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8 SYNOPSIS:         Under existing law, the Alabama Commission

9 on Higher Education is authorized to pay or

10 reimburse the tuition for any eligible active

11 member of the Alabama National Guard in a program

12 leading to a degree at a college or university in

13 the state. 

14 Also under existing law, the education

15 assistance provided by the state to eligible

16 Alabama National Guard members has a limit of

17 $2,000 per year with a limit of $1,000 per

18 semester. 

19 This bill would increase the amount that may

20 be spent per eligible member from $2,000 per year

21 to $4,800 per year and remove the requirement for a

22 certain amount to be spent on the member per

23 semester.

24 Under existing law, there is no requirement

25 for public institutions of higher learning to

26 exempt members of the Alabama National Guard from
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1 tuition and fees while enrolled to pursue a

2 technical certificate or degree.

3 This bill would provide for the exemption

4 from tuition and fees for any member of the Alabama

5 National Guard who remains in good standing and

6 meets certain criteria at any in-state public

7 institution of higher learning.

8 Under current law, children, spouses, and

9 unmarried widows or widowers of disabled veterans

10 may receive educational benefits for tuition, fees,

11 and books depending on the severity of the

12 disability of the veteran.

13 This bill would establish specific residency

14 requirements for veterans and dependents; restrict

15 the reimbursement for educational benefits at an

16 Alabama state public university to the average

17 tuition rate of institutions under the Alabama

18 Community College System; establish a grade point

19 average requirement for dependents while receiving

20 benefits; require the state benefits to only be

21 used after all federal or other benefits have been

22 used; and create the Alabama Disabled Veterans'

23 Dependents Education Advisory Committee.

24  

25 A BILL

26 TO BE ENTITLED

27 AN ACT
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1  

2 To amend Sections 31-6-4, 31-6-5, 31-6-6, 31-6-9,

3 31-6-11, 31-6-16, 31-10-2, 31-10-3, 31-10-4, 31-10-21, and

4 31-10-22 of the Code of Alabama 1975, to increase the amount

5 that may be spent by the Alabama Commission on Higher

6 Education for an eligible member of the Alabama National Guard

7 from $2,000 per year to $4,800 per year and remove the

8 requirement for a certain amount of yearly assistance to be

9 spent on each member per semester; to establish an exemption

10 from tuition and fees for any member of the Alabama National

11 Guard who remains in good standing and meets certain criteria

12 while enrolled at any in-state public institution of higher

13 learning; relating to the educational scholarship benefits for

14 dependents of veterans; to reduce the maximum number of months

15 allowed to receive educational benefits; to establish

16 residency requirements for veterans and dependents; to

17 restrict the reimbursement for educational benefits at an

18 Alabama public university to the average tuition rate of

19 institutions under the Alabama Community College System; to

20 establish a grade point average requirement for dependents

21 receiving benefits; to require state educational benefits to

22 be applied only after all other resources have been exhausted;

23 to create the Alabama Disabled Veterans' Dependents Education

24 Advisory Committee responsible for monitoring the progress of

25 dependents receiving educational benefits; to provide for the

26 membership and meetings of the committee; and to require that

27 the committee report its findings to the Legislature.

Page 3



1 BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF ALABAMA:

2 Section 1. Sections 31-6-4, 31-6-5, 31-6-6, 31-6-9,

3 31-6-11, 31-6-16, 31-10-2, 31-10-3, 31-10-4, 31-10-21, and

4 31-10-22 of the Code of Alabama 1975, are amended to read as

5 follows:

6 "§31-6-4.

7 "(a) Any child whose father or mother:

8 "(1) Was killed or died in line of duty or is listed

9 as missing in action or is/was a prisoner of war or whose

10 death or permanent total disabilities were service-connected

11 while serving as a member of the armed forces; or

12 "(2) Died from a disability incurred from military

13 service, as established by the State Department of Veterans'

14 Affairs, after having been discharged under conditions other

15 than dishonorable and after having served at least 90 days

16 consecutively in the armed forces prior to and/or subsequent

17 to the date on which such disability occurred, or who was

18 honorably discharged by reason of wartime, service-connected

19 disability after serving less than 90 days; or

20 "(3) Has been assigned 100 percent permanent or

21 total disability rated by the United States Veterans'

22 Administration, or was discharged or retired from the armed

23 forces with a 20 50 percent or more disability and maintained

24 that percentage (such person to be deemed to be a disabled

25 veteran)

26 "may attend any Alabama state institution of higher learning,

27 college, or university for a period of five standard academic
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1 years, not to exceed 45 months or the equivalent of 45 months

2 if enrolled part-time, without paying any tuition, fees, or

3 books whatsoever for such college or university attendance, or

4 any such child may take a prescribed course in any Alabama

5 state trade school for the length of any prescribed course of

6 study of his or her choosing, and if such course does not

7 require the full 45 months, then training for the remainder of

8 such 45 months' entitlement may be taken at a state-supported

9 college or university only, without the payment of any

10 tuition, fees, or books whatsoever. Training under this

11 section must be initiated prior to the child's thirtieth

12 birthday, and must be completed within eight years after its

13 initiation, except for delays caused by military service

14 during the training period, and in no case may training be

15 received under this chapter beyond the thirty-eighth birthday

16 of such child.

17 "(b) Except as provided in Section 31-6-11(e), the

18 educational benefits provided by this section to children

19 making application for benefits for the first time beginning

20 with the fall term of the 2014-2015 academic year, and

21 thereafter, shall be limited to undergraduate courses of study

22 only, and the value of tuition paid shall be limited to the

23 in-state tuition rate of the Alabama state institution of

24 higher learning, college, or university attended.

25 "(c) Notwithstanding the provisions of subsection

26 (a) of this section the educational benefit provided to

27 children making application for benefits for the first time
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1 beginning with the fall term of the 2017-2018 academic year,

2 and thereafter, shall be limited to reimbursement for tuition

3 while attending an institution within the Alabama Community

4 College System or while attending an Alabama public university

5 shall be limited to reimbursement for tuition at the rate

6 equal to the average tuition rate for all institutions within

7 the Alabama Community College System.

8 "(d) All applicants for this benefit shall complete

9 a Free Application for Student Financial Aid (FAFSA). The

10 benefits provided under this section shall only be available

11 after all other federal, state, and third party education

12 benefits have been applied."

13 "§31-6-5.

14 "(a) Any wife or husband or unmarried widow or

15 widower whose spouse, during their marriage:

16 "(1) Was killed or died in the line of duty or is

17 listed as missing in action or is/was a prisoner of war while

18 serving as a member of the armed forces;

19 "(2) Died from a disability incurred from military

20 service; or

21 "(3) Is 100 percent permanently and totally

22 disabled, whose permanent and total disabilities were

23 service-connected;

24 "shall be entitled to training in any Alabama state-supported

25 college or university for a period of five standard academic

26 years, not to exceed 45 months or to training for the

27 equivalent of 45 months if enrolled part-time or to training
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1 in a prescribed course in a state-supported trade school, and

2 if such course does not require the full 45 months, then

3 training for the remainder of such 45 months' entitlement may

4 be taken at a state-supported college or university only,

5 without the payment of any tuition, fees, or books,

6 whatsoever. One change of program will be allowed without

7 counseling. All training received under this section must be

8 completed within eight years after the beginning date of the

9 course. This section shall not apply to the spouse of any such

10 deceased serviceman or veteran who has remarried prior to

11 applying for and obtaining educational benefits under this

12 section, and should any such spouse of such deceased

13 serviceman or veteran remarry during the time he or she is in

14 attendance upon any of the schools, colleges, or universities

15 mentioned in this section, then he or she shall pay tuition

16 and fees for the course of study or attendance upon such

17 school, college, or university from the time of the

18 remarriage. All applicants for this benefit shall complete a

19 Free Application for Student Financial Aid (FAFSA). The

20 benefits provided under this section shall be in addition to

21 federal government benefits only be available after all other

22 federal, state and third party education benefits have been

23 applied. 

24 "(b) Except as provided in Section 31-6-11(e), the

25 educational benefits provided by this section to wives,

26 husbands, and unmarried widows or widowers making application

27 for benefits for the first time beginning with the fall term
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1 of the 2014-2015 academic year, and thereafter, shall be

2 limited to undergraduate courses of study only, and the value

3 of tuition paid shall be limited to the in-state tuition rate

4 of the Alabama state-supported college or university attended.

5 "(c) Notwithstanding the provisions of subsection

6 (a) of this section the educational benefit provided to

7 spouses and unmarried widows or widowers making application

8 for benefits for the first time beginning with the fall term

9 of the 2017-2018 academic year, and thereafter, shall be

10 limited to reimbursement for tuition while attending an

11 institution within the Alabama Community College System or

12 while attending an Alabama public university shall be limited

13 to reimbursement for tuition at the rate equal to the average

14 tuition rate for all institutions within the Alabama Community

15 College System."

16 "(d) All applicants for this benefit shall complete

17 a Free Application for Student Financial Aid (FAFSA). The

18 benefits provided under this section shall only be available

19 after all other federal, state, and third party education

20 benefits have been applied."

21 "§31-6-6.

22 "(a) The spouse and children of any veteran who is

23 suffering from 20 50 to 90 percent service-connected

24 disability brought about from service in the Armed Forces of

25 the United States, or the unmarried widow or widower and

26 children of a deceased veteran who was suffering from 20 50

27 percent or more of service-connected disability at the time of
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1 death, provided such disabilities as are mentioned herein are

2 incurred from military service, as established by the State

3 Department of Veterans' Affairs, shall be entitled to the

4 following educational advantages and opportunities:

5 "(1) The spouse or unmarried widow or widower, as

6 the case may be, shall be entitled to up to 27 months of

7 schooling or the equivalent of 27 months if enrolled

8 part-time, in any Alabama state-supported institution of

9 higher learning, college, or university, or to a prescribed

10 course in any Alabama state-supported trade school without the

11 payment of any tuition, fee, or books. One change of program

12 will be allowed without counseling. It is provided, however,

13 that all training received at state institutions of higher

14 learning or state trade schools under this subdivision must be

15 completed within a period of six years after the beginning

16 date of such two-year course or such prescribed course.

17 "(2) Each child of such disabled veteran shall be

18 entitled to five standard academic years, or the equivalent of

19 45 months if enrolled part-time, in any Alabama

20 state-supported institution of higher learning, college, or

21 university, or to a prescribed course at an Alabama

22 state-supported trade school. If the course of training at the

23 trade school does not require the full time to which such

24 child is entitled hereunder, then the remaining entitlement

25 may be taken in a state-supported college or university only,

26 without payment of any tuition, fees, or books. One change of

27 program will be allowed without counseling. Training under
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1 this subdivision must be initiated prior to the child's

2 twenty-sixth birthday, and must be completed within eight

3 years after its initiation, except for delays caused by

4 military service during the training period, and in no case

5 may training be received under this section beyond the

6 thirty-fourth birthday of such child.

7 "(b) Except as provided in Section 31-6-11(e), the

8 educational benefits provided by this section to spouses,

9 children, and unmarried widows and widowers making application

10 for benefits for the first time beginning with the fall term

11 of the 2014-2015 academic year, and thereafter, shall be

12 limited to undergraduate courses of study only, and the value

13 of tuition paid shall be limited to the in-state tuition rate

14 of the Alabama state-supported institution of higher learning,

15 college, or university attended.

16 "(c) All applicants for this benefit shall complete

17 a Free Application for Student Financial Aid (FAFSA). The

18 benefits provided under this section shall be available in

19 addition to federal government benefits only be available

20 after all other federal, state, and third party education

21 benefits have been applied. Any child, spouse, or unmarried

22 widow or widower who was denied full entitlement, 27 or 45

23 months, whichever the case may be, shall have the remainder of

24 their entitlement reinstated under this chapter.

25 "(d) Notwithstanding the provisions of subsection

26 (a) of this section the educational benefit provided to

27 spouses, children, and unmarried widows or widowers making
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1 application for benefits for the first time beginning with the

2 fall term of the 2017-2018 academic year, and thereafter,

3 shall be limited to reimbursement for tuition while attending

4 an institution within the Alabama Community College System or

5 while attending an Alabama public university shall be limited

6 to reimbursement for tuition at a rate equal to the average

7 tuition rate for all institutions within the Alabama Community

8 College System."

9 "§31-6-9.

10 "The benefits provided under this chapter shall be

11 in addition to any other state or federal benefits to which

12 the wife or children of a disabled veteran or a member of the

13 armed forces who is listed as missing in action or as a

14 prisoner of war or the widow and children of a deceased

15 veteran are entitled shall only be available after all other

16 federal, state and third party education benefits have been

17 applied, to include those federal and state benefits available

18 after the submission of the Free Application for Student Aid

19 (FAFSA). It is further provided that any wife, widow, or

20 dependent of a veteran who receives benefits under this

21 chapter, and whose benefit period is interrupted due to

22 accident, injury, or illness, shall have the benefit time

23 period which is lost due to such accident, illness, or injury

24 restored to him or her.

25 "§31-6-11.

26 "(a) Before an application of any veteran for

27 benefits under this chapter can be approved, such veteran
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1 shall submit proof, satisfactory to the State Department of

2 Veterans' Affairs, of all of the following:

3 "(1) Identification.

4 "(2) For any veteran entering into service on or

5 before the effective date of this bill, having Having been a

6 permanent resident of the State of Alabama for at least one

7 year immediately prior to his or her entrance into service.

8 For any veteran entering into service on or after the

9 effective date of this bill having been a permanent resident

10 of the State of Alabama for at least five years immediately

11 prior to his or her entrance into service. 

12 "(3) For any veteran entering into service on or

13 after the effective date of this bill must have been a

14 resident five years prior to enrollment, be a current

15 resident, and must maintain Alabama residency during the

16 duration of the educational benefits.

17 (3) (4) An honorable discharge or other proof of

18 honorable termination of at least 24 months of service in the

19 armed forces, or if such veteran was discharged or released by

20 reason of service-connected disability then proof of honorable

21 termination of less than 24 months of service is acceptable.

22 "(b) Before the application of a wife, widow, or

23 child of a disabled veteran or a deceased veteran or

24 serviceman for educational benefits under this chapter is

25 approved, proof, satisfactory to the State Department of

26 Veterans' Affairs, must be submitted of all of the following:
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1 "(1) Establishing the identification of such wife,

2 widow, or child as the wife, widow, or child of the veteran or

3 serviceman, as the case may be.

4 "(2) For any veteran entering into service on or

5 before the effective date of this bill, proof of Of the

6 veteran or serviceman having been a permanent resident of the

7 State of Alabama for at least one year immediately prior, to

8 his or her entrance into service, or if the applicant is the

9 wife, widow, or child of a totally and permanently disabled

10 veteran, then proof either of the veteran's having been a

11 permanent resident of the State of Alabama for at least one

12 year prior to his or her entrance into service or proof that

13 the veteran has been a bona fide resident of this state for at

14 least five years immediately prior to the filing of the

15 application for benefits under this chapter or immediately

16 prior to his or her death if the veteran is deceased. For any

17 veteran entering into service on or after the effective date

18 of this bill, proof of the veteran or serviceman having been a

19 permanent resident of the State of Alabama for at least five

20 years immediately prior to his or her entrance into service or

21 proof that the veteran has been a bona fide resident of this

22 state for at least five years immediately prior to the filing

23 of the application for benefits under this chapter.

24 "(3) The spouse, widow(er), or child of a disabled

25 veteran or a deceased veteran or serviceman must have been a

26 resident five years prior to enrollment, be a current

27 resident, and must maintain Alabama residency during the
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1 duration of the educational benefits if the sponsoring veteran

2 entered into service after the effective date of this bill.

3 "(3) (4) An honorable discharge or other proof of

4 honorable termination of service of the veteran or serviceman

5 in the armed forces for a period of at least 90 days between

6 the dates mentioned in this chapter, or service of less than

7 90 days if the veteran or serviceman was discharged or

8 released by reason of service-connected disability.

9 "(c) The service upon which any benefits are awarded

10 under this chapter shall have been rendered during wartime or

11 under extrahazardous conditions, except as provided otherwise

12 in this section; and this condition of eligibility shall be

13 established by the State Department of Veterans' Affairs.

14 "(d) The service requirements provided for in

15 subsection (c) shall not apply to any person making

16 application for benefits under this chapter beginning with the

17 fall term of the 2014-2015 academic year, and thereafter.

18 "(e) Notwithstanding any other provision of this

19 chapter to the contrary, any person denied educational

20 benefits provided by this chapter based solely upon the

21 service requirements provided for in subsection (c) shall be

22 eligible to receive the benefits the person would otherwise

23 have been entitled to had their application been approved at

24 the time of initial application, except as provided otherwise

25 in this subsection. Any age limitation on the benefits

26 provided by this chapter shall be extended in like manner for

27 any such previously denied person to ensure that the person
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1 has the opportunity to receive all benefits they would

2 otherwise have been entitled. In order to receive any

3 educational benefits, such previously denied person must

4 reapply for educational benefits with the State Department of

5 Veterans' Affairs and begin use of the educational benefits no

6 later than the fall term of the 2015-2016 academic year. The

7 value of tuition paid for any such previously denied person

8 shall be limited to the in-state tuition rate of the Alabama

9 state institution of higher learning, college, or university

10 attended."

11 "§31-6-16.

12 "Nothing in this chapter shall be construed as

13 lowering the standards or requirements, or as to making any

14 exceptions thereto for entrance into any of the state schools

15 or institutions affected by this chapter. All applicants, in

16 order to obtain the educational benefits of this chapter, must

17 first meet all scholastic and other requirements for entrance

18 into any of the schools coming within the purview of this

19 chapter. All dependents receiving the educational benefits

20 must maintain a 2.0 grade point average while attending any of

21 the state schools or institutions affected by this chapter. If

22 the dependent fails to maintain a 2.0 grade point average for

23 any completed academic period while receiving the education

24 benefits, the benefits shall be suspended for the succeeding

25 academic period or until such time as the dependent maintains

26 a 2.0 grade point average at the end of the completed academic

27 period."
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1 "§31-10-2.

2 "The following words used in this article shall have

3 the meanings as set forth by this section:

4 "(1) ALABAMA NATIONAL GUARD. Federally recognized

5 units of the Alabama National Guard.

6 "(2) ACTIVE MEMBER. A member of a federally

7 recognized unit of the Alabama National Guard meeting the

8 minimum requirements for satisfactory membership as defined in

9 the Department of the Army and Department of the Air Force

10 regulations.

11 "(3) TUITION. The cost of instruction and fees to

12 the student as stated in the institution's catalog, plus the

13 average cost of books and supplies, to a minimum of one

14 hundred dollars ($100) per semester, and not to exceed one

15 thousand dollars ($1,000) per semester after all federal

16 benefits have been applied to the account of the student, for

17 a total amount not exceeding two thousand dollars ($2,000)

18 four thousand eight hundred dollars ($4,800) annually. after

19 all federal benefits have been applied to the account of the

20 student."

21 "§31-10-3.

22 "The Alabama Commission on Higher Education is

23 hereby authorized to pay or reimburse the tuition for any

24 active member of the Alabama National Guard who is enrolled in

25 a program leading to the associate, baccalaureate, masters, or

26 doctorate degree in an accredited institution of higher

27 learning, technical college, or junior college within the
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1 State of Alabama. To be eligible for such benefits, the

2 individual, at the time of his or her enrollment must be a

3 member of the Alabama National Guard in good standing and a

4 member of a federally recognized unit of the Alabama National

5 Guard. The member must be at least 17 years of age and must be

6 a resident of the State of Alabama. The tuition grant

7 authorized under this article may be used for undergraduate or

8 graduate studies. In no event will any individual be eligible

9 to receive more than 100 percent of covered expenses when

10 combined with similar federal veterans' educational benefits

11 available to members of the National Guard. All applicants for

12 a tuition grant shall complete a Free Application for Student

13 Financial Aid (FAFSA). No person shall be eligible for a

14 tuition grant for more than 12 years after the date of the

15 first tuition payment to him or her under this article. For

16 degrees above the baccalaureate, only 10 percent of the total

17 funds of the benefit program are to be utilized. The Alabama

18 Commission on Higher Education shall set up minimum standards

19 for performance that must be met in order to maintain

20 eligibility for the continuation of the receipt of tuition

21 grants under this article."

22 "§31-10-4.

23 "In order to be eligible to receive tuition grants

24 under this article, the member must meet the following minimum

25 requirements:
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1 "(1) Be an active member of the Alabama National

2 Guard and must have completed basic training and advanced

3 individual training.

4 "(2) The member must be a member in good standing

5 with the Alabama National Guard as prescribed by regulations

6 promulgated by the Department of the Army, Department of the

7 Air Force, and the Military Department of the State of

8 Alabama, at the time of application and during the entire

9 semester or quarter for which benefits are received.

10 "(3) In the event the individual's service in the

11 Alabama National Guard is terminated or his or her service

12 becomes unsatisfactory while receiving or for four years after

13 receiving the benefits afforded by this program, the benefits

14 will be terminated and repaid by the individual on a pro rata

15 basis. After termination for the above causes, an individual

16 will be ineligible for any further benefits under this

17 article. If for any reason an individual is dismissed from any

18 school for academic or disciplinary reasons, he is ineligible

19 for further benefits from this program. The Alabama Commission

20 on Higher Education shall be the final authority for making

21 such determinations.

22 "(4) The Alabama Commission on Higher Education of

23 the State of Alabama shall be responsible for the promulgation

24 of rules and regulations for the administration and

25 implementation of this article including rules and regulations

26 providing for the selection of persons to receive benefits

27 under this article. The Alabama Commission on Higher Education
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1 of the State of Alabama shall be the final authority in

2 determining eligible applicants.

3 "(5) The Adjutant General of the State of Alabama

4 shall serve as an advisor to the Alabama Commission on Higher

5 Education for the purpose of determining the eligibility of

6 members of the Alabama National Guard to receive benefits

7 under this article."

8 "§31-10-21.

9 "(a) Any active member of the Alabama National Guard

10 who has successfully completed advanced individual training or

11 commissioning shall be entitled to the tuition benefits

12 provided by this article upon his or her enrollment in a

13 degree objective in any community or junior college that is

14 under the authority of the State Board of Education, or

15 enrollment in pursuit of his or her first undergraduate degree

16 objective in any public college or university within the

17 state. Certification and eligibility for the tuition benefits

18 provided by this article shall be determined by the State

19 Education Services Office of the Alabama National Guard which

20 shall promulgate and implement administrative rules and

21 procedures that it deems necessary to carry out and monitor

22 the tuition benefits provided by this article.

23 "(b) Any active member of the Alabama National Guard

24 who enrolls utilizing the tuition benefits provided by this

25 article shall complete the requirements for an undergraduate

26 degree no later than 10 years from the date of initial

27 enrollment or the active member shall be responsible for all
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1 costs of any further studies required to attain his or her

2 degree. Active member must currently have and maintain an

3 overall C average, or the grade point equivalent thereof, at

4 the end of each term. Failure to do so shall result in the

5 termination of the tuition benefits provided by this article.

6 If a student withdraws, declares academic bankruptcy, or is

7 granted a grade waiver through a forgiveness program, he or

8 she is responsible for paying back that portion of tuition and

9 fees the state paid on his or her behalf.

10 "(c) Each educational institution that enrolls an

11 active member of the Alabama National Guard who is eligible

12 for the tuition benefits provided by this article shall take

13 necessary action to insure that the active member is aware of

14 all benefits that he or she may be entitled to under the

15 Montgomery G.I. Bill, any other VA educational benefits, any

16 student grant or scholarship, the Active Duty Tuition

17 Assistance Program, and the Alabama National Guard Education

18 Assistance Program. In order to receive the tuition benefits

19 provided by this article, the active member of the Alabama

20 National Guard shall take the necessary steps to utilize all

21 of the above benefits."

22 "§31-10-22.

23 "The tuition benefits provided by this article may

24 be terminated for the following reasons:

25 "(i) Failure to satisfactorily complete the Alabama

26 National Guard military obligation.
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1 "(ii) Failure to maintain a 90 percent attendance at

2 annual training and drill assemblies as required by the

3 Alabama National Guard.

4 "(iii) Four unsatisfactory drill performances Unit

5 Training Assemblies in a calendar year while enrolled in the

6 tuition benefits program provided by this article."

7 Section 2. (a) Any member of the Alabama National

8 Guard enrolled in a program leading to a vocational or

9 technical certificate, associate, bachelor, master, or

10 doctoral degree at an accredited public institution of higher

11 education, technical college, or junior college within the

12 State of Alabama shall be exempt from all tuition and fees

13 imposed by the institution if the applicant for the tuition

14 and fees exemption under the act meets the following

15 requirements:

16 (1) The individual is 17 years of age or over.

17 (2) The individual is a member of the Alabama

18 National Guard in good standing throughout the period or

19 semester for which that individual receives education benefits

20 as indicated by continued satisfactory participation in the

21 Alabama National Guard as required by all applicable laws and

22 regulations of the Department of the Army, the Department of

23 the Air Force, and the Alabama National Guard, and there is no

24 unfavorable administrative action pending against him or her.

25 (b) Any member of the Alabama National Guard

26 enrolled in an institution of higher education and receiving

27 benefits under this program shall maintain an overall grade
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1 point average of a 2.0 or above and shall earn a grade no

2 lower than a "C" in any class or course allowed under the act.

3 (c) This exemption shall apply only after all

4 applicable federal and state tuition assistance or aid have

5 been applied to the individual's student account.

6 (d) No public institution of higher education in

7 this state shall impose a nonresident tuition rate or

8 differential out-of-state resident fee on an Alabama National

9 Guard member in good standing and who meets the requirements

10 of subsection (a).

11 (e) All requirements under subsections (a) and (b)

12 shall be met as a condition of obtaining any education

13 assistance benefits under the act and continued eligibility

14 for this exemption.

15 Section 3. (a) The Adjutant General of the Alabama

16 National Guard shall be responsible for administering the

17 overall policies, guidance, implementation, and proper

18 utilization of the exemption under this section.

19 (b) The tuition exemption under this act shall be

20 claimed for no more than a total of 120 academic hours or

21 until the receipt of the first degree for which the exemption

22 is used, whichever comes first.

23 (c) Any member of the Alabama National Guard who

24 fails to remain in good standing or is terminated from further

25 service in the Alabama National Guard shall no longer be

26 eligible for exemption benefits under this section and any

27 benefits received by the member for the period, semester, or
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1 term in which he or she becomes ineligible shall be repaid by

2 the member to the exempting institution.

3 (d) Any member who is expelled or dismissed by an

4 institution of higher learning that provides exemption

5 benefits under this section to that member shall no longer be

6 eligible for exemption benefits under this section and shall

7 repay all benefits received under this section to the

8 exempting institution.

9 (e) Any member who is disqualified from serving in

10 the Alabama National Guard due solely to medical reasons shall

11 be exempt from repaying any benefits received under this

12 section.

13 Section 4. The Alabama Disabled Veterans' Dependents

14 Education Advisory Committee is hereby created as an appointed

15 group responsible for monitoring and studying the effect of

16 changes in eligibility for dependents of disabled veterans to

17 the cost of the program as administered by the Department of

18 Veterans Affairs, and the progress of dependents of disabled

19 veteran's in attaining their degree objectives while attending

20 institutions under the authority of the Alabama Commission on

21 Higher Education and the Alabama Community College System. The

22 Department of Veterans Affairs and the Alabama Commission on

23 Higher Education shall provide information and support as

24 required by the committee.

25 Section 5. The committee shall consist of the

26 following members and shall reflect the racial, gender,
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1 geographic, urban and rural, and economic diversity of the

2 state: 

3 (1) Two members appointed by the Governor. 

4 (2) One member appointed by the Lieutenant Governor. 

5 (3) One member appointed by the Speaker of the House

6 of Representatives. 

7 (4) One member appointed by the President Pro

8 Tempore of the Senate. 

9 (5) One member appointed by the Chairman of the

10 Senate Finance and Taxation Education Committee. 

11 (6) One member appointed by the Chairman of the

12 House Ways and Means Education Committee. 

13 (7) One member appointed by the Chairman of the

14 Alabama Commission on Higher Education. 

15 (8) One member appointed by the Board of Trustees of

16 the Alabama Community College System.

17 Section 6. The committee shall meet within 30 days

18 after the appointment of the committee membership and

19 establish procedures and other policies necessary to carry on

20 the business of the committee, including the establishment of

21 a quorum. The committee shall meet at least twice a year, but

22 may meet more frequently upon the call of the chair. Members

23 of the committee may participate in a meeting of the committee

24 by means of conference telephone, video conference, or similar

25 communications equipment by means of which all persons

26 participating in the meeting may hear each other at the same

27 time. Participation by such means shall constitute presence in
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1 person at a meeting for all purposes, including the

2 establishment of a quorum.

3 Section 7. Members of the committee shall serve at

4 the pleasure of the official responsible for designating the

5 members, but in no case shall the term of any member exceed

6 four years. Vacancies shall be filled in the manner provided

7 for the original appointments. Persons appointed to fill

8 vacancies shall serve the unexpired portions of the terms.

9 Section 8. The members of the committee shall not

10 receive a salary or per diem allowance for serving as members

11 of the council, and shall not be entitled to reimbursement for

12 expenses incurred in the performance of the duties.

13 Section 9. The committee shall report to the

14 Legislature on its findings and advisory recommendations, by

15 the tenth legislative day of each session.

16 Section 10. This act shall become effective on the

17 first day of the third month following its passage and

18 approval by the Governor, or its otherwise becoming law.
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