- 1 SJR20
- 2 148281-1
- 3 By Senators Coleman, Dunn, Figures, Irons, Waggoner, Pittman,
- 4 Marsh, Orr, Beasley, Beason, Smitherman, Singleton, Ross,
- 5 Allen, Bedford, Blackwell, Brewbaker, Bussman, Dial, Fielding,
- 6 Glover, Holley, Holtzclaw, Keahey, McGill, Reed, Sanders,
- 7 Sanford, Scofield, Smith, Taylor, Ward, Whatley, and Williams
- 8 RFD:
- 9 First Read: 12-FEB-13

1	148281-1:n:02/07/2013:JMW/jmw LRS2013-729
2	
3	
4	
5	
6	
7	
8	RECOGNIZING THE 21ST ANNUAL DELTA DAY AT THE ALABAMA
9	STATE CAPITOL ON TUESDAY, FEBRUARY 19, 2013, AND COMMENDING
10	DELTA SIGMA THETA SORORITY, INCORPORATED.
11	
12	WHEREAS, it is with great pleasure that we recognize
13	Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Incorporated, on the observance of
14	the 21st Annual Delta Day on Tuesday, February 19, 2013, at
15	the Alabama State Capitol; and
16	WHEREAS, a sisterhood founded on January 13, 1913,
17	by 22 collegiate women at Howard University, Delta Sigma Theta
18	Sorority now has grown to a membership of more than 250,000
19	women, predominantly Black and college-educated, in more than
20	1,000 chapters throughout the United States and abroad; and
21	WHEREAS, Delta Sigma Theta Sorority follows a
22	national Five Point Program: Economic Development, Educational
23	Development, International Awareness and Involvement, Physical
24	and Mental Health, and Political Awareness and Involvement;
25	the sorority promotes academic excellence, provides
26	scholarships, and encourages positive public policy; and

WHEREAS, the State of Alabama is proud to recognize Delta Sigma Theta Sorority members who serve or served in the Alabama Legislature: Senator Linda Coleman and former Senator Sundra Escott; Representatives Laura Hall, Merika Coleman, Mary Moore, Pebblin Warren, and the late Dr. Yvonne Kennedy, who was the 19th National President; we also honor additional Delta Sigma Theta members: the late national Congresswomen of distinction, Shirley Chisholm, Barbara Jordan, and Stephanie Tubbs Jones; as well as Dr. Regina Benjamin, an Alabama native nominated on July 13, 2009, to serve as the United States Surgeon General, who was unanimously confirmed by the United States Senate on October 29, 2009; and Reverend Gwendolyn E. Boyd, 22nd National President, a native Alabamian and member of the Board of Trustees of the Barry Goldwater Scholarship and Excellence in Education Foundation, nominee of President Barack Obama; and

1

2

3

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

24

25

26

27

WHEREAS, an organization characterized by membership bonding, mutual support, and public interest, Delta Sigma

Theta Sorority has been of significant benefit to young women and their communities through the years; the State of Alabama is proud to recognize the organization's significant contributions to educational, civic, and social advancement; now therefore,

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF ALABAMA, BOTH HOUSES THEREOF CONCURRING, That Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Incorporated, is most highly commended on the occasion of Delta Day on Tuesday, February 19, 2013, at the Alabama State

- Capitol, and we offer this resolution for presentation to
- 2 Cheryl W. Turner, Southern Regional Director, and for
- 3 appropriate display, with our sincere best wishes for all
- 4 future endeavors.