- 1 SJR6
- 2 206510-2

By Senators Orr, Albritton, Allen, Barfoot, Beasley, Butler,
Chambliss, Chesteen, Coleman-Madison, Dunn, Elliott, Figures,
Givhan, Gudger, Holley, Jones, Livingston, Marsh, McClendon,
Melson, Price, Reed, Roberts, Sanders-Fortier, Scofield,
Sessions, Shelnutt, Singleton, Smitherman, Stutts, Waggoner,
Whatley and Williams

- 9 RFD:
- 10 First Read: 02-FEB-21

206510-2:n:10/21/2020:LK/ma LSA2020-1048R1 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 COMMENDING THE MASTER TEACHERS OF THE ALABAMA 8 9 BICENTENNIAL. 10 WHEREAS, it is a pleasure to extend highest 11 commendations to the Master Teachers of the Alabama 12 13 Bicentennial; and 14 WHEREAS, the 12 Master Teachers, their content 15 specialists, and their apprentice teachers led numerous 16 professional development institutes between 2016 and 2019, which reached nearly 1,000 teachers, all 138 public school 17 18 districts in Alabama, and all 67 counties in Alabama; the 19 professional development institutes were distributed 20 throughout Alabama, with 12 institutes in 2017, 12 institutes 21 in 2018, and 20 institutes in 2019; and 22 WHEREAS, the Master Teachers are Mrs. Jessica 23 Tucker, Mrs. Renae Williams, Mrs. Harrow Strickland, Mrs. 24 Stacey Leatherman, Mrs. Tracy Pruitt, Mrs. Carol Fretwell, 25 Mrs. Britt Lovelace, Dr. Susan Santoli, Mrs. Amber Broadhead, 26 Mrs. LaToya Davis, Mrs. Nicki Barksdale, Mrs. Sylvia Cook, Mrs. Traneshia Stoudemire, Mrs. Sarah Stroud, Mrs. Julie 27

1 Caminiti, and Ms. Mary Hubbard; the Content Specialists are 2 Dr. Rhett Johnson, Dr. Deidra Suwanee Dees, Dr. Kelly 3 Kennington, Mrs. Pamela Sterne King, Dr. Karen Ross, Dr. Carrie Barske, Mr. Chris Paysinger, Dr. Craig Sheldon, Dr. Jim 4 5 Day, Dr. Howard Robinson, Mr. Blake Wilhelm, Dr. Valerie Pope Burnes, Ms. Lynne Hanner, Dr. Steve Davis, Dr. Adam NeSmith, 6 7 Ms. Meredith Sears, Ms. Bettina "Tina" Shiver, Ms. Michelle 8 Teat, Ms. Scarlett Gaddy, Ms. Kathryn Lewis, Ms. Connie 9 Boutwell, Ms. Mandy Mathis, Dr. Blake Busbin, Ms. Shaniqua 10 Washington, Mr. Ronald Smith, Ms. Cathy Jones, and Dr. Timothy Buckner; the Partner Teachers are Ms. Heather Glass, Ms. Betty 11 Weeden, Ms. Sonia Crutchfield, Ms. Lisa Thorn, Ms. Lesa 12 13 Torain, Ms. Nicole Landry, Ms. Holly Jackson, Ms. Julie 14 Powell, Ms. Dana Pendergrass, Ms. Annette Scott, and Ms. Nikki 15 Bechtel; and

16 WHEREAS, the Master Teachers of Alabama continue to 17 successfully lead and guide the students who will one day 18 become Alabama's future; for this endeavor, we owe them 19 endless thanks; now therefore,

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF ALABAMA, BOTH HOUSES THEREOF CONCURRING, That the Master Teachers of the Alabama Bicentennial and their assistants are highly commended for their vital service to the State of Alabama, and we hereby dedicate this resolution to them with utmost gratitude and admiration for their efforts in preserving Alabama's history and shaping Alabama's future. BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That each Master Teacher be presented with a copy of this resolution as a small token of our appreciation, and as a symbol of the importance of their mission to the past, present, and future of this state.