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SYNOPSIS: 

Under existing law, a person commits the crime

of burglary in the third degree if he or she knowingly

enters or remains unlawfully in a dwelling with the

intent to commit a crime therein, knowingly enters or

remains unlawfully in an occupied building with the

intent to commit a crime therein, or knowingly enters

or remains unlawfully in an unoccupied building with

the intent to commit a crime therein.

This bill would further provide that a person

commits the crime of burglary in the third degree if he

or she knowingly enters or remains unlawfully in a

dwelling and intentionally causes $1,000 or more in

damage to the dwelling.

Under existing law, a person commits the crime

of perjury in the second degree if he or she swears

with intent to mislead a public servant in the

performance of the public servant's duty and his or her

false statement is material to the action, proceeding,

or matter involved.

This bill would further provide that a person

commits the crime of perjury in the second degree if he

or she knowingly presents a false document purporting

to be a lease agreement, deed, or other instrument

conveying or providing a right to or in real property
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conveying or providing a right to or in real property

to another person with the intent to civilly detain or

to remain upon the real property.

This bill would establish the crime of

fraudulent sale or lease of residential real property

and provide penalties for violations.

This bill would provide a method for the owner

of a dwelling, or his or her agent, to request the

removal of an unauthorized individual from the dwelling

by providing a sworn affidavit to a law enforcement

officer.

This bill would provide a procedure for a law

enforcement officer to remove an unauthorized

individual from a dwelling within 24 hours of receipt

of a sworn affidavit.

This bill would also exclude squatters from

landlord-tenant actions.

Section 111.05 of the Constitution of Alabama of

2022, prohibits a general law whose purpose or effect

would be to require a new or increased expenditure of

local funds from becoming effective with regard to a

local governmental entity without enactment by a 2/3

vote unless: it comes within one of a number of

specified exceptions; it is approved by the affected

entity; or the Legislature appropriates funds, or

provides a local source of revenue, to the entity for

the purpose.

The purpose or effect of this bill would be to

require a new or increased expenditure of local funds
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require a new or increased expenditure of local funds

within the meaning of the section. However, the bill

does not require approval of a local governmental

entity or enactment by a 2/3 vote to become effective

because it comes within one of the specified exceptions

contained in the section.

A BILL

TO BE ENTITLED

AN ACT

Relating to crimes and offenses; to amend Sections

13A-7-7 and 13A-10-102, Code of Alabama 1975; to further

provide for the crimes of burglary in the third degree and

perjury in the second degree; to provide for the crime of

fraudulent sale or lease of residential real property; to

provide penalties for violations; to provide a method for the

owner of a dwelling to request the removal of an unauthorized

individual; to provide a procedure for law enforcement to

remove an unauthorized individual from a dwelling in certain

circumstances; to exclude certain individuals from

landlord-tenant actions; and in connection therewith would

have as its purpose or effect the requirement of a new or

increased expenditure of local funds within the meaning of

Section 111.05 of the Constitution of Alabama of 2022.

BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF ALABAMA:

Section 1. The Legislature finds that the fundamental

rights of owning property include the right of the owner to
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rights of owning property include the right of the owner to

exclude others from entering or remaining unlawfully on the

property. The Legislature further finds that squatting, or the

unauthorized entry into or remaining in a dwelling, is a

violation of the rights of property owners and is against the

public interest. The intent of this act is to ensure that

squatting is considered a crime, to adequately protect the

rights of property owners, and to provide a timely and

effective mechanism for removing squatters while protecting

the rights of legitimate occupants.

Section 2. Sections 13A-7-7 and 13A-10-102, Code of

Alabama 1975, are amended to read as follows:

"§13A-7-7

(a) A person commits the crime of burglary in the third

degree if any of the following occur:

(1) He or she knowingly enters or remains unlawfully in

a dwelling with the intent to commit a crime therein;.

(2) He or she knowingly enters or remains unlawfully in

an occupied building with the intent to commit a crime

therein; or.

(3) He or she knowingly enters or remains unlawfully in

an unoccupied building with the intent to commit a crime

therein.

(4) He or she knowingly enters or remains unlawfully in

a dwelling and intentionally causes one thousand dollars

($1,000) or more in damage to the dwelling.

(b) Burglary in the third degree is a Class C felony."

"§13A-10-102

(a) A person commits the crime of perjury in the second
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(a) A person commits the crime of perjury in the second

degree when if he or she does either of the following:

(1) he swears Swears with intent to mislead a public

servant in the performance of his the public servant's duty

and his or her false statement is material to the action,

proceeding, or matter involved.

(2) Knowingly presents a false document purporting to

be a lease agreement, deed, or other instrument conveying or

providing a right to or in real property to another person

with the intent to civilly detain or to remain upon the real

property.

(b) Perjury in the second degree is a Class A

misdemeanor."

Section 3. (a) A person commits the crime of fraudulent sale

or lease of residential real property if he or she does either

of the following:

(1) Lists or advertises residential real property for sale

knowing that he or she or the purported seller has no legal

title or authority to sell the property.

(2) Rents or leases residential real property to another

person knowing that he or she or the purported lessor has no

legal ownership or other authority to lease the property.

(b) Fraudulent sale or lease of residential real property is a

Class A misdemeanor.

Section 4. (a) For the purposes of this section, the

term "dwelling" has the same meaning as provided in Section

13A-7-1, Code of Alabama 1975.

(b) The owner of a dwelling or the agent of the owner

of a dwelling may request the removal of an unauthorized
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of a dwelling may request the removal of an unauthorized

individual from the dwelling by submitting a sworn affidavit

to a law enforcement agency in the county where the dwelling

is located containing all of the following elements:

(1) The affiant is the owner of the dwelling or the

agent of the owner of the dwelling.

(2) An individual has entered and is remaining

unlawfully in the dwelling.

(3) The individual was not authorized to enter the

dwelling or remain in the dwelling.

(4) The individual is not a tenant, as defined in

Section 35-9A-141, Code of Alabama 1975, or a holdover tenant,

as defined in Section 34-9A-441, Code of Alabama 1975.

(5) The affiant has requested that the unauthorized

individual vacate the dwelling as provided under this section

and the individual has not done so.

(6) The unauthorized individual is not an immediate

family member of the property owner.

(7) There is no pending litigation related to the

dwelling between the property owner and the unauthorized

individual.

(c) The sworn affidavit requesting the removal of an

unauthorized individual from a dwelling must be substantially

in the following form:

Affidavit to Remove An Individual Unauthorized to

Occupy Dwelling

I, the owner, or authorized agent of the owner, of the

dwelling located at ______________ declare under the penalty

of perjury that:
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of perjury that:

1. I am the owner of the dwelling or the authorized

agent of the owner of the dwelling.

2. The real property is a dwelling.

3. An unauthorized individual has unlawfully entered or

remained in the dwelling.

4. The unauthorized individual is not a tenant, a

holdover tenant, or an immediate family member of the owner,

and any lease that may be produced by the unauthorized

individual is fraudulent.

5. The unauthorized individual does not have an

ownership interest in the property and is not listed on the

title to the property unless the individual has engaged in

title fraud.

6. There is no litigation related to the dwelling

pending between the owner, or his or her agent, and any

unauthorized individual.

7. Notice was provided by hand delivery to the

unauthorized individual occupying the dwelling or by posting

notice on the front door or entrance of the dwelling, and

evidence of the notice, including the date and time of

delivery, is attached.

8. I understand that an individual removed from the

property pursuant to this affidavit may bring a cause of

action against me for any false statements made in this

affidavit, or for wrongfully using this procedure, and that,

as a result of such action, I may be held liable for actual

damages, penalties, costs, and reasonable attorney fees.

9. I am requesting law enforcement to remove, as soon
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9. I am requesting law enforcement to remove, as soon

as possible, the unauthorized individual from the dwelling.

10. A copy of my valid government-issued identification

is attached, or I am an agent of the property owner, and

documents evidencing my authority to act on the property

owner's behalf are attached.

I have read and assert the truth of every statement

made in this affidavit. I understand that my statements in

this affidavit are being made under penalty of perjury as

provided in Section 13A-10-9, Code of Alabama 1975.

[Signature of Property Owner or Agent of Property

Owner]

[Contact Information of Property Owner or Agent of

Property Owner]

(d) Upon receipt of the affidavit, the law enforceemnt

agency shall verify that the affiant is the record owner of

the dwelling or the authorized agent of the owner of the

dwelling and appears otherwise entitled to relief. Upon

verification and after at least 24 hours from receipt of the

affidavit, the law enforcement agency shall serve a notice to

immediately vacate on the unauthorized individual. Service may

be accomplished by hand delivery of the notice to any

unauthorized individual occupying the dwelling or by posting

notice on the front door or entrance of the dwelling. Law

enforcement shall also attempt to verify the identities of all

individuals occupying the dwelling and note the identities on

the return of service. If appropriate, a law enforcement

officer may arrest any individual found in the dwelling for

trespass, burglary, theft, or any other criminal act, or for

197

198

199

200

201

202

203

204

205

206

207

208

209

210

211

212

213

214

215

216

217

218

219

220

221

222

223

224



Page 9

trespass, burglary, theft, or any other criminal act, or for

an outstanding warrant.

(e) The affiant must provide notice at the dwelling

notifying the unauthorized individual that he or she has no

right to the dwelling and must vacate immediately. The notice

must include the street address of the law enforcement agency

where the affidavit will be delivered. A copy of the notice

with the date and time of delivery must be attached to the

affidavit.

(f) An affiant who knowingly provides a false affidavit

to law enforcement pursuant to this section may be prosecuted

for false reporting to law enforcement authorities pursuant to

Section 13A-10-9, Code of Alabama 1975.

(g) No law enforcement officer, governmental entity, or

political subdivision of the state may be held liable for any

action or omission made in good faith pursuant to this

section, to the extent that state immunity provides. A law

enforcement officer is not liable to an unauthorized

individual or any other party for loss, destruction, or damage

of property.

(h) An individual may bring a civil cause of action for

wrongful removal under this section against the affiant. An

individual harmed by a wrongful removal under this section may

have the possession of the dwelling restored and may recover

actual costs and damages incurred, as well as punitive damages

of triple the fair market rent of the dwelling, plus court

costs and reasonable attorney fees.

(i) This section does not limit the rights of a

property owner or limit the authority of a law enforcement
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property owner or limit the authority of a law enforcement

officer to arrest an unlawful occupant for trespassing, theft,

burglary, or other crimes.

(j) A law enforcement agency may charge a fee of not

more than fifty dollars ($50) to process an affidavit filed

pursuant to this section.

Section 5. (a) For the purposes of this section, the

term "squatter" means a person occupying a dwelling who is not

entitled to occupy the dwelling under a lease or rental

agreement nor authorized by a tenant to occupy the dwelling

The term does not include a tenant who holds over in periodic

tenancy as described in Section 35-9A-441, Code of Alabama

1975.

(b) Occupancy by a squatter is excluded from the

application of Chapters 9 and 9A of Title 35 of the Code of

Alabama 1975, and the removal of a squatter shall not require

the use of an eviction action under those chapters.

Section 6. Although this bill would have as its purpose

or effect the requirement of a new or increased expenditure of

local funds, the bill is excluded from further requirements

and application under Section 111.05 of the Constitution of

Alabama of 2022, because the bill defines a new crime or

amends the definition of an existing crime.

Section 7. This act shall become effective on June 1,

2024.
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