1	184593-1:	n : 04/04/2017 : LFO-JF / jmb
2		
3	DIAL FLOOR	SUBSTITUTE NO. 2 FOR SB315
4		
5		
6		
7		
8	SYNOPSIS:	Under existing law, the Alabama Commission
9		on Higher Education is authorized to pay or
10		reimburse the tuition for any eligible active
11		member of the Alabama National Guard in a program
12		leading to a degree at a college or university in
13		the state.
14		Also under existing law, the education
15		assistance provided by the state to eligible
16		Alabama National Guard members has a limit of
17		\$2,000 per year with a limit of \$1,000 per
18		semester.
19		This bill would increase the amount that may
20		be spent per eligible member from \$2,000 per year
21		to \$4,800 per year and remove the requirement for a
22		certain amount to be spent on the member per
23		semester.
24		Under existing law, there is no requirement
25		for public institutions of higher learning to
26		exempt members of the Alabama National Guard from

tuition and fees while enrolled to pursue a technical certificate or degree.

This bill would provide for the exemption from tuition and fees for any member of the Alabama National Guard who remains in good standing and meets certain criteria at any in-state public institution of higher learning.

Under current law, children, spouses, and unmarried widows or widowers of disabled veterans may receive educational benefits for tuition, fees, and books depending on the severity of the disability of the veteran.

This bill would require a dependent to submit proof of a veteran's residency; restrict the reimbursement for educational benefits to the value of the Department of Defense Tuition Assistance Cap; establish a grade point average requirement for dependents while receiving benefits; require the state benefits to only be used after all federal or other benefits have been used; and create the Alabama Disabled Veterans' Dependents Education Advisory Committee.

23

24 A BILL 25 TO BE ENTITLED

AN ACT

27

```
To amend Sections 31-6-4, 31-6-5, 31-6-6, 31-6-9,
1
 2
        31-6-10, 31-6-11, 31-6-16, 31-10-2, 31-10-3, 31-10-4,
        31-10-21, and 31-10-22 of the Code of Alabama 1975, to
 3
 4
        increase the amount that may be spent by the Alabama
 5
        Commission on Higher Education for an eligible member of the
        Alabama National Guard from $2,000 per year to $4,800 per year
 6
 7
        and remove the requirement for a certain amount of yearly
        assistance to be spent on each member per semester; to
 8
        establish an exemption from tuition and fees for any member of
 9
10
        the Alabama National Guard who remains in good standing and
11
        meets certain criteria while enrolled at any in-state public
12
        institution of higher learning; relating to the educational
13
        scholarship benefits for dependents of veterans; to require
        dependents submit proof of residency for veterans; to restrict
14
        the reimbursement for educational benefits to the Department
15
16
        of Defense Tuition Assistance Cap; to establish a grade point
17
        average requirement for dependents receiving benefits; to
18
        require state educational benefits to be applied only after
        all other resources have been exhausted; to create the Alabama
19
20
        Disabled Veterans' Dependents Education Advisory Committee
21
        responsible for monitoring the progress of dependents
22
        receiving educational benefits; to provide for the membership
23
        and meetings of the committee; and to require that the
24
        committee report its findings to the Legislature.
25
        BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF ALABAMA:
                  Section 1. Sections 31-6-4, 31-6-5, 31-6-6, 31-6-9,
26
        31-6-11, 31-6-16, 31-10-2, 31-10-3, 31-10-4, 31-10-21, and
27
```

1 31-10-22 of the Code of Alabama 1975, are amended to read as follows:

3 "\$31-6-4.

- "(a) Any child whose father or mother:
- "(1) Was killed or died in line of duty or is listed as missing in action or is/was a prisoner of war or whose death or permanent total disabilities were service-connected while serving as a member of the armed forces; or
- "(2) Died from a disability incurred from military service, as established by the State Department of Veterans' Affairs, after having been discharged under conditions other than dishonorable and after having served at least 90 days consecutively in the armed forces prior to and/or subsequent to the date on which such disability occurred, or who was honorably discharged by reason of wartime, service-connected disability after serving less than 90 days; or
- "(3) Has been assigned 100 percent permanent or total disability rated by the United States Veterans' Administration, or was discharged or retired from the armed forces with a  $\frac{20}{40}$  percent or more disability and maintained that percentage (such person to be deemed to be a disabled veteran)

"may attend any Alabama state institution of higher learning, college, or university for a period of five standard academic years, not to exceed 45 months or the equivalent of 45 months if enrolled part-time, without paying any tuition, fees, or books whatsoever for such college or university attendance, or

any such child may take a prescribed course in any Alabama state trade school for the length of any prescribed course of study of his or her choosing, and if such course does not require the full 45 months, then training for the remainder of such 45 months' entitlement may be taken at a state-supported college or university only, without the payment of any tuition, fees, or books whatsoever. Training under this section must be initiated prior to the child's thirtieth birthday, and must be completed within eight years after its initiation, except for delays caused by military service during the training period, and in no case may training be received under this chapter beyond the thirty-eighth birthday of such child.

"(b) Except as provided in Section 31-6-11(e), the educational benefits provided by this section to children making application for benefits for the first time beginning with the fall term of the 2014-2015 academic year, and thereafter, shall be limited to undergraduate courses of study only, and the value of tuition paid shall be limited to the in-state tuition rate of the Alabama state institution of higher learning, college, or university attended. Effective the fall term of the 2017-2018 academic year, and thereafter, the value of tuition paid per semester hour (or equivalent) shall be limited to the rate of the Department of Defense Tuition Assistance Cap.

"(c) The minimum disability requirement provided for in subsection (a)(3) will remain 20 percent for those making

application for benefits under this chapter prior to the 1 2 effective date of this bill." "§31-6-5. 3 "(a) Any wife or husband or unmarried widow or 4 5 widower whose spouse, during their marriage: "(1) Was killed or died in the line of duty or is 6 7 listed as missing in action or is/was a prisoner of war while 8 serving as a member of the armed forces; "(2) Died from a disability incurred from military 9 10 service; or "(3) Is 100 percent permanently and totally 11 12 disabled, whose permanent and total disabilities were 13 service-connected; "shall be entitled to training in any Alabama state-supported 14 15 college or university for a period of five standard academic 16 years, not to exceed 45 months or to training for the 17 equivalent of 45 months if enrolled part-time or to training 18 in a prescribed course in a state-supported trade school, and 19 if such course does not require the full 45 months, then 20 training for the remainder of such 45 months' entitlement may 21 be taken at a state-supported college or university only, 22 without the payment of any tuition, fees, or books, 23 whatsoever. One change of program will be allowed without 24 counseling. All training received under this section must be 25 completed within eight years after the beginning date of the course. This section shall not apply to the spouse of any such 26

deceased serviceman or veteran who has remarried prior to

applying for and obtaining educational benefits under this section, and should any such spouse of such deceased serviceman or veteran remarry during the time he or she is in attendance upon any of the schools, colleges, or universities mentioned in this section, then he or she shall pay tuition and fees for the course of study or attendance upon such school, college, or university from the time of the remarriage. The benefits provided under this section shall be in addition to federal government benefits.

"(b) Except as provided in Section 31-6-11(e), the educational benefits provided by this section to wives, husbands, and unmarried widows or widowers making application for benefits for the first time beginning with the fall term of the 2014-2015 academic year, and thereafter, shall be limited to undergraduate courses of study only, and the value of tuition paid shall be limited to the in-state tuition rate of the Alabama state-supported college or university attended. Effective the fall term of the 2017-2018 academic year, and thereafter, the value of tuition paid per semester hour (or equivalent) shall be limited to the rate of the Department of Defense Tuition Assistance Cap."

"§31-6-6.

"(a) The spouse and children of any veteran who is suffering from  $\frac{20}{40}$  to 90 percent service-connected disability brought about from service in the Armed Forces of the United States, or the unmarried widow or widower and children of a deceased veteran who was suffering from  $\frac{20}{40}$ 

percent or more of service-connected disability at the time of death, provided such disabilities as are mentioned herein are incurred from military service, as established by the State Department of Veterans' Affairs, shall be entitled to the following educational advantages and opportunities:

"(1) The spouse or unmarried widow or widower, as the case may be, shall be entitled to up to 27 months of schooling or the equivalent of 27 months if enrolled part-time, in any Alabama state-supported institution of higher learning, college, or university, or to a prescribed course in any Alabama state-supported trade school without the payment of any tuition, fee, or books. One change of program will be allowed without counseling. It is provided, however, that all training received at state institutions of higher learning or state trade schools under this subdivision must be completed within a period of six years after the beginning date of such two-year course or such prescribed course.

"(2) Each child of such disabled veteran shall be entitled to five standard academic years, or the equivalent of 45 months if enrolled part-time, in any Alabama state-supported institution of higher learning, college, or university, or to a prescribed course at an Alabama state-supported trade school. If the course of training at the trade school does not require the full time to which such child is entitled hereunder, then the remaining entitlement may be taken in a state-supported college or university only, without payment of any tuition, fees, or books. One change of

program will be allowed without counseling. Training under this subdivision must be initiated prior to the child's twenty-sixth birthday, and must be completed within eight years after its initiation, except for delays caused by military service during the training period, and in no case may training be received under this section beyond the thirty-fourth birthday of such child.

(b) The minimum disability requirement provided for in subsection (a) will remain 20 percent for those first making application for benefits under this chapter prior to the effective date of this bill.

"(b) (c) Except as provided in Section 31-6-11(e), the educational benefits provided by this section to spouses, children, and unmarried widows and widowers making application for benefits for the first time beginning with the fall term of the 2014-2015 academic year, and thereafter, shall be limited to undergraduate courses of study only, and the value of tuition paid shall be limited to the in-state tuition rate of the Alabama state-supported institution of higher learning, college, or university attended. Effective the fall term of the 2017-2018 academic year, and thereafter, the value of tuition paid per semester hour (or equivalent) shall be limited to the rate of the Department of Defense Tuition Assistance Cap.

"(c) (d) The benefits provided under this section shall be available in addition to federal government benefits.

Any child, spouse, or unmarried widow or widower who was

denied full entitlement, 27 or 45 months, whichever the case may be, shall have the remainder of their entitlement reinstated under this chapter."

"§31-6-9.

"The benefits provided under this chapter shall be in addition to any other state or federal benefits to which the wife or children of a disabled veteran or a member of the armed forces who is listed as missing in action or as a prisoner of war or the widow and children of a deceased veteran are entitled shall only be available after all other federal, state and third party education benefits have been applied, to include those federal and state benefits available after the submission of the Free Application for Student Aid (FAFSA). It is further provided that any wife, widow, or dependent of a veteran who receives benefits under this chapter, and whose benefit period is interrupted due to accident, injury, or illness, shall have the benefit time period which is lost due to such accident, illness, or injury restored to him or her.

"\$31-6-10.

"(a) All applications for benefits accruing under this chapter must be made to the State Department of Veterans' Affairs. The State Service Commissioner, or any official of the department designated by him, is hereby charged with the responsibility and duty of determining the eligibility of each applicant for the benefits under this chapter; provided, however, that such determination of eligibility shall be based

upon the findings of the United States Veterans'

Administration in addition to other proofs and records

required under this chapter. The State Service Commissioner

shall cause the State Department of Veterans' Affairs to issue

a certificate of eligibility and entitlement in behalf of each

applicant who may be determined by him to be entitled to the

"(b) Notwithstanding any other provision of this chapter to the contrary, any veteran having applied for disability benefits prior to October 1, 2017, but having not received final adjudication from either the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs or the Alabama Department of Veterans Affairs by that date, their dependents shall remain eligible for the education benefits as described before the amending language of this bill, upon receiving the certifying documentation from the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs or the Alabama

Department of Veterans Affairs."

"\$31-6-11.

benefits.

- "(a) Before an application of any veteran for benefits under this chapter can be approved, such veteran shall submit proof, satisfactory to the State Department of Veterans' Affairs, of all of the following:
  - "(1) Identification.
- "(2) Having been a permanent resident of the State of Alabama for at least one year immediately prior to his or her entrance into service.

"(3) An honorable discharge or other proof of
honorable termination of at least 24 months of service in the
armed forces, or if such veteran was discharged or released by
reason of service-connected disability then proof of honorable
termination of less than 24 months of service is acceptable.

- "(b) Before the application of a wife, widow, or child of a disabled veteran or a deceased veteran or serviceman for educational benefits under this chapter is approved, proof, satisfactory to the State Department of Veterans' Affairs, must be submitted of all of the following:
- "(1) Establishing the identification of such wife, widow, or child as the wife, widow, or child of the veteran or serviceman, as the case may be.
- "(2) Of the veteran or serviceman having been a permanent resident of the State of Alabama for at least one year immediately prior, to his or her entrance into service, or if the applicant is the wife, widow, or child of a totally and permanently disabled veteran, then proof either of the veteran's having been a permanent resident of the State of Alabama for at least one year prior to his or her entrance into service or proof that the veteran has been a bona fide resident of this state for at least five years immediately prior to the filing of the application for benefits under this chapter or immediately prior to his or her death if the veteran is deceased.
- (3) Of the veteran or serviceman having been a permanent resident of the State of Alabama for at least one

1 year immediately prior to the filing of the application for
2 benefits or immediately prior to his or her death if the
3 veteran is deceased.

"(3) (4) An honorable discharge or other proof of honorable termination of service of the veteran or serviceman in the armed forces for a period of at least 90 days between the dates mentioned in this chapter, or service of less than 90 days if the veteran or serviceman was discharged or released by reason of service-connected disability.

- "(c) The service upon which any benefits are awarded under this chapter shall have been rendered during wartime or under extrahazardous conditions, except as provided otherwise in this section; and this condition of eligibility shall be established by the State Department of Veterans' Affairs.
- "(d) The service requirements provided for in subsection (c) shall not apply to any person making application for benefits under this chapter beginning with the fall term of the 2014-2015 academic year, and thereafter.
- "(e) The residency requirements provided for in subsections (b)(3) shall not apply to any person making application for benefits under this chapter prior to the effective date of this bill.

"(e) (f) Notwithstanding any other provision of this chapter to the contrary, any person denied educational benefits provided by this chapter based solely upon the service requirements provided for in subsection (c) shall be eligible to receive the benefits the person would otherwise

have been entitled to had their application been approved at the time of initial application, except as provided otherwise in this subsection. Any age limitation on the benefits provided by this chapter shall be extended in like manner for any such previously denied person to ensure that the person has the opportunity to receive all benefits they would otherwise have been entitled. In order to receive any educational benefits, such previously denied person must reapply for educational benefits with the State Department of Veterans' Affairs and begin use of the educational benefits no later than the fall term of the 2015-2016 academic year. The value of tuition paid for any such previously denied person shall be limited to the in-state tuition rate of the Alabama state institution of higher learning, college, or university attended. Effective the fall term of the 2017-2018 academic year, and thereafter, the value of tuition paid per semester hour (or equivalent) shall be limited to the rate of the Department of Defense Tuition Assistance Cap."

"§31-6-16.

1

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

24

25

26

27

"Nothing in this chapter shall be construed as lowering the standards or requirements, or as to making any exceptions thereto for entrance into any of the state schools or institutions affected by this chapter. All applicants, in order to obtain the educational benefits of this chapter, must first meet all scholastic and other requirements for entrance into any of the schools coming within the purview of this chapter. All dependents receiving the educational benefits

must maintain a 2.0 grade point average while attending any of the state schools or institutions affected by this chapter. If the dependent fails to maintain a 2.0 grade point average for any completed academic period while receiving the education benefits, the benefits shall be suspended for the succeeding academic period or until such time as the dependent maintains a 2.0 grade point average at the end of the completed academic period."

9 "\$31-10-2.

"The following words used in this article shall have the meanings as set forth by this section:

- "(1) ALABAMA NATIONAL GUARD. Federally recognized units of the Alabama National Guard.
- "(2) ACTIVE MEMBER. A member of a federally recognized unit of the Alabama National Guard meeting the minimum requirements for satisfactory membership as defined in the Department of the Army and Department of the Air Force regulations.
- "(3) TUITION. The cost of instruction and fees to the student as stated in the institution's catalog, plus the average cost of books and supplies, to a minimum of one hundred dollars (\$100) per semester, and not to exceed one thousand dollars (\$1,000) per semester after all federal benefits have been applied to the account of the student, for a total amount not exceeding two thousand dollars (\$2,000) four thousand eight hundred dollars (\$4,800) annually—after

all federal benefits have been applied to the account of the student."

3 "\$31-10-3.

1

2

4

5

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

24

25

26

27

"The Alabama Commission on Higher Education is hereby authorized to pay or reimburse the tuition for any active member of the Alabama National Guard who is enrolled in a program leading to the associate, baccalaureate, masters, or doctorate degree in an accredited institution of higher learning, technical college, or junior college within the State of Alabama. To be eligible for such benefits, the individual, at the time of his or her enrollment must be a member of the Alabama National Guard in good standing and a member of a federally recognized unit of the Alabama National Guard. The member must be at least 17 years of age and must be a resident of the State of Alabama. The tuition grant authorized under this article may be used for undergraduate or graduate studies. In no event will any individual be eligible to receive more than 100 percent of covered expenses when combined with similar federal veterans' educational benefits available to members of the National Guard. All applicants for a tuition grant shall complete a Free Application for Student Financial Aid (FAFSA). No person shall be eliqible for a tuition grant for more than 12 years after the date of the first tuition payment to him or her under this article. For degrees above the baccalaureate, only 10 percent of the total funds of the benefit program are to be utilized. The Alabama Commission on Higher Education shall set up minimum standards

for performance that must be met in order to maintain eligibility for the continuation of the receipt of tuition grants under this article."

"§31-10-4.

"In order to be eligible to receive tuition grants under this article, the member must meet the following minimum requirements:

- "(1) Be an active member of the Alabama National Guard and must have completed basic training and advanced individual training.
- "(2) The member must be a member in good standing with the Alabama National Guard as prescribed by regulations promulgated by the Department of the Army, Department of the Air Force, and the Military Department of the State of Alabama, at the time of application and during the entire semester or quarter for which benefits are received.
- "(3) In the event the individual's service in the Alabama National Guard is terminated or his or her service becomes unsatisfactory while receiving or for four years after receiving the benefits afforded by this program, the benefits will be terminated and repaid by the individual on a pro rata basis. After termination for the above causes, an individual will be ineligible for any further benefits under this article. If for any reason an individual is dismissed from any school for academic or disciplinary reasons, he is ineligible for further benefits from this program. The Alabama Commission

on Higher Education shall be the final authority for making such determinations.

"(4) The Alabama Commission on Higher Education of the State of Alabama shall be responsible for the promulgation of rules and regulations for the administration and implementation of this article including rules and regulations providing for the selection of persons to receive benefits under this article. The Alabama Commission on Higher Education of the State of Alabama shall be the final authority in determining eligible applicants.

"(5) The Adjutant General of the State of Alabama shall serve as an advisor to the Alabama Commission on Higher Education for the purpose of determining the eligibility of members of the Alabama National Guard to receive benefits under this article."

"\$31-10-21.

"(a) Any active member of the Alabama National Guard who has successfully completed advanced individual training or commissioning shall be entitled to the tuition benefits provided by this article upon his or her enrollment in a degree objective or certificate program in any community or junior technical college that is under the authority of the State Board of Education Alabama Community College System

Board of Trustees, or enrollment in pursuit of his or her first undergraduate degree objective in any public baccalaureate-awarding college or university within the state. Certification and eligibility for the tuition benefits

provided by this article shall be determined by the State

Education Services Office of the Alabama National Guard which
shall promulgate and implement administrative rules and
procedures that it deems necessary to carry out and monitor
the tuition benefits provided by this article.

"(b) Any active member of the Alabama National Guard who enrolls utilizing the tuition benefits provided by this article shall complete the requirements for an undergraduate degree no later than 10 years from the date of initial enrollment or the active member shall be responsible for all costs of any further studies required to attain his or her degree. Active member must currently have and maintain an overall C average, or the grade point equivalent thereof, at the end of each term. Failure to do so shall result in the termination of the tuition benefits provided by this article. If a student withdraws, declares academic bankruptcy, or is granted a grade waiver through a forgiveness program, he or she is responsible for paying back that portion of tuition and fees the state paid on his or her behalf.

"(c) Each educational institution that enrolls an active member of the Alabama National Guard who is eligible for the tuition benefits provided by this article shall take necessary action to insure that the active member is aware of all benefits that he or she may be entitled to under the Montgomery G.I. Bill, any other VA educational benefits, any student grant or scholarship, the Active Duty Tuition

Assistance Program, and the Alabama National Guard Education

Assistance Program. In order to receive the tuition benefits provided by this article, the active member of the Alabama

National Guard shall take the necessary steps to utilize all of the above benefits."

"\$31-10-22.

"The tuition benefits provided by this article may be terminated for the following reasons:

- "(i) Failure to satisfactorily complete the Alabama National Guard military obligation.
- "(ii) Failure to maintain a 90 percent attendance at annual training and drill assemblies as required by the Alabama National Guard.
  - "(iii) Four unsatisfactory drill performances <u>Unit</u>

    <u>Training Assemblies</u> in a calendar year while enrolled in the tuition benefits program provided by this article."

Section 2. (a) Any member of the Alabama National Guard enrolled in a program leading to a certificate, or an associate, bachelor's, master's, or doctoral degree at an accredited public institution of higher education, technical college, or community college within the State of Alabama shall be exempt from all tuition and fees imposed by the institution if the applicant for the tuition and fees exemption under the act meets the following requirements:

- (1) The individual is 17 years of age or over.
- (2) The individual is a member of the Alabama

  National Guard in good standing throughout the period or semester for which that individual receives education benefits

as indicated by continued satisfactory participation in the Alabama National Guard as required by all applicable laws and regulations of the Department of the Army, the Department of the Air Force, and the Alabama National Guard, and there is no unfavorable administrative action pending against him or her.

- (b) Any member of the Alabama National Guard enrolled in an institution of higher education and receiving benefits under this program shall maintain an overall grade point average of a 2.0 or above and shall earn a grade no lower than a "C" in any class or course allowed under the act.
- applicable federal and state tuition assistance or aid have been applied to the individual's student account, and only for classes or courses that count towards the individual's degree or certificate plan as designed and approved by the college or institution attended for the individual's declared program of study.
- (d) No public institution of higher education in this state shall impose a nonresident tuition rate or differential out-of-state resident fee on an Alabama National Guard member in good standing and who meets the requirements of subsection (a).
- (e) All requirements under subsections (a) and (b) shall be met as a condition of obtaining any education assistance benefits under the act and continued eligibility for this exemption.

Section 3. (a) The Adjutant General of the Alabama

National Guard shall be responsible for administering the

overall policies, guidance, implementation, and proper

utilization of the exemption under this section.

- (b) The tuition exemption under this act shall be claimed for no more than a total of 120 academic hours or until the receipt of the first degree for which the exemption is used, whichever comes first.
- (c) Any member of the Alabama National Guard who fails to remain in good standing or is terminated from further service in the Alabama National Guard shall no longer be eligible for exemption benefits under this section and any benefits received by the member for the period, semester, or term in which he or she becomes ineligible shall be repaid by the member to the exempting institution.
- (d) Any member who is expelled or dismissed by an institution of higher learning that provides exemption benefits under this section to that member shall no longer be eligible for exemption benefits under this section and shall repay all benefits received under this section to the exempting institution.
- (e) Any member who is disqualified from serving in the Alabama National Guard due solely to medical reasons shall be exempt from repaying any benefits received under this section.
- Section 4. The Alabama Disabled Veterans' Dependents Education Advisory Committee is hereby created as an appointed

group responsible for monitoring and studying the effect of changes in eligibility for dependents of disabled veterans to the cost of the program as administered by the Department of Veterans Affairs, and the progress of dependents of disabled veteran's in attaining their degree objectives while attending institutions under the authority of the Alabama Commission on Higher Education and the Alabama Community College System. The Department of Veterans Affairs and the Alabama Commission on Higher Education shall provide information and support as required by the committee.

Section 5. The committee shall consist of the following members and shall reflect the racial, gender, geographic, urban and rural, and economic diversity of the state:

- (1) Two members appointed by the Governor.
- (2) One member appointed by the Lieutenant Governor.
- (3) One member appointed by the Speaker of the House of Representatives.
- (4) One member appointed by the President Pro Tempore of the Senate.
- (5) One member appointed by the Chairman of the Senate Finance and Taxation Education Committee.
- (6) One member appointed by the Chairman of the House Ways and Means Education Committee.
- (7) One member appointed by the Chairman of the Alabama Commission on Higher Education.

(8) One member appointed by the Board of Trustees of the Alabama Community College System.

Section 6. The committee shall meet within 30 days after the appointment of the committee membership and establish procedures and other policies necessary to carry on the business of the committee, including the establishment of a quorum. The committee shall meet at least twice a year, but may meet more frequently upon the call of the chair. Members of the committee may participate in a meeting of the committee by means of conference telephone, video conference, or similar communications equipment by means of which all persons participating in the meeting may hear each other at the same time. Participation by such means shall constitute presence in person at a meeting for all purposes, including the establishment of a quorum.

Section 7. Members of the committee shall serve at the pleasure of the official responsible for designating the members, but in no case shall the term of any member exceed four years. Vacancies shall be filled in the manner provided for the original appointments. Persons appointed to fill vacancies shall serve the unexpired portions of the terms.

Section 8. The members of the committee shall not receive a salary or per diem allowance for serving as members of the council, and shall not be entitled to reimbursement for expenses incurred in the performance of the duties.

1	Section 9. The committee shall report to the
2	Legislature on its findings and advisory recommendations, by
3	the tenth legislative day of each session.
4	Section 10. This act shall become effective on the
5	first day of the third month following its passage and
6	approval by the Governor, or its otherwise becoming law.