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SYNOPSIS:

This bill would provide for The Alabama
Alternative Fuel Policy Act of 2013. This bill
would encourage the use of motor vehicles powered
by compressed natural gas, electricity, fuel cells,
hybrid technology, liquefied natural gas, or
propane by a series of incentives for the
acquisition of such vehicles and for the
installation of refueling equipment for certain
fuels. This bill would also encourage the in-state
production of biodiesel and cellulosic biofuels.

This bill would make legislative findings.

This bill would create an incentive for the
in-state production of biodiesel and cellulosic
biofuels, in an amount to be paid gquarterly in a
program administered by the Center for Alternative
Fuels within the Department of Agriculture and
Industries. The payments made under this provision

would expire after five years.
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This bill would limit the liability of
providers of refueling equipment used by certain
alternative fuel vehicles.

This bill would exempt certain alternative
fuel vehicles from the payment of tolls on toll
roads, bridges, and tunnels owned by the Alabama
Toll Road, Bridge, and Tunnel Authority.

This bill would allow the Department of
Transportation to designate certain roads as high
occupancy vehicle (HOV) lanes, subject to federal
limitations, and would allow certain alternative
fuel and other wvehicles to use such lanes. This
would impose penalties for the unauthorized use of
such lanes.

This bill would provide that no person would
be required to install electric vehicle charging
stations. This bill would provide that providers of
electric vehicle charging stations would not,
merely for that reason, be found to be engaging in
the retail sale of electricity. This bill would
provide that the Public Service Commission would
have no jurisdiction over the rates, charges, and
fees for services provided or the terms and
conditions of service provided at electric vehicle
charging stations.

This bill would allow for an income tax

credit of no more than $1,500 for certain
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alternative fuel vehicles, limited to no more than
5,000 vehicles per fuel type. This bill would allow
an income tax credit for placing in service
refueling equipment for certain alternative fuel
vehicles, limited to the lower of 30 percent of the
cost of such equipment, or dollar limits based on
the type of fuel. As to both credits, unused
credits could be carried forward for five years.
Both credits would expire five years after the
effective date of the provisions.

To effectuate the duties prescribed herein,
this bill would make an appropriation from the
State General Fund to the Center for Alternative
Fuels for the fiscal year ending September 30,
2013, and for each of the next five fiscal years.

This bill would allow the various
departments, agencies, and centers with
administrative duties to promulgate regulations to
implement this bill, would provide for the
severance of invalid or unconstitutional

provisions, and would provide an effective date.

A BILL

TO BE ENTITLED

AN ACT
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Relating to motor vehicles powered by compressed
natural gas, electricity, fuel cells, hybrid technology,
liquefied natural gas, or propane; to provide for the Alabama
Alternative Fuel Policy Act of 2013; to encourage the use of
such vehicles; to provide certain income tax credits and other
incentives for the acquisition of such vehicles and for the
installation of refueling equipment for certain fuel types; to
encourage the in-state production of biodiesel and cellulosic
biofuels; to make legislative findings; to create an incentive
for the in-state production of biodiesel and cellulosic
biofuels, in an amount to be paid quarterly in a program
administered by the Center for Alternative Fuels within the
Department of Agriculture and Industries; to provide that such
payments would expire after five years; to limit the liability
of providers of refueling equipment used by certain
alternative fuel vehicles; to amend Section 23-2-150, Code of
Alabama 1975, to exempt certain alternative fuel vehicles from
the payment of tolls on toll roads, bridges, and tunnels owned
by the Alabama Toll Road, Bridge, and Tunnel Authority; to
allow the Department of Transportation to designate certain
roads as high occupancy vehicle (HOV) lanes, subject to
federal limitations; to allow certain alternative fuel and
other vehicles to use such lanes; to impose penalties for the
unauthorized use of such lanes; to provide that no person
would be required to install electric vehicle charging
stations; to provide that providers of electric vehicle

charging stations would not, merely for that reason, be found
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to be engaging in the retail sale of electricity; to provide
that the Public Service Commission would have no jurisdiction
over the rates, charges, and fees for services provided or the
terms and conditions of service provided at electric vehicle
charging stations; to allow for an income tax credit of no
more than $1,500 for certain alternative fuel vehicles,
limited to no more than 5,000 vehicles per fuel type; to allow
an income tax credit for placing in service refueling
equipment for certain alternative fuel wvehicles, limited to
the lower of 30 percent of the cost of such equipment, or
dollar limits based on the type of fuel; to provide that, as
to both income tax credits, unused credits could be carried
forward for five years; to provide that both credits would
expire five years after the effective date of the provisions;
to make an appropriation from the State General Fund to the
Center for Alternative Fuels for the fiscal year ending
September 30, 2013, and for each of the next five fiscal
years; to allow the various departments, agencies, and centers
with administrative duties to promulgate regulations to
implement this bill; to provide for the severance of invalid
or unconstitutional provisions; and to provide an effective
date.
BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF ALABAMA:

Section 1. (a) This act shall be known as and may be
cited as "The Alabama Alternative Fuel Policy Act of 2013."

(b) The Legislature makes the following findings:
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(1) It is in the best interest of the state to
encourage the use of compressed natural gas, electricity, fuel
cells, hybrid technology, liquefied natural gas, or propane to
power vehicles within the state.

(2) New technologies require monetary and other
incentives for the purchase of such vehicles and the
installation of refueling stations for such vehicles.

(3) It is in the best interest of the state to
encourage the production of biodiesel and cellulosic biofuels
in the state, both as an economic development incentive and to
lower the price of those fuels in Alabama.

Section 2. A new Chapter 33 is added to Title 2,
Code of Alabama 1975, to read as follows:

Chapter 23. Incentives For The Use Of Vehicles Using
Alternative and Renewable Fuels And Technologies.

§2-33-1.

As used in this chapter, the following terms shall
have the following meanings:

(1) BIODIESEL. A diesel fuel substitute for motor
vehicle fuel which is derived from non-petroleum renewable
resources and any blending components derived from non-
petroleum renewable resources, provided that only the
renewable fuel portion of any such blending component shall be
considered part of the applicable volume, and further provided
that the fuel meets the appropriate American Society of

Testing and Materials Standards (ASTM).
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(2) BIODIESEL PAYMENT AMOUNT. For any given quarter,
nine hundred thousand dollars ($900,000).

(3) CELLULOSIC BIOFUELS. As determined by the Center
for Alternative Fuels in consultation, as needed, with various
federal and state energy and environmental officials, an
ethanol, butanol, gasoline, diesel, or similar fuel for motor
vehicle fuel which is derived from cellulose, hemicellulose,
or lignine that is available on a renewable or recurring
basis, provided that the fuel meets the appropriate American
Society of Testing and Materials Standards (ASTM).

(4) CELLULOSIC BIOFUELS PAYMENT AMOUNT. For any
given quarter, one million two hundred fifty thousand dollars
($1,250,000), less the amount actually paid during the
immediately preceding quarter pursuant to Section
2-33-2(b) (8) .

(5) CENTER FOR ALTERNATIVE FUELS. The Center for
Alternative Fuels, as established within the Department of
Agriculture and Industries by Article 5, commencing with
Section 2-2-90, of Chapter 2 of this title.

(6) COMMERCIAL PRODUCER. A person who has the
capacity to produce at least 10 million gallons per year of
biodiesel or cellulosic biofuels at a facility in Alabama and
who has made capital improvements or investments in such
facility totaling at least ten million dollars ($10,000,000).

(7) PERSON. The meaning ascribed to such term in

Section 40-18-1.
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(8) QUARTERS. Those three-month periods beginning on
the 1st day of January, April, July, and October.

§2-33-2.

(a) The Center for Alternative Fuels is authorized
to make quarterly payments to commercial producers for the
production of biodiesel or cellulosic biofuels in Alabama as
provided in this section.

(b) (1) Each commercial producer of biodiesel who
wishes to receive payments under this section shall file an
application with the center, on a form prescribed by the
center, showing the number of gallons of Alabama biodiesel
which the commercial producer expects in good faith to sell in
the upcoming quarter. The applications required by this
subdivision shall be due at the center on the 15th day of
December, March, June, and July for the respective quarters
beginning on the 1lst day of January, April, July, and October.

(2) Following the due date for applications provided
in subdivision (1), the center shall divide the biodiesel
payment amount by the aggregate number of gallons of Alabama
biodiesel which was shown on all of the applications timely
filed pursuant to subdivision (1).

(3) The minimum amount which shall be paid for each
gallon of biodiesel produced by each commercial producer who
timely filed an application pursuant to subdivision (1) shall
be the lesser of twenty cents ($0.20) per gallon, or the

amount determined in subdivision (2).
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(4) The center shall post on its website the amount
determined in subdivision (3), a list of the commercial
producers who filed applications pursuant to subdivision (1),
and the gallons of Alabama biodiesel each commercial producer
expects in good faith to sell in the quarter.

(5) Following the close of a quarter, each
commercial producer of biodiesel who timely filed an
application pursuant to subdivision (1) shall file a report
with the center, on a form prescribed by the center, showing
the number of gallons of Alabama biodiesel which the
commercial producer actually sold in the quarter. No
commercial producer shall report any sales which exceed the
number of gallons of biodiesel reported by the commercial
producer on the application filed pursuant to subdivision (1).
The reports prescribed by this subdivision shall be due at the
center on the 15th day of April, July, October, and January
for the respective quarters beginning on the 1lst day of
January, April, July, and October.

(6) Following the due date for the reports provided
in subdivision (5), the center shall divide the biodiesel
payment amount by the aggregate number of gallons of biodiesel
which was shown on all of the reports properly filed pursuant
to subdivision (5).

(7) The amount which shall actually be paid for each
gallon of biodiesel sold by each commercial producer who

timely filed a report pursuant to subdivision (5) shall be the
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lesser of twenty cents ($0.20) per gallon, or the amount
determined in subdivision (6).

(8) The center shall post on its website the amount
determined in subdivision (7), a list of the commercial
producers who timely filed reports pursuant to subdivision
(5), the gallons of Alabama biodiesel they actually sold, and
the amount to be paid to each commercial producer. The center
shall make the payments to the commercial producers of
biodiesel by the last day of April, July, October, and January
for the respective quarters beginning on the 1lst day of
January, April, July, and October.

(9) No commercial producer shall receive any payment
for biodiesel which is not produced in Alabama by the
commercial producer, which is sold to a person related to the
commercial producer, or which is sold for use outside the
United States.

(c) (1) Each commercial producer of cellulosic
biofuels who wishes to receive payments under this section
shall file an application with the center, on a form
prescribed by the center, showing the number of gallons of
Alabama cellulosic biofuels which the commercial producer
expects in good faith to sell in the upcoming quarter. The
applications required by this subdivision shall be due at the
center on the 15th day of December, March, June, and July for
the respective quarters beginning on the 1lst day of January,

April, July, and October.
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(2) Following the due date for applications provided
in subdivision (1), the center shall divide the cellulosic
biofuels payment amount by the aggregate number of gallons of
Alabama cellulosic biofuels which was shown on all of the
applications timely filed pursuant to subdivision (1).

(3) The minimum amount which shall be paid for each
gallon of cellulosic biofuels produced by each commercial
producer who timely filed an application pursuant to
subdivision (1) shall be the lesser of twenty cents (50.20)
per gallon, or the amount determined in subdivision (2).

(4) The center shall post on its website the amount
determined in subdivision (3), a list of the commercial
producers who filed applications pursuant to subdivision (1),
and the gallons of Alabama cellulosic biofuels each commercial
producer expects in good faith to sell in the guarter.

(5) Following the close of a quarter, each
commercial producer of cellulosic biofuels who timely filed an
application pursuant to subdivision (1) shall file a report
with the center, on a form prescribed by the center, showing
the number of gallons of Alabama cellulosic biofuels which the
commercial producer actually sold in the gquarter. No
commercial producer shall report any sales which exceed the
number of gallons of cellulosic biofuels reported by the
commercial producer on the application filed pursuant to
subdivision (1). The reports prescribed by this subdivision

shall be due at the center on the 15th day of April, July,
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October, and January for the respective quarters beginning on
the 1st day of January, April, July, and October.

(6) Following the due date for the reports provided
in subdivision (5), the center shall divide the cellulosic
biofuels payment amount by the aggregate number of gallons of
cellulosic biofuels which was shown on all of the reports
properly filed pursuant to subdivision (5).

(7) The amount which shall actually be paid for each
gallon of cellulosic biofuels sold by each commercial producer
who timely filed a report pursuant to subdivision (5) shall be
the lesser of twenty cents ($0.20) per gallon, or the amount
determined in subdivision (6).

(8) The center shall post on its website the amount
determined in subdivision (7), a list of the commercial
producers who timely filed reports pursuant to subdivision
(5), the gallons of Alabama cellulosic biofuels they actually
sold, and the amount to be paid to each commercial producer.
The center shall make the payments to the commercial producers
of cellulosic biofuels by the last day of April, July,
October, and January for the respective quarters beginning on
the 1st day of January, April, July, and October.

(9) No commercial producer shall receive any payment
for cellulosic biofuels which is not produced in Alabama by
the commercial producer, which is sold to a person related to
the commercial producer, or which is sold for use outside the

United States.
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(d) A commercial producer who submits an application
pursuant to this section for any given quarter is under no
obligation to submit an application pursuant to this section
for any other quarter.

(e) The payments provided for in this chapter shall
not be subject to state, county, or municipal taxation,
whether based on income, gross receipts, or some other
measure.

(f) The payments provided for in this chapter are
available only during the five-year period beginning on the
effective date of this chapter.

Section 3. A new Section 6-5-345 is added to Article
18, commencing with Section 6-5-330, of Chapter 5 of Title 6,
Code of Alabama 1975, to read as follows:

§6-5-345.

Notwithstanding any provision of law to the
contrary, including Sections 6-5-500 to 6-5-525 and Section
7-2-101 et seqg., no person who provides stationary refueling
equipment for permitted vehicles, as such terms are defined in
Section 40-18-351, whether with or without cost, shall be
subject to civil liability or criminal prosecution as a result
of his or her acts or omissions arising out of the provision
of such equipment, so long as such equipment complied with any
building codes applicable to the installation of such
equipment and was installed in a proper, safe, and workmanlike

manner.
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Section 4. Section 23-2-150, Code of Alabama 1975,
is amended to read as follows:

"§23-2-150.

"The authority is hereby authorized to fix, revise,
charge, and collect tolls for the use of each toll road,
bridge or tunnel project and the different parts or sections
thereof, and to contract with, or to lease to or from, any
person, partnership, association or corporation desiring the
use of any part thereof, including the right-of-way adjoining
the paved portion of approaches and access highways, streets
or roads for placing thereon telephone, telegraph, electric
light or power lines or pipe lines for gas and water or for
petroleum products or for any other purpose except for tracks
for railroad or railway use and to fix the terms, conditions,
rents, and rates of charges for such use. Tolls shall be so
fixed and adjusted as to carry out and perform the terms and
provisions of any contract with or for the benefit of
bondholders. Tolls shall not be subject to supervision or
regulation by any other commission, board, bureau or agency of
the state. The use and disposition of tolls and revenues shall
be subject to the provisions of the resolution authorizing the
issuance of such bonds or of the trust agreement securing the

bond issue. Notwithstanding any provision in this article, the

authority shall not charge a toll for any vehicle which bears

the decal provided for by Section 32-5A-340; provided,

however, that this exemption shall apply to a toll road,

bridge, or tunnel project in service as of the effective date
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of the act adding this amendatory language only upon the

retirement or refunding of the bonded indebtedness outstanding

on the effective date of the act adding this amendatory

language."

Section 5. A new Article 17 is added to Chapter 5A
of Title 32, Code of Alabama 1975, to read as follows:

Article 17. High Occupancy Vehicle.

§32-5A-360.

(a) As used in this section, "HOV lane" shall mean a
lane of a public roadway designated as a high occupancy
vehicle lane by the Department of Transportation.

(b) The Department of Transportation may designate
any travel lane on any road in the state highway system as an
HOV lane; provided, however, that where such designation has
been made, the road shall be appropriately marked with traffic
signs or other roadway markers or markings to inform the
traveling public of the existence of such HOV lane and of the
restrictions imposed.

(c) The Department of Transportation, by rule or
regulation, may determine the types of vehicles that are
allowed to use HOV lanes because of the reduced emissions of
the vehicles or because of the type of fuel used to power the
vehicles; provided that such regulations shall comply with 23
U.S.C. Section 166 and the regulations promulgated thereunder.
In furtherance thereof, the following shall be applicable:

(1) The department shall issue a decal and

registration certificate, to be renewed annually, reflecting
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the HOV lane designation on such vehicles and may charge a
fee, as determined by regulation, which shall not exceed the
costs of designing, producing, and distributing each decal, or
five dollars ($5), whichever is less.

(2) In promulgating such regulations, the department
shall encourage, to the full extent allowed by federal law,
the use of low emission and energy efficient vehicles and
inherently low emission vehicles.

(d) Except as provided in subsection (e), no person
may operate a vehicle in an HOV lane if the vehicle 1is
occupied by fewer than the number of occupants indicated by a
traffic sign or other roadway marker or marking.

(e) As to vehicles which are allowed to be operated
in an HOV lane pursuant to subsection (c), no person may
operate such a vehicle in an HOV lane if the vehicle fails to
display the decal required by subsection (c).

(f) The department may issue rules or regulations to
implement this article. The department shall finalize the
rules or regulations provided in subsection (c), and shall
make available the decals provided in subsection (c) within
180 days of the effective date of this article; provided,
however, that this sentence shall not prevent the department
from thereafter making amendments to such rules or
regulations.

Section 6. A new Article 7 is added to Chapter 4,
Title 37, Code of Alabama 1975, to read as follows:

Article 7. Electric Vehicle Charging Stations.
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§37-4-160.

(a) For purposes of this article, the following
terms shall have the following meanings:

(1) COMMISSION. The Public Service Commission
established by this title.

(2) ELECTRIC SUPPLIER. Any municipality, municipally
owned utility, or other governmental entity, any cooperative,
corporation, person, firm, association, or other entity
engaged in the business of supplying electric service at
retail.

(3) ELECTRIC VEHICLE. A motor vehicle with at least
four wheels which:

a. Is manufactured primarily for use on public
streets, roads, and highways.

b. Is rated at not more than 26,000 pounds unloaded
gross vehicle weight.

c. Is propelled to a significant extent by an
electric motor which draws electricity from a battery which
has a capacity of not less than four kilowatt hours and is
capable of being recharged from an external source of
electricity.

(4) ELECTRIC VEHICLE CHARGING STATION. Equipment
which is used by the public for the sole use of recharging of
electric vehicles, including an electric vehicle charging
station, an electric recharging point, an electric charging
point, electric vehicle supply equipment, or electric vehicle

charging equipment; provided that the phrase "electric vehicle
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charging station" shall not include any such equipment that is

situated at a residence, single family apartment, business
office, or other location to which the public generally does

not have access, and such equipment is not otherwise made

available for use by the public for the recharging of electric

vehicles.
(b) The installation of electric vehicle charging

stations is voluntary. No business entity, corporation,

municipality, county, public utility, or other person shall be

required or mandated to install an electric vehicle charging
station.

(c) (1) The payment of rates, charges, and fees
associated with the use of an electric vehicle charging
station operated by a person who is not an electric supplier
shall not constitute the sale of electricity if:

a. The electric vehicle charging station is being
used solely for recharging electric vehicles.

b. The person operating the electric vehicle
charging station has lawfully procured the furnished
electricity used at the station from an electrical supplier.

c. The person operating the electric vehicle
charging station determines the rates, charges, and fees
associated with the use of the station by some measure other
than the amount of electricity consumed.

(2) The provision of an electric vehicle charging

station by an electric supplier shall not affect the utility
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status of the electric supplier or otherwise bestow utility
status on such supplier.

(3) The provision of electricity by an electric
supplier to a person operating an electric vehicle charging
station shall not constitute the wholesale sale of
electricity, but rather shall constitute the retail sale of
electricity for end use and, as otherwise permitted by this
title and the laws of Alabama, shall be subject to the
jurisdiction of the commission.

(d) The commission shall have no Jjurisdiction over
the rates, charges, and fees for services provided or the
terms and conditions of service provided at electric vehicle
charging stations in accordance with the provisions of this
article.

Section 7. A new Article 15 is added to Chapter 15
of Title 40, Code of Alabama 1975, to read as follows:

Article 15. Tax Credit for Certain Alternative Fuel
or Renewable Fuel Vehicle and Refueling Stations.

§40-18-350.

(a) As used in this section, the following terms
shall have the following meanings:

(1) CNG ENGINE. A motor powered by compressed

natural gas.

(2) ELECTRIC ENGINE. A motor which draws electricity

from a battery which has a capacity of not less than four
kilowatt hours and is capable of being recharged from an

external source of electricity.
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(3) FUEL CELL ENGINE. A motor which draws
electricity created onboard by hydrogen and a fuel cell.

(4) HYBRID ENGINE. A motor which draws energy from
onboard sources of stored energy which are both an internal
combustion or heat engine using consumable fuel, and a
rechargeable energy storage system.

(5) INCOME TAX. The tax levied in Article 1 of this
chapter.

(6) LNG ENGINE. A motor powered by liquefied natural
gas.

(7) MANUFACTURER. The term has the meaning given in
regulations prescribed by the Administrator of the United
States Environmental Protection Agency for purposes of the
administration of Title II of the Clean Air Act (42 U.S.C. S§
7521 et seqg.).

(8) MODIFIED VEHICLE. A motor vehicle with at least
four wheels which:

a. Was manufactured primarily for use on public
streets, roads, and highways.

b. Is owned by the taxpayer.

c. Is titled and registered in this state.

d. On or after January 1, 2014, is modified in this
state by the installation of equipment which is certified by
the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency so that the vehicle
is propelled to a significant extent by a specified engine.

(9) PROPANE ENGINE. A motor powered by propane.
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(10) QUALIFIED VEHICLE. A motor vehicle with at
least four wheels which:

a. Is manufactured by a manufacturer.

b. Is manufactured primarily for use on public
streets, roads, and highways.

c. Has not been modified from original manufacturer
specifications.

d. Has an original use commencing with the taxpayer.

e. Is acquired by the taxpayer on or after January
1, 2014.

f. Is acquired for use or lease by the taxpayer and
not for resale.

g. Is acquired in this state from a dealer in this
state who has previously registered for participation herein
with the department.

h. Is titled and subject to registration in this
state.

i. Is propelled to a significant extent by a
specified engine.

(11) SPECIFIED ENGINE. Any one of the following:

a. A CNG engine.

b. An electric engine.

c. A fuel cell engine.

d. A hybrid engine.

e. An LNG engine.

f. A propane engine.
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(b) A nonrefundable credit against income tax shall
be allowed for the acquisition of a qualified wvehicle or the
placing in service of a modified vehicle. As to qualified
vehicles or modified vehicles, the credit allowed under this
section shall equal the lesser of 100 percent of the cost of
the qualified vehicle, or the following amount:

(1) One thousand five hundred dollars ($1,500) for
qualified vehicles or modified vehicles with a CNG engine,
electric engine, fuel cell engine, LNG engine, or propane
engine.

(2) Three hundred dollars ($300) for qualified
vehicles or modified vehicles with a hybrid engine.

(c) The number of annual credits allowed for
qualified vehicles and modified vehicles using specified
engines shall be as follows:

a. 1,000 certificates each for CNG engines, electric
engines, hybrid engines, LNG engines, or propane engines.

b. 60 certificates for fuel cell engines.

If the numerical limits on certificates for any one
or more specified engines not be met in any of the five fiscal
years during which the credits herein are allowed, the
unclaimed certificates may be claimed in a subsequent fiscal
year, so long as such subsequent fiscal year is one of the
years specified in subsection (f).

(d) Upon the acquisition of a qualified vehicle, the
taxpayer shall be provided with a certificate from the dealer

certifying that the vehicle is eligible for the credit
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provided in this section. A copy of such certificate shall be
submitted by the taxpayer to the department with the annual
income tax return or amendment thereof on which the taxpayer
claims such credit. Such certificate shall be of a form
approved by the department. The department shall post on its
website the number of credits remaining for each type of
specified engine.

(e) If the credit allowed by this section exceeds
the amount of income tax otherwise owed, the taxpayer may
carry the credit forward to each of the five years following
the tax year that the credit was originally to be allowed.
Various credits carried forward are considered to be applied
in the order of the tax years for which such credits were
first allowed, beginning with the credit for the earliest tax
year.

(f) Except as provided in subsection (e), the credit
provided for in this section shall be allowed only during the
five-year period beginning on the effective date of this
article.

(g) The department may promulgate rules and
regulations for the administration of this article.

§40-18-351.

(a) As used in this section, the following terms
shall have the following meanings:

(1) INCOME TAX. The tax levied in Article 1 of this

chapter.
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(2) PERMITTED VEHICLE. A motor vehicle with at least
four wheels which:

a. Is manufactured primarily for use on public
streets, roads, and highways.

b. Is propelled to a significant extent by one of
the following:

1. A motor powered by compressed natural gas,
liquefied natural gas, or propane.

2. A motor which draws electricity from a battery
which has a capacity of not less than four kilowatt hours and
is capable of being recharged from an external source of
electricity.

(3) REFUELING EQUIPMENT. Equipment which supplies
fuel or electricity for the refueling or recharging of
permitted vehicles.

(b) A nonrefundable credit against income tax shall
be allowed for the placement in service of refueling
equipment, the original use of which commences with the
taxpayer. The credit allowed under this section shall equal
the lesser of 30 percent of the cost of the refueling
equipment or the following:

(1) For refueling equipment for compressed natural
gas, five thousand dollars ($5,000).

(2) For refueling equipment for liquefied natural
gas, five thousand dollars ($5,000).

(3) For refueling equipment for propane, two

thousand dollars ($2,000).
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(4) For refueling equipment for electricity, five
hundred dollars ($500).

(c) If the credit allowed by this section exceed the
amount of income tax otherwise owed, the taxpayer may carry
the credit forward to each of the five years following the tax
year that the credit was originally to be allowed. Various
credits carried forward are considered to be applied in the
order of the tax years for which such credits were first
allowed, beginning with the credit for the earliest tax year.

(d) Except as provided in subsection (c), the credit
provided for in this section shall be allowed only during the
five-year period beginning on the effective date of this
article.

(e) The department may promulgate rules and
regulations for the administration of this article.

Section 8. There is hereby appropriated from the
State General Fund to the Center for Alternative Fuels the sum
of fifty thousand dollars ($50,000) for the fiscal year ending
September 30, 2013, and the sum of one hundred fifty thousand
dollars ($150,000) for each of the next five fiscal years so
that the Center for Alternative Fuels, as established by
Section 2-2-90, Code of Alabama 1975, may implement the duties
delegated to it pursuant to this act.

Section 9. The Department of Transportation and
Alabama Department of Revenue may promulgate necessary rules

and regulations for the implementation of this act.
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Section 10. Sections 2 and 7 of this act shall take
effect on October 1, 2013. Section 5 of this act shall take
effect on the first day of the second full month following
this act's passage and approval by the Governor, or upon its
otherwise becoming law. Section 7 of this act shall take
effect on January 1, 2014. All other sections of this act
shall become effective immediately upon its passage and

approval by the Governor, or upon its otherwise becoming law.
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