- 1 HJR36
- 2 209268-3
- 3 By Representative Allen
- 4 RFD: Rules
- 5 First Read: 09-FEB-21

209268-3:n:02/04/2021:BH\*/bh LSA2021-174R2 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 CONGRATULATING THE 2020 PIKE LIBERAL ARTS FOOTBALL 8 TEAM FOR WINNING THE ALABAMA INDEPENDENT SCHOOL ASSOCIATION 9 10 CLASS 3A STATE CHAMPIONSHIP. 11 WHEREAS, the 2020 Pike Liberal Arts Football Team 12 13 won the Alabama Independent School Association (AISA) Class 3A 14 State Championship at Historic Cramton Bowl in Montgomery, 15 Alabama, on November 20, 2020; and 16 WHEREAS, the Pike Liberal Arts Football Team 17 finished the 2020 regular season with a record of 7-2 with 18 wins against Crenshaw, Hooper, Lee-Scott, Edgewood, Valiant 19 Cross, Tuscaloosa, and the first win against Monroe Academy in 20 the history of the program before advancing to the playoffs, 21 where they held a record of 3-0; and 22 WHEREAS, the Patriots hosted and defeated Monroe 23 Academy 45-7 in Round One before traveling to and defeating 24 Bessemer Academy 35-15 in Round Two of the 2020 AISA Playoffs; 25 and

WHEREAS, the Patriots' semi-final win set up a
 rematch between the Pike Patriots and the Glenwood Gators, who
 had beaten Pike in regular season play; and

WHEREAS, in their best performance of the season,
the Pike Liberal Arts Patriots claimed the victory over
Glenwood 38-21, earning the title of 2020 Alabama Independent
School Association Class 3A State Football Champions; and

8 WHEREAS, the 2020 state title is the third football 9 state title for the Pike Patriots, who won consecutive State 10 Championship titles in 2008 and 2009; and

11 WHEREAS, it gives us a tremendous amount of pleasure 12 to express our sincere congratulations to all of the members 13 of the 2020 AISA Class 3A State Champions, the Pike Liberal 14 Arts Patriots; the members are to be commended for an 15 exciting, hard-fought, and successful season, and we are proud 16 of the record that they have earned; and

WHEREAS, for their outstanding season, we are pleased to publicly commend first-year Head Coach, Mario White; Assistant Coaches, Robert Rollan, Ryan McCollough, Charlie Schofield, Rush Hixon, Alex Adams, Chandler Lunn, Max Stonicher, Dee Brundidge, and Cornelius Griffin; and trainer, Regina Wright; and

23 WHEREAS, we feel that special recognition is due to 24 players Mayes White, Scott Taylor Renfroe, Javon Christian, 25 Levi Sikes, and Jackson Senn for being named to the 2020 26 All-Star Team; Alabama Sports Writers Association First-Team 27 All-State recognitions to Jay Taylor, Scott Taylor Renfroe, Caleb Guice, Peyton Dicks, and Mayes White; and Second-Team
 All-State recognitions to Elijah Caldwell, Ryan Barnes, and
 Mario Davenport; now therefore,

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF ALABAMA, BOTH HOUSES THEREOF CONCURRING, That we hereby present this resolution to the 2020 Alabama Independent School Association Class 3A State Champions, the Pike Liberal Arts Patriots, as an expression of the affection and admiration from all of our citizens.