
(applies to alcoholic beverages and tobacco products); restricted the exemptions for fertilizer, insecticides, fungicides, 
and seedlings to “agricultural purposes”; and provided for exemption certification for fertilizer, insecticides, fungicides, 
and seedlings. 

Acts 1993, No. 711, p. 1384 

Provided for the collection of state and local sales and use tax from the purchaser of a boat prior to registration. 

Acts 1994, No. 622, p. 1162 

Consolidated the motorboat sales and use tax with the provisions of motor vehicle sales and use tax. 

Acts 1996, No. 785, p. 1459 

Allowed Governor to cap the sales tax discount allowed to retailers who collect sales tax; and provided for the 
distribution of any additional revenue generated as a result of the cap.  

Acts 1996, No. 887, p. 1713 

Made sales of eyeglasses and related items by optometrists subject to the state sales tax. Previously, these items 
were taxed at the wholesale level. 

Acts 1997, No. 648, p. 1201 

Provided that the sale to or use by a manufacturer or compounder of property that becomes an ingredient or 
component part of a finished product made by the manufacturer or compounder is excluded from taxes as a wholesale 
sale. 
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Acts 1997, 1st Ex. Sess., No. 867, p. 208 

Provided that the sale of prepaid telephone calling cards and prepaid authorization numbers be treated as the sale of 
tangible personal property. 

Acts 1998, No. 192, p. 310 

Provided that county and municipal sales and use taxes must generally conform to the corresponding state levies, 
except for the rate of tax. 

Acts 1999, No. 570, p. 1122 

Clarified that refinery, residue, or fuel gas generated by a petroleum-refining process and then utilized in the distillation 
or refining of petroleum products is exempt from sales and use tax. 

Acts 1999, 2nd Ex. Sess., No. 650, p. 96 

Changed the distribution of revenue generated from the 2% sales and use tax on automobiles and related items from 
25% to the State General Fund and 75% to the Education Trust Fund to 42% to the State General Fund and 58% to the 
Education Trust Fund, effective January 1, 2001. 

Acts 2000, No. 731, p. 1578 

Reaffirmed the Governor’s authority to cap sales tax discounts; and provided for the distribution of any additional 
revenue generated from the sales tax discount cap.  

Acts 2001, 3rd Ex. Sess., No. 975, p. 908 

Exempted sales tax on tangible personal property purchased by a company actively engaged in a film production 
project approved by the Alabama Film Office. Effective until September 30, 2005. 

Acts 2001, 4th Ex. Sess., No. 1122, p. 1190 

Provided for the distribution of sales and use taxes generated from remote sellers when the U.S. Congress enacts 
legislation allowing states to collect sales and use taxes on remote sellers: (1) into the Education Trust Fund Rainy 
Day Account until the fund reaches and maintains a balance of 6% of the previous year’s Education Trust Fund 
appropriations; (2) into the State General Fund Rainy Day Fund until the fund reaches and maintains a balance of 6% of 
the previous year’s State General Fund appropriations; and (3) any remaining collections would be deposited into the 
Education Trust Fund. 

Acts 2004, No. 638, p. 1461 

Changed the distribution of revenue generated from the 2% sales tax on automobiles and related items from 42% to 
the State General Fund and 58% to the Education Trust Fund to the following: 

(1)  From July 1, 2004 through the fiscal year ending September 30, 2005, 48.7% would be deposited into the Education 
Trust Fund and 51.3% shall be deposited into the State General Fund. 

(2)  From October 1, 2005 through the fiscal year ending September 30, 2006, 39.4% would be deposited into the 
Education Trust Fund and 60.6% shall be deposited into the State General Fund. 

Acts 2005, 1st Ex. Sess., No. 305, p. 643 

Extended the sunset date for the sales and use tax exemption allowed for film companies approved by the Alabama 
Film Commission until September 30, 2006. 
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Acts 2006, No. 574, p. 1507 

Established an annual sales and use tax holiday for the first full weekend in August of each year. 

Acts 2006, No. 583, p. 1537 

Exempted withdrawals from inventory by retailers from sales and use taxes if made for the purpose of making a gift to 
an entity that qualifies under federal law to receive tax exempt donations. 

Acts 2006, No. 602, p. 1653 

Provided that athletic events held by nonpublic schools are exempt from state sales tax. 

Acts 2009, No. 144, p. 268 

Established the Entertainment Industry Incentive Act of 2009. Exempted qualified production companies from the 
state’s portion of sales and use taxes and from all state and local lodgings taxes if a production company spends in 
the aggregate at least $150,000 in the state within a 12-consecutive month period.  

Acts 2010, No. 514, p. 848 

Exempted certain items related to commercial fishing vessels from sales and use taxes, including personal floatation 
devices and lifeboats. 

Acts 2011, No. 642, p. 1633 

Redistributed revenues, not to exceed $5 million, that would otherwise be distributed to the Department of 
Conservation and Natural Resources for capital outlay, repairs, and maintenance of the state parks system to the State 
General Fund for fiscal years 2012 and 2013. 

Acts 2012, No. 185, p. 298 

Exempted from sales tax the parts, components, and systems that become part of a fixed rotary wing military aircraft 
or certified transport category aircraft which undergoes conversion or general maintenance in Alabama so long as the 
address of the aircraft is not in the state.  

Acts 2012, No. 256, p. 492 

Established an annual sales tax holiday for certain disaster preparedness supplies for the first full weekend in July 
2012 and the last full weekend in February each subsequent year. 

Acts 2012, No. 279, p. 563 

Required the Department of Revenue to develop and make available before September 30, 2013, a system that will 
allow a taxpayer to voluntarily file and remit state and local sales or use, leasing, and retail taxes through an electronic 
single-point filing program. 

Acts 2012, No. 309, p. 680 

Exempted from sales tax any item used for the treatment of diabetes with a valid prescription. 

Acts 2012, No. 395, p. 1056 

Exempted the sale of metal, other than gold or silver, purchased for the purpose of transferring the metal to an 
investment trust in exchange for shares or other units. 
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Acts 2012, 1st Ex. Sess., No. 599, p. 1924 

Repealed Acts 2001, 4th Ex. Sess., No. 1122 and provided for the distribution of taxes generated from remote sellers. 

Acts 2013, No. 200, p. 391 

Exempted from sales tax purchases of aviation jet fuel made by carriers conducting scheduled all-cargo operations 
engaged in international flights. 

Acts 2013, No. 205, p. 439 

Required the Department of Revenue to grant contractors and subcontractors, licensed by the State Licensing Board 
for General Contractors, a certificate of exemption from state and local sales tax for the purchase of building 
materials, construction materials and supplies, and other tangible personal property that becomes part of a structure 
that is the subject of a written contract for the construction of a building or other project for the State of Alabama, 
counties, municipalities, local boards of education, industrial development boards, and other governmental entities. 

Acts 2013, No. 333, p. 1165 

Required licensed ophthalmologists or licensed optometrists to collect state sales tax when dispensing or transferring 
ophthalmic materials and other therapeutic optic devices to a patient as part of their professional service. 

Acts 2013, No. 443, p. 1761 

Exempted any item used for the treatment of illness or injury or to replace all or part of a limb or internal body part. 

Acts 2014, No. 316, p. 1120 

Established the Small Business Tax Relief Act of 2014. Increased the average monthly state sales tax liability for 
estimated payments from $1,000 to $2,500. 

Acts 2014, No. 325, p. 1189 

Codified a regulation of the Alabama Department of Revenue exempting private educational institutions operating in 
the state from state and local sales and use taxes on tangible personal property and lunches provided to K-12 students 
that are not sold for a profit. 

Acts 2014, No. 336, p. 1240 

Defined “prepaid wireless service” and clarified that prepaid wireless services evidenced by a physical card and not 
evidenced by a physical card, which is considered a prepaid authorization number, are subject to sales tax. 

Acts 2014, No. 453, p. 1685 

Repealed Acts 2013, No. 443 and established an exemption for a durable medical equipment, prosthetics, or orthotic 
devices and medical supplies paid for by Medicare, Medicaid, or a health benefit plan from all state and local sales and 
use and rental taxes. 

Acts 2015, 1st Ex., Sess., No. 503, p. 1816 

Provided for the collection of sales tax from out-of-state residents who purchase a vehicle in Alabama and whose 
resident state does not allow Alabama residents to purchase vehicles in their state for “first titling and registration” in 
Alabama without the payment of tax to that state. Excluded vehicle campers and motor homes from the “drive-out” 
provisions. 
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Acts 2015, 2nd Ex. Sess., No. 535, p. 1901 

Changed the distribution of sales tax collected on consumable vapor products from the Education Trust Fund to the 
State General Fund. 

Acts 2015, 2nd Ex. Sess., No. 551, p. 2068 

Clarified that the automobile sales tax paid by out-of-state residents who purchase a vehicle in Alabama, pursuant to 
the provisions of Act 2015-503, shall not be levied at a rate higher than the automobile sales tax of the resident state. 

Acts 2017, No. 120, p. 161 

Changed the annual sales tax holiday on school items from the first full weekend of August to the third full weekend in 
July. 

Acts 2017, No. 397, p. 1288 

Provides a sales and use tax exemption on the gross proceeds from services provided by photographers even when 
provided as a part of a transaction ultimately involving the sale of photograph(s), as long as such services are 
separately stated to the customer on a bill of sale, invoice, or like memorialization of the transaction; and provides that 
any sales on such transactions prior to October 1, 2017, is not subject to sales or use tax and any parties that paid 
sales or use tax shall not be eligible for a refund.    

Acts 2018, No. 164 

Exempted the gross proceeds of sales of bullion or money for five years, unless extended by an act of the Legislature. 

Acts 2019, No. 444 

Exempted adaptive equipment used on motor vehicles for persons without normal mobility. 

Acts 2019, No. 253 

Provided that tax filings for sales, use, and lodgings taxes may be made quarterly, semi-annually, or annually 
dependent upon total sales, use, or transient occupancy tax liability. Additionally, provided amount limits for the filing 
of sales, use, and lodging tax reports. 

Acts 2021, No. 130 

Provides that beginning January 1, 2021, the Alabama School of Fine Arts Foundation, Inc.; the Alabama High School 
of Mathematics and Science Foundation; and the Alabama School of Cyber Technology and Engineering Foundation 
are exempt from the payment of state and local sales and use taxes. 

Acts 2021, No. 170 

Exempts The World Games (TWG) 2021 Birmingham Foundation, with respect to the operation of the World Games 
2022, from all state, county, and municipal sales and use taxes, including admissions. 

Acts 2021, No. 298 

Provides that beginning January 1, 2020, all airport authorities established by general or local law, and contracts 
entered into by those airport authorities on or after January 1, 2020, are exempt from state, county, and municipal 
sales and use taxes. 

Acts 2021, No. 372 

Requires the Department of Revenue to issue sales and use tax certificates of exemption to contractors for the 
purchase of materials for highway, road, and bridge contracts. 
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Acts 2021, No. 374 

Exempts the Birmingham Regional Paratransit Consortium, Inc., from payment of all state, county, and municipal sales 
and use taxes. Additionally, the following  entities are exempt from the payment of state, county, and municipal sales 
and use taxes: the Birmingham Holocaust Education Center, the Community Foundation of South Alabama, the 
Community Foundation of West Alabama, the Black Belt Community Foundation, the Community Foundation of 
Northeast Alabama, the Community Foundation of Greater Birmingham, the Community Foundation of Greater 
Huntsville, the Community Foundation of Greater Decatur, the Limestone Area Community Foundation, the Central 
Alabama Community Foundation, the Community Foundation of East Alabama, and the Walker Area Community 
Foundation. 

Acts 2021, No. 445 

Increased the annual transfer of sales tax discount receipts to the Department of Conservation and Natural Resources 
(DCNR) for capital outlay, repairs, and maintenance of the state parks system from $5,000,000, currently, to 
$7,000,000;  and requires  the State Treasurer,  beginning with fiscal year 2023, to annually adjust the $7,000,000 
credited to DCNR to reflect the change in the Consumer Price Index for all Urban Consumers. 

Acts 2021, No. 496 

Exempts the Victims of Crime and Leniency, Incorporated (VOCAL), from state, county, and municipal sales and use 
taxes. 

Acts 2023, No. 554 

Beginning September 1, 2023 the state sales tax rate on food is reduced from 4% to 3%; and from 3% to 2% effective 
September 1, 2024 contingent upon the satisfaction of certain estimated growth requirements in the total net receipts 
to the Education Trust Fund. Provided that, if the growth requirements are not satisfied, the state sales tax rate on 
food will be reduced to 2% in a subsequent fiscal year when the growth requirements are satisfied. Establishes each 
county or municipality’s tax rate on food as of the effective date of this act as the general or retail sales tax rate on 
food, and prohibits any county or municipality from levying an additional sales tax on food. Authorizes counties and 
municipalities to reduce, by ordinance or resolution, the tax rate on food by 25 percent in any year in which the growth 
in that county or municipality’s general fund exceeds 2% over the prior year. 

Note Regarding Local Levies: 

Municipalities may levy, by ordinance, a sales tax, per Sections 11-51-200 through 11-51-211 of the Code of Alabama 
1975. One-half the amount levied in the municipality may be levied in the police jurisdiction.  

Counties may, per Section 40-12-4 of the Code of Alabama 1975, levy a sales or use tax (referendum is optional) to be 
used exclusively for public school purposes. A local act may be established by the legislature authorizing counties to 
levy a sales tax for other purposes. A county’s sales and use tax rate may vary depending upon whether the sale 
occurs within or outside of a municipality’s corporate limits. All local sales and use taxes are subject to the same 
exemptions as the state sales and use tax and must generally conform to the corresponding state levies except for the 
rate of the tax. Municipalities and counties may collect their own sales and use tax. Section 40-23-2.1 provides that 
only one county and only one municipal tax may be collected on the same sale. A county or municipality may have 
more than one sales or use tax rate depending on the type of tangible personal property purchased. For example, an 
automobile rate may differ from the vending machine rate and the general rate. 
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Scrap Tire Environmental Fees 
Acts 2003, No. 332, p. 823 

Established the Alabama Scrap Tire Environmental Quality Act. Levied a $1 scrap tire environmental fee on each 
replacement tire sold in the state and provided for the distribution of revenues; authorized the Department of 
Environmental Management to administer and enforce the program and establish permit fees for processors; 
reestablished the Scrap Tire Commission; and repealed the scrap tire license statute effective October 1, 2004. 

Acts 2006, No. 559, p. 1285 

Made technical changes regarding the permitting requirements for processors and transporters of scrap tires; and 
authorized the Department of Revenue to share information related to the collection and administration of the fee with 
the Department of Environmental Management. 

Acts 2009, No. 779, p. 2433 

Clarified that scrap tire dealers that collect and remit the scrap tire disposal fee are not also subject to the solid waste 
disposal fee established under the Solid Waste and Recyclable Materials Act; increased the amount of tire disposal 
fees retained by tire dealers from 5% to 7%; and transferred responsibilities associated with the development and 
management of an end use market development program for alternatives to landfill disposal of scrap tires from the 
Department of Economic and Community Affairs to the Department of Environmental Management. 

Simplified Sellers Use Tax 
Acts 2015, No. 448, p. 1443 

Created “The Simplified Seller Use Tax Remittance Act” to allow eligible sellers to voluntarily collect, report, and remit 
Simplified Sellers Use Tax in fiscal year 2016 at an 8% tax rate; provided for a 2% timely filing discount; and provided 
for distribution of collections. 

Acts 2016, No. 110, p. 172 

Allowed eligible sellers to remain in the voluntary Simplified Seller Use Tax Remittance Program unless (1) a presence 
through a physical business address for making in state retail sales is established or (2) collection is required through 
an affiliate. 

Acts 2017, No. 82, p. 110 

Changes the simplified sellers use tax distribution to counties and municipalities to monthly rather than quarterly; 
requires reporting from sellers not currently collecting sales, use, or simplified sellers use taxes; removes the six 
month wait provision for establishing a distribution center; removes the requirement to include account number on a 
statement or invoice; and allows the Department to disclose certain information regarding eligible sellers in the 
Simplified Sellers Use Tax Remittance Program. 

Acts 2018, No. 539 

Includes marketplace facilitators as eligible sellers for any sales made by or on behalf of a marketplace seller; 
provides that the amount allowed for the 2% discount to not apply to any taxes collected and remitted in excess of 
$400,000 beginning January 1, 2019; changes the municipality and county distribution of SSUT from equal portions of 
one-half of the total receipts to 40% and 60%, respectively, of one-half of the total receipts, beginning on or after 
January 1, 2019; and requires marketplace facilitators with at least $250,000 in retail sales in Alabama for the 
preceding 12 months to either be eligible sellers in the SSUT remittance program for marketplace sellers or report 
retail sales and provide customer notifications by January 1, 2019. 
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Acts 2019, No. 382 

Extended the amnesty period of uncollected remote use taxes for eligible sellers participating in the simplified sellers 
use program to October 1, 2019. Disallowed class action lawsuits against an eligible seller on behalf of customers for 
an overpayment of simplified sellers use tax collected and remitted. 

South Dakota v. Wayfair, Inc., 138 S. Ct. 2080 (2018) 

On June 21, 2018, the United States Supreme Court issued a decision in South Dakota v. Wayfair that struck down the 
requirement that a vendor must have “physical presence” in a state to be subject to state tax registration and 
collection requirements. 

The Department of Revenues “economic nexus” rule 810-6-2-.90.03, was applied prospectively to sales made on or 
after October 1, 2018. Remote sellers with annual Alabama sales in excess of the rule’s in excess of $250,000 are 
required to register with the Department and collect and pay tax. Sellers may satisfy the reporting requirement in one 
of the following methods; collecting, reporting, and remitting sales and use tax, collecting, reporting, and remitting 
simplified sellers use tax, or having simplified sellers use tax collected by a marketplace facilitator. 

Solid Waste Disposal Fees 
Acts 2008, No. 151, p. 244 

Established the Solid Wastes and Recyclable Materials Management Act. Levied statewide solid waste disposal fees 
on generators of solid waste who dispose of solid waste at a solid waste management facility at the current rates and 
provided for the distribution of revenues. 

State Securities Commission Fees 
Acts 1959, No. 542, p. 1318 

Established the Office of Securities Commission and required the registration of dealers, salesmen, and securities. 

Acts 1969, No. 740, p. 1315 

Abolished the Office of the Securities Commission and established the Alabama Securities Commission. 

Acts 1979, No. 462, p. 827 

Increased the filing fee from $40 to $150 on applications for exemption from registration in certain non-public security 
offerings. 

Acts 1988, 1st Ex. Sess., No. 722, p. 112 

Increased the registration fees for dealers from $100 to $200 and agents from $20 to $50. 

Acts 1990, No. 527, p. 772 

Substantial revision of the Securities Act, including: provision for registration and regulation of investment advisers 
and investment adviser representatives; elimination of the $10 filing fee formerly required with the quarterly report of 
issuers who registered securities; Securities Commission retention of filing and registration fees when a security’s 
registration statement is withdrawn before the effective date or a pre-effective order is entered (formerly the 
Commission retained the filing fee and one-half of the registration fee); modification of the registration fee 
requirements applicable to investment company distributions, so that they may register an indefinite amount of 
securities for a $40 filing fee and a $1,000 registration fee at the time of filing and thereafter report the amount of 
securities sold and remit the same $1,000 registration fee for any additional year during which the registration 
statement remains in effect; exemption from registration of securities sold by certain open-end management 
investment companies and unit investment trusts with a requirement that those companies file a notice of intent to 
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sell securities and pay specified filing fees; requirement that a $150 fee accompany an application for an interpretative 
opinion or no-action letter from the Commission; and eliminated $10 examination fee charged agents and dealers (fee 
had not been collected by Commission in several years because it does not give examinations). 

Acts 1991, No. 320, p. 584 

Changed distribution of the filing fees for the exemption of open-end management investment companies from the 
State General Fund to the Alabama Securities Commission Fund; and increased filing fee for an exemption from full 
registration from $150 to $250. 

Acts 2009, No. 774, p. 2401 

Increased initial and renewal registration fees for dealers and investment advisors, filing fees for open-ended 
management companies, face amount certificate companies, and unit investment trust companies; and the filing fees 
for an exemption from full registration to the current amounts. 

Acts 2014, No. 376, p. 1401 

Eliminated an exemption for certain investments with an aggregate amount of not more than $500,000 from various 
regulations; created a new intrastate crowd funding exemption that will allow Alabama entrepreneurs to raise up to 
$1,000,000 from Alabama investors; and required a $150 nonrefundable filing fee for every notice of exemption filed 
with the Commission. 

Acts 2018, No. 275  

Increased the annual registration or renewal fee for agents and investment adviser representatives from $60 to $70; 
and expanded the filing fee tier structure by adding a new bracket for and requiring a nonrefundable filing fee of 
$2,000 for open-end management companies with total net assets equal to or greater than $250 million. 

Store Licenses Tax 
Acts 1935, No. 194, p. 256 

Established the Stores License Tax at the present rates. 

Telecommunications Services Tax, Mobile 
Acts 1990, No. 97, p. 104  

Exempted cellular radio telecommunications companies from the Utility Gross Receipts Tax, the Telephone Privilege 
Tax, the Public Utilities Tax, and from payment of ad valorem taxes at the Class I assessment rate (30%); levied a tax 
on cellular customers, based on gross receipts derived by providers from recurring access and local airtime charges 
for cellular radio telecommunications services, at the rate of 4% or, if less, the rate imposed by Section 40-21-82 
(Utility Gross Receipts Tax). The effect was a tax at the rate of 4% on first $40,000, 3% on next $20,000 and 2% on any 
additional (over $60,000) monthly charges. Provided that receipts be deposited into the State Treasury. 

Acts 1992, No. 623, p. 1466 

Provided for a separate (from electricity, water, and gas utilities) telephone gross receipts tax at an increased rate and 
amended Section 40-21-121 to provide that the cellular telephone tax rate is tied to the telephone gross receipts tax 
rate (if that rate is lower than 4%) rather than to the gross receipts tax rate of other utilities. The effect of this 
provision was to maintain at 4% the tax rate on the first $40,000 of monthly charges, increase from 3% to 4% the tax 
rate on the next $20,000 of monthly charges, and increase from 2% to 3.7% the tax rate on any additional (over 
$60,000) monthly charges. 
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Acts 1997, 1st Ex. Sess., No. 867, p. 208 

Made the sale of prepaid telephone calling cards subject to the sales and use tax and exempted the usage of those 
cards from the utility gross receipts tax and the cellular telecommunications services tax. 

Acts 1998, No. 195, p. 338 

Provided for the incorporation of the Alabama Revolving Loan Fund Authority to issue up to $12 million in bonds for 
the purpose of making grants to the 12 regional planning commissions. This act pledged for the repayment of the 
bonds as much as necessary of the cellular radio telecommunication services tax, subject to ratification of the 
constitutional amendment proposed in Act 1997-356. The proposed amendment was ratified and became Amendment 
No. 616 to the Constitution of Alabama of 1901, now appearing as Section 213.37 of the Official Recompilation of the 
Constitution of Alabama of 1901. 

Acts 1999, No. 399, p. 663 

Provided that broadband personal communications services would be taxed under the cellular telecommunications 
tax, rather than the utility gross receipts tax, and included commercial mobile radio services in the definition of cellular 
services to which the cellular telecommunications tax applies; and provided that any cellular telecommunication 
services provider who accepts, in good faith from a purchaser, a cellular telecommunication services tax exemption 
form provided or approved for use by the Department of Revenue would not subsequently be liable to the Department 
of Revenue or others for the tax on sales to that purchaser. 

Acts 2001, 4th Ex. Sess., No. 1090, p. 1120 

Brought Alabama’s Cellular Telecommunications (Mobile Telecommunications) Tax provisions into alignment with the 
federal Mobile Telecommunications Sourcing Act. The provisions of the act which relate to alignment with that federal 
act were effective for customer bills issued on or after August 2, 2002 (pursuant to federal law); amended the 
definition of “monthly charges” upon which the tax is based to expand the tax base to include all airtime charges, 
including toll and roaming charges (formerly local airtime charges only), effective for all customer bills dated on or 
after February 1, 2002, regardless of when the services being billed were provided; increased the tax rate from 4% on 
monthly charges less than $60,000 and $4,020 plus 3.7% of excess over $60,000 on monthly charges over $60,000 to 
6% beginning with bills dated February 1, 2002; authorized home service providers furnishing mobile 
telecommunications services to deduct and retain .9% from the tax billed on or after February 1, 2002 and until 
October 1, 2002, at which time the amount retained and deducted decreased to .25% of the tax billed; changed the 
distribution of the remaining tax receipts,  

after payment of principal and interest on Alabama Revolving Loan Fund Authority bonds, from the State General Fund 
to current distribution; and levied a tax on mobile radio communication services at the same rate as the Mobile 
Telecommunications Tax, effective February 1, 2002. 

Acts 2007, No. 279, p.378 

Increased the aggregate amount of bonds that may be issued by the Alabama Revolving Loan Authority for the purpose 
of making grants to the 12-regional planning and development commissions from $12 million to $24 million. 

Tennessee Valley Authority In-Lieu-of-Taxes Payments 
Public Law 48, Statute 68, Section 13 

Initial federal legislation which established the Tennessee Valley Authority in 1933 and authorized payments to the 
states served by TVA. 
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Acts 1978, 2nd Ex. Sess., No. 92, p. 1786 

Provided for the sharing of the TVA payments between the State of Alabama and certain counties, including dry non-
TVA counties; and amended Section 28-3-74, Code of Alabama 1975, to eliminate the distribution of alcoholic beverage 
revenues to dry counties. 

Acts 1979, No. 306, p. 458 

Amended Act 1978-92, to tie distribution of 5% of total state TVA money going to each dry non-TVA county and to 
municipalities within those counties to their respective shares of total ABC distribution to dry non-TVA counties and 
municipalities within those counties in FY 1979, rather than to a proportionate share of ABC total distribution to all dry 
counties that same fiscal year; and provided that dry counties would not receive less revenue from TVA receipts than 
they would have received from ABC distributions in the previous fiscal year. 

Acts 1979, No. 786, p. 1425 

Added definitions of terms and clarified the manner and procedures for distributing portions of the TVA payments and 
the procedures by which portions of the payments received by dry counties not served by the TVA would be shared 
with the cities within such counties. 

Acts 1987, No. 586, p. 957 

Provided that all of the TVA in-lieu-of-taxes revenue retained by the State of Alabama (following the distribution of the 
counties’ portion of TVA payments) be deposited to the credit of the Tennessee Valley Exhibit Commission Trust Fund, 
until the balance in the Fund equals the amount of debt service on any bonds issued by the Tennessee Valley Exhibit 
Commission for the next succeeding fiscal year. All other TVA in-lieu-of-taxes revenue retained by the state would be 
credited to the State General Fund.  

Acts 1990, No. 531, p. 823 

Amended Sections 41-9-782 and 41-9-783, Code of Alabama 1975, relating to the Tennessee Valley Exhibit Commission 
to authorize the Commission to issue and sell revenue bonds in a principal amount not to exceed $1.5 million in order 
to pay certain costs of completing an information and exhibit center; and appropriated and pledged such amounts as 
may be necessary to pay principal and interest on the bond issue from monies retained by the state from in-lieu-of-tax 
payments made by the Tennessee Valley Authority. Required the Commission to, at the end of each fiscal year, 
transfer any surplus funds in its account to the Tennessee Valley Exhibit Commission Trust Fund for reimbursement of 
monies previously withdrawn with interest. After repayment to the trust fund, any surplus monies remaining are to be 
transferred to the State General Fund. 

Acts 1995, No. 372, p. 746 and No. 373, p. 747 

Pledged and appropriated the portion of the TVA payments remaining after distribution of the county shares and the 
payment of the debt service on bonds issued by the Tennessee Valley Exhibit Commission to pay the debt service on 
bonds issued by the Incentives Financing Authority. Act 1995-373 created the Alabama Incentives Financing Authority 
and authorized it to issue bonds to finance industrial projects in the state.  

Acts 2006, No. 655, p. 1792 

Increased the annual amount of TVA payments distributed to served counties from 75% to 78% beginning in FY 2006. 
Required additional amounts received by the counties from the 3% to be allocated by local legislation. The additional 
3% comes from amounts previously retained by the state. 
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Acts 2007, No. 417, p. 869 

Provided that any county in which a community development district is located would participate in the distribution of 
the state beer tax. A dry county that receives alcoholic beverage taxes or fees because of this act would have its share 
of TVA payments reduced by the amount equal to the alcoholic beverage taxes or fees received by such county. 

Acts 2010, No. 135, p. 190 

Limited the amount of revenue distributed from the state liquor taxes to the State General Fund, the Public Welfare 
Trust Fund, and the Special Mental Health Fund at the amount received for fiscal year 2009 until the annual growth in 
liquor tax receipts above the fiscal year 2009 amount equals the amount of Tennessee Valley Authority (TVA) in-lieu-
of-taxes payments distributed in FY 2009 to the dry counties not served by the TVA. Beginning with the fiscal year 
ending September 30, 2010, distributed to the dry counties not served by the TVA from the growth in state liquor taxes 
up to the amount of TVA payments distributed to dry counties for fiscal year 2009 plus an amount equal to the 
percentage growth in TVA payments received by the state; and reduced the amount of TVA payments distributed to the 
dry counties not served by TVA by an amount equal to the amounts allocated to those counties from the state liquor 
taxes and distributed to the counties served by the TVA.   

Tobacco Tax (Excluding Cigarettes) 
Acts 1935, No. 194, p. 256 

Established the tobacco stamp sales tax; outlined ten categories of tobacco products other than cigarettes; and set 
rates for little cigars according to weight, while the rates on the remaining tobacco product categories were based on 
retail price. See act for tobacco tax rate schedule. 

Acts 1939, No. 409, p. 538 

Established the tobacco use tax; set rates and definitions same as tobacco stamp sales tax. 

Acts 1945, No. 326, p. 528 

Changed the rate schedule for most tobacco product categories to a schedule based on retail price. See act for 
tobacco tax rate schedule. 

Acts 1947, No. 288, p. 143 

Changed the rate schedule for several tobacco product categories and effectively increased the tobacco tax rate on 
smoking tobacco by the adoption of rates based on weight per package, rather than on retail price. See act for tobacco 
tax rate schedule. 

Acts 1959, 2nd Ex. Sess., No. 101, p. 318 

Reduced the tobacco tax rates on most categories of cigars and smoking tobacco. See act for tobacco tax rate 
schedule. 

Acts 1959, No. 637, p. 1550 

Increased tobacco tax rates on several categories of tobacco products. See act for tobacco rate schedule. 

Acts 1999, 2nd Ex. Sess., No. 650, p. 96 

Effective January 1, 2001, changed distribution of remaining proceeds, after deduction of the cost of collection, from 
the Education Trust Fund to the State General Fund. 

  



Appendix – Legislative History  Page 254 

Acts 2004, No. 545, p. 1157 

Increased the state cigarette and other tobacco product taxes; provided for the distribution of proceeds; and provided 
that no additional local taxes may be levied after the date of passage. 

Acts 2012, No. 425, p. 1146 

Established the cigar wrapper tax and provided for the distribution of proceeds. 

Acts 2014, No. 262, p. 827 

Separated little cigars from certain filtered cigars and eliminated the retail selling price requirement to determine the 
tax rate on cigars; and required all wholesalers, jobbers, semi-jobbers or any other person selling, receiving or 
distributing tobacco products in Alabama for resale to file a report of its activity with the Department. 

Acts 2015, 2nd Ex. Sess., No. 535, p. 1901 

Effective October 1, 2015, reduced the discount allowed to wholesalers and jobbers of tobacco products to 4.75%; 
provided that all sales of tobacco products to a reservation tobacco vendor are taxable; and allowed a reservation 
tobacco vendor to get a refund of tobacco taxes paid on products sold to tribal members. 

Transportation Company Inspection and Supervision Fee 
Acts 1920, No. 37, p. 38 

Established the following annual inspection and supervision fees for public utilities (as defined in the act): 

Gross Receipts Rate per $1,000 

First $10,000 or less $2.50 

Up to and including $100,000 $2.00 

Up to and including $350,000 $1.50 

Up to and including $700,000 $1.25 

Up to and including $1,000,000 $1.00 

Up to and including $2,000,000 $.75 

Up to and including $3,000,000 $.25 

In excess of $3,000,000 $.10 

Minimum rate - $25  

Maximum rate - $3,000  

Provided for fees to be paid annually. 

Acts 1920, No. 42, p. 92 

Provided that the fees established in Act 1920-37 also apply to transportation companies (as defined in this act). 
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Acts 1981, No. 718, p. 1210 

Amended inspection and supervision fees paid by transportation companies to the following rates (based on gross 
intrastate receipts) and provided for quarterly payment: 

Gross Receipts Rate per $1,000 

First $100,000 or less $2.50 

$100,001 to $1,000,000 $2.00 

In excess of $1,000,000 $1.50 

Minimum rate - $25; Maximum rate for railroad companies - $5,000/yr. 

Acts 1985, No. 756, p. 1256 

Provided that transportation companies with gross intrastate receipts in excess of $60 million per calendar quarter be 
required to pay inspection and supervision fees based on the quarter rather than the preceding fiscal year. 

Acts 1989, No. 943, p. 1852 

Provided fee payment option of $10 per instrument annually in lieu of existing fees for providers of pay telephone 
service; and authorized the Commission to deposit transportation company inspection and supervision fees into the 
Commission’s operating fund to be used for any expenses incurred by the Commission under Title 37. 

Acts 1991, No. 586, p. 1075 

Established the current rate schedule. 

Underground and Aboveground Storage Tank Regulatory Fees 
Acts 1988, No. 378, p. 557 

Created the Alabama Underground Storage Tank Trust Fund; provided for the tank fee to be credited to the 
Underground Storage Tank Trust Fund; and provided for third party claims and disbursements to be paid from the 
Fund.  

Acts 1988, No. 537, p. 823 

Provided for the regulatory program for underground storage tanks and a tank regulation fee to be used by the 
Department of Environmental Management. 

Acts 1993, No. 628, p. 1062 

Made the tank fee applicable to underground and aboveground storage tanks; authorized the assessment of an 
Underground and Aboveground Storage Tank Trust Fund charge and renamed the existing Trust Fund accordingly; 
provided that this charge would be the primary funding mechanism for the Alabama Underground and Aboveground 
Storage Tank Trust Fund; and included certain aboveground motor fuels storage tanks in the provisions of the statute. 

Acts 1993, 1st Ex. Sess., No. 891, p. 165 

Established the Underground and Aboveground Tank Trust Fund charge as a flat fee based on invoiced gallons ranging 
from $1.50 to $27. A portion of the Underground and Aboveground Storage Tank Trust Fund was appropriated 
retroactively for the fiscal year ending September 30, 1994 and each subsequent fiscal year to the Department of 
Environmental Management for administrative costs related to the provisions of this act. 

  



Appendix – Legislative History  Page 256 

Acts 2003, 2nd Ex. Sess., No. 483, p. 1486 

Created the new nine member Underground and Aboveground Storage Tank Trust Fund Management Board to, among 
other things, annually recommend to the Environmental Management Commission a fuel fee based on invoiced gallons 
of not less than $.003 per gallon nor more than $.01 to replace the flat fee schedule; established the initial fuel fee of 
$.005 per gallon beginning January 1, 2004;  authorized the Legislature to make additional appropriations above 
statutory limits from the Fund to the Department of Environmental Management for administrative expenses not to 
exceed 5% of the total fees collected; and removed the previous $10 million cap on tank fee charges, which allows the 
fees to be collected continuously. 

Acts 2009, No. 589, p. 1734  

Clarified that motor fuel blends (biodiesel and ethanol) are subject to the fuel fee and receive the same financial 
protection from the Fund as other motor fuels; increased the maximum fuel fee that may be charged from $.01 per 
gallon to $.02 per gallon, based on the annual recommendation from the Trust Fund Management Board, beginning 
October 1, 2009. 

Unemployment Compensation Tax 
Acts 1935, No. 447, p. 950 

Established system of unemployment compensation. Set employer rate at 2.7% of wages beginning during the 
calendar year 1938 (employee rate was set at 1% of wages). Set maximum weekly benefit of $15. 

Acts 1939, No. 497, p. 721 

After December 31, 1939, limited the employee rate of 1% to the first $3,000 in wages earned; and established a 
committee to explore an experience rating system for employer contributions. 

Acts 1943, No. 310, p. 281 

Limited the amount of wages which could be taxed to the first $3,000 earned each calendar year and established 
experience rating system whereby employer rates ranged from .5% to 2.7%. Employee rates ranged from .1% to 1.0%. 

Acts 1957, No. 299, p. 382 

Limited employee contribution rate to .1% at all levels of earnings. 

Acts 1961, No. 274, p. 2298 

Increased employer contribution rate to a maximum of 3.6% of wages; increased employee contribution to .25% at all 
levels of earnings (.5% if no experience rating); and increased maximum weekly benefit to $32. 

Acts 1969, No. 234, p. 559 

Set weekly benefit amount at 1/26th of the total wages for insured work paid to an employee during that quarter of his 
or her base period in which such total wages were the highest; increased maximum weekly benefit to $50; and 
eliminated contribution rate for employee unless fund is less than certain minimum amount (in which case, employee 
rate is .5%). 

Acts 1971, No. 166, p. 440 

Increased wage base upon which contribution rates are levied from $3,000 to $4,000; and lowered employer rate for 
those upon which no experience rating had been developed from 2.7% to 1.5%.  
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Acts 1975, No. 801, p. 1604 

Increased wage base upon which contribution rates are levied from $4,000 to $4,800; increased maximum employer 
rate to 4%; and increased employer rate for those upon which no experience rating has been developed to 2.7%. 

Acts 1978, No. 1, p. 5 

Increased wage base upon which contribution rates are levied from $4,800 to $6,600; and extended coverage to state 
employees and political subdivisions. 

Acts 1983, No. 155, p. 264 

Increased taxable wage base from $6,600 to $8,000. Increased maximum employer rate to 5.0% for 1984 and 5.4% for 
1985 and thereafter. Provided for emergency surcharge of 25% on employers’ computed tax rate, with a cap of .7% on 
any increase pursuant to the surcharge, until January 1 following the end of any fiscal year where the balance of the 
unemployment trust fund is equal to or in excess of 75% of the minimum normal amount. Increased employee rate 
from .5% to 1% when minimum amounts are not in fund. Increased maximum weekly benefit to $120 and increased the 
minimum weekly benefit amount increased to $22. 

Acts 1985, No. 804, p. 50 

Provided further for suspension and reinstatement of the emergency employer surcharge; and provided for the 
termination of the employee contribution. 

Acts 1988, No. 783, p. 195 

Provided for a special assessment of .06% against wages paid by certain employers to be deposited in the 
"Employment Security Administration Enhancement Fund" for calendar years 1989 through 1991; and provided for a 
corresponding rate reduction of .06% for certain employers for rates paid for calendar years 1989 through 1991. 

Acts 1989, No. 405, p. 822 

Changed experience rating system to the "benefit ratio" (based upon ratio of actual benefits to total payroll); and 
provided for 4 rate schedules, one of which is to be used dependent upon the condition of the fund and the desired 
level of the fund. Increased maximum rate to 6.8% (Schedule D). Reduced minimum rate to .2% (Schedule A). 
Increased maximum weekly benefit to $150. 

Acts 1992, No. 174, p. 285 

Extended until March 1997 the special assessment of .06% of wages to be deposited in the Employment Security 
Administration Enhancement Fund; and extended the corresponding rate reduction for certain employers. 

Acts 1995, No. 764, p. 1792  

Extended until March 31, 2002, the special assessment of .06% of wages to be deposited in the Employment Security 
Administration Enhancement Fund and the corresponding employer tax rate reduction for certain employers. 

Acts 2000, No. 456, p. 842 

Extended until March 31, 2004, the special assessment of .06% of wages to be deposited in the Employment Security 
Administration Enhancement Fund and the employer tax rate reduction for certain employers. 

Acts 2001, No. 694, p. 1453 

Exempted income received for National Guard and Armed Forces Reservists drill duty from being offset against 
unemployment compensation benefits; eliminated the deduction of dismissal or severance pay; and repealed the 
employer penalty tax provision. 
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Acts 2004, No. 110, p. 164 

Extended until March 31, 2006, the special assessment of .06% of wages to be deposited in the Employment Security 
Administration Enhancement Fund and the employer tax rate reduction for certain employer. 

Acts 2006, No. 519, p. 1194 

Extended until March 31, 2008, the special assessment of .06% of wages to be deposited in the Employment Security 
Administration Enhancement Fund and the employer tax rate reduction for certain employers. 

Acts 2006, No. 521, p. 1208 

Reduced the fraction used to calculate the maximum weekly benefit amount (that had been increased to 1/24th of the 
average wages from 1/26th of the total wages paid to an employee during the two quarters of his or her base period in 
which such total wages were the higher).  

Acts 2008, No. 501, p. 1091 

Extended until September 30, 2010, the special assessment of .06% of wages to be deposited in the Employment 
Security Administration Enhancement Fund and the employer tax rate reduction for certain employers and provided for 
a one-week period after the 13th week and prior to the beginning of the 14th week in which no benefits will be payable.  

Acts 2010, No. 505, p. 811 

Extended until September 30, 2011, the special assessment of .06% of wages to be deposited into the Employment 
Security Administration Enhancement Fund and extended the employer tax rate reduction for certain employers. 

Acts 2011, No. 558, p. 1047 

Extended until September 30, 2013, the special assessment of .06% of wages to be deposited into the Employment 
Security Administration Enhancement Fund; and extended the employer tax rate reduction for certain employers. 

Acts 2013, No. 208, p. 446 

Permanently extended the special assessment of .06% of wages to be deposited into the Employment Security 
Administration Fund and permanently extended the employer tax rate reduction for certain employers. 

Acts 2015, No. 157, p. 415 

Provided that each eligible individual who is totally unemployed or partially unemployed in any week beginning on or 
after July 3, 1983 shall be paid in an amount equal to his or her weekly benefit amount less that part of the wages, if 
any, payable to him or her which is in excess of one-third of the weekly benefit amount (previously in excess of $15), to 
be computed to the nearest multiple of $1. 

Acts 2019, No. 204 

Amended the formulation of Unemployment Benefits to: (1) revise the maximum amount of unemployment benefits 
payable to an individual in a benefit year contingent on the state’s average unemployment rate; (2) limit the maximum 
amount of unemployment benefits payable to the lesser of 20 times the individual’s weekly benefit amount or one-
fourth of the wages paid during his or her base period; (3) revise the maximum weekly unemployment benefit amount 
to an amount that is an equal division of the current weeks compensated of the average of the wages for insured work 
paid to the individual during the two quarters of his or her base period in which the total wages were the highest; and 
(4) revise the reductions in unemployment benefit amounts due to disqualification in certain circumstances. 

  



Appendix – Legislative History  Page 259 

Uniform Commercial Code Filing Fees 
Acts 1965, No. 549, p. 811 

Established filing requirements and the following fees: financing and continuation statements, $2 each; termination, 
assignment, and release statements, $1 each; information request, $1 plus $.50 for each financing statement and 
statement of assignment reported therein; and copies of statements, $.50 per page. 

Acts 1973, No. 865, p. 1365 

Increased fees as follows: original financing, continuation, termination, separate assignment, and release statements 
and amendments, to $4; information request, to $3 plus $.50 for each financing and assignment statement reported 
therein; and copies of statements, to $1 per page. 

Acts 1981, No. 312, p. 399 

Increased fees as follows: original financing, continuation, termination, separate assignment, and release statements 
and amendments, to $4 for first page, $.50 for each page thereafter, and added a penalty of $2 if not in prescribed 
form; and added a fee of $1 each for indexing of names or trade names in addition to the one required. 

Acts 1984, No. 307, p. 680 

Exempted mobile homes from being subject to the requirement of filing a continuation statement five years after filing 
a financing statement on a perfected security interest. 

Acts 1984, No. 446, p. 1040 

Increased fees as follows: original financing, continuation, termination, separate assignment, and release statements, 
to $5 for the first page, $1 for each page thereafter; continued $2 penalty if statements not in prescribed form; 
information requests, to $4 plus $1 for each financing and assignment statement reported therein; and copies of 
statements, to $1 per page plus $2 if request not made on standard form. 

Acts 1986, No. 507, p. 989 

Intended to bring Alabama in compliance with Section 1324 of the Federal Food Security Act of 1985 by providing for 
filing of liens relating to farm products, and fees related thereto, with the Secretary of State; provided for information 
request charge of $4 plus $1 for each financing and statement of assignment reported and charge of $1 per page plus 
$2 if request not made on standard form for copies of statements; and directed the Alabama Secretary of State to 
implement a central filing system pertaining to said liens. 

Acts 1987, No. 410, p. 595 

Provided for original financing and continuation statement and amendment filing fees for farm products liens and 
increased UCC filing and information fees; created Uniform Commercial Code and Farm Products Central Index System 
Fund into which a designated percentage of collections of UCC and farm products liens filings fees are to be deposited 
(said percentage decreased each year from a high of 43% in FY 1988 to 19% in FY 1992 and each fiscal year 
thereafter), with the remainder to be deposited to the State General Fund; discontinued filing fees for certain 
termination statements; authorized Secretary of State to distribute micro-imaged portions of the UCC files for $50 and 
printed copies of entire master lists (and any supplements to it) of farm products liens for an annual charge of $25, or 
$15 annually for a portion of the master list on microfiche; and provided for fees for confirmation of oral searches. 

Acts 1990, No. 480, p. 706 

Clarified that the fee for obtaining printed copies of the master list of farm products liens, or any portion of that list, 
shall be up to $25 annually per collateral code requested, and that the fee for a portion of the master list on microfiche 
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is $15 annually per collateral code requested and that oral confirmation of financing statements and the subsequent 
written confirmation (and fee therefore) apply to UCC as well as farm products financing statements. 

Acts 2000, No. 724, p. 1550 

Provided for a charge of $100, in addition to required fees, for optional requests of immediate expedition by the 
Secretary of State. 

Acts 2001, No. 481, p. 647 

Replaced Article 9 of the UCC, regarding secured transactions with revised provisions to allow Alabama to participate 
in a nationwide, centralized (at the state level), electronic secured transaction filing and information system; and 
revised the fee schedule to current rates. The effective date of this act was January 1, 2002, except the revised fee 
provisions, which became effective July 1, 2001. The act retained the prior distribution of fees for filings, but provided 
funding of the Secretary of State’s implementation costs by allocating the amount deposited into the State General 
Fund from July 1, 2001 through December 31, 2001 to the Office of the Secretary of State. 

Acts 2002, No. 518, p. 1337 

Provided a federal Food Security Act – compliant central filing system to permit lenders with security interests in farm 
products to protect their interests; established current filing and indexing fees; and authorized the Secretary of State to 
establish certain other fees to be deposited into the Alabama Farmers Credit Protection Fund created by the act and 
expended for the administrative costs associated with the act. 

Use Tax 
Acts 1939, No. 67, p. 96 

Established a use tax rate of 2% on tangible personal property and .5% on automobile vehicles to be used for teachers' 
salaries. 

Acts 1939, No. 376, p. 502 

Changed distribution of revenues by removing the restriction for the payment of teachers' salaries. 

Acts 1951, No. 209, p. 472 

Changed rate to 3% on tangible personal property and 1% on automotive vehicles. 

Acts 1959, 2nd Ex. Sess., No. 99, p. 295 

Imposed the tax on machines used in mining, quarrying, etc. at the rate of 1.5%; and increased the rate on automotive 
vehicles to 1.5%. 

Acts 1963, 2nd Ex. Sess., No. 105, p. 284 

Changed rate to 4% on tangible personal property. 

Acts 1987, No. 647, p. 1151 

Provided that any over collection of use tax by a retailer from the customer is to be paid to the state and not retained 
by the retailer to increase the net profits of the business. 

Acts 1988, 1st Ex. Sess., No. 867, p. 372 

Increased the use tax rate on automotive vehicles, truck trailers, semitrailers, and house trailers from 1.5% to 2% 
effective October 1, 1988; and provided that the additional $.005 collected is to be deposited to the credit of the State 
General Fund. 
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Acts 1989, No. 920, p. 1823 

Levied a 2% use tax on mobile home set-up materials and supplies. 

Acts 1991, No. 576, p. 1060 

Broadened the array of activities that would require an out-of-state seller to collect and remit use taxes.  

Acts 1993, No. 711, p. 1384 

Provided for the collection of state and local sales and use tax from the purchaser of a boat prior to registration. 

Acts 1994, No. 622, p. 1162 

Consolidated the motorboat sales and use tax with the provisions of motor vehicle sales and use tax. 

Acts 1997, 1st Ex. Sess., No. 867, p. 208 

Provided that the sale of prepaid telephone calling cards and prepaid authorization numbers be treated as the sale of 
tangible personal property. 

Acts 1998, No. 192, p. 310 

Provided that county and municipal sales and use taxes must generally conform to the corresponding state levies, 
except for the rate of tax. 

Acts 1999, No. 570, p. 1122 

Clarified that refinery, residue, or fuel gas generated by a petroleum-refining process and then utilized in the distillation 
or refining of petroleum products is exempt from sales and use tax. 

Acts 1999, 2nd Ex. Sess., No. 650, p. 96 

Changed the distribution of revenue generated from the 2% sales and use tax on automobiles and related items from 
25% to the State General Fund and 75% to the Education Trust Fund to 42% to the State General Fund and 58% to the 
Education Trust Fund, effective January 1, 2001. 

Acts 2001, No. 669, p. 1402 

Authorized the Governor, by executive order, to establish a maximum discount at less than 3% for each seller or vendor 
collecting state use tax, effective June 1, 2001; and provided for the distribution of additional revenues. 

Acts 2001, 3rd Ex. Sess., No. 975, p. 908 

Provided for exemption from sales, use, and lodging taxes for film production companies approved by the Alabama 
Film Office until September 30, 2005. 

Acts 2001, 4th Ex. Sess., No. 1122, p. 1190 

Provided that beginning with the first full fiscal year after Congress enacts legislation allowing states to collect sales 
and use taxes on remote sellers that the increase in sales and use taxes attributable to such sales shall be deposited 
by formula first to the Education Trust Fund Rainy Day Account, then to the State General Fund Rainy Day Account, and 
finally to the Education Trust Fund. 

Acts 2002, No. 525, p. 1371 

Provided for exemption from use tax for sellers who contract with a call center in service prior to October 1, 2003. 
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Acts 2005, 1st Ex. Sess., No. 305, p. 643 

Extended the sunset date for the sales and use tax exemption allowed for film companies approved by the Alabama 
Film Commission until September 30, 2006. 

Acts 2006, No. 574, p. 1507 

Established an annual sales and use tax holiday for the first full weekend in August of each year. 

Acts 2006, No. 583, p. 1537 

Exempted withdrawals from inventory by retailers from sales and use taxes if made for the purpose of making a gift to 
an entity that qualifies under federal law to receive tax exempt donations. 

Acts 2009, No. 144, p. 268 

Established the Entertainment Industry Incentive Act of 2009. Exempted qualified production companies from the 
state’s portion of sales and use taxes and from all state and local lodgings taxes if a production company spends in 
the aggregate at least $150,000 in the state within a 12-consecutive month period.  

Acts 2010, No. 514, p. 848 

Exempted certain items related to commercial fishing vessels from sales and use taxes, including personal floatation 
devices and lifeboats. 

Acts 2011, No. 642, p. 1633 

Redistributed $1 million in revenues that would otherwise be distributed to the Department of Conservation and 
Natural Resources for the Coastal Program to the State General Fund for fiscal years 2012 and 2013. 

Acts 2012, No. 395, p. 1056 

Provided for exemption from use tax for the storage or use of metal, other than gold or silver, when it is held by an 
investment trust.  

Acts 2012, 1st Ex. Sess., No. 599, p. 1924 

Defined “remote use tax” as the tax imposed on: (1) an out-of-state seller with no nexus in Alabama; and (2) the 
consumer in Alabama of out-of-state purchases. If Congress takes action to allow states to impose taxes on remote 
sellers, one-half of the remote use tax revenues collected in Alabama will be distributed to the state and the 
distributed, 75% to the State General Fund (SGF) and 25% to the Education Trust Fund (ETF). Under the previous law, 
the entire one-half of the remote use tax revenues would have been distributed to the ETF. Redistributed the state use 
tax proceeds collected on items other than automobiles as follows: 25% to the SGF and 75% to the ETF. Under the 
previous law, state use tax revenues collected on items other than automobiles were distributed to the ETF.  

Acts 2013, No. 196, p. 376 

Clarified that the sales tax exemption granted by Act 2012-185 for parts, components, and systems which become part 
of a fixed or rotary wing military aircraft or certified transport category aircraft also applied to the use tax. 

Acts 2013, No. 443, p. 1761 

Exempted any item used for the treatment of illness or injury or to replace all or part of a limb or internal body part. 
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Acts 2014, No. 325, p. 1189 

Codified a regulation of the Alabama Department of Revenue exempting private educational institutions operating in 
the state from state and local sales and use taxes on tangible personal property and lunches provided to K-12 students 
that are not sold for a profit. 

Acts 2014, No. 453, p. 1685 

Repealed Act 2013-443 and established an exemption for a durable medical equipment, prosthetics, or orthotic 
devices and medical supplies paid for by Medicare, Medicaid, or a health benefit plan from all state and local sales and 
use and rental taxes. 

Acts 2015, 2nd Ex. Sess., No. 539, p. 1929 

Effective October 1, 2015, changed the distribution of the state use tax proceeds collected on items other than 
automobiles from 25% to the State General Fund and 75% to the Education Trust Fund to 53% to the State General 
Fund and 47% to the Education Trust Fund. 

Acts 2017, No. 397, p. 1288  

Provides a sales and use tax exemption on the gross proceeds from services provided by photographers even when 
provided as a part of a transaction ultimately involving the sale of photograph(s), as long as such services are 
separately stated to the customer on a bill of sale, invoice, or like memorialization of the transaction; and provides that 
any sales on such transactions prior to October 1, 2017, is not subject to sales or use tax and any parties that paid 
sales or use tax shall not be eligible for a refund.    

Acts 2018, No. 164 

Exempted the gross proceeds of sales of bullion or money for five years, unless extended by an act of the legislature. 

Acts 2018, No. 562 

Exempted the sale of fruit or agricultural products by the person or company that planted or cultivated, and harvested 
the fruit or agricultural product, when the land is owned or leased by the seller. Incorporated the sales tax exemption 
schedule into the use tax exemption statue. 

Acts 2019, No. 444 

Exempted adaptive equipment used on motor vehicles for persons without normal mobility. 

Acts 2019, No. 253 

Provided that tax filings for sales, sue, and lodgings taxes may be made quarterly, semi-annually, or annually 
dependent upon total sales, use, or transient occupancy tax liability. Additionally, provided amount limits for the filing 
of sales, use, and lodging tax reports. 

Acts 2021, No. 130 

Provides that beginning January 1, 2021, the Alabama School of Fine Arts Foundation, Inc.; the Alabama High School 
of Mathematics and Science Foundation; and the Alabama School of Cyber Technology and Engineering Foundation 
are exempt from the payment of state and local sales and use taxes. 

Acts 2021, No.170 

Exempts The World Games (TWG) 2021 Birmingham Foundation, with respect to the operation of the World Games 
2022, from all state, county, and municipal sales and use taxes, including admissions. 
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Acts 2021, No. 298 

Provides that beginning January 1, 2020, all airport authorities established by general or local law, and contracts 
entered into by those airport authorities on or after January 1, 2020, are exempt from state, county, and municipal 
sales and use taxes. 

Acts 2021, No. 372 

Requires the Department of Revenue to issue sales and use tax certificates of exemption to contractors for the 
purchase of materials for highway, road, and bridge contracts. 

Acts 2021, No. 374 

Exempts the Birmingham Regional Paratransit Consortium, Inc., from payment of all state, county, and municipal sales 
and use taxes. Additionally, exempts the following entities from the payment of state, county, and municipal sales and 
use taxes: the Birmingham Holocaust Education Center, the Community Foundation of South Alabama, the Community 
Foundation of West Alabama, the Black Belt Community Foundation, the Community Foundation of Northeast Alabama, 
the Community Foundation of Greater Birmingham, the Community Foundation of Greater Huntsville, the Community 
Foundation of Greater Decatur, the Limestone Area Community Foundation, the Central Alabama Community 
Foundation, the Community Foundation of East Alabama, and the Walker Area Community Foundation. 

Acts 2021, No. 496 

Exempts the Victims of Crime and Leniency, Incorporated (VOCAL), from state, county, and municipal sales and use 
taxes. 

Acts 2023, No. 554 

Beginning September 1, 2023 the state use tax rate on food is reduced from 4% to 3%; and from 3% to 2% effective 
September 1, 2024 contingent upon the satisfaction of certain estimated growth requirements in the total net receipts 
to the Education Trust Fund. Provided that, if the growth requirements are not satisfied, the state use tax rate on food 
will be reduced to 2% in a subsequent fiscal year when the growth requirements are satisfied. Establishes each county 
or municipality’s tax rate on food as of the effective date of this act as the general or retail use tax rate on food, and 
prohibits any county or municipality from levying an additional use tax on food. Authorizes counties and municipalities 
to reduce, by ordinance or resolution, the tax rate on food by 25 percent in any year in which the growth in that county 
or municipality’s general fund exceeds 2% over the prior year. 

Utility Company Inspection and Supervision Fee 
Acts 1920, No. 37, p. 38 

Established the following annual inspection and supervision fees for public utilities (as defined in the act): 

Gross Receipts Rate per $1,000 

First $10,000 or less $2.50 

Up to and including $100,000 $2.00 

Up to and including $350,000 $1.50 

Up to and including $700,000 $1.25 

Up to and including $1,000,000 $1.00 

Up to and including $2,000,000 $.75 
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Up to and including $3,000,000 $.25 

In excess of $3,000,000 $.10 

Minimum fee - $25 

 

 

Acts 1932, Ex. Sess., No. 232, p. 233 

Changed the inspection and supervision fees to the following rates (based on gross intrastate receipts): 

Gross Receipts Rate per $1,000 

First $100,000 or less $2.50 

$100,001 to $1,000,000 $2.00 

In excess of $1,000,000 $1.50 

Acts 1981, No. 718, p. 1210 

Provided that fees are to be paid to the Commission quarterly. 

Acts 1985, No. 756, p. 1256 

Provided that utilities with gross intrastate receipts in excess of $60 million per calendar quarter be required to pay 
inspection and supervision fees based on the quarter rather than the preceding fiscal year. 

Acts 1989, No. 943, p. 1852 

Authorized the Commission to deposit utility company inspection and supervision fees into the Commission’s 
operating fund to be used for any expenses incurred by the Commission under Title 37. 

Acts 1991, No. 586, p. 1075 

Established the current rate schedule. 

Utility Gross Receipts Tax and Utility Service Use Tax 
Acts 1969, Ex. Sess., No. 21, p. 46 

Established the Utility Gross Receipts Tax for all utilities at the following rates: 

Gross Monthly Sales Tax Rate 

Less than $8,500 4% 

$8,500-$20,000 $340 plus 3% over $8,500 

$20,001-$40,000 $685 plus 2% over $20,000 

Greater than $40,000 $1,085 plus 1% over $40,000 

Acts 1969, Ex. Sess., No. 37, p. 88 

Established the Utility Service Use Tax at same rates as Act 1969-21 (above). 

Acts 1969, No. 993, p. 1757 
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Deleted utility services stored, used, or consumed by municipal utilities from the definition of “utility services” for 
purposes of the Utility Gross Receipts Tax; and exempted from the Utility Gross Receipts Tax consumption of certain 
utility services for specified purposes by municipalities or an entity thereof. 

Acts 1971, 1st Ex. Sess., No. 98, p. 172 

Established Utility Gross Receipts Tax for all utilities at present rate of tax on electricity, water, and gas. 

Acts 1971, 1st Ex. Sess., No. 99, p. 173 

Established Utility Service Use Tax for all utilities at present rate of tax on electricity, water, and gas. 

Acts 1983, No. 739, p. 1207 

Revised the payment schedule of Utility Gross Receipts Tax so that payers of large tax liabilities will pay on an 
estimated basis during and for the period in which the tax liability accrues (one-time windfall for ETF). 

Acts 1992, No. 623, p. 1466 

Further defined telephone services which are (and are not) subject to the Utilities Gross Receipts Tax and the Utility 
Service Use Tax. Repealed the 2.5% Telephone Gross Receipts Tax and the 2.5% Telegraph Gross Receipts Tax; 
increased the Utility Gross Receipts Tax and the Utility Service Use Tax from 4% to 6.7% on sales to a person up to 
$40,000 per month, from 3% to 3.7% on the next $20,000 of sales per month, and from 2% to 3.7% on sales over 
$60,000 per month; and changed distribution of Utility Gross Receipts Tax from Education Trust Fund to current 
distribution. 

Acts 1996, No. 206, p. 236 

Authorized the Alabama Department of Economic and Community Affairs to enter into contracts until June 30, 1996 
with eligible enterprise zone businesses to provide exemptions from the Utility Gross Receipts Tax and the Utility 
Service Use Tax for a period of up to 20 years. To qualify, a business must employ at least 1,200 people and make 
capital investments and capital improvements of at least $75 million within the enterprise zone. 

Acts 1997, No. 867, p. 208 

Excluded prepaid telephone calling cards from the Utility Gross Receipts Tax, the Utility Service Use Tax, and the 
Cellular Radio Telecommunication Services Tax (and included them in the Sales and Use Taxes). 

Acts 1998, No. 654, p. 1431 

Exempted from the definition of “Telephone Services,” for purposes of the Utility Gross Receipts Tax, access to the 
Internet; and exempted from the definition of “Telephone Services,” for purposes of the Utility Service Use Tax, the 
Internet and access thereto. 

Acts 2001, 4th Ex. Sess., No. 1090, p. 1120 

Amended the Utility Gross Receipts Tax and the Utility Service Use Tax, as applied to telephone services, to include 
interstate telephone service beginning with bills dated on or after February 1, 2002, regardless of when the services 
being billed were provided; changed the tax rate, beginning April 1, 2002, (1) from 6.7% to 6% if gross sales or receipts 
(privilege tax) or sales price (use tax) respecting a person are not over $60,000; and (2) from $4,020 plus 3.7% of 
excess over $60,000 to 6% if the gross sales or receipts or sales price is over $60,000; and provided that utilities 
furnishing telegraph or telephone services may deduct and retain from the gross amount of tax billed by the utility .9% 
of the tax billed on or after February 1, 2002 and .25% beginning October 1, 2002. 

Acts 2004, No. 397, p. 668 



Appendix – Legislative History  Page 267 

Amended the Utility Gross Receipts Tax and the Utility Service Use Tax to provide that if charges for nontaxable 
services are “bundled” with charges for taxable items, then the nontaxable charges are subject to the tax. If the utility 
can reasonably identify nontaxable charges from records kept in the normal course of business, then the charge is not 
subject to taxation. Stated that a customer does not have a right to require the utility or the Department of Revenue to 
separate bundled charges in order to minimize the amount of tax charged to the customer. 

Acts 2006, No. 292, p. 584 

Amended the Utility Gross Receipts Tax and the Utility Service Use Tax to provide definitions and rules for the sourcing 
of telecommunication services for taxation purposes found in the Streamlined Sales and Use Tax Agreement. 

Acts 2007, No. 199, p. 234 

Established the Alabama Economic Incentive Enhancement Act of 2007. Granted certain tax exemptions to qualifying 
entities (defined in the act so as to target ThyssenKrupp), including a Utility Gross Receipts Tax exemption for up to 10 
years. 

Acts 2015, No. 27, p. 103 

Enacted the Alabama Jobs Act. Provides incentives to certain businesses for projects that create any number of new 
employees for a qualifying project whose predominant activity involves chemical manufacturing, data centers, 
engineering, design or research; or at least 50 new employees, for all other projects. Allowed an incentivized company 
to claim an investment credit against income taxes, financial institution excise taxes, insurance premium taxes, utility 
taxes, or some combination of these taxes in an annual amount of 1.5% of the capital investment for 10 years, based 
on the terms and conditions of the project agreement entered into between an approved company and the Governor. 
Authorized the Governor to decrease the amounts and duration of the incentives to ensure the anticipated revenues to 
the state will exceed the amount of incentives sought. Provided that the incentive period does not begin for either 
credit until after the project is placed into service. 

Acts 2015, No. 41, p. 146 

Enacted the Alabama Veterans and Targeted Counties Act. Provided enhanced incentives under the provisions of the 
Alabama Jobs Act (Act 2015-27) to companies located in a targeted county and to companies that employ veterans. 
Further provided that a qualifying project in a targeted county is required to employ at least 25 new employees, rather 
than the minimum of 50 new employees for projects in other counties under the provisions of the Alabama Jobs Act. 
Authorizes the investment credit incentive period to be 15 years for a qualifying project in a targeted county if the 
project sells the majority of its output to businesses located nearby, as opposed to a 10-year incentive period for 
projects in other counties under the provisions of the Alabama Jobs Act; and allowed the credit against income taxes, 
financial institution excise taxes, insurance minimum taxes, utility taxes, or some combinations of these. Also, allowed 
an additional 0.5% jobs credit is authorized for companies with a workforce of at least 12% of its eligible employees as 
veterans; however, provided that companies may not claim both the additional credit for the employment of veterans 
and a Heroes for Hire tax credit. 

Acts 2019, No. 392 

Amended Alabama Jobs Act (2015-27) to include a provision for jumpstart counties, therein defined, as not qualifying 
as a targeted county; experienced negative population growth over the previous five years; and containing no more 
than two opportunity zones. This act further amends the Alabama Jobs Act to: (1) remove the requirement that both 
the incentivized company and the transferee are subject to income tax, financial institutions excise tax, or insurance 
premium tax; (2) increase the population definition of a targeted county from 25,000 to 50,000; (3) decrease, from 25 
to 10, the number of new employees, plus at least $2 million of capital, for a qualifying project; (4) clarify and expand 
the definition related to a technology company to be a qualified project and allows a jobs credit against utility tax up to 
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an additional 2% above what is currently allowed; and (5) grant the Governor the authority to decrease the amounts 
and durations of the incentives authorized by the Jobs Act. 

Vital Statistics Fees 
Acts 1919, No. 658, p. 909 

Further defined the duties and responsibilities of the state and local health departments; created the State Registrar 
and Bureau of Vital Statistics and provided for the collection of fees by both state and local authorities; and provided 
that state fees be deposited in the State Treasury. Provided exemptions for parents and guardians requesting 
certificates for their children entering school or for securing employment and for the U.S. Census Bureau requesting 
data from the state. 

Acts 1943, No. 492, p. 454 

Earmarked fees deposited into the State Treasury for the use of the State Health Department to implement the 
provisions of the Vital Statistics Act; provided that a county maintaining a full-time county registrar may issue 
certificates and may charge a fee of $.50 for each copy to be deposited into the county treasury and used for county 
health services; and provided an additional statewide exemption for a parent or guardian requesting a certificate when 
necessary for their child's employment or for securing employment. 

Acts 1959, No. 636, p. 1549 

Expanded the fee schedule to include:  

Records search and certified copy $1 

Each authenticated copy (including the Secretary of State's fee) $3 

Each birth or death verification $.50 

Special searches fee (per hour charge) $2 

Eliminated the specified exemptions. 

Acts 1969, No. 1118, p. 2072 

Changed the fee schedule as follows:  

Records search and certified copy $2 

Each additional certified copy at the same time $1 

Each authenticated copy (including the Secretary of State's fee) $5 

Special searches fee (per hour charge) $3 

Required collections to be deposited into the newly created Vital Statistics Fund to be used for the implementation of 
the vital statistics program; and raised the county fee charged to $1 per certificate. 

Acts 1975, 4th Ex. Sess., No. 111, p. 2800 

Increased the fee schedule as follows:  

Records search and certified copy $3 

Each additional copy of the same $1 
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Preparation and issuance of authenticated copy $5 

Completion of a presumptive or special search fees (per hour charge) $3 

Preparation of an authenticated copy of an amendment to the original record of 
birth after legal adoption 

 

$5 

Raised the county fee for a search and certified copy of a record to $3 plus a $1 fee for each additional copy of the 
same record. 

Acts 1980, No. 604, p. 1022 

Increased the fee schedule as follows:  

Records search and/or making certified copy $5 

Each additional copy of the same $2 

Each authenticated copy (including the Secretary of State's fee) $8 

Special searches fee (per hour or any fraction of an hour charge) $5 

Preparation and issuance of authenticated copy of an amended report $8 

Preparation of a delayed certificate $8 

Preparation of a new certificate after legal adoption $8 

Raised the county fee for a search and certified copy of a record to $5 plus a $2 fee for each additional copy of the 
same record. 

Acts 1992, No. 607, p. 1255 

Repealed the entire vital statistics section of the Code of Alabama 1975; revised and supplemented the existing 
statewide system for registering certain vital records and statistical data; and increased fees for obtaining vital 
statistics data as follows: 

Search, reporting, and copying of one record $12 

Each additional copy of the same record $4 

Issuance of an authenticated or exemplified copy1 $20 

Preparation and copy of an amended record and issue a certified copy $15 

Preparation of a new birth certificate after legitimization or adoption and issue a certified copy $20 

Preparation of a delayed certificate and issue a certified copy $20 

Forwarding of legal documents for an adoption granted in this state for person born in another state $10 

Additional fee for non-routine, same day expedited service, and all special delivery mail $10 

Special birth certificate suitable for framing2 $40 

Non-routine special or research project3 See below 

1 Includes the certification fee of the Secretary of State. 
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2 $15 of this amount forwarded to the Children's Trust Fund. 

3 To be determined by the State Registrar. 

Acts 2009, No. 569, p. 1671 

Increased fees for obtaining vital statistics data to the present rates. (See Tax Rate).  

Acts 2011, No. 706, p. 2187 

Added Certificate of Birth resulting in Stillbirth to list of documents available; and provided that the fee for this 
issuance of the Certificate of Birth resulting in Stillbirth is the same as that of a certified copy of any other vital record. 
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