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3 HOUSE WAYS AND MEANS EDUCATION COMMITTEE SUBSTITUTE FOR SB315

4  

5  

6  

7  

8 SYNOPSIS:         Under existing law, the Alabama Commission

9 on Higher Education is authorized to pay or

10 reimburse the tuition for any eligible active

11 member of the Alabama National Guard in a program

12 leading to a degree at a college or university in

13 the state.

14 Also under existing law, the education

15 assistance provided by the state to eligible

16 Alabama National Guard members has a limit of

17 $2,000 per year with a limit of $1,000 per

18 semester.

19 This bill would set the tuition

20 reimbursement rate not to exceed the average cost

21 of tuition per semester at a state-supported

22 Alabama four year institution.

23 This bill would provide for the payment or

24 reimbursement of tuition and fees for any member of

25 the Alabama National Guard who remains in good

26 standing and meets certain criteria at any in-state

27 public institution of higher learning.
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1 Under current law, children, spouses, and

2 unmarried widows or widowers of disabled veterans

3 may receive educational benefits for tuition, fees,

4 and books depending on the severity of the

5 disability of the veteran.

6 This bill would increase the minimum

7 disability rating; establish specific residency

8 requirements for veterans and dependents; restrict

9 the reimbursement for educational benefits at an

10 Alabama state public education institution to the

11 average tuition rate based on the Department of

12 Defense Tuition Assistance Cap and a maximum amount

13 per semester for books and fees; establish an

14 academic requirement for dependents while receiving

15 benefits; require the state benefits to only be

16 used after all available federal or other benefits

17 have been used; and require the Alabama Department

18 of Veterans Affairs and the Alabama Commission on

19 Higher Education to report to the Legislature by

20 January 1st of each year on the status and progress

21 of the programs.

22  

23 A BILL

24 TO BE ENTITLED

25 AN ACT

26  
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1 To amend Sections 31-6-4, 31-6-5, 31-6-6, 31-6-9,

2 31-6-11, 31-6-15, 31-10-2, 31-10-3, 31-10-4, 31-10-21, and

3 31-10-22 of the Code of Alabama 1975, to set the tuition rate

4 for a member of the Alabama National Guard not to exceed the

5 average cost of tuition per semester of a state-supported

6 Alabama four year institution; to establish a tuition

7 reimbursement for any member of the Alabama National Guard who

8 remains in good standing and meets certain criteria while

9 enrolled at any in-state public institution of higher

10 learning; relating to the educational scholarship benefits for

11 dependents of veterans; to increase the minimum disability

12 rating; to establish residency requirements for veterans and

13 dependents; restrict the reimbursement for educational

14 benefits at an Alabama state public education institution to

15 the average tuition rate based on the Department of Defense

16 Tuition Assistance Cap and a maximum amount per semester for

17 books and fees; to establish an academic requirement for

18 dependents receiving benefits; to require state educational

19 benefits to be applied only after all other available

20 resources have been applied; and to require that the Alabama

21 Department of Veterans Affairs and the Alabama Commission on

22 Higher Education submit an annual report to the Legislature.

23 BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF ALABAMA:

24 Section 1. Sections 31-6-4, 31-6-5, 31-6-6, 31-6-9,

25 31-6-11, 31-6-15, 31-10-2, 31-10-3, 31-10-4, 31-10-21, and

26 31-10-22 of the Code of Alabama 1975, are amended to read as

27 follows:
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1 "§31-6-4.

2 "(a) Any child whose father or mother:

3 "(1) Was killed or died in line of duty or is listed

4 as missing in action or is/was a prisoner of war or whose

5 death or permanent total disabilities were service-connected

6 while serving as a member of the armed forces; or

7 "(2) Died from a disability incurred from military

8 service, as established by the State Department of Veterans'

9 Affairs, after having been discharged under conditions other

10 than dishonorable and after having served at least 90 days

11 consecutively in the armed forces prior to and/or subsequent

12 to the date on which such disability occurred, or who was

13 honorably discharged by reason of wartime, service-connected

14 disability after serving less than 90 days; or

15 "(3) Has been assigned 100 percent permanent or

16 total disability rated by the United States Veterans'

17 Administration, or was discharged or retired from the armed

18 forces with a 20 40 percent or more disability and maintained

19 that percentage (such person to be deemed to be a disabled

20 veteran)

21 "may attend any Alabama state institution of higher learning,

22 college, or university for a period of five standard academic

23 years, not to exceed 45 months or the equivalent of 45 months

24 if enrolled part-time, pursuant to the tuition reimbursement

25 guidelines as provided in subsection (c), without paying any

26 tuition, fees, or books whatsoever for such college or

27 university attendance, or any such child may take a prescribed

Page 4



1 course in any Alabama state trade school state-supported

2 community or technical college for the length of any

3 prescribed course of study of his or her choosing, and if such

4 course does not require the full 45 months, then training for

5 the remainder of such 45 months' entitlement may be taken at a

6 state-supported college or university only, pursuant to the

7 tuition reimbursement guidelines as provided in subsection

8 (c), without the payment of any tuition, fees, or books

9 whatsoever. Training under this section must be initiated

10 prior to the child's thirtieth birthday, and must be completed

11 within eight years after its initiation, except for delays

12 caused by military service during the training period, and in

13 no case may training be received under this chapter beyond the

14 thirty-eighth birthday of such child.

15 "(b) Except as provided in Section 31-6-11(e), the

16 educational benefits provided by this section to children

17 making application for benefits for the first time beginning

18 with the fall term of the 2014-2015 academic year, and

19 thereafter, shall be limited to undergraduate courses of study

20 only, and the value of tuition paid shall be limited to the

21 in-state tuition rate of the Alabama state institution of

22 higher learning, college, or university attended. 

23 "(c) For those first filing for benefits under this

24 chapter on or after July 31, 2017, the educational benefit

25 shall be for tuition reimbursement and books and fees

26 reimbursement.  The value of tuition paid per semester hour

27 (or equivalent) shall be limited to the rate of the Department
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1 of Defense Tuition Assistance Cap. The value of the books and

2 fees paid per semester shall be limited to $1,000 per student.

3 "(d) The minimum disability requirement provided for

4 in subsection (a) (3) will remain 20 percent for those making

5 application for benefits under this chapter prior to July 31,

6 2017."

7 "§31-6-5.

8 "(a) Any wife or husband or unmarried widow or

9 widower whose spouse, during their marriage:

10 "(1) Was killed or died in the line of duty or is

11 listed as missing in action or is/was a prisoner of war while

12 serving as a member of the armed forces;

13 "(2) Died from a disability incurred from military

14 service; or

15 "(3) Is 100 percent permanently and totally

16 disabled, whose permanent and total disabilities were

17 service-connected;

18 "shall be entitled to training in any Alabama state-supported

19 college or university for a period of five standard academic

20 years, not to exceed 45 months or to training for the

21 equivalent of 45 months if enrolled part-time or to training

22 in a prescribed course in a state-supported community or

23 technical college trade school, and if such course does not

24 require the full 45 months, then training for the remainder of

25 such 45 months' entitlement may be taken at a state-supported

26 college or university only, pursuant to the tuition

27 reimbursement guidelines as provided in subsection (c) without
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1 the payment of any tuition, fees, or books, whatsoever. One

2 change of program will be allowed without counseling. All

3 training received under this section must be completed within

4 eight years after the beginning date of the course. This

5 section shall not apply to the spouse of any such deceased

6 serviceman or veteran who has remarried prior to applying for

7 and obtaining educational benefits under this section, and

8 should any such spouse of such deceased serviceman or veteran

9 remarry during the time he or she is in attendance upon any of

10 the schools, colleges, or universities mentioned in this

11 section, then he or she shall pay tuition and fees for the

12 course of study or attendance upon such school, college, or

13 university from the time of the remarriage. The benefits

14 provided under this section shall be in addition to federal

15 government benefits.

16 "(b) Except as provided in Section 31-6-11(e), the

17 educational benefits provided by this section to wives,

18 husbands, and unmarried widows or widowers making application

19 for benefits for the first time beginning with the fall term

20 of the 2014-2015 academic year, and thereafter, shall be

21 limited to undergraduate courses of study only, and the value

22 of tuition paid shall be limited to the in-state tuition rate

23 of the Alabama state-supported college or university attended.

24 "(c) For those first filing for benefits under this

25 chapter on or after July 31, 2017, the educational benefit

26 shall be for tuition reimbursement and books and fees

27 reimbursement.  The value of tuition paid per semester hour
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1 (or equivalent) shall be limited to the rate of the Department

2 of Defense Tuition Assistance Cap. The value of the books and

3 fees paid per semester shall be limited to $1,000 per

4 student."

5 "§31-6-6.

6 "(a) The spouse and children of any veteran who is

7 suffering from 20 40 to 90 percent service-connected

8 disability brought about from service in the Armed Forces of

9 the United States, or the unmarried widow or widower and

10 children of a deceased veteran who was suffering from 20 40

11 percent or more of service-connected disability at the time of

12 death, provided such disabilities as are mentioned herein are

13 incurred from military service, as established by the State

14 Department of Veterans' Affairs, shall be entitled to the

15 following educational advantages and opportunities:

16 "(1) The spouse or unmarried widow or widower, as

17 the case may be, shall be entitled to up to 27 months of

18 schooling or the equivalent of 27 months if enrolled

19 part-time, in any Alabama state-supported institution of

20 higher learning, college, or university, or to a prescribed

21 course in any Alabama state-supported trade school community

22 or technical college, pursuant to the tuition reimbursement

23 guidelines as provided in subsection (c) without the payment

24 of any tuition, fee, or books. One change of program will be

25 allowed without counseling. It is provided, however, that all

26 training received at state institutions of higher learning or

27 state trade schools state-supported community or technical

Page 8



1 college under this subdivision must be completed within a

2 period of six years after the beginning date of such two-year

3 course or such prescribed course.

4 "(2) Each child of such disabled veteran shall be

5 entitled to five standard academic years, or the equivalent of

6 45 months if enrolled part-time, in any Alabama

7 state-supported institution of higher learning, college, or

8 university, or to a prescribed course at an Alabama

9 state-supported community or technical college trade school.

10 If the course of training at the trade school community or

11 technical college does not require the full time to which such

12 child is entitled hereunder, then the remaining entitlement

13 may be taken in a state-supported college or university only,

14 pursuant to the tuition reimbursement guidelines as provided

15 in subsection (d) without payment of any tuition, fees, or

16 books. One change of program will be allowed without

17 counseling. Training under this subdivision must be initiated

18 prior to the child's twenty-sixth birthday, and must be

19 completed within eight years after its initiation, except for

20 delays caused by military service during the training period,

21 and in no case may training be received under this section

22 beyond the thirty-fourth birthday of such child.

23 "(b) The minimum disability requirement provided for

24 in subsection (a) will remain 20 percent for those first

25 making application for benefits under this chapter prior to

26 July 31, 2017.
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1 "(b) (c) Except as provided in Section 31-6-11(e),

2 the educational benefits provided by this section to spouses,

3 children, and unmarried widows and widowers making application

4 for benefits for the first time beginning with the fall term

5 of the 2014-2015 academic year, and thereafter, shall be

6 limited to undergraduate courses of study only, and the value

7 of tuition paid shall be limited to the in-state tuition rate

8 of the Alabama state-supported institution of higher learning,

9 college, or university attended.

10 "(d) For those first filing for benefits under this

11 chapter on or after July 31, 2017, the educational benefit

12 shall be for tuition reimbursement and books and fees

13 reimbursement.  The value of tuition paid per semester hour

14 (or equivalent) shall be limited to the rate of the Department

15 of Defense Tuition Assistance Cap. The value of the books and

16 fees paid per semester shall be limited to $1,000 per student.

17 "(c) (e) The benefits provided under this section

18 shall be available in addition to federal government benefits.

19 Any child, spouse, or unmarried widow or widower who was

20 denied full entitlement, 27 or 45 months, whichever the case

21 may be, shall have the remainder of their entitlement

22 reinstated under this chapter."

23 "§31-6-9.

24 "(a) For those dependents who first file for

25 benefits under this chapter prior to July 31, 2017, the The

26 benefits provided under this chapter shall be in addition to

27 any other state or federal benefits to which the wife or
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1 children of a disabled veteran or a member of the armed forces

2 who is listed as missing in action or as a prisoner of war or

3 the widow and children of a deceased veteran are that

4 dependent may be entitled. 

5 "(b) For dependents who first file for benefits

6 under this chapter on or after July 31, 2017:

7 "(1) To the extent permitted by law, prior to

8 applying any benefits provided for under this chapter,

9 institutional certifying officials and financial aid officials

10 shall first apply other federal, state, institutional, and

11 third party scholarships and grants awarded to the dependent

12 for that academic period for payment of required educational

13 expenses during an academic period.

14 "(2) A completed Free Application for Federal

15 Student Aid (FAFSA), or the equivalent, must be submitted to

16 the United States Department of Education for each year in

17 which the dependent receives benefits under this chapter. The

18 dependent shall have applied for all federal student financial

19 aid grants, including but not limited to Pell Grants,

20 Supplemental Education Opportunity Grants, and Education and

21 Training Vouchers, identified as being available for the

22 student's application by Federal Student Aid, an office of the

23 United States Department of Education, or its successor

24 agency.

25 "(3) All students receiving educational benefits

26 under this chapter and the educational institutions they

27 attend must comply with the standards of Satisfactory Academic
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1 Progress (SAP) as required for Title IV benefits under the

2 Higher Education Act and as defined by that education

3 institution. Those students who would no longer be eligible to

4 receive Title IV benefits due to a failure to meet SAP

5 standards shall no longer be eligible to receive benefits

6 under this chapter.  Education institutions shall notify the

7 Alabama Department of Veterans Affairs of any student who

8 currently holds a certificate of eligibility for benefits

9 under this chapter who is no longer eligible to receive

10 benefits due to a failure to meet SAP standards and the

11 effective date of that change in eligibility. 

12 "(4) The dependent shall ensure that all schools

13 they attend under this program are authorized to release such

14 personally identifiable information to the Alabama Department

15 of Veterans Affairs as is required for the determination of

16 that dependent’s continued eligibility and as required for the

17 completion of all reports required by law.

18 "(c) It is further provided that any wife, widow, or

19 dependent of a veteran Any dependent who receives benefits

20 under this chapter, and whose benefit period is interrupted

21 due to accident, injury, or illness, shall have the benefit

22 time period which is lost due to such accident, illness, or

23 injury restored to him or her.

24 "(d) Notwithstanding any other provision of this

25 chapter to the contrary, dependents of any veteran whose

26 disability rating, if any, prior to July 31, 2017 was less

27 than 20% but who had a claim for compensation pending prior to
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1 that date which resulted in a final award by the United States

2 Department of Veterans Affairs of at least 20% shall be

3 eligible for education benefits as described before the

4 amending language of this bill if the dependent files an

5 application for benefits under this chapter within six months

6 of that final adjudication and provides proof satisfactory to

7 the Alabama Department of Veterans Affairs that they qualify

8 under this exception and currently meet the eligibility

9 requirements as described before the amending language of this

10 bill."

11 "§31-6-11.

12 "(a) Before an application of any veteran for

13 benefits under this chapter can be approved, such veteran

14 shall submit proof, satisfactory to the State Department of

15 Veterans' Affairs, of all of the following:

16 "(1) Identification.

17 "(2) Having been a permanent resident of the State

18 of Alabama for at least one year immediately prior to his or

19 her entrance into service.

20 "(3) An honorable discharge or other proof of

21 honorable termination of at least 24 months of service in the

22 armed forces, or if such veteran was discharged or released by

23 reason of service-connected disability then proof of honorable

24 termination of less than 24 months of service is acceptable.

25 "(b) Before the application of a wife, widow, or

26 child of a disabled veteran or a deceased veteran or

27 serviceman for educational benefits under this chapter is
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1 approved, proof, satisfactory to the State Department of

2 Veterans' Affairs, must be submitted of all of the following:

3 "(1) Establishing the identification of such wife,

4 widow, or child as the wife, widow, or child of the veteran or

5 serviceman, as the case may be.

6 "(2) Of the veteran or serviceman having been a

7 permanent resident of the State of Alabama for at least one

8 year immediately prior, to his or her entrance into service,

9 or if the applicant is the wife, widow, or child of a totally

10 and permanently disabled veteran, then proof either of the

11 veteran's having been a permanent resident of the State of

12 Alabama for at least one year prior to his or her entrance

13 into service or proof that the veteran has been a bona fide

14 resident of this state for at least five years immediately

15 prior to the filing of the application for benefits under this

16 chapter or immediately prior to his or her death if the

17 veteran is deceased.

18 "(3) Of the veteran or serviceman having been a

19 permanent resident of the State of Alabama for at least two

20 years immediately prior to the filing of the application for

21 benefits under this chapter or immediately prior to his or her

22 death if the veteran is deceased.

23 "(4) Of the wife, widow, or child being a current

24 resident of the State of Alabama.

25 "(3) (5) An honorable discharge or other proof of

26 honorable termination of service of the veteran or serviceman

27 in the armed forces for a period of at least 90 days between
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1 the dates mentioned in this chapter, or service of less than

2 90 days if the veteran or serviceman was discharged or

3 released by reason of service-connected disability.

4 "(c) The service upon which any benefits are awarded

5 under this chapter shall have been rendered during wartime or

6 under extrahazardous conditions, except as provided otherwise

7 in this section; and this condition of eligibility shall be

8 established by the State Department of Veterans' Affairs.

9 "(d) The service requirements provided for in

10 subsection (c) shall not apply to any person making

11 application for benefits under this chapter beginning with the

12 fall term of the 2014-2015 academic year, and thereafter.

13 "(e) Notwithstanding any other provision of this

14 chapter to the contrary, any person denied educational

15 benefits provided by this chapter based solely upon the

16 service requirements provided for in subsection (c) shall be

17 eligible to receive the benefits the person would otherwise

18 have been entitled to had their application been approved at

19 the time of initial application, except as provided otherwise

20 in this subsection. Any age limitation on the benefits

21 provided by this chapter shall be extended in like manner for

22 any such previously denied person to ensure that the person

23 has the opportunity to receive all benefits they would

24 otherwise have been entitled. In order to receive any

25 educational benefits, such previously denied person must

26 reapply for educational benefits with the State Department of

27 Veterans' Affairs and begin use of the educational benefits no
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1 later than the fall term of the 2015-2016 academic year. The

2 value of tuition paid for any such previously denied person

3 shall be limited to the in-state tuition rate of the Alabama

4 state institution of higher learning, college, or university

5 attended.

6 "(f) For those first filing for benefits under this

7 chapter on or after July 31, 2017, the educational benefit

8 shall be for tuition reimbursement and books and fees

9 reimbursement.  The value of tuition paid per semester hour

10 (or equivalent) shall be limited to the rate of the Department

11 of Defense Tuition Assistance Cap. The value of the books and

12 fees paid per semester shall be limited to $1,000 per

13 student."

14 "§31-6-15.

15 "There is hereby appropriated The benefits provided

16 in this chapter shall be paid from an annual appropriation

17 from the Education Trust Fund such an amount as may be

18 necessary to reimburse every Alabama state institution of

19 higher learning, college, university, or Alabama state trade

20 school or junior college community or technical college in

21 which benefits are given to veterans, their wives, widows, or

22 children under this chapter. Such reimbursement shall be made

23 timely at the end of each academic quarter or semester for all

24 tuition reimbursements for the and fees waived by such

25 institution, college, university, or school under this

26 chapter, and shall be made on the basis of certified invoices

27 submitted by such institution or school to the State
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1 Department of Veterans' Affairs, and shall be supported by

2 names of the students receiving such benefits, together with

3 the amounts claimed for each student. Any amount of tuition

4 not paid by the combination of federal, state and third party

5 funds may be billed to students receiving such benefits or

6 waived by the institution or school."

7 "§31-10-2.

8 "The following words used in this article shall have

9 the meanings as set forth by this section:

10 "(1) ALABAMA NATIONAL GUARD. Federally recognized

11 units of the Alabama National Guard.

12 "(2) ACTIVE MEMBER. A member of a federally

13 recognized unit of the Alabama National Guard meeting the

14 minimum requirements for satisfactory membership as defined in

15 the Department of the Army and Department of the Air Force

16 regulations.

17 "(3) TUITION. The per semester cost of instruction

18 and fees to the student as stated in the institution's

19 catalog, plus the average cost of books and supplies, to a

20 minimum of one hundred dollars ($100) per semester, and not to

21 exceed one thousand dollars ($1,000) per semester after all

22 federal benefits have been applied to the account of the

23 student, for a total amount not exceeding two thousand dollars

24 ($2,000) annually not to exceed the average cost of tuition

25 per semester of a state-supported Alabama four year

26 institution for classes or courses that count towards the

27 individual's degree or certificate plan as designed and
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1 approved by the college or institution attended for the

2 individual's declared program of study."

3 "§31-10-3.

4 "Subject to the annual appropriation in the annual

5 Education Trust Fund Appropriation Act, provided said annual

6 appropriations shall not exceed $5,000,000, Tthe Alabama

7 Commission on Higher Education is hereby authorized to pay or

8 reimburse the qualifying tuition for any active member of the

9 Alabama National Guard who is enrolled in a program leading to

10 the associate, baccalaureate, masters, or doctorate degree in

11 an accredited institution of higher learning, community or

12 technical college, or junior college within the State of

13 Alabama. To be eligible for such benefits, the individual, at

14 the time of his or her enrollment must be a an active member

15 of the Alabama National Guard in good standing and a an active

16 member of a federally recognized unit of the Alabama National

17 Guard. The member must be at least 17 years of age and must be

18 a resident of the State of Alabama. The tuition grant

19 reimbursement authorized under this article may be used for

20 undergraduate or graduate studies. In no event will any

21 individual be eligible to receive more than 100 percent of

22 covered expenses qualified tuition when combined with similar

23 federal veterans' educational benefits available to members of

24 the National Guard. All applicants for a tuition grant

25 reimbursement shall complete a Free Application for Student

26 Financial Aid (FAFSA). No person shall be eligible for a

27 tuition grant reimbursement for more than 12 years after the
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1 date of the first tuition payment to him or her under this

2 article. For degrees above the baccalaureate, only 10 percent

3 of the total funds of the benefit program are to be utilized.

4 The Alabama Commission on Higher Education shall set up

5 minimum standards for performance that must be met in order to

6 maintain eligibility for the continuation of the receipt of

7 tuition grants reimbursements under this article that will

8 ensure a member will maintain at least a 2.0 cumulative grade

9 point average. In the event that requests for tuition

10 reimbursements provided for in this chapter from the

11 institutions for educational benefits in any fiscal year

12 exceed the appropriated amount, then the reimbursements will

13 be prorated equally among the institutions on a percentage

14 basis of the total invoices received by ACHE and paid

15 accordingly. Such reimbursement shall be made promptly at the

16 end of each academic quarter or semester for all certified

17 invoices."

18 "§31-10-4.

19 "In order to be eligible to receive tuition grants

20 reimbursement under this article, the member must meet the

21 following minimum requirements:

22 "(1) Be an active member of the Alabama National

23 Guard and must have completed basic training and advanced

24 individual training.

25 "(2) The member must be a member in good standing

26 with the Alabama National Guard as prescribed by regulations

27 promulgated by the Department of the Army, Department of the
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1 Air Force, and the Military Department of the State of

2 Alabama, at the time of application and during the entire

3 semester or quarter for which benefits are received.

4 "(3) In the event the individual's service in the

5 Alabama National Guard is terminated or his or her service

6 becomes unsatisfactory while receiving or for four years after

7 receiving the benefits afforded by this program, the benefits

8 will be terminated and repaid by the individual on a pro rata

9 basis. After termination for the above causes, an individual

10 will be ineligible for any further benefits under this

11 article. If for any reason an individual is dismissed from any

12 school for academic or disciplinary reasons, he is ineligible

13 for further benefits from this program. The Alabama Commission

14 on Higher Education shall be the final authority for making

15 such determinations.

16 "(4) The Alabama Commission on Higher Education of

17 the State of Alabama shall be responsible for the promulgation

18 of rules and regulations for the administration and

19 implementation of this article including rules and regulations

20 providing for the selection of persons to receive benefits

21 under this article. The Alabama Commission on Higher Education

22 of the State of Alabama shall be the final authority in

23 determining eligible applicants.

24 "(5) The Adjutant General of the State of Alabama

25 shall serve as an advisor to the Alabama Commission on Higher

26 Education for the purpose of determining the eligibility of
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1 members of the Alabama National Guard to receive benefits

2 under this article.

3 "§31-10-21.

4 "(a) Any active member of the Alabama National Guard

5 who has successfully completed advanced individual training or

6 commissioning shall be entitled to the tuition benefits

7 provided by this article upon his or her enrollment in a

8 degree objective or certificate program in any community or

9 junior technical college that is under the authority of the

10 State Board of Education Alabama Community College System

11 Board of Trustees, or enrollment in pursuit of his or her

12 first undergraduate degree objective in any public

13 baccalaureate-awarding college or university within the state.

14 Certification and eligibility for the tuition benefits

15 provided by this article shall be determined by the State

16 Education Services Office of the Alabama National Guard which

17 shall promulgate and implement administrative rules and

18 procedures that it deems necessary to carry out and monitor

19 the tuition benefits provided by this article.

20 "(b) Any active member of the Alabama National Guard

21 who enrolls utilizing the tuition benefits provided by this

22 article shall complete the requirements for an undergraduate

23 degree no later than 10 years from the date of initial

24 enrollment or the active member shall be responsible for all

25 costs of any further studies required to attain his or her

26 degree. Active member must currently have and maintain a

27 cumulative 2.0 grade point average, an overall C average, or
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1 the grade point letter grade equivalent thereof, or better at

2 the end of each term. Failure to do so shall result in the

3 termination of the tuition benefits provided by this article.

4 If a student withdraws, declares academic bankruptcy, or is

5 granted a grade waiver through a forgiveness program, he or

6 she is responsible for paying back that portion of tuition and

7 fees the state paid on his or her behalf.

8 "(c) Each educational institution that enrolls an

9 active member of the Alabama National Guard who is eligible

10 for the tuition benefits provided by this article shall take

11 necessary action to insure that the active member is aware of

12 all benefits that he or she may be entitled to under the

13 Montgomery G.I. Bill, any other federal and state VA

14 educational benefits, any student grant or scholarship, the

15 Active Duty Tuition Assistance Program, and the Alabama

16 National Guard Education Assistance Program. In order to

17 receive the tuition benefits provided by this article, the

18 active member of the Alabama National Guard shall take the

19 necessary steps to utilize all of the above benefits."

20 "§31-10-22.

21 "The tuition benefits provided by this article may

22 be terminated for the following reasons:

23 "(i) Failure to satisfactorily complete the Alabama

24 National Guard military obligation.

25 "(ii) Failure to maintain a 90 percent attendance at

26 annual training and drill assemblies as required by the

27 Alabama National Guard.
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1 "(iii) Four unsatisfactory drill performances Unit

2 Training Assemblies in a calendar year while enrolled in the

3 tuition benefits program provided by this article."

4 Section 2. (a) Beginning October 1, 2016 any member

5 of the Alabama National Guard enrolled in a program leading to

6 a certificate, or an associate or bachelor's degree at an

7 accredited public institution of higher education, technical

8 college, or community college within the State of Alabama may

9 apply for a tuition reimbursement benefit as provided for in

10 this section if the applicant under the act meets the

11 following requirements:

12 (1) The individual is 17 years of age or over.

13 (2) The individual is a member of the Alabama

14 National Guard in good standing throughout the period or

15 semester for which that individual receives education benefits

16 as indicated by continued satisfactory participation in the

17 Alabama National Guard as required by all applicable laws and

18 regulations of the Department of the Army, the Department of

19 the Air Force, and the Alabama National Guard, and there is no

20 unfavorable administrative action pending against him or her.

21 (b) Any member of the Alabama National Guard

22 receiving educational benefits under this section and the

23 educational institutions they attend must comply with the

24 standards of Satisfactory Academic Progress (SAP) as required

25 for Title IV benefits under the Higher Education Act and as

26 defined by that education institution provided the member must

27 maintain at least a cumulative 2.0 grade point average, or the
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1 letter equivalent. Those students who would no longer be

2 eligible to receive Title IV benefits due to a failure to meet

3 SAP standards shall no longer be eligible to receive benefits

4 under this section.

5 (c) To the extent permitted by law, prior to

6 applying any benefits provided for under this section,

7 institutional certifying officials and financial aid officials

8 shall first apply other federal, state, institutional, and

9 third party scholarships and grants awarded to the member for

10 that academic period for payment of required educational

11 expenses during an academic period, but only for classes or

12 courses that count towards the individual's degree or

13 certificate plan as designed and approved by the college or

14 institution attended for the individual's declared program of

15 study.

16 (d) No public institution of higher education in

17 this state shall impose a nonresident tuition rate or

18 differential out-of-state resident fee on an Alabama National

19 Guard member in good standing and who meets the requirements

20 of subsection (a).

21 (e) All requirements under subsections (a) and (b)

22 shall be met as a condition of obtaining any education

23 assistance benefits under the act and continued eligibility

24 for this exemption.

25 (f) The Alabama Commission of Higher Education shall

26 be responsible for administering the overall policies,
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1 guidance, implementation, and proper utilization of the

2 scholarship under this section.

3 (g) The tuition scholarship under this act shall be

4 claimed for no more than a total of 120 academic hours or

5 until the receipt of the first degree for which the

6 scholarship is used, whichever comes first.

7 (h) Any member of the Alabama National Guard who

8 fails to remain in good standing or is terminated from further

9 service in the Alabama National Guard shall no longer be

10 eligible for exemption benefits under this section and any

11 benefits received by the member for the period, semester, or

12 term in which he or she becomes ineligible shall be repaid by

13 the member to the exempting institution.

14 (i) Any member who is expelled or dismissed by an

15 institution of higher learning that provides scholarship

16 benefits under this section to that member shall no longer be

17 eligible for scholarship benefits under this section and shall

18 repay all benefits received under this section to the

19 institution.

20 (j) Any member who is disqualified from serving in

21 the Alabama National Guard due solely to medical reasons shall

22 be exempt from repaying any benefits received under this

23 section.

24 Section 3. (a) The Department of Veterans Affairs

25 shall report to the Legislature by January 1st of each year,

26 the number of applicants approved in the previous fiscal year

27 and those approved as of the reporting date for the current

Page 25



1 fiscal year, the number of students by years of remaining

2 eligibility, and the costs of the previous fiscal year’s

3 expenditures to the program by each category of public

4 institution of higher learning to include the number of

5 students who attended each of those institutions.

6 (b) The Alabama Commission on Higher Education and

7 the Adjutant General of the Alabama National Guard shall

8 report to the Legislature by November 1st of each year, the

9 number of new applicants in the new academic year, the years

10 of eligibility remaining for each student, and the costs of

11 the previous year’s expenditures to the program by each

12 category of public institution of higher learning paid.

13 Section 4. This act shall become effective on the

14 first day of the third month following its passage and

15 approval by the Governor, or its otherwise becoming law.
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