- 1 SJR92
- 2 192640-1
- 3 By Senator Smitherman
- 4 RFD:
- 5 First Read: 08-MAR-18

1	192640-1:n:03/02/2018:JEC/jec LSA2018-1168
2	
3	
4	
5	
6	
7	
8	RECOGNIZING THE ALABAMA SCHOOL OF FINE ARTS ON THE
9	OCCASION OF ITS 50TH ANNIVERSARY.
10	
11	WHEREAS, the Alabama School of Fine Arts is
12	celebrating its 50th Anniversary of serving the great State of
13	Alabama and educating its students with distinction; and
14	WHEREAS, the Alabama School of Fine Arts traces its
15	humble beginnings to Governor Lurleen Wallace's decision to
16	provide special funding to the community arts leaders in
17	Birmingham to support after-school instructional art programs
18	during the 1967-1968 school year; and
19	WHEREAS, Representative J.T. "Jabo" Waggoner was
20	instrumental in supporting this novel approach to fine arts
21	education and championed sponsorship and passage of
22	legislation that transitioned the successful after-school
23	program to a full-time school thus establishing the Alabama
24	School of Fine Arts in 1972; and
25	WHEREAS, the Alabama School of Fine Arts provides a
26	special opportunity for talented and passionate students in
27	grades 7 through 12 from across the state to immerse

1 themselves in a unique educational experience in six 2 speciality disciplines: Creative Writing, Dance, Mathematics, Science, Music, Theatre Arts, and Visual Arts; and 3 WHEREAS, the Alabama School of Fine Arts, widely 4 referred to as ASFA, is Alabama's only state public middle and 5 6 high school blending fine arts with math and science 7 education; and WHEREAS, ASFA equips students with intensive 9 professional inter-discipline study while also providing the 10 core academic courses necessary to earn an Alabama high school diploma; and 11 WHEREAS, ASFA's 2017 class of 70 seniors earned an 12 13 average ACT score of 26.8, were awarded \$13 million in merit scholarships averaging almost \$200,000 each, and were accepted 14 15 at 124 colleges, universities, art schools, and 16 conservatories; and 17 WHEREAS, these accomplishments are generally 18 representative of each Alabama School of Fine Arts graduating class; and 19 2.0 WHEREAS, ASFA students routinely achieve and are 21 recognized as Presidential Scholars, National Merit Scholars, 22 National Achievement Scholars, Intel International Science and 23 Engineering Finalists, YoungArts winners, and Scholastic Art 24 and Writing Awards gold medalists; and 25 WHEREAS, ASFA student accomplishments include 26 performances with the National Youth Orchestra, competing in

the American Computer Science League All-Star International

27

competition, spending summers at Dance Theatre of Harlem and
American Ballet Theatre, having artwork professionally
commissioned, starring in major television shows, and
publishing entire books all while attending ASFA fulltime; and

WHEREAS, alumni of the Alabama School of Fine Arts have received global recognition, fame, and industry awards, won Emmy Awards, authored The Hunger Games trilogy, served as NASA engineers and editors of national publications, had the honor of their work being prominently displayed in museums, are Billboard music artists, renowned teachers, dance company founders, television writers, film producers, and CEOs of successful businesses and world-changing and community serving nonprofits; and

WHEREAS, over the course of its 50-year history, the Alabama School of Fine Arts has positively impacted countless students, alumni, faculty, and staff and have enriched, empowered, enlightened, and advanced the state by educating these individuals who have shared their special God-given talents through the arts, sciences, and community service and commerce; and

WHEREAS, the Alabama School of Fine Arts is a state treasure and example of the state's enduring commitment to educational excellence; now therefore,

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF ALABAMA, BOTH HOUSES THEREOF CONCURRING, That we hereby recognize and celebrate the legacy of the Alabama School of Fine Arts for

- 1 its 50 years of extraordinary service and educational
- 2 excellence to the State of Alabama and its students.