- 1 SJR72
- 2 184526-2

By Senators Dial, Ward, Bussman, Holley, Albritton, Allen,
Beasley, Blackwell, Brewbaker, Chambliss, Coleman-Madison,
Dunn, Figures, Glover, Hightower, Holtzclaw, Livingston,
Marsh, McClendon, Melson, Orr, Pittman, Reed, Ross, Sanders,
Sanford, Scofield, Shelnutt, Singleton, Smith, Smitherman,
Stutts, Waggoner, Whatley and Williams
RFD:

10 First Read: 04-APR-17

SJR72 1 2 3 4 ENROLLED, SJR72, COMMENDING TROY UNIVERSITY MEN'S BASKETBALL TEAM AS 5 2017 SUN BELT CONFERENCE CHAMPIONS. 6 7 8 WHEREAS, highest commendations and congratulations are herein proudly presented to the Troy University Men's 9 Basketball Team on winning the 2017 Sun Belt Conference 10 11 Championship; and 12 WHEREAS, the Troy University Men's Basketball Team 13 competes at the NCAA Division I level as a proud member of the 14 Sun Belt Conference; and 15 WHEREAS, on March 12, 2017, the Trojans defeated Texas State University 59-53 at Lakefront Arena in New 16 17 Orleans, Louisiana, to win the Sun Belt Conference Tournament 18 Championship and earn a berth in the NCAA Men's Basketball 19 Tournament; and WHEREAS, senior Jeremy Hollimon and sophomore Jordan 20 Varnado were named to the All-Tournament Team and Wesley 21 22 Person, a junior, was named the tournament's most outstanding 23 player; and WHEREAS, the team's championship roster also 24

SJR72

25 consists of seniors Daniel Peace and Devon Walker; juniors

Page 1

Aaron Ariri, Kevin Baker, Juan Davis, Jaro Moravek, and Joshua
 Boykin; sophomores Alex Hicks, Shawn Hopkins, and B.J. Miller;
 and freshmen Darian Adams and Whit Moreman; and

WHEREAS, the Trojans are led capably by Head Coach Phil Cunningham, who directed the 2016-2017 team to a 22-15 record, the most wins for the program since the 2003-2004 season; and

8 WHEREAS, Coach Cunningham's outstanding staff is 9 composed of Marcus Grant, associate head coach; Ben Fletcher, 10 assistant coach; Adam Howard, assistant coach; Mike Worley, 11 director of operations; Patrick Moynihan, video coordinator; 12 Chris Johnson, strength and conditioning coach; Patrick 13 Peagler, trainer; and Trent Patterson and Janard Estell, 14 managers; now therefore,

15 BE IT RESOLVED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF ALABAMA, BOTH 16 HOUSES THEREOF CONCURRING, That Coach Cunningham and his team 17 are commended for winning the 2017 Sun Belt Conference 18 Basketball Tournament, thus earning a berth in the 2017 NCAA 19 tournament and in the process representing the State of 20 Alabama in an exemplary manner and it is further directed that 21 the team receive a copy of this resolution as evidence of our 22 appreciation.

SJR72

1	
2	
3	
4	President and Presiding Officer of the Senate
5	
6	Speaker of the House of Representatives
7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14	SJR72 Senate 04-APR-17 I hereby certify that the within Senate Joint Resolution originated in and was adopted by the Senate. Patrick Harris, Secretary.
15	
16 17 18 19	House of Representatives Adopted: 06-APR-17
20 21	By: Senator Dial

SJR72