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8 SYNOPSIS:         Under existing law, a person is required to

9 obtain a driver's license before driving a motor

10 vehicle upon the highways of this state and is

11 prohibited from driving if his or her license has

12 been cancelled, denied, suspended, or revoked.

13 Under existing law, a person who is arrested

14 for a violation of traffic laws that is punishable

15 as a misdemeanor is issued a summons and is

16 notified in writing or by an electronic traffic

17 ticket or e-ticket to appear before a court at a

18 specified time and place.

19 This bill would provide that a person who

20 fails to obtain a driver's license before driving

21 or who drives with a cancelled, denied, suspended,

22 or revoked driver's license may be subject to

23 custodial arrest, and would require that the

24 person's driver's license be revoked for an

25 additional six months if the person was driving

26 with a cancelled, suspended, or revoked license.
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1 The bill would increase the minimum fine for

2 driving with a cancelled, denied, suspended, or

3 revoked license from one hundred dollars ($100) to

4 two hundred dollars ($200).

5 This bill would also provide for a

6 determination of negligence when a driver is

7 involved in an accident while driving without a

8 license or with a suspended or revoked license and

9 would provide for restitution to injured parties in

10 certain cases.

11 Amendment 621 of the Constitution of Alabama

12 of 1901, now appearing as Section 111.05 of the

13 Official Recompilation of the Constitution of

14 Alabama of 1901, as amended, prohibits a general

15 law whose purpose or effect would be to require a

16 new or increased expenditure of local funds from

17 becoming effective with regard to a local

18 governmental entity without enactment by a 2/3 vote

19 unless: it comes within one of a number of

20 specified exceptions; it is approved by the

21 affected entity; or the Legislature appropriates

22 funds, or provides a local source of revenue, to

23 the entity for the purpose.

24 The purpose or effect of this bill would be

25 to require a new or increased expenditure of local

26 funds within the meaning of the amendment. However,

27 the bill does not require approval of a local
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1 governmental entity or enactment by a 2/3 vote to

2 become effective because it comes within one of the

3 specified exceptions contained in the amendment.

4  

5 A BILL

6 TO BE ENTITLED

7 AN ACT

8  

9 Relating to driver's licenses; to amend Section

10 32-6-19, Code of Alabama 1975, to require the Director of

11 Public Safety to revoke the driver's license of a person

12 driving with a cancelled, suspended, or revoked license for an

13 additional six months; to provide that a person who fails to

14 obtain a driver's license before driving or who drives with a

15 cancelled, denied, suspended, or revoked license may be

16 subject to custodial arrest; to increase fines; to provide for

17 a determination of negligence in certain cases; to provide for

18 restitution; and in connection therewith would have as its

19 purpose or effect the requirement of a new or increased

20 expenditure of local funds within the meaning of Amendment 621

21 of the Constitution of Alabama of 1901, now appearing as

22 Section 111.05 of the Official Recompilation of the

23 Constitution of Alabama of 1901, as amended.

24 BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF ALABAMA:

25 Section 1. Section 32-6-19, Code of Alabama 1975, is

26 amended to read as follows:

27 "§32-6-19.
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1 "(a)(1) Any person whose driver's or chauffeur's

2 license issued in this or another state or whose driving

3 privilege as a nonresident has been cancelled, denied,

4 suspended, or revoked as provided in this article and who

5 drives any motor vehicle upon the highways of this state while

6 his or her license or privilege is cancelled, denied,

7 suspended, or revoked shall be guilty of a misdemeanor and

8 upon conviction shall be punished by a fine of not less than

9 one hundred dollars ($100) two hundred dollars ($200) nor more

10 than five hundred dollars ($500), and in addition thereto may

11 be imprisoned for not more than 180 days. In addition to all

12 fines, fees, costs, and punishments prescribed by law, there

13 shall be imposed or assessed an additional penalty of fifty

14 dollars ($50) to be placed in the Traffic Safety Trust Fund

15 and the Peace Officers Standards and Training Fund. Also, at

16 the discretion of the The Director of Public Safety, the

17 person's license may be revoked shall revoke the person's

18 license for an additional revocation period of six months.

19 Upon conviction under this section, if a person has a driver's

20 license in his or her possession, the court shall confiscate

21 the driver's license and attach the license to the uniform

22 citation and forward it to the Department of Public Safety

23 within 10 days of the conviction.

24 "(2) The additional penalty of fifty dollars ($50)

25 shall be assessed in all criminal and quasi-criminal

26 proceedings in municipal, district, and circuit courts,

27 including, but not limited to, final bond forfeitures,
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1 municipal ordinances violations, wherein the defendant is

2 adjudged guilty or pleads guilty and in all juvenile

3 delinquency and youthful offender adjudications.

4 "(3) If the fifty dollar ($50) penalty required by

5 subdivision (1) is not imposed by the court, the clerk of the

6 court shall automatically assess it upon conviction.

7 "(b) Notwithstanding any provision of law, any

8 person who operates a motor vehicle upon the highways of this

9 state while his or her driver's license or driving privilege

10 is revoked for any reason under the laws of this state or

11 similar laws of any other state or territory, or while his or

12 her driver's license or driving privilege is suspended as a

13 consequence of a DUI-related offense, including, but not

14 limited to, being adjudicated delinquent or a youthful

15 offender based on a DUI-related offense, or while his or her

16 driver's license or driving privilege is suspended as a result

17 of failure to comply with the implied consent law of this

18 state or laws of another state, or who has been adjudicated a

19 delinquent child or a youthful offender based on an offense

20 that if the person had been an adult would have been a

21 conviction of driving under the influence of a controlled

22 substance or alcohol or failure to comply with the implied

23 consent law, shall be immediately removed from the vehicle.

24 The vehicle, regardless of ownership or possessory interest of

25 the operator or person present in the vehicle, except when the

26 owner of the vehicle or another family member of the owner is

27 present in the vehicle and presents a valid driver's license,
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1 shall be impounded by any duly sworn law enforcement officer.

2 If there is an emergency or medical necessity jeopardizing

3 life or limb, the law enforcement officer may elect not to

4 impound the vehicle.

5 "(c)(1) The law enforcement officer making the

6 impoundment shall direct an approved towing service to tow the

7 vehicle to the garage of the towing service, storage lot, or

8 other place of safety and maintain custody and control of the

9 vehicle until the registered owner or authorized agent of the

10 registered owner claims the vehicle by paying all reasonable

11 and customary towing and storage fees for the services of the

12 towing company. The vehicle shall then be released to the

13 registered owner or an agent of the owner.

14 "(2) Any towing service or towing company removing

15 the vehicle at the direction of the law enforcement officer in

16 accordance with this section shall have a lien on the motor

17 vehicle for all reasonable and customary fees relating to the

18 towing and storage of the motor vehicle. This lien shall be

19 subject and subordinate to all prior security interests and

20 other liens affecting the vehicle whether evidenced on the

21 certificate of title or otherwise. Notice of any sale or other

22 proceedings relative to this lien shall be given to the

23 holders of all prior security interest or other liens by

24 official service of process at least 15 days prior to any sale

25 or other proceedings."

26 Section 2. (a) Notwithstanding Section 32-1-4, Code

27 of Alabama 1975, a person who operates a motor vehicle on any
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1 public street or highway in this state in violation of Section

2 32-6-1(a) or 32-6-19, Code of Alabama 1975, may be subject to

3 a custodial arrest.

4 (b) A person driving a motor vehicle in violation of

5 Section 32-6-1(a) or 32-6-19, Code of Alabama 1975, who,

6 either directly or indirectly, is involved in a traffic

7 accident shall be deemed negligent for the purposes of

8 determining fault for any injuries or damages arising from the

9 accident.

10 (c) A person driving a motor vehicle in violation of

11 Section 32-6-1(a) or 32-6-19, Code of Alabama 1975, who is

12 involved in a traffic accident may be ordered to pay

13 restitution by the court for any damages caused by the person.

14 Section 3. Although this bill would have as its

15 purpose or effect the requirement of a new or increased

16 expenditure of local funds, the bill is excluded from further

17 requirements and application under Amendment 621, now

18 appearing as Section 111.05 of the Official Recompilation of

19 the Constitution of Alabama of 1901, as amended, because the

20 bill defines a new crime or amends the definition of an

21 existing crime.

22 Section 4. This act shall become effective on the

23 first day of the third month following its passage and

24 approval by the Governor, or its otherwise becoming law.
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