- 1 HR109
- 2 190498-1
- 3 By Representative Givan
- 4 RFD:
- 5 First Read: 25-JAN-18

1	190498-1:n:01/24/2018:AR/ar LSA2018-483
2	
3	
4	
5	
6	
7	
8	COMMENDING SMITHFIELD WALK CLUB ON ITS SELECTION AS
9	AN HONOREE OF THE METRO BIRMINGHAM NAACP SALUTE TO OUTSTANDING
10	AFRICAN AMERICANS.
11	
12	WHEREAS, highest commendations and congratulations
13	are herein proudly presented to Smithfield Walk Club of
14	Birmingham on the occasion of its selection as an honoree of
15	the Metro Birmingham NAACP Salute to Outstanding African
16	Americans; and
17	WHEREAS, on Sunday, February 4, 2018, the Metro
18	Birmingham National Association for the Advancement of Colored
19	People (NAACP) will host its 18th Annual Salute to Outstanding
20	African Americans; the event will be held at the First Baptist
21	Church, Graymont, 100 9th Court West, Birmingham, Alabama; and
22	WHEREAS, Smithfield Walk Club was organized by Mrs.
23	Patricia S. Davis, community center program specialist for the
24	Housing Authority of the Birmingham District (HABD) in 2013;
25	it has grown from five members to fifty members who meet three
26	days per week; and

1 WHEREAS, music fills the gym as women in their late 2 60s participate in club fitness regimen three days a week at 3 Smithfield Court; and

WHEREAS, there are no membership dues and the only requirement is a desire to become more active and embracing the benefits of healthy eating and healthy lifestyle choices; and

WHEREAS, honorees on this auspicious occasion are
Patricia S. Davis, Shemekia Sekil, Parlee Spidell, Glory
Sanders, Drucilla Davis, Delia Mims, Debra Taylor, Amelia
Smith, Beverly Hinkle, Diane Watts, Lisa Nathan, Symone
Parrish, Phyllis Mitchell, Triva Jackson, Easter Mitchell,
Janice Williams, Connie Burrell, Tracey Moore, Tiffany Taylor,
Corrian Turner, Armanda Lucas, Monica Russell, Allman Alford,
Jean Ball, Celerica Edward, Elizabeth Billingley, Lashandra
Murphy, Barbara Presley, Kimberly Thomas, Frank Leonard,
Gloria Creighton, Melinda Ruffin, Demaris Davis, Alexis Cook,
Louis Brown, Lillie Breeding, Arlinda Gillespie, Benita Brown,
Altheia Ingram, Muril Milhouse, Debbie Jennings, Essie
Bennett, Minnie Jones, Faye Tolbert, Zotores Jones, Angelica
R. Hall, Ethal Lee, Miller Mae Tartt, and Daisy Hicklen; and

WHEREAS, there is clearly strong pride among members of this group; pride in taking steps to improve their own health and pride in strengthening the bonds of their community; now therefore,

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE LEGISLATURE OF ALABAMA, That the Smithfield Walk Club is

- 1 highly honored and commended, and this resolution is offered
- 2 in deepest admiration and appreciation, along with sincere
- 3 best wishes for all future endeavors.