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SYNOPSIS:          Existing law provides for graduated8

driver's licenses but does not identify the three9

stages of graduated licenses by name.10

This bill would name the stages as Stage11

I-Learning Permit, Stage II-Restricted Licensing,12

and Stage III-Unrestricted or Regular License.13

Under existing law, no student in a driver14

training program who is under 16 years of age is15

allowed to drive or operate any motor vehicle16

unless accompanied by a licensed driver.17

This bill would require the licensed driver18

to be over 21 years of age.19

Under existing law, a person who is issued a20

regular driver's license and who is age 16 or who21

is age 17 and has been licensed for less than six22

months may not operate a vehicle after 12 midnight23

or if there are more than four occupants in the24

vehicle not including the parents or legal25

guardians and family members of the licensee.26
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This bill would prohibit the licensee from1

operating a vehicle after certain specified hours,2

subject to certain exceptions, or if there is more3

than one occupant in the vehicle not including the4

licensed driver and parents or legal guardian and5

family members of the licensee.6

Under existing law, any person 16 years of7

age or older who has a learner's permit may drive8

or operate a motor vehicle if accompanied by a9

licensed driver who is occupying a seat beside the10

driver.11

Under existing law, the operation of a12

vehicle by a Stage II restricted driver while using13

a cell phone or similar communication device is not14

specifically prohibited.15

This bill would prohibit a person with a16

Stage II restricted driver's license from operating17

a motor vehicle while operating a handheld18

communication device including a cell phone or any19

other device that sends or receives text messages20

or emails.21

This bill would require the licensed driver22

who is occupying a seat beside the driver who has a23

Stage I learner's permit to be 21 years of age or24

older.25

Amendment 621 of the Constitution of Alabama26

of 1901, now appearing as Section 111.05 of the27
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Official Recompilation of the Constitution of1

Alabama of 1901, as amended, prohibits a general2

law whose purpose or effect would be to require a3

new or increased expenditure of local funds from4

becoming effective with regard to a local5

governmental entity without enactment by a 2/3 vote6

unless: it comes within one of a number of7

specified exceptions; it is approved by the8

affected entity; or the Legislature appropriates9

funds, or provides a local source of revenue, to10

the entity for the purpose. The purpose or effect11

of this bill would be to require a new or increased12

expenditure of local funds within the meaning of13

the amendment. However, the bill does not require14

approval of a local governmental entity or15

enactment by a 2/3 vote to become effective because16

it comes within one of the specified exceptions17

contained in the amendment.18

 19

A BILL20

TO BE ENTITLED21

AN ACT22

 23

To amend Sections 32-5-64, 32-6-7.2, and 32-6-8 of24

the Code of Alabama 1975, relating to 3-stage graduated25

driver's licenses or licensing criteria; to allow the licensed26

driver accompanying a student in any driver training program27
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to be 21 years of age or older; to further provide for1

restrictions on driver's licenses for persons 16 or 17 years2

of age including restrictions on the use of certain3

communication devices; to provide for the age of the licensed4

driver occupying the seat next to a driver 16 years of age or5

older who has a State I learner's permit; and in connection6

therewith would have as its purpose or effect the requirement7

of a new or increased expenditure of local funds within the8

meaning of Amendment 621 of the Constitution of Alabama of9

1901, now appearing as Section 111.05 of the Official10

Recompilation of the Constitution of Alabama of 1901, as11

amended.12

BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF ALABAMA:13

Section 1. Sections 32-5-64, 32-6-7.2, and 32-6-8 of14

the Code of Alabama 1975, are amended to read as follows:15

"§32-5-64.16

"Any person under the age of 16 years who shall17

drive or operate any motor vehicle upon the public highways of18

this state shall be guilty of a misdemeanor, and shall be19

dealt with as provided by the juvenile laws of this state;20

provided, that the provisions of this. This section shall not21

apply to any student enrolled in a driver training program22

approved by the State Superintendent of Education or the23

Director of Public Safety while driving or operating a motor24

vehicle pursuant to the instructional program. However, no25

student in any driver training program who is under 16 years26

of age shall drive or operate any motor vehicle unless27
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accompanied by a licensed driver who is 21 years of age or1

older.2

"§32-6-7.2.3

"(a) A person who is under the age of 18 may not4

apply for a Stage II restricted regular driver's license until5

the person has held a Stage I learner's license issued6

pursuant to Section 32-6-8 or a comparable license issued by7

another state for at least a six-month period.8

"(b) In addition to any other requirements of this9

chapter, if the applicant for a driver's license is 16 years10

of age, he or she shall submit to the Department of Public11

Safety the following:12

"(1) A verification form provided by the Department13

of Public Safety signed by a parent or legal guardian14

consenting to the licensure of the applicant and granting15

permission for the applicant to drive without supervision.16

"(2) A verification form provided by the Department17

of Public Safety signed by a parent, legal guardian, or18

licensed or certified driving instructor certifying that the19

applicant has completed a minimum of 30 hours of20

behind-the-wheel driving practice, or submission of a21

certificate of completion from the State Department of22

Education that the applicant has passed a driver's education23

course approved by the State Department of Education.24

"(c) A person who is issued a regular driver's25

license after October 1, 2002, who is age 17 and has been26

licensed for less than six months or who is age 16 shall be27
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deemed to have a Stage II restricted driver's license. The1

person may not operate a vehicle under any of the following2

conditions:3

"(1) Between 12:00 o'clock midnight and 6:00 o'clock4

a.m. 10:00 o'clock p.m. on Sunday, Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday,5

or Thursday and 6:00 o'clock a.m. on Monday, Tuesday,6

Wednesday, Thursday, or Friday and between 11:00 o'clock p.m.7

on Friday or Saturday and 6:00 o'clock a.m. on Saturday or8

Sunday unless one of the following exceptions apply applies:9

"a. The licensee is accompanied by a parent or legal10

guardian.11

"b. The licensee is accompanied by a person who is a12

licensed driver and is at least 21 years of age or the consent13

of a parent or legal guardian of the driver is given.14

"c. The licensee is driving to or from a place where15

the licensee is employed on a regular basis or works.16

"d. The licensee is driving to or from a school17

sponsored event.18

"e. The licensee is driving to or from an event19

sponsored by a religious organization.20

"f. The licensee is driving for the purpose of a21

medical, fire, or law enforcement related emergency.22

"g. The licensee is driving to or from a place where23

the licensee participates in hunting or fishing activities. In24

order for this particular exception to apply, the licensee25

must have in his or her immediate possession a valid hunting26

or fishing license for the activity. Additionally, the27
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licensee must have in his or her immediate possession items1

sufficient to demonstrate that he or she is in fact driving to2

participate in a hunting or fishing activity that is in season3

as set out in the rules promulgated by the Commissioner of4

Conservation and Natural Resources.5

"(2) If there are is more than four occupants one6

passenger in the vehicle not including the parents, or legal7

guardians of the licensee, accompanying family members, or a8

licensed driver who is at least 21 years of age.9

"(3) While operating any handheld communication10

device, including, but not limited to, a cell phone or any11

other device that sends or receives text messages or emails.12

"(d) A violation of this subsection (c) shall not13

result in a suspension of the person's driver's license, but14

shall extend the time period for six months that the person is15

subject to the restrictions of this subsection (c) before the16

person is eligible to be designated as an unrestricted17

driver's license holder or until age 18.18

"(d)(e) The driver's license of any person who is19

driving with restricted privileges as provided in subsection20

(c) who during such time is convicted of a second moving21

traffic violation or is convicted of failure to give22

information or render aid, racing, fleeing or attempting to23

elude a law enforcement officer, reckless driving, illegal24

passing, driving on the wrong side of the road, or any other25

offense where four or more points are assessed and other26

violations as designated by rules or regulations promulgated27
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pursuant to the Administrative Procedure Act, shall be1

automatically suspended for 60 days unless the Alabama Rules2

of the Road provide a more serious penalty, and the time3

period that the licensee is subject to the restrictions of4

subsection (c) shall be extended for six months from the date5

the person would otherwise be eligible to be designated as an6

unrestricted driver's license holder or until age 18.7

"(e)(f) The license possessed by any resident of8

this state who is 17 years of age shall be deemed an a Stage9

III unrestricted driver's license if the license has been10

issued for a period of six months or longer and the Department11

of Public Safety verifies that the license holder has not been12

convicted of a moving violation of the Alabama Rules of the13

Road within the preceding six months.14

"(f)(g) This section shall not apply to the15

following:16

"(1) Any resident of this state age 16 years and17

over who is married or who is the head of a household.18

"(2) Any resident who has otherwise been legally19

relieved of minority.20

"(3) Any resident who is age 18 or over.21

"(g) Every driver's license issued prior to October22

1, 2002, shall be considered an unrestricted driver's license.23

"(h) A person who drives a motor vehicle in24

violation of the conditions imposed in subsection (c) shall be25

guilty of a traffic violation, but shall not be subject to any26

criminal penalties or court costs. No citation shall be issued27
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for a traffic violation pursuant to this subsection unless the1

person is stopped by a law enforcement officer for a separate2

violation of law and issued a citation or warrant for the3

separate violation. Information concerning a violation4

pursuant to this subsection shall not be released to any party5

and shall not result in any points on a driver's license6

record.7

"(i) The Department of Public Safety may promulgate8

reasonable rules and regulations to carry out and to aid in9

enforcement of this section and Sections 32-6-7.3 and 32-6-8.10

"§32-6-8.11

"(a) Any person 16 years of age or older who, except12

for his or her lack of instruction in operating a motor13

vehicle, would otherwise be qualified to obtain a driver's14

license under this article may apply for a learner's license,15

and the Department of Public Safety, Driver License Division,16

may issue the license upon a form which shall be provided by17

the Director of Public Safety, entitling the applicant, while18

having the license in his or her immediate possession, to19

drive or operate a motor vehicle upon the highways for a20

period of four years, except when operating a motorcycle, the21

person shall be accompanied by a licensed driver who is at22

least 21 years of age and actually occupying a seat beside the23

driver. At the time of applying for the license, the applicant24

shall pay to the Department of Public Safety, Driver License25

Division, a fee of twenty dollars ($20), and the Department of26

Public Safety, Driver License Division, shall give the27
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applicant a learner's license therefor on a form to be1

provided by the Director of Public Safety. The temporary2

instruction license may be renewed only by order of the3

Director of Public Safety, and in no case shall the original4

license be renewed or extended more than once. The Department5

of Public Safety, Driver License Division, shall not issue the6

Stage I temporary instruction license until the applicant has7

undergone the same examination that a person applying for a8

Stage II or Stage III driver's license is required by law to9

undergo, with the exception of the driving test, and produced10

a certificate to that effect signed by the proper examining11

officer.12

"(b) Any person not less than 15 but under 16 years13

of age may obtain a Stage I learner's license to learn to14

operate a motor vehicle upon application to the Department of15

Public Safety, Driver License Division, which license shall16

entitle the person to operate a motor vehicle when he or she17

is accompanied by a parent or his or her legal guardian or a18

person who is age 21 or over who is duly licensed in this19

state as a motor vehicle operator or when accompanied by a20

licensed or certified driving instructor who is actually21

occupying a seat beside the motor vehicle operator. The22

application for the Stage I learner's license shall be23

accompanied by a payment of a fee of twenty dollars ($20), to24

be distributed as provided in Section 32-6-5. The age of the25

applicant shall be substantiated by the applicant filing with26

the department a certified copy of his or her birth27
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certificate. A Stage I learner's license issued under this1

subsection shall be in such form as the Director of Public2

Safety may prescribe; it shall expire in four years; or when3

the holder subsequently applies for and receives a Stage II or4

Stage III driver's license. The Stage II or Stage III driver's5

license shall be issued for the remainder of the four year6

life of the learner's license at no additional fee, the7

certificate thereof shall be prima facie evidence that the8

license holder was 15 years of age or older on the date of its9

issuance. The license may be suspended or revoked in the same10

manner and for the same causes as a driver's license and may11

also be revoked for any violation of the terms and conditions12

on which it was issued. The Department of Public Safety,13

Driver License Division, shall not issue such a license to any14

person until the applicant has undergone the same examination15

that a person applying for a Stage II or Stage III driver's16

license is required by law to undergo, with the exception of17

the driving test, and has produced a certificate to that18

effect signed by the proper examining officer."19

Section 2. As used in this act, the following words20

shall have the following meanings:21

(1) STAGE I. A learner's permit.22

(2) STAGE II. A regular driver's license with23

restrictions based on age and the date of issuance.24

(3) STAGE III. An unrestricted driver's license.25

Section 3. Although this bill would have as its26

purpose or effect the requirement of a new or increased27
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expenditure of local funds, the bill is excluded from further1

requirements and application under Amendment 621, now2

appearing as Section 111.05 of the Official Recompilation of3

the Constitution of Alabama of 1901, as amended, because the4

bill defines a new crime or amends the definition of an5

existing crime.6

Section 4. This act shall become effective on the7

first day of the third month following its passage and8

approval by the Governor, or its otherwise becoming law.9
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