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3 HOUSE JUDICIARY SUBSTITUTE FOR HB445

4  

5  

6  

7  

8 SYNOPSIS:         Under existing law, the crime of assault in

9 the second degree is committed when a person, with

10 an intent to prevent a peace officer, detention or

11 correctional officer, emergency medical personnel,

12 or firefighter from performing a lawful duty,

13 intends to cause physical injury and causes

14 physical injury to any person.

15 This bill would establish the crimes of

16 assault against a first responder in the first and

17 second degrees and would also further provide for

18 the crime of assault in the second degree to

19 reflect the creation of the crimes of assault

20 against a first responder in the first and second

21 degrees.

22 This bill would amend the crimes of riot and

23 inciting to riot and would establish the crimes of

24 aggravated riot and unlawful traffic interference.

25 This bill would also include a mandatory period of

26 incarceration to serve that is not subject to

27 probation or parole.
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1 Under existing law, a person arrested for a

2 crime of domestic violence or elder abuse is

3 required to be held in custody until brought before

4 the court within 48 hours for the purpose of

5 consideration of bail.

6 This bill would provide that if a person is

7 arrested for committing a crime of assault against

8 a first responder, riot, inciting to riot,

9 aggravated riot, or unlawful traffic interference,

10 the person would be required to be held in custody

11 until brought before the court within 24 hours for

12 the purpose of consideration of bail, or if not

13 brought before the court within 24 hours, would be

14 subject to bail according to the Alabama Rules of

15 Criminal Procedure.

16 Under existing law, local law enforcement

17 agencies are primarily funded by the political

18 subdivisions of the state for whom the agencies

19 serve.

20 This bill would provide that if a political

21 subdivision of the state dissolves or defunds a

22 local law enforcement agency, the political

23 subdivision may not receive any state grant or aid

24 money and may not receive any allocation of any

25 state revenues directly shared with local

26 governments that is not otherwise required by the

27 Constitution of Alabama of 1901, until the local
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1 law enforcement agency is fully restored and

2 funded, with exceptions.

3 Amendment 621 of the Constitution of Alabama

4 of 1901, as amended by Amendment 890, now appearing

5 as Section 111.05 of the Official Recompilation of

6 the Constitution of Alabama of 1901, as amended,

7 prohibits a general law whose purpose or effect

8 would be to require a new or increased expenditure

9 of local funds from becoming effective with regard

10 to a local governmental entity without enactment by

11 a 2/3 vote unless: it comes within one of a number

12 of specified exceptions; it is approved by the

13 affected entity; or the Legislature appropriates

14 funds, or provides a local source of revenue, to

15 the entity for the purpose.

16 The purpose or effect of this bill would be

17 to require a new or increased expenditure of local

18 funds within the meaning of the amendment. However,

19 the bill does not require approval of a local

20 governmental entity or enactment by a 2/3 vote to

21 become effective because it comes within one of the

22 specified exceptions contained in the amendment.

23  

24 A BILL

25 TO BE ENTITLED

26 AN ACT

27  
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1 Relating to crimes and offenses; to create the

2 Anti-Aggravated Riot Act; to amend Sections 13A-6-21,

3 13A-11-1, 13A-11-3, 13A-11-4, and 15-10-3, Code of Alabama

4 1975, and to add Sections 13A-11-3.1 and 13A-11-5.1 to the

5 Code of Alabama 1975, to create the crimes of assault against

6 a first responder in the first and second degrees; to further

7 provide for the crimes of riot and inciting to riot; to create

8 the crime of aggravated riot; to provide further for the crime

9 of assault in the second degree; to create the crime of

10 unlawful traffic interference; to further provide for

11 penalties for certain violations; to further provide for the

12 arrest, release, and bail of certain offenders; to provide

13 restrictions on the issuance of certain state funds to a

14 political subdivision that abolishes or reduces funding to a

15 local law enforcement agency under certain conditions; and in

16 connection therewith would have as its purpose or effect the

17 requirement of a new or increased expenditure of local funds

18 within the meaning of Amendment 621 of the Constitution of

19 Alabama of 1901, as amended by Amendment 890, now appearing as

20 Section 111.05 of the Official Recompilation of the

21 Constitution of Alabama of 1901, as amended. 

22 BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF ALABAMA:

23 Section 1. This act shall be known and may be cited

24 as the Anti-Aggravated Riot Act.

25 Section 2. (a) As used in this section, the term

26 first responder includes state, local, and tribal law

27 enforcement officers; dogs or horses employed by a law
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1 enforcement agency for the principal purpose of aiding in the

2 detection of criminal activity, enforcement of laws, or

3 apprehension of criminal offenders; detention and correctional

4 officers at any municipal or county jail or state

5 penitentiary; fire department and voluntary fire department

6 personnel; and emergency medical personnel who are actively

7 employed or on active volunteer status.

8 (b) A person commits the crime of assault against a

9 first responder in the first degree when the person

10 intentionally does any of the following to a first responder

11 who is engaged in the performance of his or her official

12 duties:

13 (1) Causes serious physical injury to the first

14 responder.

15 (2) Causes physical injury by deadly weapon or

16 dangerous instrument to the first responder.

17 (3) Causes physical injury to the first responder by

18 strangulation or suffocation, or an attempt thereof.

19 (4) Causes physical injury to the first responder

20 during a riot, aggravated riot, or unlawful assembly.

21 (5) Causes or attempts to cause a first responder to

22 come into contact with bodily fluids, unless the first

23 responder consented to the contact or the contact was

24 necessary to provide medical care. For purposes of this

25 subdivision, "bodily fluids" has the same meaning as defined

26 under Section 13A-6-242, Code of Alabama 1975.
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1 (c) Assault against a first responder in the first

2 degree is a Class B felony. The defendant shall serve a

3 minimum term of imprisonment of six months without

4 consideration of probation, parole, good time credits, or any

5 other reduction in time.

6 (d) In addition to any fine, the defendant shall pay

7 restitution, including but not limited to all of the

8 following:

9 (1) Costs of any and all medical treatment by any

10 victim of the violation, including physical and occupational

11 therapy and rehabilitation.

12 (2) Cost of any damage to property, or full value of

13 property if destroyed or damaged beyond repair.

14 (3) Any and all other losses suffered by any victim

15 as a result of a violation of this section.

16 Section 3. (a) As used in this section, the term

17 first responder includes state, local, and tribal law

18 enforcement officers; dogs or horses employed by a law

19 enforcement agency for the principal purpose of aiding in the

20 detection of criminal activity, enforcement of laws, or

21 apprehension of criminal offenders; detention and correctional

22 officers at any municipal or county jail or state

23 penitentiary; fire department and voluntary fire department

24 personnel; and emergency medical personnel who are actively

25 employed or on active volunteer status.

26 (b) A person commits the crime of assault against a

27 first responder in the second degree when the person
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1 intentionally causes physical injury to a first responder who

2 is engaged in the performance of his or her official duties.

3 (c) Assault against a first responder in the second

4 degree is a Class C felony. The defendant shall serve a

5 minimum term of imprisonment of three months without

6 consideration of probation, parole, good time credits, or any

7 other reduction in time.

8 (d) In addition to any fine, the defendant shall pay

9 restitution, including but not limited to all of the

10 following:

11 (1) Costs of any and all medical treatment of or for

12 any victim of the violation, including physical and

13 occupational therapy and rehabilitation.

14 (2) Cost of any damage to property, or full value of

15 property if destroyed or damaged beyond repair.

16 (3) Any and all other losses suffered by any victim

17 as a result of a violation of this section.

18 Section 4. Section 13A-6-21, Code of Alabama 1975,

19 is amended to read as follows:

20 "§13A-6-21.

21 "(a) A person commits the crime of assault in the

22 second degree if the person does any of the following:

23 "(1) With intent to cause serious physical injury to

24 another person, he or she causes serious physical injury to

25 any person.
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1 "(2) With intent to cause physical injury to another

2 person, he or she causes physical injury to any person by

3 means of a deadly weapon or a dangerous instrument.

4 "(3) He or she recklessly causes serious physical

5 injury to another person by means of a deadly weapon or a

6 dangerous instrument.

7 "(4) With intent to prevent a peace officer, as

8 defined in Section 36-21-60, a detention or correctional

9 officer at any municipal or county jail or state penitentiary,

10 emergency medical personnel, cause physical injury to a

11 utility worker, or a firefighter from performing a lawful

12 duty, he or she intends to cause physical injury and he or she

13 causes physical injury to any person. For the purpose of this

14 subdivision, a person who is a peace officer who is employed

15 or under contract while off duty by a private or public entity

16 is a peace officer performing a lawful duty when the person is

17 working in his or her approved uniform while off duty with the

18 approval of his or her employing law enforcement agency.

19 Provided, however, that nothing contained herein shall be

20 deemed or construed as amending, modifying, or extending the

21 classification of a peace officer as off-duty for workers

22 compensation purposes or any other benefits to which a peace

23 officer may otherwise be entitled to under law when considered

24 on-duty. Additionally, nothing contained herein shall be

25 deemed or construed as amending, modifying, or extending the

26 tort liability of any municipality as a result of any action

27 or inaction on the part of an off-duty police officer. For the
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1 purposes of this subdivision, utility worker means any person

2 who is employed by an entity that owns, operates, leases, or

3 controls any plant, property, or facility for the generation,

4 transmission, manufacture, production, supply, distribution,

5 sale, storage, conveyance, delivery, or furnishing to or for

6 the public of electricity, natural or manufactured gas, water,

7 steam, sewage, or telephone service, including two or more

8 utilities rendering joint service.

9 "(5) With intent to cause physical injury to a

10 teacher or to an employee of a public educational institution

11 during or as a result of the performance of his or her duty,

12 he or she causes physical injury to any person.

13 "(6) With intent to cause physical injury to a

14 health care worker, including a nurse, physician, technician,

15 or any other person employed by or practicing at a hospital as

16 defined in Section 22-21-20; a county or district health

17 department; a long-term care facility; or a physician's

18 office, clinic, or outpatient treatment facility during the

19 course of or as a result of the performance of the duties of

20 the health care worker or other person employed by or

21 practicing at the hospital; the county or district health

22 department; any health care facility owned or operated by the

23 State of Alabama; the long-term care facility; or the

24 physician's office, clinic, or outpatient treatment facility;

25 he or she causes physical injury to any person. This

26 subdivision shall not apply to assaults by patients who are
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1 impaired by medication or to assaults on home health care

2 workers while they are in private residences.

3 "(7) For a purpose other than lawful medical or

4 therapeutic treatment, he or she intentionally causes stupor,

5 unconsciousness, or other physical or mental impairment, or

6 injury to another person by administering to him or her,

7 without his or her consent, a drug, substance, or preparation

8 capable of producing the intended harm.

9 "(b) Assault in the second degree is a Class C

10 felony.

11 "(c) For the purposes of this section, utility

12 worker means any person who is employed by an entity that

13 owns, operates, leases, or controls any plant, property, or

14 facility for the generation, transmission, manufacture,

15 production, supply, distribution, sale, storage, conveyance,

16 delivery, or furnishing to or for the public of electricity,

17 natural or manufactured gas, water, steam, sewage, or

18 telephone service, including two or more utilities rendering

19 joint service.

20 Section 5. Sections 13A-11-1, 13A-11-3, and

21 13A-11-4, Code of Alabama 1975, are amended to read as

22 follows:

23 "§13A-11-1.

24 "The following definitions apply in this article: 

25 "(1) OBSTRUCT. To "obstruct" means to render

26 impassable without unreasonable inconvenience or hazard. A
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1 gathering of persons to hear a person speak or otherwise

2 communicate does not constitute an obstruction.

3 "(2) PUBLIC PLACE. A place to which the public or a

4 substantial group of persons has access, and includes but is

5 not limited to highways, transportation facilities, schools,

6 places of amusement, parks, playgrounds and hallways, lobbies

7 and other portions of apartment houses not constituting rooms

8 or apartments designed for actual residence; provided, that no

9 private dwelling and no place engaged for a private gathering

10 is included within the meaning of public place with respect to

11 any person specifically invited therein.

12 "(3) RIOT. The assemblage of five or more persons

13 resulting in conduct which does either of the following:

14 "a. Creates an immediate danger of damage to

15 property or injury to persons.

16 "b. Substantially obstructs law enforcement or other

17 governmental functions or services.

18 "(3) (4) TRANSPORTATION FACILITY. Any conveyance,

19 premises or place used for or in connection with public

20 passenger transportation, whether by air, railroad, motor

21 vehicle or any other method. It includes aircraft, water

22 craft, railroad cars, buses and air, boat, railroad and bus

23 terminals and stations and all appurtenances thereto.

24 "§13A-11-3.

25 "(a) A person commits the crime of riot if, after

26 receiving an order to disperse by a law enforcement officer or

27 when in violation of a curfew, the person, with five or more
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1 other persons, he wrongfully engages in tumultuous and violent

2 conduct and thereby intentionally or recklessly causes or

3 creates a grave risk of public terror or alarm intentionally

4 participates in a riot.

5 "(b) Riot is a Class A misdemeanor. The defendant

6 shall serve a minimum term of imprisonment of 30 days without

7 consideration of probation, parole, good time credits, or any

8 other reduction in time.

9 "(c) In addition to any fine, the defendant shall

10 pay restitution, including but not limited to all of the

11 following:

12 "(1) Costs of any and all medical treatment by any

13 victim of the violation, including physical and occupational

14 therapy and rehabilitation.

15 "(2) Cost of any damage to property, or full value

16 of property if destroyed or damaged beyond repair.

17 "(3) Any and all other losses suffered by any victim

18 as a result of a violation of this section.

19 "§13A-11-4.

20 "(a) A person commits the crime of inciting to riot

21 if he or she commands, solicits, incites, funds, or urges, or

22 otherwise aids or abets another person to engage in tumultuous

23 and violent conduct of a kind likely to cause or create a

24 grave risk of public terror or alarm a riot or aggravated

25 riot.

26 "(b) Inciting to riot is a Class A misdemeanor. The

27 defendant shall serve a minimum term of imprisonment of 30
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1 days without consideration of probation, parole, good time

2 credits, or any other reduction in time.

3 "(c) In addition to any fine, the defendant shall

4 pay restitution, including but not limited to all of the

5 following:

6 "(1) Costs of any and all medical treatment of or

7 for any victim of the violation, including physical and

8 occupational therapy and rehabilitation.

9 "(2) Cost of any damage to property, or full value

10 of property if destroyed or damaged beyond repair.

11 "(3) Any and all other losses suffered by any victim

12 as a result of a violation of this section."

13 Section 6. Sections 13A-11-3.1 and 13A-11-5.1 are

14 added to Article 1 of Chapter 11 of Title 13A of the Code of

15 Alabama 1975, to read as follows:

16 §13A-11-3.1.

17 (a) A person commits the crime of aggravated riot

18 if, after receiving an order to disperse by a law enforcement

19 officer or when in violation of a curfew, the person

20 intentionally participates in a riot, the participants of

21 which collectively cause damage to property in an amount which

22 exceeds two thousand five hundred dollars ($2,500) or cause

23 physical injury to any one or more persons.

24 (b) Aggravated riot is a Class C felony. The

25 defendant shall serve a minimum term of imprisonment of three

26 months without consideration of probation, parole, good time

27 credits, or any other reduction in time.
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1 (c) In addition to any fine, the defendant shall pay

2 restitution, including but not limited to all of the

3 following:

4 (1) Costs of any and all medical treatment by any

5 victim of the violation, including physical and occupational

6 therapy and rehabilitation.

7 (2) Cost of any damage to property, or full value of

8 property if destroyed or damaged beyond repair.

9 (3) Any and all other losses suffered by any victim

10 as a result of a violation of this section.

11 §13A-11-5.1.

12 (a)(1) A person commits the crime of unlawful

13 traffic interference if the person intentionally or recklessly

14 impedes vehicular traffic by walking, standing, sitting,

15 kneeling, lying, or placing an object in such a manner as to

16 block passage of a vehicle on a public highway or interstate

17 highway.

18 (2) This section does not apply to any of the

19 following:

20 a. A person who, by permit or otherwise, has

21 permission to operate in the public roadway from an

22 appropriate government authority, including a law enforcement

23 officer.

24 b. A person who operates in the roadway to direct

25 traffic away from a hazardous road condition, an obstacle, or

26 the scene of an accident.
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1 (b)(1) Except as provided in subdivision (2),

2 unlawful traffic interference is a Class A misdemeanor.

3 (2) On a second or subsequent violation under

4 subdivision (1), or if a violation of this section resulted in

5 physical injury or damage to property, the person is guilty of

6 a Class C felony.

7 (c) A defendant convicted of violating this section

8 shall serve a minimum term of imprisonment of 30 days without

9 consideration of probation, parole, good time credits, or any

10 other reduction in time.

11 (d) In addition to any fine, the defendant shall pay

12 restitution, including but not limited to all of the

13 following:

14 (1) Costs of any and all medical treatment of or for

15 any victim of the violation, including physical and

16 occupational therapy and rehabilitation.

17 (2) Cost of any damage to property, or full value of

18 property if destroyed or damaged beyond repair.

19 (3) Any and all other losses suffered by any victim

20 as a result of a violation of this section.

21 Section 7. Section 15-10-3, Code of Alabama 1975, is

22 amended to read as follows:

23 "§15-10-3.

24 "(a) An officer may arrest a person without a

25 warrant, on any day and at any time in any of the following

26 instances:

Page 15



1 "(1) If a public offense has been committed or a

2 breach of the peace threatened in the presence of the officer.

3 "(2) When a felony has been committed, though not in

4 the presence of the officer, by the person arrested.

5 "(3) When a felony has been committed and the

6 officer has probable cause to believe that the person arrested

7 committed the felony.

8 "(4) When the officer has probable cause to believe

9 that the person arrested has committed a felony, although it

10 may afterwards appear that a felony had not in fact been

11 committed.

12 "(5) When a charge has been made, upon probable

13 cause, that the person arrested has committed a felony.

14 "(6) When the officer has actual knowledge that a

15 warrant for the person's arrest for the commission of a felony

16 or misdemeanor has been issued, provided the warrant was

17 issued in accordance with this chapter. However, upon request

18 the officer shall show the warrant to the arrested person as

19 soon as possible. If the officer does not have the warrant in

20 his or her possession at the time of arrest the officer shall

21 inform the defendant of the offense charged and of the fact

22 that a warrant has been issued.

23 "(7) When the officer has probable cause to believe

24 that a felony or misdemeanor has been committed by the person

25 arrested in violation of a protection order, including a

26 domestic violence protection order or an elder abuse

27 protection order, issued by a court of competent jurisdiction.
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1 "(8) When an offense involves a crime of domestic

2 violence, including domestic violence in the first degree,

3 pursuant to Section 13A-6-130, domestic violence in the second

4 degree, pursuant to Section 13A-6-131, domestic violence in

5 the third degree, pursuant to Section 13A-6-132, interference

6 with a domestic violence emergency call, in violation of

7 Section 13A-6-137, or domestic violence by strangulation or

8 suffocation, pursuant to Section 13A-6-138, or violation of a

9 domestic violence protection order, pursuant to Section

10 13A-6-142, or the offense involves the crime of elder abuse as

11 defined in Section 38-9F-3, including elder abuse in the first

12 degree pursuant to Section 13A-6-192, elder abuse in the

13 second degree pursuant to Section 13A-6-193, elder abuse in

14 the third degree pursuant to Section 13A-6-194, or a violation

15 of an Elder Abuse Protection Order pursuant to Section

16 38-9F-3, and the arrest is based on probable cause.

17 "(9) When an offense involves assault against a

18 first responder in the first degree, as provided under Section

19 2 of the act adding this amendatory language; assault against

20 a first responder in the second degree, as provided under

21 Section 3 of the act adding this amendatory language; riot, as

22 provided under Section 13A-11-3; inciting to riot, as provided

23 under Section 13A-11-4; aggravated riot, as provided under

24 Section 13A-11-3.1; or unlawful traffic interference, as

25 provided under Section 13A-11-5.1.

26 "(b) When a law enforcement officer investigates an

27 allegation of domestic violence or elder abuse, whether or not
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1 an arrest is made, the officer shall make a written report of

2 the alleged incident, including a statement of the complaint,

3 and the disposition of the case.

4 "(c) If the defendant is arrested under this section

5 for committing an act of domestic violence, including domestic

6 violence in the first degree, pursuant to Section 13A-6-130,

7 domestic violence in the second degree, pursuant to Section

8 13A-6-131, domestic violence in the third degree, pursuant to

9 Section 13A-6-132, interference with a domestic violence

10 emergency call, in violation of Section 13A-6-137, or domestic

11 violence by strangulation or suffocation, pursuant to Section

12 13A-6-138, in a violation of a domestic violence protection

13 order, pursuant to Section 13A-6-142, or an act of elder abuse

14 in violation of an elder abuse protection order elder abuse in

15 the first degree pursuant to Section 13A-6-192, elder abuse in

16 the second degree pursuant to Section 13A-6-193, elder abuse

17 in the third degree pursuant to Section 13A-6-194, or a

18 violation of an Elder Abuse Protection Order pursuant to

19 Section 38-9F-3, the defendant shall be held in custody until

20 brought before the court within 48 hours for the purpose of

21 enforcing the protection order and for consideration of bail

22 in accordance with Section 15-13-190 and the applicable rules

23 of criminal procedure, pending a hearing. If the defendant is

24 not brought before the court within 48 hours, the defendant

25 shall be subject to bail according to the Alabama Rules of

26 Criminal Procedure.
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1 "(d) If the defendant is arrested for committing an

2 act of assault against a first responder in the first degree

3 as provided under Section 2 of the act adding this amendatory

4 language, assault against a first responder in the second

5 degree as provided under Section 3 of the act adding this

6 amendatory language, riot as provided under Section 13A-11-3,

7 inciting to riot as provided under Section 13A-11-4,

8 aggravated riot, as provided under Section 13A-11-3.1, or

9 unlawful traffic interference as provided under Section

10 13A-11-5.1, the defendant shall be held in custody until

11 brought before the court within 24 hours for consideration of

12 bail in accordance with Section 15-13-190 and the applicable

13 rules of criminal procedure, pending a hearing. If the

14 defendant is not brought before the court within 24 hours, the

15 defendant shall be subject to bail according to the Alabama

16 Rules of Criminal Procedure."

17 Section 8. (a) (1) As used in this section, the term

18 defunded jurisdiction means a political subdivision of the

19 state that is certified by the Attorney General as having

20 abolished or disbanded, or substantially abolished or

21 disbanded, the law enforcement agency of the political

22 subdivision without an intention to immediately reconstitute

23 the agency. 

24 (2) A rebuttable presumption arises that a political

25 subdivision has substantially abolished or disbanded the law

26 enforcement agency of the political subdivision if the

27 political subdivision reduces by 50 percent or more the budget
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1 of the law enforcement agency of the political subdivision

2 without reallocating a substantial majority of that money to

3 another community policing program.

4 (3) A political subdivision may rebut the

5 presumption by proving by clear and convincing evidence that

6 the budget reduction was a fiscally appropriate decision as a

7 result of a decrease in revenues in the previous fiscal year,

8 or by proving that, the budget reduction notwithstanding, the

9 law enforcement agency of the political subdivision is

10 sufficiently funded to provide law enforcement services to the

11 political subdivision.

12 (b) A defunded jurisdiction is not eligible for and

13 may not receive any of the following:

14 (1) A state grant, gift, endowment, or any other sum

15 of money or aid from the State of Alabama or a department,

16 board, or agency thereof.

17 (2) Any allocation of state revenues directly shared

18 with local governing bodies not otherwise guaranteed by the

19 Constitution of Alabama of 1901, including, but not limited

20 to, revenue from the Rebuild Alabama Act, Act 2019-2 (1st

21 Special Session); and the net profits derived from the

22 proceeds of the Alabama liquor stores under Section 28-3-74,

23 Code of Alabama 1975.

24 (c) Upon certification by the Attorney General that

25 a political subdivision of the state is a defunded

26 jurisdiction, the state Comptroller shall withhold the

27 distribution of the revenue described under subsection (b) to
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1 which the defunded jurisdiction would otherwise be entitled

2 into a special fund within the State Treasury until the

3 Attorney General certifies that the political subdivision has

4 restored funding to the political subdivision's law

5 enforcement agency.

6 (d) This section does not apply to a political

7 subdivision of the state which, as of the effective date of

8 this act, employs less than 20 full-time law enforcement

9 officers.

10 Section 9. Although this bill would have as its

11 purpose or effect the requirement of a new or increased

12 expenditure of local funds, the bill is excluded from further

13 requirements and application under Amendment 621, as amended

14 by Amendment 890, now appearing as Section 111.05 of the

15 Official Recompilation of the Constitution of Alabama of 1901,

16 as amended, because the bill defines a new crime or amends the

17 definition of an existing crime.

18 Section 10. This act shall become effective on the

19 first day of the third month following its passage and

20 approval by the Governor, or its otherwise becoming law.
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