- 1 HR419
- 2 141624-1
- 3 By Representative DeMarco
- 4 RFD:
- 5 First Read: 24-APR-12

1	141624-1:n:04/24/2012:JMW/jmw LRS2012-2705
2	
3	
4	
5	
6	
7	
8	COMMENDING THE HOOVER HIGH SCHOOL SCHOLARS BOWL
9	TEAM.
10	
11	WHEREAS, we take great pride and pleasure in
12	commending the 2012 Hoover High School Scholars Bowl Team on
13	winning all the Scholars Bowl Competitions in the State of
14	Alabama at both the Varsity and Junior Varsity levels, an
15	unprecedented accomplishment; and
16	WHEREAS, under the leadership of teacher Joshua
17	Rutsky, Hoover High School completed a sweep of the Scholars
18	Bowl titles in both NAQT and ASCA Leagues, which no other team
19	has been able to do in the history of Alabama, impressively
20	outperforming private schools and magnet schools as well as
21	all other public schools in the state; and
22	WHEREAS, Coach Rutsky has been chasing this "Holy
23	Grail" of Scholars Bowl for 10 years, and he credits the hard
24	work of the students in setting this record, which is expected
25	to stand for a very long time; and
26	WHEREAS, Hoover High School's two Varsity Teams
27	finished 1-2 at NAQT State, with the Varsity B Team upsetting

the Varsity A Team to claim the title; in addition, all three of Hoover's captains, Junior Varsity, Varsity A, and Varsity B, placed in the top six for scoring in the tournaments, making them members of the All-State Team; and

WHEREAS, Hoover High School team members, each of whom contributed significantly to the successful year, are Varsity A: Logan Tarbox, Captain, and Collin Rooney, Harrison Martin, and Brian Bender; Varsity B: Sean Moran, Captain, and Jordan LaPorta, Michael Jaramillo, Stephen Church, and Cole Griffin; Varsity C/JV: C.G. Kendrick, Captain, and Layla Tajmir, Emily Ferguson, Rachel Parker, and Abhay Thottassery; and

WHEREAS, these outstanding young scholars are the source of justifiable pride to their families, their school, and the entire community, and they are truly deserving of special recognition; now therefore,

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF
THE LEGISLATURE OF ALABAMA, That it is a privilege to commend
the 2012 Hoover High School Scholars Bowl Team on the
unprecedented achievement of winning all Scholars Bowl
competitions in the State of Alabama and, by copy of this
resolution, we convey heartiest congratulations to Coach
Joshua Rutsky and all the team members, along with best wishes
for continuing success in future endeavors.