

- 1 SJR20
- 2 FM1YCC5-1
- 3 By Senators Reed, Albritton, Allen, Barfoot, Beasley, Bell,
- 4 Butler, Carnley, Chambliss, Chesteen, Coleman,
- 5 Coleman-Madison, Elliott, Figures, Givhan, Gudger, Hatcher,
- 6 Hovey, Jones, Kelley, Kitchens, Livingston, Melson, Orr,
- 7 Price, Roberts, Sessions, Shelnutt, Singleton, Smitherman,
- 8 Stewart, Stutts, Waggoner, Weaver, Williams
- 9 RFD:
- 10 First Read: 21-Feb-24



1

2

3

4 SJR___ RECOGNIZING AND COMMENDING THE NATIONAL CONFERENCE OF 5 STATE LEGISLATURES ON ITS 50TH ANNIVERSARY IN 2025.

6

7 WHEREAS, the National Conference of State
8 Legislatures (NCSL) was founded in 1975 and has evolved
9 during the past half-century to become the premier
10 organization solely dedicated to serving state and
11 territorial legislators and legislative staff; and

12 WHEREAS, it was created from the merger of three 13 organizations that served or represented state legislatures 14 and that shared the belief that legislative service is one 15 of democracy's worthiest pursuits; and

16 WHEREAS, NCSL is a bipartisan organization with three 17 objectives: to advance the effectiveness, independence, and 18 integrity of state legislatures; to foster interstate 19 communication and cooperation; and to ensure states a 20 strong, cohesive voice in the federal system; and

21 WHEREAS, our nation's state legislatures are 22 America's laboratories of democracy and have continually 23 shown that they are bodies that tackle emerging challenges, 24 and state legislatures are where people from very different 25 backgrounds, representing very different communities, can 26 come together and find common ground; NCSL has facilitated the exchange of ideas, provided critical research and 27 28 information, and encouraged a rigorous review of complex

SJR20 INTRODUCED



issues confronting our communities, states, and nation; and NCSL strives to strengthen the bonds between America's state legislatures and the international community; and

32 WHEREAS, in 1974, the American Society of Legislative 33 Clerks and Secretaries (ASLCS) joined with several state legislative groups to form the National Conference of State 34 35 Legislatures; former Secretary of the Alabama Senate 36 McDowell Lee served as President of the ASLCS from 1974-1975 37 before taking a leadership role with NCSL; Patrick Harris, 38 current Secretary of the Alabama Senate, served as President of the ASLCS from 2018-2019 and is a past Chairman of the 39 40 ASLCS American-Canadian Legislative Parliamentary Clerks 41 Committee; in 1984, at the direction of NCSL, a Special 42 Commission of ASLCS, the Mason's Manual Commission, was established; Former Secretary Lee was appointed to the 43 Commission in 1991; over the past three decades, staff 44 45 members of the Alabama Legislature have been appointed to 46 serve on the Commission, including former Senate Administrative Assistant, Dave Avant; the current Clerk of 47 the House of Representatives, John Treadwell, and Chief 48 49 Clerk to the Alabama Senate, Joyce Wright, currently serve 50 on the 2030 Commission; and

51 WHEREAS, the State of Alabama has been involved with 52 NCSL since its beginning; McDowell Lee, in his capacity as 53 Secretary of the Alabama Senate, was a founding member of 54 the NCSL Executive Committee and served as an officer from 55 1975-1976, as Staff Vice President from 1976-1977, and again 56 as an officer from 1977-1978; former Representative Michael

SJR20 INTRODUCED



Box served at-large from 1991-1994, as an officer from 1994 57 to 1996, as President from 1996-1997, the only Alabamian to 58 serve in that role, and continued on as an officer or ex 59 officio member until 1998; other Alabamians who have served 60 61 with NCSL include former Representative Randy Davis, 2010-2011; former Senator Joe Fine, 1976-1978; former 62 63 Legislative Reference Services Director Louis Greene, 64 1979-1982; former Speaker of the House of Representatives Seth Hammett, 2003-2004 and 2008-2010; Legislative Services 65 66 Agency Director Othni Lathram, 2018-2023; former Senator Ted Little, 1985-1986; Baldwin County Legislative Delegation 67 Director of Constituent Services Cliff McCollum, 2023-2024; 68 69 former Alabama Law Institute Director Bob McCurley, 70 1998-2001; Director of Senate Security Jimmetta Gourdine, 71 2011-2014; former Representative James Thomas, 1999-2002; 72 and former Representative Greg Wren, 2012-2014; now 73 therefore,

74 BE IT RESOLVED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF ALABAMA, BOTH 75 HOUSES THEREOF CONCURRING, That the members of this 76 Legislature recognize and commend the National Conference of 77 State Legislatures for superb leadership and commitment to 78 the legislative institution.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That the Secretary of the Senate is authorized and directed to transmit an appropriate copy of this resolution to the National Conference of State Legislatures.