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8 SYNOPSIS:         Under existing law, a law enforcement

9 officer may have a motor vehicle towed if the motor

10 vehicle has been unattended on a public street,

11 road, or highway for seven days or more.

12 Also under existing law a person may sell an

13 abandoned motor vehicle at auction under certain

14 conditions.

15 This bill would provide that a motor vehicle

16 left on a public road or on private property,

17 including a vehicle left for repairs, for more than

18 48 hours without consent is deemed an unclaimed

19 motor vehicle, would require that such vehicles be

20 reported to the Department of Revenue, would

21 require a person or entity reporting the vehicle to

22 query the National Motor Vehicle Title Information

23 System (NMVTIS) to determine the title state of

24 record, and would require the department to put a

25 45-day hold on the title record.

26 This bill would further provide for when a

27 law enforcement officer may have a motor vehicle

Page 1



1 towed or removed from a location and would provide

2 limited immunity for law enforcement officers and

3 persons at the direction of law enforcement

4 officers. In addition, the owner or lessee of the

5 motor vehicle on which a motor vehicle has become

6 unclaimed may cause the motor vehicle to be towed

7 to a secure place. The towing company is granted a

8 lien on the vehicle for towing and storage. A law

9 enforcement officer could have the vehicle towed if

10 it is left on a public road for 48 hours, the

11 driver is impaired by an arrest or an accident, or

12 when determined necessary by the officer, or when

13 the vehicle may be impounded for outstanding

14 parking tickets.

15 This bill would further provide for sale of

16 unclaimed and abandoned motor vehicles. 

17 This bill would require notice of the public

18 auction to the Department of Revenue and would

19 provide that pre-sale appeals be heard by the

20 Alabama Tax Tribunal or circuit court, with

21 post-sale appeals heard by the circuit court.

22 This bill would also provide procedures for

23 contesting sales, would further provide for the

24 deduction of certain costs from the proceeds of a

25 sale, and would provide criminal penalties for

26 making fraudulent statements regarding the sale of

27 an abandoned motor vehicle.
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1 Amendment 621 of the Constitution of Alabama

2 of 1901, now appearing as Section 111.05 of the

3 Official Recompilation of the Constitution of

4 Alabama of 1901, as amended, prohibits a general

5 law whose purpose or effect would be to require a

6 new or increased expenditure of local funds from

7 becoming effective with regard to a local

8 governmental entity without enactment by a 2/3 vote

9 unless: it comes within one of a number of

10 specified exceptions; it is approved by the

11 affected entity; or the Legislature appropriates

12 funds, or provides a local source of revenue, to

13 the entity for the purpose.

14 The purpose or effect of this bill would be

15 to require a new or increased expenditure of local

16 funds within the meaning of the amendment. However,

17 the bill does not require approval of a local

18 governmental entity or enactment by a 2/3 vote to

19 become effective because it comes within one of the

20 specified exceptions contained in the amendment.

21  

22 A BILL

23 TO BE ENTITLED

24 AN ACT

25  

26 Relating to unclaimed or abandoned motor vehicles;

27 to amend Sections 32-8-84, 32-13-1, 32-13-2, 32-13-3, 32-13-4,
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1 and 32-13-6, Code of Alabama 1975, to further provide for the

2 titling and sale of certain unclaimed motor vehicles; to

3 provide for notice; to further provide for when a law

4 enforcement officer may remove a motor vehicle from certain

5 locations; to provide limited immunity; to further provide for

6 the titling and sale of abandoned motor vehicles; to provide

7 for pre-sale appeals by the Alabama Tax Tribunal and the

8 circuit court; to provide procedures for contesting sales; to

9 provide for the deduction of certain costs from the proceeds

10 of a sale; to add Sections 32-13-9 and 32-13-10, to the Code

11 of Alabama 1975; to require cooperation of law enforcement in

12 enforcement of the act; to provide criminal penalties for

13 fraudulent statements regarding the sale of an abandoned motor

14 vehicle; and in connection therewith would have as its purpose

15 or effect the requirement of a new or increased expenditure of

16 local funds within the meaning of Amendment 621 of the

17 Constitution of Alabama of 1901, now appearing as Section

18 111.05 of the Official Recompilation of the Constitution of

19 Alabama of 1901, as amended.

20 BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF ALABAMA:

21 Section 1. Sections 32-8-84, 32-13-1, 32-13-2,

22 32-13-3, 32-13-4, and 32-13-6, Code of Alabama 1975, are

23 amended to read as follows:

24 "§32-8-84.

25 "(a) A peace officer who learns of the theft of a

26 vehicle not since recovered or of the recovery of a vehicle

27 whose theft or conversion he knows or has reason to believe
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1 has been reported to the department shall forthwith report the

2 theft or recovery to the department. The following shall be

3 considered an unclaimed motor vehicle:

4 "(1) A motor vehicle left unattended on a public

5 road or highway for more than 48 hours.

6 "(2) A motor vehicle, not left on private property

7 for repairs, that has remained on other private or public

8 property for a period of more than 48 hours without the

9 consent of the owner or lessee of the property.

10 "(3) A motor vehicle, left on private property for

11 repairs, that has not been reclaimed within 48 hours from the

12 later of either the date the repairs were completed or the

13 agreed upon redemption date.

14 "(b) An owner or a lienholder may report the theft

15 of a vehicle, or its conversion if a crime, to the department,

16 but the department may disregard the report of a conversion

17 unless a warrant has been issued for the arrest of a person

18 charged with the conversion. A person who has so reported the

19 theft or conversion of a vehicle shall, forthwith after

20 learning of its recovery, report the recovery to the

21 department. A person or entity in possession of an unclaimed

22 motor vehicle shall report the motor vehicle as unclaimed to

23 the Department of Revenue within five calendar days from the

24 date the motor vehicle first was considered unclaimed. The

25 report shall be made in a manner as prescribed by the

26 department.
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1 "(c)(1) An operator of a place of business for

2 garaging, repairing, parking or storing vehicles for the

3 public, in which a vehicle remains unclaimed for a period of

4 30 days, shall, within 30 days after the expiration of that

5 period, report the vehicle as unclaimed to the department.

6 Such report shall be on a form prescribed by the department.

7 Upon receiving notice as required in subsection (b), the

8 department shall place a 45-calendar day hold on the title

9 record and no title shall be issued during that time period

10 unless the title transaction occurred prior to the date the

11 motor vehicle was deemed unclaimed or the motor vehicle was

12 returned to the recorded owner or lienholder of record, if

13 any.

14 "(2) If the motor vehicle was returned to the

15 recorded owner or lienholder of record prior to the conclusion

16 of the 45-calendar day hold period on the title record, the

17 person or entity who reported the motor vehicle as unclaimed

18 shall report the return of the motor vehicle within five

19 calendar days in a manner as prescribed by the department.

20 "A vehicle left by its owner whose name and address

21 are known to the operator or his employee is not considered

22 unclaimed. A person who fails to report a vehicle as unclaimed

23 in accordance with this subsection forfeits all claims and

24 liens for its garaging, repairing, parking or storing and is

25 guilty of a misdemeanor punishable by a fine of not more than

26 $100.00.
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1 "(d)(1) A person or entity in possession of an

2 unclaimed motor vehicle, upon reporting the motor vehicle as

3 unclaimed to the department, shall utilize the National Motor

4 Vehicle Title Information System (NMVTIS) to determine the

5 current title state of record or, if no current title exists

6 for the motor vehicle, the most recent state of registration

7 for the motor vehicle. Thereafter, the person or entity shall

8 submit a records request to the state of record within five

9 calendar days from the date the motor vehicle was reported as

10 unclaimed to the department.

11 "(2) The records request shall be sent to the

12 current title state of record in order to obtain the name and

13 address of the owner or lienholder of record, if any. If no

14 current title exists, the records request shall be sent to the

15 most recent state of registration in order to obtain the name

16 and address of the owner.

17 "(3)a. In the event that no NMVTIS record exists and

18 there is evidence that could be reasonably ascertained by the

19 person or entity indicating that the motor vehicle has been

20 registered in another state, the person or entity, within five

21 calendar days from the date the motor vehicle was reported as

22 unclaimed to the department, shall submit a records request to

23 the state of registration in order to obtain the name and

24 address of the owner. Thereafter, the person or entity shall

25 send notice by certified mail with either return receipt

26 requested or electronic delivery or confirmation, within five

27 calendar days from receipt of the title or registration
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1 record, to the owner and lienholder of record, if any,

2 advising the owner and lienholder of record of the location of

3 the motor vehicle, normal business hours of the facility

4 holding the motor vehicle, any accrued charges or fees, the

5 daily storage rate, and the mailing address and contact

6 telephone number of the person or entity in possession of the

7 motor vehicle.

8 "b. The notice required in paragraph a. shall

9 include the following language in no smaller than 10 point

10 type: "If this motor vehicle is not redeemed by the recorded

11 owner or lienholder of record within 30 calendar days from the

12 date of this notice, the motor vehicle shall be considered

13 abandoned as defined in Section 32-13-1, Code of Alabama 1975.

14 The motor vehicle may then be sold pursuant to the provisions

15 of the Alabama Abandoned Motor Vehicle Act as provided for in

16 Title 32, Chapter 13, Code of Alabama 1975."

17 "(4) A person who fails to report a motor vehicle as

18 unclaimed or fails to notify the owner and lienholder of

19 record, if any, in accordance with this subsection shall

20 forfeit all claims and liens for the motor vehicle's garaging,

21 parking, and storage prior to the time the motor vehicle is

22 reported as unclaimed; provided, however, failure to report

23 shall not result in the forfeiture of claims and liens for the

24 towing and repair of a motor vehicle.

25 "(d) (e)(1) The department shall maintain and

26 appropriately index weekly cumulative public records of

27 stolen, converted, recovered and unclaimed vehicles reported
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1 to it pursuant to this section. The department may make and

2 distribute weekly provide lists of the vehicle identification

3 numbers for such motor vehicles so reported to it to peace

4 officers upon request without fee and to others for the fee,

5 if any, in a manner as the department prescribes.

6 "(2) The department shall provide notice of

7 unclaimed motor vehicles to law enforcement.

8 "(3) Notice shall also be provided to the person or

9 entity who reported the motor vehicle as unclaimed if it has

10 been reported as stolen to law enforcement.

11 "(e) (f)(1) The department may suspend the

12 registration of a vehicle whose theft or conversion is

13 reported to it pursuant to this section;. until Until the

14 department learns of its recovery or that the report of its

15 theft or conversion was erroneous, it shall not issue a

16 certificate of title for the vehicle. 

17 "(2) A title shall be issued by the department in

18 the name of an insurance company on a vehicle that is reported

19 stolen when a settlement between the insured and his or her

20 insurance company has occurred. The title shall be issued

21 electronically in the name of the insurance company until the

22 vehicle has been recovered, and, if recovered, the title may

23 be issued in paper form.

24 "§32-13-1.

25 "For the purposes of this chapter, an abandoned

26 motor vehicle shall mean a motor vehicle as defined in Section

27 32-8-2 the following terms shall have the following meanings:
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1 "(1) Which has been left by the owner, or some

2 person acting for the owner, with an automobile dealer,

3 repairman, or wrecker service for repair or for some other

4 reason and has not been called for by the owner or other

5 person within a period of 60 days after the time agreed upon

6 and within 60 days after the vehicle is turned over to a

7 dealer, repairman, or wrecker service when no time is agreed

8 upon, or within 60 days after the completion of necessary

9 repairs.

10 "(2) Which is left unattended on a public street,

11 road, or highway or other public property for a period of at

12 least seven days; or which is unattended because the driver of

13 the vehicle has been arrested or is impaired by an accident

14 which causes the need for the vehicle to be immediately

15 removed as determined necessary by the law enforcement

16 officer, or which is subject to an impoundment order for

17 outstanding traffic or parking violations; or left unattended

18 continuously for at least seven days in a business district or

19 a residence district; or if left unattended in a business

20 district that has at least one posted notice in an open and

21 conspicuous place indicating that there is a time limitation

22 on the length of time a motor vehicle may remain parked in the

23 district and the motor vehicle remains unattended for a period

24 of time in excess of that posted on the notice; or left

25 unattended in a business district or residence district that

26 has at least one posted notice indicating that only authorized

27 motor vehicles may park in that district and the owner of the
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1 motor vehicle or his or her agent has not received the

2 required authority prior to leaving the motor vehicle

3 unattended; or left unattended on a private road or driveway

4 without the express or implied permission of the owner or

5 lessee of the driveway or their agent. A posted notice when

6 required by this chapter shall meet the following

7 specifications:

8 "a. The notice shall be prominently placed at each

9 driveway access or curb cut allowing vehicular access to the

10 property, within five feet from the public right-of-way line.

11 If there are no curbs or access barriers, the signs must be

12 posted not less than one sign each 25 feet of lot frontage.

13 "b. The notice shall clearly indicate, in not less

14 than two-inch high light-reflective letters on a contrasting

15 background, that unauthorized vehicles will be towed away at

16 the owner's expense. The words "tow away zone" shall be

17 included on the sign in not less than four-inch high letters.

18 "c. The notice shall also provide the name and

19 current telephone number of the person or firm towing or

20 removing the vehicles, if the property owner, lessor, or

21 person in control of the property has a written contract with

22 a wrecker service.

23 "d. The sign structure containing the required

24 notices shall be permanently installed with the bottom of the

25 sign not less than four feet above ground level, and be

26 continuously maintained on the property for not less than 24

27 hours prior to the towing or removal of any vehicles.
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1 "(3) Which has been lawfully towed onto the property

2 of another at the written request of a law enforcement officer

3 and left there for a period of not less than 60 days without

4 anyone having made claim thereto.

5 "(4) Which has been abandoned, has an expired

6 license plate, or is inoperable in a parking area on private

7 property maintained by the property owner or his or her agent

8 for use by his or her tenants, residents, or their guests. A

9 vehicle shall be defined as abandoned or inoperable under this

10 subdivision if it has an expired license plate or has remained

11 in the same parking lot for a period of 30 days or more. To

12 bring a vehicle within the provisions of this subdivision, the

13 property owner or his or her agent shall post a dated notice

14 in a conspicuous place on the vehicle in question stating:

15 "a. That the vehicle has been determined to be

16 abandoned or inoperable and will be removed at the direction

17 of the property owner or his or her agent upon the expiration

18 of seven days from the date of the notice.

19 "b. The name and address of the last registered

20 owner of the vehicle in question and the name and address of

21 the property owner or his or her agent and a daytime phone

22 number for the person giving the notice.

23 "A copy of the notice shall be mailed by regular

24 mail to the last known address of the registered owner, if

25 ascertainable, on the date of posting or not later than the

26 next business day. Calculation of the seven-day notice period
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1 shall commence on the date of posting of the notice on the

2 vehicle.

3 "(1) ABANDONED MOTOR VEHICLE. A motor vehicle as

4 defined in Section 32-8-2, that has been unclaimed as provided

5 in Section 32-8-84 for not less than 30 calendar days from the

6 date the notice was sent to the owner and lienholder of

7 record, or if no owner or lienholder of record could be

8 determined, has been unclaimed for not less than 30 calendar

9 days. The term "abandoned motor vehicle" also includes any

10 attached aftermarket equipment installed on the motor vehicle

11 that replaced factory installed equipment.

12 "(2) DEPARTMENT. The Department of Revenue.

13 "§32-13-2.

14 "(a) Any A law enforcement officer who finds a motor

15 vehicle which has been left unattended on a public street,

16 road, or highway or other property for a period of at least

17 seven days, or which is unattended because the driver of the

18 vehicle has been arrested or is impaired by an accident or for

19 any other reason which causes the need for the vehicle to be

20 immediately removed as determined necessary by the law

21 enforcement officer, or which is subject to an impoundment

22 order for outstanding traffic or parking violations, may cause

23 the a motor vehicle to be removed to the nearest garage or

24 other place of safety. under any of the following

25 circumstances:
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1 "(1) The motor vehicle is left unattended on a

2 public street, road, or highway or other property for a period

3 of at least 48 hours.

4 "(2) The motor vehicle is left unattended because

5 the driver of the vehicle has been arrested or is impaired by

6 an accident or for any other reason which causes the need for

7 the vehicle to be immediately removed as determined necessary

8 by the law enforcement officer.

9 "(3) The motor vehicle is subject to an impoundment

10 order for outstanding traffic or parking violations.

11 (b)(1) Any A law enforcement officer who, pursuant

12 to this section, causes any motor vehicle to be removed to a

13 garage or other place of safety shall be liable for gross

14 negligence only. 

15 "and any (2) A person removing the a motor vehicle

16 or other property at the direction of a law enforcement

17 officer in accordance with this section shall have a lien on

18 the motor vehicle for a reasonable fee for the removal and for

19 the storage of the motor vehicle.

20 "(c) Any A law enforcement officer who under this

21 section causes the removal of any motor vehicle to a garage or

22 other place of safety shall pursuant to this section, within

23 five calendar days, shall give written notice of the removal,

24 which. The notice shall include a complete description of the

25 motor vehicle serial identification number and license number

26 thereof, provided the information is available, to both the
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1 Secretary of State and the Department of Public Safety the

2 Alabama Law Enforcement Agency.

3 "(d) The An owner or lessee of real property or

4 their his or her agent, upon which an abandoned a motor

5 vehicle as defined in Section 32-13-1 has become abandoned

6 unclaimed, as provided for in Section 32-8-84 may cause the

7 abandoned motor vehicle to be removed to a secure place. Any

8 person or entity removing the vehicle at the direction of the

9 owner or lessee of the real property or their his or her agent

10 who pursuant to this section shall cause the abandoned motor

11 vehicle to be removed from their real property shall, within

12 24 hours of the removal, give written notice to the county or

13 municipal law enforcement agency in whose jurisdiction the

14 abandoned motor vehicle was situated. Any person or

15 corporation removing the vehicle or other property at the

16 direction of the owner or lessee of real property or their

17 agent in accordance with this section shall have a lien on the

18 motor vehicle for a reasonable fee for the removal and for

19 storage of the motor vehicle.

20 "(e) The An owner or lessee or agent of the real

21 property owner, lien holder, and the towing agent or wrecker

22 service employed shall be liable to the owner or party in

23 possession of the vehicle lienholder of record for action

24 taken under this section only for gross negligence under this

25 section.

26 "§32-13-3.
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1 "(a)(1) Any automobile dealer, wrecker service or

2 repair service owner, or any person, firm, or governmental

3 entity on whose property a motor vehicle is lawfully towed at

4 the written request of a law enforcement officer, or the owner

5 or lessee of real property, or his or her agent upon which an

6 abandoned motor vehicle as defined in subdivision (1), (3), or

7 (4) of Section 32-13-1 has become abandoned, and who has the

8 abandoned motor vehicle as defined in subdivision (1), (3), or

9 (4) of Section 32-13-1 on his or her property, may sell the

10 motor vehicle at public auction A person or entity in

11 possession of a motor vehicle that is considered an abandoned

12 motor vehicle may sell the motor vehicle at a public auction.

13 "(2) Any person, firm, or governmental entity on

14 whose property an abandoned motor vehicle as defined in

15 subdivision (2) of Section 32-13-1 has been lawfully towed, or

16 the owner or lessee of real property or his or her agent upon

17 which an abandoned motor vehicle as defined in subdivision (2)

18 of Section 32-13-1 has become abandoned, and who has the

19 abandoned motor vehicle as defined in subdivision (2) of

20 Section 32-13-1 on his or her property, except motor vehicles

21 which have been claimed within seven days after being towed,

22 and who has notified or attempted to notify by certified mail,

23 return receipt requested, the current owners, registrants, and

24 lienholders of record, if any, after the abandoned motor

25 vehicle was lawfully towed onto his or her property, may, 60

26 days after the abandoned vehicle was lawfully towed, sell the

27 motor vehicle at public auction. In addition, if notice was
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1 not given or attempted to be given as provided herein to the

2 current owners, registrants, secured parties, and lienholders

3 of record, if any, for the motor vehicle, no additional

4 storage charges may be added after 30 days.

5 "(3) The person, firm, or governmental entity giving

6 notice under this section shall obtain from the Department of

7 Revenue in writing, a statement, form, or document listing the

8 name and address of the current owners, registrants, secured

9 parties, and lienholders of record, if any, for the motor

10 vehicle or a statement, form, or document that the department

11 has no information of record concerning the current owners,

12 registrants, secured parties, and lienholders of record for

13 the motor vehicle. The actual cost of giving notification, not

14 to exceed twenty-five dollars ($25), plus the actual cost of

15 the records request, which shall be properly documented to the

16 current owners, registrants, secured parties, and lienholders

17 of record, if any, for the motor vehicle shall be paid by the

18 person, firm, or governmental entity holding the motor

19 vehicle, but shall be paid by the current owners, registrants,

20 secured parties, and lienholders of record, if any, for the

21 motor vehicle on or before claiming the motor vehicle. The

22 return of a certified letter unclaimed or equivalent

23 documentation as determined by the department shall be proof

24 of an attempt to give notice as required by this subsection.

25 "(b)(1) Notice of the date, time, and place of the

26 sale and a description of the motor vehicle to be sold,

27 including the year, make, model, and vehicle identification
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1 number, shall be given by publication once a week for two

2 successive weeks in a newspaper of general circulation in the

3 county in which the sale is to be held. In counties in which

4 no newspaper is published, notice shall be given by posting

5 such notice in a conspicuous place at the courthouse. The

6 first publication or posting, as the case may be, shall be at

7 least 30 days before the date of sale. A person or entity

8 selling a motor vehicle at public auction under subsection (a)

9 shall give notice of the public auction to the department at

10 least 35 calendar days prior to date of the public auction. 

11 "(2) The notice of public auction shall be in a

12 manner as prescribed by the department and shall include all

13 of the following:

14 "a. The name and address of the current owner and

15 lienholder of record, if any, as reflected on the current

16 title or registration record of state.

17 "b. The contact information for the person or entity

18 filing the notice.

19 "c. The motor vehicle's identification number, year,

20 make, and model.

21 "d. The date, time, and location of the auction.

22 "(3) The auction shall occur where the vehicle is

23 located. The department, within five calendar days of receipt

24 of the notice of public auction, shall send a motor vehicle

25 interest termination notice to the current owner and

26 lienholder of record, if any, as disclosed on the notice of

27 public auction. The motor vehicle interest termination notice
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1 shall advise the owner and lienholder of record that their

2 interest in the motor vehicle, upon its sale, will be

3 terminated pursuant to this chapter, and personal property and

4 items contained in the motor vehicle will be disposed of in a

5 manner determined by the person or entity conducting the sale.

6 "(4) The notice shall include all the information

7 provided in the notice of public auction as well as the owner

8 or other interested party's appeal rights, pursuant to

9 Sections 32-13-4 and 40-2A-8, to contest the proposed sale of

10 the motor vehicle.

11 "(c)(1) Upon payment of the sales price, the

12 purchaser of the abandoned motor vehicle shall be entitled to,

13 and the person, firm, or governmental entity making the sale

14 shall issue, a bill of sale, in a form as prescribed by the

15 Department of Revenue, to for the abandoned motor vehicle,

16 free and clear of all liens, security interests, and

17 encumbrances, in a form as prescribed by the department. 

18 "(2) Each person or entity who sells a motor vehicle

19 pursuant to this chapter, for three years from the date of the

20 sale, shall maintain all of the following:

21 "a. Copies of the notices sent pursuant to

22 subsection (d) of Section 32-8-84, to the previous motor

23 vehicle owner and lienholder of record, along with evidence

24 that the notices were sent by certified mail.

25 "b. Any associated National Motor Vehicle Title

26 Information System (NMVTIS) records and owner and lienholder
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1 records received from any state pursuant to subsection (d) of

2 Section 32-8-84.

3 "c. Any other records as required by the department.

4 "(3) Notwithstanding the foregoing any other

5 provision in this section, if the person, firm, or

6 governmental entity making the sale of the motor vehicle

7 failed to provide notice proper notices as required in

8 subsection (d) of Section 32-8-84, or this chapter, or did not

9 attempt to provide notice to the current owners, registrants,

10 secured parties, and lienholders of record, if any, for the

11 motor vehicle in the manner required herein, then the sale of

12 the abandoned vehicle shall be void and the current owners,

13 registrants, secured parties, and lienholders of record, if

14 any, for the motor vehicle shall retain their ownership,

15 security interests, liens, and interests in the motor vehicle.

16 "(d)(1) Each purchaser of an abandoned motor vehicle

17 subject to titling shall make an application for a certificate

18 of title unless the motor vehicle is being sold by the

19 purchaser to a licensed automotive dismantler and parts

20 recycler or secondary metals recycler for the purpose of

21 dismantling it or recycling it into metallic scrap for

22 remelting purposes.

23 "(2) A purchaser of an abandoned motor vehicle who

24 sells an abandoned motor vehicle to a licensed automotive

25 dismantler and parts recycler or secondary metals recycler, in

26 lieu of surrendering the certificate of title as prescribed in

27 Section 32-8-87(s)(1), may surrender the bill of sale for the
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1 abandoned motor vehicle to the licensed automotive dismantler

2 and parts recycler or secondary metals recycler. The licensed

3 automotive dismantler and parts recycler or secondary parts

4 recycler shall then proceed with the notice of cancellation

5 procedures as prescribed in Section 32-8-87(s)(1) utilizing

6 the bill of sale in lieu of the certificate of title. The bill

7 of sale shall be subject to the same records retention

8 requirements as those prescribed in Section 32-8-87(s)(1) for

9 a certificate of title.

10 "(e)(1) If the current certificate of title to a

11 motor vehicle sold pursuant to this chapter is designated a

12 salvage certificate of title, or if the records of the

13 department indicate an application for a salvage certificate

14 of title has previously been received, the new certificate of

15 title issued by the department shall also be a salvage

16 certificate of title.

17 "(2) The purchaser of a salvage abandoned motor

18 vehicle may not register the vehicle or operate it upon the

19 highways of this state until such time as the vehicle is

20 restored by a licensed rebuilder and inspected by the

21 department as required by Section 32-8-87 and a rebuilt

22 Alabama certificate of title is issued.

23 "§32-13-4.

24 "(a) Any automobile dealer, wrecker service, or

25 repair service owner, or any person, firm, or governmental

26 entity on whose property a motor vehicle is lawfully towed at

27 the written request of a law enforcement officer, or the owner
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1 or lessee of real property or his or her agent upon which an

2 abandoned motor vehicle as defined in Section 32-13-1 has

3 become abandoned, shall give written notice to the current

4 owners, registrants, secured parties, and lienholders of

5 record, if any, for the motor vehicle at least 30 days prior

6 to the date of the sale of the motor vehicle advising of all

7 of the following items of information:

8 "(1) The complete description of the motor vehicle

9 and the date and place the motor vehicle was found or taken

10 into possession.

11 "(2) The approximate amount owed for the cost of

12 repair, towing, and storage of the motor vehicle.

13 "(3) The location of storage of the motor vehicle.

14 "(4) The date, time, and place that a sale of the

15 motor vehicle will be held.

16 "(5) The right of the current owners, registrants,

17 secured parties, and lienholders of record, if any, for the of

18 a motor vehicle, prior to the sale, may to contest the right

19 to sell such sale of the motor vehicle pursuant to this

20 chapter by the filing within 10 days before the scheduled date

21 of the sale of the motor vehicle of an application for hearing

22 to be conducted before the judge of a notice of appeal with

23 the Alabama Tax Tribunal pursuant to subsection (a) of Section

24 40-2A-8, or in the circuit court of in the county in which

25 where the sale is to be held scheduled to occur. The

26 application for hearing shall be on such a form as may be

27 prescribed by the Administrative Office of Courts. The notice
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1 required by this section shall be deemed to be given when sent

2 by certified mail, postage prepaid, to the address of the

3 current owners, registrants, secured parties, and lienholders

4 of record, if any, for the motor vehicle, shown on any public

5 filing evidencing such ownership, security interest, lien, or

6 interest, or, if none, to any such address ascertained by

7 reasonable effort. The person, firm, or governmental entity

8 giving notice under this section shall obtain from the

9 department in writing, a statement, form, or document listing

10 the name and address of the current owners, registrants,

11 secured parties, and lienholders of record, if any, for the

12 motor vehicle or a statement, form, or document that the

13 department has no information of record concerning the current

14 owners, registrants, secured parties, or lienholders of

15 record, if any, for the motor vehicle.

16 "(b)(1) If the names or addresses, or both, of the

17 current owners, registrants, secured parties, and lienholders

18 of record, if any, for the motor vehicle are unknown or cannot

19 be reasonably ascertained, then the notice requirements set

20 forth in subsection (b) of Section 32-13-3 are applicable.

21 "(c) If no application for hearing is timely made by

22 the current owners, registrants, secured parties, or

23 lienholders of record, if any, for the motor vehicle, the

24 motor vehicle may be sold at the time and place designated in

25 the notice of sale and any personal property or items

26 contained in the vehicle may be disposed of in a manner

27 determined by the person or entity conducting the sale. 
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1 "(2) If application for a hearing is timely made by

2 the current owners, registrants, secured parties, or

3 lienholders of record, if any, for the motor vehicle, then all

4 such persons parties shall be joined as parties and provided

5 notice by the Alabama Tax Tribunal or the judge of the circuit

6 court. in the county where the sale occurred The Alabama Tax

7 Tribunal or circuit court shall conduct a hearing to determine

8 if the motor vehicle is an abandoned motor vehicle as defined

9 by this chapter and should be sold in the manner prescribed

10 herein whether proper notices were provided pursuant to

11 subsection (d) of Section 32-8-84 and this chapter. The motor

12 vehicle shall not be sold pending the decision by the Alabama

13 Tax Tribunal or circuit court judge. 

14 "(3) If the tribunal or circuit court judge

15 determines that the motor vehicle is was abandoned and should

16 be sold that proper notice or notices were issued, the motor

17 vehicle may be sold as an abandoned motor vehicle after notice

18 of the date and place of the sale is given by newspaper

19 publication as prescribed in Section 32-13-3.

20 "(4) Any contest regarding the sale of an abandoned

21 motor vehicle, after the sale has occurred, shall be filed in

22 the circuit court in the county where the sale occurred. Any

23 contest regarding the reasonable cost of repair, towing,

24 storage, and all reasonable expenses incurred in connection

25 with the sale shall be filed in the circuit court in the

26 county where the sale is scheduled or has occurred.

27 "§32-13-6.
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1 "(a) The A person or firm, other than a governmental

2 entity, making the sale of the motor vehicle shall deduct from

3 the proceeds of such the sale the reasonable cost of repair,

4 towing, storage, and all reasonable expenses incurred in

5 connection with such the sale, and. The person or entity shall

6 also pay the balance remaining to the license plate issuing

7 official of the county in which such sale is made to be

8 distributed to the general fund of the county; provided, that

9 such costs shall in no event exceed the customary charges for

10 like services in the community where the sale is made. Any

11 contest regarding the sale of the abandoned motor vehicle

12 shall be filed in the circuit court in the county where the

13 sale occurred.

14 "(b) The person or entity making the sale shall

15 attach to the bill of sale either:

16 "(1) The statement, form, or document from the

17 Department of Revenue identifying the current owners, secured

18 parties, lienholders of record, if any, of the motor vehicle,

19 or other parties with a known interest in the motor vehicle,

20 and the certified mail return receipts or equivalent

21 documentation as determined by the department proving that

22 notice of the sale was given, or was attempted to be given, to

23 the current owners, secured parties, lienholders of record, if

24 any, or parties known to have an interest in the motor

25 vehicle, as required by subsection (a) of Section 32-13-4.

26 "(2) The statement, form, or other document from the

27 department indicating that it has no record of the current
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1 owners, secured parties, or lienholders of record, if any, for

2 the motor vehicle, or parties known to have an interest in the

3 motor vehicle.

4 "The department shall not issue a title for the

5 motor vehicle unless the statement, form, or document from the

6 department identifying the current owners, secured parties,

7 lienholders of record, if any, for the motor vehicle, or

8 parties known to have an interest in the motor vehicle, or

9 stating that the department has no information of record and a

10 notarized affidavit from the seller attesting to the fact that

11 the seller gave notice, or attempted to give notice, as

12 required by Section 32-13-4, are submitted to the department.

13 "(c) If the current certificate of title to a motor

14 vehicle sold pursuant to this chapter is designated a salvage

15 certificate of title, or if the records of the department

16 indicate an application for a salvage certificate of title has

17 previously been received, the new certificate of title issued

18 by the department shall also be a salvage certificate of

19 title. The purchaser of a salvage abandoned motor vehicle

20 shall not be permitted to register the vehicle or to operate

21 it upon the highways of Alabama until such time as the vehicle

22 is restored by a licensed rebuilder and inspected by the

23 department as required by Section 32-8-87 and a rebuilt

24 Alabama certificate of title is issued."

25 Section 2. Sections 32-13-9 and 32-13-10 are added

26 to the Code of Alabama 1975, to read as follows:

27 §32-13-9.

Page 26



1 The department shall administer this chapter and may

2 call upon any law enforcement agency and officer of this state

3 for assistance as it may deem necessary in order to ensure

4 enforcement. Law enforcement agencies and officers shall

5 render assistance to the department as requested.

6 §32-13-10.

7 (a) A person, with fraudulent intent, may not make a

8 material false statement regarding the sale of an abandoned

9 motor vehicle.

10 (b) A person in violation of subsection (a) commits

11 a Class C felony.

12 (c) A person, whether present or absent, who aids,

13 abets, induces, procures, or causes the commission of an act

14 in violation of subsection (a) commits a Class C felony.

15 Section 3. All laws or parts of laws which conflict

16 with this act are hereby repealed to the extent they conflict

17 with this act. 

18 Section 4. Although this bill would have as its

19 purpose or effect the requirement of a new or increased

20 expenditure of local funds, the bill is excluded from further

21 requirements and application under Amendment 621, now

22 appearing as Section 111.05 of the Official Recompilation of

23 the Constitution of Alabama of 1901, as amended, because the

24 bill defines a new crime or amends the definition of an

25 existing crime.
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1 Section 5. This act shall become effective on July

2 1, 2016, following its passage and approval by the Governor,

3 or upon its otherwise becoming law.
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