- 1 HJR474
- 2 142891-4
- 3 By Representatives Kennedy, Mitchell, Buskey and Bracy
- 4 RFD:
- 5 First Read: 09-MAY-12

1	142891-4:n:05/09/2012:LLR/mcw LRS2012-3077R3
2	
3	
4	
5	
6	
7	
8	NAMING THE STREETS WITHIN THE BISHOP STATE COMMUNITY
9	COLLEGE IN HONOR OF INDIVIDUALS WHO CONTRIBUTED TO THE GROWTH
10	AND MISSION OF THE COLLEGE.
11	
12	WHEREAS, founded in the summer of 1927, Bishop State
13	Community College was originally the Mobile Branch of Alabama
14	State College (University) in Montgomery, Alabama. It was
15	established as an in-service arm of Alabama State College that
16	offered extension courses to African-American elementary and
17	secondary teachers in Mobile; and
18	WHEREAS, on February 23, 1989, the Alabama State
19	Board of Education renamed the college to Bishop State
20	Community College to reflect its growth in vocational/career
21	offerings, transfer offerings and community service
22	activities; on August 22, 1991, the Alabama State Board of
23	Education consolidated two technical colleges in Mobile -
24	Southwest State Technical College and Carver State Technical
25	College - with Bishop State Community College; and
26	WHEREAS, in 1995, the college added a fourth campus
27	with the opening of its Baker-Gaines Central Campus, formerly

- 1 the historic Central High School; the facility now houses the Division of Health Related Professions; in addition, it 2 includes a museum, child care center, 1,200-seat auditorium, 3 multimedia center, cafeteria facilities and a bookstore; and WHEREAS, Mr. Raymond L. Bailey, Dr. Charles 5 Blackledge, Ms. Hattie G. Clark, Mr. William J. Hearin, Dr. 6 7 Charles J. Henson, Mr. William Kaufman, Ms. Pearl Madison, Mr. Frank Miller, Dr. J. Christopher Mitchell, and Irmatean Y. 8 9 Watson contributed to the growth of the college; and WHEREAS, it is fitting to honor those individuals; 10 11 now therefore, 12 BE IT RESOLVED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF ALABAMA, BOTH 13 HOUSES THEREOF CONCURRING, That we recognize and honor Mr. Raymond L. Bailey, Dr. Charles Blackledge, Ms. Hattie G.
- Raymond L. Bailey, Dr. Charles Blackledge, Ms. Hattie G.
 Clark, Mr. William J. Hearin, Dr. Charles J. Henson, Mr.
 William Kaufman, Ms. Pearl Madison, Mr. Frank Miller, and Dr.
 J. Christopher Mitchell, and Irmatean Y. Watson by naming the
 streets in the Bishop State Community College for and in honor
 of those individuals.

20

21

22

23

24

25

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be provided to each member of the Alabama State Board of Education and to James Lowe, Jr., President of Bishop State Community College.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That Bishop State Community College is hereby directed to erect appropriate signage.