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8 SYNOPSIS:         Under existing law, a producer of alcoholic

9 beverages may only sell its product to distributors

10 or wholesalers, or directly to consumers in limited

11 quantities at its licensed premises.

12 This bill would allow a licensed wine

13 manufacturer to obtain a wine direct shipper permit

14 from the Alcoholic Beverage Control Board to allow

15 the permittee to ship limited quantities of table

16 wine directly to Alabama residents who are at least

17 21 years of age for their personal use.

18 This bill would impose certain duties on an

19 Alabama winery that ships wine directly to

20 consumers, including the collection and remittance

21 of certain taxes.

22 Also under existing law, common carriers may

23 only make delivery of alcoholic beverages to the

24 Alcoholic Beverage Control Board or licensees of

25 the board.

26 This bill would allow common carriers to

27 make delivery of alcoholic beverages to residents
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1 who are at least 21 years of age, and places

2 certain requirements on a common carrier making a

3 delivery of alcoholic beverages.

4 This bill would provide for the permitting

5 process and establish certain restrictions and

6 requirements for wine direct shipment permittees.

7 This bill would require common carriers to

8 report certain information regarding shipments and

9 deliveries of alcoholic beverages made directly to

10 consumers to the Alcoholic Beverage Control Board

11 and the Department of Revenue.

12 This bill would provide that a person who

13 ships wine directly to a resident without a permit

14 is guilty of a Class C misdemeanor. This bill would

15 also provide for revocation of a direct wine

16 shipper permit or imposition of fines by the

17 Alcoholic Beverage Control Board for violations of

18 the terms of that permit.

19 This bill would authorize the Alcoholic

20 Beverage Control Board to adopt rules.

21 Amendment 621 of the Constitution of Alabama

22 of 1901, now appearing as Section 111.05 of the

23 Official Recompilation of the Constitution of

24 Alabama of 1901, as amended, prohibits a general

25 law whose purpose or effect would be to require a

26 new or increased expenditure of local funds from

27 becoming effective with regard to a local

Page 2



1 governmental entity without enactment by a 2/3 vote

2 unless: it comes within one of a number of

3 specified exceptions; it is approved by the

4 affected entity; or the Legislature appropriates

5 funds, or provides a local source of revenue, to

6 the entity for the purpose.

7 The purpose or effect of this bill would be

8 to require a new or increased expenditure of local

9 funds within the meaning of the amendment. However,

10 the bill does not require approval of a local

11 governmental entity or enactment by a 2/3 vote to

12 become effective because it comes within one of the

13 specified exceptions contained in the amendment.

14  

15 A BILL

16 TO BE ENTITLED

17 AN ACT

18  

19 Relating to wine; to amend Section 28-1-4, Code of

20 Alabama 1975; to add Section 28-3A-6.1 to the Code of Alabama

21 1975; to authorize common carriers to make delivery of

22 alcoholic beverages to Alabama residents; to further provide

23 for restrictions on a common carrier making a delivery of

24 alcoholic beverages to an Alabama resident; to provide for a

25 direct wine shipper permit that authorizes a licensed wine

26 manufacturer or a manufacturer who holds a federal basic wine

27 manufacturing permit to ship its table wine directly to
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1 Alabama residents who are at least 21 years of age for their

2 personal use; to require these permittees to collect and remit

3 certain taxes; to provide for criminal penalties for certain

4 violations, including the direct shipment of wine without a

5 permit; to authorize the Alcoholic Beverage Control Board to

6 adopt rules; and in connection therewith could have as its

7 purpose or effect the requirement of a new or increased

8 expenditure of local funds within the meaning of Amendment 621

9 of the Constitution of Alabama of 1901, now appearing as

10 Section 111.05 of the Official Recompilation of the

11 Constitution of Alabama of 1901, as amended.

12 BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF ALABAMA:

13 Section 1. Section 28-1-4, Code of Alabama 1975, is

14 amended to read as follows:

15 "§28-1-4.

16 "(a) The words and phrases used in this section

17 shall have the meanings ascribed to them in Section 28-3-1 and

18 any acts amendatory thereof, supplementary thereto or

19 substituted therefor.

20 "(b)(a) It shall be unlawful for Any common or

21 permit carriers, operators of trucks, buses or other

22 conveyances or out-of-state manufacturers or suppliers to make

23 carrier that ships or makes delivery of any alcoholic beverage

24 from without the State of Alabama to any person, association

25 or corporation within the state, except to the Alabama

26 Alcoholic Beverage Control Board and to manufacturers,

27 importers, wholesalers and warehouses licensed by the Alabama
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1 Alcoholic Beverage Control Board to receive the alcoholic

2 beverages so delivered within the state is not required to

3 maintain in the vehicle a bill of lading, consignment, or any

4 other documentary evidence of the cargo being transported

5 other than information available on the package shipping

6 label. 

7 "(b)(1) A common carrier that delivers alcoholic

8 beverages to a resident of the state shall confirm that any

9 individual physically receiving a shipment of alcoholic

10 beverages is at least 21 years of age and shall require the

11 individual's signature before releasing the shipment to that

12 individual. Any failure by a common carrier, upon receipt of

13 the shipment, to verify the age of the individual receiving

14 the alcoholic beverages may result in the suspension of the

15 common carrier's license to operate in the state or the

16 imposition of any other penalty the relevant licensing

17 authority in the state is authorized to impose.

18 "(2) A common carrier that ships or delivers

19 alcoholic beverages to a resident of the state shall maintain

20 a copy of the signature of the individual who physically

21 received the shipment for at least three years following the

22 date of completion of that shipment or delivery, and, upon

23 request, shall provide a copy of that signature to the Tax and

24 Trade Practices Division of the board and the Sales and Use

25 Tax Division of the Department of Revenue. Failure by a common

26 carrier to maintain a copy of the signature of the individual

27 receiving the alcoholic beverages pursuant to this section, or
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1 failure to provide a copy of that signature to the board or

2 the Department of Revenue upon request, may result in the

3 suspension of the common carrier's license to operate in the

4 state or the imposition of any other penalty the relevant

5 licensing authority in the state is authorized to impose.

6 "(c) A common carrier that delivers alcoholic

7 beverages to a resident of the state shall file quarterly

8 reports with the Tax and Trade Practices Division of the board

9 and the Sales and Use Tax Division of the Department of

10 Revenue of all alcoholic beverage shipments and deliveries

11 during the reporting period that report all of the following

12 with regard to each shipment and delivery:

13 "(1) The name and business address of the person who

14 directed the common carrier to ship wine.

15 "(2) The weight of the shipment.

16 "(3) The name and address of the consumer to whom

17 the wine was shipped.

18 "(4) A unique tracking number.

19 "(5) The date of delivery.

20 "(d) Reports made under subsection (c) shall be

21 considered public records for purposes of Article 3,

22 commencing with Section 36-12-40, of Chapter 12 of Title 36,

23 and shall be made available to law enforcement officers.

24 "(e) A willful failure by a common carrier to comply

25 with the reporting requirements in this section which

26 continues for more than 90 days after receiving notice by the

27 board or Department of Revenue of the failure may result in

Page 6



1 the suspension of the common carrier's license to operate in

2 the state or the imposition of any other penalty the relevant

3 licensing authority in the state is authorized to impose.

4 "(c) Any violation of subsection (a) of this section

5 shall be a misdemeanor, punishable as provided in paragraph

6 (1) of subsection (b) of Section 28-3A-25.

7 "(d) All laws or parts of law which conflict or are

8 inconsistent with this section are hereby repealed, provided,

9 however, the provisions of Section 28-1-3 are excluded."

10 Section 2. Section 28-3A-6.1 is added to the Code of

11 Alabama 1975, to read as follows:

12 §28-3A-6.1. Direct shipment of wine by a

13 manufacturer.

14 (a) Any person licensed in this state as a wine

15 manufacturer or who holds a federal basic wine manufacturing

16 permit may obtain a wine direct shipper permit from the board

17 as provided in this section, and may ship annually up to 12

18 cases of wine to any one Alabama resident in a 12-month

19 period, each case not exceeding nine liters of wine. The wine

20 shall be shipped directly to a resident of Alabama who is at

21 least 21 years of age for the resident's personal use and not

22 for resale.

23 (b) In order to receive a permit to ship wine to an

24 Alabama resident, the applicant for a wine direct shipper

25 permit shall do all of the following:

26 (1) File an application with the board.

27 (2) Pay a filing fee of two hundred dollars ($200).
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1 (3) Provide to the board a true copy of its current

2 manufacturer license issued in this state or its federal basic

3 wine manufacturing permit.

4 (c) A wine direct shipper permittee:

5 (1) May not ship more wine than is specified in

6 subsection (a) to any one consumer in a 12-month period.

7 (2) May not ship any wine to any premises licensed

8 by the board.

9 (3) Shall ensure that all containers of wine shipped

10 directly to a resident in this state are conspicuously labeled

11 with the words: "CONTAINS ALCOHOL: SIGNATURE OF PERSON AGE 21

12 OR OLDER REQUIRED FOR DELIVERY."

13 (4) Shall report to the board the total amount of

14 wine directly shipped to consumers in the state during the

15 preceding calendar year, including the amount of wine shipped

16 to each residential address in the state.

17 (5) Whether located within or outside of this state,

18 shall collect and properly remit all state and local sales or

19 use taxes and excise taxes due on sales to Alabama residents.

20 (6) Shall permit the board or the Department of

21 Revenue to perform an audit of the wine direct shipper

22 permittee's records upon request.

23 (7) Shall obtain from the customer an attestation

24 that he or she is at least 21 years of age at the time the

25 order is placed.

26 (8) Shall be deemed to have consented to the

27 jurisdiction of the board or any law enforcement agency and
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1 the Alabama courts concerning enforcement of this section and

2 any related laws or administrative rules.

3 (d) A wine direct shipper permittee may renew its

4 permit with the board by paying annually a renewal fee of one

5 hundred dollars ($100) and providing the board a true copy of

6 its current manufacturer license issued in this state or its

7 federal basic wine manufacturing permit.

8 (e) The board may adopt rules pursuant to the

9 Administrative Procedure Act to implement this section.

10 (f) The board may enforce the requirements of this

11 section to suspend or revoke a wine direct shipper permit by

12 the same administrative proceedings that apply to alcoholic

13 beverage licenses, and the board may accept payment of a fine

14 in lieu of suspension or revocation. Payments of fines shall

15 be determined by rule adopted by the board.

16 (g) Shipments of wine direct to consumers in Alabama

17 from persons who do not possess a current wine direct shipper

18 permit pursuant to this section are prohibited, and any person

19 who knowingly makes, participates in, or transports such a

20 shipment is guilty of a Class C misdemeanor.

21 Section 3. Although this bill would have as its

22 purpose or effect the requirement of a new or increased

23 expenditure of local funds, the bill is excluded from further

24 requirements and application under Amendment 621, now

25 appearing as Section 111.05 of the Official Recompilation of

26 the Constitution of Alabama of 1901, as amended, because the
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1 bill defines a new crime or amends the definition of an

2 existing crime.

3 Section 4. This act shall become effective on the

4 first day of the third month following its passage and

5 approval by the Governor, or its otherwise becoming law.
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