

- 1 HR48
- 2 TTK6151-1
- 3 By Representative Stubbs
- 4 RFD:
- 5 First Read: 20-Feb-24



1

2

3

4 HR \_\_\_\_ COMMENDING AND CONGRATULATING THE EDGEWOOD ACADEMY
5 BOYS BASKETBALL TEAM AND COACHES UPON WINNING THE ALABAMA
6 INDEPENDENT SCHOOL ASSOCIATION CLASS AA STATE BASKETBALL
7 CHAMPIONSHIP.

8

9 WHEREAS, we join the students, coaches, parents, and 10 faculty at Edgewood Academy in celebrating the Boys 11 Basketball Team's Alabama Independent School Association 12 (AISA) Class AA State Basketball Championship; and

13 WHEREAS, on February 9, 2024, at the Cramton Bowl Multiplex in Montgomery, the Edgewood Academy Boys 14 15 Basketball Team defied expectations by securing their second consecutive title with a 45-42 victory over Abbeville 16 Christian Academy; the team implemented a successful game 17 plan focused on pressuring the opposition into 3-point shots 18 19 to bring home their second consecutive AISA Class AA State 20 Championship; and

21 WHEREAS, sophomore Brock Whitt's stellar performance, 22 including 15 points and 13 rebounds, was instrumental in the 23 team's victory; and

24 WHEREAS, the Edgewood Academy Boys Basketball Program 25 has been superbly coached and inspired by Head Varsity Coach 26 Scott Phillips and Assistant Coaches Buzz Phillips and Ronen 27 Harris; under their leadership the players have broadened 28 their knowledge of the game, refined their skills in

## HR48 INTRODUCED



29 execution, and maintained the Edgewood tradition of superior 30 play and true sportsmanship; and

31 WHEREAS, the 2024 Edgewood Academy Wildcats triumph 32 as AISA Class AA State Champions, despite initial setbacks, 33 including starting the season with a 3-8 overall record, 34 reflects their resiliency and ability to exceed 35 expectations; they have proven that determination and 36 strategic gameplay can lead to success; and

37 WHEREAS, the 2024 Edgewood Academy Boys Basketball 38 Championship roster includes seniors, Drew Allison, Gabe 39 LeMaster, Prescott Bonner, Cayton Garmon, Hudson Peevy, 40 Tanner Trucks, Brody Whitt, Jack Adams, Johnny Groves, and 41 Reed Owen; juniors, Will Smith and Eric Sumrall; and 42 sophomores, Brock Whitt and Landon Smith; now therefore,

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE 43 44 LEGISLATURE OF ALABAMA, That the Edgewood Academy Varsity 45 Boys Basketball Team and Coaches Scott Phillips, Buzz 46 Phillips, and Ronen Harris are highly commended and congratulated for winning the AISA Class AA Basketball State 47 Championship, and we hereby dedicate this resolution to them 48 49 with utmost admiration, along with sincere best wishes for 50 continued success in all future endeavors.