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2  

3 DIAL SUBSTITUTE FOR SB315

4  

5  

6  

7  

8 SYNOPSIS:         Under existing law, the Alabama Commission

9 on Higher Education is authorized to pay or

10 reimburse the tuition for any eligible active

11 member of the Alabama National Guard in a program

12 leading to a degree at a college or university in

13 the state. 

14 Also under existing law, the education

15 assistance provided by the state to eligible

16 Alabama National Guard members has a limit of

17 $2,000 per year with a limit of $1,000 per

18 semester. 

19 This bill would increase the amount that may

20 be spent per eligible member from $2,000 per year

21 to $4,800 per year and remove the requirement for a

22 certain amount to be spent on the member per

23 semester.

24 Under existing law, there is no requirement

25 for public institutions of higher learning to

26 exempt members of the Alabama National Guard from
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1 tuition and fees while enrolled to pursue a

2 technical certificate or degree.

3 This bill would provide for the exemption

4 from tuition and fees for any member of the Alabama

5 National Guard who remains in good standing and

6 meets certain criteria at any in-state public

7 institution of higher learning.

8 Under current law, children, spouses, and

9 unmarried widows or widowers of disabled veterans

10 may receive educational benefits for tuition, fees,

11 and books depending on the severity of the

12 disability of the veteran.

13 This bill would establish specific residency

14 requirements for veterans and dependents; restrict

15 the reimbursement for educational benefits for the

16 first two years of attendance at an Alabama public

17 university to the average tuition rate of

18 institutions under the Alabama Community College

19 System, then reimburse for the remainder the full

20 value of tuition at an Alabama public university;

21 establish a grade point average requirement for

22 dependents while receiving benefits; require the

23 state benefits to only be used after all federal or

24 other benefits have been used; and create the

25 Alabama Disabled Veterans' Dependents Education

26 Advisory Committee.

27  
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1 A BILL

2 TO BE ENTITLED

3 AN ACT

4  

5 To amend Sections 31-6-4, 31-6-5, 31-6-6, 31-6-9,

6 31-6-10, 31-6-11, 31-6-16, 31-10-2, 31-10-3, 31-10-4,

7 31-10-21, and 31-10-22 of the Code of Alabama 1975, to

8 increase the amount that may be spent by the Alabama

9 Commission on Higher Education for an eligible member of the

10 Alabama National Guard from $2,000 per year to $4,800 per year

11 and remove the requirement for a certain amount of yearly

12 assistance to be spent on each member per semester; to

13 establish an exemption from tuition and fees for any member of

14 the Alabama National Guard who remains in good standing and

15 meets certain criteria while enrolled at any in-state public

16 institution of higher learning; relating to the educational

17 scholarship benefits for dependents of veterans; to establish

18 residency requirements for veterans and dependents; to

19 restrict the reimbursement for educational benefits for the

20 first two years of attendance at an Alabama public university

21 to the average tuition rate of institutions under the Alabama

22 Community College System; to allow for full tuition

23 reimbursement after two years; to establish a grade point

24 average requirement for dependents receiving benefits; to

25 require state educational benefits to be applied only after

26 all other resources have been exhausted; to create the Alabama

27 Disabled Veterans' Dependents Education Advisory Committee
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1 responsible for monitoring the progress of dependents

2 receiving educational benefits; to provide for the membership

3 and meetings of the committee; and to require that the

4 committee report its findings to the Legislature.

5 BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF ALABAMA:

6 Section 1. Sections 31-6-4, 31-6-5, 31-6-6, 31-6-9,

7 31-6-11, 31-6-16, 31-10-2, 31-10-3, 31-10-4, 31-10-21, and

8 31-10-22 of the Code of Alabama 1975, are amended to read as

9 follows:

10 "§31-6-4.

11 "(a) Any child whose father or mother:

12 "(1) Was killed or died in line of duty or is listed

13 as missing in action or is/was a prisoner of war or whose

14 death or permanent total disabilities were service-connected

15 while serving as a member of the armed forces; or

16 "(2) Died from a disability incurred from military

17 service, as established by the State Department of Veterans'

18 Affairs, after having been discharged under conditions other

19 than dishonorable and after having served at least 90 days

20 consecutively in the armed forces prior to and/or subsequent

21 to the date on which such disability occurred, or who was

22 honorably discharged by reason of wartime, service-connected

23 disability after serving less than 90 days; or

24 "(3) Has been assigned 100 percent permanent or

25 total disability rated by the United States Veterans'

26 Administration, or was discharged or retired from the armed

27 forces with a 20 40 percent or more disability and maintained
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1 that percentage (such person to be deemed to be a disabled

2 veteran)

3 "may attend any Alabama state institution of higher learning,

4 college, or university for a period of five standard academic

5 years, not to exceed 45 months or the equivalent of 45 months

6 if enrolled part-time, without paying any tuition, fees, or

7 books whatsoever for such college or university attendance, or

8 any such child may take a prescribed course in any Alabama

9 state trade school for the length of any prescribed course of

10 study of his or her choosing, and if such course does not

11 require the full 45 months, then training for the remainder of

12 such 45 months' entitlement may be taken at a state-supported

13 college or university only, without the payment of any

14 tuition, fees, or books whatsoever. Training under this

15 section must be initiated prior to the child's thirtieth

16 birthday, and must be completed within eight years after its

17 initiation, except for delays caused by military service

18 during the training period, and in no case may training be

19 received under this chapter beyond the thirty-eighth birthday

20 of such child.

21 "(b) Except as provided in Section 31-6-11(e), the

22 educational benefits provided by this section to children

23 making application for benefits for the first time beginning

24 with the fall term of the 2014-2015 academic year, and

25 thereafter, shall be limited to undergraduate courses of study

26 only, and the value of tuition paid shall be limited to the
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1 in-state tuition rate of the Alabama state institution of

2 higher learning, college, or university attended.

3 "(c) Notwithstanding the provisions of subsection

4 (a) of this section the educational benefit provided to

5 children making application for benefits for the first time

6 beginning with the fall term of the 2017-2018 academic year,

7 and thereafter, shall be limited to reimbursement at the value

8 of tuition paid equal to the average tuition rate for all

9 institutions within the Alabama Community College System for

10 the first two years of attendance. Subsequent years shall be

11 reimbursed at the value of tuition paid for the in-state

12 tuition rate of the Alabama state institution of higher

13 learning, college, or university attended.

14 "(d) All applicants for this benefit shall complete

15 a Free Application for Student Financial Aid (FAFSA). The

16 benefits provided under this section shall only be available

17 after all other federal, state, and third party education

18 benefits have been applied."

19 "§31-6-5.

20 "(a) Any wife or husband or unmarried widow or

21 widower whose spouse, during their marriage:

22 "(1) Was killed or died in the line of duty or is

23 listed as missing in action or is/was a prisoner of war while

24 serving as a member of the armed forces;

25 "(2) Died from a disability incurred from military

26 service; or
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1 "(3) Is 100 percent permanently and totally

2 disabled, whose permanent and total disabilities were

3 service-connected;

4 "shall be entitled to training in any Alabama state-supported

5 college or university for a period of five standard academic

6 years, not to exceed 45 months or to training for the

7 equivalent of 45 months if enrolled part-time or to training

8 in a prescribed course in a state-supported trade school, and

9 if such course does not require the full 45 months, then

10 training for the remainder of such 45 months' entitlement may

11 be taken at a state-supported college or university only,

12 without the payment of any tuition, fees, or books,

13 whatsoever. One change of program will be allowed without

14 counseling. All training received under this section must be

15 completed within eight years after the beginning date of the

16 course. This section shall not apply to the spouse of any such

17 deceased serviceman or veteran who has remarried prior to

18 applying for and obtaining educational benefits under this

19 section, and should any such spouse of such deceased

20 serviceman or veteran remarry during the time he or she is in

21 attendance upon any of the schools, colleges, or universities

22 mentioned in this section, then he or she shall pay tuition

23 and fees for the course of study or attendance upon such

24 school, college, or university from the time of the

25 remarriage. All applicants for this benefit shall complete a

26 Free Application for Student Financial Aid (FAFSA). The

27 benefits provided under this section shall be in addition to

Page 7



1 federal government benefits only be available after all other

2 federal, state and third party education benefits have been

3 applied. 

4 "(b) Except as provided in Section 31-6-11(e), the

5 educational benefits provided by this section to wives,

6 husbands, and unmarried widows or widowers making application

7 for benefits for the first time beginning with the fall term

8 of the 2014-2015 academic year, and thereafter, shall be

9 limited to undergraduate courses of study only, and the value

10 of tuition paid shall be limited to the in-state tuition rate

11 of the Alabama state-supported college or university attended.

12 "(c) Notwithstanding the provisions of subsection

13 (a) of this section the educational benefit provided to

14 spouses and unmarried widows or widowers making application

15 for benefits for the first time beginning with the fall term

16 of the 2017-2018 academic year, and thereafter, shall be

17 limited to reimbursement at the value of tuition paid equal to

18 the average tuition rate for all institutions within the

19 Alabama Community College System for the first two years of

20 attendance. Subsequent years shall be reimbursed at the value

21 of tuition paid for the in-state tuition rate of the Alabama

22 state institution of higher learning, college, or university

23 attended."

24 "(d) All applicants for this benefit shall complete

25 a Free Application for Student Financial Aid (FAFSA). The

26 benefits provided under this section shall only be available
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1 after all other federal, state, and third party education

2 benefits have been applied."

3 "§31-6-6.

4 "(a) The spouse and children of any veteran who is

5 suffering from 20 40 to 90 percent service-connected

6 disability brought about from service in the Armed Forces of

7 the United States, or the unmarried widow or widower and

8 children of a deceased veteran who was suffering from 20 40

9 percent or more of service-connected disability at the time of

10 death, provided such disabilities as are mentioned herein are

11 incurred from military service, as established by the State

12 Department of Veterans' Affairs, shall be entitled to the

13 following educational advantages and opportunities:

14 "(1) The spouse or unmarried widow or widower, as

15 the case may be, shall be entitled to up to 27 months of

16 schooling or the equivalent of 27 months if enrolled

17 part-time, in any Alabama state-supported institution of

18 higher learning, college, or university, or to a prescribed

19 course in any Alabama state-supported trade school without the

20 payment of any tuition, fee, or books. One change of program

21 will be allowed without counseling. It is provided, however,

22 that all training received at state institutions of higher

23 learning or state trade schools under this subdivision must be

24 completed within a period of six years after the beginning

25 date of such two-year course or such prescribed course.

26 "(2) Each child of such disabled veteran shall be

27 entitled to five standard academic years, or the equivalent of
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1 45 months if enrolled part-time, in any Alabama

2 state-supported institution of higher learning, college, or

3 university, or to a prescribed course at an Alabama

4 state-supported trade school. If the course of training at the

5 trade school does not require the full time to which such

6 child is entitled hereunder, then the remaining entitlement

7 may be taken in a state-supported college or university only,

8 without payment of any tuition, fees, or books. One change of

9 program will be allowed without counseling. Training under

10 this subdivision must be initiated prior to the child's

11 twenty-sixth birthday, and must be completed within eight

12 years after its initiation, except for delays caused by

13 military service during the training period, and in no case

14 may training be received under this section beyond the

15 thirty-fourth birthday of such child.

16 "(b) Except as provided in Section 31-6-11(e), the

17 educational benefits provided by this section to spouses,

18 children, and unmarried widows and widowers making application

19 for benefits for the first time beginning with the fall term

20 of the 2014-2015 academic year, and thereafter, shall be

21 limited to undergraduate courses of study only, and the value

22 of tuition paid shall be limited to the in-state tuition rate

23 of the Alabama state-supported institution of higher learning,

24 college, or university attended.

25 "(c) All applicants for this benefit shall complete

26 a Free Application for Student Financial Aid (FAFSA). The

27 benefits provided under this section shall be available in
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1 addition to federal government benefits only be available

2 after all other federal, state, and third party education

3 benefits have been applied. Any child, spouse, or unmarried

4 widow or widower who was denied full entitlement, 27 or 45

5 months, whichever the case may be, shall have the remainder of

6 their entitlement reinstated under this chapter.

7 "(d) Notwithstanding the provisions of subsection

8 (a) of this section the educational benefit provided to

9 spouses, children, and unmarried widows or widowers making

10 application for benefits for the first time beginning with the

11 fall term of the 2017-2018 academic year, and thereafter,

12 shall be limited to reimbursement at the value of tuition paid

13 equal to the average tuition rate for all institutions within

14 the Alabama Community College System for the first two years

15 of attendance. Subsequent years shall be reimbursed at the

16 value of tuition paid for the in-state tuition rate of the

17 Alabama state institution of higher learning, college, or

18 university attended."

19 "§31-6-9.

20 "The benefits provided under this chapter shall be

21 in addition to any other state or federal benefits to which

22 the wife or children of a disabled veteran or a member of the

23 armed forces who is listed as missing in action or as a

24 prisoner of war or the widow and children of a deceased

25 veteran are entitled shall only be available after all other

26 federal, state and third party education benefits have been

27 applied, to include those federal and state benefits available
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1 after the submission of the Free Application for Student Aid

2 (FAFSA). It is further provided that any wife, widow, or

3 dependent of a veteran who receives benefits under this

4 chapter, and whose benefit period is interrupted due to

5 accident, injury, or illness, shall have the benefit time

6 period which is lost due to such accident, illness, or injury

7 restored to him or her.

8 "§31-6-10.

9 "(a) All applications for benefits accruing under

10 this chapter must be made to the State Department of Veterans'

11 Affairs. The State Service Commissioner, or any official of

12 the department designated by him, is hereby charged with the

13 responsibility and duty of determining the eligibility of each

14 applicant for the benefits under this chapter; provided,

15 however, that such determination of eligibility shall be based

16 upon the findings of the United States Veterans'

17 Administration in addition to other proofs and records

18 required under this chapter. The State Service Commissioner

19 shall cause the State Department of Veterans' Affairs to issue

20 a certificate of eligibility and entitlement in behalf of each

21 applicant who may be determined by him to be entitled to the

22 benefits.

23 "(b) Notwithstanding any other provision of this

24 chapter to the contrary, any veteran having applied for

25 disability benefits prior to October 1, 2017, but having not

26 received final adjudication from either the U.S. Department of

27 Veterans Affairs or the Alabama Department of Veterans Affairs
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1 by that date, their dependents shall remain eligible for the

2 education benefits as described before the amending language

3 of this bill, upon receiving the certifying documentation from

4 the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs or the Alabama

5 Department of Veterans Affairs."

6 "§31-6-11.

7 "(a) Before an application of any veteran for

8 benefits under this chapter can be approved, such veteran

9 shall submit proof, satisfactory to the State Department of

10 Veterans' Affairs, of all of the following:

11 "(1) Identification.

12 "(2) For any veteran entering into service on or

13 before the effective date of this bill, having Having been a

14 permanent resident of the State of Alabama for at least one

15 year immediately prior to his or her entrance into service.

16 For any veteran entering into service on or after the

17 effective date of this bill having been a permanent resident

18 of the State of Alabama for at least three years immediately

19 prior to his or her entrance into service. 

20 "(3) For any veteran entering into service on or

21 after the effective date of this bill be a current resident

22 and must maintain Alabama residency during the duration of the

23 educational benefits.

24 (3) (4) An honorable discharge or other proof of

25 honorable termination of at least 24 months of service in the

26 armed forces, or if such veteran was discharged or released by
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1 reason of service-connected disability then proof of honorable

2 termination of less than 24 months of service is acceptable.

3 "(b) Before the application of a wife, widow, or

4 child of a disabled veteran or a deceased veteran or

5 serviceman for educational benefits under this chapter is

6 approved, proof, satisfactory to the State Department of

7 Veterans' Affairs, must be submitted of all of the following:

8 "(1) Establishing the identification of such wife,

9 widow, or child as the wife, widow, or child of the veteran or

10 serviceman, as the case may be.

11 "(2) For any veteran entering into service on or

12 before the effective date of this bill, proof of Of the

13 veteran or serviceman having been a permanent resident of the

14 State of Alabama for at least one year immediately prior, to

15 his or her entrance into service, or if the applicant is the

16 wife, widow, or child of a totally and permanently disabled

17 veteran, then proof either of the veteran's having been a

18 permanent resident of the State of Alabama for at least one

19 year prior to his or her entrance into service or proof that

20 the veteran has been a bona fide resident of this state for at

21 least five years immediately prior to the filing of the

22 application for benefits under this chapter or immediately

23 prior to his or her death if the veteran is deceased. For any

24 veteran entering into service on or after the effective date

25 of this bill, proof of the veteran or serviceman having been a

26 permanent resident of the State of Alabama for at least three

27 years immediately prior to his or her entrance into service or
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1 proof that the veteran has been a bona fide resident of this

2 state for at least five years immediately prior to the filing

3 of the application for benefits under this chapter.

4 "(3) The spouse, widow(er), or child of a disabled

5 veteran or a deceased veteran or serviceman must be a current

6 resident, and must maintain Alabama residency during the

7 duration of the educational benefits if the sponsoring veteran

8 entered into service after the effective date of this bill.

9 "(3) (4) An honorable discharge or other proof of

10 honorable termination of service of the veteran or serviceman

11 in the armed forces for a period of at least 90 days between

12 the dates mentioned in this chapter, or service of less than

13 90 days if the veteran or serviceman was discharged or

14 released by reason of service-connected disability.

15 "(c) The service upon which any benefits are awarded

16 under this chapter shall have been rendered during wartime or

17 under extrahazardous conditions, except as provided otherwise

18 in this section; and this condition of eligibility shall be

19 established by the State Department of Veterans' Affairs.

20 "(d) The service requirements provided for in

21 subsection (c) shall not apply to any person making

22 application for benefits under this chapter beginning with the

23 fall term of the 2014-2015 academic year, and thereafter.

24 "(e) Notwithstanding any other provision of this

25 chapter to the contrary, any person denied educational

26 benefits provided by this chapter based solely upon the

27 service requirements provided for in subsection (c) shall be
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1 eligible to receive the benefits the person would otherwise

2 have been entitled to had their application been approved at

3 the time of initial application, except as provided otherwise

4 in this subsection. Any age limitation on the benefits

5 provided by this chapter shall be extended in like manner for

6 any such previously denied person to ensure that the person

7 has the opportunity to receive all benefits they would

8 otherwise have been entitled. In order to receive any

9 educational benefits, such previously denied person must

10 reapply for educational benefits with the State Department of

11 Veterans' Affairs and begin use of the educational benefits no

12 later than the fall term of the 2015-2016 academic year. The

13 value of tuition paid for any such previously denied person

14 shall be limited to the in-state tuition rate of the Alabama

15 state institution of higher learning, college, or university

16 attended."

17 "§31-6-16.

18 "Nothing in this chapter shall be construed as

19 lowering the standards or requirements, or as to making any

20 exceptions thereto for entrance into any of the state schools

21 or institutions affected by this chapter. All applicants, in

22 order to obtain the educational benefits of this chapter, must

23 first meet all scholastic and other requirements for entrance

24 into any of the schools coming within the purview of this

25 chapter. All dependents receiving the educational benefits

26 must maintain a 2.0 grade point average while attending any of

27 the state schools or institutions affected by this chapter. If
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1 the dependent fails to maintain a 2.0 grade point average for

2 any completed academic period while receiving the education

3 benefits, the benefits shall be suspended for the succeeding

4 academic period or until such time as the dependent maintains

5 a 2.0 grade point average at the end of the completed academic

6 period."

7 "§31-10-2.

8 "The following words used in this article shall have

9 the meanings as set forth by this section:

10 "(1) ALABAMA NATIONAL GUARD. Federally recognized

11 units of the Alabama National Guard.

12 "(2) ACTIVE MEMBER. A member of a federally

13 recognized unit of the Alabama National Guard meeting the

14 minimum requirements for satisfactory membership as defined in

15 the Department of the Army and Department of the Air Force

16 regulations.

17 "(3) TUITION. The cost of instruction and fees to

18 the student as stated in the institution's catalog, plus the

19 average cost of books and supplies, to a minimum of one

20 hundred dollars ($100) per semester, and not to exceed one

21 thousand dollars ($1,000) per semester after all federal

22 benefits have been applied to the account of the student, for

23 a total amount not exceeding two thousand dollars ($2,000)

24 four thousand eight hundred dollars ($4,800) annually. after

25 all federal benefits have been applied to the account of the

26 student."

27 "§31-10-3.
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1 "The Alabama Commission on Higher Education is

2 hereby authorized to pay or reimburse the tuition for any

3 active member of the Alabama National Guard who is enrolled in

4 a program leading to the associate, baccalaureate, masters, or

5 doctorate degree in an accredited institution of higher

6 learning, technical college, or junior college within the

7 State of Alabama. To be eligible for such benefits, the

8 individual, at the time of his or her enrollment must be a

9 member of the Alabama National Guard in good standing and a

10 member of a federally recognized unit of the Alabama National

11 Guard. The member must be at least 17 years of age and must be

12 a resident of the State of Alabama. The tuition grant

13 authorized under this article may be used for undergraduate or

14 graduate studies. In no event will any individual be eligible

15 to receive more than 100 percent of covered expenses when

16 combined with similar federal veterans' educational benefits

17 available to members of the National Guard. All applicants for

18 a tuition grant shall complete a Free Application for Student

19 Financial Aid (FAFSA). No person shall be eligible for a

20 tuition grant for more than 12 years after the date of the

21 first tuition payment to him or her under this article. For

22 degrees above the baccalaureate, only 10 percent of the total

23 funds of the benefit program are to be utilized. The Alabama

24 Commission on Higher Education shall set up minimum standards

25 for performance that must be met in order to maintain

26 eligibility for the continuation of the receipt of tuition

27 grants under this article."
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1 "§31-10-4.

2 "In order to be eligible to receive tuition grants

3 under this article, the member must meet the following minimum

4 requirements:

5 "(1) Be an active member of the Alabama National

6 Guard and must have completed basic training and advanced

7 individual training.

8 "(2) The member must be a member in good standing

9 with the Alabama National Guard as prescribed by regulations

10 promulgated by the Department of the Army, Department of the

11 Air Force, and the Military Department of the State of

12 Alabama, at the time of application and during the entire

13 semester or quarter for which benefits are received.

14 "(3) In the event the individual's service in the

15 Alabama National Guard is terminated or his or her service

16 becomes unsatisfactory while receiving or for four years after

17 receiving the benefits afforded by this program, the benefits

18 will be terminated and repaid by the individual on a pro rata

19 basis. After termination for the above causes, an individual

20 will be ineligible for any further benefits under this

21 article. If for any reason an individual is dismissed from any

22 school for academic or disciplinary reasons, he is ineligible

23 for further benefits from this program. The Alabama Commission

24 on Higher Education shall be the final authority for making

25 such determinations.

26 "(4) The Alabama Commission on Higher Education of

27 the State of Alabama shall be responsible for the promulgation
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1 of rules and regulations for the administration and

2 implementation of this article including rules and regulations

3 providing for the selection of persons to receive benefits

4 under this article. The Alabama Commission on Higher Education

5 of the State of Alabama shall be the final authority in

6 determining eligible applicants.

7 "(5) The Adjutant General of the State of Alabama

8 shall serve as an advisor to the Alabama Commission on Higher

9 Education for the purpose of determining the eligibility of

10 members of the Alabama National Guard to receive benefits

11 under this article."

12 "§31-10-21.

13 "(a) Any active member of the Alabama National Guard

14 who has successfully completed advanced individual training or

15 commissioning shall be entitled to the tuition benefits

16 provided by this article upon his or her enrollment in a

17 degree objective in any community or junior college that is

18 under the authority of the State Board of Education, or

19 enrollment in pursuit of his or her first undergraduate degree

20 objective in any public college or university within the

21 state. Certification and eligibility for the tuition benefits

22 provided by this article shall be determined by the State

23 Education Services Office of the Alabama National Guard which

24 shall promulgate and implement administrative rules and

25 procedures that it deems necessary to carry out and monitor

26 the tuition benefits provided by this article.
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1 "(b) Any active member of the Alabama National Guard

2 who enrolls utilizing the tuition benefits provided by this

3 article shall complete the requirements for an undergraduate

4 degree no later than 10 years from the date of initial

5 enrollment or the active member shall be responsible for all

6 costs of any further studies required to attain his or her

7 degree. Active member must currently have and maintain an

8 overall C average, or the grade point equivalent thereof, at

9 the end of each term. Failure to do so shall result in the

10 termination of the tuition benefits provided by this article.

11 If a student withdraws, declares academic bankruptcy, or is

12 granted a grade waiver through a forgiveness program, he or

13 she is responsible for paying back that portion of tuition and

14 fees the state paid on his or her behalf.

15 "(c) Each educational institution that enrolls an

16 active member of the Alabama National Guard who is eligible

17 for the tuition benefits provided by this article shall take

18 necessary action to insure that the active member is aware of

19 all benefits that he or she may be entitled to under the

20 Montgomery G.I. Bill, any other VA educational benefits, any

21 student grant or scholarship, the Active Duty Tuition

22 Assistance Program, and the Alabama National Guard Education

23 Assistance Program. In order to receive the tuition benefits

24 provided by this article, the active member of the Alabama

25 National Guard shall take the necessary steps to utilize all

26 of the above benefits."

27 "§31-10-22.
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1 "The tuition benefits provided by this article may

2 be terminated for the following reasons:

3 "(i) Failure to satisfactorily complete the Alabama

4 National Guard military obligation.

5 "(ii) Failure to maintain a 90 percent attendance at

6 annual training and drill assemblies as required by the

7 Alabama National Guard.

8 "(iii) Four unsatisfactory drill performances Unit

9 Training Assemblies in a calendar year while enrolled in the

10 tuition benefits program provided by this article."

11 Section 2. (a) Any member of the Alabama National

12 Guard enrolled in a program leading to a vocational or

13 technical certificate, associate, bachelor, master, or

14 doctoral degree at an accredited public institution of higher

15 education, technical college, or junior college within the

16 State of Alabama shall be exempt from all tuition and fees

17 imposed by the institution if the applicant for the tuition

18 and fees exemption under the act meets the following

19 requirements:

20 (1) The individual is 17 years of age or over.

21 (2) The individual is a member of the Alabama

22 National Guard in good standing throughout the period or

23 semester for which that individual receives education benefits

24 as indicated by continued satisfactory participation in the

25 Alabama National Guard as required by all applicable laws and

26 regulations of the Department of the Army, the Department of
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1 the Air Force, and the Alabama National Guard, and there is no

2 unfavorable administrative action pending against him or her.

3 (b) Any member of the Alabama National Guard

4 enrolled in an institution of higher education and receiving

5 benefits under this program shall maintain an overall grade

6 point average of a 2.0 or above and shall earn a grade no

7 lower than a "C" in any class or course allowed under the act.

8 (c) This exemption shall apply only after all

9 applicable federal and state tuition assistance or aid have

10 been applied to the individual's student account.

11 (d) No public institution of higher education in

12 this state shall impose a nonresident tuition rate or

13 differential out-of-state resident fee on an Alabama National

14 Guard member in good standing and who meets the requirements

15 of subsection (a).

16 (e) All requirements under subsections (a) and (b)

17 shall be met as a condition of obtaining any education

18 assistance benefits under the act and continued eligibility

19 for this exemption.

20 Section 3. (a) The Adjutant General of the Alabama

21 National Guard shall be responsible for administering the

22 overall policies, guidance, implementation, and proper

23 utilization of the exemption under this section.

24 (b) The tuition exemption under this act shall be

25 claimed for no more than a total of 120 academic hours or

26 until the receipt of the first degree for which the exemption

27 is used, whichever comes first.

Page 23



1 (c) Any member of the Alabama National Guard who

2 fails to remain in good standing or is terminated from further

3 service in the Alabama National Guard shall no longer be

4 eligible for exemption benefits under this section and any

5 benefits received by the member for the period, semester, or

6 term in which he or she becomes ineligible shall be repaid by

7 the member to the exempting institution.

8 (d) Any member who is expelled or dismissed by an

9 institution of higher learning that provides exemption

10 benefits under this section to that member shall no longer be

11 eligible for exemption benefits under this section and shall

12 repay all benefits received under this section to the

13 exempting institution.

14 (e) Any member who is disqualified from serving in

15 the Alabama National Guard due solely to medical reasons shall

16 be exempt from repaying any benefits received under this

17 section.

18 Section 4. The Alabama Disabled Veterans' Dependents

19 Education Advisory Committee is hereby created as an appointed

20 group responsible for monitoring and studying the effect of

21 changes in eligibility for dependents of disabled veterans to

22 the cost of the program as administered by the Department of

23 Veterans Affairs, and the progress of dependents of disabled

24 veteran's in attaining their degree objectives while attending

25 institutions under the authority of the Alabama Commission on

26 Higher Education and the Alabama Community College System. The

27 Department of Veterans Affairs and the Alabama Commission on
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1 Higher Education shall provide information and support as

2 required by the committee.

3 Section 5. The committee shall consist of the

4 following members and shall reflect the racial, gender,

5 geographic, urban and rural, and economic diversity of the

6 state: 

7 (1) Two members appointed by the Governor. 

8 (2) One member appointed by the Lieutenant Governor. 

9 (3) One member appointed by the Speaker of the House

10 of Representatives. 

11 (4) One member appointed by the President Pro

12 Tempore of the Senate. 

13 (5) One member appointed by the Chairman of the

14 Senate Finance and Taxation Education Committee. 

15 (6) One member appointed by the Chairman of the

16 House Ways and Means Education Committee. 

17 (7) One member appointed by the Chairman of the

18 Alabama Commission on Higher Education. 

19 (8) One member appointed by the Board of Trustees of

20 the Alabama Community College System.

21 Section 6. The committee shall meet within 30 days

22 after the appointment of the committee membership and

23 establish procedures and other policies necessary to carry on

24 the business of the committee, including the establishment of

25 a quorum. The committee shall meet at least twice a year, but

26 may meet more frequently upon the call of the chair. Members

27 of the committee may participate in a meeting of the committee
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1 by means of conference telephone, video conference, or similar

2 communications equipment by means of which all persons

3 participating in the meeting may hear each other at the same

4 time. Participation by such means shall constitute presence in

5 person at a meeting for all purposes, including the

6 establishment of a quorum.

7 Section 7. Members of the committee shall serve at

8 the pleasure of the official responsible for designating the

9 members, but in no case shall the term of any member exceed

10 four years. Vacancies shall be filled in the manner provided

11 for the original appointments. Persons appointed to fill

12 vacancies shall serve the unexpired portions of the terms.

13 Section 8. The members of the committee shall not

14 receive a salary or per diem allowance for serving as members

15 of the council, and shall not be entitled to reimbursement for

16 expenses incurred in the performance of the duties.

17 Section 9. The committee shall report to the

18 Legislature on its findings and advisory recommendations, by

19 the tenth legislative day of each session.

20 Section 10. This act shall become effective on the

21 first day of the third month following its passage and

22 approval by the Governor, or its otherwise becoming law.
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