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8 SYNOPSIS:         Under existing law, certain homestead

9 exemptions provided for persons age 65 or over and

10 persons permanently and totally disabled were

11 amended by Act 2012-313.

12 Prior to Act 2012-313, a person age 65 or

13 over or permanently and totally disabled was exempt

14 from all state ad valorem taxes. This exemption was

15 not changed by Act 2012-313.

16 Prior to Act 2012-313, a person age 65 or

17 over was entitled to two other exemptions from

18 other local ad valorem taxes based on income

19 limits. If the person age 65 or over had net

20 taxable income for federal income tax purposes of

21 $7,500 or less, the homestead was exempt from all

22 ad valorem taxes.

23 Act 2012-313 increased the income limit on

24 this exemption to $12,000.

25 In addition, if the person did not qualify

26 for the above exemption, but had an adjusted gross

27 income of $12,000 or less for state income tax
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1 purposes, the homestead was entitled to a special

2 exemption of $5,000 in assessed value on the county

3 portion of taxes instead of the regular exemption

4 of $2,000 in assessed value on the county portion

5 of taxes.

6 Pursuant to Act 2012-313, this special

7 exemption was deleted.

8 Under existing law prior to Act 2012-313,

9 based on an opinion of the Attorney General in

10 2005, a person permanently and totally disabled was

11 exempt from all other ad valorem taxes without

12 regard to any income limit. Prior to the opinion,

13 the exemption was subject to the same federal

14 income tax limitation as discussed above for

15 persons age 65 or over.

16 Act 2012-313 specified that the exemption

17 was subject to the same income limits as provided

18 for persons age 65 or over.

19 This bill would amend the existing code

20 provisions providing exemptions as discussed above

21 as amended by Act 2012-313 to restore the

22 provisions in the exact same form as they existed

23 prior to Act 2012-313 with two exceptions: the net

24 federal income tax limitation for persons age 65 or

25 over would continue to be $12,000 and the

26 Department of Revenue would be authorized to

Page 2



1 further provide for evidence of eligibility other

2 than a tax return for the exemption.

3 The above provisions of this act would be

4 retroactive to August 1, 2012, the effective date

5 of Act 2012-313. As a result, no person will have a

6 higher local ad valorem tax liability as a result

7 of Act 2012-313.

8 This bill would also prohibit a person from

9 falsely claiming a homestead exemption and provide

10 criminal penalties. This prohibition and these

11 penalties were not addressed in Act 2012-313.

12 Amendment 621 of the Constitution of Alabama

13 of 1901, now appearing as Section 111.05 of the

14 Official Recompilation of the Constitution of

15 Alabama of 1901, as amended, prohibits a general

16 law whose purpose or effect would be to require a

17 new or increased expenditure of local funds from

18 becoming effective with regard to a local

19 governmental entity without enactment by a 2/3 vote

20 unless: it comes within one of a number of

21 specified exceptions; it is approved by the

22 affected entity; or the Legislature appropriates

23 funds, or provides a local source of revenue, to

24 the entity for the purpose.

25 The purpose or effect of this bill would be

26 to require a new or increased expenditure of local

27 funds within the meaning of the amendment. However,
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1 the bill does not require approval of a local

2 governmental entity or enactment by a 2/3 vote to

3 become effective because it comes within one of the

4 specified exceptions contained in the amendment.

5  

6 A BILL

7 TO BE ENTITLED

8 AN ACT

9  

10 Relating to ad valorem tax exemptions on homesteads

11 and principal residences; to amend Sections 40-9-19, 40-9-21,

12 and 40-9-21.1 of the Code of Alabama 1975, as last amended by

13 Act 2012-313 (2012 Regular Session), relating to homestead

14 exemptions and exemptions on principal residences, to restore

15 the code sections in the exact same form as the sections

16 existed prior to the enactment of Act 2012-313, except

17 retaining the income limitation on federal taxable income for

18 certain exemptions for persons age 65 or over and authorizing

19 the Department of Revenue to provide for evidence other than a

20 tax return for the exemption; to provide for the retroactive

21 application of the above provisions and for the implementation

22 of this act; to add Section 40-9-21.2 to the Code of Alabama

23 1975, to prohibit a person from falsely claiming a homestead

24 exemption and to provide penalties; and in connection

25 therewith would have as its purpose or effect the requirement

26 of a new or increased expenditure of local funds within the

27 meaning of Amendment 621 of the Constitution of Alabama of
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1 1901, now appearing as Section 111.05 of the Official

2 Recompilation of the Constitution of Alabama of 1901, as

3 amended.

4 BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF ALABAMA:

5 Section 1. The intent of this section is to

6 substantially repeal Act 2012-313, House Bill 120 of the 2012

7 Regular Session, retaining only the amendments to subsection

8 (a) of Section 40-9-21, Code of Alabama 1975, that increased

9 the maximum net income for federal income tax purposes for a

10 person 65 years of age or over claiming an exemption and

11 specifying that the Department of Revenue may provide for

12 other appropriate evidence other than a tax return to claim

13 the exemption. It is further the intent of this section to

14 restore any construction and administration of Sections

15 41-9-19, 41-9-21, and 41-9-21.1, Code of Alabama 1975, prior

16 to the enactment of Act 2012-313.

17 Section 2. Sections 40-9-19, 40-9-21, and 40-9-21.1

18 of the Code of Alabama 1975, as last amended by Act 2012-313,

19 House Bill 120 of the 2012 Regular Session, are amended to

20 read as follows:

21 "§40-9-19.

22 "(a) Homesteads, as defined by the Constitution and

23 laws of Alabama, are hereby exempted from all state ad valorem

24 taxes. In no case shall the exemption herein made apply to

25 more than one person, head of the family, nor shall the said

26 exemption exceed $4,000 in assessed value, nor 160 acres in

27 area for any resident of this state who is not over 65 years
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1 of age. The homesteads of residents of this state, who are

2 over 65 years of age, or who are retired due to permanent and

3 total disability, regardless of age, or who are blind as

4 defined in Section 1-1-3, regardless of age or whether such

5 person is retired, shall be exempt from all state ad valorem

6 taxes.

7 "The state Commissioner Department of Revenue is

8 hereby empowered to define and specify the condition or state

9 of health that makes shall by regulation establish the

10 criteria and proof required for an exemption based upon a

11 person being "permanently and totally disabled" and may shall

12 issue certificates of disability to such any person as he may

13 find who meets such specifications criteria and provides the

14 required proof. Any person who is drawing any pension or

15 annuity from the armed services or a company or governmental

16 agency as being permanently and totally disabled shall

17 automatically be granted a certificate of permanent and total

18 disability by the state Commissioner of Revenue department.

19 "(b) For tax years beginning on and after October 1,

20 1981, for residents of this state not over 65 years of age,

21 homesteads, as defined by the Constitution and laws of

22 Alabama, are hereby exempted from all ad valorem property

23 taxes levied, except countywide and school district ad valorem

24 taxes levied for school purposes, by any county of this state.

25 In no case shall such exemption herein made apply to more than

26 one person, head of the family, nor shall the said exemption

27 exceed $2,000 in assessed value, nor 160 acres in area for any
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1 resident of this state who is not over 65 years of age except

2 as provided in subsection (c) of this section.

3 "(c) For tax years beginning on and after October 1,

4 1981, the governing body of any county, municipality or other

5 local taxing authority may at any time grant by resolution or

6 ordinance an exemption from any levy of ad valorem property

7 taxes levied by such county, municipality or other local

8 taxing authority on homesteads, as defined by the Constitution

9 and laws of Alabama, of residents of this state not over 65

10 years of age. In no case shall such exemption herein allowed

11 apply to more than one person, head of the family, nor shall

12 said exemption, when added to any other homestead exemption

13 applicable to the same ad valorem tax levy, exceed $4,000 in

14 assessed value, nor 160 acres in area. Any homestead exemption

15 granted pursuant to this subsection (c) may be adjusted,

16 rescinded, or reinstated at any time by resolution or

17 ordinance of the governing body of the county, municipality or

18 other local taxing authority granting such exemption. Any

19 action authorized by this subsection to be taken by a taxing

20 authority, or the governing body thereof, shall, other than in

21 the case of a municipality, be taken by resolution of the

22 governing body of the county in which such taxing authority is

23 located acting on behalf of such taxing authority; provided

24 however, any action authorized by this subsection to be taken

25 by a taxing authority, or the governing body thereof, which

26 action shall affect countywide or district ad valorem taxes

27 levied solely for the support of county or city school
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1 districts, shall be taken by resolutions of the governing

2 bodies and boards of the school systems that are recipients of

3 the proceeds of the ad valorem tax so affected by such action.

4 The provisions of this subsection (c) shall in no way annul or

5 reduce exemptions provided under subsections (a), (b), and (d)

6 of this section.

7 "(d) For tax years beginning on and after October 1,

8 1981, for residents of this state, over 65 years of age who

9 have an annual adjusted gross income of less than $12,000 as

10 reflected on the most recent state income tax return or some

11 other appropriate evidence, or who are retired due to

12 permanent and total disability, regardless of age, or

13 homesteads, as defined in the Constitution of Alabama of 1901

14 and laws of Alabama, are hereby exempted from ad valorem

15 property taxes levied by any county of this state, including

16 such taxes levied for school districts, for residents of this

17 state who are blind as defined in Section 1-1-3, regardless of

18 age or whether such person is retired, homesteads, as defined

19 in the Constitution and laws of Alabama, are hereby exempted

20 from ad valorem property taxes levied by any county of this

21 state, including such taxes levied for school districts. In no

22 case shall such exemption exceed $5,000 in assessed value, nor

23 160 acres in area. With respect to homesteads situated in more

24 than one county, the exemption granted herein shall be

25 prorated between the counties in which the homestead is

26 situated in the proportion that the area of the homestead in
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1 each county bears to the total area of the homestead claimed

2 for exemption.

3 "The Department of Revenue may by regulation define

4 and specify the condition or state of health that makes a

5 person "permanently and totally disabled" and may issue

6 certificates of disability to any person that meets such

7 specifications. Any person who is drawing any pension or

8 annuity from the armed services, a private company or any

9 governmental agency because he is permanently and totally

10 disabled shall automatically be granted a certificate of

11 permanent and total disability by the Department of Revenue.

12 "(e) The grant of any homestead exemption provided

13 under the provisions of this section shall not be allowed if

14 such grant shall prevent the payment of any bonded

15 indebtedness secured by any tax to which the homestead

16 exemption would apply.

17 "(f) Any homestead exemption under this section or

18 Section 40-9-21 shall not be affected during any period the

19 homestead is being repaired after being damaged by a natural

20 disaster such as a tornado or hurricane.

21 "§40-9-21.

22 "(a) In addition to the persons and property exempt

23 from ad valorem taxation as prescribed in Section 40-9-1, the

24 following shall also be exempt from ad valorem taxation: the

25 The principal residence and 160 acres adjacent thereto of

26 shall be exempt from ad valorem taxation for any person

27 resident of this state who is retired because he or she is
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1 permanently and totally disabled or who is 65 years of age or

2 older having a, provided the net annual taxable income of for

3 the person claiming the exemption and that of his or her

4 spouse is twelve thousand dollars ($12,000) or less, as shown

5 on such person's and spouse's latest United States income tax

6 return or some other appropriate evidence acceptable to the

7 department. In the event that such person and spouse are not

8 required to file a United States income tax return, then an

9 affidavit indicating that the net taxable income of such

10 person and spouse for the preceding taxable year was twelve

11 thousand dollars ($12,000) or less shall be sufficient proof.

12 Proof of age shall be furnished when the required for an

13 exemption provided herein is claimed by residents over the age

14 of 65. Proof of total disability may be, but shall not be

15 limited to, the written certification of such total disability

16 by any two physicians licensed to practice in this state. Any

17 person who is drawing any pension or annuity from the armed

18 services or a company or governmental agency because he or she

19 is permanently and totally disabled shall automatically be

20 granted a certificate of permanent and total disability by the

21 department. In order to qualify for an exemption under this

22 section, such principal residence must be a single-family

23 residence owned and occupied by a person qualifying under this

24 section.

25 "(b) The department shall by regulation establish

26 the criteria and proof required for an exemption based upon a

27 person being "permanently and totally disabled" and shall
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1 issue certificates of disability to any person that meets such

2 criteria and provides the required proof. Any person who is

3 drawing any pension or annuity from the armed services, a

4 private company, or any governmental agency because he or she

5 is permanently and totally disabled shall automatically be

6 granted a certificate of permanent and total disability by the

7 department.

8 "§40-9-21.1.

9 "Any law to the contrary notwithstanding, any person

10 who is permanently and totally disabled and who qualifies for

11 the homestead exemptions in Sections 40-9-19 and 40-9-21 shall

12 not be required to annually claim such exemptions after the

13 initial qualification, but may verify such condition each year

14 thereafter by mail on a form affidavit to be provided by the

15 tax assessor. Also, any person over the age of 65 who

16 qualifies for the homestead exemptions under the income

17 limitations provided in Sections 40-9-19 and Section 40-9-21

18 shall after the initial qualification be allowed to verify

19 such eligibility each year by mail on a form affidavit to be

20 provided by the tax assessor."

21 Section 3. (a) The provisions of Section 2 of this

22 act are retroactive to August 1, 2012, and shall apply to the

23 tax year beginning October 1, 2012.

24 (b) Any persons claiming an exemption under Section

25 40-9-19, 40-9-21, or 40-9-21.1, Code of Alabama 1975, as

26 amended by this act, for the tax year beginning October 1,

27 2012, may claim any exemption prior to August 1, 2013.
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1 Section 4. Section 40-9-21.2 is added to the Code of

2 Alabama 1975, to read as follows:

3 §40-9-21.2. 

4 Any person who knowingly and willfully gives false

5 information for the purpose of claiming a homestead exemption,

6 or for the purpose of assisting another person in claiming a

7 homestead exemption, is guilty of a Class B misdemeanor

8 punishable as provided by law. In addition, any person

9 convicted pursuant to this section shall be ordered to pay any

10 ad valorem tax which would have been due retroactive for a

11 period of up to 10 years and a penalty of 50 percent of the

12 tax due plus interest at a rate of 15 percent per annum from

13 the date the tax would have been due.

14 Section 5. Although this bill would have as its

15 purpose or effect the requirement of a new or increased

16 expenditure of local funds, the bill is excluded from further

17 requirements and application under Amendment 621, now

18 appearing as Section 111.05 of the Official Recompilation of

19 the Constitution of Alabama of 1901, as amended, because the

20 bill defines a new crime or amends the definition of an

21 existing crime.

22 Section 6. This act shall become effective

23 immediately following its passage and approval by the

24 Governor, or its otherwise becoming law.
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