- 1 SJR71
- 2 184519-1

By Senators Dial, Ward, Bussman, Holley, Albritton, Allen,
Beasley, Blackwell, Brewbaker, Chambliss, Coleman-Madison,
Dunn, Figures, Glover, Hightower, Holtzclaw, Livingston,
Marsh, McClendon, Melson, Orr, Pittman, Reed, Ross, Sanders,
Sanford, Scofield, Shelnutt, Singleton, Smith, Smitherman,
Stutts, Waggoner, Whatley and Williams

- 9 RFD:
- 10 First Read: 04-APR-17

184519-1:n:03/29/2017:AR/ar LRS2017-1448 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 COMMENDING TROY UNIVERSITY WOMEN'S BASKETBALL TEAM 8 AS 2017 SUN BELT CONFERENCE CHAMPIONS. 9 10 11 WHEREAS, highest commendations and congratulations 12 are herein proudly presented to the Troy University Women's 13 Basketball Team on winning the 2017 Sun Belt Conference 14 Championship; and 15 WHEREAS, the Troy University Women's Basketball Team 16 competes at the NCAA Division I level as a proud member of the 17 Sun Belt Conference; and 18 WHEREAS, on March 12, 2017, the Lady Trojans 19 defeated the University of Louisiana-Lafayette 78-64 at 20 Lakefront Arena in New Orleans, Louisiana, to capture its 21 second consecutive Sun Belt Conference Championship to earn a 22 berth in the NCAA Women's Basketball Tournament; and 23 WHEREAS, senior Claresa Banks and sophomore La'Tia 24 Fils-Aime' of the Trojans were named to the All Tournament 25 Team and the Trojans' Caitlyn Ramirez, a senior, was named the 26 tournament's most outstanding player; and

1 WHEREAS, the team's championship roster also 2 consists of seniors Jayla Chills, Lauren Day, Kristen Emerson, 3 Ta'Kierra Gibbs, and Arjae' Saunders; juniors Amanda Mendoza 4 and Dajia Williams; sophomore Amahni Upshaw; and freshmen 5 Jessie Day, Amber Rivers, Kayla Robinson, and Harriet 6 Winchester; and

7 WHEREAS, the Trojans are led capably by Head Coach 8 Chanda Rigby, whose Trojan teams have posted three consecutive 9 seasons of 20 wins or more since she was named head coach five 10 seasons ago, including this season's 22-11 record; and

11 WHEREAS, Coach Rigby's outstanding staff is composed 12 of Jennifer Graf, associate head coach; Courtney Simmons, 13 assistant coach; Neil Harrow, assistant coach; Janea Carnley, 14 director of operations; Shannon Lemons, strength and 15 conditioning coach; Cherise Crisman, trainer; Wes Johnson, 16 sports information; and Yasmine Sturdivant and Keona 17 Dejarnett, managers; now therefore,

18 BE IT RESOLVED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF ALABAMA, BOTH 19 HOUSES THEREOF CONCURRING, That Coach Rigby and her team are 20 commended for winning the 2017 Sun Belt Conference Basketball 21 Tournament, thus earning a berth in the 2017 NCAA tournament 22 and in the process representing the State of Alabama in an 23 exemplary manner and it is further directed that the team 24 receive a copy of this resolution as evidence of our 25 appreciation.