- 1 HJR474
- 2 142891-6
- 3 By Representatives Kennedy, Mitchell, Buskey and Bracy
- 4 RFD:
- 5 First Read: 09-MAY-12

2 ENROLLED, House Joint Resolution,

NAMING THE STREETS WITHIN THE BISHOP STATE COMMUNITY COLLEGE IN HONOR OF INDIVIDUALS WHO CONTRIBUTED TO THE GROWTH AND MISSION OF THE COLLEGE.

2.1

WHEREAS, founded in the summer of 1927, Bishop State Community College was originally the Mobile Branch of Alabama State College (University) in Montgomery, Alabama. It was established as an in-service arm of Alabama State College that offered extension courses to African-American elementary and secondary teachers in Mobile; and

WHEREAS, on February 23, 1989, the Alabama State
Board of Education renamed the college to Bishop State
Community College to reflect its growth in vocational/career
offerings, transfer offerings and community service
activities; on August 22, 1991, the Alabama State Board of
Education consolidated two technical colleges in Mobile Southwest State Technical College and Carver State Technical
College - with Bishop State Community College; and

WHEREAS, in 1995, the college added a fourth campus with the opening of its Baker-Gaines Central Campus, formerly the historic Central High School; the facility now houses the Division of Health Related Professions; in addition, it

## HJR474

1	includes a museum, child care center, 1,200-seat auditorium,		
2	multimedia center, cafeteria facilities and a bookstore; and		
3	WHEREAS, Mr. Raymond L. Bailey, Dr. Charles		
4	Blackledge, Ms. Hattie G. Clark, Mr. William J. Hearin, Dr.		
5	Charles J. Henson, Mr. William Kaufman, Ms. Pearl Madison, Mr.		
6	Frank Miller, Dr. J. Christopher Mitchell, and Irmatean Y.		
7	Watson contributed to the growth of the college; and		
8	WHEREAS, it is fitting to honor those individuals;		
9	now therefore,		
10	BE IT RESOLVED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF ALABAMA, BOTH		
11	HOUSES THEREOF CONCURRING, That we recognize and honor Mr.		
12	Raymond L. Bailey, Dr. Charles Blackledge, Ms. Hattie G.		
13	Clark, Mr. William J. Hearin, Dr. Charles J. Henson, Mr.		
14	William Kaufman, Ms. Pearl Madison, Mr. Frank Miller, and Dr.		
15	J. Christopher Mitchell, and Irmatean Y. Watson by naming the		
16	streets in the Bishop State Community College for and in honor		
17	of those individuals.		
18	BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this		
19	resolution be provided to each member of the Alabama State		
20	Board of Education and to James Lowe, Jr., President of Bishop		
21	State Community College.		
22	BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That Bishop State Community		

College is hereby directed to erect appropriate signage.

23

1					
2					
3					
4		Speaker of the House of Representatives			
5					
6	I	President and Presiding Officer of the Senate			
7		House of Representatives			
8		I hereby certify that the within Act originated in			
9 10	and was adopt	ted by the House 09-MAY-12.			
11 12		Greg Pappas Clerk			
13		CIGIK			
14					
15	_				
16	Senate	10-MAY-12 Ad	opted		
17					