

- 1 HJR273
- 2 3PXQ5EE-1
- 3 By Representatives Tillman, Treadaway, Reynolds, Whitt
- 4 RFD: Rules
- 5 First Read: 22-Apr-25



1

2 3

4 HJR___ CREATING THE JOINT INTERIM STUDY COMMISSION ON PTSD
5 IN FIRST RESPONDERS.

6

7 WHEREAS, exposure to an extraordinarily traumatic 8 event while working as a first responder sometimes leads to 9 a diagnosis of post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD); and

10 WHEREAS, the State of Alabama, its counties, and its 11 municipalities endeavor to better identify, diagnose, and 12 treat PTSD in first responders to improve these first 13 responders' mental health and well-being; now therefore,

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF ALABAMA, BOTH 14 15 HOUSES THEREOF CONCURRING, That there is created the Joint Interim Study Commission on PTSD in First Responders to 16 study how state, county, and municipal governments may 17 utilize available funding more effectively to provide 18 services to first responders who have acquired PTSD solely 19 from an isolated and extraordinarily traumatic event that 20 21 occurred while acting within the line and scope of his or 22 her duty.

(a) The membership of the study commission shallconsist of all of the following:

(1) The Executive Director of the Association of
County Commissions of Alabama, or his or her designee.

27 (2) The Executive Director of the Alabama League of28 Municipalities, or his or her designee.

HJR273 INTRODUCED



29 (3) The Commissioner of the Alabama Department of 30 Mental Health, or his or her designee. 31 (4) The Secretary of the Alabama State Law 32 Enforcement Agency, or his or her designee. 33 (5) The Majority Leader of the Senate, or his or her 34 designee. 35 (6) The Majority Leader of the House of 36 Representatives, or his or her designee. (7) The Minority Leader of the Senate, or his or her 37 38 designee. 39 (8) The Minority Leader of the House of Representatives, or his or her designee. 40 41 (9) The Speaker of the House of Representatives, or 42 his or her designee. 43 (10) The President Pro Tempore of the Senate, or his or her designee. 44 45 (b) (1) The first meeting of the commission shall be 46 held at the call of the Speaker of the House of Representatives, or his or her designee, no later than 60 47 days after this resolution's passage, at which time the 48 commission shall elect a chair and vice chair. The 49 50 commission may then meet as necessary to conduct business. (2) The Legislative Services Agency, the Clerk of the 51 52 House of Representatives, and the Secretary of the Senate 53 shall provide administrative and other assistance for the 54 work of the commission as necessary. 55 (c)(1) The legislative members of the commission shall be entitled to their legislative compensation, per 56

HJR273 INTRODUCED



57 diem, and travel expenses for each day they attend a meeting 58 of the commission pursuant to Section 49 of the Constitution 59 of Alabama of 2022.

60 (2) The nonlegislative members of the commission
61 shall serve without compensation but may be reimbursed for
62 necessary expenses in attending meetings of the commission
63 pursuant to the policies of their respective appointing
64 authorities.

(d) (1) The commission shall prepare and submit a
report of its findings, conclusions, and recommendations to
the Speaker of the House of Representatives and the
President Pro Tempore of the Senate not later than the third
legislative day of the 2026 Regular Legislative Session, at
which point the commission shall stand dissolved and
discharged of any future duties and liabilities.

(2) To gather information for the report, the commission shall solicit written input and recommendations from the Alabama Sheriffs Association, the Alabama State Trooper Association, the Alabama State Fraternal Order of Police, the Professional Fire Fighters Association of Alabama, and the Alabama Association of Chiefs of Police.

(e) Pursuant to Section 36-14-17.1, Code of Alabama
1975, the commission shall provide a notice of all meetings
and the name of each member serving on the commission
throughout its duration to the Secretary of State.

82 (f) Each appointing authority named herein shall be83 provided a copy of this resolution upon its passage.