- 1 SJR110
- 2 120090-2
- 3 By Senators Preuitt, Smitherman, Sanders, Figures, Barron,
- Beason, Bedford, Benefield, Bishop, Brooks, Butler, Coleman,
- 5 Denton, Dixon, Dunn, Erwin, French, Glover, Holley, Keahey,
- 6 Little (T), Little (Z), Marsh, Means, Mitchell, Mitchem, Orr,
- Penn, Pittman, Poole, Ross, Sanford, Singleton, Smith, and
- 8 Waggoner
- 9 RFD:
- 10 First Read: 11-MAR-10

SJR110

1	SJR110
2	
3	
4	ENROLLED, SJR110,
5	COMMENDING THE TALLADEGA COLLEGE TORNADOES: NATIONAL
6	CHAMPIONS.
7	
8	WHEREAS, we note with great pride that the Talladega
9	College Tornadoes Basketball Team has won the United States
10	Collegiate Athletic Association National Championship; and
11	WHEREAS, the Tornadoes defeated Southern Virginia by
12	a score of 65-56 in the final game of the USCAA Tournament;
13	Kenny Irby and Phil Wood led the Team with twenty-three points
14	and eight rebounds and seventeen points and nine rebounds,
15	respectively; and
16	WHEREAS, Phil Wood was named Tournament MVP and
17	Kerry Harvis was an All-Tournament selection; and
18	WHEREAS, the National Championship is Talladega
19	College's second in as many years; while winning a
20	championship in the college basketball tournament format is
21	one of the most difficult and physically taxing feats in
22	sports, repeating the performance in consecutive seasons is
23	almost impossible; the Team, their coaches, their classmates,
24	and their families are duly proud of this achievement; now
25	therefore,

SJR110

1	BE IT RESOLVED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF ALABAMA, BOTH
2	HOUSES THEREOF CONCURRING, That we heartily commend the
3	Talladega College Tornadoes Basketball Team on winning the
4	United States Collegiate Athletic Association National
5	Championship and that, by copy of this resolution, we extend
6	our heartfelt wishes for every future success.

SJR110

1	
2	
3	
4	President and Presiding Officer of the Senate
5	
6	Speaker of the House of Representatives
7 8 9 10 11 12 13	SJR110 Senate 11-MAR-10 I hereby certify that the within Senate Joint Resolution originated in and was adopted by the Senate. McDowell Lee Secretary
15	
16 17 18	House of Representatives Adopted: 25-MAR-10
19	
20 21	By: Senator Preuitt