- 1 HJR80
- 2 210709-1
- 3 By Representatives McCutcheon, Sanderford, Holmes, Baker,
- Whorton, Kitchens, Shedd, Sorrells, Wilcox, Moore (P),
- 5 Crawford, Blackshear, Ingram, South, Oliver, Whitt, Stringer,
- Wheeler, Isbell, Estes, Gaston, Wood (D), Meadows, Wadsworth,
- 7 Simpson, Shiver, Robbins, Reynolds, Brown (K), Brown (C),
- Wingo, Collins, McMillan, Carns, Hill, Sells, Garrett, Smith,
- 9 Robertson, Treadaway, Lovvorn, Mooney, Hurst, Faulkner,
- 10 Sullivan, Easterbrook, Farley, Standridge, Stadthagen, Hanes,
- 11 Shaver, Lipscomb, Bedsole, Ledbetter, Rich, Harbison, Pringle,
- Drake, Ellis, Poole, Rowe, Lee, Faust, Fincher, Pettus, Greer,
- 13 Marques and Clouse
- 14 RFD: Rules
- 15 First Read: 25-FEB-21

1	210709-1:n:02/23/2021:SM/sm LSA2021-644
2	
3	
4	
5	
6	
7	
8	COMMENDING TERRY LATHAN AS THE OUTGOING ALABAMA
9	REPUBLICAN PARTY STATE CHAIR.
10	
11	WHEREAS, with great pride and special pleasure, we
12	extend highest commendations to Terry Lathan for her
13	professional achievements; and
14	WHEREAS, Terry Lathan, a native of Mobile, Alabama,
15	will be closing her tenure of service; in recognition of her
16	outstanding record of leadership, she is deserving of this
17	special honor and highest commendations; she began
18	volunteering in Republican politics at the age of 18; she has
19	served the Republican party for 45 years; she graduated from
20	Auburn University at Montgomery with a degree in Elementary
21	Education; for 10 years she taught fifth and sixth grade; she
22	was also a counselor at Sav-A-Life; she has been married for
23	41 years to her husband Jerry, and has two children; and
24	WHEREAS, during her years of service, Terry Lathan
25	has held many leadership positions including: the Mobile
26	County Campaign Chair for President George W. Bush in 2000 and
27	2004 for President George H.W. Bush in 1992 and 1998, and for

2 her husband Jerry; 2008 Mobile County Republican Party Lifetime Achievement Award; 2010 Mobile Republican of the Year 3 Award with her husband Jerry; Governor Appointment to the 2011 5 Alabama State Mathematics Textbook Committee; 2012 Alabama College Elector Member; 2012 Boys and Girls Club Advisory Board of South Alabama; 2012 Boys and Girls Club of Alabama, Board Member of the Year; 2013 Leadership Mobile; Governor 9 Appointment to the 2013 Alabama Women's Commission; 2015 10 Alabama Republican Party Chair; 2017 Top 50 Alumni of Auburn University at Montgomery; 2017 Alabama Today Women of Impact; 11 12 2018 Yellowhammer News Top 50 Power of Service and Influence; 13 2020 Alabama Representative on the Republican National 14 Convention on Arrangements Committee; 2020 First Republican 15 National Convention State Chair and State staff to reach RNC's 16 prestigious President's Circle; 2021 College Republican 17 Federation of Alabama Advisory Board Member; and 18 WHEREAS, she is a recognized leader with respect in being the longest serving female ALGOP State Chair; the 19 20 longest serving ALGOP State Chair since 1985; the current 21 longest serving female State Chair on the Republican National 22 Committee; re-elected State Chair, unopposed in 2017 and 2019; 23 she has attended eight Republican National Conventions as a 24 Delegate or Alternate Delegate; she has recruited and trained 25 1,000 Poll Watchers for the Republican Party and GOP

Robert Doyle in 1996; the 2004 ALGOP Member of the Year with

1

26

27

candidates; she is a 30-plus year member of the Alabama

Republican Executive Committee and the Mobile County

1	Republican Executive Committee, including Mobile County
2	Republican Party Chair; and
3	WHEREAS, as an inspiration, a leader, and a friend
4	to many, Terry Lathan is very deserving of special recognition
5	for her distinguished career; now therefore,
6	BE IT RESOLVED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF ALABAMA, BOTH
7	HOUSES THEREOF CONCURRING, That Terry Lathan is highly
8	commended, and we hereby dedicate this resolution to her with
9	utmost appreciation and admiration, along with sincere best

wishes for success in her future endeavors.