### SJR20 ENROLLED



- 1 SJR20
- 2 FM1YCC5-2
- 3 By Senators Reed, Albritton, Allen, Barfoot, Beasley, Bell,
- 4 Butler, Carnley, Chambliss, Chesteen, Coleman,
- 5 Coleman-Madison, Elliott, Figures, Givhan, Gudger, Hatcher,
- 6 Hovey, Jones, Kelley, Kitchens, Livingston, Melson, Orr,
- 7 Price, Roberts, Sessions, Shelnutt, Singleton, Smitherman,
- 8 Stewart, Stutts, Waggoner, Weaver, Williams
- 9 RFD: RULES
- 10 First Read: 21-Feb-24

## SJR20 Enrolled



1		
2		
3		
4	SJR RECOGNIZING AND COMMENDING THE NATIONAL CONFERENCE OF	
5	STATE LEGISLATURES ON ITS 50TH ANNIVERSARY IN 2025.	
6		
7	WHEREAS, the National Conference of State	
8	Legislatures (NCSL) was founded in 1975 and has evolved	
9	during the past half-century to become the premier	
10	organization solely dedicated to serving state and	
11	territorial legislators and legislative staff; and	
12	WHEREAS, it was created from the merger of three	
13	organizations that served or represented state legislatures	
14	and that shared the belief that legislative service is one	
15	of democracy's worthiest pursuits; and	
16	WHEREAS, NCSL is a bipartisan organization with three	
17	objectives: to advance the effectiveness, independence, and	
18	integrity of state legislatures; to foster interstate	
19	communication and cooperation; and to ensure states a	
20	strong, cohesive voice in the federal system; and	
21	WHEREAS, our nation's state legislatures are	
22	America's laboratories of democracy and have continually	
23	shown that they are bodies that tackle emerging challenges,	
24	and state legislatures are where people from very different	
25	backgrounds, representing very different communities, can	
26	come together and find common ground; NCSL has facilitated	

information, and encouraged a rigorous review of complex

the exchange of ideas, provided critical research and

27

28

#### SJR20 Enrolled



29 issues confronting our communities, states, and nation; and 30 NCSL strives to strengthen the bonds between America's state 31 legislatures and the international community; and 32 WHEREAS, in 1974, the American Society of Legislative 33 Clerks and Secretaries (ASLCS) joined with several state legislative groups to form the National Conference of State 34 35 Legislatures; former Secretary of the Alabama Senate 36 McDowell Lee served as President of the ASLCS from 1974-1975 37 before taking a leadership role with NCSL; Patrick Harris, 38 current Secretary of the Alabama Senate, served as President of the ASLCS from 2018-2019 and is a past Chairman of the 39 40 ASLCS American-Canadian Legislative Parliamentary Clerks 41 Committee; in 1984, at the direction of NCSL, a Special 42 Commission of ASLCS, the Mason's Manual Commission, was established; Former Secretary Lee was appointed to the 43 Commission in 1991; over the past three decades, staff 44 45 members of the Alabama Legislature have been appointed to 46 serve on the Commission, including former Senate Administrative Assistant, Dave Avant; the current Clerk of 47 the House of Representatives, John Treadwell, and Chief 48 49 Clerk to the Alabama Senate, Joyce Wright, currently serve 50 on the 2030 Commission; and WHEREAS, the State of Alabama has been involved with 51 52 NCSL since its beginning; McDowell Lee, in his capacity as 53 Secretary of the Alabama Senate, was a founding member of the NCSL Executive Committee and served as an officer from 54 1975-1976, as Staff Vice President from 1976-1977, and again 55 as an officer from 1977-1978; former Representative Michael 56

## SJR20 Enrolled



- 57 Box served at-large from 1991-1994, as an officer from 1994
- to 1996, as President from 1996-1997, the only Alabamian to
- 59 serve in that role, and continued on as an officer or ex
- officio member until 1998; other Alabamians who have served
- 61 with NCSL include former Representative Randy Davis,
- 62 2010-2011; former Senator Joe Fine, 1976-1978; former
- 63 Legislative Reference Services Director Louis Greene,
- 1979-1982; former Speaker of the House of Representatives
- 65 Seth Hammett, 2003-2004 and 2008-2010; Legislative Services
- Agency Director Othni Lathram, 2018-2023; former Senator Ted
- 67 Little, 1985-1986; Baldwin County Legislative Delegation
- Director of Constituent Services Cliff McCollum, 2023-2024;
- 69 former Alabama Law Institute Director Bob McCurley,
- 70 1998-2001; Director of Senate Security Jimmetta Gourdine,
- 71 2011-2014; former Representative James Thomas, 1999-2002;
- and former Representative Greg Wren, 2012-2014; now
- 73 therefore,
- 74 BE IT RESOLVED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF ALABAMA, BOTH
- 75 HOUSES THEREOF CONCURRING, That the members of this
- 76 Legislature recognize and commend the National Conference of
- 77 State Legislatures for superb leadership and commitment to
- 78 the legislative institution.
- 79 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That the Secretary of the
- 80 Senate is authorized and directed to transmit an appropriate
- 81 copy of this resolution to the National Conference of State
- 82 Legislatures.

# \* E

# SJR20 Enrolled

83			
84			
85			
86	President and Pres	iding Officer of the Senate	
87		3	
88			
89			
90			
91	Speaker of the	House of Representatives	
92	openiol of one	nouse of mercosmoderes	
93			
94	SJR20		
95	Senate 21-Feb-24		
96	I hereby certify that the within Act originated in and		
97	passed the Senate.		
98	passea ene senace.		
99		Patrick Harris,	
100		Secretary.	
101		beere eary.	
102			
103	-		
104			
105	House of Representatives		
106	Passed: 27-Feb-24		
107	145564. 27 165 21		
108			
109			
110			
111	By: Senator Reed		
	Dy. Deliacor Reca		