- 1 HJR36
- 2 209268-4
- 3 By Representative Allen
- 4 RFD: Rules
- 5 First Read: 09-FEB-21

1	
2	ENROLLED, House Joint Resolution,
3	CONGRATULATING THE 2020 PIKE LIBERAL ARTS FOOTBALL
4	TEAM FOR WINNING THE ALABAMA INDEPENDENT SCHOOL ASSOCIATION
5	CLASS 3A STATE CHAMPIONSHIP.
6	
7	WHEREAS, the 2020 Pike Liberal Arts Football Team
8	won the Alabama Independent School Association (AISA) Class 3A
9	State Championship at Historic Cramton Bowl in Montgomery,
10	Alabama, on November 20, 2020; and
11	WHEREAS, the Pike Liberal Arts Football Team
12	finished the 2020 regular season with a record of 7-2 with
13	wins against Crenshaw, Hooper, Lee-Scott, Edgewood, Valiant
14	Cross, Tuscaloosa, and the first win against Monroe Academy in
15	the history of the program before advancing to the playoffs,
16	where they held a record of $3-0$; and
17	WHEREAS, the Patriots hosted and defeated Monroe
18	Academy 45-7 in Round One before traveling to and defeating
19	Bessemer Academy 35-15 in Round Two of the 2020 AISA Playoffs;
20	and
21	WHEREAS, the Patriots' semi-final win set up a
22	rematch between the Pike Patriots and the Glenwood Gators, who
23	had beaten Pike in regular season play; and

the Pike Liberal Arts Patriots claimed the victory over

WHEREAS, in their best performance of the season,

24

25

HJR36

1	Glenwood 38-21, earning the title of 2020 Alabama Independent
2	School Association Class 3A State Football Champions; and
3	WHEREAS, the 2020 state title is the third football
4	state title for the Pike Patriots, who won consecutive State
5	Championship titles in 2008 and 2009; and
6	WHEREAS, it gives us a tremendous amount of pleasure
7	to express our sincere congratulations to all of the members
8	of the 2020 AISA Class 3A State Champions, the Pike Liberal
9	Arts Patriots; the members are to be commended for an
10	exciting, hard-fought, and successful season, and we are proud
11	of the record that they have earned; and
12	WHEREAS, for their outstanding season, we are
13	pleased to publicly commend first-year Head Coach, Mario
14	White; Assistant Coaches, Robert Rollan, Ryan McCollough,
15	Charlie Schofield, Rush Hixon, Alex Adams, Chandler Lunn, Max
16	Stonicher, Dee Brundidge, and Cornelius Griffin; and trainer,
17	Regina Wright; and
18	WHEREAS, we feel that special recognition is due to
19	players Mayes White, Scott Taylor Renfroe, Javon Christian,
20	Levi Sikes, and Jackson Senn for being named to the 2020
21	All-Star Team; Alabama Sports Writers Association First-Team
22	All-State recognitions to Jay Taylor, Scott Taylor Renfroe,
23	Caleb Guice, Peyton Dicks, and Mayes White; and Second-Team
24	All-State recognitions to Elijah Caldwell, Ryan Barnes, and

Mario Davenport; now therefore,

25

HJR36

1	BE IT RESOLVED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF ALABAMA, BOTH
2	HOUSES THEREOF CONCURRING, That we hereby present this
3	resolution to the 2020 Alabama Independent School Association
4	Class 3A State Champions, the Pike Liberal Arts Patriots, as
5	an expression of the affection and admiration from all of our
6	citizens.

1			
2			
3			
4		Speaker of the House of Represe:	ntatives
5			
6	1	President and Presiding Officer o	f the Senate
7		House of Representatives	
8 9		nereby certify that the within Acted by the House 23-FEB-21.	t originated in
10 11 12 13		Jeff Woodard Clerk	
14			
15			
16	Senate	24-FEB-21	Adopted

17