1	190602-1 : n : 01/25/2018 : jet / JET FLOOR
2	
3	McCLENDON AMENDMENT NO. 3 TO SB1
4	
5	
6	
7	
8	On page 6, lines 23 through 24, strike "six months"
9	and insert thereafter the following:
10	<u>90 days</u>
11	
12	On page 24, after line 10, insert the following new
13	subsection (z):
14	" <u>(z) This section shall be repealed five years from</u>
15	the effective date of this act.
16	
17	On page 33, after line 12, insert the following new
18	Section 2 and renumber the subsequent subsections accordingly:
19	Section 2. Five years from the effective date of
20	this act, Section 32-5A-191, is added to the Code of Alabama
21	1975, to read as follows:
22	\$32-5A-191.
23	"(a) A person shall not drive or be in actual
24	physical control of any vehicle while:
25	"(1) There is 0.08 percent or more by weight of
26	alcohol in his or her blood;
27	"(2) Under the influence of alcohol;

"(3) Under the influence of a controlled substance
 to a degree which renders him or her incapable of safely
 driving;

4 "(4) Under the combined influence of alcohol and a
5 controlled substance to a degree which renders him or her
6 incapable of safely driving; or

7 "(5) Under the influence of any substance which
8 impairs the mental or physical faculties of such person to a
9 degree which renders him or her incapable of safely driving.

10 "(b) A person who is under the age of 21 years shall not drive or be in actual physical control of any vehicle if 11 there is 0.02 percent or more by weight of alcohol in his or 12 13 her blood. The Alabama State Law Enforcement Agency shall 14 suspend or revoke the driver's license of any person, 15 including, but not limited to, a juvenile, child, or youthful offender, convicted or adjudicated of, or subjected to a 16 17 finding of, delinquency based on this subsection. 18 Notwithstanding the foregoing, upon the first violation of this subsection by a person whose blood alcohol level is 19 between 0.02 and 0.08, the person's driver's license or 20 21 driving privilege shall be suspended for a period of 30 days 22 in lieu of any penalties provided in subsection (e) of this section, and there shall be no disclosure, other than to 23 24 courts, law enforcement agencies, the person's attorney of 25 record, and the person's employer, by any entity or person of any information, documents, or records relating to the 26

person's arrest, conviction, or adjudication of or finding of delinquency based on this subsection.

"All persons, except as otherwise provided in this 3 subsection for a first offense, including, but not limited to, 4 5 a juvenile, child, or youthful offender, convicted or adjudicated of or subjected to a finding of delinguency based 6 7 on this subsection shall be fined pursuant to this section, notwithstanding any other law to the contrary, and the person 8 shall also be required to attend and complete a DUI or 9 10 substance abuse court referral program in accordance with subsection (k). 11

"(c)(1) A school bus or day care driver shall not 12 13 drive or be in actual physical control of any vehicle while in performance of his or her duties if there is greater than 0.02 14 15 percent by weight of alcohol in his or her blood. A person convicted pursuant to this subsection shall be subject to the 16 penalties provided by this section, except that on the first 17 18 conviction the Secretary of the Alabama State Law Enforcement Agency shall suspend the driving privilege or driver's license 19 20 for a period of one year.

"(2) A person shall not drive or be in actual physical control of a commercial motor vehicle, as defined in 49 CFR Part 383.5 of the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Regulations as adopted pursuant to Section 32-9A-2, if there is 0.04 percent or greater by weight of alcohol in his or her blood. Notwithstanding the other provisions of this section, the commercial driver's license or commercial driving

privilege of a person convicted of violating this subdivision shall be disqualified for the period provided in accordance with 49 CFR Part 383.51, as applicable, and the person's regular driver's license or privilege to drive a regular motor vehicle shall be governed by the remainder of this section if the person is guilty of a violation of another provision of this section.

8 "(3) Any commutation of suspension or revocation 9 time as it relates to a court order, approval, and 10 installation of an ignition interlock device shall not apply 11 to commercial driving privileges or disqualifications.

12 "(d) The fact that any person charged with violating 13 this section is or has been legally entitled to use alcohol or 14 a controlled substance shall not constitute a defense against 15 any charge of violating this section.

16 "(e) Upon first conviction, a person violating this 17 section shall be punished by imprisonment in the county or 18 municipal jail for not more than one year, or by fine of not less than six hundred dollars (\$600) nor more than two 19 20 thousand one hundred dollars (\$2,100), or by both a fine and 21 imprisonment. In addition, on a first conviction, the 22 Secretary of the Alabama State Law Enforcement Agency shall 23 suspend the driving privilege or driver's license of the 24 person convicted for a period of 90 days. The 90-day 25 suspension shall be stayed if the offender elects to have an 26 approved ignition interlock device installed and operating on the designated motor vehicle driven by the offender for 90 27

days. The offender shall present proof of installation of the 1 2 approved ignition interlock device to the Alabama State Law Enforcement Agency and obtain an ignition interlock restricted 3 driver license. The remainder of the suspension shall be 4 5 commuted upon the successful completion of the elected use, mandated use, or both, of the ignition interlock device. If, 6 7 on a first conviction, any person refusing to provide a blood alcohol concentration or if a child under the age of 14 years 8 9 was a passenger in the vehicle at the time of the offense or 10 if someone else besides the offender was injured at the time of the offense, the Secretary of the Alabama State Law 11 12 Enforcement Agency shall suspend the driving privilege or 13 driver's license of the person convicted for a period of 90 days and the person shall be required to have an ignition 14 15 interlock device installed and operating on the designated motor vehicle driven by the offender for a period of two years 16 from the date of issuance of a driver's license indicating 17 18 that the person's driving privileges are subject to the condition of the installation and use of a certified ignition 19 20 interlock device on a motor vehicle. After a minimum of 45 21 days of the license revocation or suspension pursuant to 22 Section 32-5A-304 or this section, or both, is completed, upon 23 receipt of a court order from the convicting court, upon 24 issuance of an ignition interlock restricted driver license, 25 and upon proof of installation of an operational approved 26 ignition interlock device on the designated vehicle of the 27 person convicted, the mandated ignition interlock period of

two years provided in this subsection shall start and the suspension period, revocation period, or both, as required under this subsection shall be stayed. The remainder of the driver license revocation period, suspension period, or both, shall be commuted upon the successful completion of the period of time in which the ignition interlock device is mandated to be installed and operational.

"(f) On a second conviction within a five-year 8 9 period, a person convicted of violating this section shall be 10 punished by a fine of not less than one thousand one hundred dollars (\$1,100) nor more than five thousand one hundred 11 dollars (\$5,100) and by imprisonment, which may include hard 12 13 labor in the county or municipal jail for not more than one year. The sentence shall include a mandatory sentence, which 14 15 is not subject to suspension or probation, of imprisonment in the county or municipal jail for not less than five days or 16 17 community service for not less than 30 days. In addition, the 18 Secretary of the Alabama State Law Enforcement Agency shall revoke the driving privileges or driver's license of the 19 20 person convicted for a period of one year and the offender 21 shall be required to have an ignition interlock device 22 installed and operating on the designated motor vehicle driven 23 by the offender for a period of two years from the date of 24 issuance of a driver's license indicating that the person's 25 driving privileges are subject to the condition of the 26 installation and use of a certified ignition interlock device on a motor vehicle. After a minimum of 45 days of the license 27

1 revocation or suspension pursuant to Section 32-5A-304, this 2 section, or both, is completed, upon receipt of a court order from the convicting court, upon issuance of an ignition 3 interlock restricted driver license, and upon proof of 4 5 installation or an operational approved ignition interlock 6 device on the designated vehicle of the person convicted, the 7 mandated ignition interlock period of two years approved in 8 this subsection shall start and the suspension period, 9 revocation period, or both, as required under this subsection 10 shall be stayed. The remainder of the driver license revocation period, suspension period, or both, shall be 11 12 commuted upon the successful completion of the period of time 13 in which the ignition interlock device is mandated to be 14 installed and operational.

15 "(q) On a third conviction, a person convicted of violating this section shall be punished by a fine of not less 16 than two thousand one hundred dollars (\$2,100) nor more than 17 18 ten thousand one hundred dollars (\$10,100) and by imprisonment, which may include hard labor, in the county or 19 20 municipal jail for not less than 60 days nor more than one 21 year, to include a minimum of 60 days which shall be served in 22 the county or municipal jail and cannot be probated or 23 suspended. In addition, the Secretary of the Alabama State Law 24 Enforcement Agency shall revoke the driving privilege or 25 driver's license of the person convicted for a period of three 26 years and the offender shall be required to have an ignition 27 interlock device installed and operating on the designated

motor vehicle driven by the offender for a period of three 1 years from the date of issuance of a driver's license 2 indicating that the person's driving privileges are subject to 3 the condition of the installation and use of a certified 4 5 ignition interlock device on a motor vehicle. After a minimum 6 of 60 days of the license revocation or suspension pursuant to 7 Section 32-5A-304, this section, or both, is completed, upon 8 receipt of a court order from the convicting court, upon 9 issuance of an ignition interlock restricted driver license, 10 and upon proof of installation of an operational approved ignition interlock device on the designated vehicle of the 11 person convicted, the mandated ignition interlock period of 12 13 three years provided in this subsection shall start and the 14 suspension period, revocation period, or both, as required 15 under this subsection shall be stayed. The remainder of the driver license revocation period, suspension period, or both, 16 17 shall be commuted upon the successful completion of the period 18 of time in which the ignition interlock device is mandated to be installed and operational. 19

"(h) On a fourth or subsequent conviction, a person 20 21 convicted of violating this section shall be guilty of a Class 22 C felony and punished by a fine of not less than four thousand one hundred dollars (\$4,100) nor more than ten thousand one 23 24 hundred dollars (\$10,100) and by imprisonment of not less than 25 one year and one day nor more than 10 years. Any term of 26 imprisonment may include hard labor for the county or state, 27 and where imprisonment does not exceed three years confinement

may be in the county jail. Where imprisonment does not exceed 1 2 one year and one day, confinement shall be in the county jail. The minimum sentence shall include a term of imprisonment for 3 at least one year and one day, provided, however, that there 4 5 shall be a minimum mandatory sentence of 10 days which shall 6 be served in the county jail. The remainder of the sentence 7 may be suspended or probated, but only if as a condition of 8 probation the defendant enrolls and successfully completes a 9 state certified chemical dependency program recommended by the 10 court referral officer and approved by the sentencing court. Where probation is granted, the sentencing court may, in its 11 discretion, and where monitoring equipment is available, place 12 13 the defendant on house arrest under electronic surveillance during the probationary term. In addition to the other 14 15 penalties authorized, the Secretary of the Alabama State Law Enforcement Agency shall revoke the driving privilege or 16 17 driver's license of the person convicted for a period of five 18 years and the offender shall be required to have an ignition interlock device installed and operating on the designated 19 20 motor vehicle driven by the offender for a period of five 21 years from the date of issuance of a driver's license 22 indicating that the person's driving privileges are subject to the condition of the installation and use of a certified 23 24 ignition interlock device on a motor vehicle. After a minimum 25 of one year of the license revocation or suspension pursuant to Section 32-5A-304, this section, or both, is completed, 26 upon receipt of a court order from the convicting court, upon 27

1 issuance of an ignition interlock restricted driver license, 2 and upon proof of installation of an operational approved ignition interlock device on the designated vehicle of the 3 person convicted, the mandated ignition interlock period of 4 5 five years provided in this subsection shall start and the 6 suspension period, revocation period, or both, as required 7 under this subsection shall be stayed. The remainder of the driver license revocation period, suspension period, or both, 8 9 shall be commuted upon the successful completion of the period 10 of time in which the ignition interlock device is mandated to be installed and operational. 11

"The Alabama habitual felony offender law shall not 12 13 apply to a conviction of a felony pursuant to this subsection, 14 and a conviction of a felony pursuant to this subsection shall 15 not be a felony conviction for purposes of the enhancement of punishment pursuant to Alabama's habitual felony offender law. 16 17 However, prior misdemeanor or felony convictions for driving 18 under the influence may be considered as part of the sentencing calculations or determinations under the Alabama 19 20 Sentencing Guidelines or rules promulgated by the Alabama 21 Sentencing Commission.

"(i) When any person convicted of violating this section is found to have had at least 0.15 percent or more by weight of alcohol in his or her blood while operating or being in actual physical control of a vehicle, he or she shall be sentenced to at least double the minimum punishment that the person would have received if he or she had had less than 0.15

percent by weight of alcohol in his or her blood. Upon the 1 2 first violation of this subsection, the offender shall be ordered by the court to have an ignition interlock device 3 installed and operating on his or her designated motor vehicle 4 5 for a period of two years from the date of issuance of an ignition interlock-restricted driver's license. If the 6 7 adjudicated offense is a misdemeanor, the minimum punishment shall be imprisonment for one year, all of which may be 8 9 suspended except as otherwise provided for in subsections (f) 10 and (q).

"(j) When any person over the age of 21 years is convicted of violating this section and it is found that a child under the age of 14 years was a passenger in the vehicle at the time of the offense, the person shall be sentenced to at least double the minimum punishment that the person would have received if the child had not been a passenger in the motor vehicle.

18 "(k)(1) In addition to the penalties provided herein, any person convicted of violating this section shall 19 20 be referred to the court referral officer for evaluation and 21 referral to appropriate community resources. The defendant 22 shall, at a minimum, be required to complete a DUI or 23 substance abuse court referral program approved by the 24 Administrative Office of Courts and operated in accordance 25 with provisions of the Mandatory Treatment Act of 1990, Sections 12-23-1 to 12-23-19, inclusive. The Alabama State Law 26 Enforcement Agency shall not reissue a driver's license to a 27

person convicted under this section without receiving proof that the defendant has successfully completed the required program.

"(2) Upon conviction, the court shall notify the 4 5 Alabama State Law Enforcement Agency if the person convicted 6 is required to install and maintain an approved ignition 7 interlock device. The agency shall suspend or revoke a person's driving privileges until completion of the mandatory 8 suspension or revocation period required by this section, and 9 10 clearance of all other suspensions, revocations, cancellations, or denials, and proof of installation of an 11 approved ignition interlock device is presented to the agency. 12 13 The agency shall not reissue a driver's license to a person 14 who has been ordered by a court or is required by law to have 15 the ignition interlock device installed until proof is 16 presented that the person is eligible for reinstatement of 17 driving privileges. Upon presentation of proof and compliance 18 with all ignition interlock requirements, the agency shall issue a driver's license with a restriction indicating that 19 20 the licensee may operate a motor vehicle only with the 21 certified ignition interlock device installed and properly 22 operating. If the licensee fails to maintain the approved ignition interlock device as required or is otherwise not in 23 24 compliance with any order of the court, the court shall notify 25 the agency of the noncompliance and the agency shall suspend 26 the person's driving privileges until the agency receives notification from the court that the licensee is in 27

compliance. The requirement that the licensee use the ignition interlock device may be removed only when the court of conviction confirms to the agency that the licensee is no longer subject to the ignition interlock device requirement.

5 "(1) Neither reckless driving nor any other traffic 6 infraction is a lesser included offense under a charge of 7 driving under the influence of alcohol or of a controlled 8 substance.

"(m) Except for fines collected for violations of 9 10 this section charged pursuant to a municipal ordinance, fines collected for violations of this section shall be deposited to 11 12 the State General Fund; however, beginning October 1, 1995, of 13 any amount collected over two hundred fifty dollars (\$250) for a first conviction, over five hundred dollars (\$500) for a 14 15 second conviction within five years, over one thousand dollars (\$1,000) for a third conviction within five years, and over 16 two thousand dollars (\$2,000) for a fourth or subsequent 17 18 conviction within five years, the first one hundred dollars (\$100) of that additional amount shall be deposited to the 19 20 Alabama Chemical Testing Training and Equipment Trust Fund, 21 after three percent of the one hundred dollars (\$100) is 22 deducted for administrative costs, and beginning October 1, 23 1997, and thereafter, the second one hundred dollars (\$100) of 24 that additional amount shall be deposited in the Alabama Head 25 and Spinal Cord Injury Trust Fund after deducting five percent of the one hundred dollars (\$100) for administrative costs and 26 the remainder of the funds shall be deposited to the State 27

General Fund. Fines collected for violations of this section 1 2 charged pursuant to a municipal ordinance where the total fine is paid at one time shall be deposited as follows: The first 3 three hundred fifty dollars (\$350) collected for a first 4 5 conviction, the first six hundred dollars (\$600) collected for a second conviction within five years, the first one thousand 6 7 one hundred dollars (\$1,100) collected for a third conviction, 8 and the first two thousand one hundred dollars (\$2,100) 9 collected for a fourth or subsequent conviction shall be 10 deposited to the State Treasury with the first one hundred dollars (\$100) collected for each conviction credited to the 11 Alabama Chemical Testing Training and Equipment Trust Fund and 12 13 the second one hundred dollars (\$100) to the Alabama Head and 14 Spinal Cord Injury Trust Fund after deducting five percent of 15 the one hundred dollars (\$100) for administrative costs and 16 depositing this amount in the general fund of the 17 municipality, and the balance credited to the State General 18 Fund. Any amounts collected over these amounts shall be deposited as otherwise provided by law. Fines collected for 19 20 violations of this section charged pursuant to a municipal 21 ordinance, where the fine is paid on a partial or installment 22 basis, shall be deposited as follows: The first two hundred 23 dollars (\$200) of the fine collected for any conviction shall 24 be deposited to the State Treasury with the first one hundred 25 dollars (\$100) collected for any conviction credited to the 26 Alabama Chemical Testing Training and Equipment Trust Fund and the second one hundred dollars (\$100) for any conviction 27

1 credited to the Alabama Head and Spinal Cord Injury Trust Fund 2 after deducting five percent of the one hundred dollars (\$100) for administrative costs and depositing this amount in the 3 general fund of the municipality. The second three hundred 4 dollars (\$300) of the fine collected for a first conviction, 5 the second eight hundred dollars (\$800) collected for a second 6 7 conviction, the second one thousand eight hundred dollars (\$1,800) collected for a third conviction, and the second 8 three thousand eight hundred dollars (\$3,800) collected for a 9 10 fourth conviction shall be divided with 50 percent of the funds collected to be deposited to the State Treasury to be 11 credited to the State General Fund and 50 percent deposited as 12 13 otherwise provided by law for municipal ordinance violations. Any amounts collected over these amounts shall be deposited as 14 15 otherwise provided by law for municipal ordinance violations. 16 Notwithstanding any provision of law to the contrary, 90 17 percent of any fine assessed and collected for any DUI offense 18 charged by municipal ordinance violation in district or circuit court shall be computed only on the amount assessed 19 over the minimum fine authorized, and upon collection shall be 20 21 distributed to the municipal general fund with the remaining 22 10 percent distributed to the State General Fund. In addition 23 to fines imposed pursuant to this subsection, a mandatory fee 24 of one hundred dollars (\$100) shall be collected from any 25 individual that successfully completes any pretrial diversion 26 or deferral program in any municipal, district, or circuit court where the individual was charged with a violation of 27

this section or a corresponding municipal ordinance. The one hundred dollars (\$100) shall be deposited into the Alabama Chemical Testing Training and Equipment Fund.

"(n) A person who has been arrested for violating
this section shall not be released from jail under bond or
otherwise, until there is less than the same percent by weight
of alcohol in his or her blood as specified in subsection
(a) (1) or, in the case of a person who is under the age of 21
years, subsection (b) hereof.

10 "(o) Upon verification that a defendant arrested 11 pursuant to this section is currently on probation from 12 another court of this state as a result of a conviction for 13 any criminal offense, the prosecutor shall provide written or 14 oral notification of the defendant's subsequent arrest and 15 pending prosecution to the court in which the prior conviction 16 occurred.

17 "(p) A prior conviction within a five-year period 18 for driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs from this 19 state, a municipality within this state, or another state or 20 territory or a municipality of another state or territory 21 shall be considered by a court for imposing a sentence 22 pursuant to this section.

"(q) Any person convicted of driving under the influence of alcohol, or a controlled substance, or both, or any substance which impairs the mental or physical faculties in violation of this section, a municipal ordinance adopting this section, or a similar law from another state or territory

or a municipality of another state or territory more than once 1 2 in a five-year period shall have his or her motor vehicle registration for all vehicles owned by the repeat offender 3 suspended by the Alabama Department of Revenue for the 4 5 duration of the offender's driver's license suspension period, 6 unless such action would impose an undue hardship to any 7 individual, not including the repeat offender, who is completely dependent on the motor vehicle for the necessities 8 9 of life, including any family member of the repeat offender 10 and any co-owner of the vehicle or, in the case of a repeat offender, if the repeat offender has a functioning ignition 11 interlock device installed on the designated vehicle for the 12 13 duration of the offender's driver's license suspension period.

14 "(r)(1) Any person ordered by the court to have an 15 ignition interlock device installed on a designated vehicle, 16 and any person who elects to have the ignition interlock 17 device installed on a designated vehicle for the purpose of 18 reducing a period of suspension or revocation of his or her driver's license, shall pay to the court, following his or her 19 20 conviction, two hundred dollars (\$200), which may be paid in 21 installments and which shall be divided as follows:

22 "a. Seventeen percent to the Alabama Interlock23 Indigent Fund.

24 "b. For cases in the district or circuit court, 30
25 percent to the State Judicial Administration Fund administered
26 by the Administrative Office of Courts and for cases in the
27 municipal court, 30 percent to the municipal judicial

1 administration fund of the municipality where the municipal 2 court is located to be used for the operation of the municipal 3 court.

4 "c. Thirty percent to the Highway Traffic Safety
5 Fund administered by the Alabama State Law Enforcement Agency.

6 "d. Twenty-three percent to the District Attorney's7 Solicitor Fund.

"(2) In addition to paying the court clerk the fee 8 9 required above following the conviction or the voluntary 10 installation of the ignition interlock device, the defendant shall pay all costs associated with the installation, 11 purchase, maintenance, or lease of the ignition interlock 12 13 devices to an approved ignition interlock provider pursuant to the rules of the Department of Forensic Sciences, unless the 14 15 defendant is subject to Section 32-5A-191.4(i)(4).

16 "(s) The defendant shall designate the vehicle to be 17 used by identifying the vehicle by the vehicle identification 18 number to the court. The defendant, at his or her own expense, 19 may designate additional motor vehicles on which an ignition 20 interlock device may be installed for the use of the 21 defendant.

"(t)(1) Any person who is required to comply with the ignition interlock provisions of this section as a condition of restoration or reinstatement of his or her driver's license, shall only operate the designated vehicle equipped with a functioning ignition interlock device for the period of time consistent with the offense for which he or she was convicted as provided for in this section.

3 "(2) The duration of the time an ignition interlock 4 device is required by this section shall be doubled if the 5 offender refused the prescribed chemical test for 6 intoxication, or if the offender's blood alcohol concentration 7 was 0.15 grams percent or greater unless already doubled by a 8 previous section.

"(u)(1) The Alabama State Law Enforcement Agency may 9 10 set a fee of not more than one hundred fifty dollars (\$150) for the issuance of a driver's license indicating that the 11 12 person's driving privileges are subject to the condition of 13 the installation and use of a certified ignition interlock device on a motor vehicle. Fifteen percent of the fee shall be 14 15 distributed to the general fund of the county where the person was convicted to be utilized for law enforcement purposes. 16 17 Eighty-five percent shall be distributed to the State General 18 Fund. In addition, at the end of the time the person's driving 19 privileges are subject to the above conditions, the agency 20 shall set a fee of not more than seventy-five dollars (\$75) to 21 reissue a regular driver's license. The fee shall be deposited 22 as provided in Sections 32-6-5, 32-6-6, and 32-6-6.1.

"(2) The defendant shall provide proof of
installation of an approved ignition interlock device to the
Alabama State Law Enforcement Agency as a condition of the
issuance of a restricted driver's license.

"(3) Any ignition interlock driving violation 1 2 committed by the offender during the mandated ignition interlock period shall extend the duration of ignition 3 interlock use for six months. Ignition interlock driving 4 5 violations include any of the following: "a. A breath sample at or above a minimum blood 6 alcohol concentration level of 0.02 recorded four or more 7 8 times during the monthly reporting period. "b. Any tampering, circumvention, or bypassing of 9 10 the ignition interlock device, or attempt thereof. "c. Failure to comply with the servicing or 11 calibration requirements of the ignition interlock device 12 13 every 30 days. "(v) Nothing in this section and Section 32-5A-191.4 14 15 shall require an employer to install an ignition interlock device in a vehicle owned or operated by the employer for use 16 17 by an employee required to use the device as a condition of 18 driving pursuant to this section and Section 32-5A-191.4. "(w) The provisions in this section and Section 19 20 32-5A-191.4 relating to ignition interlock devices shall not 21 apply to persons who commit violations of this section while 22 under 19 years of age and who are adjudicated in juvenile court, unless specifically ordered otherwise by the court. 23 24 "(x)(1) The amendatory language in Act 2014-222 to 25 this section, authorizing the Alabama State Law Enforcement Agency to stay a driver's license suspension or revocation 26

1 upon compliance with the ignition interlock requirement shall
2 apply retroactively if any of the following occurs:

3 "a. The offender files an appeal with the court of
4 jurisdiction requesting all prior suspensions or revocation,
5 or both, be stayed upon compliance with the ignition interlock
6 requirement.

7 "b. The offender wins appeal with the court of8 jurisdiction relating to this section.

9 "c. The court of jurisdiction notifies the Alabama 10 State Law Enforcement Agency that the offender is eligible to 11 have the driver's license stayed.

12 "d. The Alabama State Law Enforcement Agency issues13 an ignition interlock restricted driver's license.

14 "e. The offender remains in compliance of ignition15 interlock requirements.

16 "(2) The remainder of the driver license revocation, 17 suspension, or both, shall be commuted upon the successful 18 completion of the period of time in which the ignition 19 interlock device is mandated to be installed and operational.